View Full Version : <Merged Thread> Lynch's goal

materamagic
14 Aug 2006, 20:55
How long do you think TBU's monster punt at goal was? I actually missed the bloody thing as the TV cut out and then returned with an add after the goal was kicked, nice one Ch 10.

It would have to be the biggest kick at goal by an Eagle?

materamagic
14 Aug 2006, 20:59
How far was that massive roost of his? I didn't see it because the bloody TV blacked out and returned to the add break.

Stenglein's a Champ!
14 Aug 2006, 21:00
Was said on a news program that it surpassed Ashley McIntosh's 75m spiral vs Fitzroy/Brissie (one of the two) as the biggest ever kick by an Eagle.

Cuzz09
14 Aug 2006, 21:01
I remember Chris Lewis kicked a torpedo BOMB in a final against the Kangaroos at Waverley in 1993.

That was a MASSIVE kick!

But yeah Lynchy's was HUGE!

Ripper
14 Aug 2006, 21:04
Laurie Keene snaped one from the centre circle once

Stenglein's a Champ!
14 Aug 2006, 21:05
Basil Zemplis measured it on Seven news at 75 metres

TheReason
14 Aug 2006, 21:18
Laurie Keene snaped one from the centre circle once
Yeap:thumbsu:

I haven't seen it but a good mate has (before he turned from WCE to Dockers:mad: ).

Says the wind was howling behind him and the ball landed some 15m out from goal and rolled in.

m.diddy
14 Aug 2006, 21:21
Didn't Panda launch one when kicking out once?

Cuzz09
14 Aug 2006, 21:23
1994, Round 9 - Western Oval

Footscray Vs West Coast Eagles

Peter Matera kicked a goal on the run from inside the centre square that bounced in the goal square and went through!

Contrarian
14 Aug 2006, 21:32
I remember Chris Lewis kicked a torpedo BOMB in a final against the Kangaroos at Waverley in 1993.

That was a MASSIVE kick!

But yeah Lynchy's was HUGE!

Yeah I was there, Torpedo was huge from Lewis :thumbsu: Just kept on going

Laurie Keene was at Princess Park I think it was close to the middle of the ground against Hawks? ...a while back that was a while back... I was there on both occassions .... Both monster kicks Laurie just took 3 steps and bang

ekzistenz
14 Aug 2006, 22:02
It landed on the goal line too. Didn't bounce through from 15 out or anything like that. It was a huge roost. I don't even think he was expecting it. Definitely wasn't really an intended shot on goal.

94_Eagles
14 Aug 2006, 22:19
Didn't Panda launch one when kicking out once?

Yeah, I remember that. Landed in the centre square from full back.

wce4premiership
15 Aug 2006, 00:32
would be close to one of the biggest kicks ever but some other players could argue otherwise

Embley
15 Aug 2006, 01:02
Didnt McKenna and/or Wirrpanda land a torp close to the AFL logo on the wing from a kick out at the Gabba a few years back??

Total_Juddshanks
15 Aug 2006, 01:29
Didnt McKenna and/or Wirrpanda land a torp close to the AFL logo on the wing from a kick out at the Gabba a few years back??

Wirrpanda, I think, in the game where Judd cut sick and kicked 5 before half time- was 80m comfortably.

I think Lynch's kick on the weekend was the longest goal by any Eagle. Roo Matera's roost versus the Bulldogs was from a similar distance deep in the centre square but

a.) Matera's bounced in the goal square, whereas Lynch's landed on the line.
b.) Deep in the centre square at Subiaco is a good 5 or 10m further back than deep in the centre square at Western oval, or indeed any other ground?

mudgeathon
15 Aug 2006, 01:47
Both of them did IIRC, well Mckenna definately did. I seem to remember them talking to his mum at half time and the kick was brought up

The_Eagles
15 Aug 2006, 02:13
I wonder how long they can kick it at training sometimes

I can only kick 40 metres usually

Black JuJu
15 Aug 2006, 03:47
Don't say that too loud, they'll make you captain down a Freo! ;)

Cuzz09
15 Aug 2006, 20:01
Both of them did IIRC, well Mckenna definately did. I seem to remember them talking to his mum at half time and the kick was brought up

thats right! I remember that - they interviewed hid parents at half time for some reason.

If Im not mistaken I reckon that was 1997 at the Gabba like a week before he played his 200th. (I think)

Thrawn666
16 Aug 2006, 01:18
Surprised no-one has brought up Peter Matera's goal vs Adelaide from the centre square at Football Park. From memory our first game we played there.

UpForGrabs
16 Aug 2006, 15:57
Surprised no-one has brought up Peter Matera's goal vs Adelaide from the centre square at Football Park. From memory our first game we played there.

I remember that game - there was a howling wind to the right of screen, Roo and Peter "can't commentate (or play for that matter) to save my life" Wilson both kicked monsters.

The GABBA game with Bluey and McIntosh both launching torps was in the late-90s, before the Lions started handing out thrashings to us. IIRC, Gehrig cut loose that day, kicked maybe 5 or 6.

Keene's against the Hawks in 87 @ Subiaco was probably from further out, but as said before, it rolled in from about the 15m mark.

As good as Lynchy's was, I was just as impressed with Rocca's first goal. I don't care how much shelter the 3-tier stand supposedly provides, there still would have been some resistance to his kick and he made it look as though it was no problem at all. His second was more of a fluke though ;)

materamagic
16 Aug 2006, 16:17
I remember that game - there was a howling wind to the right of screen, Roo and Peter "can't commentate (or play for that matter) to save my life" Wilson both kicked monsters.

The GABBA game with Bluey and McIntosh both launching torps was in the late-90s, before the Lions started handing out thrashings to us. IIRC, Gehrig cut loose that day, kicked maybe 5 or 6.

Keene's against the Hawks in 87 @ Subiaco was probably from further out, but as said before, it rolled in from about the 15m mark.

As good as Lynchy's was, I was just as impressed with Rocca's first goal. I don't care how much shelter the 3-tier stand supposedly provides, there still would have been some resistance to his kick and he made it look as though it was no problem at all. His second was more of a fluke though ;)

Sav's 1st goal was one of the best of the year, it never looked in doubt, sailed right through, like a Bernie Quinlan effort, a Rocca effort

freo1
16 Aug 2006, 16:22
Good effort from "wonder if he can even spell his own name" Lynch. Though the howling breeze was definately a factor. I agree, Roccas first goal was a better effort, though as i said, Lynch's was up there

Lynch drops a mark
17 Aug 2006, 13:06
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRtF3LO28kU

Big Cox
17 Aug 2006, 14:30
Was measured at 77 metres, damn nearly the 80

Sir Razzle
17 Aug 2006, 17:01
mms://wmt.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl0/afl/premiership/2006/19/2-560.wmv

31 min 50 seconds in. I reckon its about 75-80m :thumbsu:
Pause it about 1 second after the kick and you can see just how far outside the 50m arc Lynchy is when he kicks it.

I didn't know you could get full games on the net for free like that. Not bad quality either. How do you find more of these?

94_Eagles
17 Aug 2006, 18:12
I didn't know you could get full games on the net for free like that. Not bad quality either. How do you find more of these?

Play with the URL. These replays are meant to only be for Bigpond members, but as always, there are ways around things.

davey_magik
17 Aug 2006, 19:24
Edited

Lynch drops a mark
17 Aug 2006, 19:26
Has anyone got a clip of it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRtF3LO28kU

:thumbsu: