View Full Version : To Anthony Rocca

TheClokes
12 Aug 2006, 11:09
You’re an embarrassment!

And thanks to you, great players like Nathan Buckley and Scott Burns will never taste premiership glory!

Lonie_from_50
12 Aug 2006, 11:17
I'm not going to escape the truth....I agree, an embarrasment, and Pebbles seems every week to become a liability rather than an asset.

goalpie
12 Aug 2006, 11:21
Just needs to be dropped and get some form back.

CarnthePies
12 Aug 2006, 11:23
As I said in another thread, I'd like to see Rocca play a game for Williamstown and see how he goes.

sloth6
12 Aug 2006, 11:30
Players that are out of form need to work twice as hard on the training track and in matches. Rocca is doing neither!

Time for Rocca to stand up and be a leader of this football club!

MagpieWayne
12 Aug 2006, 11:30
You’re an embarrassment!

And thanks to you, great players like Nathan Buckley and Scott Burns will never taste premiership glory!

And you just realised this did you.

I wonder how long before he is 'honoured' with a bronze statue out the front of lexus.

Send the fat, unfit prick down to willy, again.

Lonie_from_50
12 Aug 2006, 12:24
And you just realised this did you.

I wonder how long before he is 'honoured' with a bronze statue out the front of lexus.

Send the fat, unfit prick down to willy, again.

I will award you a Gold Medal as being the no.1 biggest bandwagoner of all time. You are a disgrace to the CFC, and coming out this week saying Bob Rose, called by the games greats and more importantly the clubs greats the greatest player of his era, have a statue outside the (Bob Rose) Lexus Centre seem over-done and make him seem an over-rated hack, and then come out again and say you have never seen him play. To top it off you jumped off the bandwagon all the way to Africa but surely got a return flight to jump on when we play finals.

Moron of the highest order you are. MM was fed up with people like you, and he has taken a side expected to fail, and a wooden spoon favourite, to top 4 contenders, despite a loss to Arch-Rivals Sheedy's Bombers.

Winterstick
12 Aug 2006, 12:42
I would like him to read
Don.t go out like this,let the memories of you be great ones, so when ever your name is mentioned they will remember great things.
especially when you look back

Cassius_Clay
12 Aug 2006, 13:34
Why does Rocca only have one arm?

Coin_Toss
12 Aug 2006, 13:42
As I said in another thread, I'd like to see Rocca play a game for Williamstown and see how he goes.

Ask yourself, what does that prove?

CarnthePies
12 Aug 2006, 14:12
What does not touching the ball at Collingwood prove?

crow in canberra
12 Aug 2006, 16:21
back when footy was footy you could swap your full forward with your full back or your chf with chb to try and get them into the game. swapping rocca from chf to chb will just show how committed rocca is to the team. he doesn't chase or give you a second effort he is unfit and is a one dementional player and before everyone jumps on me we have one or two at the crows. its just an honest opinion:)

bluegal1983
12 Aug 2006, 16:29
You guys should have kept Sav and got rid of Anthony. I said it back then and I am still saying it! Sav's record speaks for itself.....

Lonie_from_50
12 Aug 2006, 16:40
You are right I guess. What I think is, Rocca had such a good start to the season (One of the Coleman favourites several weeks in) that we expected him to continue on with his good start, and he hasn't. Goals vs Top 8, Bottom 8, doesn't matter who it is against, you still are playing a game of footy. He hasn't shown anything over the past couple of months and therefore it is clear he is unfit, he isn't as good as he was in his prime (then again, was a CHF) and that playing him at full forward isn't exactly the winning formula.

I don't think his attitude and commitment needs to be exactly questioned. He should be looking more commited and look more a part, but it comes down to his fitness. He is buggered, and his career is getting shorter every week it seems. By saying that, I mean the Saverio Rocca Syndrome. Was always questioned about his long-term services to the club, and no doubting his ability, but when there is patch that shows he is not up to standards (Sav 1999-00) aswell as injuries, then the club will most definately look into the future at the same time as the short time and say this guy won't go anywhere. I believe, with what Pebbles has shown in the last two months, the club will be jotting it down, and a forced retirement will be looking closer and closer. No doubt about it.

MagpieWayne
12 Aug 2006, 17:42
I will award you a Gold Medal as being the no.1 biggest bandwagoner of all time. You are a disgrace to the CFC, and coming out this week saying Bob Rose, called by the games greats and more importantly the clubs greats the greatest player of his era, have a statue outside the (Bob Rose) Lexus Centre seem over-done and make him seem an over-rated hack, and then come out again and say you have never seen him play. To top it off you jumped off the bandwagon all the way to Africa but surely got a return flight to jump on when we play finals.

Moron of the highest order you are. MM was fed up with people like you, and he has taken a side expected to fail, and a wooden spoon favourite, to top 4 contenders, despite a loss to Arch-Rivals Sheedy's Bombers.

Son im a 20 year member of the club, im hardly a bandwagoner.

Bob rose is the past the long long past, lets move on from there and i can guarantee you never saw him play either so i dont know how you can call him a great but anyway you probably read about him in a book or something.

So we were expected to fail, ok nice loser mentality.

Its losers like you that have resulted in us having 1 in nearly 50 years.

Go follow richmond you loser.

Ron
12 Aug 2006, 18:16
You guys should have kept Sav and got rid of Anthony. I said it back then and I am still saying it! Sav's record speaks for itself.....
I don't think you have a very long memory.
Sav was shcoking for us at the end, not much better than what Anthony is now.
He needed a change to spark his career again, if he stayed at the Pies he most likely would of ended up finishing his career in the reserves.

Magpie Phil
12 Aug 2006, 18:27

Could not have said it better myself.

bluegal1983
12 Aug 2006, 18:38
I don't think you have a very long memory.
Sav was shcoking for us at the end, not much better than what Anthony is now.
He needed a change to spark his career again, if he stayed at the Pies he most likely would of ended up finishing his career in the reserves.

So because a footballer has a bad trot for a year or two you get rid of him? God, if Carlton had have done that with Fev he would have really stuck it up the club this year!

I think the Pies made a bad decision when they got rid of Sav and kept Anthony and I think most Collingwood supporters would agree.

Fitzy
12 Aug 2006, 19:01

Bob rose is the past the long long past, lets move on from there and i can guarantee you never saw him play either so i dont know how you can call him a great but anyway you probably read about him in a book or something.

That's funny Wayne, after some of your comments earlier on in the week I could have sworn that you barracked for Richmond.

And who gives a toss that you are a 20 year member, its ******** supporters like you with your idiotic beliefs that us true Pies supporters can do without.
Now take take a deep breath, put your teeth back in and head back down to punt road were you belong you PEANUT.

Lonie_from_50
13 Aug 2006, 12:11

Yeah right. Bandwagoners are still members buddy, but they jump off and want to slaughter the team whenever we lose a match or two. Tell me something. Are you happy with the Pies sitting at 11-8?

Now it's hard to believe you have an IQ higher than the years you have been a paid up man. I never said he was a legend coming from my mouth, or did I. Last time I checked, i refered the status of the legend that is Bobby Rose, to the game greats and club greats who actually can have an opinion because they saw him play. He was called by some "Possibly the greatest of his era", but then again, that means nothing, cos you know, you saw him play and all...WTF are you, seriously, i'm confused.

There is always a 50-50 chance we should win or lose mate. On the day, a team was better than us, and we were disappointing, so let's go on a rampage and hunt all Pies players because we lost to an AFL side who are also competing.

One of the worst statements ever read. People like ME, who support the club through thick and thin, and may lash out now and again, are the reason another team was better than us during a season, or that we weren't as good. I'm the reason John Smith on the day sprayed a kick and it could've won the game because I am me, because I had faith in him kicking a goal, i supported him kicking it or not etc.

And who is the one sooking and thinking Collingwood are a bunch of hacks who can't make it to win the flag? The one who is saying we are failures when we are sitting 6th, with a win from top 4 spot, even though a finals capaign hasn't started? Who is the one who has jumped off? Idiot. :rolleyes:

Nesian
13 Aug 2006, 18:55
Idiot. :rolleyes:

Couldnt have said it better myself

Daicosian
13 Aug 2006, 19:09
I think the Pies made a bad decision when they got rid of Sav and kept Anthony and I think most Collingwood supporters would agree.

No wrong, most of us don't agree with that, nor would most want to hang on to Anthony if he continues to go down that track. There's a bit of age difference in comparing the Fev situation, so hardly a worthy comparison.
Sav should have been a Locket type, with the same levels of dominance and match winning ability, but failed to continually assert his size on the field week in, week out.

PieLebo87
13 Aug 2006, 21:16
Anthony Rocca is carrying a shoulder injury.

As for the comments of keeping Sav and getting rid of Pebbles. WRONG.
We should've kept BOTH the Roccas. They were/would be invaluable assets in this team, even if no one might see that.

Jabso
13 Aug 2006, 21:52
Sav Rocca needed to leave the club, for himself and the clubs sake.

inside_player
13 Aug 2006, 21:54
obviously there is something wrong with the guy...

might be injury or fitness but i doubt anybody on this site that would know/understand any reason for his poor form.

yes his form is cr@p, and yes something needs to be done.

difference from the start of the season and now is, he does not attack the ball as nearly as well and he seems much slower.

not sure if dropping him to willy would help, mayb give him the next week off and give him a couple of weeks to get his injury and fitness right. if that is his complaint.

also, getting rid of sav was the right choice. anthony is a lot more versatile and destructive when in form. sav is more of a converter of good forward line delivery.

Timmy from Thomastown
13 Aug 2006, 22:03
Anthony Rocca is carrying a shoulder injury.

It wasnt his marking that was the problem, it was his kicking.

reilly
13 Aug 2006, 23:16
not much has to be said about rocca...he is a joke and very overrated....he only plays when he wants 2 play...just like taz

PieLebo87
14 Aug 2006, 17:01
That ankle possibly? I knew he wouldnt be the same, running/fitness-wise but I think the shoulder has been a major reason for his form slump, even someone mentioned on here, he hasnt been the same since that Subi match against the WCE, the round he landed on that shoulder...

Timmy from Thomastown
14 Aug 2006, 17:14
That ankle possibly? I knew he wouldnt be the same, running/fitness-wise but I think the shoulder has been a major reason for his form slump, even someone mentioned on here, he hasnt been the same since that Subi match against the WCE, the round he landed on that shoulder...

Who knows - groin perhaps. Maybe its just confidence but I suspect its more than that.

footynuts99
14 Aug 2006, 17:17
7 goals in 6 weeks...PLEASE!

HotPies!
14 Aug 2006, 19:32

I would say it is the marking that is the problem. His kicking has improved dramatically this year... I am now confident of him kicking goals from 30 metres out whereas I would say he was "too close" in previous year.
His problem now is he has no presence whatsoever in the forward line. He'll make a lead, over-run the ball (this happens 95% of the time, ball goes too high over his head... the guy's judgement is terrible) and never puts in a second effort.
Whereas in the beginning of the season he was taking good strong marks, his fitness seemed to be up and he was putting in a second effort wherever possible and they were able to hold the ball in the forward line, nowadays the ball is only in our forward line for a moment before the opposition easily runs it out.

He needs to rest his shoulder, come back fresh and take a couple big marks to boost his confidence. Then we'd see a boost in his form again and probably start winning games again... it's evident we're missing a forward line. We need a ruckman to give Josh a break, and maybe send him up forward (he is a great overhead mark) and a good centreman to let Bucks play up forward more often (good leader and a very strong mark).

WakeUpTaz
14 Aug 2006, 20:02
he doesn't have kicking problems, he can't get a decent kick if he doesn't mark the ball

Murray
14 Aug 2006, 20:08
he doesn't have kicking problems, he can't get a decent kick if he doesn't mark the ball
Why are you pretending that you follow Collingwood?
I'm betting Bitchmond or Crowbots is more your style

Parabola
17 Aug 2006, 00:07

Funny, the tiges shat on your colly wobblers mate :cool:

grommy
18 Aug 2006, 23:31
You’re an embarrassment!

poor old hunt
i wonder whether josh and rocca will be crucified for ducking the head and pulling out when the club needs a win
its getting contagious--everyone is doing it

careyrips(I)
19 Aug 2006, 00:02
shocking! we had the game in the bag by the end of the first quarter. WHta happens? Rocca comes along, has a shot from 40 slight angle misses, we lose the momentum then they kick 6 on us. He is a disgrace.

sloth6
19 Aug 2006, 01:01
shocking! we had the game in the bag by the end of the first quarter. WHta happens? Rocca comes along, has a shot from 40 slight angle misses, we lose the momentum then they kick 6 on us. He is a disgrace.

The turning point was Wakelin's inexcusable f**k up on the last line when he fumbled and Burgoyne pounced and set up the goal. All he had to do was rush it through for a behind and we reload.

Rocca Flys High
19 Aug 2006, 01:10
Alas, Form is going to be a problem at this time, even 50 goals is looking bleak now!

But remember, if it wasn't for that smart kick to Didak, we'd have lost, but let's face it, even if he's in **** form, he's still runs the forward line, Heck, he did a fantastic job at the start of the year!

PieLebo87
19 Aug 2006, 01:27
The turning point was Wakelin's inexcusable f**k up on the last line when he fumbled and Burgoyne pounced and set up the goal. All he had to do was rush it through for a behind and we reload.
Agreed, I could've sworn I counted 3 2-goal turn-arounds for Port after that :confused: Seriously!

CarnthePies
19 Aug 2006, 10:59
He did set up the winning goal

inside_player
19 Aug 2006, 12:34
did anyone else think he looked proppy last night???

i think he could 2 with a couple weeks on the sidelines, to get fit and fired up come finals.

CarnthePies
19 Aug 2006, 14:06
He also showed he wasn't too bad in ruck. I bet Mick will keep him.

But when Tarrant is better I'd like to see Rocca get dropped and make Tarrant the main forward for a week or two.

Nesian
19 Aug 2006, 15:47
He also showed he wasn't too bad in ruck. I bet Mick will keep him.

But when Tarrant is better I'd like to see Rocca get dropped and make Tarrant the main forward for a week or two.

yeah agree with that, that would look good with taz and rus both in, and i thought we lacked a bit of forward pressure, which is what taz ususally does. both have genuine pace, and if taz took some of the good defenders it lets rus get under the radar.

Hadders
19 Aug 2006, 15:51
If he's not fit give him a couple of weeks rest so he can get right for the finals.

Otherwise play him off the bench purely as a backup ruckman for Fraser. He was serviceable in the ruck last night and that's all we really need from him, someone who can relieve Josh for the last 10 minutes of each quarter. He's not having an impact anywhere else on the ground so playing him in that role won't hurt our forward line.