View Full Version : brett ebert to be one of the all time greats

captain ebert
27 Aug 2006, 16:57
there - ive said it.

& you can bookmark it.

club, coach & team detractors, over to you.....

philhawk
27 Aug 2006, 17:02
All-time great might be a bit too much mate, but he's definitely an out and out GUN!

morell
27 Aug 2006, 17:07
needs to get some mental steel, but hopefully that will come with more experience. Remember he has done this before, needs to take an extra step next year.

but you're right he could be absolutely anything.

almqvist
27 Aug 2006, 17:12
agreed. i liked his last goal assist to lade. he wasnt having much luck on scoring a goal so he spotted him instead. made me laugh.

was really pleased with how much passion chad cornes showed at the end, matt thomas was in on the action there too.
great win for us, its make or break for a lot of players careers this year, and its good to see.

Jabsy
27 Aug 2006, 17:14
needs to get some mental steel

There was plenty of mental steel in his scone during the head clash with Bassett. He came out relatively unscathed.

Andre
27 Aug 2006, 17:16
He's finally starting to show more then potential. Wayward kicking is all that stopped him from BOG and us winning last week and made this week a good game rather then a great game.

He certainly looks like he's finally realised he has to do more then just fly for the ball and just sit back if that initial mark doesn't hold.

Tredders66
27 Aug 2006, 17:17
He was awesome!! If only he could kick those last few and we could of beaten the Crows easily!! ;)

morell
27 Aug 2006, 17:25
There was plenty of mental steel in his scone during the head clash with Bassett. He came out relatively unscathed.
Considering the size of Ebo's head, Basset is lucky to be alive.

crazy_big_al
27 Aug 2006, 17:28
He is playing well

*PAFC*13
27 Aug 2006, 17:29
Well done Bretty!

He has really come on this season and hopefully he can continue this next year..

Pred
27 Aug 2006, 17:44
Considering the size of Ebo's head, Basset is lucky to be alive.Third time in as many minutes that I've agreed with you, and this one made me laugh :D

Brett has nearly the complete package, but he does need to work on the mental side. Why do I get the feeling that every time Brett is about to kick the goal that would really start to make him stand out in peoples' minds, he screws it up? Fear of success?

Ford Fairlane
27 Aug 2006, 17:55
Could be anything. He's copped a lot of flak and he's responded magnificently. Absolutely thrashed Johncock who is a quality player.

Had to laugh at one of the clowns on the crowie board who thought it was funny to say that getting Brett Ebert under the f/s rule was punishment enough for Port. Not so funny now, hey champ?

Mr Magoo
27 Aug 2006, 18:57
The real question is can Ebert & Tredrea work well together in the forward line?
If Tredrea wasn't out injured would Brett have been getting the opportunities that he has this year.
Brett still needs to work on improving his overall skill level, but who knows what the future holds but one thing is for sure & that's the future looks a lot brighter than it did this time last year.

Pred
27 Aug 2006, 19:01
The real question is can Ebert & Tredrea work well together in the forward line?That indeed is the $64,000,000 question.

Macca19
27 Aug 2006, 19:06
Could be anything. He's copped a lot of flak and he's responded magnificently. Absolutely thrashed Johncock who is a quality player.

Had to laugh at one of the clowns on the crowie board who thought it was funny to say that getting Brett Ebert under the f/s rule was punishment enough for Port. Not so funny now, hey champ?

Thats exactly what I thoguht of during that last quarter.

Macca19
27 Aug 2006, 19:08
I dont know whats happened to his kicking in the last few weeks. Against Geelong and St Kilda he kicked pressure goals in the last quarter from about 50 out.

The last two weeks hes really muffed it when the pressure has been on. Cant afford to miss 3 shots on goal all the time.

Im really happy how he has come back in the last month or so after a real poor patch there. Done well.

Pred
27 Aug 2006, 19:22
I dont know whats happened to his kicking in the last few weeks. Against Geelong and St Kilda he kicked pressure goals in the last quarter from about 50 out.He kicks the first 3, then goes to water. You could call it the 'yips', but for mine it may be fear of success.

Toots Hibbert
27 Aug 2006, 19:44
The really pleasing thing about today was that he one grabbed just about every mark today. As a couple have already said he pantsed Johncock today.

Natman
27 Aug 2006, 19:58
I think that overall, between Brett and the club they have found his rightful position - FP with a few runs on the ball - I guess he will be our 'Phillip Matera'.

Porthos
27 Aug 2006, 21:11
You mean Phinals Phil?

Better write off any premiership aspirations then.

Eago77
27 Aug 2006, 21:49
He still needs work on his kicking, he never looks 100% confident with his set shots. He has come on alot this year as has Salopek, his first half was class.

Natman
27 Aug 2006, 22:04
He kicks the first 3, then goes to water. You could call it the 'yips', but for mine it may be fear of success.

My overall assessment of Brett is that he is still a little immature and that I still don't think that he really believes that he belongs in the AFL - however the last 2 games are surely going to give a lasting confidence.

Natman
27 Aug 2006, 22:06
You mean Phinals Phil?

Better write off any premiership aspirations then.

Why?

Brett will be a different exponent of the FP position and we are not the WCE.

dreamkillers
27 Aug 2006, 22:12
My overall assessment of Brett is that he is still a little immature and that I still don't think that he really believes that he belongs in the AFL - however the last 2 games are surely going to give a lasting confidence.

He 's showing all the signs of a player moving from the 0-50 games into the 50-100 game mark in becoming more consistent............and he's one of a number of players we have in that situation............

PJ Power
27 Aug 2006, 22:28
I reckon he has improved his ground level recovery as well in the last month.

Let's just let him settle as a FP - we have good midfield options coming through and the biggest problem area for us is the forward line. He is going to be a tough matchup for any opposition side.

It's probably best that the public/media not focus on his goal kicking too much as that will accentuate his nervousness about the issue.
Let him play the game without putting too many thoughts or doubts in that head of his.

He has been a real excitement machine of late and I would love to see that continue next year.

MrAaron
27 Aug 2006, 22:29
there - ive said it.

& you can bookmark it.

club, coach & team detractors, over to you.....

Maybe for Port but never in the AFL ...... I can name a hell of alot of players easily ahead of him.

Ford Fairlane
27 Aug 2006, 22:32
I don't know if Choco's reacted to comments he's too critical of Brett but he's really talked him up in his last couple of PC's. Wrapped him up as having done more in his first 50 games than Shaun Burgoyne on Friday and how he's really expecting him to make his mark over the next 50 games, then again in today's post-match. Maybe he's getting the hang of this making the kids feel good about themselves thing ... ;)

Pred
27 Aug 2006, 22:42
Maybe he's getting the hang of this making the kids feel good about themselves thing ... ;)I think he's always had it, Ford. The kids have often said as much.

Porthos
27 Aug 2006, 22:49
Why?Because Phil Matera wasn't a forward pocket. He was a midget full-forward who had an astoundingly poor finals record because midget full-forwards need space, and that doesn't exist in truly big games.

I also doubt its coincidence that Ebert is having his best AFL form without Tredrea in the side.

Ford Fairlane
27 Aug 2006, 22:49
I think he's always had it, Ford. The kids have often said as much.

Yeah, that probably sounded a bit harsh ... it was more a comment directed at his PC lst week where quite a few Port supporters thought he was tough on Brett - and has been for a while. He's nuked a few young kids in PC's where some things probably didn't need to be said. But Choco reminds me of a supporter in a PC, he tends to say what went wrong and he's obviously fairly emotional in some of those situations. Heck I know I've come down pretty hard on players walking away from the game after losses too.

morell
27 Aug 2006, 22:51
I don't know if Choco's reacted to comments he's too critical of Brett but he's really talked him up in his last couple of PC's. Wrapped him up as having done more in his first 50 games than Shaun Burgoyne on Friday and how he's really expecting him to make his mark over the next 50 games, then again in today's post-match. Maybe he's getting the hang of this making the kids feel good about themselves thing ... ;)
Wasn’t it great to see Choco make a B-line to really rev Brett up at 3 Qtr time for his effort against Basset. Really inspiring stuff. Reminded me of Choco "testing" Roger James against Essendon in the SF.

Say what you will about Choco, but when he’s fired up he really does get the blood pumping.

spice18
27 Aug 2006, 23:05
Credit where it is due, Brett has improved greatly with each outing in the last few matches and seems to be learning very quickly as well. His marking is very clean and today just about gobbled up everything. His biggest assignment in the off/pre-season is goal-kicking. And Russ, please give him some extra tutorials on goal-kicking for next year. Great kid too, good to see.

I like the way all these kids keep improving but I'm on the classy Bentley (41) bandwagon. This kid will be something special for sure.

morell
27 Aug 2006, 23:09
EDIT - Moved to Bentley thread.

deeps
27 Aug 2006, 23:19
He was awesome!! If only he could kick those last few and we could of beaten the Crows easily!! ;)

No 'if only's' and 'what if's.

Crows missed a whole tonne of shots in the first quarter

The Floodbuster
28 Aug 2006, 00:22

Wasn't it great when Craigy had to take Johncock off of him cos of popeye giving him a bath.
By this time next year Ebo will be an elite goal kicking midfielder.

deeps
28 Aug 2006, 00:29
I remember everyone was going on about how thumping his left foot is. But it seems it's not so 'thumping' after all, and it's about a 55m kick.

Definately doing a great job. Imagine Motlop leading to one pocket, Ebert to the other, and Tredders in the middle :)

gytre
28 Aug 2006, 00:39
Very happy with Brett's form. He's finally learning to play as a forward. He's reading the game better and timing his leads well. And holding his marks. I'd still like to see him in the midfield eventually, but it's great if he can have another string to his bow.

PJ Power
28 Aug 2006, 00:44
Definately doing a great job. Imagine Motlop leading to one pocket, Ebert to the other, and Tredders in the middle :)

I think this is where it sometimes gets a bit hard to predict how certain players will go once important teammates return to the fold.

We looked great in the second half with JB, Pearce, Bentley and Salopek cleanly bringing the ball forward to Brett leading one out in an open forward line from the goal-square. Clearly if Tredders or Motlop is there, it means that the space might be cramped and less ball will get directed through Brett.

I'm not suggesting that this is bad for the team - on the contrary every side wants options so that anyone of them can bob up in a given game and have an influence, but it might just mean that Brett needs to learn again to play differently with Tredders and co. alongside of him - eg more crumbing, less flying for the same mark as his captain is going for.

Port Adelaide 1870
28 Aug 2006, 21:45
Ebert

noddy
28 Aug 2006, 23:11
Ebert

My oh my!!! things must be on the up if the old warrior himself speaks up with red tongue. ;)

nice to see you're still around PA. :thumbsu:

Northalives
28 Aug 2006, 23:25
The young man needs to practice, practice, practice-holding the ball correctly with his left hand when kicking for goal form a set shot.
Get's this right, he becomes a match winner which opposition teams will find very, very difficult to contain.

Pred
28 Aug 2006, 23:52
EbertSaying it was a red-letter day for the Eberts, PA1870?

RussellEbertHandball
29 Aug 2006, 01:24
I was in town for the game and ended up back at the Port Club. Choco was full of praise for Brett. Said he had been outstanding the last few weeks and was showing the footy world his true abilities. He again mentioned the 50 games bit and how he expect him to improve like Shaun after he got to 50 games. Choco was in a great mood (even spoke a bit about Hugh Jackman's involvement), before he spoke about Ebert and at the end of his talk on Brett said he was compared a lot to his father.

He said "Brett was faster than his father, said he was a better mark than his father" and then with that Choco steely look in his eye said "but he does one thing that isn't as good as his father." He then paused and with a big smile on his face said " but we're working on it, we're working on it."

Brett has showed us the last few weeks he has the goods to succeed. I hope he keeps pushing himself and gets a crack in the mid field. I think he has benefitted from having the space that Tredrea normally takes. The only time Johncock got to him was on the wing in the last quarter. He should have kicked 13 to 15 goals the last 2 weeks, not 7.

RussellEbertHandball
29 Aug 2006, 01:28

That was that Arse Clown Jack in one of his many forms.