View Full Version : Move over Collingwood and Carlton
relapse
15 Aug 2006, 15:34
Adelaide and Port Adelaide is currently the most heated rivarly in football.
While we (Port and Adelaide) never agree I am sure that both groups of supporters will agree with this.
andypie
15 Aug 2006, 15:36
While we (Port and Adelaide) never agree I am sure that both groups of supporters will agree with this.
come and see us in 100 years.
Cassius_Clay
15 Aug 2006, 15:38
come and see us in 100 years.
Thread over.
Why,you blokes think you might have another flag by then,pffft,tell 'im he's dreamin'.....
rick James
15 Aug 2006, 15:51
The most heated ever lasted only a decade, Melbourne VS Collingwood - or so my grandad (collingwood) used to tell me at least.
Carlton and Richmond during the 70's was a pretty good one.Them's were the days.
Waverley73
15 Aug 2006, 16:11
Absolute rubbish. The biggest rivalry in footy at the minute is Geelong and Good Form. They have had some great clashes but Geelong seems to have trounced all over Good Form for the better part of ....oh.... lets say 40 odd years. No news on when this phenomenal rivalry will end.
andypie
15 Aug 2006, 16:18
Carlton and Richmond during the 70's was a pretty good one.Them's were the days.
nah much prefer modern times.
gettin beaten in grand finals by interstate sides is better than losin to your arch enemies.
relapse
15 Aug 2006, 16:23
I did say current rivalry.
Points to the multitude of Port V Adelaide troll posts being made by supporters on both sides.
Gold Coast Kangaroos and Brisbane might fire up.
Imagine all those Queenslanders fired up on OP Rum. I've finally worked out why NRL hasn't got another team in Brisbane - they would have to enforce marshall law come derby day.
MACDAICOS
15 Aug 2006, 16:36
The most heated ever lasted only a decade, Melbourne VS Collingwood - or so my grandad (collingwood) used to tell me at least.
Carlton V Collingwood has been active since the 1910 Grand Final.......
rick James
15 Aug 2006, 16:38
Points to the multitude of Port V Adelaide troll posts being made by supporters on both sides.
if that's the criteria Melbourne St Kilda Richmond Fremantle and Hawthorn are in a five way battle royale to the death
rick James
15 Aug 2006, 16:38
that has nothing to do with my post at all.
I said most heated, not longest. I even said the most heated one only lasted a decade.
ManWithNoName
15 Aug 2006, 16:41
Teeny boppers/ignorant fools, depressing.
MACDAICOS
15 Aug 2006, 16:44
[QUOTE=rick James]that has nothing to do with my post at all.
Why did you mention Collingwood V Demons in the 50's then??????
dA Crow
15 Aug 2006, 16:57
Collingwood and Carlton have a traditional footy rivalry. Port and Crows just have a selection of rather embarressing trolls. I think most people would agree that it got a touch boring after the first 1,000 threads.
Waverley73
15 Aug 2006, 16:57
Collingwood and Carlton have a traditional footy rivalry. Port and Crows just have a selection of rather embarressing trolls. I think most people would agree that it got a touch boring after the first 1,000 threads.
I'm over it after the first half a dozen.
Winterstick
15 Aug 2006, 17:01
it's not that we hate carlton, it's just that we feel fargin gr8 when they're beaten, especially by us
m.diddy
15 Aug 2006, 17:02
West Coast V Freo rivalry >>>>>>>.. Port v adel.
better fights.
rick James
15 Aug 2006, 17:09
[QUOTE=rick James]that has nothing to do with my post at all.
Why did you mention Collingwood V Demons in the 50's then??????
Err, mate, go re-read what I typed.
I said the most heated rivalry lasted only ten years, Collingwood VS Melbourne.
you then said Collingwood and Carlton ahve had a rivalry going much longer - which has no relevance to what I said.
MACDAICOS
15 Aug 2006, 17:20
[QUOTE=MACDAICOS]
Err, mate, go re-read what I typed.
I said the most heated rivalry lasted only ten years, Collingwood VS Melbourne.
you then said Collingwood and Carlton ahve had a rivalry going much longer - which has no relevance to what I said.
Correct.....I apologise.
afl genius
15 Aug 2006, 17:24
geelong vs hawthorn in the later part of the 80s
MACDAICOS
15 Aug 2006, 17:27
geelong vs hawthorn in the later part of the 80s
What for "One" year 1989!!!!!! lol......
Barry Zuckercorn QC
15 Aug 2006, 18:06
Ever since that fateful Winmar incident at Vic Park in 1993, its fair to say that Saints v Pies is the biggest rivalry in the league at the moment.
http://bestsmileys.com/computer1/1.gif
Cousins Vs. Cousins
celtic_pride
15 Aug 2006, 19:33
Oh dear what's so exciting about a crows-port rivarly.
Crows are a 10 goal better side at the moment and will be for the next few years so that rivarly is redudant.
Freo-West Coast is shaping up as a very nice rivarly esp if these two sides happen to play off in a GF or PF in the next few years.
But VFL/AFL's greatest rivarly is obviously Carlton V Collingwood.
HorseHead
15 Aug 2006, 19:55
Ever since that fateful Winmar incident at Vic Park in 1993, its fair to say that Saints v Pies is the biggest rivalry in the league at the moment.That's just silly. St.Kilda do little more than make me laugh. I don't hate St.Kilda at all.
I agree that a fair proportion of St.Kilda supporters do seem to have the proverbial bee in their bonnets about Collingwood, but really, it's not reciprocated, IMO. St.Kilda is a club I can't take too seriously.There are a whole bunch of other clubs I dislike a lot more than the Saints.
m.diddy
15 Aug 2006, 21:18
Ever since that fateful Winmar incident at Vic Park in 1993, its fair to say that Saints v Pies is the biggest rivalry in the league at the moment.
I missed this one, since when?
We have a better rivalry with the Cats and freo at the moment as well as carlton (for revenge ;)).
sainters
15 Aug 2006, 22:14
I don't know why but most Saints fans i know HATE Richmond and Vice-Versa...
Freo and the Saints have a rivalry, i have always hated Freo.
And the Handbags...
Harvey Birdman
15 Aug 2006, 22:51
Surely the rivalry b/w the Hawks and Saints is the biggest. First they were bitter co-tenants out at Waverley battling for control of the eastern suburbs. Now they are in an all out war for supremacy in Launceston at Aurora Stadium. :rolleyes:
Harvey Birdman
Attorney at Law
And in the red corner, weighing in at 220Ibs and wearing the blue trunks, the Great White Hope: Miiiiiiiiiiiichael Gaaaaaaardiner!!!
And his opponent in the red corner, weighing in at 220Ibs and wearing the leopard skin g-banger, the Master Of Disaster, the Ayatollah Of Rock'n'Roller, his evil twin brother: Miiiiiiiiiiiichael Gaaaaaaaardiner!!!
Copernicus
16 Aug 2006, 09:22
I'll assume you're joking.
A rivalry borne out of 100 years of bitter tradition will always outweigh some manufactured rivalry between two johnny-come-latelies. Perhaps if Adelaide were the reincarnation of Norwood you might have an argument, but they are a manufactured team with little history and the rivalry is based on nothing more than Adelaide boganism.
The Port V Pies rivalry has been active since 1990's thwarted attempt by Port to join the AFL.
I think you'll find the real rivalry for Port is Collingwood. It's not manufactured like the Crows rivalry is.
What for "One" year 1989!!!!!! lol......
The Bruns incident that landed Matthews without a licence, the come back game at Princes Park in 1989, the endless tight contests at Skilled Stadium in the 1980's and 1990's....
Surely the rivalry b/w the Hawks and Saints is the biggest. First they were bitter co-tenants out at Waverley battling for control of the eastern suburbs. Now they are in an all out war for supremacy in Launceston at Aurora Stadium. :rolleyes:
Harvey Birdman
Attorney at Law
That's pretty good :D
http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/images/avatars/2423.gif
The image of Joff waving that giant spoon at the Carlton Faitful in 2002 as Collingwood thrashed them to ensure they landed flat on the bottom with the spoon firmly in the mouth. That image brings a smile to all Pies supporters I'm sure, even if Joff is centre of the photo.
andypie
16 Aug 2006, 10:42
The image of Joff waving that giant spoon at the Carlton Faitful in 2002 as Collingwood thrashed them to ensure they landed flat on the bottom with the spoon firmly in the mouth. That image brings a smile to all Pies supporters I'm sure, even if Joff is centre of the photo.
well done for f*cking up the thread with that terds photo.
Waverley73
16 Aug 2006, 10:56
The fact you lot (Collingwood supporters) think a dead-set bogan like Joffa is worth continually bringing up is mildly amusing. I suppose you've got to look after your own..
Aussie Joe
17 Aug 2006, 07:08
Collingwood vs. the Colliwoobles.
I hope the Colliwoobles get up in the Finals again.
Copernicus
17 Aug 2006, 10:55
He worries me, a lot.
I suppose you need a mascot, though, and he fits as well as anyone.
rick James
17 Aug 2006, 11:33
The fact you lot (Collingwood supporters) think a dead-set bogan like Joffa is worth continually bringing up is mildly amusing. I suppose you've got to look after your own..
Besides, the demons cheersquad unveiling the "FINALS OVER" banner after again thumping Collingwood in the QB clash, ending their finals chances was way funnier.
Is the Carlton/Collingwood rivalry based upon both teams insatiable appetite to continually dissapoint their fans? Living in the past both clubs,VFL flags my eye,join the present.
Warwick
17 Aug 2006, 12:49
How you could honestly regard that man as a leader is beyond me. Whenever you see him at the game, he is surrounded by the biggest bunch of bogans you could cram in the stands.