View Full Version : 'FACTS' from tonights game....
eddie_vrv6
19 Aug 2006, 00:41
1. I hate Collingwood
2. S. Burgoyne - 3 Brownlow votes
3. G. Bentley will be our next rising star nominee (this year or next)
4. I want to be in the BF Power Buddy draft next year, so I can pick Bentley - Gun.
5. Ebert is begining to show what he is made of.
6. The hard nuts are returning through our youngsters.
7. Ben Johnson will not play until first week of finals.
8. Pearce kicked that goal
9. Lade / Brogan thrashed Fraser.
10. Pearce will defiently finish top 2 for Rising Star Award.
11. I hate Collingwood
12. Heath Shaw will win the Rising Star
13. Heath Shaw - 3 Brownlow votes
Bad luck guys. You guys played really well and we were lucky to get the win. Alot of positives for you guys to take out of the game. You had a young side; Ebert looked very lively up forward and Bentley looks the goods.
FWIW I thought Pearce's shot on goal was good, but at the same time I accept that the umpire was in the perfect position.
Total Power
19 Aug 2006, 00:49
FACT - Maggies Won
FACT - You will only make up the numbers in the finals.
Santos L Helper
19 Aug 2006, 00:50
FACT - Maggies Won
FACT: Your team is a soft bunch of cowards
FACT: You have Clokes playing for you...ipso facto, you are ****ed!
FACT: No prizes for losing first week of the finals
FACT: That's another season ****ed for you.
Total Power
19 Aug 2006, 00:52
FACT - We are the youngest team in the AFL now.
FACT - Collingwood at full strength couldnt do any better than what they achieved.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 01:02
Gutted by the loss, but there was a lot to like.
Agree on Bentley. He really looks a player.
Bruce did some good things. He moves a bit like an oil tanker at times, but there's some purpose about him.
There's some strength of character there. We're a side that's been thrown together over the last 10 weeks but they're showing some spirit and teamwork is coming together.
Harold, it's been good while it lasted but it's time to exit stage left. Surely Carlile wouldn't be lead to the ball so often.
Dew seemed to work hard, but still goes the soft option too often.
Toby seemed to work hard so often the last couple of weeks and then when it matters, to paraphrase The Boss, just stands back and lets it all be ... and undoes all the good work.
Pearce exhilirating. Burgoyne outstanding.
I'll leave the warring Choco factions to decide whether we went too defensive after half time or whether he was protecting tired players legs after the trip to Darwin and the short break. Too tired and emotional to make that call myself.
If Mick Malthouse doesn't have a heart condition now he may well have one by the end of the finals. If he does, he may not see the end of the finals.
dyertribe
19 Aug 2006, 01:03
FWIW I thought Pearce's shot on goal was good, but at the same time I accept that the umpire was in the perfect position.
That makes no sense whatsoever.
The goal was good, the umpire f-ed up.
Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 01:04
Right now I have the same questions about Stuart Dew that I had about Chris Naish. If you do nothing much, and then get a couple of gettable shots on goal, don't **** up the shots on goal.
Cassisi almost played a great game right up until he really needed to do his job. Deadset, if your job is to sit on a gamebreaker and you don't have him under control in the last five minutes when the margin is close, the rest of the game isn't worth ****.
Total Power
19 Aug 2006, 01:11
any opinion on lower/thomas?
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 01:15
It didn't seem either had a lot of gametime - but my perception gets a bit warped at the ground. Good to see Choco play Thomas on Buckley when he went forward though.
Lower showed one concerning trait that I've seen from his Norwood games (admittedly only a couple) - if he plays too deep in defence he gets lead to the ball up around the 50. He's much better suited to a HBF/maybe wing at this point in his fledgling career.
Arsene Wenger
19 Aug 2006, 01:16
Highly impressive effort tonight - You need to look past the result (as hard as it is) esp when the seasons gone.
Bentley looks quality
SB - as above - GUN! same with Pearce
Willits is massive !!!
Thomas looks very handy and Wilson-esque
RUSLING will be a player - hes very quick
Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 01:16
Lower was loose but was respectable I thought. Should develop into a pretty good player.
I thought Thomas was great. Wasnt afriad to mix it at all.
Logan was awesome. Bentley looks a player.
Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 01:18
Lower showed one concerning trait that I've seen from his Norwood games (admittedly only a couple) - if he plays too deep in defence he gets lead to the ball up around the 50. He's much better suited to a HBF/maybe wing at this point in his fledgling career.Bombscare mkII?
Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 01:18
It didn't seem either had a lot of gametime - but my perception gets a bit warped at the ground. Good to see Choco play Thomas on Buckley when he went forward though.
Im pretty sure Lower spent about 90% of the match on the ground.
Thomas probably about 60-70%.
turbo182
19 Aug 2006, 01:19
Just thoguht I'd say bloody well played Port. With a family of Port sup[porters theres a soft spot there and Bloody hell I hate Collingwood.
Thought you really deserved that and was honestly shattered. Shaw should try getting a contested possession next season.
Mate has 55 on Shaun Burgoyne at 200/1. 11 Grand payout :eek
Yeah, I was pretty proud of the effort tonight. Didn't scrape over the line, but **** happens. If the youngsters can move on from this and learn some things, then it will be worth just as much as that win last week against the Dogs.
Get some squid on JB for the Brownlow next year, it's in the bag :) It really is a privilege to watch this guy play. Just wait until Tredders gets the service of the new and improved Super Shaun, Pearce, Kane Cornes, Thomson, Salopek et al next year.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 01:22
Bombscare mkII?
He's much more decisive than Bombscare 1 when he gets the ball, doesn't muck around with a quick tango and foxtrot, but a quick leading small/medium forward does him on the lead at the moment. Needs some work with a hardnosed defender to learn about arm across the chest and body positioning.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 01:24
Im pretty sure Lower spent about 90% of the match on the ground.
Thomas probably about 60-70%.
I'll take you on your word on that. I was standing in a forward pocket in the 2nd half so one end of the field was lost to me. Like little ants they were ... :o
Total Power
19 Aug 2006, 01:25
Cant wait for Macca's review.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 01:25
FACT - pick 6 is still safe. :o
HotPies!
19 Aug 2006, 01:26
1. I hate Collingwood So be it.
2. S. Burgoyne - 3 Brownlow votes Quite possible, he had a great game. H Shaw was also very good.
3. G. Bentley will be our next rising star nominee (this year or next) Good call, he had a great game... looks very promising.
4. I want to be in the BF Power Buddy draft next year, so I can pick Bentley - Gun. Ok
5. Ebert is begining to show what he is made of. Definitely
6. The hard nuts are returning through our youngsters. Hard nuts?
7. Ben Johnson will not play until first week of finals. Lets just hope he gets off.. he was making a genuine attempt to get a fist on the ball but I don't like his chances.
8. Pearce kicked that goal It was damn close that's for sure. Tough call by the ump.
9. Lade / Brogan thrashed Fraser. Fraser gets thrashed week in week out. He's not the biggest ruckman in the league and he has to get the job done each week all on his own... we need a ruckman desperately to give Josh a break. But no real big win there with him being beaten in the ruck.
10. Pearce will defiently finish top 2 for Rising Star Award. You're probably right but I don't really care.
11. I hate Collingwood You're not the only one... but good one ya anyway.
It was a hard game to watch and I feel for you blokes, you were definitely robbed of a win after a fantastic effort. I'll take the win, and I'm bloody rapt that we got over the line because we really needed it to secure a spot in the finals... but having said that, I'm not happy with our performance. You guys deserved the win, it was a bloody great effort, especially after our first quarter thumping.
Total Power
19 Aug 2006, 01:33
Hotpies! what happens to Rocca from here? he was absolutely **** pathetic useless today.You cannot carry a passaenger in the finals.Taz is like the same as Rocca.
eddie_vrv6
19 Aug 2006, 01:36
So be it.
Quite possible, he had a great game. H Shaw was also very good.
Good call, he had a great game... looks very promising.
Ok
Definitely
Hard nuts?
Lets just hope he gets off.. he was making a genuine attempt to get a fist on the ball but I don't like his chances.
It was damn close that's for sure. Tough call by the ump.
Fraser gets thrashed week in week out. He's not the biggest ruckman in the league and he has to get the job done each week all on his own... we need a ruckman desperately to give Josh a break. But no real big win there with him being beaten in the ruck.
You're probably right but I don't really care.
You're not the only one... but good one ya anyway.
It was a hard game to watch and I feel for you blokes, you were definitely robbed of a win after a fantastic effort. I'll take the win, and I'm bloody rapt that we got over the line because we really needed it to secure a spot in the finals... but having said that, I'm not happy with our performance. You guys deserved the win, it was a bloody great effort, especially after our first quarter thumping.
Great feedback chief, proof that not all Collingwood supporters are tools. Well done.
By Hard nuts, i refer to a well documented fact that Port are missing players who put their body on the line on go the hard ball (ala Hardwick and Carr) some of our youngsters are showing no fear, which is great.
Still hate Copllingwood though
PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 01:39
I'm proud of the guys - there is no way we would have gone into halftime any less than 7 goals down had our side from round 6 or 7 been out there tonight.
I thought Bentley was exceptional.
I was very pleased with Ebert.
Salopek bar one poor dropped mark, showed some class through the middle part of the game also.
I thought Mahoney's disposal was really poor on about three occasions.
I agree with the calls that a certain experienced player let us down with at least 2 bad misses for goal.
Thomas was great - needs some more polish and probably trails behind a bit (as does Lower) but I love his crash and bash.
I thought Logan was good also.
I echo the sentiments about JB and would throw in Lade for similar praise.
Disappointed with how defensive Chad Cornes played tonight. I know he was trying to be loose back there, but he didn't seem to creep forward at all.
Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 01:41
Hard nuts?
Cheers for the great post.
I think we had quite a number of young guys out there tonight that refused to shirk the issue and put their body on the line a few times. Thomas especially, Logan, Bentley and Chaplin were huge tonight.
dyertribe
19 Aug 2006, 01:46
Cheers for the great post.
I think we had quite a number of young guys out there tonight that refused to shirk the issue and put their body on the line a few times. Thomas especially, Logan, Bentley and Chaplin were huge tonight.
Agree.
Thomas has a bit of Wilbur about him, while Chaplin was a colossus down back.
Bentley looks to have a touch of natural class and Logan is the player that should've come down in the first place instead of Shattock.
PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 01:53
Agree.
Thomas has a bit of Wilbur about him, while Chaplin was a colossus down back.
Bentley looks to have a touch of natural class and Logan is the player that should've come down in the first place instead of Shattock.
All good observations.
Logan looks as honest as they come and works very hard. His skills are gradually getting better also as he continues to come up to speed with the AFL game.
Lower looks to me like he needs a dozen or so games to really get confidence to back himself in a bit more. He did some useful things tonight without really doing anything extremely memorable.
Thomas has looked fearless in the last two weeks.
Bentley is very classy and tough for a kid with a wiry sort of a frame. Nice overhead grab as well.
HotPies!
19 Aug 2006, 02:21
Hotpies! what happens to Rocca from here? he was absolutely **** pathetic useless today.You cannot carry a passaenger in the finals.Taz is like the same as Rocca.
To be honest I'm getting tired of all the talk about Rocca and Tarrant. Each week I pray to god that they lift and put through a few goals each... but each week I am disappointed and I am starting to feel that enough is enough. We really need to get at least one dominant big forward up there who will take big grabs and kick goals consistantly. I like the look of Rusling, I think he will develop into a good forward, but not the big strong marker that we need. Egan also looked good last week, and Didak is always good... but we can't rely on our small forwards to get the job done every week.
I don't see Collingwood getting rid of Rocca, he has too much potential, and when he lifts, the whole team lifts and we start winning games. But if he doesn't start converting goals consistantly I don't think his career will last too much longer, not with the Pies anyway.
Taz I feel is more valuable to the side with his pace and he provides a good linking option as a wingman... he is much more versatile than Rocca.
I don't see Collingwood getting rid of Rocca, he has too much potentialDon't you think it's a little strange to be talking about a player of his age in terms of 'potential'? His best is awesome, but he's so damn patchy that he's unreliable. You might do better hanging him out as trade bait. Maybe Porthos will give us his opinion on who you might get for him.
quiksilva
19 Aug 2006, 02:33
Ebert very impressive, should of had atleast 5. Hopefully next season he takes the step up to play consistant footy.
HotPies!
19 Aug 2006, 02:59
Don't you think it's a little strange to be talking about a player of his age in terms of 'potential'? His best is awesome, but he's so damn patchy that he's unreliable. You might do better hanging him out as trade bait. Maybe Porthos will give us his opinion on who you might get for him.
What I meant was he has a lot of potential to lift the whole team and win games for us. When he plays well... presents himself well up forward and takes big grabs then the whole team lifts. They have confidence going into the forward line and they play their fast paced running game that was winning us games at the beginning of the season.
I didn't mean it in terms of him improving as a player in the future... just that he has the potential to be our winning player. He can be a very dangerous player and I don't think Collingwood will want to get rid of him just yet.
To be honest I'm getting tired of all the talk about Rocca and Tarrant. Each week I pray to god that they lift and put through a few goals each... but each week I am disappointed and I am starting to feel that enough is enough. We really need to get at least one dominant big forward up there who will take big grabs and kick goals consistantly. I like the look of Rusling, I think he will develop into a good forward, but not the big strong marker that we need. Egan also looked good last week, and Didak is always good... but we can't rely on our small forwards to get the job done every week.
I don't see Collingwood getting rid of Rocca, he has too much potential, and when he lifts, the whole team lifts and we start winning games. But if he doesn't start converting goals consistantly I don't think his career will last too much longer, not with the Pies anyway.
Taz I feel is more valuable to the side with his pace and he provides a good linking option as a wingman... he is much more versatile than Rocca.
Mate, he turned 29 on the 15th of August...
If is isn't showing it by now, he aint ever gonna show it...
spice18
19 Aug 2006, 03:58
Right now I have the same questions about Stuart Dew that I had about Chris Naish. If you do nothing much, and then get a couple of gettable shots on goal, don't **** up the shots on goal.
Cassisi almost played a great game right up until he really needed to do his job. Deadset, if your job is to sit on a gamebreaker and you don't have him under control in the last five minutes when the margin is close, the rest of the game isn't worth ****.
Very very harsh on Dominic Porthos. He played a great game fullstop. In that bit of play where Didak marks then goals, you can see it is a 2 on 1 situation (Dom is caught between 2 Collingwood players) and Rocca's kick is perfectly placed in space to Didak's advantage. I really see no reason to be this critical of Dom esp about that particular piece of play.
scotty13
19 Aug 2006, 06:06
It is great that the young guys are playing this way, and cant wait for next year especially when they all improve that one notch as a team together :D:D
As for Pearce's goal, didnt see it as it happened but saw it in the post match round up and if you watch the spin of the ball it changes slighty when it reaches the goal post which indicates it has hit something. Was a very close call, i wish the ump got the call wrong but i think he called it correct. I just rekon that up need to be a feild ump not a goal ump cause they are fantastic eyes to see a slight change like that in the ball. Might improve the standard of field umpires.
almqvist
19 Aug 2006, 09:25
that was an awesome effort, just think, our best players will be fit and firing next season, although a finals berth probably isnt on the agenda until 2008, i think next year we will make it to the finals, prob only in 5th-8th position somewhere.
cant wait till showdown next week.
missionpossible
19 Aug 2006, 09:55
Burgoyne, how good is he, you wait for the accolades to come flying in once we are back in the top 8.
As much as I would like to agree with you that it was a gaol, I must say the ball did hit the post and was a great decision. It was a nice snick through to the keeper.
1. I hate Collingwood
3. G. Bentley will be our next rising star nominee (this year or next)
4. I want to be in the BF Power Buddy draft next year, so I can pick Bentley - Gun.
5. Ebert is begining to show what he is made of.
6. The hard nuts are returning through our youngsters.
7. Ben Johnson will not play until first week of finals.
9. Lade / Brogan thrashed Fraser.
10. Pearce will defiently finish top 2 for Rising Star Award.
11. I hate Collingwood
1. Yeah fair call.
2. Without doubt, however one of the umpires was James so hope is the key.
3. Did look the goods.
5. Great mark overhead for a guy of that size, kicking technique looks A1 as well.
7. Not too sure on his record but I get the feeling the tribunal will only give him 1 week.
8. Dont agree. The ball had a curl towards the points and then it changed direction as it shaved the point post. Umpire in best position. He wouldve heard it as well. It looked right. 1 point.
9. Embarrassing. Went missing.
10. Say top 3.
11. nice finish. ;)
Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 10:32
Very very harsh on Dominic Porthos. He played a great game fullstop. In that bit of play where Didak marks then goals, you can see it is a 2 on 1 situation (Dom is caught between 2 Collingwood players) and Rocca's kick is perfectly placed in space to Didak's advantage. I really see no reason to be this critical of Dom esp about that particular piece of play.You can say that its very harsh, but reality is very harsh. Like I said, he was having a great game right up until then, but because he couldn't shut Didak down in the last minute of the game, the job was incomplete and we lost the game.
Eddie Woloschek
19 Aug 2006, 10:36
Gutted by the loss, but there was a lot to like.. Ditto and ditto.
Agree on Bentley. He really looks a player.. He looks like a leader already. I wish he had been playing a couple of months back.
Bruce did some good things. He moves a bit like an oil tanker at times, but there's some purpose about him.. Looks as if he would be beter employed closer to goal.
There's some strength of character there. We're a side that's been thrown together over the last 10 weeks but they're showing some spirit and teamwork is coming together.. Lonie out, Kingers in, a bunch of kids playing for their lives all good. Seeing Buckley get 100 touches made me yearn again for Josh Carr.
Harold, it's been good while it lasted but it's time to exit stage left. Surely Carlile wouldn't be lead to the ball so often.. If we need to play him, why don't they throw him forward occasionally? He can mark and kick and surely is a better option than the min-me forward line that we end up with at times.
Dew seemed to work hard, but still goes the soft option too often.. Dew burned early while in the midfield and then seemed to be playing at the back. He is one of our more penetrating players at his best and he's no gun deep in defence.
Toby seemed to work hard so often the last couple of weeks and then when it matters, to paraphrase The Boss, just stands back and lets it all be ... and undoes all the good work.. What was the name of the recruit in The Club? Concentration of a goldfish - put him down back!
Pearce exhilirating. Burgoyne outstanding.. Ditto and ditto.
I'll leave the warring Choco factions to decide whether we went too defensive after half time or whether he was protecting tired players legs after the trip to Darwin and the short break. Too tired and emotional to make that call myself.. The backwards and sideways movement, the close in handballs to crowded areas, the inability in the final term to play on and take on opponents (maybe Darwin legs) had me screaming at the box. I think we had them on the ropes but we couldn't knock them out. A few vital errors cost us, but at least we put up a good effort. My thoughts on the coach are well documented and I can't say any more than I have done before.
If Mick Malthouse doesn't have a heart condition now he may well have one by the end of the finals. If he does, he may not see the end of the finals. Malthouse, like so many of the others coaching AFL teams has clearly proved himself over the years to be clearly the best coach, the master coach when he has the best team. Today, he is just a self-obsessed megalomaniac, a fraud. It's always about him. Malthouse will see the end of the finals but for him, that'll be week one.
In all, we should have beaten Collingwood, but the loss may prove a turning point. Can we now accept that the chippy possession game is not only rubbish to watch but is ineffective compared with running, direct, quick football? Several passages proved that again, including the last twenty seconds of the game - and we nearly pulled off a miracle.
Good to see the great man Adam Kingsley back.
Chaplin is more like Meady every week. Logan was good too. Our recruiting staff appear to be showing more guile than our coaches.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 12:22
I've been really pleased with the type of player we've been drafting in the past couple of seasons. It appears Williams and Moylan are on the same wavelength about the type of player we should be after.
I reckon Willits could reserve the nickname 'Terminator' from what I saw last night. There's a real sense of impending menace about him on the field.
It was damn close that's for sure. Tough call by the ump.
"Damn close"?
Ball. Post. Ball passes inside of post. There was nothing close about it.
As much as I would like to agree with you that it was a gaol, I must say the ball did hit the post and was a great decision. It was a nice snick through to the keeper.
If the ball hit the post, why didn't the goal umpire signal that the ball had hit the post?
Also, the ball did not hit the post. If it had, we wouldn't have seen daylight between it and the post all the way, would we?
I've been really pleased with the type of player we've been drafting in the past couple of seasons. It appears Williams and Moylan are on the same wavelength about the type of player we should be after.
I reckon Willits could reserve the nickname 'Terminator' from what I saw last night. There's a real sense of impending menace about him on the field.
Saw the 'menace' bit in the preseason and definitely has the potential to be a 'pack-buster' - rather than be nicknamed Bruce perhaps it should be Brute.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 12:32
If the ball hit the post, why didn't the goal umpire signal that the ball had hit the post?
Also, the ball did not hit the post. If it had, we wouldn't have seen daylight between it and the post all the way, would we?
If I saw daylight at 10pm, I'd be worried ... ;)
I saw light all the way though. And the Volvo driver didn't signal hit the post. He just got it wrong, plain and simple.
:confused:
He did.
We did for some bits but not for some other. It was very close to say the least and the goal umpire was in the best position so we must assume he was right.
Had we not missed so many gettable shots in the last quarter alone this conversation would not be taking place.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 12:37
He did.
Did he? I missed that, I thought he just signalled a point. Wasn't able to watch the replay last night to double check as my 24 hour timer video was set to 12 hour time ... oops :o
Well you have me doubting it now but I was sure until now that they cut back to the him (on TV of course) as he was signaling a poster.
He did.
I don't remember that, I rememberhim signalling that it had gone wide.
Had we not missed so many gettable shots in the last quarter alone this conversation would not be taking place.
No question we screwed up over and over, but Collingwood were a pathetic frightened rabble in the second half who in no way deserved to win. Everybody at the ground knew that Port needed one goal to break them in the fourth, and Pearce's GOAL was that GOAL.
That goal umpire had better never work again, and the very very least.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 12:45
Well you have me doubting it now but I was sure until now that they cut back to the him (on TV of course) as he was signaling a poster.
There might have been some delirious jumping around and high fiving involved before we noticed he was signalling a point. So the VD could have signalled a poster in that time. ;)
... I rememberhim signalling that it had gone wide.
I do not recall that.
There might have been some delirious jumping around and high fiving involved before we noticed he was signalling a point. So the VD could have signalled a poster in that time. ;)
On another note, when you watch the replay look out for Dermott "I am a ****ing legend" Brereton implying at every chance that our players pull out of contests because they are too scared to get hurt. I am surprised no-one has mentioned it yet.
I recall him doing that to Chaplin, Cassisi, Sal and Ebert to name a few.
Powerstufff
19 Aug 2006, 13:04
If the ball hit the post, why didn't the goal umpire signal that the ball had hit the post?...That was very much my thought. I saw the ball pass through the goals and leapt to my feet. But the goal umpire just signalled a point, no indication he thought it had hit the post.
That was very much my thought. I saw the ball pass through the goals and leapt to my feet. But the goal umpire just signalled a point, no indication he thought it had hit the post.
It's blatantly obvious that in his effort to run to position he lost sight of the ball and made the call well after it had passed the posts. A call based mostly, it seems, on his personal biases and/or financial interest in the game.
I haven't seen it yet, but you would still see daylight, it's an oval shaped ball, not a round one.
What difference does that make?
The goal umpire definitly hit the goal post to signal a behind.I may have been tired but I can remember that as I wasnt jumping around like many Port or collingwood supporters wouldve been. I just wish they would hit it before they signal the behind like they used to rather than this crap way.
On another note, when you watch the replay look out for Dermott "I am a ****ing legend" Brereton implying at every chance that our players pull out of contests because they are too scared to get hurt. I am surprised no-one has mentioned it yet.
I recall Rocca pulling out of a contest last night. Second half Im pretty sure. I had a good laugh.
Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 14:59
Whew for a minute there I was worried that someone with commentating credibility might have made the judgement. Dermie's never forgiven Port Adelaide for the hiding Marty Leslie gave him in a state game in front of a national audience. Couldn't wait to run back to the VFL where he had them bluffed.
That's way too harsh on Cassisi. Keeping Didak to one goal and 13 possesions this year is a great job in anyones books. If Didak's goal wasn't the winning goal you would be giving him the biggest polish job ever.
Thought you really deserved that and was honestly shattered. Shaw should try getting a contested possession next season.
FACTS: Top 5 Contested Possesion Winners
Brodie Holland - 11
Stuart Dew - 9
Shaun Burgoyne - 8
Heath Shaw - 8
Paul Licuria - 7
BTW the Pearce kick was a goal! :D :D :D
Brodie Holland - 11
Stuart Dew - 9
Shaun Burgoyne - 8
Heath Shaw - 8
Paul Licuria - 7
Pearce gets tagged every game whereas Shaw usually runs around doing his own thing. ;)
Comments from tonights game...
Jnr Burger -brilliant, i'd go so far as to say by the end of his career we will be saying Gavin who? JB is the equal of any midfielder in the comp (including Judd)
Bentley- where has he come from? Confident enough to take anyone on.
Logan - needs either some more pace or some more size, good hard at it player but his physical attributes (at this stage) could cost him.
Thrust- Ummm...
Fatty Dew - errrr...
Lade/Brogan tandem - looking back i think they won us a priemership, hopefully they will be there next time it happens. They're gold.
Willits - as good a football body as ive seen. Keep playing him! Unfortunately he may have a touch of softness in his game which is just plain wrong for a man (boy) of his size.
Rocca - useless girlyman - how about that contest he pulled out of, weak as ****.
Malthouse - the soon he ****es off the better an embarassing coach if ever there was one. He's kinda trying to be a 'crazy' as Sheeds but without the coaching ability, intelligences or media savy, he's a joke.
Comments from tonights game...
Jnr Burger -brilliant, i'd go so far as to say by the end of his career we will be saying Gavin who? JB is the equal of any midfielder in the comp (including Judd)
Bentley- where has he come from? Confident enough to take anyone on.
Logan - needs either some more pace or some more size, good hard at it player but his physical attributes (at this stage) could cost him.
Thrust- Ummm...
Fatty Dew - errrr...
Lade/Brogan tandem - looking back i think they won us a priemership, hopefully they will be there next time it happens. They're gold.
Willits - as good a football body as ive seen. Keep playing him! Unfortunately he may have a touch of softness in his game which is just plain wrong for a man (boy) of his size.
Rocca - useless girlyman - how about that contest he pulled out of, weak as ****.
Malthouse - the soon he ****es off the better an embarassing coach if ever there was one. He's kinda trying to be a 'crazy' as Sheeds but without the coaching ability, intelligences or media savy, he's a joke.
I think Choco has less intelligences!!111111111111
Toots Hibbert
19 Aug 2006, 18:48
I think Choco has less intelligences!!111111111111
Well you're obviously better at arithmetic than you are at spelling.
PAFC2004
19 Aug 2006, 18:56
Brodie Holland - 11
Stuart Dew - 9
Shaun Burgoyne - 8
Heath Shaw - 8
Paul Licuria - 7
Of course it was... and you're happy that you got the 4 points without actually kicking a better score than us? You should be ashamed.
Paralowiepower
20 Aug 2006, 12:49
At the Port Magpies a mate said to me, in his own mind he knows we won, so thats all that counts. :)
ExpectToWin
21 Aug 2006, 10:46
You can say that its very harsh, but reality is very harsh. Like I said, he was having a great game right up until then, but because he couldn't shut Didak down in the last minute of the game, the job was incomplete and we lost the game.
If the umpire had paid high contact against Buckley on Chaplin instead of being sucked in by the speccy mark that resulted in a goal, then Didak's goal would have been a irelevant.
Porthos
21 Aug 2006, 10:50
Yep, but it wasn't.
ExpectToWin
21 Aug 2006, 11:21
Yep, but it wasn't.
True
I just wanted to have a whinge about a shocking umpire's decision that cost us the game.