View Full Version : Rick Ladson - Trade Bait?
..or just wishful thinking on my part.
Dr_Mutley
28 Aug 2006, 23:06
i think he is probably expendable, especially with michael osborne back in the fray... i can see him being used as trade bait, altho my loyality conscience would hate to see him traded....
HawkFan15
28 Aug 2006, 23:11
I'd forget ladson our trade bait are spida obviously but osborne(brisbane) and brennan???????????????????????
I think I share your wishful thinking Binxy. Talk him up, remind everyone he's a young versatile first round pick from 2001 and see what we can get. I'm not a big fan of his, so I'd certainly trade him for the right price. He is getting better each year though, so we can't just give him away. By 2015 he'll be a good player!
I'd probably trade him for Polak if I was convinced Polak had his attitude right.
I'd give Ladson and a 4th rounder to Brisbane for Michael and a 3rd rounder. I know Michael is better but because of the age difference I'd want a sweetener.
I'd also take an early 2nd round pick for Ladson.
Or I'd give Ladson and our 2nd pick (about 23) for another top 10 pick.
Dr_Mutley
28 Aug 2006, 23:15
altho i am originally a horsham boy, i think brennan is a hack with crap disposal skills, so give him away with spida :)
burner1
29 Aug 2006, 00:25
Seems highly rated by the coaching staff- they always seem to be saying positive things about him - so I doubt he'd be trade bait as dont think we'd get much for him. His career to date has been very injury interupted until this year so maybe with two preseasons in a row under his belt we may see why the coaching staff rate him so highly. Their faith seems to have worked with campbell and sewell so far so am happy to see him go around again next year. Has been mentioned is the sort of outside player that tops off the good work (or downhill skier) rather than a key midfielder, will be interesting to see how he goes next year as IMO has been average this season.
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 01:28
It is preety evident we lack pace, which Ladson has. The coaches rate him, and he wont be traded.
Like it or not, every team has to have an outside player, and Ladson is ours we cant have 22 Mitchell's/Lewis's in our team.
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2006, 02:08
I certainly hope not.
Herbs hawks
29 Aug 2006, 10:43
It is preety evident we lack pace, which Ladson has. The coaches rate him, and he wont be traded.
Like it or not, every team has to have an outside player, and Ladson is ours we cant have 22 Mitchell's/Lewis's in our team.
Laddo goes Alright, he's had a couple BOG performances this season and has made huge improvements from 2005. He will be on our list next year i hope.
He seems to be the whipping boy on the forum and i beleive unfairly so. When playing half forward gets alot of shots on goal if he could improve his finishing he could become a very important piece in the Hawthorn puzzle.
Get the deal done, Binxy.
WeneedyoungJarmans
29 Aug 2006, 11:16
Ladson is has good footskills and works the footy nicely around the body. When fed the footy and give a bit of space, he is the sort of player we need.
He is a butter cup however which I dont like. I've seen him play defensive tagging roles this yr, perhaps to try and harden him up and he's been woeful.
The better the side, the better Ladson looks. And vice versa.
He is tradeable but not for a 3rd rounder. Would have to be a ready made KPP like Polak.
Dixie Flatline
29 Aug 2006, 11:50
I don't rate Ladson. IMHO, he's too soft and his supposedly good skills seem to disappear under pressure.
For mine, he's definitely tradeable. Given he was a first-rounder in the 2001 draft, I think a second round pick at least would be good, especially if we can bring a player in the other direction.
illnino
29 Aug 2006, 11:50
Wishful thinking. Laddo will stay...
I don't rate Ladson. IMHO, he's too soft and his supposedly good skills seem to disappear under pressure.Totally agree, and it seems as though the commentators really rate him atm so now's a good time to send him off.
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 12:14
He may be considered "soft" but his role is to play outside anyway. Its not like his a soft in and under midfielder. He does have a good kick on him which does tend to dissapear but this season like it or not is his best season to date, and with his new found confidence its a perfect reason to keep him on for next year to see if he futher improves.
There are alot more players that should be gone ahead of Ladson, it just seems alot of posters follow the trend of hanging **** on him.
The Kipster
29 Aug 2006, 13:42
I was the first to agree on his trading about 6 months ago, he has definately improved and played a great game against the Roo's I thought...but I think he lacks the body strength as his tackles seem to get broken easily.....good disposal though something all clubs relish...
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 14:22
I was the first to agree on his trading about 6 months ago, he has definately improved and played a great game against the Roo's I thought...but I think he lacks the body strength as his tackles seem to get broken easily.....good disposal though something all clubs relish...
^We are the worst tackling team in the competition so im sure its just not Ladson who needs to improve in that area of the game *See Ben Kane*
Roughie, you made mention that this is Ricks best season to date. You're right, and that is exactly why we should trade him.
Strike while the iron is hot.
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 15:04
Roughie, you made mention that this is Ricks best season to date. You're right, and that is exactly why we should trade him.
Sewell and Bateman are also playing their best season why not trade them?
Why not keep him, what happends if he continues to improve? Its a game of risks he could also be ****house next season and have no trade value at all but I think Ladson is easily in our starting 22 at the moment and I would rather Ladson then Polak any day of the week!
Look im all for trying to be active in trade period but this year will be the hardest to make deals with teams not willing to blow off their picks in this years draft. We should and will keep him, we lack pace so why trade off one of the few faster players we have?
The TACHawks
29 Aug 2006, 16:30
Agree...But he is improving!
Plays well ONLY when the rest of the team are playing well tho so he'll do well at a top 6 club (if he can get a game there)
I'll take a 2nd rounder for him whilst he's got some value!
LuvMyHawks
29 Aug 2006, 16:38
altho i am originally a horsham boy, i think brennan is a hack with crap disposal skills, so give him away with spida :)
I live in Horsham, and I am pretty certain Luke Brennan realizes that he won't be at the Hawks next year.The local paper,the Wimmera Mail Times have run an interview with him, and the way he came across was that reading between the lines he expects the worse.He stated that he wants to play with anyone that would pick him up. He said that HFC had not made an offer to him up to that time. I would be very surprised if he was at the Hawks next year. He has been recuperating at home, after his operation.
Sewell and Bateman are also playing their best season why not trade them?
Exactly. If we could unload either of them for an experienced and consistant backman then I expect our football department to look at it seriously come trade week. There should only be a select few players over the age of 23 who are untouchable.
If we can trade a ladson/bateman/sewell for a player that our team is lacking then we should definitely look at it.
In saying that, I would hate to see Bateman or Sewell go, but you can't keep everyone on your list from debut to retirement and if it's for the betterment of the entire club that we move a well loved member on then so be it.
At the moment Ladson is not that, he's behind Bateman and Sewell in the hearts of Hawthrn members and supporters, he's played some good games this year and had some shockers, but his currency would be up, so I think if we get a good offer then we should tap him on the shoulder.
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 17:26
Exactly. If we could unload either of them for an experienced and consistant backman then I expect our football department to look at it seriously come trade week. There should only be a select few players over the age of 23 who are untouchable.
If we can trade a ladson/bateman/sewell for a player that our team is lacking then we should definitely look at it.
In saying that, I would hate to see Bateman or Sewell go, but you can't keep everyone on your list from debut to retirement and if it's for the betterment of the entire club that we move a well loved member on then so be it.
At the moment Ladson is not that, he's behind Bateman and Sewell in the hearts of Hawthrn members and supporters, he's played some good games this year and had some shockers, but his currency would be up, so I think if we get a good offer then we should tap him on the shoulder.
^But I dont think the likes of Sewell, Bateman and Ladson are rated by other teams meaning it will be almost impossible to trade them for a decent defender.
yeah, i know.
We may have to bundle two players together or a player and a pick.
GNCLongJack
29 Aug 2006, 20:24
I'm with Rusty Hawk and hope not. I'd hope for a 2yr. contract for Brenno as well thru to the end of 2008. If at that time his worth to us has been overshadowed by Dowler, Kennedy, Dawson, Tuck and Gilham, well so be it. Get him to hit the trade road. But I'm hoping his athleticism can be harnessed to give us a Croad-like bookend, so we can leave Croad alone to conquer one position. Boyle, and Ossie for the trade-baits to Lethal.?......The sweet springtime scent of endless conjecture..........................
Dr_Mutley
29 Aug 2006, 20:49
I live in Horsham, and I am pretty certain Luke Brennan realizes that he won't be at the Hawks next year.The local paper,the Wimmera Mail Times have run an interview with him, and the way he came across was that reading between the lines he expects the worse.He stated that he wants to play with anyone that would pick him up. He said that HFC had not made an offer to him up to that time. I would be very surprised if he was at the Hawks next year. He has been recuperating at home, after his operation.
ahhh i read the wimmera mail times online a fair bit and didnt see that article... if its still up there send me a link to it.... nice to see someone from the old stomping ground follows the mighty hawks... and hopefully hates essendon (who horsham was zoned to back in the old days) as much as me :)
^But I dont think the likes of Sewell, Bateman and Ladson are rated by other teams meaning it will be almost impossible to trade them for a decent defender.
Are u kididng? i think alot of sides would luv to get their hands on chance bateman.... he is developing into one of the premier running midfielders of the competition... he will have a huge year neaxt year with the development of our midfield taking some of the attention away from him, as long as his groins and osteitis pubis doesnt hamper him...
I'm with Rusty Hawk and hope not. I'd hope for a 2yr. contract for Brenno as well thru to the end of 2008. If at that time his worth to us has been overshadowed by Dowler, Kennedy, Dawson, Tuck and Gilham, well so be it. Get him to hit the trade road. But I'm hoping his athleticism can be harnessed to give us a Croad-like bookend, so we can leave Croad alone to conquer one position. Boyle, and Ossie for the trade-baits to Lethal.?......The sweet springtime scent of endless conjecture..........................
Sadly Brennan doesn't deserve another contract. We must clear our list of deadwood.
Are u kididng? i think alot of sides would luv to get their hands on chance bateman.... he is developing into one of the premier running midfielders of the competition... he will have a huge year neaxt year with the development of our midfield taking some of the attention away from him, as long as his groins and osteitis pubis doesnt hamper him...
Love the optimism Mutley, but Chance has probably already hit his peak.
Hawk0373
29 Aug 2006, 21:42
he just needed to play a full season, which he's done for the first time this year, definitely his best - not sure why you'd think he's already hit his peak.
At 25 the engine and body will improve along with his role within the midfield group as they start to develop.
He'll be very good for us for the next 5 years.
hawkaz1
29 Aug 2006, 21:47
Yeh, Chance is a great player for us but he probably doent have much improvement left in him. I think we should get rid of Brennan, the only thing that i can remember him doing is getting to the final of that singing competition on the footy show last year
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/welcome441.gif
hawkaz1
Whoah, whoah whoah.
Sewelly and Changa are going nowhere. This thread is about Rick Ladson - if we have to bundle him with someone, it should be Boyle, Brennan or Ries.
Hawk0373
29 Aug 2006, 21:55
Whoah, whoah whoah.
Sewelly and Changa are going nowhere. This thread is about Rick Ladson - if we have to bundle him with someone, it should be Boyle, Brennan or Ries.
Would like to see Ladson locked away in the gym over summer along with 14 other blokes. He deserves another crack - the other 3 might get us pick 68 at best from Carlton if we're lucky..
Yeh, Chance is a great player for us but he probably doent have much improvement left in him. I think we should get rid of Brennan, the only thing that i can remember him doing is getting to the final of that singing competition on the footy show last year
haha, gold.
philhawk
29 Aug 2006, 22:04
Brennan had a decent game against Richmond earlier this year if I remember correctly?
I say we persist with Ladson. If you had posted this 10 weeks earlier Binxy I would have been in full agreement with you mate, but he's been one player who has given 100% every week for us this season. He may be a 'Clarkson favourite', but he's 'a keeper' for mine. :thumbsu:
Dr_Mutley
29 Aug 2006, 22:14
Brennan had a decent game against Richmond earlier this year if I remember correctly?
I say we persist with Ladson. If you had posted this 10 weeks earlier Binxy I would have been in full agreement with you mate, but he's been one player who has given 100% every week for us this season. He may be a 'Clarkson favourite', but he's 'a keeper' for mine. :thumbsu:
fully agree...
as for ries however... has been an ok servant and would do fine if our game didnt revolve around foot skills... great aerobic capacity however, but another light framed midfielder we dont need... had several years to cement his place so trade him for pick 124 i rekon...
Nightwolf
29 Aug 2006, 22:21
Along with Osborne, yes he is..
I dont know what to make of Laddo. Some weeks he can frustrate the hell out of me and others he is supurb. Commentators seem to reckon hes a gun, but they obviously dont see as much as we do.
Only trade him if we are in need to trade someone half decent for a good return.
philhawk
29 Aug 2006, 22:42
Along with Osborne, yes he is..
I dont know what to make of Laddo. Some weeks he can frustrate the hell out of me and others he is supurb. Commentators seem to reckon hes a gun, but they obviously dont see as much as we do.
Only trade him if we are in need to trade someone half decent for a good return.
Hypothetical NW, Ladson for pick 20, would you accept that?
Roughie
29 Aug 2006, 22:56
^I do like Lado alot and are all for not trading him! But pick 20 in this years draft is worth a top 7 in any other draft, so I would take it.
Nightwolf
29 Aug 2006, 23:02
Wouldnt hesitate..
The Kipster
30 Aug 2006, 12:21
Changa has been hampered by injuries, totally disagree...still has plenty to offer in regards to improvement - I vilified the lad earlier in the year about his disposal - in the last 2 rounds his delivery has been a sh*t load better - just 5% improvement over-all will be an excellent outcome..
Wouldnt hesitate..
Who would offer pick 20 for Ladson in the first place?
Binxy, thats proably not as silly as it sounds.
Beckers
26 May 2007, 13:59
I don't rate Ladson. IMHO, he's too soft and his supposedly good skills seem to disappear under pressure.
For mine, he's definitely tradeable. Given he was a first-rounder in the 2001 draft, I think a second round pick at least would be good, especially if we can bring a player in the other direction.
<BUMP>:D
Mods, can we rename this the 'Official Ladson Apology Thread'?
Post your aplogies here please......!!!
thommo16
26 May 2007, 16:54
Geez Binxy!
You freaked me out. I thought that you had just started this thread just recently
Smiggs Pig
26 May 2007, 19:19
Followed by a 'Official Boyle Apology Thread', 'Official McGlynn Apology Thread', 'Official Taylor Apology Thread' and as a result 'Official Clarkson Apology Thread'.
Any I missed???
lethalselbow
26 May 2007, 20:01
Ladson goes alright :thumbsu:
Happy to have him aboard. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Go Hawks:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
phillm1
26 May 2007, 22:25
whats the go with this thread,lado just had a ripper game and now you want to trade him, we need him and his footskills. but maybe ossie can be trade bate.
boozeDragon
26 May 2007, 22:29
Very amusing thread to look back on... posts about how Sewell and Boyle should have been traded too!!! :eek:
I aint apologising for nothin'. :D
Geez, if you had to bump one of my old threads, you could have chosen this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=184655) one.
mulhollanddrive
27 May 2007, 00:15
I criticised him on some other thread, i apologise 100%.
Beckers
29 May 2007, 08:58
I aint apologising for nothin'. :D
Geez, if you had to bump one of my old threads, you could have chosen this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=184655) one.
LOL, Sorry Binxy, had to do it! :p
BTW Smiggs Pig, i have already posted my apologies to Simon Taylor elsewhere!!
Herbs hawks
29 May 2007, 11:22
Nice Bump,
Makes my happy i have always rated and dug in for Laddo. :thumbsu:
Maybe we could call it the Egg on face thread.
Bennycoff
29 May 2007, 11:25
Remember how we almost lost Sewell to Melbourne in exchange for Ferguson at the end of the 2005 season! I was filthy at the time thinking we were going to lose Sewell because I had liked what I'd seen.
I don't have a problem with starting the thread.
Ladson, imo, had been patchy for years and I thought it was a good opportunity at the time to get something for him. I wasn't alone either.
I'm happy he's playing well this year.
Dixie Flatline
29 May 2007, 12:35
No, I won't apologise.
Clarkson now plays Ladson to his strengths, which is to play link man through half-back, where his role is to set up plays. Two years ago, Ladson was being groomed as a midfielder, but he has never had the tools for it.
Beckers
29 May 2007, 13:27
No, I won't apologise.
Clarkson now plays Ladson to his strengths, which is to play link man through half-back, where his role is to set up plays. Two years ago, Ladson was being groomed as a midfielder, but he has never had the tools for it.
Isn't that what a coach is supposed to do? :confused: Laddo wouldn't be much chop in the ruck and i can't see Simon Taylor on the half back flank??:D