View Full Version : Round 20 Adelaide vs Bulldogs - Team Changes, etc
Shane Tongerie kicked 4 goals in a game once.
Yeah and now he works a few floors above me.
What a gun.
macca23
17 Aug 2006, 21:48
IN: Ricciuto, Biglands, Hart, Skipworth
OUT: McGregor (hamstring), Bassett (hip), Porplyzia, Maric
EMG: Hudson, Torney, Douglas
Source: Russian from the main board
And very accurate he was too!! :thumbsu:
Some very good ins there, particularly the skipper.
Congrats to Skippy who as Graham Cornes said, has forced the selectors to pick him with performances.
He's deserved his chance. Let's hope he has a good one.
Drummond
17 Aug 2006, 22:37
Shirley named right in the guts, while VB is on the bench... :(
Shirley named right in the guts, while VB is on the bench...
Uninspiring changes.
Welcome Hayden "My limit is 40" Skipworth! :thumbsu:
:mad: FFS I am glad your an interweb selector
So its your contention that players should not be rewarded for form? According to reports its not just last week that he has gotten possession.
And Shirley will play on West ( or Goodwin will) and VB will get Johnson...ffs if you think getting named in the paper on the bench means someone lines up there your a bigger interweb selector than I thought
:mad:
I like these changes. Though I wonder about Hart and Biglands. Was Biglands flu? If so he should be recovered and play
Stiffy_18
17 Aug 2006, 23:03
I like these changes. Though I wonder about Hart and Biglands. Was Biglands flu? If so he should be recovered and play
Biglands was out with a hammy. I would personally rest him this week just make sure he is fully recovered.
Crow-mo
17 Aug 2006, 23:03
Shane Tongerie kicked 4 goals in a game once.
are you saying tongerie lacked ability :)
Drummond
17 Aug 2006, 23:06
:mad: FFS I am glad your an interweb selector
So its your contention that players should not be rewarded for form? According to reports its not just last week that he has gotten possession.
And Shirley will play on West ( or Goodwin will) and VB will get Johnson...ffs if you think getting named in the paper on the bench means someone lines up there your a bigger interweb selector than I thought
:mad:
So as van Berlo was named to start on the bench last week in the paper, which means nothing to you, why then did he happen to start on the bench of all places? :confused: Please get back to me on this one, the interweb selector that I am is dying to know.
And yes I saw Skippy’s game last week for the Eagles; no doubt he played well and has put in consecutive strong games, but why should he be included? Aside from the fact that he’ll give 100% what exactly does he offer the side? Versatility, speed, strength, ability to run the lines? He’s a step above SANFL level but he offers us very little.
Biglands was out with a hammy. I would personally rest him this week just make sure he is fully recovered.
Then that makes the Maric selection even stranger :confused: :confused:
So as van Berlo was named to start on the bench last week in the paper, which means nothing to you, why then did he happen to start on the bench of all places? :confused: Please get back to me on this one, the interweb selector that I am is dying to know. Has everyone lined up every week in the positions named?
And yes I saw Skippy’s game last week for the Eagles; no doubt he played well and has put in consecutive strong games, but why should he be included? Aside from the fact that he’ll give 100% what exactly does he offer the side? Versatility, speed, strength, ability to run the lines? He’s a step above SANFL level but he offers us very little.
Form and rewarding form.
''Gee Knightsy sorry mate keep getting 30 possies a week mate but ahhh we'll give you a call when you match up with someone''
If the one thing that keeps youngsters and veterans training hard and playing hard is ultimately form WILL be rewarded. He is on an AFL list..he has been deemed good enough to play AFL football.
Carl Spackler
18 Aug 2006, 00:42
are you saying tongerie lacked ability :)
Yes I am.
Ability = possession of the qualities required to do something or get something done.
4 goals in a game doesn't necessarily = ability. Potential, yes. Talent, certainly.
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 10:34
Predictable changes I guess.
I think we are fast arriving at the point of no return for Pez and Huddo. I was hoping for their inclusion this week - but understand the matchup issues with the Western Pigmys. I think if both of these guys aren't selected next week then they are unlikely to take part in the finals. As we all know - finals is a step up in pace from minor Round footy - not unlike the gap between SANFL and AFL. It's all very well to trot around for the Chooks, but they will need at least 2 minor round games in the AFL to aclimatise for AFL Finals. I'm not saying it's impossible - but I think they will be hard pressed to play zero AFL footbal for 15 weeks and 12 months - and then come straight into a finals series.
I'm not saying it's impossible - but I think they will be hard pressed to play zero AFL footbal for 15 weeks and 12 months - and then come straight into a finals series.
Aaron Keating board!
I think you are right - and examples around the club's history - such as Liptak (1998) Kris Massie (2005) would support that it's hard to do it successfully. Particularly for KPPs perhaps.
beartoo
18 Aug 2006, 10:57
I tip Hudson to either replace Biglands in the side this week or play next week.
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 10:59
Aaron Keating board!
I think you are right - and examples around the club's history - such as Liptak (1998) Kris Massie (2005) would support that it's hard to do it successfully. Particularly for KPPs perhaps.
3rd game a premiership....:eek:
try explaining that to Paul Roos....:D
It hasn't really been discussed amongst the disappointment of Hudson's non selection and Skipworth's recall but I am really happy to see Welsh keep his spot. I was half expecting him to make way for Ricciuto but we've kept with him. One of them is going to benefit from the other being in the side. I think it adds a dimension to the full forward line that we haven't had and if it works could form a lethal combination. Than again maybe Welsh is only marking time until McGregor gets back.
Another thing that occurred to me is that in our team we have Bock 2 games, Welsh 1 game, Hudson 0 games. Obviously Hudson isn't in the team yet but I wonder if it is a danger to put too many players in our side that just haven't played enough football all year. Unlike last year we have really had rotten luck with injuries. I guess it makes our ladder position even more impressive.
I dont know that NC has much choice. If he believes these players are going to win him a final series then he will sacrifice short term ie losses to gain long term ..readiness by finals
Lets hope it works
In Neil We Trust
Stiffy_18
18 Aug 2006, 12:35
It hasn't really been discussed amongst the disappointment of Hudson's non selection and Skipworth's recall but I am really happy to see Welsh keep his spot. I was half expecting him to make way for Ricciuto but we've kept with him. One of them is going to benefit from the other being in the side. I think it adds a dimension to the full forward line that we haven't had and if it works could form a lethal combination. Than again maybe Welsh is only marking time until McGregor gets back.
I think Welshy is safe. He won't get dropped unless he REALLY struggles which I can't see happening. Even against Freo, he got better as the game went on.
Same goes for Huddo. The biggest challenge for him IMHO, is getting into the side. Once he gets there, he will stay there unless really poor form or injury forces our hands.
I think you will find that the match committee won't really drop performing players for those they consider in their best 22 but if there chance arises where they can bring in that player, once he is in, they will find it hard to drop him.
I dont know that NC has much choice. If he believes these players are going to win him a final series then he will sacrifice short term ie losses to gain long term ..readiness by finals
Lets hope it works
In Neil We Trust
Don't get me wrong, I'm not concerned about the next 3 games. But even when the finals come along, those three players will still have only played 2-5 games each and won't have a big fitness base behind them. They've all been out somewhere between 6 and 12 months.
I'm not really for or against playing them in the same side, I'm just suggesting that lack of game time for too many players might be a consideration. There would be a limit of the number of this type that you'd play in a finals team.
beartoo
18 Aug 2006, 15:44
Douglas is the only emergency traveling to Melbourne, so Hudson will most likely line up for the Roosters. AJ will be wrapt.
Truck Rutten
18 Aug 2006, 17:08
Douglas is the only emergency traveling to Melbourne, so Hudson will most likely line up for the Roosters. AJ will be wrapt.
FFS, so the Bays lose Douglas and Willits, and still have Huddo lining up against them. :(
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 17:52
Some very good points Mong - I think we look far more dangerous with Welsh in the side - whether he delivers or not is another matter - but over the last few weeks - opposition defenders have covered Kenny and Trent with ease......adding Welsh gives them something else to think about - they need to pay him respect with a good defender.
My prefered fwd line with no Bird is
Ken, Welsh, Thommo/changing with Roo on the ball
Trent, Pez, "rotating midfielder".
But havent we always had , Carey aside, good 2nd 3rd string forwards?
I have seen Welsh compared on here to a gun FF yet to be honest he is a good second or 3rd banana who is more effective when the 2nd or 3rd best defender is looking after him. I also see Trent H in the same mould...he operates better with less attention. When KMac was firing early in the year and Perrie was playing Hentschell shone...now he is getting more attention I feel he is struggling
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 18:14
But havent we always had , Carey aside, good 2nd 3rd string forwards?
I have seen Welsh compared on here to a gun FF yet to be honest he is a good second or 3rd banana who is more effective when the 2nd or 3rd best defender is looking after him. I also see Trent H in the same mould...he operates better with less attention. When KMac was firing early in the year and Perrie was playing Hentschell shone...now he is getting more attention I feel he is struggling
Bryan Bienke Board....;)
a few times copped the best defender and was pantsed.
a few times copped the 3rd or 4th best - and chipped in for 3 or 4 .
Forward line coaching is sometimes all about potential to score. Add a quality 3rd or 4th string tall - all the defenders have to slide down one - not only do you gain the potential score of the added tall - but you pick up 10 to 15% worth of rreleased pressure on the better forwards. Suddenly double teaming is out of the question for the defenders.....;)
Gotta keep them honest and give them no room to ignore a leading movement.
Suddenly double teaming is out of the question for the defenders.....;)
Graham Cornes 93 Prelim Final Board :mad:
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 18:19
Graham Cornes 93 Prelim Final Board :mad:
my therapist says I shouldn't discuss that......:(
13 years on and I still get angry. Watching Scott Hodges go off with the runner I turned to my brother and said wtf ... :(
Mad Dog
18 Aug 2006, 18:27
13 years on and I still get angry. Watching Scott Hodges go off with the runner I turned to my brother and said wtf ... :(
I think that was the beginning of the end for both parties....:(
We had them stretched with Wiggles, Bone(?), and Hodges, and Rehny drifting forward
Cornes was just too pig-headed for his own good.....:rolleyes:
jenny61_99
18 Aug 2006, 19:32
Cornes was just too pig-headed for his own good.....:rolleyes:
Cornes???? Pig-headed????? :D
Good thing you didn't say Big-headed!:p
birdmanptr
18 Aug 2006, 21:00
FFS, so the Bays lose Douglas and Willits, and still have Huddo lining up against them. :(
Bit rough but good for Dougie and ill be at the g to see his debut
Stiffy_18
18 Aug 2006, 21:10
I find this Richard Douglas thing really strange. I know we take one of the emergencies to Melbourne with us every time just as a precautionary measure. However, we always send them home if everyone in the name side wakes up well and pulls up well from the early morning "warm up". That way the emergency can come back in time to play in the SANFL.
With Dougie the club has said that he won't be back and will stay in Melbourne with the team in case someone does something in the warm ups at the MCG. I find this very strange. What exactly are the AFC up to. I can only see 2 possible options
a) Dougie will play and replace someone in the selected side. Its likely going to be a small.
b) AFC are taking him over so he experiences what the side does on the road and how they prepare for the game. So he will do everything like the rest of the team except play.
Which option is it? If its A, then who is he replacing?
Very strange :confused:
Dandy_GO
18 Aug 2006, 21:14
I find this Richard Douglas thing really strange. I know we take one of the emergencies to Melbourne with us every time just as a precautionary measure. However, we always send them home if everyone in the name side wakes up well and pulls up well from the early morning "warm up". That way the emergency can come back in time to play in the SANFL.
With Dougie the club has said that he won't be back and will stay in Melbourne with the team in case someone does something in the warm ups at the MCG. I find this very strange. What exactly are the AFC up to. I can only see 2 possible options
a) Dougie will play and replace someone in the selected side. Its likely going to be a small.
b) AFC are taking him over so he experiences what the side does on the road and how they prepare for the game. So he will do everything like the rest of the team except play.
Probably B given that he's still a young lad and his family is over in Victoria. Might be just giving him the chance to spend the weekend with them.
JR put 5 grand on North????:p
Crow-mo
18 Aug 2006, 23:50
Yes I am.
Ability = possession of the qualities required to do something or get something done.
4 goals in a game doesn't necessarily = ability. Potential, yes. Talent, certainly.
semantics. Tongerie was good enough.
I really hope Douglas makes his debut. He has definetely earned it. Is a gun player and a gun of a bloke.
I will be at the game as well, so fingers crossed he gets a run. Rising star nomination here he comes ;)
I really hope Douglas makes his debut. He has definetely earned it. Is a gun player and a gun of a bloke.
I will be at the game as well, so fingers crossed he gets a run. Rising star nomination here he comes ;)
Enjoy the game Gets
I would be surprised if he does make his debut this late in the year but good luck if he does
4 points!!!
4 ****ING POINTS!