deeps
25 Aug 2006, 17:20
Damon to play a big game hopefully.

Burgoyne to play a blinder

Thomas to clean up some unfortunate crow

Porthos
25 Aug 2006, 17:27
Bishop to be BOG

Goodwin to kick straight to Chad Cornes at least four times.

morell
25 Aug 2006, 17:38
Burton to injure one of our players, somehow.
Pearce to confirm he is the best young player in the country
JB, brownlow.

Crows by 10.

But I hope its more like;

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/4453/130175yb1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

to all the kiddies, its, sleeping ;)

Porthos
25 Aug 2006, 17:43
Oh yeah, and I will give 5 votes to whoever gets reported or gives away a 50m for assaulting Brett Burton.

shaz63
25 Aug 2006, 17:45
Will be a close game. White to kick a bag of goals. Ebo to pull out the same magic he did last Friday night.

We may even have our first showdown draw. :eek:

Toots Hibbert
25 Aug 2006, 17:46
Oh yeah, and I will give 5 votes to whoever gets reported or gives away a 50m for assaulting Brett Burton.
Any KPI's that have to be met?

Porthos
25 Aug 2006, 17:47
Blood rule would be nice.
At least five threads started on the AFL and Port boards by irate Crows fans within minutes of it happening.

Ford Fairlane
25 Aug 2006, 17:52
I think someone might get arrested for assaulting Burton seeing as he'll be sitting in the stand. What if Monty garrotts him in the queue for chips at half time?

wharfie_1870
25 Aug 2006, 17:52
http://users.tinyworld.co.uk/douglas.carrick/dead%20crow.gif

Porthos
25 Aug 2006, 17:55
I think someone might get arrested for assaulting Burton seeing as he'll be sitting in the stand.Awwwww man, really? Crap :(

Ford Fairlane
25 Aug 2006, 17:58
Awwwww man, really? Crap :(

Yeah he tore a hamstring tendon a couple of weeks back. He's dodged surgery hoping it will heal in time for the Prelim Final (if they make it) but it's fairly unlikely he'll play again this year.

Your best chance is Tredders tripping him on the stairs with his crutches or Monty stalking him for one last violently futile gesture ...

morell
25 Aug 2006, 18:02
Your best chance is Tredders tripping him on the stairs with his crutches or Monty stalking him for one last violently futile gesture ...

The "wannabe black man who isnt" will find a way to injure a Port player wether hes playing or not. It will happen.

And people hate Lloyd. I would have Lloyds babies if it meant not ever seeing that goof again.

morells most hated players

1. Brett Burton.

<daylight>

2. I dont know, talking about Burton has gotten me too angry.

Porthos
25 Aug 2006, 18:02
I dunno, its no fun if you can't see it.

Guys like Lower and Thomas will just have to save it up for next time.

Toots Hibbert
25 Aug 2006, 18:03
Just about the only player that I would take real satisfaction at seeing get ironed out. Actually wait, I like it when it happens to Biglands too for some reason. Any time that bloke lands on his back it's like swatting a blowfly and not quite connecting properly. They lie on their backs buzzing and eventually fly away.

Troy Wingate
25 Aug 2006, 18:40
My prediction:

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_966bf7ff82574286e99dcd23bf83c605/chokingcrow.gif

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_b881bb4db7d2f34d1f164bc43b546c4f/chokingcrow.gif

almqvist
25 Aug 2006, 19:01
Goodwin to kick straight to Chad Cornes at least four times.

AHA! very nice.
and biglands would probably have to get the award for 'player most often flattened in showdowns, and not returning'.

but i swear the last few times we have gotten someone sent off in a stretcher, we have lost.....but i dont care about the result, as long as its less than 10points if we lose.
and tyson edwards to get driven into the goal post by a tom logan tackle.

shaz63
25 Aug 2006, 19:49
My prediction:

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_6eca01aa02b45ebfdcdc5de0db5b3ba4/chokingcrow.gif

The pic didnt turn out Troy but I think I know which one you wanted posted.

The Black feathered scavengers to CHOKE. :D

Oh, can someone please tell me. If South Australians are called Crow eaters because we hate the bird so much, why the hell did our cross town rivals call themselves the crows???

Not that I mind. I hate CROWS :p

Hodges 153!
25 Aug 2006, 20:18
Biglands mother to snot someone and appear in The Advertiser with Dale as her expert witness.

Frank Spencer Clone
25 Aug 2006, 22:12
The pic didnt turn out Troy but I think I know which one you wanted posted.

The Black feathered scavengers to CHOKE. :D

Oh, can someone please tell me. If South Australians are called Crow eaters because we hate the bird so much, why the hell did our cross town rivals call themselves the crows???

Not that I mind. I hate CROWS :p
Sharon, the term ' croweater ' is actually a derogatory term.
It's derived from the throwaway line ' eat Crow ' which is used towards someone considered a loser. No idea how we landed with the name.
Same as you'd call a West Aussie a ' sandgroper ' , a Queenslanded a ' bananabender ' and a Victorian a ' gumsucker ' ( and no, that's not abuse - it refers to the Victorian accent which sounds like someone sucking their gums )

Anyway I digress.

Black feathered scavengers? What about aboriginal seagulls? Can I say that?

I actually feel confident this week we can do this. You can hear the air escaping out of the bandwagon tyres all the way down here and I'm not sure Craigy can pump them back up fast enough.
Won't be a lot in it but I reckon our young uns might just be up for it.

Northalives
25 Aug 2006, 22:35
If the Port youngsters are bloodthirsty and hit the Cows with everything, I'll be happy.
If this happens then Ports will win.

Mr Magoo
26 Aug 2006, 03:18
Port by 10.

Lade will win the medal as best afield.

Macca19
26 Aug 2006, 10:40
Crows by 6 goals

shaz63
26 Aug 2006, 10:42
Sharon, the term ' croweater ' is actually a derogatory term.
It's derived from the throwaway line ' eat Crow ' which is used towards someone considered a loser. No idea how we landed with the name.
Same as you'd call a West Aussie a ' sandgroper ' , a Queenslanded a ' bananabender ' and a Victorian a ' gumsucker ' ( and no, that's not abuse - it refers to the Victorian accent which sounds like someone sucking their gums )

Anyway I digress.

I actually feel confident this week we can do this. You can hear the air escaping out of the bandwagon tyres all the way down here and I'm not sure Craigy can pump them back up fast enough.

Cheers FSC. That is the first time that the name has ever been explained. Just never really worried about it before.

Mad Dog
26 Aug 2006, 10:52
Anyway I digress.

WTF ?

What is your point here ?

Can you explain to the rest of us why the connection between Aboriginal and Seagull ?

Is there something about your character you wish to explain ?

Very poor form....:thumbsd:

shaz63
26 Aug 2006, 11:03
WTF ?

Can you explain to the rest of us why the connection between Aboriginal and Seagull ?

I think that you have just taken his post the wrong way.

Im sure that he means that the Crows - being the actual black birds.

Seagulls as we all know are scavengers.

Therefore he has just combined the two and called them Aboriginal Seagulls.

FSC would never bad mouth an aboriginal player since we have a few on our team who just happen to be the best players going around.

Hope that this clears it all up.

Ford Fairlane
26 Aug 2006, 11:21
The explanation of the term 'croweater' in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croweater) is the one I've always known. A derivation of one of the other eating birds would've made a very derogatory reference! :eek:

Croweater is an Australian slang term for people from South Australia. Early settlers often ate the breast meat of crows, parrots and cockatoos when there was a shortage of red meat and the term croweater entered the lexicon in the late 1800s. The term is not considered derogatory.

shaz63
26 Aug 2006, 11:35
The explanation of the term 'croweater' in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croweater) is the one I've always known. A derivation of one of the other eating birds would've made a very derogatory reference! :eek:

Thanks FF. So, that explains why the AFL allowed the Adelaide Crows to have the name they do.

All other teams to come out and kill them. :D

Eago77
26 Aug 2006, 12:37

Now that we eat plenty of beef in SA can we officially change the name of the bastardised state team to the cows?

wharfie_1870
26 Aug 2006, 13:39
Report a dead or dying Crow (http://www.scchealth.org/Docs/wnv/report_wnv.html) :)

http://www.west-nile-virus-prevention.com/images/dead-crow.jpg

Power21
26 Aug 2006, 14:10

The weekend he kicked like 7 we saw him at the casino and apparently i was giving him a fair spray, I can't remember it at all but it sounded hilarious when told back to me lol.

Frank Spencer Clone
26 Aug 2006, 14:17
Now that we eat plenty of beef in SA can we officially change the name of the bastardised state team to the cows?
That's very good. Top darts.
Although I still like to think of them as Clowns - especially given the hairstyles of " Krusty ' Bode and " Sideshow Bob ' McGregor.
Periwinkle is back in this week too isn't he?

Actually I'm a little bit disappointed they didn't adopt my suggestion for heritage week - white shirt and tie - given their heritage of being conceived in a board room......

Frank Spencer Clone
26 Aug 2006, 14:24
WTF ?

Don't take me the wrong way.
My comment in no way was intended to be derogatory towards any Aboriginal players, or people, for that matter.
I love the Aboriginal boys in our side. Fantastic players, and great blokes too.
Been fortunate to chat to both Gav and Byron Pickett at length, and both were so polite and friendly.

To clear up any misconception, a seagull is a white bird famous for scavenging. A Crow is a black one famous for scavenging.
Just a bit of humour.

Mad Dog
26 Aug 2006, 14:34
Don't take me the wrong way.
My comment in no way was intended to be derogatory towards any Aboriginal players, or people, for that matter.
I love the Aboriginal boys in our side. Fantastic players, and great blokes too.
Been fortunate to chat to both Gav and Byron Pickett at length, and both were so polite and friendly.

To clear up any misconception, a seagull is a white bird famous for scavenging. A Crow is a black one famous for scavenging.
Just a bit of humour.
Your normal posting style is childish with little substance, and derogatory without provacation - so I assumed this was just another example.....but thanks for clearing that up.

Frank Spencer Clone
26 Aug 2006, 14:42
[QUOTE]Your normal posting style is childish with little substance, and derogatory without provacation Besides not being true, I don't think that was really called for.
There have been a number of discussions in recent weeks about this sort of comment with the mods. They want to steer clear of these sort of things on the board. Let's not get into this sort of thing. Let's try and keep them happy, shall we?

morell
26 Aug 2006, 14:45
Besides not being true, I don't think that was really called for.
There have been a number of discussions in recent weeks about this sort of comment with the mods. They want to steer clear of these sort of things on the board. Let's not get into this sort of thing. Let's try and keep them happy, shall we?

:thumbsu:

just not footy board.

Toots Hibbert
26 Aug 2006, 14:48
I looked at your profile Mad Dog and I saw where you were looking and I'd just suggest you should move along. :cool:

Mad Dog
26 Aug 2006, 14:54
There have been a number of discussions in recent weeks about this sort of comment with the mods. They want to steer clear of these sort of things on the board.

Great - thanks for letting me know...:rolleyes:

Let's not get into this sort of thing.
Perhaps then steer clear of the borderline racist jibes.....;) :thumbsu:

Mad Dog
26 Aug 2006, 14:56
I looked at your profile Mad Dog and I saw where you were looking and I'd just suggest you should move along. :cool:
and what's that supposed to mean Toots....?

Frank Spencer Clone
26 Aug 2006, 15:02
Perhaps then steer clear of the borderline racist jibes.....;) :thumbsu:
Simply using the word ' aboriginal ' doesn't imply racism - but I won't labour the point.

Toots Hibbert
26 Aug 2006, 15:19
and what's that supposed to mean Toots....?
Look it's an area that can quickly turn into a quagmire. Franks made clear his appreciation of aboriginal players and aboriginal people in general.

It's easy to come unstuck by using the wrong terminology. You're a decent poster, I just reckon it's time to move on now.

Troy Wingate
26 Aug 2006, 18:59
My prediction:

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_966bf7ff82574286e99dcd23bf83c605/chokingcrow.gif

Last edited by blackdiamond, 13:25

Why the hell was my post edited?

blackdiamond
26 Aug 2006, 19:11
Maybe so the image tag was working correctly.

dreamkillers
26 Aug 2006, 19:12
Why the hell was my post edited?

Now now settle down........all you needed to do was send us a pm and we would have explained that we're trying to get the picture to actually display unless you deliberately put in an obsolete link and didn't want the pic displayed.....

Toots Hibbert
26 Aug 2006, 19:30
Maybe so the image tag was working correctly.
I don't know what you're seeing bd but I'm not seeing the pic. I sent you a PM a while back Troy, with a line you can copy to make the pic appear.

blackdiamond
26 Aug 2006, 19:36
I don't know what you're seeing bd but I'm not seeing the pic. I sent you a PM a while back Troy, with a line you can copy to make the pic appear.

Power symbol in the background with a clenched fist holding the crow around the neck.

Toots Hibbert
26 Aug 2006, 19:49
Funny, I could have sworn I pasted this line to Troy in my PM but I didn't.

Anyway here it is.

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_bdd6b4fe3b9b2731a2dacadb15c075ed/chokingcrow.gif

dreamkillers
26 Aug 2006, 19:56
Funny, I could have sworn I pasted this line to Troy in my PM but I didn't.

Anyway here it is.

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_bdd6b4fe3b9b2731a2dacadb15c075ed/chokingcrow.gif

That link still isn't working..........but this one does......

http://upload4.postimage.org/951401_b881bb4db7d2f34d1f164bc43b546c4f/chokingcrow.gif

blackdiamond
26 Aug 2006, 20:03
That link still isn't working..........but this one does......

We are all obviously seeing different things, I can only see the one I changed it to.

Troy Wingate
26 Aug 2006, 20:06
Now now settle down........all you needed to do was send us a pm and we would have explained that we're trying to get the picture to actually display unless you deliberately put in an obsolete link and didn't want the pic displayed.....

My bad. I just saw that the post was edited, and I kinda overreacted. Sorry.

Toots Hibbert
26 Aug 2006, 22:10
We are all obviously seeing different things, I can only see the one I changed it to.
Are you serious? You can't see mine? :eek:

We need an exorcist! :p

kirky
26 Aug 2006, 22:41
Will be interesting to see how your Showdown rookies (5) cope with the added pressure and closeness of a showdown. First 15 minutes will tell us. What we have gleaned from the history of showdowns is - if it is a close one, high probability Port will win, if its a blowout high probability it will be Adelaides.

*PAF
26 Aug 2006, 23:08
Are we playing noughts and crosses without the noughts? :p

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2006, 23:15
Crows by 25pts dont think it will be a blow out and personally will be just happy to win.

Good luck for the game should be a good contest.

Frank Spencer Clone
27 Aug 2006, 01:47
I don't know why but I'm suddenly rather more confident of winning this one and by a big margin.
Something makes me think that the planets are aligned for Port to pound these Clowns good and proper this time

PS: Shaz 63

All lights look green and all boxes ticked bar one - the South American geography question remains unanswered :D
Arrow gives the big tick. All looks good.

noddy
27 Aug 2006, 02:13

chuckle, chuckle, all these no-show pictures are a good omen.

Crows by 73 points.:thumbsu:

Hodges 153!
27 Aug 2006, 08:52
This thread seems to be lacking a little something......

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/3650/powerby8.png

Toots Hibbert
27 Aug 2006, 10:26
I think the moral may be that imageshack.us>>>>postimage.org.

shaz63
27 Aug 2006, 11:06
PS: Shaz 63

All lights look green and all boxes ticked bar one - the South American geography question remains unanswered :D
Arrow gives the big tick. All looks good.

As not to be accused of hijacking this thread, I will post my reply under the "Just Not Footy" thread. :D :D :D :D

Ford Fairlane
27 Aug 2006, 23:29
Will be interesting to see how your Showdown rookies (5) cope with the added pressure and closeness of a showdown. First 15 minutes will tell us. What we have gleaned from the history of showdowns is - if it is a close one, high probability Port will win, if its a blowout high probability it will be Adelaides.

Feel free to come back with more predictions next time, y'hear :thumbsu:

Toots Hibbert
28 Aug 2006, 00:14
Port by three goals. :cool:
Sorry folks I was four points out. :p

Will be happy to catch up with a few Crows people at work too to remind them.
The party's over Crows. Normal service has been resumed. :thumbsu: