View Full Version : Mal Michael

Junior_Hawker
27 Aug 2006, 15:57
Did anyone else hear Kevin Bartlet during the Lions v Swans game last night say that "Hawthorn is apparently hot to trot for Mal Michael" ?

I WAS keen on Mal Michael crossing to Glenferrie but now share the view of other posters that this may only delay the progress of our younger guys coming through...Dawson, Gilham, Murphy etc..

Depends on what we have to give up for him I suppose

Gary Shadforth...still waiting on a reply to the email I sent you
Junior, I replied to your e-mail promptly last Thursday Aug 24 as a 'reply': Junior_Hawker@BigFooty. Check your inbox. If you cant find it I'll PM it to you.

Cheers

philhawk
27 Aug 2006, 16:02
Hopefully we'll get Pick 6 and Pick 24 in the draft.

If we trade Spida, i'll be looking for us to get their Pick 14/15.

If we can trade Pick 24 + Ben Kane/Simon Taylor for Mal i'll be a very happy chappy. :thumbsu:

Junior_Hawker
27 Aug 2006, 16:07

If we can trade Pick 24 + Ben Kane/Simon Taylor for Mal i'll be a very happy chappy. :thumbsu:

Pick 24 and Ben Kane for a 30 year old.....no thanks!!! 3rd rounder maybe

BTW.....Go Port

Hawthorn '06
27 Aug 2006, 16:08

Doubt taylor will be going anywhere..his contracted for the next two years..and we need him for a backup ruckman and why dont we jus trade brennan and kane for michael.

philhawk
27 Aug 2006, 16:11
Pick 24 and Ben Kane for a 30 year old.....no thanks!!! 3rd rounder maybe

BTW.....Go Port

Are you kidding?

For 1, our 3rd rounder is Josh Kennedy,

Secondly, Mal is a quality player who has at least another 2 years left in him,

Thirdly, Ben Kane sucks.

Junior_Hawker
27 Aug 2006, 16:14
Did anyone else here Kevin Bartlet during the Lions v Swans game last night say that "Hawthorn is apparently hot to trot for Mal Michael" ?

I WAS keen on Mal Michael crossing to Glenferrie but now share the view of other posters that this may only delay the progress of our younger guys coming through...Dawson, Gilham, Murphy etc..

Depends on what we have to give up for him I suppose

Gary Shadforth...still waiting on a reply to the email I sent you
Junior, I replied to your e-mail promptly last Thursday Aug 24 as a 'reply': Junior_Hawker@BigFooty. Check your inbox. If you cant find it I'll PM it to you.

Cheers

Thanks Gary but it doesn't appear to have come through.
Appreciate it if you could PM it to me

Thanks

amos
27 Aug 2006, 16:18

If we can trade Pick 24 + Ben Kane/Simon Taylor for Mal i'll be a very happy chappy. :thumbsu:Geez Phil, some of your posts really amaze me. Trading away both Spider and Taylor leaves us with Campbell, Bailey and our rookie Box Hill seconds player, McEntee. You obviously assume Campbell is over his injury proneness after playing 30 games in his 4 years prior to this one to be left with 2 kids to back him up. We drafted Bailey and McEntee because we had 3 rucks and I doubt we'll go back to 2 and a rookie. Taylor is as safe as a house :thumbsu:

philhawk
27 Aug 2006, 16:28
Geez Phil, some of your posts really amaze me. Trading away both Spider and Taylor leaves us with Campbell, Bailey and our rookie Box Hill seconds player, McEntee.

True mate, perhaps it wouldn't be wise to trade away Taylor, but I really don't rate Taylor at all and Bailey would already be ahead of Taylor at this stage.

You obviously assume Campbell is over his injury proneness after playing 30 games in his 4 years prior to this one to be left with 2 kids to back him up.
True, but he has really worked on his fitness and core strength this year (based on earlier reports), but I hear where you are coming from amos. :thumbsu:

We drafted Bailey and McEntee because we had 3 rucks and I doubt we'll go back to 2 and a rookie. Taylor is as safe as a house :thumbsu:

Perhaps, but let's just say I wouldn't be too unhappy to see Taylor go. :p

amos
27 Aug 2006, 16:41
Ahhh, now I know where you're coming from, Phil.

I, too, am not waiting for Taylor to become the Dean Cox second coming, but he does provide valuable backup and at what, 25, is probably looking to hit some decent form next year, whether it be at Box Hill remains to be seen :D . Yet I assume, Taylor would still be in front of Bailey at this stage even though Bailey is getting a run ; but all the kids are.

I reckon Michael would be great for us as well as our forward line needs an Chris Mew kind of general down there, but anything that involves trading away a 1st rounder worries me, unless it was to involve Spider.

The Kipster
28 Aug 2006, 17:40
Michael 3 years left our kids need 3 yrs development very complimentary of one another don't you think?

Alex_au
28 Aug 2006, 17:45
If spider leaves we can use the pick Sydney give us for Michael.

Hawk Dork
28 Aug 2006, 19:36
Hawks happy to take Michael

HAWTHORN has expressed an interest in triple premiership Lion Mal Michael, who is expected to ask the Brisbane Lions to be traded. Michael is yet to decide whether he'll even play next season but is almost certain to head to a Melbourne-based team if he does.

His manager, Michael Quinlan of Top Dog Management, confi rmed he had been approached about Michael's plans for 2007. "I've had preliminary interest from a number of clubs — but we'll sit down at the end of the year to discuss his future," Quinlan said. "He's contracted to Brisbane and he's looking to fulfi l his obligations.''

matsta1975
28 Aug 2006, 20:17
Michael 3 years left our kids need 3 yrs development very complimentary of one another don't you think?

NO WAY ! he can teach the kids at our club that you can lack commitment and someone is still willing to take you! I honestly think the club would be better off doing things the way they have been over the past two years and develop our own or find good young talent at higher level clubs that arn't getting a go. To me we would be better off going for someone like daniel merrit and moulding them. GO HAWKS

DannyJ
28 Aug 2006, 22:27
We will play finals if Mal is a hawk. Make no mistake! Think about it we have won 8 games this year, and we have lost to "power forwards" in many games; i reckon we would have beaten;

Collingwood Round 2 Rocca 8
Kangaroos Round 6 Thompson 8
West Coast Round 13 Lynch 5

That would have given us 11, and with improvement to many players next year, we should get 12 next year if we get Mal.

cschreuder61
29 Aug 2006, 11:47
It seems obvious to me that we should go after Michael. The one glaring position is fullback that is our weakness. If we fix that up we can start to play to our strengths a lot more, and our 2nd/3rd defenders will suddenly start looking that much better.

Having

Jacobs..... Michael........Brown

Birchall.......Croad.........Sewell

Suddenly goes from a weak backline to one that has quite a good balance to it.

I've posted this before but I'll say it again.

Guerra can suddenly play as a crumber up forward if we need it, or Brown can play forward and Guerra can sweep off half back.

Smith can be used further up the ground... get him away from the last line and get him running in straight lines

Roughead can try and settle as a forward next season.

We have suddenly two experienced backs capable of taking bigger forwards, rather than having 0, and young Roughead try to hold it together and cop flack because he couldn't

We would have a spine taking place

I have no doubt we'll go after Michael, and I'm pretty sure we'd benefit with him in our side.... if he is committed to the task.

Dixie Flatline
29 Aug 2006, 12:04
Hawks happy to take Michael

HAWTHORN has expressed an interest in triple premiership Lion Mal Michael, who is expected to ask the Brisbane Lions to be traded. Michael is yet to decide whether he'll even play next season but is almost certain to head to a Melbourne-based team if he does.

His manager, Michael Quinlan of Top Dog Management, confi rmed he had been approached about Michael's plans for 2007. "I've had preliminary interest from a number of clubs — but we'll sit down at the end of the year to discuss his future," Quinlan said. "He's contracted to Brisbane and he's looking to fulfi l his obligations.''

That was written by Craig Hutchison on the Age website. Let's see how much truth is in that. :rolleyes:

Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 12:17
If Mal doesnt want to train because of his foundation commitments, then sorry I dont want you Mal. He is a great fullback which is the missing link to our team, but is it worth picking up a player which may hinder the morale of the team? If he comes to Hawthorn and is allowed to miss trainings we my aswell let every one skip training for other commitments, it will just become a cancer onto our young team.

If he comes to Hawthorn I want 100% commitment or nothing!

Gary Shadforth
29 Aug 2006, 12:47
Fully agree, Roughie.

cschreuder61
29 Aug 2006, 13:09
I agree with that as well. You'd only want Michael if you are getting the 100% committed Michael who is excited that he could help take our side up the ladder.

If he is just coming to get out of Brisbane and back to Melbourne whilst making some cash and concentrating on other interests then yeah, I'll retract what I said before and say we don't need him.

However he'd be bloody handy if he does want to play footy.

Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 13:12
However he'd be bloody handy if he does want to play footy.

^Your not wrong and if he is truly commited he could take the likes of Dawson, Gilham and Murphy under his wing and teach them a thing or two about defending.

Then also add in the return of DJ next year and our backline will be alot more solid!

The Kipster
30 Aug 2006, 17:08
He will be tied up in a three way deal involving Spida.....if he truely wishes to depart the Lions...

CyberKev
30 Aug 2006, 17:25
Would much rather use Everitt to make a play for Aker via a 3-way involving Sydney.

Michael is okay, but I fear that the game has started to pass him by, and if he was so willing to chuck the game in a few weeks ago, why wouldn't he be willing to do likewise next winter when we invariably string a few losses together and the novelty of being at a new club wears off?

C.O.G.
30 Aug 2006, 17:35
I heard on SEN last night that he has let through the most goals of all the fullbacks in the league this year. (50 goals) Of course if your midfield is lacking then you're going to get the ball coming down at you a lot more...

Is he past it? Are we looking at getting another ex-All Australian fullback just like Jon Hay?

CyberKev
30 Aug 2006, 18:00
I heard on SEN last night that he has let through the most goals of all the fullbacks in the league this year. (50 goals) Of course if your midfield is lacking then you're going to get the ball coming down at you a lot more...

Is he past it? Are we looking at getting another ex-All Australian fullback just like Jon Hay?

I fear so, C.O.G

Darren Gaspar is definitely past it, with constant injuries and a continual lack of leg speed exposing his skill deficiencies.

Michael has always been stronger and better skilled than Gaspar, but he also lacks legspeed and this, combined with him being sated by multiple premierships, and well and truly distracted by off-field pursuits leaves him at greater risk of being regularly exposed these days.

He has been a player who has struggled somewhat as the team has struggled, whereas Aker was able to show his class even when the team was battling.

cschreuder61
30 Aug 2006, 18:26
Would much rather use Everitt to make a play for Aker via a 3-way involving Sydney.

Michael is okay, but I fear that the game has started to pass him by, and if he was so willing to chuck the game in a few weeks ago, why wouldn't he be willing to do likewise next winter when we invariably string a few losses together and the novelty of being at a new club wears off?
I heard Aker's price was too high (he was my preference originally too) and Dunstall said that ruled Hawthorn out of the race. They were interested in him, but wouldn't pay over the top prices for him.

CyberKev
30 Aug 2006, 21:30
I heard Aker's price was too high (he was my preference originally too) and Dunstall said that ruled Hawthorn out of the race. They were interested in him, but wouldn't pay over the top prices for him.

Fair enough, Schreuders. If he is asking such a high price, it's safe to assume he will end up at Tigerland then, more's the pity.

With Michael, allowing for his age and dubious commitment to the game, we may be able to snare him in exchange for Michael Osborne. On the face of it, this trade sounds unbalanced, but Brisbane would be looking for a player like Osborne to fill the gap left by Brad Scott in a back pocket, and Osborne is surplus to need at Hawthorn.

I also still have doubts about Gardiner, but he does have ruck capacity, and if the change agrees with him he could be of some value.

I'd like to find a way to use Everitt to snare Gardiner and West Coast's 2nd round pick, but I can't see Sydney having much to offer the Eagles (that they don't need themselves).

big bomber
26 Nov 2006, 14:18
too bad you guys because we get him for free

Hawk0373
26 Nov 2006, 15:40
too bad you guys because we get him for free

you do and well done on this band aid solution...

Pessimistic
26 Nov 2006, 16:05
They do have a vacancy for a fat black guy at esedun....