View Full Version : Bertolacci has screwed our club
CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 13:07
Article in todays HUN about how Bertolacci has given the other clubs our game plan. If this is true then I hope the Club sues his butt off. Explains why Hawthorn was so devasting in that 3rd round match. if this is proven, Bertolacci may just become the biggest villian at GFC for a long time.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20187942%255E20322,00.html
:mad::thumbsd:
chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 13:08
Very disappointing what has happened.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 13:14
regardless of this I was happy for him to go - haven't been happy with our fitness levels for the last few years. Any friends of mine that are Essendon supporters always said we would regret getting him. They had too many injuries. I didn't put him down as nasty and vindictive, though. And taht's what he is, clearly.
CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 13:18
makes me re-evaluate the whole year. In one sense maybe you have to think Bomber has done an OK job because over the course of the year he would of had to :
1. Find out that our gameplan was out there
2. Work out a new gameplan
3. Try and get it into the players heads (hard if you have spent 5 years drilling them on the old one)
4. Plug away until it starts to show some success
5. Put up with disillusioned supporters and media asking "what the hell is wrong"
I think Bomber needs a medal really, given all his family issues as well
chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 13:20
That's why Thompson will have one more year, hopefully to have a year free of innuendo and intrigue. That's fine by me, too.
CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 13:26
I think I am coming around CM35. I guess there are court proceedings here and the club cannot comment on it publicly. Bomber should stay as how in hell can you look good if the oposition know every move you are going to make. The fact he has turned it around and won 7/10 in the last half of the season restores his credibility.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 13:26
That's why Thompson will have one more year, hopefully to have a year free of innuendo and intrigue. That's fine by me, too.
I've always wanted him to have one more year - to put all the issues behind us and get on with it.
quartercat
20 Aug 2006, 13:38
So who was responsible for the round three debacle against the Hawks? They seemed to cover our game plan(?) pretty well, and Bartolacci was still with us.
I think that all this is just clouding the real issues.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 13:57
So who was responsible for the round three debacle against the Hawks? They seemed to cover our game plan(?) pretty well, and Bartolacci was still with us.
I think that all this is just clouding the real issues.
The writing was on the wall well before that. For a start they appointed Stephen Hocking to what appeared like a Mickey Mouse job, then there was the report that Bertolacci had been sacked earlier only to be re-instated. After all the injuries last year I'm sure it was stressed to him that the fitness and training weren't good enough. And he had been let go by Collingwood and Essendon because of those reasons as well.
CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 14:00
I maybe wrong, but i recall the announcement of his sacking was at that game, but he may have been actually sacked earlier in the week. Which would have given him time to pass on the info to the Hawks.
Mooney_d'King
20 Aug 2006, 14:09
Article in todays HUN about how Bertolacci has given the other clubs our game plan. If this is true then I hope the Club sues his butt off. Explains why Hawthorn was so devasting in that 3rd round match. if this is proven, Bertolacci may just become the biggest villian at GFC for a long time.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20187942%255E20322,00.html
IF that's true, because it could be the usual wild speculation again, then this could become one of the biggest scandals in Football history.
Plus, how do you sue for the loss of at least a finals berth, or the loss of a chance at a premiership, or the loss of 2-3 or more years of development and momentum???
I suppose the truth will be revealed, but I for one, can't believe that a person could be so vindictive. If it's true, who would ever hire him again? Who could so dramatically shoot himself in the foot? Is this all part of what others have been summing up as the blame game??
Someone mentioned that this speculation is clouding the issue, and it could be. I sincerely hope it's not true.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 14:25
I suppose the truth will be revealed, but I for one, can't believe that a person could be so vindictive. If it's true, who would ever hire him again? Who could so dramatically shoot himself in the foot? Is this all part of what others have been summing up as the blame game??
The Bulldogs have hired him. He also said he would reveal details of the coach's private life, and that's just not on. Incredibly vindictive.
chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 14:26
This guy is a dead-set..........you know what.
Doing nothing for his repuation if he wants another job.
A FlagB4 I Die
20 Aug 2006, 14:59
I would have thought with the amount of information that clubs know about each other these days that most clubs would have had a pretty good idea what was in our game plan anyway, without needing Bertolacci's help.
quartercat
20 Aug 2006, 15:59
I maybe wrong, but i recall the announcement of his sacking was at that game, but he may have been actually sacked earlier in the week. Which would have given him time to pass on the info to the Hawks.
It was actually the following week, the round four game against Footscray. Which raises another point - what competent administration would do it on the morning of an important game when it's certain to create controversy?
Cattery
20 Aug 2006, 16:25
Rather then becoming "one of the biggest scandals in Football history", this appears more like one of the biggest beat-ups in history by the GFC.
Quote from Rosella ...............
After all the injuries last year I'm sure it was stressed to him that the fitness and training weren't good enough. And he had been let go by Collingwood and Essendon because of those reasons as well............... if this is true, why in blazes did they hire him in the first place?
And as A FlagB4 I Die points out .............
I would have thought with the amount of information that clubs know about each other these days that most clubs would have had a pretty good idea what was in our game plan anyway, without needing Bertolacci's help......... which is exactly right, plus his sacking came after the Hawthorn match, so it would have had no bearing on that result.
Seems like nothing more then Thompson and others trying to lay the blame for our dismal year onto others.
Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 16:26
This guy is a dead-set..........you know what.
Doing nothing for his repuation if he wants another job.Oh no he'll find a job because he will give that club a free win or two every year when they verse us :thumbsd:
I remember an artical in the Advertiser the day after we lost that had a whole page on how Hawthorn picked our midfield and defence apart. I was wondering how a club that has stuggled so much cant do anything like that against other elite clubs let alone teams in the finals race.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 16:31
Quote from Rosella ...............
After all the injuries last year I'm sure it was stressed to him that the fitness and training weren't good enough. And he had been let go by Collingwood and Essendon because of those reasons as well............... if this is true, why in blazes did they hire him in the first place?
True, true - but plenty don't learn as he is now at the Bulldogs. I've heard him speak and he comes across as charming and amusing. A lot of people walk into jobs that way - my workplace is trying to deal with one now.
gregWAllan
20 Aug 2006, 16:32
I'm very disappointed with Loris. I knew him reasonably well in my athletics days and would never have thought him capable of this sort of vindictiveness.
Bomber's match day coaching/tactics has been majorly criticised in many circles. This does give us some perspective.
I've heard somewhere that one club returned the document in question to the Cats. I'd really like to know which club that was. It's a very honourable act.
Inferno
20 Aug 2006, 16:39
I'm very disappointed with Loris. I knew him reasonably well in my athletics days and would never have thought him capable of this sort of vindictiveness.
Bomber's match day coaching/tactics has been majorly criticised in many circles. This does give us some perspective.
I've heard somewhere that one club returned the document in question to the Cats. I'd really like to know which club that was. It's a very honourable act.I think it was Port.
Wasnt Bertolacci fired then re-hiered again before the Hawthorn game?
The club must love some of these responses. They can now hope more that more people get sucked in by these stories that soon everyone will be in love with Bomber again.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 17:29
I think it was Port.
Yes to both.
Rosella
20 Aug 2006, 17:32
The club must love some of these responses. They can now hope more that more people get sucked in by these stories that soon everyone will be in love with Bomber again.
Never 'loved' him in the first place, but have never hated him either. I can take an ambivalent point of view. I would like to see him finish his contract, but if he doesn't I won't be upset.
A FlagB4 I Die
20 Aug 2006, 17:46
I think it was Port.
On 3AW yesterday when Cook mentioned that a club had returned the document to him he was asked if that club had beaten Geelong. He paused and then said....yes. Can't be Port Adelaide then. My guess is the Eagles. He'd still have a few good friends there I'd think.
CatmanForever
20 Aug 2006, 18:33
maybe it is a beat up.....I am not saying that it is completely true and we wont know until the court case is underway what the truth is.
I agree an opposition side could probably work out the game plan from tapes. But you wouldn't think they could know all the fine details and set plays. I maybe wrong. This doesn't completely excuse the club or Bomber, but if it is true it does put a different perpective on the year.
Those clubs that are also vying for a premiership would love to know the game plan in all its details about a potential top 4 opposition. That would give them an incredible edge.
I will wait until the court case starts and watch with much interest.
hyperswivel
20 Aug 2006, 20:19
Hahahah, give it up. The Hawks won that match because they were on their game and Geelong weren't. Stop making excuses for your players. They lost this year on their own bat.
VikingCat
20 Aug 2006, 22:06
Hahahah, give it up. The Hawks won that match because they were on their game and Geelong weren't. Stop making excuses for your players. They lost this year on their own bat.
Hmmm, I'm sure you'd love it if your fitness coach went around selling information on player fitness and game plans... however, it probably wouldn't be particularly valuable at this point, would it, so it's a moot point.
hyperswivel
20 Aug 2006, 22:09
Not saying it's a good thing to happen. It's a disgrace. But it's not the reason the Cats lost that match, or their season. That's all.
chapmanmagic35
20 Aug 2006, 22:14
Not saying it's a good thing to happen. It's a disgrace. But it's not the reason the Cats lost that match, or their season. That's all.
Fair enough....you are probably right.
I still reckon though that Thompson deserves one more year to get it right, free of innuendo and constant questioning.
Jim Boy
21 Aug 2006, 00:58
Damn that guy, that explains how our tactics of playing listless, disinterested and unaccountable footy didn't result in the wins we surely deserved.
shahla_selena
21 Aug 2006, 03:50
hmm all very interesting. hope he gets the ass sued off him
Renegade
21 Aug 2006, 12:49
What a gigantic load of crap i've been reading.
Do you seriously believe we've been an absolute joke because Loris let a few game plans loose? I guess he just went from club to club between round 3-15 passing out copies of the plan right? You're all stupid if you think we've sucked because of this. How convenient the heat goes from Thompson to the fitness coach that was sacked because he caught Bomber....well you know the rest.
Thompson is the one responsible for all of the insipid performances and underachieving..
cat in sydney
21 Aug 2006, 13:22
What a gigantic load of crap i've been reading.
Do you seriously believe we've been an absolute joke because Loris let a few game plans loose? I guess he just went from club to club between round 3-15 passing out copies of the plan right? You're all stupid if you think we've sucked because of this. How convenient the heat goes from Thompson to the fitness coach that was sacked because he caught Bomber....well you know the rest.
Thompson is the one responsible for all of the insipid performances and underachieving..
And probably from your point of view he's also responsible for the conflict in the Middle East, high petrol prices and Dancing on Ice?
You seem to be so prejudiced against Thomspon that no matter what other suggestions come up (whether valid or not), you dismiss them as rubbish without assessing them in any way.
Certainly, Bomber has to take a large part of the responsibility for the crap year, but is it his 'solely'? No.
And your responses have been suggesting that you're acting like a little kid who sticks his fingers in his ears and sings, "la,la,la... not listening."
Get off your highhorse and open up your mind to what it really means to bring a club success.
Rosella
21 Aug 2006, 13:45
And probably from your point of view he's also responsible for the conflict in the Middle East, high petrol prices and Dancing on Ice?
You seem to be so prejudiced against Thomspon that no matter what other suggestions come up (whether valid or not), you dismiss them as rubbish without assessing them in any way.
Certainly, Bomber has to take a large part of the responsibility for the crap year, but is it his 'solely'? No.
And your responses have been suggesting that you're acting like a little kid who sticks his fingers in his ears and sings, "la,la,la... not listening."
Get off your highhorse and open up your mind to what it really means to bring a club success.
Well said. I was going to add he was seen near Pompeii 79 AD so that's his fault as well.
Renegade - lay off - you're a one note band.
darren forssman
21 Aug 2006, 14:37
Damn that guy, that explains how our tactics of playing listless, disinterested and unaccountable footy didn't result in the wins we surely deserved.
i agree, that game against the saints (just to name one this season) when we had so much to play for and gain by winning we lost. but not because the saints had our gameplan but because we were unaccountable, insipid and generally not interested.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
21 Aug 2006, 14:40
Haha great call. I'm with you, and Catman.
And before his "ass (is) sued off him", as shahla selena said, let's just remember that the club sacked him whilst in contract before he did anything to the club.
Hard to give away a game plan when one didnt even exsist
CatmanForever
21 Aug 2006, 15:24
those like renegade who are coming out and calling everyone stupid for believing or talking about the possibilities of what has happened are missing the whole point. No-one has ever said that the Bertolacci situation is the reason why we have lost. No-one has said that the pathetic and insipid efforts put in by our players is Bertolaccis fault. The club hasn't said it and supporters haven't said it. Yet people like renegade, who are all class, come on here and call people stupid. Good one mate, how to make friends and influence people (not).
All I have ever said is that IF IT IS TRUE..and that is with a big IF.....then one must have to look at the season a little differently from how we have been. The awul pathetic performances still need to be reviewed, the players and coaches need to be held accountable. But if Bertolacci has done this very low act, then Bomber has a case for saying he should be given another year.
Spare a thought for the poor man, i mean up until Lorris was sacked Cameron Ling was only the second ugliest person at the footy club.
How was this guy a fitness coach? He reminded me of what Monty Burns would look like if he had a personal trainer. Surely, someone who knows about fitness wouldn't look so sickly pale and fragile. Shame on Geelong for giving him a chance.
Cattery
21 Aug 2006, 16:33
This whole thing is starting to look like a Roman circus, and a damm embarrassment to boot, I've never seen so much buck passing outside of politics.
All we've heard from Thompson and the club recently is excuses, and pretty pathetic ones at that "our fitness wasn't good enough, our game plan has been given away" and now the coach says just give me one more year, sure Thommo, no worries, seven years is obviously not long enough.
Think it's about time to step back, take a long hard look at Thompson, and his assistant coaches, and realise that they're just not up to the task, it's not fitness or missing game plans that's responsible for poor [ to put it mildly ] team selections, poor decision making on match days, or apathetic performances from the players on far to many occasions.
Big fan of Thommo as a person, but I'm beginning to lose even that given his comments recently, he's starting to look like a guy willing to put his own survival ahead of the interest of the club, and the sad part is that I reckon we're stuck with him for another year.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
21 Aug 2006, 23:32
I'm with you, Cattery.
Every team knows what every team's game plans are. The game is fully professional. We all know what our game plan is, and it isn't successful. It is rubbish. Get over it.
CatmanForever
22 Aug 2006, 00:31
he's starting to look like a guy willing to put his own survival ahead of the interest of the club
that is a big call Cattery, really I don't think Bomber is that type of person. I think you are dead wrong there. But the nuffs will agree with you because the anti-bomber bandwagon is the best ride around at the moment for disgruntled Cats fans. :(
Cattery
22 Aug 2006, 01:11
that is a big call Cattery, really I don't think Bomber is that type of person. I think you are dead wrong there. But the nuffs will agree with you because the anti-bomber bandwagon is the best ride around at the moment for disgruntled Cats fans. :(
Agreed, and I don't, or at least I didn't, think of him in that way either, and I sincerely hope I'm wrong now, but all his comments over the last few weeks seem to point that way.
He seems to be trying to lay the blame anywhere but on himself and his assistants, and let's be honest, the excuses he, and the club, have been coming up with are really pretty pathetic.
I'm quite willing to admit I may be wrong in my assessment of him, and as I've already said, I hope I am, the one opinion of him that I am sure of though is that he's a "very" average coach, a coach who seems bereft of new ideas, unwilling, or unable, to try anything different.
From team selection to strategy on match day, he, and his assistants, just don't seem capable of getting it right, and I think it's time for a complete change.
I'm not jumping on the "anti-bomber bandwagon", I've believed for some time now that he's just not adequate for the job, and enough is enough.
Renegade
22 Aug 2006, 15:36
Well said. I was going to add he was seen near Pompeii 79 AD so that's his fault as well.
Renegade - lay off - you're a one note band.
Oh right so Thompson is doing a sublime job with this club in your eyes? 7 years with nothing to show and you're delighted with things? Typical Geelong fans...
accept mediocrity with a grin on their face.
TheTimeCometh
22 Aug 2006, 16:11
'04 - we were too 'small' compared to the big boys.
'05 - we had debilitating injuries to our list.
'06 - ...wonder what it'll be this year.
there really doesn't seem to be a stand out excuse this year. is this it?
Inferno
22 Aug 2006, 16:47
Oh right so Thompson is doing a sublime job with this club in your eyes? 7 years with nothing to show and you're delighted with things? Typical Geelong fans...
accept mediocrity with a grin on their face.No one ever said that dip****. Stop saying people have said things when they clearly haven't.
No one ever said that dip****. Stop saying people have said things when they clearly haven't.
ditto
no one is happy with mediocrity performances, and everyone who says that about geelong fans can get f@rked - including geel supporters.
i want the cats to win the flag as much as anyone on this board, doesn't mean i accept their results this year because I don't critise every player on our list and highlight every possible coaching wrong-doing...
we have 35-40 players on the list because they are the best we can put together, and we have Mark Thompson as coach because the board feels that he has got a definite and viable plan that will see us succeed.
Thats life - deal with it.
chapmanmagic35
22 Aug 2006, 17:54
Thompson/GFC/etc have never solely blamed the year on fitness...
By the way Renegade, the "sack Bomber" and "it's all his fault" routine wears thin after a while.
darren forssman
22 Aug 2006, 18:16
has "renegade" taken angry pills lately or has someone stolen his/her identity.
his/her posts from 2 months ago were quite laidback and informative.
Partridge
22 Aug 2006, 18:17
I'll tell you what Thompson most certainly is responsible for:
1. Selecting the correct team to give us the best chance of winning.
2. Motivating the players to play committed, desperate, professional football, including skills development and discipline on and off the field.
3. Managing the preparation of the players from the commencement of preseason training to round 1 and up to round 22 and beyond.
4. Tactics on match day.
5. Appointing skilled resources as assistant coaches to further assist the development of the playing group to the best of their ability.
I would say there are serious question marks over some or all of these this season. You can rant and rave at supporters who dare question him but as a coach this season has been an unmitigated disaster. And stop defending him - he's had 7 years to learn and improve.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
22 Aug 2006, 21:25
Partridge, again you go and prove to me that you're my favourite poster.
Renegade
22 Aug 2006, 21:50
has "renegade" taken angry pills lately or has someone stolen his/her identity.
his/her posts from 2 months ago were quite laidback and informative.
Just sick of the same old crap.
I hate seeing our club in this position and i'll vent here and get it all out. The way we operate we'll never see a damn premiership. I'd like my old man to see a Geelong flag as well. Oh....and i'm taking the g/f to the game to try and convert her to be a fan of the blue and white....might as well share the friggin misery.
Partridge, again you go and prove to me that you're my favourite poster.
Do u ever get off ur knees? :p
GRANGE_GSM
23 Aug 2006, 10:59
look i agree with peoples view...whether its one thing or the other....this topic is pretty "unknown" so we all guess.....but
a)how can this bloke get these players fit if half the squad isnt on the park
b)maybe the game plan issue has stuffed us....but is there a game plan for putting your head over the ball or running with the flight or showing courage with gut running?
and finally its a massive "dog" act for this bloke to discuss anyones private life at all!does this guy have morals????.....the game plan issue is something we cant control,its a dog eat dog world,if he wants to further himself in football then let him do it cos our boys should be able to conquor it if they are mentally tough enough!!
lets not make excuses here for our horror of a season.we havent used the game plan excuse when we won lately so lets not use it when we losse!
Copernicus
23 Aug 2006, 13:16
I'd love to know the full story to this, but if Loris has gone out and given our game plan and various other inside details of the club to other people, can the club sue or otherwise take legal action? It certainly is vindictive and obnoxious if true.
Anyway, I'm not really sure what to make of all this talk about the coach - I think an injection of fresh blood would help, but whether it is the head coach (Bomber) who needs to go, or some/all of the assistant, I am not sure of. I remember when Cresswell was midfield coach we seemed to be performing marvellously, but now we have Lovell the midfield seems much more under the pump. I wonder how much effect the assistant coaches and their defective match-ups, training routines and specific game plans are having outside of Bomber's obvious deficiencies.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
24 Aug 2006, 00:09
Do u ever get off ur knees? :p
He says it as it bloody as, which is more than can be said about 90% of the people on here.
My5t3r10u5
24 Aug 2006, 15:32
He says it as it bloody as, which is more than can be said about 90% of the people on here.
Correction, he says it as he sees it which is the same as 100% of the people on here. Let's not lose sight of the fact that 99.9% of the stuff on these boards is opinion. What bugs me is when people state their opinion (whatever it is) as if it is fact and blast other people for having a different opinion. I love it that people have different opinions to mine - how boring if everyone thought the same as me.
Now here's my opinion. I think Thompson is a good coach (just like I thought Malthouse was a good coach last year when all the Magpie fans were calling for his head). I'm sure most people wouldn't be saying the same thing about Thompson if Geelong kick one more goal against the Dogs and Eagles and 2 more goals against the Dees and Tigers. The difference between success and failure is slim and can swing on a lucky bounce or free kick. Let's look at his successes as well as failures - couldn't do much better in the opening 2 games, gutsy win against the Saints (1st time round), fantastic win against Fremantle (look what they've done since!), good enough to be 26 points up against the Dees and 54 points up against the Eagles, great win last week against the Swans. I think there's enough promise in there to give him another year.
But that's just my opinion...http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
25 Aug 2006, 01:58
Correction, he says it as he sees it which is the same as 100% of the people on here. Let's not lose sight of the fact that 99.9% of the stuff on these boards is opinion. What bugs me is when people state their opinion (whatever it is) as if it is fact and blast other people for having a different opinion. I love it that people have different opinions to mine - how boring if everyone thought the same as me.
Now here's my opinion. I think Thompson is a good coach (just like I thought Malthouse was a good coach last year when all the Magpie fans were calling for his head). I'm sure most people wouldn't be saying the same thing about Thompson if Geelong kick one more goal against the Dogs and Eagles and 2 more goals against the Dees and Tigers. The difference between success and failure is slim and can swing on a lucky bounce or free kick. Let's look at his successes as well as failures - couldn't do much better in the opening 2 games, gutsy win against the Saints (1st time round), fantastic win against Fremantle (look what they've done since!), good enough to be 26 points up against the Dees and 54 points up against the Eagles, great win last week against the Swans. I think there's enough promise in there to give him another year.
But that's just my opinion...http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
Yes, we all have different opinions.
In the same way, some Geelong supporters accept mediocrity, whilst others don't.
Renegade
25 Aug 2006, 13:10
Trash trash and more trash!
No point talkin about 'oh a couple of goals this week, another 5 points that week etc... and we'd all be hard over Thompson's coaching efforts'. If we had 7 more points in 1989 and didnt choke against WCE we'd be a much calmer bunch i'm sure. Might as well include that in your little fantasy as well.
Good enough to be 26 points up vs Melb and 54 vs West Coast? No prizes for half time leads i'm afraid.
We've had a very nice list for quite a few years, one that's definately had a huge chance at a flag. You say Thompson has promise....PROMISE????? He's had 7 friggin years with this club and done absolutely nothing! Hey here's a thought, lets go and pick up Dean Rioli......he has promise.....he's getting pretty old and he's a fat lazy pig unwilling to put in the hard yards but hey.....we want to build our club up around 'promise'!
When the hell will you people stop accepting mediocrity and just plain bull**** from our club? Just because we've all been brought up to accept disappointment it doesn't mean we have to continue to let it happen. Thompson will bring us nothing again next year and you'll all be singing the same tune.....guarantee it.
cat in sydney
25 Aug 2006, 13:26
Trash trash and more trash!
No point talkin about 'oh a couple of goals this week, another 5 points that week etc... and we'd all be hard over Thompson's coaching efforts'. If we had 7 more points in 1989 and didnt choke against WCE we'd be a much calmer bunch i'm sure. Might as well include that in your little fantasy as well.
Good enough to be 26 points up vs Melb and 54 vs West Coast? No prizes for half time leads i'm afraid.
We've had a very nice list for quite a few years, one that's definately had a huge chance at a flag. You say Thompson has promise....PROMISE????? He's had 7 friggin years with this club and done absolutely nothing! Hey here's a thought, lets go and pick up Dean Rioli......he has promise.....he's getting pretty old and he's a fat lazy pig unwilling to put in the hard yards but hey.....we want to build our club up around 'promise'!
When the hell will you people stop accepting mediocrity and just plain bull**** from our club? Just because we've all been brought up to accept disappointment it doesn't mean we have to continue to let it happen. Thompson will bring us nothing again next year and you'll all be singing the same tune.....guarantee it.
I reckon it will be you eating your words, renegade.
2007 will be a big year for the Cats. :thumbsu:
Let's come back to this thread at the end of season 2007, and see who's right!!
Renegade
25 Aug 2006, 14:01
I reckon it will be you eating your words, renegade.
2007 will be a big year for the Cats. :thumbsu:
Let's come back to this thread at the end of season 2007, and see who's right!!
Yeah it'll be 'our year' like about 30 of the last 43 years have been. I'm happy to prove you wrong though.
Rosella
25 Aug 2006, 14:04
Yeah it'll be 'our year' like about 30 of the last 43 years have been. I'm happy to prove you wrong though.
You're happy for us not to succeed next year! :(
Renegade
25 Aug 2006, 14:06
You're happy for us not to succeed next year! :(
No, i want a flag as much as anyone. However it looks like Thompson is staying so we might as well accept the inevitable.
Partridge
25 Aug 2006, 14:35
No, i want a flag as much as anyone. However it looks like Thompson is staying so we might as well accept the inevitable.
Thompson would have to improve dramatically in tactics, team selection, game plan (that is actually have one), support staff, overall discipline of the playing group and just take fecking responsibility for his job. If you guys can see this occurring good for you but I see more of the same "nearly good enough" bull****.
I very happy to be proven wrong but this forum is all about honest opinions, there's mine.
jacross
25 Aug 2006, 17:36
So did you mean to say 'I'm happy to be proven wrong though' then?
Boundary-Rider
25 Aug 2006, 18:02
So our game plan was made available to other teams. So What.
I would be more worried about specific personal information about each player getting out. Our game plan is just that a game plan which should and must be changed as dictated by the game and team we play. Sure it is fine to have a set game plan or more specifically team rules. However as i have said we must be able to move to another plan. Surely our forward scouts have great knowledge of the teams we will be playing as this is why they get paid.
In coaching the ability to adapt to change is important and with this in mind team rules are more important than match plans. This game plan is theory and the actual game is reality. Theory and reality seldom are the same thing.
The fitness base of the players is something that a decent preseason or addition specific training can target and improve levels. Did not notice a new fitness coach appointed so one has to assume that a fitness plan had been done for each player.
As others have said the inside information would have generally been available if a assistant coach or head coach had moved onto a new club. Even players that have changed clubs would have some inside game plan knowledge.
Bertolacci may have screwed the club as many have said but i think that some of the players have let us down more. That being said we need to get over side issues and move forward. yes we will not make finals, yes we have underachieved, yes there is a tommorrow or in our case next year.
Excuses are just that excuses. In reality if we had won just one the the supposed safe home games we would be right. Remember that Bertolacci was let go well before some of the losses and the players and coaching staff had time to lift the fitness base after his departure.
Lets move on and let the club sort out the Bertolacci issue.
chapmanmagic35
25 Aug 2006, 18:04
So our game plan was made available to other teams. So What.
I would be more worried about specific personal information about each player getting out. Our game plan is just that a game plan which should and must be changed as dictated by the game and team we play. Sure it is fine to have a set game plan or more specifically team rules. However as i have said we must be able to move to another plan. Surely our forward scouts have great knowledge of the teams we will be playing as this is why they get paid.
In coaching the ability to adapt to change is important and with this in mind team rules are more important than match plans. This game plan is theory and the actual game is reality. Theory and reality seldom are the same thing.
The fitness base of the players is something that a decent preseason or addition specific training can target and improve levels. Did not notice a new fitness coach appointed so one has to assume that a fitness plan had been done for each player.
As others have said the inside information would have generally been available if a assistant coach or head coach had moved onto a new club. Even players that have changed clubs would have some inside game plan knowledge.
Bertolacci may have screwed the club as many have said but i think that some of the players have let us down more. That being said we need to get over side issues and move forward. yes we will not make finals, yes we have underachieved, yes there is a tommorrow or in our case next year.
Excuses are just that excuses. In reality if we had won just one the the supposed safe home games we would be right. Remember that Bertolacci was let go well before some of the losses and the players and coaching staff had time to lift the fitness base after his departure.
Lets move on and let the club sort out the Bertolacci issue.
Stay tuned to this case unfolding....I think we'll find more than just a game plan.
Rosella
25 Aug 2006, 18:27
Stay tuned to this case unfolding....I think we'll find more than just a game plan.
"The Cats claim former fitness coach Loris Bertolacci leaked the 100-page tactical document"
We weren't talking about an A4 laminated peice of paper with arrows drawn on it.
Western Cat
27 Aug 2006, 05:22
On 3AW yesterday when Cook mentioned that a club had returned the document to him he was asked if that club had beaten Geelong. He paused and then said....yes. Can't be Port Adelaide then. My guess is the Eagles. He'd still have a few good friends there I'd think.
It wasn't West Coast cause David Wirrpanda told someone I know (big Cat fan) that the players all received copies of it and it wasn't just game plans, it was inside info and dirt on players, information to use against them and get inside their heads, info about the cliques and powers within the club etc. It was clearly damaging and potent stuff that no club would ever want their opponents to find out.
No it's not the reason we missed the finals, the pitiful displays against too many teams to mention, the blown chances, the insipid effort in "Big" "Must Win" games are clearly to blame, but, the Bertolacci treachery certainly didn't help our cause.