View Full Version : Rate a Premature Celebration.

JeffDunne
14 Aug 2006, 12:28
Who got ahead of themselves more?

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,426003,00.jpg or http://netweb.wordpress.com/files/2006/03/GeelongNABCup.jpg

Carlton's was entertaining but blind freddy could have seen that coming. For me, Geelong's was made even more entertaining on the back of some comprehensive early home & away victories.

Geelong gets the :thumbsu: from me.

Mighty Thor
14 Aug 2006, 12:35

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,426003,00.jpg or http://netweb.wordpress.com/files/2006/03/GeelongNABCup.jpg

Carlton's was entertaining but blind freddy could have seen that coming. For me, Geelong's was made even more entertaining on the back of some comprehensive early home & away victories.

Nasty but true. The Cats had the day flag all parcelled up after their NAB Cup.

Can we give an honourable mention to Collingwood too. They were celebrating the 03 GF win after defeating the Lions in the QF...Very funny that.

Back Pocket Rocket
14 Aug 2006, 12:40
Being from Adelaide I can't go passed the following:

- Port Adelaide 2001,02,03
- Adelaide last year and the past 3 weeks where there supporters have gone from the most arrogant people of all time to not talking about footy at all :D

Warwick
14 Aug 2006, 12:46
Why are Geelong giving it the big "number one" in the photo? It was the pre-season for goodness sake. Therefore, they get my vote.

JeffDunne
14 Aug 2006, 12:49
I don’t reckon you blame supporters for being confident when their team is top of the ladder come finals time. I’d have thought every club would be confident from that position.

I’m talking more where clubs (more than supporters) take practice match or early season wins as a guide to how they’ll perform in the season proper and start making big calls on the strength of it. Carlton may not have been talking flags but they reappointed a coach (doh!) on the back of a practice match comp. Geelong was declaring the ‘monkey off the back’ for failing in big games – I’d suggest that monkey’s looking like a gorilla after yesterday too. Hence why they get my vote.

Catnip
14 Aug 2006, 12:51
Surely you have bigger fish to fry Jeffrey? :rolleyes:

Monkeyboy
14 Aug 2006, 13:00
Geelongs was huge. Monkey off the back. Coach and players talking it up. I think everyone (includuing Carlton) knew thay wouldn't even make finals after their night flag. They were just up and running early because they had been crap for a few years. I think Fev and Lance had a big series.
So my vote goes to Geelong. A genuine premature celebration!

Geddy Lee
14 Aug 2006, 13:07
Geelong by a country mile, because they are actually a 'good' team.

Booney
14 Aug 2006, 13:22
Good poll this one.I think Geelong get it as Carlton were still realistic about their chances come season proper,perhaps we could add a poll to quiz how many experts(?) were just as wrong about the Cats? Many experts/punters had the Cats way up the ladder,but,any one using Kent Kingsley,Andrew Mackie and Josh (look out here comes some traffic) Hunt,were kidding themselves.Cameron Ling continues to defy belief and get uglier and uglier every week.

jimmy35
14 Aug 2006, 13:27
Probably Geelong because it was not expected . I thought they were going to be contenders as well this year.

Belly
14 Aug 2006, 13:34
I like this one.

http://cache.gettyimages.com/xc/54444223.jpg?v=1&c=MS_GINS&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CC300C081D9F47001A692A4708C7B3FA214C07D29F 3B6E3F

Qualifying Final anyone?

Booney
14 Aug 2006, 13:40
I like this one.

http://cache.gettyimages.com/xc/54444223.jpg?v=1&c=MS_GINS&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CC300C081D9F47001A692A4708C7B3FA214C07D29F 3B6E3F

Qualifying Final anyone?

Thanks Belly,made my day,any chance we get a close up of the guy leaning on the fence in the background?

kimbopen
14 Aug 2006, 13:41
Geelong for mine. Bigger bunch of March premiers I have never seen.

maccas_no1
14 Aug 2006, 13:48
Funny this thread is started by a St Kilda supporter, whom struggle to win anything at all..................ohh expect wooden spoons:thumbsu:

Mr_Smooth
14 Aug 2006, 14:49
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/09/15/fickle_finger_narrowweb__200x276.jpg

14 mins into the final quarter in the 97 prelim.... :D

flanktwo
14 Aug 2006, 14:52
not footy but still funny as... :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPGDFOl1QK8

Bellablaise
14 Aug 2006, 14:57
I like this one.

Qualifying Final anyone?

Your team couldn't even win one of those.

Heard the "Geelong one kick from a Grand Final last year" line again, while watching the replay of yesterday's game. How commentators can expect to be taken seriously when they come out with that kind of thing I do not know.

XXX KINGS
14 Aug 2006, 15:04
Surely St Kilda 2004 has to rate a mention. In saying that, St Kilda 2005 should be up there too. Who can't forget the flag-is-in-the-bag celebrations from St Kilda fans after their qualifying final win over Adelaide?

Bellablaise
14 Aug 2006, 15:11
Surely St Kilda 2004 has to rate a mention.

Backed OUR Wizerd Cup win up with ten on the trot, buddy. And we WERE the drop of the ball from a GF the same year.

As for the Adelaide game last year, we were celebrating sure, but not because we thought the flag was in the bag.

Because we'd beaten the top of the table team at their home ground with massive injuries to key players. And Harves, as the oldest man in the AFL, had played an absolute blinder.

If you can't get excited over something like that, what's the point of following footy?

JeffDunne
14 Aug 2006, 15:28
I thought St Kilda were roundly criticised for not celebrating the Wizard Cup - GT and Lenny in particular?

So how could 2004 be a premature celebration if we didn't celebrate???

Bobby Giovanni
14 Aug 2006, 16:22
http://www.sportsdelivered.com/slicks/L_AFVD332.jpg

3 way dead heat.

Rory
14 Aug 2006, 16:38
Saints win

http://www.kangarootrading.com/t-shirts/saintspremier.jpg

Belly
14 Aug 2006, 16:45
Your team couldn't even win one of those.

Heard the "Geelong one kick from a Grand Final last year" line again, while watching the replay of yesterday's game. How commentators can expect to be taken seriously when they come out with that kind of thing I do not know.

Hold ur heads high, winning a qualifying final, thats just amazing. A proud moment in St kilda history. Winning the 2005 Qualifying Final against all odds and away from home. Then getting pumped in the Prelim by a much better side.

Bellablaise
14 Aug 2006, 17:05
Hold ur heads high, winning a qualifying final, thats just amazing. A proud moment in St kilda history. Winning the 2005 Qualifying Final against all odds and away from home. Then getting pumped in the Prelim by a much better side.

Can certainly hold their heads higher than your sorry lot. Got to be in it to win it, talk to me after you complete your rebuilding phase and are actually good enough to play finals.

Freeeoo
14 Aug 2006, 17:05
not footy but still funny as... :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPGDFOl1QK8

Classic!!:D :thumbsu:

Greatness23
14 Aug 2006, 17:42
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/09/15/fickle_finger_narrowweb__200x276.jpg

14 mins into the final quarter in the 97 prelim.... :DThe winner.

TGR
14 Aug 2006, 17:54
http://www.sportsdelivered.com/slicks/L_AFVD332.jpg

3 way dead heat.

You have to be taking the ****, they didn't release that did they?:o

Fred Phillis
14 Aug 2006, 17:56

exactly what i thought when reading the thread title...still makes me laugh

JeffDunne
14 Aug 2006, 18:04
No "we" didn't.

Had nothing to do with us.

Joffaboy
14 Aug 2006, 18:05

Yeah they did :o AFL Videos or whatever they are called must have thought there would be sales in it. Can still get it if you like (at a very sizable discount I am sure)

What an embarrassment, but still not as embarrassing as the Geelong Football Club and their efforts this season. :thumbsu: :)

maccas_no1
14 Aug 2006, 18:14
No "we" didn't.

Had nothing to do with us.

Another 'Great' JeffDunne thread:thumbsu: :rolleyes:

sp-mac
14 Aug 2006, 18:19
Can we give an honourable mention to Collingwood too. They were celebrating the 03 GF win after defeating the Lions in the QF...Very funny that.

When are the tigers going to give you some hopes to dash?

Lunchlady Doris
14 Aug 2006, 18:19
Ah, here's the dipstick starting threads and pretending to be a GFC fan. Please, go out an get a life, or at least laid Joffaboy.

A 10 DVD boxed set, about a run of victories which only served to make everyone else laugh harder when they fell over.

It's not like anyone from any club can control the media, how can we help it if Laidley calls us the likely premier after Rd 2?

JeffDunne
14 Aug 2006, 18:30
Ah, here's the dipstick starting threads and pretending to be a GFC fan.
I think you're a little confused.

Free Willy
14 Aug 2006, 20:03
I thought St Kilda were roundly criticised for not celebrating the Wizard Cup - GT and Lenny in particular?

So how could 2004 be a premature celebration if we didn't celebrate???

Didnt Milne & Montagna celebrate that GF long & hard into the weekend ?;)

j-ham
14 Aug 2006, 20:03
http://www.oddjack.com/dead%20horse.jpg

BlacK'n'ReD
14 Aug 2006, 22:07
You guys just had to use the Libba one didn't you?! :D As soon as I though of premature celebrations, my mind turned and I though of it instantly. Classic!

sherb
14 Aug 2006, 22:24
Tip for JD - on BigFooty, you post polls on the Polls Board. :rolleyes:

SweetLeftFoot
15 Aug 2006, 01:26

Beat me to it. I actually think that was the third quarter though.

Gezz, I loved that. Scum.

spell_check
15 Aug 2006, 02:07
Off topic, but on the subject of Biking: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNm5BVHqGCk&NR

wce_all_da_way
15 Aug 2006, 02:26
Off topic, but on the subject of Biking: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNm5BVHqGCk&NR

Thank you so much for finding that! I kept reminding myself to find it again for my mate

Lunchlady Doris
15 Aug 2006, 09:23
I think you're a little confused.

Apologies if I've got that wrong

The Old Dark Navy's
15 Aug 2006, 21:11
A game in the early 80s where Carlton had a four goal lead over Essendon in time on. Someone hit the button and the Blues song started playing. Essendon piled on quick goals and won the bloody thing. Now that was embarassing.

Barry Zuckercorn QC
15 Aug 2006, 23:49
I'll be the first to admit I have gotten a touch carried away with premature celebrations in the past.

After the 2004 preseason cup I booked grannie tickets in early April (connections) and had "Saints 2004" tattooed on my neck.

After we beat Adelaide at AAMI in the first week of finals last year, I changed by name by deed poll to "Gwilt" and married a lass from the cheersquad all on the same night.

Taking it easy in 2006 even though were dead-certs!

Catnip
16 Aug 2006, 17:34
I'll be the first to admit I have gotten a touch carried away with premature celebrations in the past.

After the 2004 preseason cup I booked grannie tickets in early April (connections) and had "Saints 2004" tattooed on my neck.

After we beat Adelaide at AAMI in the first week of finals last year, I changed by name by deed poll to "Gwilt" and married a lass from the cheersquad all on the same night.

GOLD :D

vast
16 Aug 2006, 17:52

lol. that has to be the winner.

vast
16 Aug 2006, 18:05
A personal favourite.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0dm67XZOd0&NR

Bell Ringer
16 Aug 2006, 18:18
A personal favourite.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0dm67XZOd0&NR

I had forgotten about that - easily one of the funniest things to ever happen in world sports!

Blacky31
16 Aug 2006, 18:21
I rate this one boys...
What a gimp!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IL2-ZhK9vSM

sherb
16 Aug 2006, 18:23

So how is it premature to be celebrating a game you have just won? :confused:

vast
16 Aug 2006, 19:02
http://www.veg.com.au/slicks/L_AFVD339.jpg

Also if someone could get audio of every st.kilda supporter who rang the st.kilda entertainment network (sen) whingieng about grand final tickets prior to the prelim against sydney.

newton
17 Aug 2006, 10:15
Geelong by a country mile, because they are actually a 'good' team.No they're not.

skipper kelly
17 Aug 2006, 10:23

And we WERE the drop of the ball from a GF the same year.

funny stuff:D

skipper kelly
17 Aug 2006, 10:27

After the 2004 preseason cup I booked grannie tickets in early April (connections) and had "Saints 2004" tattooed on my neck

classic:D