View Full Version : Will we retain 11th spot?
Gary Shadforth
26 Aug 2006, 20:28
Guys and gals, I'm on my 4th XXXX stubby and gazing at the ladder and am savouring the moment. We are in 11th possie with tonight's games and tomorrow's before the weekend ends (I like that!). Now tell me wise ones, as my brain is pickled in this fantastic amber. Will we be 11th come Sunday evening?
Today we have leapfrogged Port, Brizzie and the Kangas.
Geez, I'm going to get piddled looking at the ladder. 11th, WOW! Before the start of the season I tipped we would finish the season 12th.
And how great it is to see Port, Brizzie, Kangas, Bombers and the Blues below us.
cschreuder61
26 Aug 2006, 20:34
Nice to see some sort of improvement in terms of wins/losses just to see we are on the right path.
Birchall, Franklin, etc. are just getting better so you'd think we are definately on the upwards scale.
We are a big chance against Geelong this weekend, especially now they are officially out of the finals race. Would be great to get another win and finish off the season with 4 in a row ready to hit pre-season.
illnino
26 Aug 2006, 21:06
Guys and gals, I'm on my 4th XXXX stubby and gazing at the ladder and am savouring the moment. We are in 11th possie with tonight's games and tomorrow's before the weekend ends (I like that!). Now tell me wise ones, as my brain is pickled in this fantastic amber. Will we be 11th come Sunday evening?
Today we have leapfrogged Port, Brizzie and the Kangas.
Geez, I'm going to get piddled looking at the ladder. 11th, WOW! Before the start of the season I tipped we would finish the season 12th.
And how great it is to see Port, Brizzie, Kangas, Bombers and the Blues below us.
In Short.....Yeh, I think we can :thumbsu:
All the signs are there for a great match next week V the Cats!
Bennycoff
26 Aug 2006, 21:44
Yes hopefully we can improve on todays performance and smash the Cats next week.
Hopefully JB will play.
Hawk0373
26 Aug 2006, 22:05
be a nice way to finish the year off - beating the cats again and finishing 11th on 9 wins.
Be interesting to see if we can play that demolition running game for more than a half. If so, we should be right.
HawkFan15
26 Aug 2006, 22:14
Yeh i think so regardless of the geelong result. I can't see the power winning next week against freo away and bris against stkilda and north against the pies. It would be nice to get 9 wins 4 the season but in all honesty who have we conquered this year. Carlton twice,Essendon,Twice,North,Richmond,Freo and Geelong twice.
I tell you what if he could get a bit more media like Pearce,Shaw,Murphy and Raines, Birchall would have to be a massive chance for the rising star surely.
Buddy Hero
27 Aug 2006, 00:08
I hope so.
What is better getting a draft pick 3 places earlier or bringing confidence to the club players and fans that we are on the improve and the results are now showing that?
Hopefully this confidence will lead us through the preseason and into next year and then there is no doubt which option i prefer :cool:
Gary S, I think we will finish 11th. I can't see any of the sides below us winning again, and even if they do we are a good chance against the pussie-cats next week. 9 wins will be a good improvement, it's a shame we won 1 of 13 in the middle of the year. But our only win against a finalist will be the Round 1 win over Freo in Tassie, so that is a bit of a worry. Hopefully with confidence the team will start to play positive footy even against the good sides, and then we'll see how good we really are.
Next year could be exciting. The year after that.......:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :)
I'm praying we defeat Geelong and Port win their last 2.
9 wins and 12th position has a nice ring to it, having said that I'll take 9 wins and 11th spot without a second glance!
Alex_au
27 Aug 2006, 01:42
Hopfully Geelong beat us and Brisbane, Port and the Kangaroos can get another win.
Pessimistic
27 Aug 2006, 08:41
Hopefully one day soon we can beat the lions and port.
Port specially have reamed us the size of the domain tunnel recently
Hopfully Geelong beat us and Brisbane, Port and the Kangaroos can get another win.Sorry but have to disagree with you mate i hope we annihilate the cats ,there is pride, honour and a great deal of grog (jim beam) riding on the result of this game.:D
we should hold onto 11th spot
Alex_au
27 Aug 2006, 14:25
Pick 3 is better then pick 6!
Not lloking good now.....Port are finishing over the top of the Crows.....
Buddy Hero
27 Aug 2006, 23:27
Pick 3 is better then pick 6!
Pride, confidence and proved improvement is better than any one player.
Pride, confidence, proved improvement and Pick 6 is better than pick 3.
:)
A win against the Cats would do wonders for next season.
Could you imagine the genuine lift around the place knowing that we are on a 4 game winning streak going into the new season?
Irrespective of where we finish this season we are still going to get a gun player either at 5 or 6.
Rocca Flys High
28 Aug 2006, 00:34
Crikey! This is Baby Bombers all over again, how much more youth do you guys need? Youth anin't everything!
Hopefully more ;) :p
A 5/6 pick and Sydney's first round pick for Spida and Boyle/Breenan would be nice ;)
Won't happen though.
Rocca Flys High
28 Aug 2006, 00:45
Once this is all done, I suppose you lot are going to become an under 25 team?
Rocca Flys High
28 Aug 2006, 00:46
Any plans on younger Evertwit?
Once this is all done, I suppose you lot are going to become an under 25 team?
That's the plan, with Crawford as the older statesman on the HFF :p
Hawk Dork
28 Aug 2006, 09:16
Any plans on younger Evertwit?
We dont even have plans for older one