View Full Version : Showdown time

Pages : [1] 2

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 23:41
Stop their rebound and we will flog them.
Put someone fast on Johncock to make him accountable plus do something similar on Mcleod and we will fizz it in.
Stop their rebound and they are no good things.

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 23:45
Well I completely disagree. I think we should let them rebound all they like, and instead stop them scoring by forming a human pyramid blocking out the entire goalline they're aiming at.

Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 23:46
Choco should have worked out how to beat them by now. After all, they basically use our game plan circa 2002-03.

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 23:48
I'm not sure how we can go about making them play Stuart Cochrane though.

*PAF
19 Aug 2006, 23:48
Well I completely disagree. I think we should let them rebound all they like, and instead stop them scoring by forming a human pyramid blocking out the entire goalline they're aiming at.
In that case yeah, we are miles apart.
"Catenaccio" relies on a couple of things and a big key is fast and accurate rebound. They have had problems of late in that department and that is why they have lost a few games.

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 23:50
I would argue that if you reduce the amount of rebound out of any defence, without reducing the number of forward entries, you will increase your own scoring. If its not being rebounded, there's only one thing that can be happening.

Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 23:52
I'm not sure how we can go about making them play Stuart Cochrane though.

They've got Robert Shirley. And didn't Clarke take 6 marks today? That's about 9 games worth on average. ;)

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 23:53
Yeah, but they might cheat and play Maric instead.

shaz63
19 Aug 2006, 23:54
Even the Crow supporters are getting really worried about the showdown.

Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 23:54
Nah they've got a big boner on about playing Hudson again.

Porthos
19 Aug 2006, 23:55
Even the Crow supporters are getting really worried about the showdown.Dunno why, they should **** it in.

shaz63
19 Aug 2006, 23:55
Guarantee that they bring back Perrie next week. He booted 6 goals for North today.

Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2006, 23:58
Perrie, Hudson ... they're really addressing that pace issue aren't they? ;)

Ford Fairlane
20 Aug 2006, 00:00
Dunno why, they should **** it in.

I'm sure Choco will be telling anyone who cares to listen all week the crows are favourites. And after all he still has an eye on pick 5 if Hawthorn slip up just once in the next 2 weeks (Carlton are in their draw somewhere aren't they?)

Porthos
20 Aug 2006, 00:00
Hawks and Kangas play next week. If we lose then one of them will go ahead of us. If they draw, both of them will!

Ford Fairlane
20 Aug 2006, 00:04
I've always said other teams can never have enough draws ... where it suits us of course.

Macca19
20 Aug 2006, 00:06
We are in with a fair chance. Crows have quite a bit to play for if you ask me. Would be great to beat them.

Ford Fairlane
20 Aug 2006, 00:08
I've heard they're cycling home as we speak as part of their Special High Intensity Training program. :thumbsu:

Natman
20 Aug 2006, 01:18
I hate saying this - but with the super draft would a plucky loss to the canaries be acceptable with the possibility of pick 3,4 or 5?

Toots Hibbert
20 Aug 2006, 02:33
I hate saying this - but with the super draft would a plucky loss to the canaries be acceptable with the possibility of pick 3,4 or 5?
No it would not.

Gets!
20 Aug 2006, 03:02
crows are cool

Andre
20 Aug 2006, 10:26
With the sides that will be put out on the park the Crows should romp it in. If they can't beat a Port side missing at least 7 players from our ideal starting 22 then they are going to be making up the numbers next month.

As long as we play with the spirit of the last couple of weeks I'll be happy - and looking forward very much to the first showdown of next year where (assuming our players are on the park) I think we'll return things to the norm and beat them.

almqvist
20 Aug 2006, 11:22
we have a real chance here.
its probably been said before, but they struggle against teams who handball constantly, finding gaps to play onto...

another thing ive noticed, against the bulldogs, when they are running it out of defence.especially johncock, he looked like he knew what he was doing, confident, and then the bulldogs put up a wall right in front of him, causing him to handball it, pretty much everytime he did this, they went back inside 50 and scored a goal.

give them a little bit of confidence, and then jump them as they are just exiting the defensive 50.

Count Zero
20 Aug 2006, 11:53
Even the Crow supporters are getting really worried about the showdown.
http://tesla.liketelevision.com/liketelevision/images/toonfest/lowrez/bboop19211.jpg

Toots Hibbert
20 Aug 2006, 12:21
Dunno why, they should **** it in.
We'll win. Here's how:-

Choco is going to develop an extra two game plans to go with the two he's currently got. He'll whip out the next plan at the start of each quarter leaving Craig baffled. There are mutterings on the Crows board that young Neil is not a good match day coach. Too rigid. Our man twinkletoes in the coaches box can exploit this to our advantage.

Toots Hibbert
20 Aug 2006, 12:50
crows are cool
BTW Gets we're immune to your subliminal messages. :p The Power is with us. :thumbsu:

Ford Fairlane
20 Aug 2006, 13:06
BTW Gets we're immune to your subliminal messages. :p The Power is with us. :thumbsu:

Like the crows form, the message is invisible! :p

Paralowiepower
20 Aug 2006, 13:08
Do we have enough fit players to put in a side?

Tredders66
20 Aug 2006, 13:41
I couldn't really care less about this game. Obviously you want to win when the game begins but if we lose it's not to bad either. win/ win situation really.

noddy
20 Aug 2006, 14:58
Your bunch of misfits are going to play us back into form.

I thank yuse all very kindly in advance.

kimirocks
20 Aug 2006, 15:11
I eh think this eh will be ehhhhhhh an impotent game for this eh football club. Eh we have the role of eh shaping the eight, and it's always great to beat our eh cross town rivals in the eh Crows.

I kind of agree with choco there, but given that we cant be dislodged from the top 2, is kind of pointless. Only a pity is the whole country is going to have to watch this. Port by 87 points.

Eago77
20 Aug 2006, 17:20
Where can i order one of those vests that Nerdy Neil keeps on trotting out to his press conferences in??

Count Zero
20 Aug 2006, 17:32

You might be lulled into a false sense of security like last year noddy.:)

PowerKat
21 Aug 2006, 16:41
[.COLOR="White"]crows are cool[/COLOR]

Strongly disagree ;)

Santos L Helper
21 Aug 2006, 20:03
I'd love to think that our young bunch of goers will scare the living **** out of the crows and send them into finals with even more doubts, but I'm a little worried that Noddy may be right, and we'll set them up for the finals.

Bresh
21 Aug 2006, 20:10
We've got Shaun.

Eddie Woloschek
21 Aug 2006, 20:55

The bolded word above is youse, you bird-loving illiterate.

Porthos
21 Aug 2006, 20:56
I always thought it was ewes. So its not a New Zealander term then?

Eago77
22 Aug 2006, 00:37
Is there anyway we could draft Pooley or Dave Granger into the squad, it'll be nice to get a square up for Bickley's cheap shot on Wakes a few years back. Be a shame if something happened to little Tyson or Andrew.

Pinepower
22 Aug 2006, 01:09
Is there anyway we could draft Pooley or Dave Granger into the squad, it'll be nice to get a square up for Bickley's cheap shot on Wakes a few years back. Be a shame if something happened to little Tyson or Andrew.

I still think about what might have been if our backline was settled that year.

Svenny
22 Aug 2006, 01:10
I think the crows are ripe for the picking and are very beatable in this game...I watched the bullies on the weekend rattle off 7 goals in a row...you dont get 7 gaols in a row scored on you when youre in good form......the crows are not in any form

Eago77
22 Aug 2006, 01:44
I still think about what might have been if our backline was settled that year.

I think our team of 2002 & 2003 was actually better than 2004.

noddy
22 Aug 2006, 11:17
The bolded word above is youse, you bird-loving illiterate.

I was born in Manchester where we were taught to speak the Queens English most properly. :)

Rory
22 Aug 2006, 11:24
We should just send out our players starting fights and laying hard hits ;)

noddy
22 Aug 2006, 11:35
We should just send out our players starting fights and laying hard hits ;)

The way your players have been going the last couple of years it would only mean an all-in-brawl among themselves. ;)

Crows by 51 points. :)

Rory
22 Aug 2006, 11:56
Tyson Edwards and Andrew McLeod board :)

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 14:31
Nah they've got a big boner on about playing Hudson again.

Hah

My boner is coming from the fact that Port are the perfect team to play us back into some form.

If we lose this game we should give it away. Can't wait for Sunday.

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 14:33
We've got Shaun.

Fair play to him. What a great season he and Ladey have had.

Luckily for us you will need more than those two and the Cornes boys to beat us.

Paralowiepower
22 Aug 2006, 14:55

Luckily for us you will need more than those two and the Cornes boys to beat us.
Lucky for us we have Pearce and Ebert then, um... they are not on the injured list are they?

Toots Hibbert
22 Aug 2006, 14:56

Luckily for us we've got another 18 players. Port by three goals. :thumbsu:

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 15:14
Lucky for us we have Pearce and Ebert then, um... they are not on the injured list are they?

Pearce has been a great pick up no doubt and will cause us trouble also

Ebert I think is overrated and probably played his best game on Friday night.

Paralowiepower
22 Aug 2006, 15:18
Probably did play his best game, more to look forward too I would suggest.

Bresh
22 Aug 2006, 15:19

Mmm, nah. I'll back Shaun in, thanks.

Ford Fairlane
22 Aug 2006, 15:29
Hah

My boner is coming from the fact that Port are the perfect team to play us back into some form.

If we lose this game we should give it away. Can't wait for Sunday.

I believe they call that priapism. I guess one way or the other you'll be able to relieve it by Sunday afternoon. ;)

Paralowiepower
22 Aug 2006, 15:29
Just on that, how can you be overated if in your own words his last game was his best game?

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 16:08
Just on that, how can you be overated if in your own words his last game was his best game?

If you think he can do it again;)

Troy Wingate
22 Aug 2006, 16:57
If you think he can do it again;)

Just admit it, you've seen us play over the past few weeks, and with the Crows stuck on automatic choke at the moment, you guys are scared. Your scared that you'll lose to us.

Come on, admit it, you know you want to.

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 17:51
Just admit it, you've seen us play over the past few weeks, and with the Crows stuck on automatic choke at the moment, you guys are scared. Your scared that you'll lose to us.

Come on, admit it, you know you want to.

Scared? No. Whilst I dislike losing to port intensley I am not scared. Its all part and parcel of caring about the result passionatley one way or the other.

Unlike that idiot KG who reckons Port are favourites for this game I think our side should smash Port given their form and injury concerns. We hav no excuses. Will be one of the worst loses in club history if we go down.

But we will win easily.

Troy Wingate
22 Aug 2006, 18:20
Scared? No. Whilst I dislike losing to port intensley I am not scared. Its all part and parcel of caring about the result passionatley one way or the other.

Unlike that idiot KG who reckons Port are favourites for this game I think our side should smash Port given their form and injury concerns. We hav no excuses. Will be one of the worst loses in club history if we go down.

But we will win easily.

Our form? Our form has been pretty good of late. Especially when we stay away from Mark Williams' style of gameplay, which we reverted back to in the 4 quarter against the Colliwobbles. If we play the we did against the Dogs, we will smash the Crows.

Jars458
22 Aug 2006, 18:47
Our form? Our form has been pretty good of late. Especially when we stay away from Mark Williams' style of gameplay, which we reverted back to in the 4 quarter against the Colliwobbles. If we play the we did against the Dogs, we will smash the Crows.

Havn't you lost 7 out of the last 8?:confused:

ExpectToWin
22 Aug 2006, 18:53
Havn't you lost 7 out of the last 8?:confused:

Havn't both sides won 1 from their last 4?

Mr Magoo
22 Aug 2006, 19:42
Any thoughts on the team i came up with in about 5 minutes?
This is to match the team that's on the afc board.

F: Ricciuto, Hentschel, Welsh
B: Lower or Thomas, Wakelin, Carlile*

HF: Thompson, McGregor, Bode
HB: C.Cornes, Chaplin, Cassisi

C: Massie, Goodwin, Doughty
C: Salopek, Burgoyne, Bentley

HB: McLeod, Bock, Mattner
HF: Pearce, White, Mahoney

B: Bassett, Rutten, Johncock
F: Willits, Thurstans, Ebert

R: Clarke, Edwards, Shirley
R: Lade, K. Cornes, Logan
I: Biglands, Reilly, Van Berlo, Knights
I: Brogan, Kingsley, Dew, whoever we have on our list left that's fit????

* = who i would like but more than likely that Bishop will get the gig.

If all goes to plan Burgoyne would play on Goodwin & more than likely Shirly will tag Burgoyne which frees up a port player in the guts. Cornes to tag Edwards. Chad back in defence to provide some strong rebound & if needed then play him in bursts in the midfield.

Santos L Helper
22 Aug 2006, 21:39

But we will win easily.

I should re-read that text you sent me, where you claim we are definite favourites. ;)

*PAF
22 Aug 2006, 21:53
I believe they call that priapism. I guess one way or the other you'll be able to relieve it by Sunday afternoon. ;)
Hehe. :D :D

Paralowiepower
22 Aug 2006, 21:53

But we will win easily.
I agree, you should be favourites and you should win easily with our injuries at the moment. If you don't it will be the biggest upset showdown win since showdown one.

morell
22 Aug 2006, 22:00
I second that motion.

I dont think we are an icebergs chance in hell.

Its just about the worst forward line against the best defence (yes they have been down but they are still all class)

add to that our inexperienced defence and the crows strength in the midfield, im predicting a rather heavy loss.

but i have been wrong many many many times before...

Troy Wingate
22 Aug 2006, 22:19
I second that motion.

I dont think we are an icebergs chance in hell.

Its just about the worst forward line against the best defence (yes they have been down but they are still all class)

add to that our inexperienced defence and the crows strength in the midfield, im predicting a rather heavy loss.

but i have been wrong many many many times before...

Well I hope your wrong again.

Toots Hibbert
22 Aug 2006, 22:33
Port by three goals. :cool:

shaz63
23 Aug 2006, 00:16
Damon should be back this week. Will kick a bag of goals and leave them all wondering. Ebo will boot a few as well.

Mr Magoo
23 Aug 2006, 04:06
From the portadelaide website.

A message from John James
3:55:15 PM Tue 22 August, 2006
Port Adelaide Football Club

The Port Adelaide Football Club appreciates the fantastic support it receives from its passionate and loyal supporters. Showdowns provide a wonderful opportunity for supporters across the state to show their passion and be part of the special rivalry that’s developed over the past 10 years.

The clubs, along with its supporters, enjoy the on-field and off-field rivalry that has made these games such special occasions, regardless of ladder positions.

Loud passionate supporting and healthy banter between fans is fantastic. Fans are however reminded that bad language, taunting and offensive behaviour are not acceptable and that fellow and opposition supporters should always be treated with respect.

Enjoy the game and enjoy the rivalry, and please ensure our games continue to be great family-friendly games for all supporters.

Regards,

John James
Chief Executive

noddy
23 Aug 2006, 10:17
From the portadelaide website.

A message from John James
3:55:15 PM Tue 22 August, 2006
Port Adelaide Football Club

The Port Adelaide Football Club appreciates the fantastic support it receives from its passionate and loyal supporters. Showdowns provide a wonderful opportunity for supporters across the state to show their passion and be part of the special rivalry that’s developed over the past 10 years.

The clubs, along with its supporters, enjoy the on-field and off-field rivalry that has made these games such special occasions, regardless of ladder positions.

Loud passionate supporting and healthy banter between fans is fantastic. Fans are however reminded that bad language, taunting and offensive behaviour are not acceptable and that fellow and opposition supporters should always be treated with respect.

Enjoy the game and enjoy the rivalry, and please ensure our games continue to be great family-friendly games for all supporters.

Regards,

John James
Chief Executive

Well i guess that means only Crow supporters will turn up on sunday. :)

wharfie_1870
23 Aug 2006, 10:39
Well i guess that means only Crow supporters will turn up on sunday. :)I'm sure Dale will be there Nodster ;)

relapse
23 Aug 2006, 12:27

Smash hahaha

As if that would happen, if you mean smash to mean winning by less than a goal, because it could happen that Port may win, but to even suggest that they would win by anything more than a slender margin is rediculous :D

Malibu#27
23 Aug 2006, 13:00
I think we will probably get done - but like in previous weeks make a hell of a fight of it.

Its not to worry though - just lookiong at Adelaides list I'd say this match will be where their recent dominance will end.

Looking at the following list shows many of their prime movers are about to hit the twilight of their careers ..... they sneak up quicker than many think. Id suggest 2006 may be close to last chance for the top half of these guys so I'd expect they will we hard to beat.

Clarke - 33 by season end
Hart - 32
Ricciutto - 31
Bassett 30 at years end
Edwards 30
Goodwin - 30 at the end of the year
McLeod - 30
====================================
Biglands - 29 (or a couple days off)
Torney - 29
Welsh - 28 in a few months and injury prone
Bode - 27 and only 100 games
Burton 28
Hudson - 27
Perrie - 27

Toots Hibbert
23 Aug 2006, 13:15
I posted this on the Crows board yesterday. I don't suppose there's anything wrong with plagiarising yourself. Thanks to Stiffy_18 for providing the pic. :thumbsu:

We've only got two flags, I mean flukes, I mean fags and...

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/3073/davatarku0.jpg

:D

noddy
23 Aug 2006, 13:37
I posted this on the Crows board yesterday. I don't suppose there's anything wrong with plagiarising yourself. Thanks to Stiffy_18 for providing the pic. :thumbsu:

We've only got two flags, I mean flukes, I mean fags and...

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/3073/davatarku0.jpg

:D

Tut Tut Toot Toots such language. :eek:

Toots Hibbert
23 Aug 2006, 13:47
Excellent. Now it's at the top of the next page. I did hesitate about posting earlier. :thumbsu:

raikkonen
24 Aug 2006, 20:22
Well i guess that means only Crow supporters will turn up on sunday. :) We have to, because they dont.

Tredders66
24 Aug 2006, 20:33
We have to, because they dont.

I'm pretty sure your not because there are still 3,000 tickets left. You're the away team so i would have thought the Crows supporters would want em? Jumping off already?

Paralowiepower
24 Aug 2006, 22:17
We have to, because they dont.
That's funny, our season tickets get's us in, but there is still thousands of tickets left. You guy's are not worried are you?

raikkonen
24 Aug 2006, 22:52
That's funny, our season tickets get's us in, but there is still thousands of tickets left. You guy's are not worried are you?

Hah, I'm so confident that I bought one of your season tickets. 120 bucks for 11 games, and I would have paid that 3 times over. Why would we be worried about losing? 2 potential wins from the big one lads. We'll se ya in a couple o' weeks hey? :D

Everyone of our games get sold out, no reason why this one won't.

Paralowiepower
24 Aug 2006, 22:57
Hah, I'm so confident that I bought one of your season tickets. 120 bucks for 11 games, and I would have paid that 3 times over.

:p :p How stupid are you, you could of gone to bass and got a ticket for $30 :D

raikkonen
24 Aug 2006, 23:08
:p :p How stupid are you, you could of gone to bass and got a ticket for $30 :D But that means I get to miss every other good win, er loss, you have had this season!

I enjoy going to footy, no matter who is playing. Of course I prefer my team, but I love the Port games just for all the laughs me and my mates get: i.e. the Danyle Pearce 'goal' last week. I was right behind it, clearly a goal. Some of the sh1t that was yelled out, great stuff. Footy at its best :) . That is worth the price of admission, just a bonus that I get a showdown.

Paralowiepower
24 Aug 2006, 23:18
But that means I get to miss every other good win, er loss, you have had this season!

I enjoy going to footy, no matter who is playing. Of course I prefer my team, but I love the Port games just for all the laughs me and my mates get: i.e. the Danyle Pearce 'goal' last week. I was right behind it, clearly a goal. Some of the sh1t that was yelled out, great stuff. Footy at its best :) . That is worth the price of admission, just a bonus that I get a showdown.
Fair enough, I use go watch the crows every now and then in the early years for a bit of a laugh.

Eago77
25 Aug 2006, 00:03
I'm pretty sure your not because there are still 3,000 tickets left. You're the away team so i would have thought the Crows supporters would want em? Jumping off already?

Facts, stop using them!!!

Eago77
25 Aug 2006, 00:04
Fair enough, I use go watch the crows every now and then in the early years for a bit of a laugh.

Did you ever go back to theie club rooms after for a drink? Oh, whoops sorry...

Pred
25 Aug 2006, 01:00
Is there a game this weekend? You'd hardly know.

Not the usual pre-showdown hive of activity, is it?

Then again I'm not being bombarded by Adelaide media.

Troy Wingate
25 Aug 2006, 01:08

Pred, your absolutely right. It just doesn't feel like Showdown week. There's been no hype or fuss over this game. There's about as much fuss being made over this game like it was a North Melbourne vs. another low attention getting Pricktorian club.

Frank Spencer Clone
25 Aug 2006, 01:16
I reckon it's probably our best chance for a while to give the Clowns a touch up. They seem a little worried as well.
A bit like old times in a way.

Pinepower
25 Aug 2006, 01:19

It is the quietest showdown that has been.

I think that both clubs do not want to see any more incidents from fans this year.

Eago77
25 Aug 2006, 01:29

I think that both clubs do not want to see any more incidents from fans this year.
I'd rather blood be spilt on the ground, as long as it's red, yellow and blue that is.

noddy
25 Aug 2006, 10:16
What we need is for Chad to come out & say "this is our dream showdown"

Crows to romp in by 69 points. :)

minor adjustment.:)

noddy
25 Aug 2006, 10:19
I'd rather blood be spilt on the ground, as long as it's red, yellow and blue that is.

At least we have blood running through our veins. :thumbsu:

I'm too polite to mention what kind of liquid yuse guys have running through your veins ;)

Mad Dog
25 Aug 2006, 10:22
bwwwaahhhahahahahahahha

another golden comedic moment

Twedders66 has a crack at someone for jumping off.....:rolleyes:

Lightning_Rod
25 Aug 2006, 10:25
it has been quiet, its almost like the showdown has lost its aura, the western derby is pumped up hugely and it turns the state on its head over there, it dominates their media, but over hear the rivalry and hype is kinda slowing down, dieing if you like, even the footy show doesnt pump it up any more, they give huge wraps to the western derby but skip over the showdown. bit disappointing really, we need to build it back up again, hopefully by the time we are dominant again the hype will be back :P. that could be as soon as next year if all goes well :D

Mad Dog
25 Aug 2006, 10:26

I think you're right - both clubs have gone out of their way to remind their fan bases about behaviour.

Let's just hope Dale doesn't show up - it could get ugly.....:rolleyes:

Lightning_Rod
25 Aug 2006, 10:33
I think you're right - both clubs have gone out of their way to remind their fan bases about behaviour.

Let's just hope Dale doesn't show up - it could get ugly.....:rolleyes:
im trying to work out whether you meant the percentage of ugly people will go up, or whether you mean it could get dangerous. :rolleyes: :p

Paralowiepower
25 Aug 2006, 11:58
I reckon it's probably our best chance for a while to give the Clowns a touch up. They seem a little worried as well.
A bit like old times in a way.
They certainly do, special player meetings, closed training sessions and I even heard Trigg say they are not even looking at finals just focused 100% on this game. (Which I find very hard to believe)

Paralowiepower
25 Aug 2006, 12:02
What we need is for Chad to come out & say "this is our dream showdown"

Crows to romp in by 69 points. :)

The only 69 you will see is in the crows room after Noddy.

Just when you thought Nigel no so was off the radar and his silly pre match press conferences gone, he magically appears in today's paper. Might be a good omen for us :D

wharfie_1870
25 Aug 2006, 12:49
.....Crows to romp in by 9 points.
.....Crows to romp in by 69 points. :)
minor adjustment.:)At this rate Noddy you'll be predicting the Crows by 180 by kick off :eek: