View Full Version : Thoughts On The Freemantle Game
Wayne's-World
13 Aug 2006, 20:55
Got a touch of Flu so please bare with me any Gaffs.
Today the Adelaide Crows did everything the opposite to what they have done all year?
Instead we:
1. Missed targets by hand and foot consistently
2. Looked slow with very slow reaction times to actions going on around the play.
3. Made some very ordinary selection decisions around Maric
4. Consistently were beaten at clearances
5. Failed to nail tackles
6. Failed to apply any real midfield pressure on the opposition thus allowing them to run freely through the centre corridor - our seasons full game average opposition scoring tally I think was surpassed by half time
7. We consitently just blasted the ball into the forward lines - Ayres style
Now that is just too much of what we havn't seen all year for there not to be some explanation.
After a hard 4 week training campaign and a very long season where we have been up and strong running - have we blown out? or can Craig rejuvinate the side?
The hard running, tackling midfield that covered so much ground in so many games appeared to run out of gas - this is the fundamental problem !
I'll leave it for those who were there live to better explain the tactical differences of this game v other games but it did appear we didn't play a "A" grade game today?
Thought Welsh had a good first up game, great to see Mattner back in some form and Macleod till he went flat was back to his usual self.
IMO Birdman is the difference between a flag and failure....his ability to cover ground, open up space and his unpredicatble nature is vital to our chances - I'll be waiting with fingers crossed on his hammy.
Got to get our tackling rates up!
maximus
13 Aug 2006, 21:15
Overall, too many mistakes....dropped marks, fumbled attempts at picking up the ball, not giving the first option cleanly, getting caught with the ball, slow looping handpasses, getting caught on the wrong foot, turnovers etc etc
These errors, together with a lack of run from the back and lack of quality clearances have reduced our effectiveness going forward and made our forwards look very ordinary.
Good games from Edwards, Bode, Doughty and Mattner but too much left to too few.
Having said all that, hopefully we turn it around this week.
Wayne's-World
13 Aug 2006, 21:20
Reilly has to show more urgency....sometimes you have to forget the "pretty" skills and get down and dirty
macca23
13 Aug 2006, 21:21
Today the Adelaide Crows did everything the opposite to what they have done all year?
Instead we:
2. Looked slow with very slow reaction times to actions going on around the play.
6. Failed to apply any real midfield pressure on the opposition thus allowing them to run freely through the centre corridor - our seasons full game average opposition scoring tally I think was surpassed by half time
Now that is just too much of what we havn't seen all year for there not to be some explanation.
After a hard 4 week training campaign and a very long season where we have been up and strong running - have we blown out? or can Craig rejuvinate the side?
The hard running, tackling midfield that covered so much ground in so many games appeared to run out of gas - this is the fundamental problem !
Very accurate summary of what happened today WW.
We looked a shadow of a side that's capable of winning a flag. Very very ordinary.
The other part of your post that I haven't quoted re Burton is very relevant. Our forward line has lost a heap of potency without him there.
The game against the Bullies is vital IMO. We will have been freshened for this one, and we need to start getting our game back on track other-wise it's just going to be a wasted season.
Wayne's-World
13 Aug 2006, 21:26
We looked a shadow of a side that's capable of winning a flag. Very very ordinary.
The other part of your post that I haven't quoted re Burton is very relevant. Our forward line has lost a heap of potency without him there.
The game against the Bullies is vital IMO. We will have been freshened for this one, and we need to start getting our game back on track other-wise it's just going to be a wasted season.
This training campaign has now caused how many hamstring injuries?.....Burton, Biglands, Hart, McGregor .....this may come back to haunt us, particularly Burton who as you say has been the "X" factor this year.
Because he plays tall he provided the extra marking power in the forward lines and the ability to help clog the midfield up.
The last 2 weeks he has been tightly tagged and we have struggled
maccas_no1
13 Aug 2006, 21:32
Reilly has to show more urgency....sometimes you have to forget the "pretty" skills and get down and dirty
Noticed once or twice he backed out of a couple of contests:mad:
Wayne's-World
13 Aug 2006, 21:35
yeah I'm a big fan but can he in a final go past the limit of tiredness and give that extra 10%.....that's the big question this final's series will answer about Reilly;)
sworc36
13 Aug 2006, 21:44
Instead we:
I'll leave it for those who were there live to better explain the tactical differences of this game v other games but it did appear we didn't play a "A" grade game today?
Thought Welsh had a good first up game, great to see Mattner back in some form and Macleod till he went flat was back to his usual self.
IMO Birdman is the difference between a flag and failure....his ability to cover ground, open up space and his unpredicatble nature is vital to our chances - I'll be waiting with fingers crossed on his hammy.
Agree totally. Especially about Burton. Id go as far as saying out of everyone thats injured he's the one we are missing and need back, in form, for the finals .
TheTruth
13 Aug 2006, 22:02
Instead we:
A good summary.
Dandy_GO
13 Aug 2006, 22:07
Anyone know the centre break figures? That looked to be an area of real concern this week.
SpringChoke
13 Aug 2006, 22:21
Actually I thought the opposite. He put his body on the line in at least twice 2 very good marking contests.
SpringChoke
13 Aug 2006, 22:33
At the risk of stating the obvious, if we continue on with our form of the last 3 weeks we won't get past the prelim. final, at best.
macca23
13 Aug 2006, 22:46
Anyone know the centre break figures? That looked to be an area of real concern this week.
I can't remember the exact numbers but I remember hearing that we won the centre breaks quite significantly. A good effort by Clarke considering the size and height of Sandilands.
It was a totally different story re the stoppages though. Apparently we got well and truly beaten in them.
I think it was Matthew Carr tagging Goodwin and he rendered him almost innefective today.
macca23
13 Aug 2006, 22:55
At the risk of stating the obvious, if we continue on with our form of the last 3 weeks we won't get past the prelim. final, at best.
This statement can't be taken lightly.
If this is what's coming consistently in future, we won't make the preliminary final, let alone get past it. We looked a very ordinary side today.
Let me throw this one into the ring.
Prior to Craig ramping up the work-load in the past month, we were unstoppable. Our football was irresistible. We were running out games like stayers, so did we need the extra work-load??
What the extra work-load has produced to date is a loss of form, 2 losses and 4 key players breaking down with ham-string injuries.
Has Craig pulled the wrong rein, by tampering with a winning formula??
Will we re-discover the white-hot form we were in prior to a month ago??
Or has there been such a loss of confidence and self-belief, that we will go out meekly in straight sets??
The next 3 minor round games will tell us a lot about the answers to these questions.
dyertribe
13 Aug 2006, 23:27
If this is what's coming consistently in future, we won't make the preliminary final, let alone get past it. We looked a very ordinary side today.
Prior to Craig ramping up the work-load in the past month, we were unstoppable. Our football was irresistible. We were running out games like stayers, so did we need the extra work-load??
What the extra work-load has produced to date is a loss of form, 2 losses and 4 key players breaking down with ham-string injuries.
Or has there been such a loss of confidence and self-belief, that we will go out meekly in straight sets??
The next 3 minor round games will tell us a lot about the answers to these questions.
You've made me as depressed as Mark Waugh when he wakes up and looks to his left. :(
beagle2
13 Aug 2006, 23:33
Perhaps those flu jabs they all had to have the day before they flew to Perth have a bigger than expected effect
CrowTwig
13 Aug 2006, 23:39
I noticed you failed to mention Bode's standout performance as our biggest forward threat today.
jenny61_99
13 Aug 2006, 23:56
Another VERY frustrating game, but not unexpected. I do believe I said last week I thought it would be a miracle if we won this game - and that was before we lost Biglands, Roo, Hart and Burton (and subsequently McGregor and Bassett)!
There were some good signs today - Bode, Clarke, Edwards (apart from the errors), McLeod, Doughty, and Mattner... there were some ordinary signs too... Johncock, Stevens, Thompson, McGregor, Shirley. We looked dog tired in that last quarter - I think we'd spent all the fuel we had regaining the lead in the 3rd.
Some are saying we didnt take risks - but IMO it was the risks we were taking that cost us the game. The handball at all costs, and subsequent turn-overs this caused, and the bomb-it-in-Ayres style forward line was a killer. 10 goals TWENTY points. I know it was his first week back, but Welshy - you are picked as a key forward TO KICK GOALS. I would really like to see Porplyzia on the ground in the forward lines for a big portion of the game. We all know he's a good grab and he's a pretty accurate kick too. (To me he is a younger version of Roo).
Craig alluded to things they were trying and that we had to be patient. Anyone have a clue to what he was referring to?
I am not as confident about making it to the GF as I was 5 weeks ago, but I still have faith in the boys.
acg_204*
14 Aug 2006, 00:08
We just looked slow today. Even with about fifteen minutes to go when we were still right in the game we looked like we were ten goals down. No energy there.
Stiffy looks like he's gone limp and Hentschel could hardly move in the last quarter.
And I got stuck sitting infront of a complete tool whom I had to refrain myself from punching when she was calling for Edwards to be dropped for Skippy.
You've made me as depressed as Mark Waugh when he wakes up and looks to his left. :(
Geez mate, she's not that bad (http://www.kimmoore.com.au/). He traded in the old hag for a new model a year or two ago.
We looked the goods until late in the first quarter and the same in the second.
A life and death struggle in the third and we dug deep,only to be lifeless in the last.:eek:
Johncock looked lame,so did Bock and Hentshel.
I wont forget in the last quarter Bock running to a loose ball on the outer wing and Johnson murdering him in a sprint and Bock continued to chase.He looked like a cart horse racing Pharlap.:eek:
We were stuffed physically today.
You would think this week wil be light on the track.:rolleyes:
Carl Spackler
14 Aug 2006, 01:16
I wont forget in the last quarter Bock running to a loose ball on the outer wing and Johnson murdering him in a sprint and Bock continued to chase.He looked like a cart horse racing Pharlap.:eek:
Who did Bock burn off in the last quarter? Ran inside 50, took a bounce, kick was touched on the line. Looked ok to me.
Really pleased for Bode. NC and the selectors have shown a lot of faith in him despite a disappointing middle of the season. Hopefully has now booked his spot, will be a crucial player for us in September.
Pleased that Doughty and Reilly got a bit of the ball today. They have been terrible over the last few weeks. Van Berlo did some good things and Mattner was excellent.
Johncock and Goodwin both got seemingly mild head knocks during the game and looked out of sorts afterwards. Still puzzled by the use of Thompson. I thought that after the West Coast game when he was our only good player that he would get a decent run in the midfield. Still spends time up forward, a waste.
The Massie and Stevens renaissance is officially over. Good while it lasted but time to get serious for finals. Bock to CHB, Torney in.
I've been a huge critic of Clarke but have to admit that he had a genuine crack today and did well against Sandilands. Seemed that with Biglands out he took on the responsibility and raised his game. Why did it take Biglands to be out injured for him to produce some decent footy?
The Bulldogs game at the MCG next week is the best thing for us. We get to leave the pressures of the fans/media behind and go on a road trip to the field of dreams. Not only that but we play a team that is flat and struggling with injury, as we are. An opportunity for a win and a great Saturday night in Melbourne, few beers, great for team spirit. Have an excellent feeling about this week. Will be the launching pad for finals success.
Geez mate, she's not that bad (http://www.kimmoore.com.au/). He traded in the old hag for a new model a year or two ago.
Yeah, I was gonna say, Mark's actually done well for himself recently, after so many wasted years.
Everything about the game has already been said, and the only positive I can draw from it is that at least we
performed like that now and not in the qualifying final in four weeks time.
Obviously, it's really important that we make very good use of these last three matches, and try and rebuild some of that lost confidence and form.
I think if the finals were next week, we'd almost be stuffed, but there is time to rectify the situation.
The biggest problem atm are the injuries, which make it hard to settle down a line-up, just when we need some continuity in the side.
And without looking for excuses, I also wonder how these new set-ups and closed door sessions are affecting the boys.
Just finally, I agree Carl, light week on the track, then a game at the hallowed turf; if they can't get up for this match, then I'll REALLY be concerned.
Haha poor Bock. The heart was in it but the legs were going up and down in the one spot ...give him credit for keeping on going
His kicks were short chips because I fear his back is still playing up ie he didnt overextend his kicking leg
Kickin_Goals
14 Aug 2006, 03:04
Not hard to look better with more time on the field contrasted with Sandilands poor effort. 24 hitouts from Clarke combined with Maric gives 27...with a total of 30 all up.
Sandilands had 19, team total of 21. So 30-21 won hitouts again but the stat is useless to us with the quality of taps.
Around stoppages Clarke is normally worse he gets out-bodied gives away frees gave away 3 today as well as last week
It's good that he wins hitouts I'd much prefer him punch the ball over tapping it though.
How many winning taps create first possession? How many ever do?
What exactly does Shirley bring that Skipworth doesn't? For that matter anyone in the crows reserves.
I would doubt there is a worst performed mid-fielder in the competition and this one is in the top team with only two reasonable flat track games to his credit all season.
Passenger, not even a decent flat track player.
WTF 10.20 to 13.17 the much predicted point out, atleast Skippy can kick straight and make the distance.
Bode is our best forward? what crap is being kicked in there that Bode is the only one who can score, our entry being worse then Fremantles is shocking.
It's pretty ridiculous to think a side with a combination who plays like this in the midfield can win a flag or come close.
If Shirley can get by being unimpresive there is no pressure on players to perform for their slots in the team.
Shirley out any random player in. Skippy/Douglas perhaps just Roo or Thompson could slot in there Roo take Thompsons slot on HF or vise versa.
Don't be clueless Massie stays in, your memory seems much like that of a goldfish one of our better players against Collingwood.
Reilly actually played well last week as well in the BOG votes, what are you watching?
Stevens can't match Pavlich not many can but they do a damn sure better job, he can move off CHB not good enough to be in the spine atm.
A possible drop for Torney with Bock or McGregor to take his spot.
When can we have Hudson back Craig? He is doing just fine down in the SANFL.
I saw Perrie playing SANFL he doesn't even seem to be up to their level....
Edwards for Skippy, thas moronic you don't drop your only player performing when your blessed with poor performers.
The tarot card said they were re-structuring that's as much as I know about that ;p
The old sedative in the flu shot aye?
Burton was always going to be the huge loss.... hasn't had a bad game all year.
Glenno23
14 Aug 2006, 03:44
I thought the most dissapointing part of the game was our forward entries. "Just bomb it in" seemed to be the plan, how were our forwards meant to kick goals, when the passes weren't even going any near our players??
I thought the best players today were Edwards, Mattner, McLeod (1st half) and Bodey.....
Craig has said that there will be some players that will have 3 days off this week :thumbsu: lets hope that refreshes them enough! the doggies aint travelling to crash hot either, so we are better off playing them now, as opposed to when they were super hot....
Capitalist
14 Aug 2006, 10:35
I can’t believe more has not been said about Bock, I though for his first game back he was excellent he was the only forward who consisntenly gave an option and also (apart from this apparent chase) seemed to be the only forward capable of out running his opponent.
Doughty was excellent as well, without him and Edwards early I am not sure we would have still been in the game.
VB – what a champion
Trent – played so/so but kicked 3 goals so is that considered a poor game?
I also think people are being excessivly harsh on Stevens, the midfield pressure was pathetic, its difficult enough to hold Pavlich (someone name 1 person in our team that has successfully ?) but with the ball coming in with such ease it’s a tough job.
I was impressed with Bode today his crumbing was the best I have seen from out team in along time
Poor Maric was well and truly out of his league, however will be better for the experience.
Saw the Skippy in the SANFL – must be knocking on the door.
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 10:44
I also think people are being excessivly harsh on Stevens, the midfield pressure was pathetic, its difficult enough to hold Pavlich (someone name 1 person in our team that has successfully ?) but with the ball coming in with such ease it’s a tough job.
I was impressed with Bode today his crumbing was the best I have seen from out team in along time
Poor Maric was well and truly out of his league, however will be better for the experience.
Saw the Skippy in the SANFL – must be knocking on the door.
1. Stevens and the whole backline was under pressure due to the lack of midfield pressure as you say.....wouldn't blame Stevens
2. If Bode played like he did yesterday he would win me over.....a great game.....but until he can demonstrate a degree of consistency I have HUGE queries.
3. poor Maric was so stiff he could hardly leap....was not fair on the kid....poor decision making by the AFC
Capitalist
14 Aug 2006, 11:00
1. Stevens and the whole backline was under pressure due to the lack of midfield pressure as you say.....wouldn't blame Stevens
2. If Bode played like he did yesterday he would win me over.....a great game.....but until he can demonstrate a degree of consistency I have HUGE queries.
3. poor Maric was so stiff he could hardly leap....was not fair on the kid....poor decision making by the AFC
I'm not sure about decision making, I think they just got the biglands thing wrong and needed a way out.
your right on bode, he needs to keep it up, I will be interested in seeing what happens to Porplyzia and Vince next season as they are Bodes biggest threats (IMO)
jenny61_99
14 Aug 2006, 11:00
So are you saying the back line are only as good as the mid-field keeping the ball out of the oppositions forward line???? Surely they actually have to perform what they are paid to perform... ie. DEFEND.
Stevens was hopeless yesterday IMO.
I agree with you on Maric. Poor decision making on the Clubs behalf.
Some people in here are saying how slow and ineffective our mid-field is, yet many have also been saying how they have made our defense look good by keeping the ball in our forward line. I am so confused... what is it - a good mid-field (though off the ball at the moment) or a slow one????
Capitalist
14 Aug 2006, 11:07
So are you saying the back line are only as good as the mid-field keeping the ball out of the oppositions forward line???? Surely they actually have to perform what they are paid to perform... ie. DEFEND.
Some people in here are saying how slow and ineffective our mid-field is, yet many have also been saying how they have made our defense look good by keeping the ball in our forward line. I am so confused... what is it - a good mid-field (though off the ball at the moment) or a slow one????
I think the last few weeks our midfield has looked slow due to slow decision making which has led to mistakes and often allowing the opposition to have open spaces to run into.
as for your other question. Your defensive team can be awesome but if the midfield pressure isn't there then the ball comes in more often and is better quality delivery which is hard to defend against
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 11:12
I'm not sure about decision making, I think they just got the biglands thing wrong and needed a way out.
your right on bode, he needs to keep it up, I will be interested in seeing what happens to Porplyzia and Vince next season as they are Bodes biggest threats (IMO)
These boys need another level of fitness which a second PS will help but generally Iam led to believe it takes 3 full PS to really get to the fitness level required to be a midfielder in the AFL
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 11:28
Our midfield had the reputation of the hardest running in the AFL, able to apply strong defensive pressure thru the midfield causing sloppy kicks into the opposition forward lines for our defence to mop up.....and the ability to get back into defence quickly to get players behind the ball and close spaces in the opposition forward area thru zoning.
We've actually had our fast players ...Macleod, Mattner, Stiffy rebounding off the HB line.
We don't have the quickest midfield whereas West Coast do which is why they hurt us around stoppages and clearances.
We do need a Douglas type in the midfield that can provide in-side ball winning abilities yet have reasonably good footspeed.
We have a midfield currently in transition ...we are clearly not getting first hand to enough balls at stoppages and clearances ....our figures are pushed up by our tackling which causes spillages in our favour....but that still has often meant that we have been second to the ball.
ATM IMO with all the extra training we don't have the oomph to run hard in the midfield....causing missed tackles and not getting back quick enough to help the defence which is exposing them.
Our midfield had the reputation of the hardest running in the AFL, able to apply strong defensive pressure thru the midfield causing sloppy kicks into the opposition forward lines for our defence to mop up.....and the ability to get back into defence quickly to get players behind the ball and close spaces in the opposition forward area thru zoning.
We've actually had our fast players ...Macleod, Mattner, Stiffy rebounding off the HB line.
We don't have the quickest midfield whereas West Coast do which is why they hurt us around stoppages and clearances.
We do need a Douglas type in the midfield that can provide in-side ball winning abilities yet have reasonably good footspeed.
We have a midfield currently in transition ...we are clearly not getting first hand to enough balls at stoppages and clearances ....our figures are pushed up by our tackling which causes spillages in our favour....but that still has often meant that we have been second to the ball.
ATM IMO with all the extra training we don't have the oomph to run hard in the midfield....causing missed tackles and not getting back quick enough to help the defence which is exposing them.
That's where we generated our pace & run through the mid-field restrict those players to a manageable level plus negate Goodwin & our mid-field as such is found wanting in pace & creativity.
We need a fit & in form Roo & Hudson back in the middle as soon as possible.
Stiffy_18
14 Aug 2006, 11:45
Yes and that holds true for every defence in the league. Ever heard of a saying "Great midfield covers a multitude of things"? You should have because we have been living off that saying for the past decade. Any defence is only as good as the midfield they have in front of them. You could have had Stephen Silvani (FB of the century) at his peak in there yeasterday and he would have looked ordinary.
Stevens was OK yesterday. For the life of me I can't get this crap that he has been hopeless. If he was hopeless he wouldn't be getting a game and thats a fact. Sure he will never be a star. Never be mentioned in AA debate but he is a dependable defender that will win more battles than he loses and he has done that this year.
Thunderstruck
14 Aug 2006, 11:52
As a team yesterday we were pathetic. There was barely any cohesiveness at all between the group. Extremely frustrating to watch, only a handful can hold their heads high like Bode and Edwards.
Everytime we got the ball in the backline we ran straight into trouble, handballing to teamates standing still, under pressure or completely missing the target altogether. The crisp, smooth run out of the backline was virtually non-existent.
Our movement into the forward line was awful, just bomb it and hope for best, no purpseful movement at all. Freo ran it out easily, and then straight back down the corridor with no pressure at all. Not bloody good enough. The general level of skill was appalling. Gone is our ability to mentally outthink and outsmart them, gone is the crisp, slick movement of the footy from back to forward, gone is the relentless pressure off the ball to hound opponents into turnovers. Freo had it too easy when they had the footy!! I know that training has been upped and Craigy predicted a slump but there is NO EXCUSE for poor skills and poor decision making. NOT ONE BIT. They need to sharpen up and quick smart and given the mounting injury toll we cant get the same team week in week out. WCE and Sydney are now ahead of us for the flag imo. We need to bounce back pronto, hopefully starting this week against the dogs. I am hoping for a complete TEAM performance, not a few standouts and the rest not contributing. I want to see that RUTHLESSNESS.
Capitalist
14 Aug 2006, 12:09
I'm sorry but i can't swallow this "extra training" routine - they are professional players - I am sure this slump is mental application and maybe a bit due to unsettled team due to injury
I would also like to add that full credit to Fremantle but we lost that game more than Fremantle won it :thumbsd:
beartoo
14 Aug 2006, 12:49
Seem to remember Neil Craig making the point a few weeks ago that with the harder training regime we might drop a couple of games before the finals. We've dropped a couple of games. Keep the faith, people, the flag may yet be ours.
I agree that the spate of hammies is a worry, especially Burton's.
Dandy_GO
14 Aug 2006, 13:31
I'm not too concerned at the moment to be honest. We'd want to be in winning form going into the finals, but there's still a few weeks left - plenty of time. Burton is a big loss, but Huddo, from my point of view, is still the player (at the top of his game) we've missed most. The strength of our midfielders around the stoppages has been exposed in our most recent 2 losses. Hudson is a key part of our side in this area. By all reports he's on track to make it back into the side in the next couple of weeks. Hopefully he'll be able to make a difference come finals. Our forward structure hasn't been great lately either - particularly yesterday, but Roo, despite looking like crap the last few weeks, is an integral part of that now, and we'll look a hell of a lot better next week with him in. His leadership and hardness alone brings a lot to the team. Burton and possibly McGregor do leave holes in our forward line, especially with Perrie looking out of sorts, but I have no doubt we can work around it.
I think we all expected a loss here, and it was very very obvious that the team was severely fatigued. Watch Hentschel in the last quarter. He could barely sprint 10 metres. Craigy announced that we'd possibly drop a few games, and we have. We're still in a better position to win the flag than anyone. To be honest, the only team I'd seriously fear come finals would be West Coast at this point. Every side in the 8 is capable of beating us, but West Coast are the only ones who seem to have the wood over us - even when we're in form. Otherwise, I'm still very confident that we'll return to form and hopefully have a good finals series.
Next week will be the first step towards that, now that our extra training has (I believe) ended.
swanfan
14 Aug 2006, 14:01
As a team yesterday we were pathetic. There was barely any cohesiveness at all between the group. Extremely frustrating to watch, only a handful can hold their heads high like Bode and Edwards.
Everytime we got the ball in the backline we ran straight into trouble, handballing to teamates standing still, under pressure or completely missing the target altogether. The crisp, smooth run out of the backline was virtually non-existent.
Our movement into the forward line was awful, just bomb it and hope for best, no purpseful movement at all. Freo ran it out easily, and then straight back down the corridor with no pressure at all. Not bloody good enough. The general level of skill was appalling. Gone is our ability to mentally outthink and outsmart them, gone is the crisp, slick movement of the footy from back to forward, gone is the relentless pressure off the ball to hound opponents into turnovers. Freo had it too easy when they had the footy!! I know that training has been upped and Craigy predicted a slump but there is NO EXCUSE for poor skills and poor decision making. NOT ONE BIT. They need to sharpen up and quick smart and given the mounting injury toll we cant get the same team week in week out. WCE and Sydney are now ahead of us for the flag imo. We need to bounce back pronto, hopefully starting this week against the dogs. I am hoping for a complete TEAM performance, not a few standouts and the rest not contributing. I want to see that RUTHLESSNESS.
Yes. Thankyou. Someone echoing my thoughts. :thumbsu:
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 14:02
This sums it up for me...:thumbsu:
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 14:04
I can’t believe more has not been said about Bock, I though for his first game back he was excellent he was the only forward who consisntenly gave an option and also (apart from this apparent chase) seemed to be the only forward capable of out running his opponent.
I agree - and I don't think it's any coincidence that he is showing fresher legs than those who have been playing all season.
We just look spent atm.......:(
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 14:06
Stevens was OK yesterday. For the life of me I can't get this crap that he has been hopeless. If he was hopeless he wouldn't be getting a game and thats a fact. Sure he will never be a star. Never be mentioned in AA debate but he is a dependable defender that will win more battles than he loses and he has done that this year.
How did he go from being almost first choice CHB to chopped mince in so short a time???
IMO all based around team performance that can enhance or destroy player reputations
freo grover
14 Aug 2006, 15:38
It would be good if people could actually spell FREMANTLE!
Its not FrEEmantle
beartoo
14 Aug 2006, 17:28
Apologies from the entire board.
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 17:28
Its not FrEEmantle
Fremental
meh .......WGAF
:)
beartoo
14 Aug 2006, 17:30
I thought Stevens played well yesterday. Maybe a few biased people ought to take off whatever mud-coloured glasses they obviously put on when he's near the ball. Pavlich went okay, but didn't lower Stevens' colours by any means.
swanfan
14 Aug 2006, 17:58
Its not FrEEmantle
Got something worth griping about. :eek:
Drummond
14 Aug 2006, 18:23
To those who have had a crack at Van Berlo’s game either on this board or on FiveAA, I actually think he was one of the main reasons we got right back into the game in the third quarter. He had 9 possessions for the term, kicked the opening goal to spark the side and overall I thought he had a pretty good game. Sure he made some poor errors and his tackling wasn’t quite as good as we’ve come to expect, but he was influential in our third quarter revival.
And can someone please explain to me why Scott Thompson doesn’t spend more time in the middle? He often starts on the bench or across the half forward flank, while our midfield is being over powered and out muscled. He needs to be in there every single time, or at the very least when things aren’t going well.
birdmanptr
14 Aug 2006, 18:29
I noticed you failed to mention Bode's standout performance as our biggest forward threat today.
:thumbsu: :D
Cant mention him this week he only gets a run when his knockers want him dropped.
arrowman
14 Aug 2006, 18:59
And can someone please explain to me why Scott Thompson doesn’t spend more time in the middle? He often starts on the bench or across the half forward flank, while our midfield is being over powered and out muscled. He needs to be in there every single time, or at the very least when things aren’t going well.Beats me. If Roo can't put in a full midfield game, surely we need Thommo in the middle for that hardness. Putting him in the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul IMHO. Perrie to HFF, Thommo to the midfield. :thumbsu:
Scott Van Persett
14 Aug 2006, 19:30
Absolutely spot on.:thumbsu:
In 1997 and 1998 under Blight we were having the normal training at that time so could afford to ramp it up for a few weeks.
Under Craig we've been having 2-3 hour training sessions including pre-season so did we actually have to be flogged on the track in the last 4 weeks. All the over training seems to have achieved is a spate of hamstring injuries and loss of momentum.
No matter what happens in the finals I think Craigy will have to re-assess his training regime next year.
Meanwhile, I think our senior players have to really step up and perform for the rest of our season esp Roo, who looked disinterested in the matches before he was suspended, except his 300th
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 19:36
Beats me. If Roo can't put in a full midfield game, surely we need Thommo in the middle for that hardness. Putting him in the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul IMHO. Perrie to HFF, Thommo to the midfield. :thumbsu:
It really has to be his fitness level?
He's very good as a small forward but I agree we need some hard nuts in the centre
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 19:38
Meanwhile, I think our senior players have to really step up and perform for the rest of our season esp Roo, who looked disinterested in the matches before he was suspended, except his 300th
Pretty harsh if you ask me - can't remember Roo ever being even slightly disinterested
Your game is a catenaccio style and thus relies on a few basics.
Super fitness, knowing one's role and following instructions plus quick accurate rebounding.
The first two are fine but you have suffered in the third of late.
In the last couple of weeks you have missed McLeod who is your very best at accurate rebounding. This week's game McLeod was not quite fit yet plus say what you will but the Wiz is the perfect player to exploit Stiffy, your other chief rebounder. Having lost Burton also hurts in that same area.
Wouldn't worry too much just yet but you certainly cannot afford to get any more injuries in "that dept".
Wayne's-World
14 Aug 2006, 20:12
In the last couple of weeks you have missed McLeod who is your very best at accurate rebounding. This week's game McLeod is not quite fit yet plus say what you will but the Wiz is the perfect player to exploit Stiffy, your other chief rebounder. Having lost Burton also hurts in that same area.
They would normally try and free Stiffy up rather than he be a tight tag....I'm sure if Hart had been available he would have got the job.
Remember Farmer stitching McLeod up in similar fashion in recent years.
They would normally try and free Stiffy up rather than he be a tight tag....I'm sure if Hart had been available he would have got the job.
Players like McLeod, Stiffy, Chad Cornes (in 2004), Pickett for the Roos, Wirrapunda etc are an absolute necessity to win a premiership IMO but they can be exploited when others around them are unable to cover for them. Usually you have more than one that can fill the role so you are fine, however of late that hasn't been the case.
In the third quarter when you made a charge, count how many times McLeod and Stiffy were involved in rebounding. Get that going more often again and you will go a long way towards winning the premiership this year.
Allefgib
14 Aug 2006, 20:46
98 final against melb Farmer gave him a BATH.
Apologies from the entire board.
Not from me. I'm not apologising uh uh now way wasnt me. If Fremantle want reconciliation they have to ... oh wait were talking spelling ?
Nah still not apologising :cool:
The Crows Truth
14 Aug 2006, 22:01
Beats me. If Roo can't put in a full midfield game, surely we need Thommo in the middle for that hardness. Putting him in the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul IMHO. Perrie to HFF, Thommo to the midfield. :thumbsu:
agreed. thompson provides the midfield grunt . its strange he aint playing in the guts more often