View Full Version : top 10 fremantle moments

mrboy
10 Feb 2002, 11:11
what are they for you?

Porthos
11 Feb 2002, 17:31
Wow, I knew Fremantle had a bad history, but I didn't think there would be no highlights :) You guys rock ;)

Balip
11 Feb 2002, 18:10
Portos I have to take the bait!

In no particular order

1. Beating the eagles by 1 point

2. Beating the eagles for the first time

3. Beating Carlton in 1996

4. Leach's kick after the siren to beat Brisbane

5. The Win over North on Anzac Day

6. Wills goal in that match

7. The fights in the demolition Derby

8. Umpire Careys Mark

9. Clement running down that Guy from Geelong

10. Win over Adelaide Last Year (this wasn't really a highlight but in comparision to all of the lowlights for the year)

masai
11 Feb 2002, 18:14
Thumping Port twice in 2000.

I remember the second game which was at the WACA, would have to be the worst weather I have ever watched footy in.

Esperito
11 Feb 2002, 18:22
I probably won't get through the full 10... but my top 3 Freo moments are dedicated to two of Freo's unsung goalkicking heroes.

1) The number one moment MUST go to Kingsley Hunter's 7 goal haul vs Collingwood at Victoria Park. It's tough enough to kick a bag of 7 on any day, but when it's at the fiery cauldron of Victoria Park...in a team that only boots a mere 9 goals... I think you'll agree this deserves the top Freo moment.

2) After half a season in the footballing wilderness, Kingsley Hunter is recalled to the Freo team to play Collingwood at Victoria Park, purely based on his heroic feats at the same ground the previous year. Sceptics were up in arms at the selection, but as Kingsley supporters expected, the big number 14 rose to the challenge and casually booted home 5 majors.

3) The third best moment has to go to the second best full forward in Fremantle history...the helmeted one... Johnny Hutton. His rampant 8 goal haul against the Swans led the side to it's largest ever winning margin in their short history.

RacerX
11 Feb 2002, 18:42
Originally posted by Balip

In no particular order

3. Beating Carlton in 1996

4. Leach's kick after the siren to beat Brisbane

5. The Win over North on Anzac Day

6. Wills goal in that match

7. The fights in the demolition Derby

8. Umpire Careys Mark

9. Clement running down that Guy from Geelong

10. Win over Adelaide Last Year (this wasn't really a highlight but in comparision to all of the lowlights for the year)

What he said, great picks all of 'em. With your permission Balip I would like to add a number 11 for Esperito and friends...

11. Kingsley finally kicking his first goal at AFL level after a number of games at full forward.

Porthos
11 Feb 2002, 19:10
I'm surprised that neither of your wins in Melbourne rated.

Esperito
11 Feb 2002, 21:07
Hmmm RacerX... he played his first match halfway through a season, so why pile on the goals straight away? The chances of winning a Coleman playing so few games in a season were minimal, so he just strolled through his first year of AFL footy, knowing that his time would come in 2002 to really have a crack at that Coleman.
Barring incorrect positioning of Aaron James by Terry Wallace this year, we should see Kingsley fulfilling his destiny come the season's end.

RacerX
12 Feb 2002, 09:50
I was just stirring Esperito:D

Good luck to Kingsley in his Coleman chase.

WA
12 Feb 2002, 19:29
I'd have thought beating Hawthorn in Melbourne last year would have warranted a mention. :)

It certainly stands out in my mind! :D

goal_umpire
13 Feb 2002, 07:46
Originally posted by WA
I'd have thought beating Hawthorn in Melbourne last year would have warranted a mention. :)

It certainly stands out in my mind! :D
idiot

masai
13 Feb 2002, 12:16
One thing that Freo have always done very well is the Anzac Day tribute. They are a highlight especially if the game is at night, it is quite spectacular and I'll admit very moving.

Modra in full flight was always a highlight probably due to his sportsmanship, pity about him getting "raped" regularly, but that's past history ........

Willsy soccering the goal against the Roos.

Modra intercepting a kick in the midfield (followed his man) and then quickly passing it to a forward, to stave of the Saints a couple of years ago.

Beating the Don's in Melbourne, a Freo player kicked the ball towards the goals, siren went, ball kept rolling along, the Dons walked off for an orange, a Freo player "escorted" the ball over the line. Result was a valuable goal

Our highlights are in our future, yes we've had some great moments but we've got alot to look forward to.

daddy_4_eyes
13 Feb 2002, 12:30
Originally posted by Balip

In no particular order

Great to see you fear the eagles so much that a win against us rates as your top 2 achievements :D

Ohh, i noticed suzie has invaded your boards too. Run for cover people because where she goes, stupidity follows

Balip
13 Feb 2002, 12:33
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

Great to see you fear the eagles so much that a win against us rates as your top 2 achievements :D

I was going to add Matera cleaning up the ump but that was an eagles highlight:D

Talking about Anzac day the best pre match entertainment I have ever seen was the game against Brisbane where they turned thee lights out and had the chopper simulation with the people marching out. That was really moving.

RacerX
13 Feb 2002, 12:46
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

Ohh, i noticed suzie has invaded your boards too. Run for cover people because where she goes, stupidity follows

Ouch, such spite! How did this Suzi bird attract so much negative attention from the eagles crew in so few posts.

Stucey
13 Feb 2002, 13:00
How!!! She is as weird as they come mate, and they know her from another board as well......

S.J Rollin
13 Feb 2002, 14:39
#1. Ringside seats to the Kickett v Read stoush in the second half of the dirty derby. I could hear the sound of fist on flesh.

Fair fight with the both knowing it is time to go the knuckle on the other.

Kickett whooped him! He just had much better technique...once he landed the first couple he just worked inside Read with straight lefts and rights.

Read was nowhere...footwork and defence was a mess.
It was like he begging to be beaten into a pulp whilst swinging his arms like a six year old in a tantrum... to his credit he wore about half a dozen flush on the face before he went down. He would have been wiser to have been not so flat footed and concentrate on blocking the incoming punch rather than those nancy-girl slaps he was throwing.

only the arrival of Modra and McIntosh and a couple of men in white stopped Kickett doing a real number on him.

Read copped a shilacking and went off with the blood rule... if he is trying to potray himself as the "gutsy terrior" , he needs to some serious work on his pugilistic ability.

Kickett got the free kick... (for doing the world a favour) and gets 7 weeks (??? he got the other 2 in the 1st Q...not sure on that bit).
what i do know is he received about half a week suspension for every punch he landed on Read in that fight.

Oh...and we won the game by a point!

RacerX
13 Feb 2002, 18:47
That was a great day Mr Rollin! There were a few happy Freo fans around that day.:D

I'm undecided about whether I rate that game higher than the first derby win at an eagles home game.

The Hitman
13 Feb 2002, 18:50
Being let into the league. ;)

The Hitman

TimN
14 Feb 2002, 11:42
Here are 10 of my favourites. Since I'm stuck in Victoria, they are a bit biased towards games played over here.

1. Fremantle beating Hawthorn last year.

2. The bounce at Freo's very first AFL game, with Spider Burton in the green away strip contesting.

3. Freo beating Essendon at Waverley (in 98?), especially the incident someone else mentioned, where the siren went and the Essendon backline left the ball to roll through for a goal to Freo.

4. Craig Callaghan pile-driving John Worsfold.

5. James Clement running down Bamford against Geelong in 99 (?).

6. Beating Hawthorn at Waverley in 97. Hawthorn led by 6 goals in the second quarter, but basically failed to score in the second half. The win wasn't the highlight though - the highlight was seeing 5000 unhappy Hawthorn fans leaving the ground before the game was over.

7. An incident in one of the derbies, where Peter Matera tried to get into James Clement's face. Clement pushed him away and Matera landed on his arse, and sat there stunned for a second before getting up and trying again. Clement just repeated the dose.

8. Modra kicking 7.7 against Richmond in early 2000 and Freo hanging on to win by a point.

9. A memory which I can picture, but can't place in a particular game, of Clive leading, dropping the mark, beating his opponent to the ball, gathering, turning towards goals, sprinting, taking a bounce as his opponent sprints after him, and finishing the play off with a point.

10. A memorable, if not good moment, was Freo becoming the last team to ever lose to Fitzroy at the Western Oval in 96 (?)

Rob
18 Feb 2002, 00:53
10 most memorable (not necessarily in order, but pretty close):

1. The first derby win. It really started to get good when Modra arsed that goal from the boundary. After that, we didn't shutup. I remember at 3/4 time it started to absolutely piss down but no-one really gave a **** about their raincoats, we jsut kept jumping around and yelling our heads off. There weren't that many of us (maybe a few thousand at one end and a thousand or so scattered around the ground), but sh*t we made some noise. :)

2. Leach's goal after the siren. I was bloody lucky to be standing right behind that kick, and as soon as it came off the boot it was sailing straight through the middle. Fantastic stuff.

3. Willsy's goal. Had everyone jumping around like it was the grand final.

4. 1 point win over Adelaide a few years back. Memorable because 2 guys went down with knee injuries, Jarman kicked 8, and then completely f*cked it up with about 3 minutes to go when he tried to be the big hero by going for the torp 60 out, only to see it miss by 30 metres and sail out of bounds.

5. 1 point derby win. Probably wasn't as memorable as it could have been because the game didn't really mean an awful lot. Still, we won the fights and won the match.

6. Plugger chasing O'Reilly up the wing in 95. I've never heard so many fat arse jokes. Memorable for that reason. :)

7. Beating Hawthorn last year. Sh*t I was excited. Probably more relief than anything else.

8. That win over Carlton in 96. Probably diminished in value over the last few years, probably because the road to the finals that was predicted never eventuated, and most of the players from that day aren't around anymore. Still was a good day.

9. Dhurrkay's goal against St Kilda in 96. It's pretty obscure, and some of you mightn't remember it, but I remember is poured down with rain during the 3rd quarter and stayed until the end, and early on in the last, Dhurrkay slotted one under pressure, from the boundary line over his shoulder. Had everyone on their feet. Got us to within a goal from memory, didn't win the game though.
Also memorable due to a Stewart Loewe mark taken standing in the 6th row of seats, and while the Freo players were waiting around for the ball to take the free, he passed it to a teammate in the goalsquare for a goal. One of the worst decisions i've ever seen. I'm pretty sure the boundary umpire got dropped for a while after that. Incompetent w*nker.

10. Comment heard last Friday night after Bandy took that mark early in the first quarter: 'Give the guy a break, it's the first pack mark he's taken in 5 years!' :)

S.J Rollin
21 Feb 2002, 11:52
I was right behind Dhurrkays goal sheltering in the three tier stand from the wind and rain. Sailed through the air in a S pattern of some sort of a reverse banana kick. (aka: tumble punt or mongrel). Only got thru the sticks when the reverse swing kicked it which also happened to be in to the teeth of the 40knt gale.
Freakiest goal i have seen...had to have been a case of ball tampering or a Harry Houdini stunt achieved by smoke and mirrors.

freo_fan
21 Feb 2002, 18:31
The 3 that sick in my mind are:
The demolition derby and Mods kick at the Perth end when he hit his hands against the ground! oh I love you moddles!
When Clement ran down the skinny fella from Geelong and you could feel the adrenalin pumping through you as he got closer and closer

The Leach goal after the siren at the Brissie game, 1997. I was there and the tears were streaming down my face! What a legend!

There are so many more but I think having the team in the first place is the best moment, love the rivalry here!

i_luv_westcoast
22 Feb 2002, 08:39
9. Dhurrkay's goal against St Kilda in 96. It's pretty obscure, and some of you mightn't remember it, but I remember is poured down with rain during the 3rd quarter and stayed until the end, and early on in the last, Dhurrkay slotted one under pressure, from the boundary line over his shoulder. Had everyone on their feet. Got us to within a goal from memory, didn't win the game though.

I was at that game, and have to agree it was one of the best goals I have ever seen. It was magical, and I remember the rain to because where we were sitting everyone was moving seats to be under the roof of the three tier stand. The crowd went crazy after that goal.

S.J Rollin
22 Feb 2002, 19:24
Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
Got us to within a goal from memory

Got Who???

anchor man
22 Feb 2002, 19:56
Numbers One - ten,have to be occupied by our first win over the Toasters.To see 30,000 Toasters walk out with tears in their eyes at the end of the game was just magic.Woops hang on they were behind at 3/4 time,must have only been 10,000 left.They reckon it rained that day but it was tears of blood from the Toasters,and tears of joy from our supporters.

jod23
23 Feb 2002, 07:53
Originally posted by S.J Rollin
#1. Ringside seats to the Kickett v Read stoush in the second half of the dirty derby. I could hear the sound of fist on flesh.

Fair fight with the both knowing it is time to go the knuckle on the other.

Kickett whooped him! He just had much better technique...once he landed the first couple he just worked inside Read with straight lefts and rights.

Read was nowhere...footwork and defence was a mess.
It was like he begging to be beaten into a pulp whilst swinging his arms like a six year old in a tantrum... to his credit he wore about half a dozen flush on the face before he went down. He would have been wiser to have been not so flat footed and concentrate on blocking the incoming punch rather than those nancy-girl slaps he was throwing.

only the arrival of Modra and McIntosh and a couple of men in white stopped Kickett doing a real number on him.

Read copped a shilacking and went off with the blood rule... if he is trying to potray himself as the "gutsy terrior" , he needs to some serious work on his pugilistic ability.

Kickett got the free kick... (for doing the world a favour) and gets 7 weeks (??? he got the other 2 in the 1st Q...not sure on that bit).
what i do know is he received about half a week suspension for every punch he landed on Read in that fight.

Oh...and we won the game by a point!

You know why Kickett won the fight.....because Kickett is a thug and knows how to fight, Read probably cant fight because he's a professional football player, something that cant be said about Kickett.

Goldenblue
23 Feb 2002, 08:15
Originally posted by anchor man
Numbers One - ten,have to be occupied by our first win over the Toasters.To see 30,000 Toasters walk out with tears in their eyes at the end of the game was just magic.Woops hang on they were behind at 3/4 time,must have only been 10,000 left.They reckon it rained that day but it was tears of blood from the Toasters,and tears of joy from our supporters.

And the other 10 games you lost against us, were great to see, all those frockers thinking they had a chance against WAs premier team.....pure pipedreams...

;) :D

kuepper
23 Feb 2002, 08:49
Originally posted by jod23
You know why Kickett won the fight.....because Kickett is a thug and knows how to fight, Read probably cant fight because he's a professional football player, something that cant be said about Kickett.
Take your hand off it Jod, if Read becomes a half the player Kickett is, you'll cream your pants over him.

Seriously, take the blinkers off - it is Read who got in kickett's ear with some nice taunts, and it is kickett that decided to close that mouth - and with panache too.

Go back and watch the game, see:

1. Who starts al the fights (believe it or not, it is your mob)
2. How many different players deicde to wack phil rad - why do you think that is - random chance? No, because the angry, mouthy little pr*ck got what was coming - even watch last nights pre-season game, you see him getting all tough and mouthy - its the way he plays (and good luck to him) but dont start crying when he gets what he deserves.

Voice of Reason
23 Feb 2002, 14:28
Originally posted by anchor man

Schwabby

Go and have a look at the Eagles board and compare and contrast the threads. You lot should concentrate on your own history and start making some.

kuepper
23 Feb 2002, 14:43
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Go and have a look at the Eagles board and compare and contrast the threads. You lot should concentrate on your own history and start making some.
Then with due respect, what are you even doing commenting here - a caseof practicing what one preaches, perhaps?

Voice of Reason
23 Feb 2002, 14:50
Originally posted by kuepper

Then with due respect, what are you even doing commenting here - a caseof practicing what one preaches, perhaps?

Because I'm interested in footy generally
Because I'm interested in Freo as they are our local rivals and regularly have various Frockers (& suzi, who I think is a Docker this week) having a go at the Eagles.
Because I'm a troll who enjoys the jousting with you and the others.

On another point, I was reading that debate about Pavlich on the main board, which I found very interesting. Is the Tree OK?

kuepper
23 Feb 2002, 15:09
Because I'm interested in footy generally
Because I'm interested in Freo as they are our local rivals and regularly have various Frockers (& suzi, who I think is a Docker this week) having a go at the Eagles.
Because I'm a troll who enjoys the jousting with you and the others.

On another point, I was reading that debate about Pavlich on the main board, which I found very interesting. Is the Tree OK?
Touché, my good man, on all the above points.

Last I hear the tree was spitting chips.

Damn, I apologise for that in advance.

goal_umpire
23 Feb 2002, 15:20
I have a lot of respect for the Dockers VOR not like you. I hate the West Coast board because of the immature supporters who post on there.

So I suggest to you that you go back to your own board and stay there.

Voice of Reason
23 Feb 2002, 21:53
Originally posted by suzi_olsen
I have a lot of respect for the Dockers VOR not like you. I hate the West Coast board because of the immature supporters who post on there.

So I suggest to you that you go back to your own board and stay there.

No you hate the Eagles and everything to do with them because they rightly got rid of your hero, Ken Judge.

Goldenblue
24 Feb 2002, 13:43

No you hate the Eagles and everything to do with them because they rightly got rid of your hero, Ken Judge.

HEAR HEAR!!

:D

goal_umpire
24 Feb 2002, 14:57
Originally posted by RacerX

Ouch, such spite! How did this Suzi bird attract so much negative attention from the eagles crew in so few posts.
Because they were too immature

TheRealBuzz
24 Feb 2002, 15:41
Originally posted by kuepper
Take your hand off it Jod, if Read becomes a half the player Kickett is, you'll cream your pants over him. That's a joke right?

Read's first couple of year (before he did his knee) where as good if not better than Kickett's form through his entire bloody career.

Read will become twice the footballer Kickett is. Not that it means much, because Kickett is a total hack.
In fact I don't even like mentioning the two players names in the same sentence.

Time to take off your blinkers Kuep. Kickett wouldn't get a game at any other club. In fact he didn't get a game at four other clubs until he arrived at wreck of a side.

Keep looking back at your win against an Eagles side that was missing half it's squad through injury. Enjoy it.
We'll be content with the Grand Finals and ten years of final action.

kuepper
24 Feb 2002, 15:51
Originally babbled by TheRealBuzz
Read will become twice the footballer Kickett is. Not that it means much, because Kickett is a total hack.
At times, I have read posts from you and have shook my head.

Oter times, I have laughed at your idiocy.

Normally, however, they at least have a sembelence of footballing nous, a basis in a reality(even if it isnt this one) that I can vaguely understand.

However, if you genuinely belive what you have banged out above there, then I seriously and unequivocally question your understanding of Australian Rules football.

Sure hate the guy for b*tch slapping that little angry b*stard read, that's your choice, but if you think Kickett, quite possibly the most couragous player I have _ever_ seen is anywhere near the ballpark of hack, you lost whatever miniscule credibility you possibly have had.

I just hope, for your sake, you were merely trolling.

You were merely trolling, weren't you Buzz ... tell me you were!

TheRealBuzz
24 Feb 2002, 17:04
Nope, I meant every word.

The bloke is a hack.
West Coast knew it, StKilda knew it, Essendon knew it - hell even Fitzroy knew it.
Deep down I think you know it as well.

The most worrying thing is that he has probably been your best player over the seven years of your clubs existence.
Guess it explains why you guys are constant cellar dwellers, huh.

Oh well, you keep idolising your club "legends" like Kickett, Wills and Peter Mann, and I'll keep idolising true legends like Matera, Kemp, Bluey, Jako and Woosha.

But please tell me you where just joking when you said "I seriously and unequivocally question your understanding of Australian Rules football".
Because that's the sort of thing that'll keep me up at night. :cool:

kuepper
24 Feb 2002, 18:09
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Nope, I meant every word.
Well in that case, you just saved me a whole of time champ, thanks for that.

No longer will I even bother to try and debate football issues, with a man so simple and naive in the knowledge of what makes a quality footballer - you have now got the liscence to run free and unchecked spouting whatver crap you pass as football diatribe, as I now realise how truely sheltered and simple your understanding of this game must be.

I apologise for ever trying to encourage you to see sense, I truely was wasting everyone's time ... especially my own.

Enjoy!

TheRealBuzz
24 Feb 2002, 18:38
Will do. Thanks.

I got to call Kickett a hack, and you promised not to bother me with your $hit anymore.

Win Win if you ask me. :)

Bulldog1954
28 Feb 2002, 03:02
Willsy's goal against North Melbourne, the day u became my second favourite team.
And Kingsleys scintilating 8 at Vic Park, to bad u lost by 100.
And I hated it, but Freo fans must have loved Winny Abrahams goal in the last minute against the Dogs in round 1, 1997.

FreoGirl
13 Mar 2002, 21:42
one of my favourite moments was when O'Reilly made Lockett run until he almost dropped, at the WACA ground - was prbably about 1996?