View Full Version : Stuart Dew - it's time to go

Papa G
21 Aug 2006, 12:08
He's had a bad year and has a severe attitude problem.

The biggest thing that irks me about Dew is that when one of players has a set shot, inside 50 he sits outside the 50 metre ark sceams for the ball. When they don't kick it to him he screams abuse at his own team mate. I've seen him do it in the past and he did it again to Salopek on Friday night. Salo slotted the goal. The irony is when Dew had the chance to ice the game, he ran too close to the mark and missed.

Used to be a fan of Dew's but all the things I loved him for he no longer produces. I think his interests lie in hanging out with A listers more than the Port Adelaide football club.

Jesse
21 Aug 2006, 12:20
I thought Dew was quite servicable in this game, especially in the first half. Has been average this year though.

Porthos
21 Aug 2006, 12:24
Can we make an agreement? Lets agree not to be those guys that get used to mediocre performances and think they're actually good.

Papa G
21 Aug 2006, 12:52
Can we make an agreement? Lets agree not to be those guys that get used to mediocre performances and think they're actually good.

Done.

Could we get anything for him if we tradeed him? Do other clubs still rate him on his reputation? Do you think clubs would feel that he could change his attitude if he changed clubs? I guess this would be more of a question for opposition supporters.

Pred
21 Aug 2006, 13:38
Can we make an agreement? Lets agree not to be those guys that get used to mediocre performances and think they're actually good.:thumbsu:

Visave', Stuwy, it's nearly time to go.

*PAFC*13
21 Aug 2006, 13:42
He's had a bad year and has a severe attitude problem.

The biggest thing that irks me about Dew is that when one of players has a set shot, inside 50 he sits outside the 50 metre ark sceams for the ball. When they don't kick it to him he screams abuse at his own team mate. I've seen him do it in the past and he did it again to Salopek on Friday night. Salo slotted the goal. The irony is when Dew had the chance to ice the game, he ran too close to the mark and missed.

Used to be a fan of Dew's but all the things I loved him for he no longer produces. I think his interests lie in hanging out with A listers more than the Port Adelaide football club.

Surj handballed it to him on the weekend and he kicked a point. He ended up with 3 points for the game and 0 goals. I also agree its time for Stuey to go.. Too fat, too lazy!

blackdiamond
21 Aug 2006, 14:47
I've seen him do it in the past and he did it again to Salopek on Friday night. Salo slotted the goal.

I saw that exact same incident, he also did when Ebert slotted a goal from close range - Dew thought he should have received the handball.

cooperjai
21 Aug 2006, 16:05
He used to have a great kick but it didn't show on the weekend.

I think he needs to be given an ultimatum, "concentrate on your footy and forget the limelight, lose some weight or you are out of here".

If he can regain his form from past years then I would love to see him stay.

Porthos
21 Aug 2006, 16:53
I think he needs to be given an ultimatum, "concentrate on your footy and forget the limelight,lose some weight or you are out of here".Becuase thats worked so well in the past?

PowerKat
21 Aug 2006, 17:14
Very disappointing year really. I thought he was one of very few players to try his guts out most weeks last year but this year he's nearly totally lost me. One bad year wouldn't be curtains you wouldn't think, but the hard word better be on him. I believe he's given some latitude because of injury problems restricting his training but next year has to be crunch time.

Jesse
21 Aug 2006, 17:26
It will be so sad seeing dew leave, he used to be such an exciting player to watch. The excitement we used to feel when he would unload a torp from 60 to get us back in a game used to have the whole crowd on their feet. Those sort of magical players come aorund very rarely. Shame his form has been so poor. I would hate to trade him and then see him carve it up at another club but looks likely.

Pred
21 Aug 2006, 17:40
It will be so sad seeing dew leave, he used to be such an exciting player to watch. The excitement we used to feel when he would unload a torp from 60 to get us back in a game used to have the whole crowd on their feet. Those sort of magical players come aorund very rarely. Shame his form has been so poor. I would hate to trade him and then see him carve it up at another club but looks likely.I'm sure we all know where you're coming from, but it's that sort of sentimentality which Fos used to say was the hallmark of lesser clubs: i.e. keeping someone on board who is not totally committed to your next premiership. In Fos' words "a no-hoper".

PJ Power
21 Aug 2006, 18:05
His conversion for goal has been down for a fair while now - very few trademark goals and his setshots haven't been hitting the mark either.

Even though he was still maligned a bit in our Premiership year, he played some decent cameos in certain games in the finals (especially the Geelong game) and was much more dangerous than he has been for the entire 2006 season.

I don't mind that the coach doesn't publicly berate him, but if anyone is going to cop negative criticism during PCs/interviews, he should be at the top of the list.

Jesse
21 Aug 2006, 18:08
I'm sure we all know where you're coming from, but it's that sort of sentimentality which Fos used to say was the hallmark of lesser clubs: i.e. keeping someone on board who is not totally committed to your next premiership. In Fos' words "a no-hoper".

I think if we can get something decent for him we should do it, I will just hate it if he ends up playing like he used to for some other club. If we get poor offers i think it would b worth hanging onto him on a performance based contract.

ctpower
21 Aug 2006, 18:13
his time was up long ago but he is a williams favourite and so he will stay.
He would be very handy at a club like st kilda, wce, sydney or even the crows where he can finish off the hard work of other players.

Gets!
21 Aug 2006, 18:16
We'll take him.

pafc4life
21 Aug 2006, 18:24
Let's face it the role hes been playing for the last couple of seasons doesnt suit him, he's a natural goalkicker.

Toots Hibbert
21 Aug 2006, 18:26
We'll take him.
What would you give up for him?

What about say....Maric? (We'd throw in Lonie to sweeten the deal)

Papa G
21 Aug 2006, 18:27
Dew and Thurstans to Bulldogs for Ryan Griffen

Power21
21 Aug 2006, 18:30
I think everyone is forgeting last year.

He was great last year, and his body type, coupled with injuries makes it near impossible to stay in really good shape, he is actually doing very well to be where he is at considering he needs to train a helluva lot more than his team mates to stay match fit.

Power21
21 Aug 2006, 18:32
Let's face it the role hes been playing for the last couple of seasons doesnt suit him, he's a natural goalkicker.

I want him on a flank or in a pocket all of next year.

Santos L Helper
21 Aug 2006, 18:49
I think everyone is forgeting last year.

He was great last year, and his body type, coupled with injuries makes it near impossible to stay in really good shape, he is actually doing very well to be where he is at considering he needs to train a helluva lot more than his team mates to stay match fit.

Last year is history. He's been nothing short of a huge disappointment all season (even though I love watching him in full flight). As for not being able to stay in shape, that's a cop out. Next we'll hear that he's 'big boned' or that it's 'glandular'. He trains hard, leaves the fork out of his mouth a couple of times and he's going to get fit....for him.
Hard work on the track, shows up as hard work in a game. Dew has shown neither.

Power21
21 Aug 2006, 18:55
Last year is history. He's been nothing short of a huge disappointment all season (even though I love watching him in full flight). As for not being able to stay in shape, that's a cop out. Next we'll hear that he's 'big boned' or that it's 'glandular'. He trains hard, leaves the fork out of his mouth a couple of times and he's going to get fit....for him.
Hard work on the track, shows up as hard work in a game. Dew has shown neither.

It definatly isn't a cop out and i suggest you don't make such stupid comments on things you have no clue about.

Fact is he needs to train twice as hard and watch what he eats so much more because of his body type.

As for a huge dissapointment, well it's a yes and no, sure he has been terrible in a few games but like friday night he has been serviceable to good in a few others, people on here just like to single him out in particular for some reason.

What about Mahoney he has been shocking most of the year, a few good games, a 6 goal haul and that's it. He may aswell have pulled on a pies jumper friday because every time he touched it, the ball went to them.

Santos L Helper
21 Aug 2006, 19:15
It definatly isn't a cop out and i suggest you don't make such stupid comments on things you have no clue about.

Fact is he needs to train twice as hard and watch what he eats so much more because of his body type.

As for a huge dissapointment, well it's a yes and no, sure he has been terrible in a few games but like friday night he has been serviceable to good in a few others, people on here just like to single him out in particular for some reason.

What about Mahoney he has been shocking most of the year, a few good games, a 6 goal haul and that's it. He may aswell have pulled on a pies jumper friday because every time he touched it, the ball went to them.

Meh...

He trains hard and he gets fit FOR HIS BODY TYPE. Understand now? And stop with the generalisations, as it makes you look like a tool. Many people here do have an abundance of knowledge in many different fields. One field i have worked in, is in fact sports fitness and specialist training methods and programs. So whilst you assume I know nothing, you should perhaps stop making **** up yourself.
Did you even read my post? I said, I love watching him play, but he's become a bludger and no amount of blind loyalty will stop that from being fact. One half servicable game doesn't make a good season.

Power21
21 Aug 2006, 19:27
Meh...

He trains hard and he gets fit FOR HIS BODY TYPE. Understand now? And stop with the generalisations, as it makes you look like a tool. Many people here do have an abundance of knowledge in many different fields. One field i have worked in, is in fact sports fitness and specialist training methods and programs. So whilst you assume I know nothing, you should perhaps stop making **** up yourself.
Did you even read my post? I said, I love watching him play, but he's become a bludger and no amount of blind loyalty will stop that from being fact. One half servicable game doesn't make a good season.

You said he isn't fit and said that him not being able to stay fit because of his shape is a cop out, now you are saying he is fit for his body type, so what are you really saying?

I only assumed you knew nothing because that's how you came across, to be honest i couldn't give a stuff what field of work you have or haven't been in, you came acrossa s having no idea.

Macca19
21 Aug 2006, 19:44
Hes never been fat in the past. Just big and solid. This year and most notably the last few weeks, hes just plain fat. Drastically unfit.

Porthos
21 Aug 2006, 19:52
He would be very handy at a club like st kilda, wce, sydney or even the crows where he can finish off the hard work of other players.If he finished off our hard work, we wouldn't be saying to trade him.

Santos L Helper
21 Aug 2006, 19:57
You said he isn't fit and said that him not being able to stay fit because of his shape is a cop out, now you are saying he is fit for his body type, so what are you really saying?

I only assumed you knew nothing because that's how you came across, to be honest i couldn't give a stuff what field of work you have or haven't been in, you came acrossa s having no idea.

Coming from you, I'll take that as a compliment because it's easy to assume you don't understand anything that isn't spoon fed to you. I'm guessing, (no, I'm sure) that you only like to talk to people who agree with your simplistic view of the world. Perhaps you need to understand that some people are realistic, and sometimes critical, but it's all so that some change might be made. Everything with Dew IS NOT fine, things need to change!

*PAF
21 Aug 2006, 20:09
I am one of Dewies biggest fans but people that get paid between $200,000.00 and $300,000.00 a year to be fit should not have a podge.
He is paid humungous amounts of money to be AFL fit not Amateurs fit.

Pred
21 Aug 2006, 21:22
The only excuse I can profer for Dewy's form this year is: Is he still suffering from some OP?

Not that OP is an excuse for being so overweight.

missionpossible
21 Aug 2006, 22:50
The only excuse I can profer for Dewy's form this year is: Is he still suffering from some OP?

Not that OP is an excuse for being so overweight.

Be careful of critisising Dews weight. Yes it is a big issue that he has had to fight all his career and when he finishes football he will more than likely make Bill brownless look thin.

The poor guy only needs to look at food and he puts on wait. If you ever get the chance to see the boys eat when away interstate you will note all the boys having big meals to build up their intake before a game and more likely you will see poor stewy sitting down to a bowl of soup in an attempt to keep his weight in tack.

He needs to be injury free so that he can do as much track work as possible to keep his weight down.

Pred
21 Aug 2006, 22:54
Be careful of critisising Dews weight. Yes it is a big issue that he has had to fight all his career and when he finishes football he will more than likely make Bill brownless look thin.

The poor guy only needs to look at food and he puts on wait. If you ever get the chance to see the boys eat when away interstate you will note all the boys having big meals to build up their intake before a game and more likely you will see poor stewy sitting down to a bowl of soup in an attempt to keep his weight in tack.

He needs to be injury free so that he can do as much track work as possible to keep his weight down.Don't worry bro, I am not exactly fading away myself, but then again I am not on the salary Dewy is, and I am not a professional AFL player, expected to be fit and have low skinfolds.

I know it's a struggle for him, but unfortunately that one is Dewy's problem. He has a responsibility to the PAFC to get himself right.

Gets!
22 Aug 2006, 00:08
Skipworth for Dew maybe?

Or a 4th rounder?

Eago77
22 Aug 2006, 00:26

Atleast the officer puts in. When he turns the ball over, the first thing he does is bust his guts trying to win it back. If Dewy turns it over he shrugs and eats another pie!

RussellEbertHandball
22 Aug 2006, 01:13
.... to the fat farm. There are 5 weeks between the end of the season and trade week. Tell him he has to loose 8kgs before trade week or he is gone. It worked for Kingsley at the end of 2003. He doesn't have OP so he can run. He can also walk 20km a day for 5 weeks or ride a bike. That way we will see how keen he really is to pay. Carey asked Primus a few weeks ago what Dew's skinfold reading was and Primus said 67. Carey said Pagan wouldn't play anyone unless he was in the low 50's. Time to prove you really want to play AFL footy Stuie.

Eago77
22 Aug 2006, 01:48
.... to the fat farm. There are 5 weeks between the end of the season and trade week. Tell him he has to loose 8kgs before trade week or he is gone. It worked for Kingsley at the end of 2003. He doesn't have OP so he can run. He can also walk 20km a day for 5 weeks or ride a bike. That way we will see how keen he really is to pay. Carey asked Primus a few weeks ago what Dew's skinfold reading was and Primus said 67. Carey said Pagan wouldn't play anyone unless he was in the low 50's. Time to prove you really want to play AFL footy Stuie.

Obviously Primus dropped the 1 from infront of '67'.

Btw did't The Fridge play under Pagan at NM? He wasn't overly slim. Perhaps Dennis has changed his policy otherwise FatBoy Lance wouldn't be at the blues.

RussellEbertHandball
22 Aug 2006, 02:01
Obviously Primus dropped the 1 from infront of '67'.

Btw did't The Fridge play under Pagan at NM? He wasn't overly slim. Perhaps Dennis has changed his policy otherwise FatBoy Lance wouldn't be at the blues.

The Fridge lost a lot of fat weight and replaced it with muscle at North under Pagan. Pagan has less options at Carlton compared to North, so Lance gets away with it a bit. However, you gotta give a slap on the back to Lance, this year unlike other seasons where he did a good preseason, lost the weight, then stacked it back on, he has kept it off during the season.

Mr Magoo
22 Aug 2006, 03:14
Very disappointing year really. I thought he was one of very few players to try his guts out most weeks last year but this year he's nearly totally lost me. One bad year wouldn't be curtains you wouldn't think, but the hard word better be on him. I believe he's given some latitude because of injury problems restricting his training but next year has to be crunch time.

I've said it here before Stuey Dew could've went down as a champion for the Port Adelaide football club if only he would've been more dedicated to football.

Now i'm not aware of if he has any injury/medical condition or something that's restricting him out on the field, but the question has to be asked is Stewy doing everything in his power so that he's the best condition to play football at afl level.

Look the guy is not slightly overweight & there are plenty of things you can do to help improve your figure/fitness levels such as wing chung(any martial art in fact), boxing, pilaties, yoga, aerobics, weights, swimming, running, cycling & just being active & drinking at least 2-3 litres of water a day.

I'm fairly sure that we tradded Cummings once he started putting on a fair bit of weight years ago to Collin'wood.

*PAFC*13
22 Aug 2006, 11:19
Skipworth for Dew maybe?

Or a 4th rounder?

Pass! Skipworth is an absolute dud… I wouldn’t even trade Bishop for Skipworth… Maric for Dew would be a good trade… If not maybe Reilly? Am I aiming too high? :p

Papa G
22 Aug 2006, 11:28
It's all down to his attitude - I continually see him berating fellow team mates for not passing to him and giving him soft possessions. I even see it when he clearly is in a bad position. He thinks he is one of the senior boys in the team but his actions and form do not warrant this. His ability with the ladies has detracted from his football.