View Full Version : What do you hope the Cats get from the Wizard Cup???

SeinDude
5 Feb 2002, 09:04
What does everyone hope Geelong gets out of playing in the pre-season competition this year?

Personally, it would be nice to win, but the main thing as far as I'm concerned is some of our kids being given an opportunity to show what they can do. I'm really looking forward to seeing Gary Ablett Jnr, play, along with Bartel and some of our other young recruits.

It will also be good to see if the likes of Street, Ling, Enright, Corey & Foster are showing any signs of taking the next step... something which is vital to our chances this season.

Counting down to the Richmond game... should be a beauty!!

Go Cats!! :):)
SeinDude

nolsey77
5 Feb 2002, 10:01
I hope that we perform well, we have a fair chance at making it to the semis, we should beat richmond, they are our whipping boys, I hope that rd22 serves as motivation to play a good game against carlton and 3rd round against West Coast at Subi.

The worry both games in Victoria start at 12.40pm it might be a little hot, on the other hand it mighst be freezing.

Another worry is that the Richmond game will pre-season jinx at Baytec Stadium occur again and will the venue have to be changed.

Players too watch, Marc Woolonough, Henry Plairfair and Peter Street.

Rookie to watch : Andrew Carazzo

Veteran too watch : Peter Riccardi

Who every body will be watching and putting pressure on: Gary Ablett 5 and Gary Ablett 29.

rickster
5 Feb 2002, 14:48
I would expect to beat Richmond and WCE, and lose to Carlton.

Players I'd like to see are Ablett, Bartels, Street, Foster and Playfair.

If I were Joel Corey or David Wojcinski I'd be worried.

Cheers

NakedDeadGuy
5 Feb 2002, 15:23
What I'd like to see? Pretty much the same as I'd like to see for the whole season - 18 blokes on the field in blue & white hoops having a fair dinkum crack at it.
Wojcinski has a bit of a niggle, as have Riccardi & King.They are still teaching Playfair how to run properly, wouldn't expect to see him at all this year. James Kelly looks good at training. I'd like to see McCarthy get a run, looks a very strong grab (once again at training), be interesting to see how he goes under real pressure.

The Hitman
9 Feb 2002, 08:00
Rolled. ;)

The Hitman

nolsey77
9 Feb 2002, 08:13
Rolled.

Thanks for the contribution ace reporter:mad:

SeinDude
9 Feb 2002, 08:25
Originally posted by The Hitman
Rolled. ;)

The Hitman

Hitman,

Being a Hawthorn supporter mate, wouldn't you be used to seeing your team get rolled already??? :D:D:D

The Hitman
9 Feb 2002, 08:33
Originally posted by SeinDude

Hitman,

Being a Hawthorn supporter mate, wouldn't you be used to seeing your team get rolled already??? :D:D:D

Being a Geelong supporter, you'd remember '89 pretty well? Oh, and '92? '94 perhaps? Even '95?

Nah, my club made finals - I'd like to think I know what winning is about. ;)

The Hitman

SeinDude
9 Feb 2002, 08:36
Hitman,

Yeah, I do remember those years but that is in the past... nothing we can do about that now.

Looking forward to this year and first of all, The Wizzard Cup. It's good to have the footy back!! :):)

SeinDude

Cat Attack!
10 Feb 2002, 19:11
I'd like us to blood some of our youngsters and show the rest of the Afl that were not gonna finish on the botttom of the ladder like a lot of people are saying :mad:

you_idiot
15 Feb 2002, 18:07
Originally posted by Cat Attack!
I'd like us to blood some of our youngsters and show the rest of the Afl that were not gonna finish on the botttom of the ladder like a lot of people are saying :mad:

Amen to this-- but let's aim to play well enough, to win enough games and show enough promise and potential in order to get more memberships sold and make progress towards getting Kardinia Park filled!

GO ON YOU CATS!!!

-William

catgirl2002
22 Feb 2002, 11:05
Originally posted by Cat Attack!

What I would like to see happen is for this team to make the AFL stand up and take notice, to see that they are an outstanding AFL team, one to be taken seriously and not one that is simply pushed to the edges and dismissed. We have an outstanding number of young up and coming players, and personally, I cannot wait to see the likes of young Ablett Junior take his place, with a genetic background such as his Geelong can only move onwards and upwards.

As I have stated before, I have supported this team for a very long time and I will continue to do so. I still strongly believe they have so much potential that is still yet untapped, if that potential were to be released I think the entire football world would be in awe and dumbstruck. We still have the reputation that we fight well up until half time and then just fold, which is ONE thing we must fight to change.

Just my humble opinion of course.

goal_umpire
22 Feb 2002, 11:33
Originally posted by catgirl2002

What I would like to see happen is for this team to make the AFL stand up and take notice, to see that they are an outstanding AFL team, one to be taken seriously and not one that is simply pushed to the edges and dismissed. We have an outstanding number of young up and coming players, and personally, I cannot wait to see the likes of young Ablett Junior take his place, with a genetic background such as his Geelong can only move onwards and upwards.

As I have stated before, I have supported this team for a very long time and I will continue to do so. I still strongly believe they have so much potential that is still yet untapped, if that potential were to be released I think the entire football world would be in awe and dumbstruck. We still have the reputation that we fight well up until half time and then just fold, which is ONE thing we must fight to change.

Just my humble opinion of course.
Geelong will be too strong for Carlton.