View Full Version : Such a bad win ...
philhawk
26 Aug 2006, 17:39
Without any disrespect to North fans, i'm really annoyed that we couldn't have won by more ...
It's great to get the 4 points, but the kicking (perhaps due to the wind?) was atrocious and despite the Kangaroos clear intentions of tanking (no team can go 3 quarters without deliberately not trying to kick a goal ...), we couldn't go and get a big 50+ point win that could see us get some all important percentage.
Hopefully we can at least now go and give the Cats a thumping in JB's last game at the club ...
Well done Hawks, good win, footy the real loser today, we were a disgrace, Laidley should resign now, your club proved one thing today, draft young kids.
Great win. Geez it was tough watching Rawlings after the siren.
Nightwolf
26 Aug 2006, 17:48
I thought we were good at tanking? Maybe they were just better...
Oh well, Franklin shows more signs, Birchall is a rock, Sewell is having a magic year and we are still yet to see our top draft pick. Good signs down at Glenferrie...
Classic Thompson today, running under the ball. Hilarious..
Jetta here we come :thumbsu:
philhawk
26 Aug 2006, 17:48
Geez it was tough watching Rawlings after the siren.
Yeh it was. :(
RustyHawk
26 Aug 2006, 17:49
Well done Hawks, good win, footy the real loser today, we were a disgrace, Laidley should resign now, your club proved one thing today, draft young kids.
Mate, couldnt agree more with you. How can any coach survive after drafting a suspect FB for a $1.1m and drafting a player who walks out on the club just after the draft and another who plays what 3 games and then retires!
3 wasted, never to be repeated draft picks. Sad
illnino
26 Aug 2006, 17:52
I disagree......I was satisfied. 4 points! :thumbsu:
medusala
26 Aug 2006, 17:58
Mate, couldnt agree more with you. How can any coach survive after drafting a suspect FB for a $1.1m and drafting a player who walks out on the club just after the draft and another who plays what 3 games and then retires!
3 wasted, never to be repeated draft picks. Sad
Not one to defend Laidley, however I suspect the board are keen not to finish in the bottom few. The Hawks cant make decent cash when they finish there so North have stuff all chance.
I feel for North. They have busted a gut to survive, Friday nights, Canberra, Sydney etc. Unlike Melbourne who rolled over at the first opportunity and voted themselves out of existence.
Unfortunately for them the Dogs and port quaffers are doing ok at the moment. One can only hope that changes when the AFL decides that a Melbourne club needs to relocate. Red is close to Maroon isnt it?
Yeh it was. :(
I third that.
So, 3 wins in a row, but not massively convincing, and against pretty lowly sides. And today was a pretty damn low quality slog. That's the neg way to look at it.
But yeah, plenty of positives and good signs for the future.....the youngsters were great again, and some of the older heads have been stepping up in the last few weeks again....Croad was excellent today I thought, Hodgey, Dicko, Chancey's been incredible in the last part of the season, Clarkey, Browny. All good.
Plus the fact there seems to be a huge future for us down there, I reckon we can build that place into a bit of a fortress. And with 4 games down there a year, it puts us in god stead.
PLUS, it's awesome to see us lifted up out of the bottom 3. Good chance we'll stay 11th at the end of the round.
*PLUS* we just beat a side who has OWNED us in recent years....
GNCLongJack
26 Aug 2006, 18:11
There were some great positives in a low scoring match...........Birchall with 28 disposals will be strongly considered for the NRS nomination for this round, he certainly performs well for his rellies. 18000 people. Ladson and Lewis put in very good performances, platforms for 2007, especially with Jordan's controversy all over with. Croady................great game, even without DJ marshalling the backline, it's taking shape Hodge, Birchall and Gilham playing with more and more assuredness every game. Changa bursting the lines. Great game big Cambo.................folks we have a ruckman emerging. Clarkey what a workhorse. Now I think Ellis played in the curtain-raiser, so be it the JB sentiment or the debut of Ellis (great if it's both ) next week, we are a very happy team at HFC. 3 in a row, and have put a stop to the Roos run agin us. Well done DICKO, what a season, has certainly answered critics in the best way possible.
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002TopPostLogo.jpg
Lord_Espos
26 Aug 2006, 18:19
Have to disagree with you on the idea of North tanking. I just think the Hawks play really well in Tasmania. The conditions were not easy today.
I think the 3 scoreless quarters is more about North having a number of their senior players out injured and not having a great day.
In the current position that the Hawks and North are there is no conspiracy to tank... as much as it looks like it.
Only Collingwood has done that in recent years. North made moves to try and win.
Collingwood moved their most important player into a pocket to stop their comeback... different thing alltogether.
Hawk0373
26 Aug 2006, 18:51
Agree, both teams had a real crack. The Kangas played tall and most of their big men did a good job, esp Hale and Moran. They just missed Simpson and Grant to finish off.
Croad's job on Thommo was pivotal.
Gary Shadforth
26 Aug 2006, 19:27
It was a real tough slog where goals were at a premium for both sides. Historically Yorke Park has hosted many a low scoring contest.
Personally, I saw our kids playing with a lot of self assurance and some first real signs that they are now really becoming seasoned and cool in playing in the big time not far out from their junior days. I liked the way in which Buddy, Gills and Birch are now handling the big time with aplomb and poise.
And as for Robbie, his big marks to turn around North in the goal-mouth made my mouth water considering my recent remarks about our youngsters not holding marks.
Archer's smother on Franklin's shot on goal saved the game from blowing out in the end IMO.
When you look at the scoreboard, the opportunities we had..we really should have won by 40-50 points, but I guess a win against a bogey team like North is a fantastic feather in our cap.
Adelaide Hawk
26 Aug 2006, 19:42
No such thing as a bad win at this stage for the Hawks. These guys are learning how to win, and the last thing we need are easy 10-15 goal victories. They are learning that winning isn't easy and only comes with effort. Great win for the Hawks, now let's finish this season off with a win over the Cats next week.
Pessimistic
26 Aug 2006, 19:48
Just a shame we can't be the ones to keep the pussies out of the finals again, however trivial it is.
Gary Shadforth
26 Aug 2006, 19:56
Just a shame we can't be the ones to keep the pussies out of the finals again, however trivial it is.
When it comes to pussies, we should ask Binxy about their form :).
http://www.theputdown.com/hcynhobrackets/images/lucypinder.jpg
My studies are long and exhaustive and I have a long way to go and much to learn ....but the rewards are many. :thumbsu:
LuvMyHawks
26 Aug 2006, 20:23
How did Crawf, and Mitchell, and Gilham go today? I am just rapt that we beat them, and got the monkey off our back, be it winning pretty or winning ugly!!! Well done..
Bennycoff
26 Aug 2006, 21:51
gilham has been really impressive and has some confidence and composure which we badly need down back. he struggled on hale early however he did some good things in the back line and created options down field too. continues to impress. we better add him to the senior list next season.
crawford was alright, nothing amazing, ran hard all day however just the 19 touches today against his boggey team.
mitchell was good again, composure when needed and whilst he received close checking still gota lot of the ball.
LuvMyHawks
27 Aug 2006, 00:06
Thank you for that info. I wasn't able to listen to any of the call today, so I had no idea how they went. Much appreciated.
gilham has been really impressive and has some confidence and composure which we badly need down back. he struggled on hale early however he did some good things in the back line and created options down field too. continues to impress. we better add him to the senior list next season.
crawford was alright, nothing amazing, ran hard all day however just the 19 touches today against his boggey team.
mitchell was good again, composure when needed and whilst he received close checking still gota lot of the ball.
I thought Gilham was beaten today & convincingly by Hale - but it was the wrong matchup - they needed someone like murphy (though he has done his ankle) or Dawson.
Crawford was OK as was Mitchell who was a bit quieter than usual.
Williams won the game when someone needed to standup and Birchell, Hodge Bateman Dixon & Clarke all in our best.
GNCLongJack
27 Aug 2006, 14:53
When we have the luxury of Willo standing up in the last qtr and booting 2 sealers after having been goal-less, and yet the team has still been ultra-competitive, this is very good. Changa, Kano, Birch and Croady streaming thru with booming kicks into the Fwd 50 presents relentless pressure onto the opposition defence, with a bigger and hopefully more aggressive Clint Young next season. My point is to now establish Little as the other goalkicking threat, in tandem with Willo...............these guys in addition to our conventional Centre line Fwds, will present a fantastic ARSENAL of goalkicking power. The future presents Markovic and hopefully Cook and Kelleher....what a dilemma.