View Full Version : Willits in
Ford Fairlane
17 Aug 2006, 17:46
According to KG on AA this afternoon.
Toots Hibbert
17 Aug 2006, 17:52
Replacing Pettigrew or keeping Wakes out?
Total Power
17 Aug 2006, 17:54
Great news, good luck big Willo
Is it wishful thinking that Bish is out.:p
Ford Fairlane
17 Aug 2006, 17:58
We're not the crows, Toots - KG won't give us details. I just hope his mail is right.
The Mighty Port Power
17 Aug 2006, 18:00
Should be good to see him at this level. On the negative side, Collingwood will have a full team playing, looks like Tarrent is out.
Good to see that yet another youngster will get a go.
Count Zero
17 Aug 2006, 18:26
If it's right let's hope that he has a good one.
PS. Can we just give the gratuitous Bish bashing a little bit of a rest now. Please.
Troy Wingate
17 Aug 2006, 18:34
PS. Can we just give the gratuitous Bish bashing a little bit of a rest now. Please.
Ahhhh, no. Bishop is useless, he's a hack, he's pathetic, he's gotta go. Trade him, delist him, whatever, just get him out of Port Adelaide. Geez, even trade him to the Crows or Collingwood for the last pick in the draft. Just get rid of him.
Count Zero
17 Aug 2006, 18:35
Ahhhh, no. Bishop is useless, he's a hack, he's pathetic, he's gotta go. Trade him, delist him, whatever, just get him out of Port Adelaide. Geez, even trade him to the Crows or Collingwood for the last pick in the draft. Just get rid of him.
But the thread is about Willits possibly getting a gig tomorrow night.
crazy_big_al
17 Aug 2006, 18:40
good work.
cooperjai
17 Aug 2006, 19:00
I can't wait for all the "Tredders Bashing" posts when he comes close to the end of his playing career.
Its amazing how supporters turn on their team.:thumbsd:
Russian
17 Aug 2006, 19:13
He's in:
B: Matthew Bishop, Darryl Wakelin, Nick Lower
HB: Jacob Surjan, Troy Chaplin, Dom Cassisi
C: Stuart Dew, Shaun Burgoyne, Steven Salopek
HF: Tom Logan, Chad Cornes, Josh Mahoney
F: Brett Ebert, Damon White, Toby Thurstans
R: Brendon Lade, Kane Cornes, Danyle Pearce
Interchange: Greg Bentley, Dean Brogan, Matthew Thomas, Ryan Willits
Emergencies: Alipate Carlile, Ben Eckermann, Adam Kingsley
IN: Wakelin, Willits
OUT: Pettigrew (shoulder and shins), Wilson (hamstring)
Ford Fairlane
17 Aug 2006, 19:13
Willits Wakelin in
Pettigrew Wilson out
source: 10 news (and Russian above)
That's a big side. Looks like Chad better get used to being an on baller.
Plenty of big forward targets for a long kicking assault on the goalfront :thumbsu:
Not looking good for Elijah Ware either.
PJ Power
17 Aug 2006, 19:24
Terrific to see he gets his chance - I'd like to think he might get some responsibility tomorrow night and actually start on the field.
I'm of the opinion we need to go in with one less tall.
My preference would be for Matty Bishop to come out of that side - and no this is not part of Bishop bashing.
Their go to forwards will be Rocca and possibly Fraser (no Tarrant).
Wakelin and Chaplin seem like good matchups there, and of course Willits could be used just as well in defence as up forward.
It would have been great to have either Symes or Thomson to take the extra spot in the side, but I'd settle for Kingsley.
pafc4life
17 Aug 2006, 19:27
So...the big fella straight to full forward or is he gonna be playing down back??
Macca19
17 Aug 2006, 19:33
Finally he gets his crack!!! Good onya Bruce!!
Great to see Bentley and Lower still in the side.
Porthos
17 Aug 2006, 19:55
I think we're a bit tall now.
Rucks: Brogan, Lade
Forwards: Thurstans, White, Willits
Backs: Wakelin, Bishop, Chaplin
and also Chad
...against Collingwood with no Tarrant. Hmm.
PJ Power
17 Aug 2006, 19:57
Rusling is in their side (also Wakelin and Shaw) for Tarrant, Presti and Pendelbury.
Bishop will probably get the gig on Rusling, who I reckon might have stitched him up when we played them last year.
Great to see that Willits finally gets his debut. Good on ya :thumbsu:
Macca19
17 Aug 2006, 20:41
Nah Wakelin played on him last year. Bishop took Tarrant.
*PAFC*13
17 Aug 2006, 22:18
Great stuff Eckermann I hope someone pulls out and he gets a game!!
Goodluck Willits!
Frank Spencer Clone
17 Aug 2006, 22:32
Why??
He's still the weakest link, although Forrest has tried hard to give him some company by naming that other hack Kingsley as an emergency.
captain ebert
17 Aug 2006, 22:58
I think we're a bit tall now.
Rucks: Brogan, Lade
Forwards: Thurstans, White, Willits
Backs: Wakelin, Bishop, Chaplin
and also Chad
...against Collingwood with no Tarrant. Hmm.
er, no - time to blood - time to assess.
Toots Hibbert
18 Aug 2006, 00:41
Be interesting to see how much game time Bruce gets. I'll go for somewhere between 30 and 40 minutes.
spice18
18 Aug 2006, 02:10
Be interesting to see how much game time Bruce gets. I'll go for somewhere between 30 and 40 minutes.
I think he will get more minutes than tobby. Good luck Ryan...
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 08:34
er, no - time to blood - time to assess.Well if thats what we're doing, drop Bishop.
daniel's mate
18 Aug 2006, 09:11
any word on when Symes will return
Hopefully Willits does well. As an anti-Bishop selected person, I do get annoyed though when people don't seperate Bishop the person and all the good stuff Bish has done from his current form.
MrMeaner
18 Aug 2006, 13:01
Hopefully Willits does well. As an anti-Bishop selected person, I do get annoyed though when people don't seperate Bishop the person and all the good stuff Bish has done from his current form.
Agreed. The same thing happened last year with Cochrane...except the mention of good stuff he did.
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 13:14
OK, you guys be sure to let me know when selection threads are about Bishop the person as opposed to Bishop the footballer who is being selected to play this week, and then maybe comments on how ordinary Bish is will be gratuitous.
I mean, what, you think we want to rubbish Bish or the Roach? How many posts bagging Cochrane were made after he was dropped and then delisted? I would positively love for Bish's form to not come up in selection threads, but if he keeps getting selected, its going to.
MrMeaner
18 Aug 2006, 13:40
Actually, I've just realised that I misread Andre's post a little.*
What I meant was that I get annoyed when the Bishop supporters think that calls for him to be dropped are some kind of personal vendetta. That's what I was pointing to as being the common theme from last year re Cochrane. In both cases, they have done (some) service for the club and may well be nice guys but that should not make them immune from criticsm or calls for them to be replaced in the side.
*note to self: read posts to which you're replying a number of times before pressing submit.
Count Zero
18 Aug 2006, 14:46
OK, you guys be sure to let me know when selection threads are about Bishop the person as opposed to Bishop the footballer who is being selected to play this week, and then maybe comments on how ordinary Bish is will be gratuitous.....
The thread is about Willits getting his first senior game. In that way remarks attacking out of form players are gratuitous imo.
Toots Hibbert
18 Aug 2006, 14:52
Everyone except the bunny boiler was questioning the ongoing selection of the Roach. Don't recall him getting bagged as a person or his endeavour being questioned either.
As far as Bish goes I think he has played better in the last fortnight than Alipate would have but still think that Carlile should be getting game time now.
I think last week was maybe a special case. You don't want the side to lose week after week. The young guys need to experience a win along the way. Bish replacing Wakelin last week turned out to be a good move IMO. This week I would have dropped him and brought in Carlile.
Mr Magoo
18 Aug 2006, 15:01
I'm of the opinion we need to go in with one less tall.
My preference would be for Matty Bishop to come out of that side - and no this is not part of Bishop bashing.
I agree & another method would be to rest Brogan, have Lade or Cornes patrol the back half like he did last week. By doing this Willitis could start up forward & pinch hit in the ruck when the ball is anywhere forward of centre.
Our fitness is really going to be tested this week if we go in with the selected 22.
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 15:03
The thread is about Willits getting his first senior game. In that way remarks attacking out of form players are gratuitous imo.Everyone is using this thread to discuss the selected team. To pretend otherwise, even back when you first posted that remark, is completely false.
Count Zero
18 Aug 2006, 15:05
Everyone is using this thread to discuss the selected team. To pretend otherwise, even back when you first posted that remark, is completely false.
As you say when I posted the remark most people were on topic.
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 15:09
Is it wishful thinking that Bish is out.:p
Should be good to see him at this level. On the negative side, Collingwood will have a full team playing, looks like Tarrent is out.
All before you butted in and decided to have your little cry about people maybe criticising the continued selection of Bishop.
Count Zero
18 Aug 2006, 15:17
All before you butted in and decided to have your little cry about people maybe criticising the continued selection of Bishop.
2 of the 3 quotes you used were about Willits selection.:confused:
Here are the posts before mine which were about Willits selection, as is the title of the thread:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664098&postcount=1
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664143&postcount=2
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664155&postcount=3
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664198&postcount=5
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664218&postcount=6
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5664256&postcount=7
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 15:20
They were about team selection, you pillock. And from the point at which you interjected, we've also seen the team listed, comments on the height of the side and the Collingwood ins. Is that all gratuitous too?
Count Zero
18 Aug 2006, 15:24
They were about team selection, you pillock. And from the point at which you interjected, we've also seen the team listed, comments on the height of the side and the Collingwood ins. Is that all gratuitous too?
Personal abuse is definitely off topic. :)
Porthos
18 Aug 2006, 15:29
No worries, by your definition about 80% of this thread is. Might as well keep it up.
Count Zero
18 Aug 2006, 15:34
No worries, by your definition about 80% of this thread is. Might as well keep it up.
Well yes. And my mild plea for some sort of ceasefire has contributed to that. Imo the thread should have been a celebration of yet another young man getting the chance to strut his stuff for our club. And btw there is already a selection thread specifically for tonights game here
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=261476
ross gibbs
18 Aug 2006, 15:39
Good luck to Bruce for his AFL debut.
He has improved out of sight this year and has been great at CHB. Would have obviously liked to have hung onto him for the game against North but this is how the system works.
However, his improvement has coincided with his move to the back lines. He has been a liability up forward.
Good to see Tommy Logan doing his job too. Look forward to welcoming him back in a few weeks time.