View Full Version : Congrats to Marvin - New Adelaide Board Mod
dyertribe
14 Aug 2006, 14:04
Been a quality poster for a long time and thoroughly deserved.
Have fun champ :thumbsu:
Love the smell of fresh meat
On and cheers for your efforts DT :thumbsu:
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 14:07
Congrats Marvin - had the operation yet ??
:D
swanfan
14 Aug 2006, 14:15
Congrats Marvin. Hopefully you can restore some order. :p
RogerRabbit69
14 Aug 2006, 14:18
Zero tolerance, Marvin, zero tolerance ......
Southerntakeover
14 Aug 2006, 15:22
Who? :confused:
ICanDressMyself
14 Aug 2006, 15:26
No offence to marvin but I honestly have no idea who you are.
Good . It means he has no agenda or favourites
No offence taken, because I know who I am. :)
Big shoes to fill in replacing the retiring DT, but I'll give it my best shot.
Kane McGoodwin
14 Aug 2006, 15:31
Congrats Marvin for joining the Adelaide Mod Squad & thanks DT for all your efforts.
maccas_no1
14 Aug 2006, 16:54
Congrats Marvin and good luck and well done on the efforts of DT:thumbsu:
ICanDressMyself
14 Aug 2006, 16:57
Pardon my ignorance but DT... is that dyertribe?
dyertribe
14 Aug 2006, 17:04
Could be, or Dream Team or Drafts & Trading...
Blue Red and Gold
14 Aug 2006, 17:52
Rule with an iron fist!
This board needs to be ruled like the old Soviet Union!
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 17:55
Rule with an iron fist!
This board needs to be ruled like the old Soviet Union!
cool - can I be in charge of pointing the missiles ????
:) :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
14 Aug 2006, 18:07
Can I help you aim them:p
Mad Dog
14 Aug 2006, 18:17
Can I help you aim them:p
I think you'll be happy with my coordinates....:D
Crow-mo
14 Aug 2006, 20:01
I'm sure Marvin will do a great job.
Crow-mo
14 Aug 2006, 20:02
sure,
can I be in charge of selling off the oil and gas contracts? :D
lozstar
14 Aug 2006, 21:16
Could be, or Dream Team or Drafts & Trading...
why are you leaving? :p
dyertribe
14 Aug 2006, 21:35
I'm checking in to Riehab in a bid to rid myself of the uncontrollable shakes, cold sweats and acute Tourette's I suffer whenever #33 does his weekly Nick Stevens impersonation...
macca23
14 Aug 2006, 21:43
"Alas, poor Marvin!--I knew him, Horatio!!" Hamlet | Act V, Scene 1
R.I.P Marvin. :(
I'm checking in to Riehab ...
Is that where the Golden Saint Nick goes?
dyertribe
14 Aug 2006, 23:19
Jawohl mein Perthencrowzen!
Such an unfortunate tpyo... :o
kimirocks
14 Aug 2006, 23:25
Thanks DT, and good luck. Welcome Marvin - good luck to you too:).
crows98
14 Aug 2006, 23:42
Congratulations or commiserations, what ever word fits your definition of the title, I am sure you will continue to allow the inmates run the asylum.:thumbsu:
Can I ask how Marvin was elected to this position? Was it the Chief (Appleyard) who elected the honourable Marvin to the board of moderators?:confused:
Crow-mo
14 Aug 2006, 23:49
Can I ask how Marvin was elected to this position? Was it the Chief (Appleyard) who elected the honourable Marvin to the board of moderators?:confused:
does it matter?
Marvin's a good poster, he'll do a good job.
wires on fire.
14 Aug 2006, 23:51
marvin must be absolutely thrilled, he is fufilled completely as a human being.
Stiffy_18
14 Aug 2006, 23:51
does it matter?
My thoughts exactly :thumbsu:
Thanks to DT for doing a fine job and I am sure marvin will do a great job as well :thumbsu:
crows98
14 Aug 2006, 23:54
does it matter?
Where did I say or imply he wouldn’t do a good job? FFS :eek:
I was simply interested in how they come about deciding to appoint Marvin for the job.
Where did I say or imply he wouldn’t do a good job? FFS :eek:
Right here
I am sure you will continue to allow the inmates run the asylum.
knackers27
15 Aug 2006, 00:57
I thought a more active poster on this board would have been selected.
But really, who cares?
I thought a more active poster on this board would have been selected.
But really, who cares?
Its a hard one to call. Some posters are here but dont post chat after chat.
How do you know Marvin isnt here but chooses not to post?
This is so depressing. :p
ICanDressMyself
15 Aug 2006, 01:11
I nominate Drummond.
knackers27
15 Aug 2006, 01:17
I nominated ICDM.
Drummond
15 Aug 2006, 01:38
I nominate Knackers.
The Crows Truth
15 Aug 2006, 01:41
i nominate crow mos :eek: ;)
knackers27
15 Aug 2006, 01:47
Noooooo
Total Power
15 Aug 2006, 02:06
I nominate RoosterLad and Drummond as the deputy
RogerRabbit69
15 Aug 2006, 10:48
Who'd want to be a mod? **** of a job, I reckon.
Good on Marvin for being prepared to take it on.
Good luck Marvin. :)
Well done to DT & enjoy your retirement :thumbsu:
portentous
15 Aug 2006, 11:30
Congrats Marvin.
Just remember, Port posters good, Crows posters evil. :)
Mad Dog
15 Aug 2006, 12:04
Congrats Marvin.
Just remember, Port posters good, Crows posters evil. :)
Ban her !......... Ban her !
Ban the Witch !
Quick - throw her into the pond and see if she floats
Must not type scum must not type scum ahh too late :p
portentous
15 Aug 2006, 12:20
First you destroy my house with your missiles, now you want to drown me.
You are hereby cursed.
Must not say "choke" ah,darn, too late. :)
Crow-mo
15 Aug 2006, 19:18
I reject your nomination ;)
Crow-mo
15 Aug 2006, 19:19
Who'd want to be a mod? **** of a job, I reckon.
Good on Marvin for being prepared to take it on.
spot on :thumbsu:
Blue Red and Gold
15 Aug 2006, 19:24
Im assuming my name was thrown around as a possible candidate....no?
ICanDressMyself
15 Aug 2006, 19:47
I nominated you.
macca23
15 Aug 2006, 20:49
Close.
Away, not around. ;) :p
Blue Red and Gold
15 Aug 2006, 20:57
Close.
haha I got nothing.
Stiffy_18
15 Aug 2006, 21:04
haha I got nothing.
You would have got my vote :thumbsu: :p
Blue Red and Gold
15 Aug 2006, 21:07
Once again my sarcasm scanner has blown up :D
In all seriousness how is a moderator selected? I know Crows98 asked the same thing but I will avoid the insult that followed ;)
Stiffy_18
15 Aug 2006, 21:10
Once again my sarcasm scanner has blown up :D
In all seriousness how is a moderator selected? I know Crows98 asked the same thing but I will avoid the insult that followed ;)
No sarcasm from this part mate ;)
I got no idea how its selected but IMHO, there are so many quality posters on this board, the choice wouldn't have been easy either way. I think marvin will do a great job just like DT has in the past and Kane and Dave continue to do.
Moderating is not easy and it requires a thick skin and a lot of patience, something I don't have a lot of :D :p
Blue Red and Gold
15 Aug 2006, 21:25
Im sure Marvin will do a good job too, not something I would want to do.
If Marvin, Kane or Dave could answer that would be great, just interested in how the decision is made.
Close.
Hehe. :D
Crow-mo
15 Aug 2006, 23:20
If Marvin, Kane or Dave could answer that would be great, just interested in how the decision is made.
maybe I am getting the wrong vibe from you, and if that's the case I apologise.
but what it reads like - and that is not always a good indicator of what was intended - but seriously, it sounds like you've got sourgrapes because you weren't asked.
this might be very, very wrong - but that's the way It comes across.
Blue Red and Gold
15 Aug 2006, 23:32
maybe I am getting the wrong vibe from you, and if that's the case I apologise.
but what it reads like - and that is not always a good indicator of what was intended - but seriously, it sounds like you've got sourgrapes because you weren't asked.
this might be very, very wrong - but that's the way It comes across.
No, couldnt be further from the truth, anything I have said in regards to that have been completely tongue in cheek.
Not something I would want to do, I wouldnt expect to be asked when there are plenty more qualified posters and more prolific ones at that.
I was just interested in how it works, like does Appleyard pick them or does Kane and Dave just select someone.
Lets be honest would you want to moderate this board? ;)
Crow-mo
16 Aug 2006, 00:07
No, couldnt be further from the truth, anything I have said in regards to that have been completely tongue in cheek.
Not something I would want to do, I wouldnt expect to be asked when there are plenty more qualified posters and more prolific ones at that.
I was just interested in how it works, like does Appleyard pick them or does Kane and Dave just select someone.
fair enough :)
Lets be honest would you want to moderate this board? ;)
lol. not a chance.
dyertribe
16 Aug 2006, 01:48
Kane, Dave and myself travelled extensively, interviewing the numerous hopefuls for the position at primary school gyms and RSLs across the state.
Following a tortuous auditioning process a final field of 50 was assembled at Tea Tree Plaza and gradually whittled down, as one-by-one we said goodbye to the weird and the wonderful, the young and the old, the good and as it turns out - the not so good.
In the end it came down to a courageous and plucky aspirant who once had the audacity to drive through Paralowie unaccompanied despite all warnings issued by SAPOL and Keith Martyn.
Yes, we fell in love with marvin's a cappella performance of The Pride of South Australia, a soulful and uplifting rendition complete with vocal gymnastics that made the laminated picture of Christina Aguilera in Kane's top pocket blush.
The vote was unanimous.
"Giggity jiggity I like the way you work it no diggity... touchdown!" - DaveW
"Oh darlin', that was wonderful. It's a yes from me." - Kane McGoodwin
"u 2 r fukn idiots... LOL jk!!!11!eleven1" - dyertribe
marvin, your new Adelaide Idol - coming to a Westfield near you!
Mad Dog
16 Aug 2006, 10:25
Kane, Dave and myself travelled extensively, interviewing the numerous hopefuls for the position at primary school gyms and RSLs across the state.
Following a tortuous auditioning process a final field of 50 was assembled at Tea Tree Plaza and gradually whittled down, as one-by-one we said goodbye to the weird and the wonderful, the young and the old, the good and as it turns out - the not so good.
In the end it came down to a courageous and plucky aspirant who once had the audacity to drive through Paralowie unaccompanied despite all warnings issued by SAPOL and Keith Martyn.
Yes, we fell in love with marvin's a cappella performance of The Pride of South Australia, a soulful and uplifting rendition complete with vocal gymnastics that made the laminated picture of Christina Aguilera in Kane's top pocket blush.
The vote was unanimous.
:D :D .....haahahaa - JFOMCL
this is what happens when you Moderate for too long !
Good luck Marvin
portentous
16 Aug 2006, 10:27
Awesome post dyertribe. Did you have the Kyle hair going too?? :)
I was once asked to nominate for a mod position on the Port board. :cool:
Mad Dog
16 Aug 2006, 10:51
I was once asked to nominate for a mod position on the Port board. :cool:
you need to be good at deleting posts to do that job......:rolleyes:
I am only a "one" finger keyboard operator so i guess that's why i didn't receive a "i second that" from dear old DreamKillers. :)
macca23
16 Aug 2006, 13:03
The vote was unanimous.
:D :D
You've missed your true calling DT!! :thumbsu:
Stiffy_18
16 Aug 2006, 13:46
The vote was unanimous.
You're a funny bastard :D :thumbsu:
swanfan
16 Aug 2006, 14:02
Now we have to wait for the fish to bite at Semaphore. :p
The vote was unanimous.
:D :D
I'm just glad I didn't dress up as a cow for the audition like I had planned.
Kane McGoodwin
16 Aug 2006, 14:19
The vote was unanimous.
lol, I need to put on a wig, do some serious tanning & sex operation to look anything like Marcia! :eek: