View Full Version : Operation "Get Tarrant"
What does everyone think??
I say lets go for it!
He would be great up forward for us.
Imagine Kerr, Cuzz, Judd, Braun, etc, etc, etc spearing passes into Tazz.
He'd be a 60+ goal kicker every year for sure.
Dunno what we'd give up for him though.
thoughts??
Lynch>>>Tarrant
Fact. If you add goals and goal assits Lynch is 20+ goals infront, he works harder, isnt a troublemaker and is on half the wages
Tarrant = No go
Fevola or Williams= Yes
Lynch>>>Tarrant
Fact. If you add goals and goal assits Lynch is 20+ goals infront, he works harder, isnt a troublemaker and is on half the wages
Tarrant = No go
Fevola or Williams= Yes
1. Tarrant would be good because he would allow Lynch to be one out at FF and can then put Staker down back and try things like that. (this is all specualtion coz I think the pies will re-sign Tazz but Id like to get him)
2. Fev will NEVER leave Carlton now - He has turned his life in and out of football around. 12 months ago he was a mess but now has a stable life outside footy with a wife/girlfriend and a baby to focus on. He will win the Coleman Medal this year (not bad considering they are bottom) and will more than likely be the next captain of the blues (when Kouta leaves). So we missed out on Fev last year.
3. Mark Williams seems to be a possibilty. he is a WA boy and there are rumours he wants to come home (not sure how true this is). It would be a big get to pick up "shotgun" Here's hoping hey.
Where would you play him Cuzz? CHF?
Because I'd rate Hansen, Lynch, even Staker ahead of Tarrant.
Tarrent is a seagull who only kicks goals when his man falls over or if he's sat in the goal square on his own. Dont want him and dont need him
bassmanx
12 Aug 2006, 13:57
Not keen at all.
Besides being well over rated he really should change his name to Richard Cranium.
Bestbird
12 Aug 2006, 14:00
Williams would be a much better target than Tarrant
Having said that both the Hawks (if spider leaves) and Pies will be looking for a ruckman so either are a possibility
Gunnar Longshanks
12 Aug 2006, 14:04
Is Chris Tarrant even a key forward?
Eagles 4 Mine
12 Aug 2006, 14:09
Taz wouldn't leave Melbourne anyway so it makes the decision easy from my point of view. Leave him in Melbourne we don't want him.
Gee wiz I watching Saturday central while on the net I just can't believe how Carey defends him like it's his love child.:confused:
He is making Carey look like a tool.
bassmanx
12 Aug 2006, 14:11
Taz wouldn't leave Melbourne anyway so it makes the decision easy from my point of view. Leave him in Melbourne we don't want him.
Gee wiz I watching Saturday central while on the net I just can't believe how Carey defends him like it's his love child.:confused:
He is making Carey look like a tool.
Carey needs absolutely no help there mate.
he really should change his name to Richard Cranium.
Whole heartedly agree:thumbsu:
sdb4884
12 Aug 2006, 14:13
I say lets go for it!
thoughts??
Mark Williams is the player we should go for definatley.
GoBackToVFL
12 Aug 2006, 14:14
cuzz09 just wants tarrant so there's another reason to hang shyt on the eagles
Seagull who can't kick straight. Last thing we need.
bunsen burner
12 Aug 2006, 16:44
Can't kick.
Probably better than Staker as a player but would costs us a heap in trade and player payments. No thanks.
He fights alright though.
Eagles 4 Mine
12 Aug 2006, 22:17
Carey needs absolutely no help there mate.
Good call.:thumbsu:
Jimmy_the_Gent
12 Aug 2006, 22:41
Probably better than Staker as a player but would costs us a heap in trade and player payments. No thanks.
I reckon Staker will be better than Tarrant in about 2 or 3 years.
We shouldn't bother with Taz, he's got a lot of negatives attatched to him.
Ruddiger
12 Aug 2006, 22:44
I say lets go for it!
thoughts??
60+ goals a year ???? That's laughable. He'd need to kick straight to do that.
And we've just gotten rid of an off field headache in Gardiner; we don't need another one.
Scotland
13 Aug 2006, 01:49
Glorified half-forward flanker. For what it would cost to get him (Daniel Kerr if you believe some Pies fans:D) he wouldn't contribute a whole lot more to the side than a Hansen or Staker does currently.
I reckon Staker will be better than Tarrant in about 2 or 3 years.
We shouldn't bother with Taz, he's got a lot of negatives attatched to him.
Staker's better than Tarrant now.
Black JuJu
13 Aug 2006, 03:01
Glorified half-forward flanker.
Been saying it for years.
He'd attract the best defender most likely on reputation, which would be good news for Lynchy but he needs Rocca up and firing to have any chance at doing well.
The guy is the new Matthew Richardson without the massive amount of talent. Some talent, don't get me wrong, but he's not a gun key forward.
As for Mark Williams, if he's such a goer, why don't Hawthorn win more games with him and their 'guns' in the middle? - He's kicked 44 goals this season as pretty much Hawthorn's only obvious target and got dropped a few weeks back for having virtually no second efforts. Why would we replace Lynch (39 goals) with that guy?
Oh and Embers, show me the goal assist stats please, you didn't respond to anyone in that thread you started on the main board earlier.
Jimmy_the_Gent
13 Aug 2006, 22:27
Staker's better than Tarrant now.
No, he's not.
Tarrant this year: 13.6 Possessions, 7.3 Marks, 2 Tackles per game. 18 games and 30 goals
Staker: 11.9 Possessions, 5 Marks, 1.9 Tackles, 19 games 21 goals.
I know stats aren't everything but Tarrant has Buffy covered in everything ATM. The difference is Staker is 22 and played 65 career games and Tarrant is 26 with 159 games.
How about "Operation No ****ing Way"
Would add nothing to our squad that we dont already have. He is hugely overrated.
No, he's not.
Tarrant this year: 13.6 Possessions, 7.3 Marks, 2 Tackles per game. 18 games and 30 goals
Staker: 11.9 Possessions, 5 Marks, 1.9 Tackles, 19 games 21 goals.
I know stats aren't everything but Tarrant has Buffy covered in everything ATM. The difference is Staker is 22 and played 65 career games and Tarrant is 26 with 159 games.
Honestly I'd rate them pretty equal, was just making a point. Tarrant gets a lot of ball kicked in his direction. You know what they say about blind squirrels.
Jimmy_the_Gent
14 Aug 2006, 01:06
Honestly I'd rate them pretty equal, was just making a point. Tarrant gets a lot of ball kicked in his direction. You know what they say about blind squirrels.
Yeah, I probably went overboard but I don't like over rating players. Pretty soon you end up like Collingwood.
Yeah. Believe me I know what you mean. My comment was more directed at them both being pretty crappy, rather than good.
ekzistenz
14 Aug 2006, 02:35
The guy is the new Matthew Richardson without the massive amount of talent. Some talent, don't get me wrong, but he's not a gun key forward.
Haha, Matthew Richardson without the talent, nice. :D
I too don't think Staker's on Tarrant's level at the moment, but he's 22 and Tarrant's 26. You have to remember taller players generally take longer to develop and you never know Tarrant could become the player that Collingwood are hoping for (doubtful though).
As you can probably tell my now, I'm against the Eagles trying to poach Tarrant. I believe the only forwards that we should have gone for (that we had even the slightest chance of getting) were Fev and maybe Thompson.
Goldenblue
14 Aug 2006, 20:31
No, we don't want Tarrant, he is a headcase.
I would not flinch at Williams though.