View Full Version : Geelong Vs Melbourne @ SS

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 00:03
Big game next week, and I'm very confident we will win this one too.

Thoughts? Match-ups? Changes? Predictions?

Geelong by 24

burto
20 Aug 2006, 01:09
Ling to be replaced by Batchelor (geelong needs its token redknob)

Love to see Sheringham and Gamble get a game, but I can't see it happening

Unwritten_Law
20 Aug 2006, 04:17

Big game for Melbourne.

I hope we win to contribute to their demise but I'm sure as hell not confident.

I'm at a loss tipping the Cats. Thought we would win against the Saints and lose this weekend. I had this game as a Geelong victory on a ladder predictor a couple of weeks back so if the pattern continues we will lose.

Keithy George
20 Aug 2006, 05:53
If we win against the Roos this match won't mean a lot. If we lose, well, you guys could possibly pinch our top 8 spot

cat in sydney
20 Aug 2006, 09:00
If we win against the Roos this match won't mean a lot. If we lose, well, you guys could possibly pinch our top 8 spot

That's our best chance I reckon... if Demons lose to Kangas today, then they face Cats then Crows in final two rounds... not that easy to won both of those.
So, if Demons beat Kangas, 2006 officially dead, buried, over.
But, if Kangas beat Demons, then it's our game at SS that might determine whether we get there...

CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 11:07
Outs: Mooney (sus), Ling (inj), Byrnes (Inj)

In: Woja, Grima/Stokes, Playfair

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 11:40
The Dees are 10% ahead.....that's going to take a bit of catching-up.

Any mathematicians that can give us a few scenarios here?

cat in sydney
20 Aug 2006, 11:54

Any mathematicians that can give us a few scenarios here?

Hypothetically...
Melbourne lose by 20 points to Kangas today
Cats then beat Melbourne by 30 points
Round 22, this needs to happen:
Melbourne lose to Adelaide by 30 points (not sure with Adelaide not travelling so well at the moment), and Cats woudl then have to beat Hawks by 40ish.
If all that happens, then we're in the 8!!

My thoughts... buckleys chance of that happening! While the last two rounds might happen, its the Kangas game that is doubtful - how will they beat the Demons today?? It's more than likely going to be over this afternoon. :(

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 11:57
Hypothetically...
Melbourne lose by 20 points to Kangas today
Cats then beat Melbourne by 30 points
Round 22, this needs to happen:
Melbourne lose to Adelaide by 30 points (not sure with Adelaide not travelling so well at the moment), and Cats woudl then have to beat Hawks by 40ish.
If all that happens, then we're in the 8!!

My thoughts... buckleys chance of that happening! While the last two rounds might happen, its the Kangas game that is doubtful - how will they beat the Demons today?? It's more than likely going to be over this afternoon. :(

Unlikely, isn't it? But as the saying goes, "Anything can happen!"

I play a bit of Cricket myself, and I have had some crazy situations where we have made the finals from no-where, absolutely no-where with mathematically small chances.

Mr Sensitive
20 Aug 2006, 12:23
The season's over for Geelong so expect the cats to power home with a win. If the season was on the line I'd be tipping the cats to fall in a heap but they did that already against the saints. As long as there's no pressure, the mighty cats always rise to the occasion like they did yesterday against the swans.

thehoff
20 Aug 2006, 12:26
Outs: Mooney (sus), Ling (inj), Byrnes (Inj)

In: Woja, Grima/Stokes, Playfair

Playfair. Pfft.... Come on. Why would you promote a dopey boofhead when there is a kid with the last name of Ablett that would more than fulfill any role that Playfair could acheive?

Playfair has been given a number of chances this year. He has clearly failed.

Nath was in the best without kicking a goal. Nath will be playing next week.

baywatch5
20 Aug 2006, 12:27
That's our best chance I reckon... if Demons lose to Kangas today, then they face Cats then Crows in final two rounds... not that easy to won both of those.
So, if Demons beat Kangas, 2006 officially dead, buried, over.
But, if Kangas beat Demons, then it's our game at SS that might determine whether we get there...

GO ROOS !!!!!

Still can't believe we are in this situation.... Only ourselves to blame :mad:

But still hope.... you just never know:)

jimmy.h
20 Aug 2006, 12:28
Outs: Mooney (sus), Ling (inj), Byrnes (Inj) (just assuming these)

In: Kingsley, Koula, Wojinski

baywatch5
20 Aug 2006, 12:31
Playfair. Pfft.... Come on. Why would you promote a dopey boofhead when there is a kid with the last name of Ablett that would more than fulfill any role that Playfair could acheive?

Yeah would like to see Nath in for last two weeks... really hasn't been given much of a go this year. But is still developing.

Would be good to finish on a high against hawks in round 22 for junior's 100th, with Nath in the side :thumbsu:

Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 12:58

Any mathematicians that can give us a few scenarios here?Presuming we win both games and the Dees lose all 3, the Dees lose a game by 50+ points they will be in trouble. If they lose by 2 goals today they will go down 2% making them 8% ahead of us. If we beat the Dees by 12 they are 6% ahead, by 30 they are 4% ahead and if we win by 60 they are only 1% ahead.

Lets assume we beat them by 24 points or so, they are still 5% ahead of us. A 30 point loss to Adelaide and a 30 point win to us against Hawthorn puts us 2% ahead of them. A 12 point win to us and a 12 point loss to them will put us 0.2% ahead of them. We would probaly end up against St Kilda or possibly Freo depending on who wins the WA darby next week and the Saints v Dogs game.

I used that "predict the 2005 ladder" thing even tho the AFL dont realise its 2006...

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 15:43

I think Nablett will get the gig over H as well. How did H go yesterday in the VFL?

H needs a big pre-season.

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 15:51

Thoughts? Match-ups? Changes? Predictions?

Geelong by 24

Yes, Cats by 24 goals, would surely make up that percentage gap! :D

When you are not only talking about games won/loss, but also winning/losing margins... there is no chance!! It wont happen... why? Coz its Geelong here!!

I'll be happy enough with any win over Melbourne and throw some more "spanners in the works".

ps. Kangas lead by 24 points approaching half time :thumbsu:

Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 16:00
Adelaide have screwed us by losing to Freo and the Dogs so they will probaly lose to Melbourne too...

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 16:10
Adelaide have screwed us by losing to Freo and the Dogs so they will probaly lose to Melbourne too...

They screwed us too, in 93, but by winning instead of losing..

Ya just cant win can ya.. :mad:

ps. Melbourne trailing by 21 points, close to half time now.

cat in sydney
20 Aug 2006, 17:11
They screwed us too, in 93, but by winning instead of losing..

Ya just cant win can ya.. :mad:

ps. Melbourne trailing by 21 points, close to half time now.

Not any more!
3qr time and it's the Demons romping home.
Season is now officially over for the Cats.:mad:
Hope the boys have a good summer of training...

Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 17:15
Dees have kicked 7 of the last 8 goals. Neitz has 7. Not looking good but the margin is still only 19 points so the Kangaroos can win.

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 17:31
Dees have kicked 7 of the last 8 goals. Neitz has 7. Not looking good but the margin is still only 19 points so the Kangaroos can win.

Yah, its all over..

But i reckon Melbournes might be too... have just been hit with a few injuries..

Watch this space.. ;)

thegerman
20 Aug 2006, 17:35

Playfair has only played 8 games this year. Give the guy a break. Why don't you try a come back after breaking your jaw. It isn't easy to continue training with a wired up mouth.

Your comments are just ridiculous. He played quite well against the Dogs, lead up the ground, played the link role excellently.

I think he also suffered a bad shoulder injury also, only a week or so after his broken jaw.

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 17:42
Dees are home :(

Our only remaining chance is teh Dogs losing their last two, us winning our last two and making up the %!

Yes, I am clutching at straws!

thehoff
20 Aug 2006, 17:43
Playfair has only played 8 games this year. Give the guy a break. Why don't you try a come back after breaking your jaw. It isn't easy to continue training with a wired up mouth.

Your comments are just ridiculous. He played quite well against the Dogs, lead up the ground, played the link role excellently.

I think he also suffered a bad shoulder injury also, only a week or so after his broken jaw.

Spare me. If he can't hack the pace of AFL or playing are after a broken jaw then leave the club. The broken jaw is no longer an excuse as the injury would have occured over a year ago.

Bottom line is, Henry is a goat (right Jack?) and does not deserve a place in our team on his current form.

I'm not sure which game you watched, but he was horrible against the dogs. The marks he received were uncontested and his kicking was was equal to Koo Wee Rup U10's.

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 17:45
Spare me. If he can't hack the pace of AFL or playing are after a broken jaw then leave the club. The broken jaw is no longer an excuse as the injury would have occured over a year ago.

Bottom line is, Henry is a goat (right Jack?) and does not deserve a place in our team on his current form.

I'm not sure which game you watched, but he was horrible against the dogs. The marks he received were uncontested and his kicking was was equal to Koo Wee Rup U10's.

Not in our best 22 at the moment, but he has to remain on the list.

cats2rise
20 Aug 2006, 17:45
Who do the dogletts play in their last two games?

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 17:46
Who do the dogletts play in their last two games?

St Kilda and Essendon - Friday Night football both times.

cats2rise
20 Aug 2006, 17:49
We are boned.

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 17:50
St Kilda and Essendon - Friday Night football both times.

And two easy wins, imo.

Looks like 9th is ours for the taking, from the Tigers!! :D

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 17:56
I reckon the Saints will knock off the Dogs but I can't see them losing to the Dons.

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 17:59
I reckon the Saints will knock off the Dogs but I can't see them losing to the Dons.

The Saints are coming back from the trip west tho, remember. And barely gave a yelp over there..

Both teams have injuries i guess, but the Bulldogs should knock em off.

Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 18:03
We can still knock the Saints out with percentage if they lose both. Sadly if we win next week the phrase "mathamtically possible" will be there until the loser of the Saints v Dogs win in round 22. Saints are versing Brissy (at the Gabba) and its hard to see them lose either.

cat in sydney
20 Aug 2006, 18:04
And two easy wins, imo.

Looks like 9th is ours for the taking, from the Tigers!! :D

We may not even be able to hold them off!!
They play Bombers next week, so may get the jump on us.
However, we should come out rd22 and beat Hawks by a bit (I say 'should' very loosely!).:eek:

cat in sydney
20 Aug 2006, 18:07
We can still knock the Saints out with percentage if they lose both. Sadly if we win next week the phrase "mathamtically possible" will be there until the loser of the Saints v Dogs win in round 22. Saints are versing Brissy (at the Gabba) and its hard to see them lose either.

Hopefully in the game between the Saints and Dogs, the Saints are so badly beaten up, run ragged, injuries to Riewoldt, Gehrig, Ball, Dal Santo, Voss and a couple of others...and lose by 80... then they MIGHT lose their last game against Brisbane... then hello finals for the cats! (clutching!):rolleyes:

cats2rise
20 Aug 2006, 18:09
Why do you all want to make finals anyway? Does that make up for a crappy season where we do not really deserve to make finals?

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 18:11
Why do you all want to make finals anyway? Does that make up for a crappy season where we do not really deserve to make finals?

Well, for starters itd prove Dermott wrong. ;)

I hate it when that... is right... :D

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 18:32

Why not? Why aim to miss?

The club's review will take place regardless of what takes place for the rest of 2006.

CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 18:40

yeah, I confess i forgot about Nathan and he would be a better option. Bomber said this week that nathan was a Bees d@ick off playing against the swans. so he might be the man to come in. ;)

Ricketts
20 Aug 2006, 20:02
I hate Melbourne. One of my favourite teams to beat. Go Cats.

CowboyFromHell
20 Aug 2006, 20:38
My favourite game of the year - get in nice and early and enjoy the morning/afternoon. Give crap to as many Cat fans as possible.

I want Nafan to play as well, love giving him a bit of curry! :thumbsu:

Shell
20 Aug 2006, 20:41
My favourite game of the year - get in nice and early and enjoy the morning/afternoon. Give crap to as many Cat fans as possible.

On ya mate :thumbsu:

Good luck in the finals, btw!!! :D :p :D :p

JUBJUB
20 Aug 2006, 20:55

but what if it's raining? You won't be able to go.
We'll all be sad if our fairweathered friend isn't able to go. http://deephousepage.com/smilies/cry.gif

davey_magik
20 Aug 2006, 21:33
If both teams come out to play I'll back us in. Won't be surprised if Geelong do win, but we broke the hoodoo last year and are a better side. Neitz needs to play well though and that will be difficult considering he will be on Scarlett.

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 21:58

Damn....where is Clint Bizzell when you need him?

He's always nice for a forward to kick a few on (re: Kingsley for the last four years and he gave Nathan a couple of starters in his first game last year).

davey_magik
20 Aug 2006, 22:18
Damn....where is Clint Bizzell when you need him?

He's always nice for a forward to kick a few on (re: Kingsley for the last four years and he gave Nathan a couple of starters in his first game last year).

We actually have defenders who can stop their man now.
Carroll will thrash Kingsley. My worries are Chapman and GAJ.

chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 22:22
We actually have defenders who can stop their man now.
Carroll will thrash Kingsley. My worries are Chapman and GAJ.

Big Bad Bustling Kent isn't in teh side at the moment, but it would be funny if he was because he has a good record against the Dees.

I'm expecting Ottens to play well....he was dominating in the corresponding game last year until he injured himself.

Mr Sensitive
20 Aug 2006, 23:21
what did happen to Bizzell? Forgive my ignorance but has he retired or has been injured or what??

JUBJUB
20 Aug 2006, 23:57
what did happen to Bizzell? Forgive my ignorance but has he retired or has been injured or what??

The witch he was bonking cast a spell on him and his career went down the dunny.He's running around for Sandringham.

shahla_selena
21 Aug 2006, 04:08
would love to see nath get a game. i'd prefer him ahead of kent and henry any day.

how did kelly go in the vfl?????

thegerman
21 Aug 2006, 09:28

Broken jaw was mid year last year, played quite well at the end of last year. Had a slight tear to the hamstring at seasons start, then torn a ligament in shoulder which sidelined him for 5-6 weeks.

This much of injury time will kill any player's season. Give the guy a break.

The game against the dogs he had 9 marks, if they are uncontested it's because of what I stated, he lead !! They passed him the ball when open on leads. I still have that game on DVD, and yes it was a good performance. We need a linking forward at CHF, not a packmarker. That's why we have Ottens at FF, he can take the contested grab.

Why is there a need to take a contested grab ?? If the footskills of the team is any good you would only need to get in front and they should be good enough to hit you lace out. H did that against the Dogs.

Which game were you watching ?? Not that one I bet. Mostly all people stated he had a good game, even the diehards.

A player will play pretty average after so much injury time, plus the Geelong mentality if they don't play well on the day, well drop them to the two's to pick up form. Sometimes it doesn't work that way. Players need to play at the top level for 2-3 games before picking up that pace. We have dropped so many players after just one game, it is detrimental to them to be dropped and picked up all the time. It is a general merry-go-round at times.

As a long-time coach in sport, I would hate to be playing for the Cats, the selection committee lead to a lot of poor form by a few of the players by their selections.

N Ablett has also had his chances, and rarely did he prove his worth at the top level. He also was dropped several times without getting a good run at the ones. Though he really has only proved himself in one game, vs the Eagles.

So the Hoff, would love to see you in action after so many injuries and the inept selection committee dropping you in and out of the team.

davey_magik
21 Aug 2006, 22:18
Big Bad Bustling Kent isn't in teh side at the moment, but it would be funny if he was because he has a good record against the Dees.

I'm expecting Ottens to play well....he was dominating in the corresponding game last year until he injured himself.

Kent had a good record against us until the past two games, where he has kicked one goal (That wasn't even a goal :mad: ) and that has been during the time Carroll has become a player.
Chapman beat Bartram last time and I am worried by him. Whelan will play on GAJ and although Bartram has shown a lot Chapman could be a bit much for him. I wouldn't be surprised if Bruce was given a job on him.
Holland will take Ottens and although I rate Ottens highly as a stay at home FF, I am confident he won't smash Dutchy. People laugh at him, but really Dutchy hasn't been beaten this year by a tall forward.
One of Neitz, Robbo, Davey and Yze will need to kick a bag though, and I doubt it will be Neitz.

Mooney_d'King
21 Aug 2006, 22:23
Kent had a good record against us until the past two games, where he has kicked one goal (That wasn't even a goal :mad: ) and that has been during the time Carroll has become a player.
Chapman beat Bartram last time and I am worried by him. Whelan will play on GAJ and although Bartram has shown a lot Chapman could be a bit much for him. I wouldn't be surprised if Bruce was given a job on him.
Holland will take Ottens and although I rate Ottens highly as a stay at home FF, I am confident he won't smash Dutchy. People laugh at him, but really Dutchy hasn't been beaten this year by a tall forward.
One of Neitz, Robbo, Davey and Yze will need to kick a bag though, and I doubt it will be Neitz.

Good onya for your honesty. Look out for Rooke on Davey or Bruce to shut one or the other down. Otherwise, this is probably going to be a tough close match - unless our boys are buggered from last week. Who knows if they can put 2 tough hard matches in a row together. I'll be there with my brother who's coming over from Seattle. I'd love him to see a close hard match with a Geelong win, but who knows!

swantastic
21 Aug 2006, 22:49
Good onya for your honesty. Look out for Rooke on Davey or Bruce to shut one or the other down. Otherwise, this is probably going to be a tough close match - unless our boys are buggered from last week. Who knows if they can put 2 tough hard matches in a row together. I'll be there with my brother who's coming over from Seattle. I'd love him to see a close hard match with a Geelong win, but who knows!I hope the cats smash the demons for our sake:) Go Catters:thumbsu:

chapmanmagic35
21 Aug 2006, 22:54

Haha, I assume you are referring to that Kingsley goal that was about a metre over the line? Yep, bit unlucky there was Carro! He played very well on Kingsley that day.

Chappy is very dangerous...I would put the best small defender on him as Ablett is playing underdone. He hasn't got near it the past two weeks.

hyperswivel
22 Aug 2006, 00:13
I'm stealing a Geelong member for the weekend who says he'd prefer to go to Launceston and see the Hawks play the Roos than Geelong get smashed by Melbourne.
I don't know if that says more about him than Geelong though.

Is it likely that there'll be a poor turnout given that the finals push is now over, or do you think Cats fans will be out in force for the last home game of the year?

Catnip
22 Aug 2006, 09:28
I'm stealing a Geelong member for the weekend who says he'd prefer to go to Launceston and see the Hawks play the Roos than Geelong get smashed by Melbourne.

Is it likely that there'll be a poor turnout given that the finals push is now over, or do you think Cats fans will be out in force for the last home game of the year?

Your presence has assured a huge turnout :)

rick James
22 Aug 2006, 10:56
I hate Melbourne. One of my favourite teams to beat. Go Cats.

GO NUMBER 34!

eliiiiza
22 Aug 2006, 14:52

Skilled Stadium was pretty damn packed on Saturday....

Champ39
22 Aug 2006, 15:47
Skilled Stadium was pretty damn packed on Saturday....

Yeah it was.
And wasn't it good to see all those Sydney supporters, who came down thinking they were going to win, walking out as losers.
I can't say I've seen anything better.

winty
23 Aug 2006, 10:19
Yeah it was.
And wasn't it good to see all those Sydney supporters, who came down thinking they were going to win, walking out as losers.
I can't say I've seen anything better.

I think the only thing better I've seen was the Melbourne supporter who threatened to throw me out of the Wade Stand (or Hickey Stand as it was back then) leave a defeated man a couple of years ago. :D

CowboyFromHell
24 Aug 2006, 00:50
The witch he was bonking cast a spell on him and his career went down the dunny.He's running around for Sandringham.

At least he cops a bonk Jubby. Pity we all can't say the same for you.

I'll see you at the food stand, I'll be the one getting in early before you polish off all the pies. :thumbsu: