View Full Version : 2007

marto9000
27 Aug 2006, 21:54
does anyone here rate our chances of pushinf for the cup next season.
i say 2009 will be there year what are others thoughts

Heropsychodreamer
27 Aug 2006, 23:24
does anyone here rate our chances of pushinf for the cup next season.
i say 2009 will be there year what are others thoughts

Nah... if everything goes in our favour and we play some good footy we will make the 8... and nowadays its anyones shot from there... but i'm happy for steady improvements... i reckon 09 is it, but next yr will be exciting as far as unearthing some future stars. And in 2010 i hear Little will be considered for a game :D

Buddy Hero
27 Aug 2006, 23:30
if it was a 25 round season we would have won the flag this season :D

Hawkk
28 Aug 2006, 00:07
2010-11-12 board.

philhawk
28 Aug 2006, 00:59
2010-11-12 board.

In all honesty Hawkk, I believe we have a chance of doing it next year. :thumbsu:

Hawkk
28 Aug 2006, 01:21
In all honesty Hawkk, I believe we have a chance of doing it next year. :thumbsu:
Meh, I'm only expecting us to scrap into the finals next season.

Play off in a Preliminary Final in 2008, lose the Grand Final in 2009 and win back to back to back in 2010-11-12 :cool:

We have to be sensible and not expect to much with our expectations ;) :p

Hawk Dork
28 Aug 2006, 09:10
If Freo can do it anyhting is possible

GALON
28 Aug 2006, 09:21
Essendon Board.

hawkaz1
28 Aug 2006, 23:54
I reckon we will should make the finals next year as long as we keep improving. But i cant see us being a really good team for a few years.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/welcome441.gif
hawkaz1

The Kipster
30 Aug 2006, 12:25
This year 8 - 10 games was to be an improvement in my eyes anyway...next year 10 - 12 games with a sniff of finals if all goe's well injury wise....2009 is a good time to have a crack at the title...and stick it up the pr*cks who have been bagging us since AC took over....

Roddy
30 Aug 2006, 13:23
I'll be reasonably happy if we win 12-13 games next year and scrape into the finals in 7th or 8th possie....

GALON
30 Aug 2006, 13:30
If we can keep all our A grade players fit and firing then we should win 8-12 games, i would expect.

Cynic
30 Aug 2006, 13:32
I'd like to see 25.

I'd expect to win 9-10.

I won't accept less than 8.

FatBoy's Wombats
30 Aug 2006, 13:43
I think we might be anywhere between 6th and 12th on the ladder. I wouldn't be to suprised to see us start "upseting" other teams. But realisticly i think if we can win 50%+ of our games i would be happy. 2008 we should really start to come good.

Hawkk
30 Aug 2006, 13:44
I'd hope we could win 12-13 games next season.

Remember we have improved by at least 3 wins this season, with the addition of very little cattle from last season - Ellis, Muston, Dowler and a mature bodied player picked up in the draft,

ralphwiggum
30 Aug 2006, 14:32
We're still pretty inconsistent and seem to lack the endurance for stamp our authority on matches, hopefully a solid pre-season can fix that somewhat.

A lot will depend on injuries, whether our draft picks from 05 step up and plug some of our holes and whether Spida'a gone and who/what we get in return.

As it stands right now, I would be happy if we somehow scraped into the finals, or conversely, do a richmond ;)

but surely, we want > 8 wins and i'd be disappointed without that

Adelaide Hawk
30 Aug 2006, 14:54
We have to push for the top 8 in 2007. There is still a way to go, we need to become a more consistent working unit, and not throw away games like we did against Brisbane. There aren't any super teams in the AFL, they are all ordinary in their own way. A finals berth is there if we want it badly enough.

WeneedyoungJarmans
30 Aug 2006, 16:42
in 2007 i'd expect 10+ wins but not a big enough leap to make finals. consider that yet to debut are: Ellis, Muston, Tuck, and Kennedy next yr, plus more draft picks to come. Bailey and Dowler have played a couple of games each. So thats 5 existing players plus 4 or 5 more draft picks so about 9 players that need to get up to 50 games experience whilst at the moment they have none.

this will put things into perspective. the goal should be to blood the best crop of players. the side will improve but we wont be a contender till the likes of Ellis, Muston, Tuck and Dowler reach 50+ games. This is at least 3 more seasons away. So 07,08 and 09, enjoy the ride. By 2010 to 2015 - we have a big window of opportinity to win one. In 2010, Hodge will be 26, Mitchell 27. Until they reach about 30/31 max, we must snare a flag.

or 3 :)

Hawk0373
30 Aug 2006, 20:56
Aims for 007

Get min 10 games into Beau 1 & 2, Ellis, Tuck, Muston, Kennedy and Mr pick 5.

Beat any one of St.Kilda, West Coast, Sydney, Adelaide or Port.

Goals for average up by 1

Goals against average down by 1

Tick these boxes and we'll go close to making finals.

philhawk
30 Aug 2006, 21:08
My number 1 hope for the 07 season,

Get a nice, attacking gameplan.

burner1
30 Aug 2006, 21:29
Aims for 2007
Further development of our team -
Ellis, dowler, tuck, muston to all get games into their legs.
Run out games better - and hopefully play on, attacking brand of footy regularly
Get some more body strength/size into our players and teach them how to tackle.
Depending on the draw wont be surprised if we only win say 9 or so games but hopefully more of the wins willl be against top 8 teams rather than the bottom dwellers like this year.

Hope to see:
lewis, roughie take the next step. Dawson show he can be a longterm fullback, campbell to be first ruck all season, murphy show hes a quaility player, ladson show why hes rated so highly by the coaches, bateman show he can actually display footskills for a whole season, mcentee tear it up for bh, crawf contunie his late season form, taylor and brennan prove there doubters wrong, hodge back to his AA best and injuryfree.

Hawkk
30 Aug 2006, 23:20
My number 1 hope for the 07 season,

Get a nice, attacking gameplan.
I think we do currently, the problem is we just lack the cattle to use it consistantly.

My #1 aim for 07;

Consistant 4 quarters of attacking, free flowing football

Not to much to ask ;)

Adelaide Hawk
31 Aug 2006, 09:30
I'll be honest here. I have seen the Hawks win 8 premierships from 1971 to 1991, so I've been very lucky. I'd like to see us win some more, but I'd rather watch the Hawks lose playing bright attractive football then win playing this crappy flooding/chipping game other coaches seem to prefer. That's my 2 cents worth.

MaccaHawk
31 Aug 2006, 09:37
12 wins in 2007

Whether that is good enough to make the 8 depends on how others do, but it should be enough (hopefully)... If it turns into a dog fight with 1 or 2 other sides I hope the relative inexperience in our side doesn't cost us.

The Kipster
31 Aug 2006, 11:20
I'll be honest here. I have seen the Hawks win 8 premierships from 1971 to 1991, so I've been very lucky. I'd like to see us win some more, but I'd rather watch the Hawks lose playing bright attractive football then win playing this crappy flooding/chipping game other coaches seem to prefer. That's my 2 cents worth.

Good point Adelaide Hawk - I think all and sundry has noticed how when we run and carry the ball we seem so much better, that said it has also been noted that we can't play that game for 4 qurters yet and thats why the chipping around occurs....I think another good pre-season and we may be able to sustain 3 quarters worth.....

Skyfire15
31 Aug 2006, 12:37
With all the likely debutants in 2007 I would hope we can break even with 2006.. ie 7 to 10 wins The major thing I would love to see change is our %... 8 wins and 13 losses (at present) for the 2nd or 3rd worst percentage in the league @ 82% (approx) is pretty poor and raises the issue that we are getting blown out far too often, we need to pull these games out of the system and be comptetive in almost every game.

We have finally shaken the Essendon curse over the last 2 seasons and we even beat the kangas last week, I'd love to see us bury a few other teams who have had it over us in recent times namely stkilda, the dogs, brissie, syd!! Maybe they should be our fixtured tassie matches since we HAVE to play 4 times down there!?!

chogobad
31 Aug 2006, 15:16
We can go close to the finals if we get another good draw and don't suffer from injuries happening to important players.

What I'd like to see is continued steps in the directions most have expressed here, game plan, skills, game time and developement into the polayers with less than 50 games.

Also I want desperately to have a game sown up at 3 quarter time and to thrash them in the last. No mercy, foot on the throat and stomp on them hard. When we can we will be on the way to being a feared side. ATM if we are 50 points up at half time teams think were are vunerable and we've only just hung onto the last couple of games (blues & bombers) even though they are trash ATM and we were all over them.

I realize that fitness is an issue and understand all the impossibilities of playing 4 perfect quarters but I want teams to know that if we get in front by a decent margin that it's over, pack up go home, stop wasting your time. ATM they re-group at 3/4 time and talk themselves up and we coast to a win,good sides like the eagles (and us back in the 80's) could sense the softening and run/ran over the top of teams.

I'll go back to living in the 80's now.