View Full Version : Big Finish is just the tonic needed...

illnino
26 Aug 2006, 00:42
Hope for big finish
3:51:52 PM Fri 25 August, 2006
Matt Burgan
Sportal for afl.com.au

Hawthorn skipper Richie Vandenberg says the club's playing group is genuinely excited about the remaining two home-and-away matches this season, particularly after claiming successive wins against Carlton and Essendon respectively in the past two rounds.

Vandenberg said a third win in a row against the Kangaroos at Aurora Stadium on Saturday would be just the tonic needed, as the Hawks prepare for 2007.

"We sat down a couple of weeks ago and decided that we wanted to get something out of the end of the season, in terms of wins/loss," Vandenberg said on Friday at Melbourne Airport.

"We've come a long way through the entire season, but we're obviously confident we can win this weekend."

For this upcoming match against the Kangas, Vandenberg paid special tribute to retiring Roo and former Hawk and Bulldog Jade Rawlings, who will be playing his last AFL match against Hawthorn.

"The big 'Twig' - I'm rapt he's getting another game and there is probably no more fitting farewell for Jade than in Tasmania - obviously where he's from, against his old club Hawthorn and I wish him all the best," Vandenberg said.

"He's a fantastic bloke and he's been great for football over the years and I'm sure they'll be some emotion there for both teams."

Vandenberg says the playing group was fully supportive of playing 'home' matches in Launceston.

"It's been a good stomping ground for us so far and we enjoy going to Tasmania and we actually see it, as a playing group, as a home away from home," Vandenberg said.

"So as long as the club goes through all of the processes and they're happy with what the outcomes are, then as a playing group, we really don't mind."

Vandenberg said the playing group did not get involved any decision-making regarding the club playing future matches in Tasmania.

"As a playing group, we stay out of that and that's a decision that's mostly made, I'd say, financially for the footy club."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

No going easy on Jade's behalf Richie.....

GNCLongJack
26 Aug 2006, 07:56
Rawlings, and Birchall in his debut year......pretty special day, icing on the cake ? Play Little .

RustyHawk
26 Aug 2006, 10:21
illnino

Whilst I agree with the sentiment, I believe we should stick with the plan of continuing to blood rookies like Little.

Another win Im sure is good for the players and coach - and Clarkson needs to increase his win loss record but.....

We fall into the trap of the Peter Schwab years.

Charging in the 2nd half of the season only to see the finals door slammed in our faces and then thinking, ooh well, next year will be better went it was just the same.

For this reason I believe we go out there to win but.. we still (at this stage of our list management) have to check out the rookies and in rd 22 we need to pay tribute to our departing player/s.

I don't want to see Little have another year wasted on our list if he's not going to make it.

Murphy, Gilham, Bailey and maybe McGlynn have all been good revelations under the rookie advancement policy. Should continue in 2006 to the end.

In rd 22 we should pay tribute to John Barker by giving him a game, even if its just riding the bench.

The club has been hard on older players of late and with good justificiation but.. it needs to show it has a heart as well.... otherwise other players coming upto the their final seasons may decide in future years to jump ship early - loosing them to Hawthorn when their still valuable contributors.

Just my thoughts that all.

Hawk0373
26 Aug 2006, 11:01
Big finish needed for Vandenberg.

illnino
26 Aug 2006, 11:06
illnino

Whilst I agree with the sentiment, I believe we should stick with the plan of continuing to blood rookies like Little.

Another win Im sure is good for the players and coach - and Clarkson needs to increase his win loss record but.....

We fall into the trap of the Peter Schwab years.

Charging in the 2nd half of the season only to see the finals door slammed in our faces and then thinking, ooh well, next year will be better went it was just the same.

For this reason I believe we go out there to win but.. we still (at this stage of our list management) have to check out the rookies and in rd 22 we need to pay tribute to our departing player/s.

I don't want to see Little have another year wasted on our list if he's not going to make it.

Murphy, Gilham, Bailey and maybe McGlynn have all been good revelations under the rookie advancement policy. Should continue in 2006 to the end.

In rd 22 we should pay tribute to John Barker by giving him a game, even if its just riding the bench.

The club has been hard on older players of late and with good justificiation but.. it needs to show it has a heart as well.... otherwise other players coming upto the their final seasons may decide in future years to jump ship early - loosing them to Hawthorn when their still valuable contributors.

Just my thoughts that all.

Thats all good mate, I was just basically posting the article for ppl to read - let 'em know the Hawks are out to win!

Little will get a run next week or during the pre-season next year I feel......he'd be due soon with all that Hird blood in him :thumbsu:

Herbs hawks
26 Aug 2006, 11:12
Thats all good mate, I was just basically posting the article for ppl to read - let 'em know the Hawks are out to win!

Little will get a run next week or during the pre-season next year I feel......he'd be due soon with all that Hird blood in him :thumbsu:

Agree, Little should get a game. Becouse of his form in the 2's he selection would be deservered. He has shown enough at Box Hill to show he can play and will be retained seasons end weather he's selected in the last two weeks or not i would think.

illnino
26 Aug 2006, 11:20
Agree, Little should get a game. Becouse of his form in the 2's he selection would be deservered. He has shown enough at Box Hill to show he can play and will be retained seasons end weather he's selected in the last two weeks or not i would think.

Yeh, that's what I would think.

Clarko really seems to wanna get the 8 points up for grabs before season's end. An unchanged team..........I actually thought he might give 1 or 2 youngsters a run in the next couple of weeks, but, I guess we'll have to wait till next year.

Should be a ripper today........