View Full Version : passion v expectation
I was at the 'G' yesterday to watch one of the greatest victories in my 40 odd years of attending the pleasure and pain that are doggies (ex scraggers) games.
It is impossible to watch us play Adelaide at the 'G' without getting horrible flashbacks of 97, similar to Vietnam veterans to low flying choppers. I remember the sound of thousands of sets of feet trudgeing down Brunton ave. after the game, and not a word spoken. The silence was broken by a lone doggies fan, in a short sleeved 50's jumper to show off his impressive aray of tatts, standing in the middle of the road, with his arms outstrentched and head pointed skywards screaming; "There is no f....ng God".
The following week after the crows won the flag, they interviewed some of their supporters after the game, and one bloke said "We've waited so long for this". rather than wishing to share in this chaps joy at his premiership victory, I had a sudden desire to pull my old cricket bat out of retirement, and hunt him down like a mangy dog!
Yesterday I looked around at the Crows fans around me , who look so alien in contrast to the almost 'battle weary' look of the dogs fans, it was a day of expectations, they as always expect to win, we expected defeat and hoped that we served up a contest.Against the odds they prevailed as this team seems to do.
We played them at a venue which can hardly be called a 'home' ground.Though fantastic, it is as intimidating for us as it is for them.I had a sudden urge to relive days at the western oval, and let their processed, sanitised supporters visit a 'REALY HOSTILE VENUE'. And maybe...just maybe I would run into that bloke who 'waited so long' for that flag
Benno From Berwick
20 Aug 2006, 09:38
Great post.
I walked from the G that day in 97 and kept walking....and walking.
The silence wasn't broken for me. It still haunts us all.
Borgsta
20 Aug 2006, 10:34
Great post.
I walked from the G that day in 97 and kept walking....and walking.
The silence wasn't broken for me. It still haunts us all.
I got on the tram which was the biggest mistake of all. It was packed with Crows supporters who started to sing the theme song.
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
20 Aug 2006, 12:39
I was at the 'G' yesterday to watch one of the greatest victories in my 40 odd years of attending the pleasure and pain that are doggies (ex scraggers) games.
It is impossible to watch us play Adelaide at the 'G' without getting horrible flashbacks of 97, similar to Vietnam veterans to low flying choppers. I remember the sound of thousands of sets of feet trudgeing down Brunton ave. after the game, and not a word spoken. The silence was broken by a lone doggies fan, in a short sleeved 50's jumper to show off his impressive aray of tatts, standing in the middle of the road, with his arms outstrentched and head pointed skywards screaming; "There is no f....ng God".
The following week after the crows won the flag, they interviewed some of their supporters after the game, and one bloke said "We've waited so long for this". rather than wishing to share in this chaps joy at his premiership victory, I had a sudden desire to pull my old cricket bat out of retirement, and hunt him down like a mangy dog!
Yesterday I looked around at the Crows fans around me , who look so alien in contrast to the almost 'battle weary' look of the dogs fans, it was a day of expectations, they as always expect to win, we expected defeat and hoped that we served up a contest.Against the odds they prevailed as this team seems to do.
We played them at a venue which can hardly be called a 'home' ground.Though fantastic, it is as intimidating for us as it is for them.I had a sudden urge to relive days at the western oval, and let their processed, sanitised supporters visit a 'REALY HOSTILE VENUE'. And maybe...just maybe I would run into that bloke who 'waited so long' for that flag
Great post snags, yesterday was a wonderful victory and whilst it does nothing to erase the pain of 97, it does I hope represent a tangible sign of the opportunities we have going forward in the next few years.
As you point out the MCG is hardly confident territory for us, and so to win against strong opposition at the G in a pressure packed environment was very pleasing to see.
bulldogtragic
20 Aug 2006, 13:24
Until a GF win, it will never heal. I dont think i spoke for 3 hours after it. Having the obnoxious Adelaide fans screaming the song at the final siren. The feeling of complete disbelief, watching our players, bubba. It's a missed opportunity. Funny how 'just a game' still brings the awful feelings i'm feeling right now, 10 years later.
Great win though.
Captain Sensible
20 Aug 2006, 14:09
I went to my cousins 21st in Yarraville. My whole family barrack for Footscray-I think the last guest left around 7.30.
Benno From Berwick
20 Aug 2006, 15:08
I went to my cousins 21st in Yarraville. My whole family barrack for Footscray-I think the last guest left around 7.30.
I wonder if you mean in the morning? I eventually went out and did not get home until 7.00am. The lose hurt more than the hangover......
always right
20 Aug 2006, 15:41
I blame my brother. In 1997 towards the end of the third quarter we kicked a goal and he stood up and yelled..."We're going to a Grand Final!!!" He was immediately besieged by a number of Bulldogs supporters who knew what a dangerous comment that was. Too late......and the rest is history. On behalf of my brother, I aplogise. We all still wear the mental scars and my brother to this day carries a heavy burden. Good....he deserves it.
divvydan
20 Aug 2006, 17:20
I reckon i can move on after yesterday's win...it's taken a while :(
I remember sitting in my seat just staring blankly at the ground for about 30 minutes before eventually getting up and leaving. We had pre-booked dinner at Dimattina's restaurant that night and whilst we still went, barely a noise could be heard in there and indeed the only noise was from stupid crows supporters out on Lygon Street probably under the mistaken belief that it was Footscray, not Carlton.
StevieG
20 Aug 2006, 17:41
I walked back to Flinders Street station with a Crows supporter whistling that theme song behind me for entire journey. The missus knew what I was thinking and just told me to let it be (which I did under great sufferance).
The worst bit was listening to the radio on Monday morning and hearing about Saints fans lining up for GF tickets - that hurt.
Couldn't make yesterday's game but listened to it on the radio and have watched the replay of the last quarter a fair bit.
For all those wanting Cooney dropped - players with the X Factor do not run around in 'the Magoos'.
Bring on September and the next couple of years. It has been a long wait.
Remember clearly where I was. At a reunion - at 3/4 time a St Kilda supporter came and said - Yeah Max we are both in the Granny.
No more scores heard until I left an hour later. Listening to the sum up on the radio, while driving up Warrigal Rd, thought if I didn't know better - you would think we had lost. Not having heard the score at the time.
A couple minutes later - reality hit - nearly stacked the car.
Hated Adelaide since.
tassiedog
20 Aug 2006, 19:25
I have had a life long burning desire to go a watch a winning grand final with my dad. After all it is he who started taking me to the footy 37 years ago. When the final siren went in '97 I looked at him and thought it is never going to happen........He was 70 then.
At 80 he still goes every week and was at the game yesterday. I still have that burning desire but we are running out of time.
plugger59
20 Aug 2006, 21:25
I have had a life long burning desire to go a watch a winning grand final with my dad. After all it is he who started taking me to the footy 37 years ago. When the final siren went in '97 I looked at him and thought it is never going to happen........He was 70 then.
At 80 he still goes every week and was at the game yesterday. I still have that burning desire but we are running out of time.
Please, no offence, not trolling here but I've just had a reality check on this thread. My missus and me are about to move to China to live, thinking, would'nt it be nice to see another flag before we go...... And then I spend 10 minutes on your board. Sort of sits me on my a*se and brings a little perspective to things. Congrats on yesterday and all the best for the finals.
tassiedog
20 Aug 2006, 21:43
Please, no offence, not trolling here but I've just had a reality check on this thread. My missus and me are about to move to China to live, thinking, would'nt it be nice to see another flag before we go...... And then I spend 10 minutes on your board. Sort of sits me on my a*se and brings a little perspective to things. Congrats on yesterday and all the best for the finals. No offence taken Plugger. I think a thread like this will make you appreciate your clubs past a future success a little more and not take it for granted.
By the way, are you and the missus taking the greyhounds to china?
Top Dog
20 Aug 2006, 22:08
Love the post snags!
Brilliant read.
I can't relive 97'. It hurts far too much. I shed many tears, and nearly broke my right fist. Damn wall jumped out at me :)
I can vividly remember a couple of Crows supporters gloating post-match at a few nasty looking dogs fans. Let's just say they got what they deserved. I also remember watching the news, and seeing highlights of a few blues that occurred. At least we went down fighting.
*I don't condone violence! ;)
Dogs Rule
21 Aug 2006, 15:14
First of all, can I commend everyone on their fantastic posts.
My memories of that day are of listening to the match in the backyard after a barby with my best mate, also a fanatical Doggies supporter.
I couldn't go that day, but my Dad who was at work that afternoon, promised to take me if we made it to the GF.
My Dad was born and bred in Footscray and took me to my first match at the Western Oval as a seven-year-old in 1989.
I gave Dad score updates over the phone at the breaks, and by three-quarter-time I was going nuts.
As we all know the last 20 minutes was a nightmare, and its fair to say I shed a few tears that night. Even as a 15-year-old it hurt, especially after 96.
I have absolutely hated Adelaide ever since, and I don't think I'll ever be able to forgive them, which makes Saturday's result even sweeter.
It just goes to show that you can have all the money and best facilities in the world, but nothing can buy you spirit and that never say die attitude, which we have in spades.
natedog
21 Aug 2006, 15:50
I was there at the final siren and can't put my feelings into words...
soft post natedog...softpost..........understandable though
urrghh....."Crows, the G"....makes the heart skip a few beats every time.....in 97' I was at home, road the bumps and highs all day listening to triple M.....didnt get to hear the match wrap up because the radio had been smashed up good by then......in 98' the big lamp in my room came to grief.......(forgive me - I was angry young teen back then)
...was there last saturday though......with 5 mins left I was still yellin like a fool....between grabbing the chair infront and trying to keep my lunch down......then it happened.......streeta gave away the 50m.......yeap....surely it was all over.......then it happened again.......I was pooped on by a seagull............."what a ****en **** house day!!!!!"....was the call from me.....little did I know that being shat on is very good luck (my little brother in law told me this later).....
We heard there was 1 min to go and let the crowd know.
I didn't hear the siren.....was only when a heard the last bit of the bullies intro song that i actually realised it was over.....
As that little fat guy from the leaseplan adds used to say... "Go the bulldogs, you legends, Haa haa haaaaaaa"
scooter600x
21 Aug 2006, 17:09
I was there v the Crows at the G when we came from 40 pts down at 3/4 time and Darce kicked the goal that won it for us.
I have no recollection of playing the Crows at the G in 97.
kookadog
21 Aug 2006, 17:46
It was unbearable, when we went 2 points down I left the room in shock, couldn't believe it, I came back and saw the last 18 seconds, I had my own smithy impersonation going, dad ran out to the backyard, I'd never seen my old man like that. It's a pain we all share. Lets make the finals.
Captain Sensible
21 Aug 2006, 18:30
I have no recollection of playing the Crows at the G in 97.
I have a vague recollection of something happening at the 'G in late september
1997. After that, until about febuary 1998, its all a bit of a blur.
gohardorgohome
21 Aug 2006, 18:53
I met some country rello's at that game in 1997. They left not long after the game. I just sat there alone not talking for 20 minutes.
A group of five crows supporters walk past me and said "Look at the F...n loser". I just lost it, stood up to the guy and said to him that if he ever said anything like that again i will break every bone in your body
The guy s..t himselt. Just looked blank faced at me and walked off.
I remember listening to Dougy Hawkins on the radio who was shattered.
I still feel sick in the guts whenever I think of that game. I saw the last five or so minutes of it on fox a few years ago and felt sick for the next few hours.
I was there in '85 '92 and '98 but the 97 was the worst.
The grand final this year is on Adam Cooneys 21st Birthday. I know this because it is the same as mine (Except i will be 38).
I have been having flashbacks of the Coon breaking through a pack in the September Sun.....the crowd calling COOOOOOOOON ............... The coon kicking a goal.. I just hope it turns into reality.
The grand final this year is on Adam Cooneys 21st Birthday. I know this because it is the same as mine (Except i will be 38).
Mine as well - 35 for me.
I was there v the Crows at the G when we came from 40 pts down at 3/4 time and Darce kicked the goal that won it for us.
I remember that game and was extactic when "Darc" kicked that goal.