View Full Version : Bad Fans v Good Fans

rdhopkins2
30 Aug 2006, 05:48
Just wondering what you guys think about fans at Hawthorn. I think on the whole we are pretty good. As always with any club there are some you cringe at but overall we have a good reputation. My thoughts on fans as follows:-

Mine being if Hawthorn loses by 10gls but puts in a good effort you should clap. Losses will always be disappointing, but there have to be some positives that can be taken out of one.

If we were terrible and weren't trying (prove it, yeah) then choose for yourself whether to clap or not. Constructive criticism ok, abuse no.

If you win, you beauty take it. Whether its 1 point or 100, you can always improve. Not to mention belt 'We're a Happy Team At Hawthorn' and enjoy the 4pts.

If we lose, tearing up your membership, abusing (verbal or physical) the players, coaches, staff, other supporters, trash the stadium then you ought to be placed in the Waverley tip. Or maybe the Waverley lake with some concrete boots. These sort of supporters are the pity of a football club. They should consider taking up boxing or debating if they can't keep their trap shut or fists down.

Gota say Hawk fans, the majority of the 'family club' are great. Like any team there are always a few idiots- you just have to see past them! Lets win next week! Keep cheering our boys on and stick by them.

Interested to hear any stories of great and nasty fans alike!

Cheers n beers,
Russ

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002TopPostLogo.jpg

Furn
30 Aug 2006, 19:36
I can honestly say ive never had a bad word to say about a hawks player maybe im in denial but before bagging a player i figured that u shouldnt say anything unless u could have done better which of course we cant but i am full of hate for umpires and most other teams players hehe

hyperswivel
31 Aug 2006, 10:47
I'm fairly vocal at games, but I never, ever swear out of respect for families who are attending the match.
As for those who boo their team... and it happens at Kardinia Park most times when the Cats lose, which I think is a disgrace... these people are baby eating neanderthals who clearly have no respect for their team or fellow supporters.

illnino
31 Aug 2006, 11:43
I'm fairly vocal at games, but I never, ever swear out of respect for families who are attending the match.
As for those who boo their team... and it happens at Kardinia Park most times when the Cats lose, which I think is a disgrace... these people are baby eating neanderthals who clearly have no respect for their team or fellow supporters.

Phew, I thought you were saying not to boo the opposition team! I do that all the time :D

rdhopkins2
1 Sep 2006, 05:17
Nothing like a bit of friendly rivalry or booing for fun hehe. Gota yell ya lungs out sometimes but in a way of encouragement rather than negativity! Gee, I reckon you will prob hear me all the way from London when I get a few Hawk games sent over!
Cheers
Russ

rdhopkins2
1 Sep 2006, 05:26
Actually I have a funny story:

I was about 11 and living in Jakarta, Indonesia. We used to come back to Melbourne most school hols so I used to see a couple of games a year mainly with my Grandpa (RIP in Hawk's Heaven) and Uncle (Dad had stay in Jakarta, poor bugger).

There was one occassion where the umpiring was terrible. I could of sworn it was Hawthorn's favourite umpire but I'm not 100% sure, at a game at Waverley making some terrific decisions. (Only when with my Grandpa or Uncle did I ever sit in the AFL members in the Sir Kenneth Luke Stand. With the rest of my family on relocating back to Melbourne we were always in the member's outer!)

Anyway, my Grandpa got a little upset each time and yelled out 'fair dinkum ump' (no ruder) all afternoon (with me and the rest of the stand starting to follow). The cute young lass (25-30ish?) in front of us turns round and tells us to shut up as we are annoying her as it is her boyfriend (brave call). Needless to say we had been crucified all afternoon (some would argue still are lol).

A miniscule hush, then just laughter throughout the stand. We even asked her politely to pass on our feedback and she grinned lol! A golden moment!

rdhopkins2
10 Sep 2006, 23:14
Oh yeah, I will buy my membership before Christmas hopefully as usual! Happen to be pretty broke after the travel in Europe so have to save hard for it lol. Just means I won't eat for a week so be it. lol. Bring on a Vic team grand final win and then an improved Hawthorn next year after the Ashes! GET ON IT!
Cheers
Russ

kolchak
11 Sep 2006, 00:05
I think booing your team is the most disrespectfull thing you can do and any Hawk who has done that like they at the end of 2004, and threw memberships at them as well are not fit to be Hawthorn members or supporters in my opinion...

If you are in a family area then you respect that but if your around all the bozos like me at the footy then you can pretty much say what you like...haha

I have no problem people singling out one player or the coach or president or whatever...That is footy for gods sake, it is a dirty game, were not playing cricket...I havn't had too many bad things to say about anyone this year...

The worst supporters are St Kilda and Geelong...They always seem to cause trouble...

Davo-27
11 Sep 2006, 15:27
i'd say we're a quiet bunch as fans go, i'd like a bit more noise from the cheer squad or groups around the ground and not just when we kick a goal..............

if there's a high tackle or holding the ball decision we tend to sit on our hands and not voice our opinion like the carlton fans ect, we can improve on this i reckon..........

anyway you will always here me encouraging the lads at the footy "to kick long!!!", with my harsh loud voice.............:thumbsu:

Lunchlady Doris
4 Oct 2006, 23:31

wtf? most of the time kardinia park supporters get bagged for clapping the team after a loss. and that must be the tenth time i've seen you call them baby-eaters. come up with something new pls.

Mcchawk
4 Oct 2006, 23:37
rdhopkins,

Did you see Russell Morris play? I swore, hit walls, abused fellow fans, the opposition, umpires, police etc etc. I hated the man.

I have though loved every other Hawk that's played for our club and yes my patience has been stretched but Morris was the icing on the cake for me.

Jimmy Edmond is a mate. He got Morris

rdhopkins2
5 Oct 2006, 01:50
I was old enough to see Big M play but not that old that I recall that much of what he was like! lol!