View Full Version : R20: Port v Collingwood review

Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 01:54
Well what can you say. Shattering, heart breaking, angry. But proud.

For such a young team to come back from a pretty hefty deficit and almost come home with a very good victory was great to see. They just need that killer instinct which has been missing a few times this year.

Our skills in the last quarter were deplorable. No excuses, they were utterly disgraceful. It infected pretty much the whole team. Ebert dropped about 4 marks, Mahoney couldnt hit a target, Bentley made a couple of errors, blind kicks forward which went straight to a nest of Magpies and that bloody kick across goal with a minute left over the head of Kane to a group of 3 Magpies players. How Burns missed that I will never know. Poor Mick.

To waste all our chances of sealing a game and then allowing them many times to run it free into their forward line in the last few minutes wasnt good enough. But, the kids will learn, their skills will improve and their decision making will get better.

It looked like we were going to be prettyc omprehensively beaten up to about the 10 minute mark of the 2nd quarter. Our defence was a mess, Brogan was getting thrashed in the ruck and our forward line was all over the place. Like a flick of a switch we just turned it on and our game completely changed. We went from unsure sideways disposals in defence to a long direct game. Brogan all of a sudden started to dominate the ruck and the clearances and we got it quick into our forward line where Brett finally tore a game apart with some individual brilliance.

Most of that continued in the third quarter. Our last quarter was just too dissapointing. I thought we were absolutely robbed by Matthew James all night. One of the most inconsistent umpiring efforts ive ever seen.

I thought most of the players really played out of their skin for most of the night. The senior players in Shaun, Chad and Kane were incredibel for most of the night...as was Dom. Our youngsters really turned it on and its exciting to see them really start to gel together and form a group that will hopefully lead us for many years in the future.

Very very shattering to lose in that fashion. Maybe it will do them the world of good.

Player Reviews
Bentley - His disposal can be wayward at times, as we were informed from many draft reviews, but geez he looks good. Looks like a real player of the future. Isnt overly quick but he tends to glide across the surface and he can find the ball well. Some good marks as well. Some off season work on his disposal and he should be pushing for a regular spot next year
15 disposals, 7 marks

Bishop - Given a hammering by Rusling in the first half. Defended better in the second half.
12 disposals, 5 marks

Brogan - Thought he was getting slaughtered up until about 10 minutes into the 2nd...then he came alive and was one of the catalysts for our comeback. Slowed down in the last quarter and seemed to go off injured very late
11 disposals, 5 marks, 20 hitouts

S Burgoyne - Genius. A pleasure to watch him play. Surely a lock in for AA this year and would have to be in the top 5 players going around at the moment.
28 disposals, 8 marks, 2 goals

Cassisi - Killed Didak for most of the night, except the part that mattered most. Dissapointing in that respect.
10 disposals, 2 marks

Chaplin - Was getting touched up by Cloke early but thought he came back and was one of our best players in the second half, spending time on Buckley as well. Had a great night.
21 disposals, 5 marks

C Cornes - Started well, slowed down but was a mountain in defence in the last half. Huge game.
25 disposals, 9 marks, 1 goal

K Cornes - Started slow but had some great touch in the last 3 quarters. One of our best
29 disposals, 6 marks, 1 goal

Dew - Had heaps of kicks but just blazed away and didnt use the ball at all well. Poor finishing.
23 disposals, 6 marks

Ebert - Awesome first half. Great marks on the lead, one of the best goals of the year in the goalsquare. Clement moved on him and he found it tougher. Had a few chances in the last quarter to give us a big chance of winning it but dropped some marks he just has to take. Therefore he goes down a couple of notches. Its great to see him regain some form in the last 3-4 weeks
16 disposals, 7 marks, 4 goals

Kingsley - Thought he was very very good. Came in, was sure of his disposal and did his job well. Good effort
16 disposals, 2 marks

Lade - Up and down. Wasted some ball at times but overall was decent. Influential in our comeback
16 disposals, 9 marks, 1 goal

Logan - Was just about BOG for most of the night. Didnt see much of him in the last 45 minutes or so but he had an exceptional first half. High in the best. Definate keeper.
19 disposals, 10 marks, 1 goal

Lower - Was a bit shaky to start with, and as FF said in the other thread, he gets led to the ball a bit. But, I thought when he got the ball his decision making was fast and his disposal good. He was put under pressure a few times and came through well. Hope he stays in the last two weeks
11 disposals, 1 mark

Mahoney - Very frustrating last quarter. Didnt see much of it all night really.
11 disposals, 6 marks

Pearce - Was a livewire during our comeback, but went missing for large parts of the match.
13 disposals, 1 mark

Salopek - Steady, smooth, solid. Becoming a rock of our midfield. Used the ball superbly tonight. Great game
24 disposals, 8 marks, 1 goal

Surjan - Went off early with a bung shoulder after a heavy Burns tackle. Came back on but wasnt well.
4 disposals

Thomas - Throws his body in, is willing to stand up and run straight at the ball and doesnt matter what comes his way. I liked his game tonight
9 disposals, 3 marks

Thurstans - Im gonna blast him. His first three quarters were great. He ran hard, tried hard, took some strong marks and played CHF well. His last quarter was pathetic and a disgrace to the Port Adelaide guernsey. When the match was on the line he didnt want to know. If the ball didnt reach him he stopped running and let his opponent do what he wanted. Toby in a nutshell.
13 disposals, 8 marks, 1 goal

Wakelin - Killed Rocca.
14 disposals, 12 marks

Willits - Shaky early. Looked a bit lost at times. Better second half. Still needs a lot of work. Physically looks right at home out there.
8 disposals, 4 marks

POTY Votes
9 - S Burgoyne
8 - C Cornes, Ebert, Logan
7 - Bentley, Brogan, Chaplin, Cassisi, K Cornes, Salopek, Wakelin
6 - Kingsley, Lade
5 - Thomas
4 - Dew, Lower
3 - Pearce, Thurstans, Willits
2 - Bishop, Mahoney
1 - Surjan

PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 02:03
Yeah, agree with it all Macca.

Chad did play well, and I guess his role was very much to play in the defensive hole and cramp their forward movements which he did well.
I thought we missed his presence running through our half-forward line.

Thurstans played a great third quarter but let us down considerably in the last.

Pearce couldn't get enough of it after halftime (Shaw was excellent for them).

I had Lade higher in my better players. In fact it was when Ladey had about 10 minutes in the ruck in the middle part of the second term that we finally got some clearances and got the ball rolling.
Brogan couldn't take a trick before that point and continuously tapped it to the Collingwood players.

Pettigrew might have been a better matchup for Rusling, if available. He might be the only guy we have to go with him (other than JB).

Agree that Logan and Thomas were impressive.

Pred
19 Aug 2006, 02:05
Good reviews generally thanks Macca.

Thurstans - Im gonna blast him. His first three quarters were great. He ran hard, tried hard, took some strong marks and played CHF well. His last quarter was pathetic and a disgrace to the Port Adelaide guernsey. When the match was on the line he didnt want to know. If the ball didnt reach him he stopped running and let his opponent do what he wanted. Toby in a nutshell.Harsh. You sound like you're just waiting for an excuse to blast him. Overall he had a good game.

Bresh
19 Aug 2006, 02:06
You can't play a KPP on Rusling. As much as Bishop got toweled up, so would have most big guys, for Sean is a world-class athlete. It had to be someone like Surjan or Matt Thomas. You're not conceding much because he's not much of a contested mark.

Bresh
19 Aug 2006, 02:07
And no Pred, Thurstans absolutely sodomised our chances at the worst of times. His second efforts, which is something you can control, after overrunning the ball on 3 or 4 occasions were non-existent. Unforgivable.

dyertribe
19 Aug 2006, 02:09
Pearce couldn't get enough of it after halftime (Shaw was excellent for them).

Much was made of the Pearce-Shaw battle tonight and while Shaw was impressive and took the chocolates overall, I really hope that the Rising Star panel take into account the difference between playing in the heart of the midfield and playing a kick behind play without an opponent.

Pred
19 Aug 2006, 02:11
And no Pred, Thurstans absolutely sodomised our chances at the worst of times. His second efforts, which is something you can control, after overrunning the ball on 3 or 4 occasions were non-existent. Unforgivable.Yes, he had a bad quarter, a lazy quarter. So hang him? Yeah fair enough, I guess we need someone to take the loss out on, and Thurstans is as easy a target as anyone.

On Willits, doesn't he look promising!

A big lug of a fella ain't he. Give him a few games and he may turn into something really special.

Chaplin gets better and better, Bentley and Lower keep popping up all over the place, Shaun continues to thrive in the absence of Peter's shadow, Pearcey was a little down but had a few good touches. I'm loving it!

Tredders may just be a little worried about busting back into the team ;)

PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 02:11

Harsh. You sound like you're just waiting for an excuse to blast him. Overall he had a good game.

I think that is unfair Pred and sounds like you were waiting for a chance to spring to Toby's defence.

His last quarter saw a number of balls come towards him and get rebounded without any sort of defensive pressure from him. He let us down with that. Granted he was good in the very early stages of the match and for a patch in the third quarter, but tonight required four quarters from him in Damon's absence and with Willits debuting.

Bresh
19 Aug 2006, 02:13
Yes, he had a bad quarter, a lazy quarter. So hang him? Yeah fair enough, I guess we need someone to take the loss out on, and Thurstans is as easy a target as anyone.

Where did I lay the blame expressly on his shoulders? Yes, I did use some colorful language, but I think we'd be hearing about it if your good mate Damon White did the same thing.

PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 02:14
Much was made of the Pearce-Shaw battle tonight and while Shaw was impressive and took the chocolates overall, I really hope that the Rising Star panel take into account the difference between playing in the heart of the midfield and playing a kick behind play without an opponent.

I thought Shaw was terrific tonight. His work in the centre square in the early stages of the second quarter was excellent. He is a much better player than I realised.

I agree that the panel needs to and surely will look at the overall output over a whole season where Pearce has been exceptional at hunting the tough ball in the heat of the midfield.

Danyle was quieter than I expected after halftime tonight. Normally he really turns it on after halftime and I was confident he might have been the second half difference in our favour.

Pred
19 Aug 2006, 02:16
Where did I lay the blame expressly on his shoulders? Yes, I did use some colorful language, but I think we'd be hearing about it if you're good mate Damon White did the same thing.Erm, yeah, I'm not sure where you're going with this.

Toots Hibbert
19 Aug 2006, 02:18
Very disappointing to lose in the last minute or so. We had the chance early in the last quarter to nail Collingwood but missed three or four very gettable goals. There'll be some talk about Pearces "point". I couldn't see any deviation on the TV replay but anyway we should have been up by three or four goals at that point.

I thought all our young guys showed promise. While at the game was planning to give Choco a spray for taking Willits off early in the second quarter but he came back soon enough. I thought Bruce showed a bit. Worked his way into the game more and more. His movement up forward was purposeful and he looked like he wanted it. Demonstrated in the warmup that he can give the ball quite a roost. I think there's a possibility he can be a target up forward.

Bentley and Logan were excellent I thought.

Don't want to do a player review but was very interested to see our defensive style. I think this was the first time I've seen a Port side flood effectively. Not only did the boys drop back but they harrassed the Collingwood ball carriers and forced plenty of turnovers and turned defense into attack well. We failed to capitalise on the scoreboard was the only problem. Having only seen the Bulldogs game on TV but watching this live I think Choco finally has an effective plan B. That and the promising signs from our youngsters were the big plusses for me.

PJ Power
19 Aug 2006, 02:21
Don't want to do a player review but was very interested to see our defensive style. I think this was the first time I've seen a Port side flood effectively. Not only did the boys drop back but they harrassed the Collingwood ball carriers and forced plenty of turnovers and turned defense into attack well. We failed to capitalise on the scoreboard was the only problem. Having only seen the Bulldogs game on TV but watching this live I think Choco finally has an effective plan B. That and the promising signs from our youngsters were the big plusses for me.

I

I think in the last two weeks we have been better at plugging holes more evenly all over the ground so that the Bulldogs and Collingwood players were forced to hold their kicks pretty much from HB rather than rush it easily to HF.

We were a little slack though, with manning up from kick-ins tonight.

Bresh
19 Aug 2006, 02:23
We certainly did the midfield flood, zoning off, filling in the gaps to perfection tonight. Whenever it looked like things were about to go awry, people would actually leave their man or if they didn't have anyone, work hard to get to the right spot and diffuse the situation. Chad dropping into the hole, for example, really took Rusling out of the game after the first quarter.

Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 02:25

Harsh. You sound like you're just waiting for an excuse to blast him. Overall he had a good game.

Maybe harsh. Im not blaming him for the loss. But as our only key forward in the side he had to give an effort in that last quarter. He didnt want to know about it.

Toots Hibbert
19 Aug 2006, 02:25
We can point the finger at a number of occasions when we blew our chances. Not much point getting into recriminations because despite being *****ed at the loss there were lots of positives. I can't however understand how Mahoney failed to spot Junior loose 35 metres out from goal for ages after he took a mark (a good one too). :confused: He failed to pick him up only a minute later also.

Mahoney had a patch of about 5 minutes in the last quarter where he won the ball brilliantly and had brain spasms with his delivery.

Toots Hibbert
19 Aug 2006, 02:31
Maybe harsh. Im not blaming him for the loss. But as our only key forward in the side he had to give an effort in that last quarter. He didnt want to know about it.
There were times when I'd have loved to see Willits in Toby's spot. We had a patch of dominance early in the third quarter when we were finding loose players up forward and Willits was on the bench. He came on eventually but the pattern of play had shifted a little by then.

I was spewing when he got taken off the ground in the second quarter and was planning a spray on here but shortly after Choco went for a shorter forward line was when Ebert exploded.

spice18
19 Aug 2006, 03:38
Well what can you say. Shattering, heart breaking, angry. But proud.

Bentley - His disposal can be wayward at times, as we were informed from many draft reviews, but geez he looks good. Looks like a real player of the future. Isnt overly quick but he tends to glide across the surface and he can find the ball well. Some good marks as well. Some off season work on his disposal and he should be pushing for a regular spot next year
15 disposals, 7 marks

Well summed up Macca as usual. I must say I can see why the club is so excited about Bentley. It was only his second game but hey, the kid can play. knows how to find the footy and where to position himself on the park. Nice size too and was great to watch. As you say, just needs to polish up a bit on his disposal and we will have another gem from that now famous rookie train...

Pred
19 Aug 2006, 03:43
Well summed up Macca as usual. I must say I can see why the club is so excited about Bentley. It was only his second game but hey, the kid can play. knows how to find the footy and where to position himself on the park. Nice size too and was great to watch. As you say, just needs to polish up a bit on his disposal and we will have another gem from that now famous rookie train...You're right on all of that.

Fair dinkum, it's hard to fathom how anyone could look at the skill and endeavour of the large number of kids we have playing now, and say that Choco has no idea how to develop young players. Really, it is.

Count Zero
19 Aug 2006, 09:26
... I can't however understand how Mahoney failed to spot Junior loose 35 metres out from goal for ages after he took a mark (a good one too). :confused: He failed to pick him up only a minute later also.
Yes. Mahoney looked straight at Burgoyne and burnt him.. twice in one minute. Aren't they talking to each other?:)

Count Zero
19 Aug 2006, 09:31
In the context of where we are, last nights game was about giving some young bodies valuable game time and building confidence in the team and individuals. Winning or losing by a couple of points does not make that much difference in the long term. That's not to say that I wasn't shouting myself hoarse at the end, and I was gutted to hear the siren go so early.

missionpossible
19 Aug 2006, 09:45
Another comeback from a position that looked like we were capable of getting a flogging.

It appears that the disgracefull floggings of 2005 and early 2006 will be a thing of the past and Port supporters can once again go to the football and know that the players will put up an effort to be proud of.

We have now completed the first step to being a force again, now to take the next couple of steps.

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 10:40
Chad dropping into the hole, for example, really took Rusling out of the game after the first quarter.Maybe I'm some kind of idiot, but why wasn't that plan A? That is how Choco always deals with fast-leading forwards...have a chaser and someone dropping in front. Its proven, it works, its won us heaps of games. Was it a Choco or Chad decision to deviate from this in the first quarter?

Frank Spencer Clone
19 Aug 2006, 10:42
Fair dinkum, it's hard to fathom how anyone could look at the skill and endeavour of the large number of kids we have playing now, and say that Choco has no idea how to develop young players. Really, it is.
Quite easily.
Endeavour comes naturally to young kids. They just want to get out there and have a go, throw themselves in and have fun.
Skill is also a natural occurence. Either you have aptitude or you don't. You can't transplant it. You can hone it, but not transplant it.
Niether has got anything to do with Williams' influence. Besides as I heard it last night, there's only 24 fit players left on the list. He's got no choice but to play kids.

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 10:44
Still too much defensive crappola when the game is up for grabs though and that is up to Williams and co to change but I wouldn't hold my breath.
We must be the worst side in the AFL at keepings off when we try to defend the last few minutes and it has cost us another game. Has it ever helped us win a game? We have lost many a games by trying to be too tricky. We are so tricky that we always seem to trick ourselves.
Considering that fast attacking football is what we do best then why do we have to force our players to play this un-natural crap when they clearly are either unable or not coached well enough to do it?

It was a good game with our youngsters plus a couple of usual suspects leading the way and with some of the usual older suspects doing what they do worse. Remove the youngsters and we would never have mounted a comeback just like in all those other games earlier in the year.

Eddie Woloschek
19 Aug 2006, 10:53
You're right on all of that.

Or perhaps the youngest ones have not yet been sufficiently tainted. How do you explain the sad demise of Kane Cornes, who is just a mark stop kick mark player?

AFL players have natural ability, honed by games in youth where they play footy the way it is meant to be played. All of a sudden, it gets complicated by AFL coaches who stifle that. Choco is not the only one. Malthouse, Sheedy, etc do the same thing. A coach should make the team better than it would be without a coach. I have my doubts about many of the overpaid narcissists in that role.

Playing "piggy in the middle" is boring to watch and will not win premierships.

shaz63
19 Aug 2006, 10:59
Or perhaps the youngest ones have not yet been sufficiently tainted. How do you explain the sad demise of Kane Cornes, who is just a mark stop kick mark player?

AFL players have natural ability, honed by games in youth where they play footy the way it is meant to be played. All of a sudden, it gets complicated by AFL coaches who stifle that. Choco is not the only one. Malthouse, Sheedy, etc do the same thing. A coach should make the team better than it would be without a coach. I have my doubts about many of the overpaid narcissists in that role.

I'll second that Eddie.

Fred
19 Aug 2006, 11:02
Port are a mob of knuckleheads. They were my upset win in the tipping.:D

Even then, losing wouldn't have been so bad but to the pies.......:mad:

Frank Spencer Clone
19 Aug 2006, 11:13
How many times did we come down the middle with a break, only to see Ebert one out against 3 or 4 Collingwood defenders?
Where was the tall, leading forward?
Poor coaching again which cost us 4 points when we had an opponent on the ropes and down for the count.

Other observations:
Bentley looks like a real goer
Willits chucked his weight around a bit and looked likely. Cant wait to see him once he gets a bit of confidence about him.
Logan shows a lot.
Bishop - thrashed again. Conceded too many goals. Really has to go.

shaz63
19 Aug 2006, 11:21
Does anyone know the reason behind White not playing?? Was he injured prior to the game or was he just omited for Kingsley to get a kick??

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 11:22
Does anyone know the reason behind White not playing?? Was he injured prior to the game or was he just omited for Kingsley to get a kick??
Flu apparently. Doubt he would have been dropped for no good reason this week.

shaz63
19 Aug 2006, 11:26
Flu apparently. Doubt he would have been dropped for no good reason this week.

Cheers!

eathb
19 Aug 2006, 11:28
We lost because of VERY poor umpiring, it was obvious which team they went for. The 3 umpiring let down were:
1. The specky Buckley did on Chappy, he placed his hands on his shoulders to lift himself up, you can do that??? Just because you cant jump like Chad Cornes
2. Pearce's behind, if you were at the game behind the goalpost it didn't even touch it, also check the TV replay =/
3. That free kick given to Buckley, which was also given a 50m penalty, the free kick fair the 50m WTF?!?

Negatives - Bishop - was against a 2nd gamer (good to know that Choco isn't relying him for the 2nd or 3rd best anymore) was well beaten. Really he has gotta go, Bring in Carlile or an injured Symes
Mahoney - Had a poor game, made very poor choices

Positives - All our young GUNS, top class
Kingsley - great return, should cement a spot against the cows
Ebert - Comfortably beat Shaw, Clement and the other guy (whats his name?) really out ran and out marked them, great game
Lade - AA form
Brogan - Best game for the year? Dominated the rucks
Jr. - OOOOOOOOAH

I hope (which i doubt) the rising star selectors look into this game, Shaw probably has the worst Kick-ins in the league, and was lucky for us not kicking straight. Pearce v. Raines for rising star

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 11:41

I neither agree nor disagree with that as the World is neither just black or white but made up of many shades of grey.
You need both types of players, naturally skilled ones plus dour team rules oriented types and as it is almost impossible to recruit to suit your needs instantly nowadays, one must create the players it needs. IMO Choco and others you mentioned do this bit very very well.

The problem you are talking about comes about when a coach is too authoritative and thus the players are so scared to screw up that when the going gets tough they revert to the "easy" game, ie follow team rules at all cost and thus never get blamed for things that go wrong.
This is where youngsters are good as their natural instincts often override this "self preservation" kind of trend.

Yes in the opinion of many, including himself, Choco has been guilty of that however Choco may not realise the full extent of it as at times it seems to stand out like dogsballs on an old (male) Weimaraner. :)

Frank Spencer Clone
19 Aug 2006, 11:42
[QUOTE]We lost because of VERY poor umpiring,
Disagree.
Although I will give you that I personally was confounded by some odd decisions at times - the free & 50m to Figjam being one of them - we lost because of horrendously bad coaching, not umpiring.
You can't question Buckley's mark late in the game. I'm definitely no big fan of the guy, his arrogant persona really craps me off, but you have to admit for a captain when the game was there to be won, he delivered.
Many times, especially in the 3rd term, we charged out of defence with the ball and had no tall forward - just Ebert lone hand against 3 or 4 Collingwood defenders.
Poor, poor , overly defensive coaching which cost us time and time again.

Kingsley - great return, should cement a spot against the cows I trust you say this in jest.
This bloke is three years past his use by date and , with Bishop, must be sent packing ASAP. Hopeless again last night.

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 11:52
We lost because of VERY poor umpiring, it was obvious which team they went for.
I disagree.
I only saw the game from half way in the second quarter, we were about 30 points down when I got home and started watching it, and IMO the umpiring from then on was fine.
We had our chances to put the game away, many of them, we didn't take them and we lost. Nothing to do with umpires.

Malibu#27
19 Aug 2006, 11:53
We lost because of VERY poor umpiring, it was obvious which team they went for. The 3 umpiring let down were:
1. The specky Buckley did on Chappy, he placed his hands on his shoulders to lift himself up, you can do that??? Just because you cant jump like Chad Cornes
2. Pearce's behind, if you were at the game behind the goalpost it didn't even touch it, also check the TV replay =/
3. That free kick given to Buckley, which was also given a 50m penalty, the free kick fair the 50m WTF?!?

Agree with the Buckey mark. Definitely hands on shoulder in a seperate action.

I would also throw up the mark to Mahoney in the first or third quarter in the goal square that wasnt paid.

And Clement holding Ebert out of a marking contest in the third as 2 shots at goal we should have had. (how do you get away with two hands in the back like that)

Unfortunately the Pearce goal on the replay suggests it lightly touched the post (or was hit my a very strong gust of wind).

But umpiring didnt cost us the game last night - 7 behinds in the last quarter cost us the game

Malibu#27
19 Aug 2006, 11:57
As an aside:

Anyone disagree with the thought that on current form Shaun is the best player getting around in SA.

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 11:59
As an aside:

Anyone disagree with the thought that on current form Shaun is the best player getting around in SA.
He'd be close to being the best going around in the AFL atm. At least in the top few.

Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 12:03

Has the flu

Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 12:09
Buckley didnt put his hands on Chaplins shoulders. A lot of players do that action when going for a speccy, Robertson in particular, but if you watch the slow mo, his hands dont touch Chaplin.

Kingsley was good last night. Barely turned the ball over at all and was a good player in the middle quarters.

And yes, Shaun would be either the best or second best player running around in this state at the moment. He is a joy to watch. I never saw Russell Ebert, but I cant imagine Russell being a lot better than how Shaun is currently playing. His ability to win the ball at a stoppage and storm away from everyone else and deliver the ball is close to the best ive seen.

Frank Spencer Clone
19 Aug 2006, 12:15
Does anyone know the reason behind White not playing??
Maybe the " he's been playing too well lately as a stay at home full forward and making me look like an idiot, so I'll have to teach him a lesson as to who's running the show " rule???

Natman
19 Aug 2006, 12:26
Overall mostly good positive summaries of the game.

Even though we lost I think the benefit will be seen next season - a good learning game for the young team and overall reflects the club is on the right track in player and team development - credit to the coaching panel and player development staff.

My obs:

1. More development from the kids especially Bentley and Logan and encouraging again from Thomas and Chaplin.
2. Brett realising his potential, but still needs to be more polished on his finishing - he strikes me as being mental immature but is improving rapidly.
3. The team is become more complete and able to adapt to and play different styles or game plans if you like. Our flooding forced the McGuires to kick backwards more than we have done in the past.
4. We got burnt on 2 poor decisions: Mahoney's mark or free in the goal square at the southern end and the 50 metre penalty against Brett.
5. Pearce was down early, but when he gets clear he ignites us. He must improve his kicking over the pre-season.
6. JB - what else can you say.
7. Kingo - a reasonable performance - has he saved his career for one more season? Maybe its between him, Walsh or Ware.
8. The forwards let the McGuire backline to many easy runs out of defence in the first half but closed them down well in the second half.
9. The Darwin game cost us in the last quarter - the forwards and mids were unable to raise enough energy to find space - not enough return from the possessions we got.
10. Willits - very nervous and stilted movement but some good small signs, clearly not ready yet but was worth giving an opportunity.

Russian
19 Aug 2006, 12:32
Umpiring from James was ****, the others were ok. The two close calls Leo made, from the replay at the ground looked like he got the first one right and the second one wrong - but I don't know how a goal umpire could call a poster if it didn't hit the stick. We also got I think the 2nd goal in that 2nd quarter run from a missed throw to/from Burgoyne by Schmitt. Buckley's mark wasn't that good - but he took it before he hit the ground so you get away with that, and rightly so.

We did lots of things wrong - kicking was pretty ordinary by all 44 players (maybe not Buckley) - think Mick said it was 42-40 for ineffective kicks. Lade had Dew in 25 metres of space after the trainer shepherded him along the boundary from the bench to the pocket, kicked it to someone else and I think they rebounded for a goal, took the wrong option at the end too - he's a good kick but not that good and there were players in reasonable positions to mark and goal after the siren.

Kingsley - don't know when he got those 16 touches, saw him get 3 in a minute in the third but that was the first and last time I saw him all night.

I'd been considering keeping him as depth, but Bish has to go - Symes and Chappy have taken over that rebounding role, and they at least get somewhere near their opponents occasionally.

Bentley didn't impress me too much last week, but he'll be getting the 3 rookie votes this week. Didn't notice Lower too much

Willits - not great, shouldn't have spilt that mark but was ok for his first game

Apart from the kicking we played pretty well, losing doesn't really worry me, it's not that important for the last few weeks of the year, it's Collingwood winning that hurts more :D

Pred
19 Aug 2006, 13:14
Endeavour comes naturally to young kids. They just want to get out there and have a go, throw themselves in and have fun.
Skill is also a natural occurence. Either you have aptitude or you don't. You can't transplant it. You can hone it, but not transplant it.
Niether has got anything to do with Williams' influence. Besides as I heard it last night, there's only 24 fit players left on the list. He's got no choice but to play kids.Rubbish. We have a large number of young players who are all playing with confidence, guts, skill and even flair. If it were one or two, it may be a coincidence. If they played like that only every few weeks or so, maybe coincidence. But to have so many playing so well reasonably consistently says a lot for the coaching.

To have Pearce come on so quickly, to have Shaun Burgoyne develop the way he is, to have Chaplin develop into a rock in the backlines, you must attribute some of this development to good coaching. FFS, the players themselves have been saying as much in interviews.

If young players became great automatically, there wouldn't be much need to coach them, would there.

Skill is also a natural occurence. Either you have aptitude or you don't. You can't transplant it. You can hone it, but not transplant it.Exactly. Noone has said skill has been 'transplanted'. But by crikey it's being well honed down at Alberton at the moment.

Powerstufff
19 Aug 2006, 13:22
I thought Shaw was terrific tonight. His work in the centre square in the early stages of the second quarter was excellent. He is a much better player than I realised......I'd have to say that if that game was to decide the Rising Star between Pearce and Shaw then Shaw has it.

deeps
19 Aug 2006, 13:25
AFL players have natural ability, honed by games in youth where they play footy the way it is meant to be played. All of a sudden, it gets complicated by AFL coaches who stifle that. Choco is not the only one. Malthouse, Sheedy, etc do the same thing.

Malthouse
Sheedy
Williams

Two of the greatest coaches of the last 20 years, and one that is well on his way to join that list. Are you trying to say that your method is right and they're all wrong?

Power21
19 Aug 2006, 13:26
I'd have to say that if that game was to decide the Rising Star between Pearce and Shaw then Shaw has it.

Good thing it doesn't decide the rising star, Pearce had a quiet night but Shaw plays unnacountable football.

deeps
19 Aug 2006, 13:33
How many times did we come down the middle with a break, only to see Ebert one out against 3 or 4 Collingwood defenders?
Where was the tall, leading forward?
Poor coaching again which cost us 4 points when we had an opponent on the ropes and down for the count.

agreed, forward line coach needs to go.

deeps
19 Aug 2006, 13:38
But umpiring didnt cost us the game last night - 7 behinds in the last quarter cost us the game

I'm really really concerned about our converting. I can think of at least 3 games this season where if we'd kicked straighter (i'm not asking for 100%), we would have won.

This week is one, Motlop's kick in tassie is obviously another , and there's been a coupole more.

Last week against the dogs, when the game was there for the taking, we continually missed, but luckily won.

This week, again we continually missed, and this time we weren't so lucky.

PLEASE sack our forward coach.

Natman
19 Aug 2006, 14:38
Rubbish. We have a large number of young players who are all playing with confidence, guts, skill and even flair. If it were one or two, it may be a coincidence. If they played like that only every few weeks or so, maybe coincidence. But to have so many playing so well reasonably consistently says a lot for the coaching.

To have Pearce come on so quickly, to have Shaun Burgoyne develop the way he is, to have Chaplin develop into a rock in the backlines, you must attribute some of this development to good coaching. FFS, the players themselves have been saying as much in interviews.

If young players became great automatically, there wouldn't be much need to coach them, would there.

Exactly. Noone has said skill has been 'transplanted'. But by crikey it's being well honed down at Alberton at the moment.

Agree Pred - the creed of the PAFC talks about creating an environment where champions will flourish and develop (not exact - but it is the gist of it).

Toots Hibbert
19 Aug 2006, 15:02
Something that I don't think anyone has mentioned is that there were a fair number of players last night who haven't played too many competitive matches together. On almost every line we had real newbies on the park. I think they took a while to settle and credit must go to Collingwood for playing with skill, heart and method.

I thought the side clicked into gear with the genius of Shaun Burgoyne and Choco's move to a smaller forward line halfway through the second quarter. From that point on we were the superior side. I think the defensive side of our game plan was terrific and forced Collingwood into turnovers. Unfortunately we failed to hammer home our advantage early in the last quarter with poor shots from Dew and Ebert, a hesitation from Salopek, and Mahoney's inexplicable failure to find Junior 35 out from goal when he was well in the clear for ages. Plus the little issue of a coat of paint depriving Pearcey of a goal.

It came back to hurt us at the death. If we were to lose such a game this time next year I'd be really ticked off. Last night I can forgive a side including a large number of youngsters with only a handful of games under their belts.

Power21
19 Aug 2006, 15:23
I'm really really concerned about our converting. I can think of at least 3 games this season where if we'd kicked straighter (i'm not asking for 100%), we would have won.

This week is one, Motlop's kick in tassie is obviously another , and there's been a coupole more.

Last week against the dogs, when the game was there for the taking, we continually missed, but luckily won.

This week, again we continually missed, and this time we weren't so lucky.

PLEASE sack our forward coach.

We didn't have the Ice man Pettigrew to slot a couple home did we.

Macca19
19 Aug 2006, 23:15
Kingsley - don't know when he got those 16 touches, saw him get 3 in a minute in the third but that was the first and last time I saw him all night.

Kinger, Lower and Cassisi all look exactly the same out there at a distance. Pretty hard to tell them apart.

shaz63
20 Aug 2006, 01:02
The team went there to play the game and to win for Gav. Unfortunately, we didnt come away with the four points but it was great to see the team put in the effort.

The only real damper of the evening, besides losing to the Eddie McGuire love child team, was putting up with their feral supporters. Never have I come across such a bunch of pathetic individuals. They were all off their faces on something and were out to pick fights all night long. Even to the stage where they thought it funny to push elderly ladies in the back.

Are they all like that or did we just happen to have the worst of the bunch sitting up our end of the night.

Oh, and FSC stopped me from taking out some pathetic half witted b*tch who thought it funny to come up to our faces after the game and start ranting about how they own the black and white. So for all you FSC bashers, he isnt as bad as what you all make him out to be.

Mr Magoo
20 Aug 2006, 08:12
Overall mostly good positive summaries of the game.

Even though we lost I think the benefit will be seen next season - a good learning game for the young team and overall reflects the club is on the right track in player and team development - credit to the coaching panel and player development staff.

My obs:

1. More development from the kids especially Bentley and Logan and encouraging again from Thomas and Chaplin.
2. Brett realising his potential, but still needs to be more polished on his finishing - he strikes me as being mental immature but is improving rapidly.
3. The team is become more complete and able to adapt to and play different styles or game plans if you like. Our flooding forced the McGuires to kick backwards more than we have done in the past.
4. We got burnt on 2 poor decisions: Mahoney's mark or free in the goal square at the southern end and the 50 metre penalty against Brett.
5. Pearce was down early, but when he gets clear he ignites us. He must improve his kicking over the pre-season.
6. JB - what else can you say.
7. Kingo - a reasonable performance - has he saved his career for one more season? Maybe its between him, Walsh or Ware.
8. The forwards let the McGuire backline to many easy runs out of defence in the first half but closed them down well in the second half.
9. The Darwin game cost us in the last quarter - the forwards and mids were unable to raise enough energy to find space - not enough return from the possessions we got.
10. Willits - very nervous and stilted movement but some good small signs, clearly not ready yet but was worth giving an opportunity.

I liked how Thomas wasn't in the slightest bit overawed when he played on Buckley for a brief period in the game.

Re Brett Ebert the lad gave pretty much all he had last night & that's all you can ask from him, sure he dropped a few marks & made a few mistakes but so did many other players. Not wanting to make excuses for the lad though.

Now just a few observations :

Not wanting to lay the blame on any player/players because their is a dozen or more incidents that you could say if only -
Such as if only Lade's long bomb had gone a few metres to the right we would've won or if only Lade would've instead of bombing it found a port player within range on the lead.
If only Cassisi would've stopped the ball that Didak got or if only Chaplin would've marked that ball instead of doing the discipline thing & punching it.
If only we would've kicked more accurate as a team when shooting at goal.
etc. etc.

Sure i was pretty gutted at losing but the thing that stuck out for me was when we played tempo ala defensive football for most of the last quarter that was just begging for Collin'wood to get back into the game. It's been proven time & time again that when you stop running as a team & play defensive football that the players mindset changes & all the opposition has to do is play on at all costs & they're more than likely to get a run of goals & then win the game. If this was chocco's decision or the actual players on the field i don't know but we looked so much better as a team when we played on & went into our forward line with purpose.

Mr Magoo
20 Aug 2006, 08:27
The only real damper of the evening, besides losing to the Eddie McGuire love child team, was putting up with their feral supporters. Never have I come across such a bunch of pathetic individuals. They were all off their faces on something and were out to pick fights all night long.Even to the stage where they thought it funny to push elderly ladies in the back.

Are they all like that or did we just happen to have the worst of the bunch sitting up our end of the night.

Oh, and FSC stopped me from taking out some pathetic half witted b*tch who thought it funny to come up to our faces after the game and start ranting about how they own the black and white. So for all you FSC bashers, he isnt as bad as what you all make him out to be.

Where was the red coats while this was happening?
You should've got a red coat & they would've got the cops to eject them as their is no need for any drunken imbecilles to start pushing elderly ladies around.:mad:

We had no dramas with the 4-5 Collin'wood fans that were near us in fact we even shared a beer or two with them outside the ground after the game. :thumbsu:

Andre
20 Aug 2006, 10:31
Another game with a lot of positives. However three negatives really stand out - two that are recurring.
1. Our forward structure minus Tredrea and White was ineffective - this one is somewhat understandable given injuries.
2. Our goal conversion is woeful and as noted by others has been for most of the last two seasons. Tony McG is paid to have forwards kicking GOALS and they are worse then ever at it. He MUST go.
3. We are still the reigning kings of 'how to milk the clock in the last 2 or 3 minutes and stuff it up'. This one can't be blamed on any new coaches as we've always been amongst the worst at it. 9 points up with 2 or 3 on the clock, we should have coasted it in easily.

That said, each week I'm increasingly looking forward to next season. I don't expect us to be a premiership threat, but I'll be surprised if we miss the eight next year.

shaz63
20 Aug 2006, 11:21
You should've got a red coat & they would've got the cops to eject them as their is no need for any drunken imbecilles to start pushing elderly ladies around.:mad:

We had no dramas with the 4-5 Collin'wood fans that were near us in fact we even shared a beer or two with them outside the ground after the game. :thumbsu:

A couple were thrown out during the 3/4 time break for the continual carry on. They were all young ones that were carrying on. Must be a complete disgrace to their parents.

The lady was pushed on her way out of the ground. Not sure what would of happened to them being that the game was over. The redcoats only seem to worry about things during the game.

They at least confiscated alcohol and an air horn from them as well.

Like I said, FSC did his best to help calm me down to prevent me from taking a swipe at the one that thought it funny coming up to our faces and declaring that they are the real black and white. Seems that Troys banner made a real impact on the night. Would be nice to know what Eddie thought of it too.

Oh, they werent drunk either. On something other than just alcohol.

Paralowiepower
20 Aug 2006, 13:15

I'm not one for having a go on here about oposition supporters, but I can confirm that did happen, and a couple did get kicked out.
We had plenty of police around behind the goals down the Southern End because some of the Collingwood fans were carrying on like clowns.

Cyclops
21 Aug 2006, 09:53
Back to the game, I was deeply angry watching the match. We managed to get our machine working at the end of the first quarter and slammed through enough goals to win. The rest of the time your young blokes were too good and I felt only their inexperience (eg missed shots) cost you the win. We weren't very imaginative, I reckon if you come up againts a side as injured as Port you ahve to take advantage and win big. Instead we were almost toppled by your kids.

I guess its because Port are my second side but I was able to be a bit more even handed in my view about the umps and I felt they favoured us. They seem to go into games thinking "right this side are going to win, it won't matter if we miss a few for the losers". Mostly it wasn't too obvious (although Bucks mark at the end could easily have been paid in the back) but more than once I was shaking my head thinking "we got away with that one". This time we benefited but there have been games where its gione against us too and I hate it both ways.

I felt we were very lucky to win, but we take the four points (of course) because next week you might get robbed.

ExpectToWin
21 Aug 2006, 17:29
Buckley didnt put his hands on Chaplins shoulders. A lot of players do that action when going for a speccy, Robertson in particular, but if you watch the slow mo, his hands dont touch Chaplin.

Kingsley was good last night. Barely turned the ball over at all and was a good player in the middle quarters.

And yes, Shaun would be either the best or second best player running around in this state at the moment. He is a joy to watch. I never saw Russell Ebert, but I cant imagine Russell being a lot better than how Shaun is currently playing. His ability to win the ball at a stoppage and storm away from everyone else and deliver the ball is close to the best ive seen.

Then Chaplin must have eyes in the back of his head because he immediately motioned to the umpire that he was taken high. What you are saying is against the laws of physics. You cant push off of pure oxygen.

Besides the 7 points we kicked in the last quarter this non decision cost us the game.

Powerstufff
21 Aug 2006, 17:35
... I was able to be a bit more even handed in my view about the umps and I felt they favoured us......The only glaring error* I saw was Josh Mahoney's mark in front of goal in the first quarter being disallowed while he was hammered to the ground by a player not in the marking contest. I thought they were pretty consistent after that.
* barring Pearce's disallowed goal

Macca19
21 Aug 2006, 19:39
Then Chaplin must have eyes in the back of his head because he immediately motioned to the umpire that he was taken high. What you are saying is against the laws of physics. You cant push off of pure oxygen.

Besides the 7 points we kicked in the last quarter this non decision cost us the game.

He clearly didnt put his hands on his shoulders on the video. He pushed off using his legs, as every football does.

Cyclops
23 Aug 2006, 14:56
The only glaring error* I saw was Josh Mahoney's mark in front of goal in the first quarter being disallowed while he was hammered to the ground by a player not in the marking contest. I thought they were pretty consistent after that.
* barring Pearce's disallowed goal

I actually felt Pearce did hit the post.

It wasn't so much the glaring errors as the run of play. One side will get a run on and the umps seem to feed it, letting little things go or paying amazingly helpful play-ons when the opposition all stops. The non favoured side will get frees 20 meteres back or the umps get all finickity over the mark etc.

We've been on the sharp end at times, but I felt we benefited this time. I suppose the umps felt "the Pies are the side meant to win" and its easier to go with that flow. It happened vs Geelong too, they were fair dinkum crucified.

eddiesmith
24 Aug 2006, 03:17
A couple were thrown out during the 3/4 time break for the continual carry on. They were all young ones that were carrying on. Must be a complete disgrace to their parents.

The lady was pushed on her way out of the ground. Not sure what would of happened to them being that the game was over. The redcoats only seem to worry about things during the game.

They at least confiscated alcohol and an air horn from them as well.

Like I said, FSC did his best to help calm me down to prevent me from taking a swipe at the one that thought it funny coming up to our faces and declaring that they are the real black and white. Seems that Troys banner made a real impact on the night. Would be nice to know what Eddie thought of it too.

Oh, they werent drunk either. On something other than just alcohol.
Hey, a couple of our fans may have been getting a bit loud mouthed and were rightly kicked out (Absolute ****er one of the people sitting over there and its his brother that was kicked out, hilarious :D) but the Port supporters gave as good as they got and more

I aint going to complain about the crowd, its what I expected :p but dont go acting like some Pies fans were a disgrace and the Port fans were little angels :rolleyes:

Although we were very disappointed that the loud mouth Port supporter beside us left right on the siren, oh well guess she knew what was coming if she didnt :D

Total Power
24 Aug 2006, 05:49
Eddie, whats your opinion on some of the Port youngins? it would be nice to get a non port supporters point of view :thumbsu:

shaz63
24 Aug 2006, 09:03
Hey, a couple of our fans may have been getting a bit loud mouthed and were rightly kicked out (Absolute ****er one of the people sitting over there and its his brother that was kicked out, hilarious :D) but the Port supporters gave as good as they got and more

I aint going to complain about the crowd, its what I expected :p but dont go acting like some Pies fans were a disgrace and the Port fans were little angels :rolleyes:

Although we were very disappointed that the loud mouth Port supporter beside us left right on the siren, oh well guess she knew what was coming if she didnt :D

Where were you sitting?? Not down the southern end in bay 143 by any chance??

That is the first game this season that I have seen anyone get kicked out from either team and well, it just happened to be a Collingwood supporter. No surprise really. :rolleyes:

deeps
24 Aug 2006, 11:06
Watching the game now, coming up to half time and a few comments.

We had no 'go to forward', too often we were bombing it long in hope more than anything. Toby doesn't provide the physical presence we require for a first forward. He can be a useful 2nd or 3rd tall at best.

Bishop had no chance, but i don't think many defenders in the afl had a chance with the delivery rusling was getting and the pace that he has. He has a 10.38 second 100m apparently, so this guy is SERIOUSLY quick. The only Bish could have done is played infront by 5m but that's a risk as well.

Wakelin was taken off him immediately when we realised how quick he was, so critisicm of Bish isn't really fair.

deeps
24 Aug 2006, 12:34
Ok finished.

Buckley did NOT push off with his hands, they were on his shoulder, but it did not impede Chaplin's way to the ball. The legs in the back is what impeded him, adn that is allowed.

Pearce's kick was a goal imo.

Bentley definately looks a player, im' very impressed. Pearce was ok, his kicking is becoming worse unfortunately.

Dew, got alot of touches, but what happened to his golden boot? There was a time when you'd back him 9/10 times with a set shot, or any shot around 50. He missed a crucial set shot in the final term, and a few shots he would have buried earlier on in his career. Can't we throw him back in the forward line and get his kicking back to par?

We really are lacking a champion player to step up in times like this. Collingwood had buckley step up and kick that crucial goal at the end. We previously had wanganeen (remember that semi final where he kicked 3 goals or so to win us the game in the final quarter)

We are missing that super star at the moment to turn the game on it's head when we need.

Our forward line was woeful again, can't someone teach the boys how to kick straight?! So many shots missed that should have really went in.

Mahoney made a few crucial mistakes at the end, wasn't all that much chop during the games either, i'd throw him back into the SANFL for the rest of the season to get his mind right.

Thurstans was hot and cold as usual. Presented well, but the ask was too much to play him as a key forward. As i mentioned earlier, he's more suited to second or third tall.

Did i mention Bentley? amazing for a second gamer.

I'd like to see more of Thomas and even Lower. I have heard great things about these two, particularly Thomas, but he hasn't done much, but has been ok.

Kingsley was good, Lade and Broges great as per usual. Cassisi was ok, didnt see much of Kane Cornes doing anything useful again.

Chad was decent, seems a little out of form, but still quite decent.

Ebert caused all sorts of problems, but couldn't really finish off. He's a bit like Medhurst is Brett Ebert.

Willits i've already talked about in another thread, i'm not overly impressed by him.

Shaun Burgoyne was great during our comeback, but went missing at the end.

I really think our forward coach needs to go

Porthos
24 Aug 2006, 12:36
Even Dew's field passing was terrible. He set up Scott Burns' point in the dying minutes, and put Thurstans under the pump with a forward entry which saw him give away a soft free to Cloke. Both kicks going over the player aimed at.

Pred
24 Aug 2006, 14:16
We really are lacking a champion player to step up in times like this. What's Shaun Burgoyne, chopped liver?

eddiesmith
24 Aug 2006, 14:23
Where were you sitting?? Not down the southern end in bay 143 by any chance??

That is the first game this season that I have seen anyone get kicked out from either team and well, it just happened to be a Collingwood supporter. No surprise really. :rolleyes:
Bay 140 actually

Total Power to be honest with you I was paying no attention to the Power young players, only one I noticed waas Ebert who looks good when the ball is on the ground 15m out but is one of the worst marks I have ever seen, did he take 1 all night? :p

But I was only really watching Lade and Mahoney who were in my Dream team and whoever Clokey and Hackwell were on

Toots Hibbert
24 Aug 2006, 14:55
What's Shaun Burgoyne, chopped liver?
Ditto.

Sandola
24 Aug 2006, 16:20
Ditto.
Sure, but deeps said "to step up", and actually win us the game, which unfortunately didn't happen this time.

Toots Hibbert
24 Aug 2006, 17:17
Sure, but deeps said "to step up", and actually win us the game, which unfortunately didn't happen this time.
Because we didn't win this time doesn't take away from Juniors performance IMO. He was definitely the spark that turned the tide our way. The fact we didn't nail the game in the last quarter doesn't take away from that. He was more damaging than Buckley IMO.

And plus don't forget he was unstoppable against the Dogs.

The case for the affirmative rests your Sandyship.. :)

Sandola
24 Aug 2006, 17:25
Because we didn't win this time doesn't take away from Juniors performance IMO. He was definitely the spark that turned the tide our way. The fact we didn't nail the game in the last quarter doesn't take away from that. He was more damaging than Buckley IMO.

And plus don't forget he was unstoppable against the Dogs.

The case for the affirmative rests your Sandyship.. :)
Shaun will be better than Judd. He's already great. No argument. He was terrific for us Friday night. He did not step up and win the game for us. deeps wrote that we did not have a champion to step up and win the game for us on Friday... no, wait, he said we don't have a champion to step up and win a game for us, or something like that. He's wrong! I was wrong! We have Shaun! Pred and Toots are right! Shaun is Great! Really!

blackdiamond
24 Aug 2006, 18:58
I would just like Shaun to finish a little better, when he gets those centre breaks and runs to the fifty metre mark I want to see him kick those goals.

*PAFC*13
24 Aug 2006, 20:37
Pearce was ok, his kicking is becoming worse unfortunately.

BRING BACK THE WHITE BOOTS PEARCY!! :D

He wore them in round 1 and 2 and He looked faster :confused: (Don't know if thats possible). His kicking was great with his white boots on IMO...

deeps
24 Aug 2006, 23:41
Even Dew's field passing was terrible. He set up Scott Burns' point in the dying minutes, and put Thurstans under the pump with a forward entry which saw him give away a soft free to Cloke. Both kicks going over the player aimed at.

yup i noticed that as well, but this is the first week i've noticed his field passing not up to scratch, which is why i didn't say anything. His shooting on goal has been off for a while now.

deeps
24 Aug 2006, 23:44
What's Shaun Burgoyne, chopped liver?

Shaun Burgoyne is great, no doubt about it, and yes, he probably could step up at times, but he went missing this time. He was great in the 2nd and 3rd quarters, but the 4th quarter, when the game was there for the winning, he went missing. This is when a true champion will step up. No doubt Shaun will step up to the plate, but he's not quite there yet.

But like i said, a true champion steps up when needed. Wangas barely touched the ball in that semi, then ended up with 3 goals and won us the game.

Buckley was solid on friday night, but not spectacular, but when his team needed him, he stepped up.

We've lost a few games this season in the last 5 minutes, because nobody has stepped up. Motlop almost stepped up, but his kick let him down.