View Full Version : Welcome to Punt Rd..... Polak
All but a done deal my sources tell me
Polak and Freo have already agreed to part ways .
GM has already put an offer on the table to him in which he has agreed to in principle .
All that remains now is for Freo and Richmond to do the deal ... which i reckon has probably already been done .
Sit him down over summer for a few fireside chats with uncles Terry and Gregory and get his bonse right and away we go .
Interested in your thoughts on this Pantsdown
footy4eva
30 Aug 2006, 11:08
so who is ur ever so reliable source/sauce,,,,,,,,,,tomato, soy, sweet chilli?????
Darth_Tiger
30 Aug 2006, 11:14
the source/sauce thing is such an overused joke. pm me idgaf!
Yep ive heard the same things and that apparently Miller reckons its all but done.....i reckon he would make a nice fit into that back 6. Im willing to let Wallace, Royal and Kingy change this guys attitude....wallace has a history of being able to do it! Polak to wear number 10 in 2007 !!
Truetiger
30 Aug 2006, 11:43
GM has already put an offer on the table to him in which he has agreed to in principle .
All that remains now is for Freo and Richmond to do the deal ... which i reckon has probably already been done .
Sit him down over summer for a few fireside chats with uncles Terry and Gregory and get his bonse right and away we go .
Hence why one of or both Gasper and Kellaway will go. Frees up some money for Polak
Can someone please superimpose a tiger jumper on a picture of Polak....like the acker one!
kretchy
30 Aug 2006, 11:45
Polak reckons he's a forward doesn't he? Would surely be playing FB or CHB if he was going to play for us.
At least he'll be closer to his mate Croady.:D
Truetiger
30 Aug 2006, 11:45
Can someone please superimpose a tiger jumper on a picture of Polak....like the acker one!
yeah wondering the same thing. When thats done then let me know how its done ;) cheers
The Dice Man
30 Aug 2006, 12:34
Would explain the talk around Chubb and Gas.... and a couple of cones never hurt anyonehttp://www.thisboardrocks.com/forum/images/smilies/bong_hit.gif
CoggaRules
30 Aug 2006, 12:57
cos
Daicos was and is a total stoner.
Kicked all those freak goals while off his dial,,,or so he reckons
yeah, but those days you could have a ciggy and and a can of VB at half time as well. Not to mention that its strange that all the talk about players going down with injuries these days is more to do with the pace of the game and not how these days you cant build your strength, with anything else but a "workout" in the gym. ;)
Well Royce Vardy looked like he was on Acid.
French Tiger
30 Aug 2006, 13:44
Might explain why we have backed off on Aker! Both seem a risk,bit there is alot more upside to Polak as his age & our lack of depth down back etc.Would be very happy with either but like i said with Polak's age & our needs he would seem to be the better option.
True Thylacine
30 Aug 2006, 13:47
I assume we are talkin PSD here? What date is that again? If not what will it cost us?
Well Royce Vardy looked like he was on Acid.Royce looked like he would fit right in sitting around the bar at the local down at Moe sipping pots with Greg Domaszowicz and Brett Leskie whilst tag-teaming in a spit roast with Belinda
JuddyisGod
30 Aug 2006, 13:52
a very good pickup if true :thumbsu:, we could've used him to.
I assume we are talkin PSD here? What date is that again? If not what will it cost us?
Unlikely to fall to us in PSD. We would have anywhere between pick 3-8 in that depending upon how many clubs participated. Essendon would surely be keen with no options for the backline other than Fletcher, and Sheedy wouldn't be frightened of Polak's past.
We would have to trade. Realistically we would probably have to give up pick 23-24 for him. He would be a little 'cheaper' than normal because he is out of contract and considered damaged goods.
French Tiger
30 Aug 2006, 14:08
Weaver,do you think pick 23-24 (our 2nd) is fair ? & would you be prepared to give it up for him ?
turtle27
30 Aug 2006, 14:16
http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/4285/untitledqr9.png
tomthetiger
30 Aug 2006, 15:07
Or for a closer look:
http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/5105/013469ascopyzs1.jpg
Coughlan
30 Aug 2006, 16:29
make it happen GM and co. this guy is exactly what we need, he has massive talent just needs to get his head right and a move from WA could be just what he needs.
True Thylacine
30 Aug 2006, 16:37
make it happen GM and co. this guy is exactly what we need, he has massive talent just needs to get his head right and a move from WA could be just what he needs.
Is he a Sandgroper originally or a Vic?
tigerdan
30 Aug 2006, 16:45
Is he a Sandgroper originally or a Vic?
Pretty sure he is a west aussie - from E Freo I think.
Limbach_19
30 Aug 2006, 17:04
Hope its true
Weaver,do you think pick 23-24 (our 2nd) is fair ? & would you be prepared to give it up for him ?
I forgot the two charity picks for Essendon and Carlton so it will be pick 25-26.
No right or wrong on this one. He is talented, we have a big hole to fill. Really comes down to Miller and Wallace sitting down with him, asking around and making the right call.
The Kangaroos got it wrong big time with Jon Hay. Turns out Carlton may have got it right giving Fev one last chance. We got it right to cut Zantuck.
Pretty easy to judge someone's footy ability but if anyone could accurately read people that well they'd be billionaires. One of those calls where you have to trust the guys who make the decisions.
At 22 he is still young enough to be a 10-year player. Not going to get much more value from that pick. Probably a gamble worth taking. He missed most of 2005 with a knee, a bad 2006 (year after a knee) is probably not a suprise. If he passes the fitness and character test then you'd have to take him for a 2nd round pick.
inferno66
30 Aug 2006, 17:32
Freo would want at least a first round pick for him. If a proper deal doesnt come along he will stay at Freo next year.
He is out of contract and Freo don't want him. If he isn't traded he will be cut and go into the PSD. Freo has very little bargaining power and what Freo wants ain't really going to come into the equation. Heard of Troy Simmonds? Get your first round pick for him did you?
CoggaRules
30 Aug 2006, 17:44
The Kangaroos got it wrong big time with Jon Hay. Turns out Carlton may have got it right giving Fev one last chance. We got it right to cut Zantuck.
Pretty easy to judge someone's footy ability but if anyone could accurately read people that well they'd be billionaires. One of those calls where you have to trust the guys who make the decisions.
wow what vision man, you must be able to see what others dont when you get it right like that.
Would have been real good if it was also Me got it right to get Fev and Carlton got it wrong big time not giving Fev one last chance, huh? ;)
inferno66
30 Aug 2006, 17:53
He is out of contract and Freo don't want him. If he isn't traded he will be cut and go into the PSD. Freo has very little bargaining power and what Freo wants ain't really going to come into the equation. Heard of Troy Simmonds? Get your first round pick for him did you?
We got Heath Black though :). Polak is a West Aussie boy and I dont think his preference is to move over to Melbourne. Thats why I think if he isnt traded he will want to stay at the Dockers
We got Heath Black though :)
And we got rid of Fiora. If you would like another one of our out of contract stars to be involved in a deal with Polak then we are happy to oblidge. Only I think you'd prefer the pick.
wow what vision man, you must be able to see what others dont when you get it right like that.
Great beauty of typos is they can be fixed.
Would have been real good if it was also Me got it right to get Fev and Carlton got it wrong big time not giving Fev one last chance, huh? ;)
Price wasn't right, we had a budget to stick to, and we already have a FF. Turns out that is they may Miller and the club saw it too.
Polak is a West Aussie boy and I dont think his preference is to move over to Melbourne. Thats why I think if he isnt traded he will want to stay at the Dockers
Won't matter what he wants. Freo won't be offering him a new deal.
I would be borderline on a second round pick for polak, 3rd round pick would be fantastic, he could even come to my place to smoke.
A few questions
How old is he?
When was the last time he played a good game?
How much money would we need to offer per season to get him?
Surely we wouldnt give a 5-year deal Simmonds like to get him across. Everyone knew Simmonds had a good attitude and could play, a lot more risk with Polak.
Bentleigh
30 Aug 2006, 18:09
I hope your right mate.
Just what we need :thumbsu: - 2nd round pick and everyones happy.
Welcome Polak :)
CoggaRules
30 Aug 2006, 18:11
Great beauty of typos is they can be fixed.
Price wasn't right, we had a budget to stick to, and we already have a FF. Turns out that is they may Miller and the club saw it too.
have a strange feeling the price was right at any price, we werent ready to take a risk and shop at David Jones and still hang out at the $2 shop to pick up bargains to fill holes, since its a safer road for people's careers isnt it?
That is unless you are a player, then its take all the risks you can or else you are not part of the long term plans. So all the onus is on the playing group and the others are pretty well sheilded for the next 3 years and beyond.
By the way, you really think that a Polak will come cheap in terms of his contract? I mean, are you suggesting that there isnt any other team that needs a KPP that comes with the bells and whistles that Polak comes with, that havent got sh-it loads of cap left to hand over the green folding stuff?
And of course Polak is going to just jump at our lame offer, if it is a discount? when he sees a Simmo from Freo got 5 years and a real good whack and most likely a bummers or even a Lions are knocking on his door as well, saying how much do you want, KPP that is 22 years of age, 197cm and one of the top 4 picks in the strongest draft ever? Naaa, we are the only ones that have worked that one out huh?
Bentleigh
30 Aug 2006, 18:19
22 years of age
197cm
top 4 picks in the strongest draft ever
Oh - how he would make our young KPP stock look so much better.
PLease make this happen (without losing our 1st pick)!!
:thumbsu:
The Dice Man
30 Aug 2006, 18:22
We wont lose a 1st Rnd pick on Polak.
have a strange feeling the price was right at any price, we werent ready to take a risk and shop at David Jones and still hang out at the $2 shop to pick up bargains to fill holes, since its a safer road for people's careers isnt it?
That is unless you are a player, then its take all the risks you can or else you are not part of the long term plans. So all the onus is on the playing group and the others are pretty well sheilded for the next 3 years and beyond.
By the way, you really think that a Polak will come cheap in terms of his contract? I mean, are you suggesting that there isnt any other team that needs a KPP that comes with the bells and whistles that Polak comes with, that havent got sh-it loads of cap left to hand over the green folding stuff?
And of course Polak is going to just jump at our lame offer, if it is a discount? when he sees a Simmo from Freo got 5 years and a real good whack and most likely a bummers or even a Lions are knocking on his door as well, saying how much do you want, KPP that is 22 years of age, 197cm and one of the top 4 picks in the strongest draft ever? Naaa, we are the only ones that have worked that one out huh?
i think the doggies are keen too which may have a bearing on contract detail
duckboy
30 Aug 2006, 19:28
GAFman,
It's unlike you to post such a thing and not quote a source. Please provide some insight either on the forum or by PM. Love your work.
pinkus maximus
30 Aug 2006, 19:39
If you get him,well done
you will have a 10 year KPP on your hands. More importantly,one that can take a CONTESTED mark:thumbsu:
i really dont want to lose him
pinkus maximus
30 Aug 2006, 19:40
IDGAF
is it a player or a pick?
Brumbies
30 Aug 2006, 19:49
I dont think he will leave freo for the reasons you are stating here why you want him. And you think you will get him for bugger all if he is traded cos we have no bargaining power with him well think again.
If you want him, Doggies, Kangas and Bombers also want him let alone the blues aswell then there is your bargaining power boys and girls. In the end highest bidder wins or the PSD which means you dont get him.
He will be one of the best KPP up for grabs if unfortunatly we want to get rid of him.
Oh and Black for Simmonds worked out well for us better than a pick.
jackson_rules
30 Aug 2006, 20:11
I dont think he will leave freo for the reasons you are stating here why you want him. And you think you will get him for bugger all if he is traded cos we have no bargaining power with him well think again.
If you want him, Doggies, Kangas and Bombers also want him let alone the blues aswell then there is your bargaining power boys and girls. In the end highest bidder wins or the PSD which means you dont get him.
He will be one of the best KPP up for grabs if unfortunatly we want to get rid of him.
Oh and Black for Simmonds worked out well for us better than a pick.
why because blacks an average midfielder and simmonds is a star ruckman, something your dimbwit coach couldnt realise
Crumden
30 Aug 2006, 20:27
Oh and Black for Simmonds worked out well for us better than a pick.That's not quite true. If Polak selects Richmond, Freo either have to trade with the Tigers or lose him in the PSD for nothing. The player has to agree to the club he is to be traded to. Means we may have to make a more attractive offer to Polak than other clubs seeking his services, but that is different to what we would have to offer Freo. In the end if we really want him we'll have to make a reasonable (but not necessarily market value) offer to Freo or they could just let him go in the PSD, but we won't need to pay over the odds unless Freo get overly stubborn about it.
Darth_Tiger
30 Aug 2006, 20:28
sorry crumden already said that - post deleted.
jimmy15_
30 Aug 2006, 20:35
If you get him,well done
you will have a 10 year KPP on your hands. More importantly,one that can take a CONTESTED mark:thumbsu:
i really dont want to lose him
i really do hope that wasnt an attack on richmond not having a player who can take a contested mark, because if you forgot, we do have a bloke called m richardson, 1 of the best contested marks the game has seen
Brumbies
30 Aug 2006, 20:41
Simmonds didnt fit into are ruck at the time with J lo doing quite well and they were developing Sandilands. If Simmonds was still here he wouldnt be doing much ruck just the odd backing up Sandilands so in the end it was win win for all considering Simmonds wanted to go home.
The Dice Man
30 Aug 2006, 20:50
Simmonds didnt fit into are ruck at the time with J lo doing quite well and they were developing Sandilands. If Simmonds was still here he wouldnt be doing much ruck just the odd backing up Sandilands so in the end it was win win for all considering Simmonds wanted to go home.
One of Sandilands and Simmonds is in AA contention for the Ruck position, can you guess which one? ;)
Freo wasted Simmonds, much like we did for the majority of last year.
pantsdown
30 Aug 2006, 21:07
Well ID you must have some good oil on this one, contact has been made through certain people i believe.
The prickly part is what DO they want and how is it going to be packaged?
Could there be certain players and certain picks going to a couple of clubs to get the end result that Miller and co want, there is at least 2 or 3 more clubs also wanting a piece of the action in regards to young Polak.
Nothing is set in concrete at this time as far as im led to believe but who knows what has been said between player/manager/and RFC official, mind you the coffee wasnt too bad i hear, nice place the Indiana Teahouse in Cottesloe, stunning views.
Wonder who is having a meeting with RFC officials in the next few days?, apparently enjoyed his hike to the summit recently.
The Dice Man
30 Aug 2006, 21:12
Wonder if Gaspar is interested in returning home... If Freo win a final they may just think they're a Premiership chance next year and Gas and say our 3rd or 4th pick my be a sweet deal for all involved ;)
TheBacko
30 Aug 2006, 21:19
Wonder if Gaspar is interested in returning home... If Freo win a final they may just think they're a Premiership chance next year and Gas and say our 3rd or 4th pick my be a sweet deal for all involved ;)
interesting thought.
whenever you get an out-of-contract player from a trade it is always a risk, but its one we need to take with the little depth we have in our defence, especially with quite a few of them rumoured to go.
Wallace is having his first chat with Aker this week i believe...
Bojangles17
30 Aug 2006, 22:15
Well ID you must have some good oil on this one, contact has been made through certain people i believe.
The prickly part is what DO they want and how is it going to be packaged?
Could there be certain players and certain picks going to a couple of clubs to get the end result that Miller and co want, there is at least 2 or 3 more clubs also wanting a piece of the action in regards to young Polak.
I'd suspect that there;d be a heap of Vic clubs interested, Ess , Carlton, Dogs , Hawks would all lay serious claims with the first two I would think be prepeared to pay a fair price for him
Not going to come easy, will be a fair challenge for Miller
sethlad
30 Aug 2006, 23:17
Freo wasted Simmonds, much like we did for the majority of last year.
We didnt waste him last year,he didnt have the fitness after Freo bulked him up trying to make him a key forward.
Problem now solved,thanks again Freo/Geelong etc
seth
The Dice Man
30 Aug 2006, 23:20
We didnt waste him last year,he didnt have the fitness after Freo bulked him up trying to make him a key forward.
Problem now solved,thanks again Freo/Geelong etc
seth
That bulking up was our fault too wasnt it, after we earmarked him for a CHF role for 2005?
It wasnt till later on when he got good runs in the ruck he really shone, but you could see it earlier in the year too.
One game stands out in particular to me... teh Port game at Telstra Dome. He was almost leaping through the Telstra Dome roof at centre ball ups in that game, such was his eagerness to ruck.
Bojangles17
30 Aug 2006, 23:35
That bulking up was our fault too wasnt it, after we earmarked him for a CHF role for 2005?
It wasnt till later on when he got good runs in the ruck he really shone, but you could see it earlier in the year too.
from what i can recall TW and Miller saying , he arrived like that, and it took some time to change his shape
Madtiger2006
31 Aug 2006, 00:05
how many games polak played this year? he's been in trouble off the field. Is he worth getting at all? He looks a decent player, but he's not star. Could be a bad influence
I think he had personal issues re a close death in the family...(I think)...has been superb around the club this year. Played a great game pinch hitting in the ruck in the 1st derby, but not much since & has been languishing at East Freo. His best possie is CHB.
What about Polak for Coughlan? Krakouer?
Rancid_Beasties
31 Aug 2006, 00:30
Sure, take Krak. I know I'd rather an injury riddled coughlan than a fully fit krak to be honest. Do you really think Krak would make it into freo's side, and if so where?
Darth_Tiger
31 Aug 2006, 00:46
cogs is a bit too high a price. he is a best and fairest winner after all. what has polak done?
Gaspar & 3rd rounder
Freo probably could do with a solid FB who will give them 2 years service while they are in contention for a flag
chook2734
31 Aug 2006, 01:14
Gaspar & 3rd rounder
Freo probably could do with a solid FB who will give them 2 years service while they are in contention for a flag
While I'm sure South Freo wouldn't mind a player of Gaspar's experience, I think the Fremantle Dockers can make do with one of Grover, McPharlin, Johnson or Haddrill for the next year or two. :rolleyes:
Wonder if Gaspar is interested in returning home... If Freo win a final they may just think they're a Premiership chance next year and Gas and say our 3rd or 4th pick my be a sweet deal for all involved ;)That would be the best case scenario for all involved .
As Weaver said , they have little leveridge as he is un-contracted and with Essendon and Carlton licking thier lips at the bottom of the table Freo will be keen to at least get something out of it . Besides , i don`t think either of those clubs will have more than a passing interest in him . The bombers will be more than just a little gun-shy when it comes to punting on a guy like Polak after the Cupido/Zantuck etc. era , and the Blues main concern is thier midfield and youth , plus they are horribly cash strapped . Believe me ... we are in this up to our necks and are in the drivers seat . We just have to come up with the right deal
Gaspar and third round pick sounds reletively reasonable to me .
Thier barn-storming season will help this cause no end . Chris Connoly will no doubt have the premiership window well ajar and a Gaspar in the mix may , in thier minds , be the icing on the cake
mini_me316
31 Aug 2006, 03:19
Gaspar and third round pick sounds reletively reasonable to me .
Why the 3rd round pick just say we will give them Gas and our last draft pick for him take it or leave it they would rather get Gas and a late pick than nothing at all.
The reson I wouldnt want us to get rid of a 3rd pick is because the draft is said to be good pretty much right up until then, and we dont want to give away too much because he might not be any good with us.
ozserpico66
31 Aug 2006, 11:36
This is probably totally unrelated but in todays Australian it mentioned that a certain player is looking to leave his club but other clubs are very wary about recruiting him because he has 2 drug convictions against him (you know the ones that the AFL wants to keep secret). The clubs know that a third conviction will result in a 12 week suspension and this is scaring the clubs off this certain player.
We weren't prepared to go over budget, lose money, and see our debt increasing. The long-term future of the club needs us to retire debt not continue to spend money we don't have.
Where did I imply that he would? The only reason he will be cheap in term of draft picks and contract is that he is damaged goods. He has had a knee injury, hasn't played any good football in 3 years, and has a cloud hanging over his off-field lifestyle. All that reduces his bargaining power, but won't remove it completely.
CoggaRules
31 Aug 2006, 12:05
We weren't prepared to go over budget, lose money, and see our debt increasing. The long-term future of the club needs us to retire debt not continue to spend money we don't have.
Where did I imply that he would? The only reason he will be cheap in term of draft picks and contract is that he is damaged goods. He has had a knee injury, hasn't played any good football in 3 years, and has a cloud hanging over his off-field lifestyle. All that reduces his bargaining power, but won't remove it completely.
lose money? pretty defeatist attitude there Weave, to say the least. Lets have your assesment of how we were actually going to "lose" money. Easy to say it, not easy to say how huh? so a Fev would in know way have generated any new income for the tiger coffers? are you that simple man?
On your sublime second paragraph, well all i can say to that is, Weave was proved right with his appraisal of Zantuck. And i can bet my bottom dollar there is a Freo version of Weave giving the same appraisal of Polak.
FFS, we talk about long term, when debating about Aker, but now we are talking its ok to shop a NQR? LMAO, how ridiculous. ;)
If Polak selects Richmond, Freo either have to trade with the Tigers or lose him in the PSD for nothing. The player has to agree to the club he is to be traded to. Means we may have to make a more attractive offer to Polak than other clubs seeking his services, but that is different to what we would have to offer Freo.
As the Simmonds deal showed "attractive offers" are not all about cash. Simmonds traded dollars for years and therefore security.
We would be a fairly attractive proposition for any CHB/FB not getting a game.
Hawthorn are commited to Croad / Roughhead and have Dowler in the wings ... not to mention the like of Jacobs, Boyle, Dawson, Gilham. Murphy, Thurgood. Going there might be a tough ask for a Polak.
Carlton added Bower, Edwards, Kennedy at the last draft. Still have Whitnall, Thornton and Livingstone. Both the O'Hailpins look like tall defenders. Hartlett can play there and Flint on the rookie-list has some promise.
The Roos and Bombers need him but both are veteran teams. He goes there and he could spend 6 years (the prime of his career) in the bottom-4.
In contrast any FB that came to us wouldn't have much trouble getting into the team. Particularly if Gaspar, Kellaway and Moore go. They would also be a good chance to play finals in a year or two, and then maybe play in 5 finals series in a row.
The appeal of 20-22 nearly guarenteed games in an improving team is worth how much to a 23 year old fringe player whose career is in a difficult spot?
lose money? pretty defeatist attitude there Weave, to say the least. Lets have your assesment of how we were actually going to "lose" money. Easy to say it, not easy to say how huh? so a Fev would in know way have generated any new income for the tiger coffers? are you that simple man?
We lost millions under the last year of Casey and were left with a huge debt to service. The new president told the football department they would have to stick to budget. We wanted to break even as a worst case scenario, if we had a good year we wanted to make a slight profit. Most reports out of RFC is that we are going to make about $50k profit this year.
Bring in Fevola on $500k and we lose money. He might have sold a few more items of merchandise but not many. Not enough to cover the difference. He is hardly going to generate extra bums on seats, our crowds are already good and people are happy to go and watch Richo and the kids.
If the price was right (ie the Blues had been willing to pick up a chunk of his contract) the deal probably would have happened.
We would have then had 2 fullforwards who both thrive when they have the forward line to themselves. Brilliant.
On your sublime second paragraph, well all i can say to that is, Weave was proved right with his appraisal of Zantuck. And i can bet my bottom dollar there is a Freo version of Weave giving the same appraisal of Polak.
FFS, we talk about long term, when debating about Aker, but now we are talking its ok to shop a NQR? LMAO, how ridiculous. ;)
Zantuck had to go. Plenty on here didn't want him to go, but as he showed at Essendon he is a troubled kid who wasn't focussed on footy.
Polak would be a risk. A risk we would be very nervous about. I said at the beginning that you'd have to trust Miller / Wallace and co to sit down, look at the guy in the eyes and make a call. Is he someone who had a couple of wild years and has grown-up? Is he a loose cannon?
The fundamental difference with Polak and Aker is something that you refuse to even address. Polak is a 23 yo CHB and we have no CHBs and a big problem amongst our key defender stocks. We also lack players in that key 22-26 year old group that is the key to winning games. Aker is a 30yo HFF, a position we have plenty of options for. Polak is young enough to play in a Grand Final with us, Aker isn't.
Bojangles17
31 Aug 2006, 12:23
I think he had personal issues re a close death in the family...(I think)...has been superb around the club this year. Played a great game pinch hitting in the ruck in the 1st derby, but not much since & has been languishing at East Freo. His best possie is CHB.
What about Polak for Coughlan? Krakouer?
do you honestly think a quality regular senior player is a fair trade for a player that has failed to establish himself at the level, currently languishing at WAFL....his attraction is potential only...and remains a massive risk...R2 draft pick would be adequate and suitable compensation
Bojangles17
31 Aug 2006, 12:26
We would have then had 2 fullforwards who both thrive when they have the forward line to themselves. Brilliant.
That's a concept that the Fev faction never really got their minds around...so weav you might have to spell it out R E A L simple:confused:
CoggaRules
31 Aug 2006, 12:40
We lost millions under the last year of Casey and were left with a huge debt to service. The new president told the football department they would have to stick to budget. We wanted to break even as a worst case scenario, if we had a good year we wanted to make a slight profit. Most reports out of RFC is that we are going to make about $50k profit this year.
Bring in Fevola on $500k and we lose money. He might have sold a few more items of merchandise but not many. Not enough to cover the difference. He is hardly going to generate extra bums on seats, our crowds are already good and people are happy to go and watch Richo and the kids.
If the price was right (ie the Blues had been willing to pick up a chunk of his contract) the deal probably would have happened.
Zantuck had to go. Plenty on here didn't want him to go, but as he showed at Essendon he is a troubled kid who wasn't focussed on footy.
Polak would be a risk. A risk we would be very nervous about. I said at the beginning that you'd have to trust Miller / Wallace and co to sit down, look at the guy in the eyes and make a call. Is he someone who had a couple of wild years and has grown-up? Is he a loose cannon?
The fundamental difference with Polak and Aker is something that you refuse to even address. Polak is a 23 yo CHB and we have no CHBs and a big problem amongst our key defender stocks. We also lack players in that key 22-26 year old group that is the key to winning games. Aker is a 30yo HFF, a position we have plenty of options for. Polak is young enough to play in a Grand Final with us, Aker isn't.
so you dont think he would have generated a minimum of a 1000 extra memberships? Attracted an extra sponsor or 3?
The 500k you suggest he would have cost us? do you know how ridiculous that sounds? why? do you understand that we would have had to move on a player that most likely is on 200k to get him, have you ever heard of "net" cost? You seem to lose sight of what the team doesnt have to pay and opt to talk about what they have to pay only. Very one dimnesional thinking to say the least.
Yeah we would have had 2 Forwards, one of which would have added to our arsenal, i.e. lets not say, 80, lets leave it at 60 extra goals and giving us the option to have a Sarge at CHB as well. Naaa, you only touch on the one dimensional stuff huh?
On your assesment of the options we have for HF, yes indeed, but there are options that you hope make it, and there are options that have the runs on the board, that opposition sides have to negate with their no. 1 or no 2 mid sized defender. When you get the opposition doign that, then your options that you hope make the grade, have an immense advantage in making a difference seeing as they are pitted against defenders of the same or less level of quality.
Surely you understand the mechanics of how match ups work and how you have to make it so your match ups come up in the black, re. quality.
By the way dude, whatever TW & GM do is ok by me, all i do is have my say on what i think might be an angle, and argue about it here with dudes like you. ;)
blaisee
31 Aug 2006, 13:43
so you dont think he would have generated a minimum of a 1000 extra memberships? Attracted an extra sponsor or 3?
The 500k you suggest he would have cost us? do you know how ridiculous that sounds? why? do you understand that we would have had to move on a player that most likely is on 200k to get him, have you ever heard of "net" cost? You seem to lose sight of what the team doesnt have to pay and opt to talk about what they have to pay only. Very one dimnesional thinking to say the least.
Yeah we would have had 2 Forwards, one of which would have added to our arsenal, i.e. lets not say, 80, lets leave it at 60 extra goals and giving us the option to have a Sarge at CHB as well. Naaa, you only touch on the one dimensional stuff huh?
On your assesment of the options we have for HF, yes indeed, but there are options that you hope make it, and there are options that have the runs on the board, that opposition sides have to negate with their no. 1 or no 2 mid sized defender. When you get the opposition doign that, then your options that you hope make the grade, have an immense advantage in making a difference seeing as they are pitted against defenders of the same or less level of quality.
Surely you understand the mechanics of how match ups work and how you have to make it so your match ups come up in the black, re. quality.
By the way dude, whatever TW & GM do is ok by me, all i do is have my say on what i think might be an angle, and argue about it here with dudes like you. ;)
cogga :rolleyes: ;) ;) :rolleyes: :thumbsd:
That's a concept that the Fev faction never really got their minds around...so weav you might have to spell it out R E A L simple:confused:... in small words
How did the sarge go on saturday night ...? ;)
Bojangles17
31 Aug 2006, 14:02
... in small words
How did the sarge go on saturday night ...? ;)
precisely, prob about 5 or 6 forward entries were directed his way, thats why I sais elsewhere Id like to see him parked at FF in pre season whilst Richo watches from the grandstand
Bojangles17
31 Aug 2006, 14:07
)
To be quite frank Cogga, on the back of the season Fev had in 2005 and a financial deficit Tatiana couldnt pole vault over there'd probably have been a 1000 ferals wanting to string someone up...I think your in the wrong time zone suggesting fans and sponsors would be tripping over themselves for a bloke that was on his last legs at Carlton....Biggg stretch indeed
People mentioning Gaspars name is just plain wrong. He would be about a 6th choice Full Back at best at Freo. Freo have Grover, McPharlin, Johnson, Parker, Haddrill.
Gaspar should retire now.
I mentioned Krakouer before, but I'm probably way off the mark there...I doubt he'd be in our best 28 players let alone 22.
Coughlan would definitely be a good fit. What injury did he get though?...if it's a knee, the simple answer is "no" to that one as well.
Connolly has been talking Polak all week & I'd say he'll be in the team for this weeks game...if he plays well enough he may end up playing finals footy & anything could happen then. If at the end of the year he still wants to leave or club wants him to leave...I'd say Freo are more likely to do a deal with the Bulldogs for x-Sandgroper, Farren Ray...a straight swap.
The Dice Man
31 Aug 2006, 14:26
Did Polak win a B&F or do something in recent history to make Freo supporters dramatically overate him?
They seem to forget the 'behaviours' that may come with Polak... He is dangerous goods, goods that may come... well er, good, but he is by no means a proven player, either in performance or attitude.
Bojangles17
31 Aug 2006, 14:39
Did Polak win a B&F or do something in recent history to make Freo supporters dramatically overate him?
yeah, didnt they spell out the fine print.... Under 12s, 1994:p
People mentioning Gaspars name is just plain wrong. He would be about a 6th choice Full Back at best at Freo. Freo have Grover, McPharlin, Johnson, Parker, Haddrill.
... and Mundy and Drum.
That is one of the problems when a major draft 'spend' flops. You have to go and recruit more of his type and you end up with a crowd.
Bit like the Geelong forward line. If one or two of their guys had stood up they wouldn't have had to have Kingsley, Lonergan, N.Ablett, P.Johnson, McCarthy, Gardiner, Mackie, Playfair and Grima all fighting for 2 spots. 2 spots when you consider that the resting ruckman (King, Ottens, Mooney, Blake) will fill the third tall forward role.
Can't have a quarter of your list dedicated to 2 spots.
Those are the situations where nice trades can happen. Freo pretty much have to lose a tall defender and the Cats need to offload forwards (paricularly with Hawkins added to the mix). That is Miller territory.
Shame Lonergan suffered the kidney injury and effectively ended his career. He'd done really well since being forced by competition to CHB and might have been a really handy (and very cheap) pick up.
That is probably what the Freo supporters don't register. Freo have to trade Polak. No team can carry a 6th-7th choice player anymore. They simply can't make him a new offer.
I mentioned Krakouer before, but I'm probably way off the mark there...I doubt he'd be in our best 28 players let alone 22.
Coughlan would definitely be a good fit. What injury did he get though?...if it's a knee, the simple answer is "no" to that one as well.
Connolly has been talking Polak all week & I'd say he'll be in the team for this weeks game...if he plays well enough he may end up playing finals footy & anything could happen then. If at the end of the year he still wants to leave or club wants him to leave...I'd say Freo are more likely to do a deal with the Bulldogs for x-Sandgroper, Farren Ray...a straight swap.
I agree with most of what you say, people get obsessed with the fact Gaspar might want to go home and therefore assume Freo will want him. Personally, because of his status as a veteran and our position of lacking key defenders makes him far more valuable to us than he is to any other team. Richmond people here mistakenly believe his value to other teams will be as high as his value to us which is just plain wrong. I don't think he should retire because personally I think we need him, but I can't see Freo picking him up unless it was basically for free and on minimum salary.
Coughlan did a knee, one of those ACL's where he barely felt it and played on for a bit. Am confident he'll be back strong, would be worth far more than Polak.
As for Ray for Polak, Ray has really come on this season, it's been the first when he's been physically up to playing AFL and has shown he's going to be a good player. I think trade wise he'd be worth more than Polak straight up and if a deal was done, you'd need to be putting more on the table.
Darth_Tiger
31 Aug 2006, 21:28
ray for polak, rofl!!! :D
pantsdown
31 Aug 2006, 21:40
The reason the Dockers or especially Cuddles are talking him up is because he is the market, pure and simple, hell dont be surprised if he even plays.
The purchaser likes to see what they are purchasing.
Crumden
31 Aug 2006, 21:53
If anything, Freo are probaly shortest on for midfielders. We have a surplus of left-foot runners, especially if Howat is promoted. Tivendale is probably getting a bit old to be of much interest to them. Hyde could be thrown up in a swap, much as Fiora was to get the Simmonds deal done. We won't be giving away a first rounder for Polak, but people are kidding themselves if they think we'll get him for a 4th rounder. He has some baggage and isn't a great kick which all means we could get him below market value, but he is a KPP with a very good mark and was a high draft pick, and runner-up in the 2003 rising star.
Calcium Man
31 Aug 2006, 22:06
If anything, Freo are probaly shortest on for midfielders. We have a surplus of left-foot runners, especially if Howat is promoted. Tivendale is probably getting a bit old to be of much interest to them. Hyde could be thrown up in a swap, much as Fiora was to get the Simmonds deal done. We won't be giving away a first rounder for Polak, but people are kidding themselves if they think we'll get him for a 4th rounder. He has some baggage and isn't a great kick which all means we could get him below market value, but he is a KPP with a very good mark and was a high draft pick, and runner-up in the 2003 rising star.
Hyde is a plus our 2nd pick for polak and freos 2nd pick is a good trade i think.
tiger4life
31 Aug 2006, 22:20
Hyde is a plus our 2nd pick for polak and freos 2nd pick is a good trade i think.
really wouldnt want to get rid of hyde. he has been good this year i thought :thumbsu:
Darth_Tiger
31 Aug 2006, 22:38
as good as he has been hyde is the kind of player that could feature in a trade.
Calcium Man
31 Aug 2006, 22:39
really wouldnt want to get rid of hyde. he has been good this year i thought :thumbsu:
Yeah he has been good, but he also have a lot of similar players. In all reality wouldnt lose a lot if he went.
Crumden
31 Aug 2006, 22:43
really wouldnt want to get rid of hyde. he has been good this year i thought :thumbsu:We aren't going to land a good player at the club with the usual band of cast-offs people throw up as possible trades.
Darth_Tiger
31 Aug 2006, 23:38
gotta give up something to get something thats for sure.
Dr Ralph Dagg
1 Sep 2006, 13:26
[QUOTE=The Dice Man]One of Sandilands and Simmonds is in AA contention for the Ruck position, can you guess which one? ;)
Freo wasted Simmonds, much like we did for the majority of last year. /QUOTE]
Carp. He had a knee problem for his last two years with us and couldn't really play in the ruck. So they tried bulking him up to play him down forward. If you try playing him as No.1 ruck for whole season you may get similar problems.
At the end of the day, we were very sad to see Simmonds go but Greg Miller made a huge gamble on paying him $1.5m over 5 years, and it wasn't one we were willing to match. I think partially you needed guys who were going to be around for 5 years who were good role models which Simmonds definitely is. Never caused any one a moments problem in 8 years or so at AFL level.
Dr Ralph Dagg
1 Sep 2006, 13:45
They seem to forget the 'behaviours' that may come with Polak... He is dangerous goods, goods that may come... well er, good, but he is by no means a proven player, either in performance or attitude.
Our problem is we have watched him play for five years, and we tend to think he is pretty good. And we are quite happy to overrate our players because generally every BigFooty board underrates our players -- because they don't see very much of them.
We've also looked at the number of KPP players that have come on since he was drafted in 2001 and Polak is probably in the top five or seven.
I reckon you bunch are dreaming if you think you will get Polak cheaply. Polak can say what he likes but if Freo won't deal he goes into the PSD where he doesn't get a choice.
As a general rule, decent KPP trades tend to be high profile. Have a look at the deals over the last few seasons for clubs trying to get KPP players -- Ottens, Rawlings, Hay. You'll be up for a first rounder minimum, and then some. Having said that I reckon he'll be really good value. You're talking a ten year player.
Anyway, no doubt you'll think I'm full of carp because what would I know, I've only watched every game he's played since he started in 2002. I was sitting in the pocket for his first game when as an 18 year old he absolutely pantsed a fit and firing Steven Alessio. You could see the look of surprise on Alessio's face as this skinny kid rang rings around him.
At the end of the day, we were very sad to see Simmonds go but Greg Miller made a huge gamble on paying him $1.5m over 5 years, and it wasn't one we were willing to match.
Everyone talks about Simmonds' 'huge' contract. With the new TV deal the average salary in the league will hit $200k. $300k a year on any key forward / ruckman who plays 22 games a season is a bargain.
Also, as Wallace has stated numerous times, if we'd signed him up for two years, we'd only just be sitting down with him now to negotiate a new two- or three-year contract. Given his form this year, he'd be within his rights to demand a higher salary.
Have a look at the deals over the last few seasons for clubs trying to get KPP players -- Ottens, Rawlings, Hay.
All pretty well established AFL players who have proven they can play and excell at the top level. Ottens & Hay are both ex-AA, Rawlings may even have got a selection at some stage but not sure.
Polak has never earned himself the right to be a walk up start in an AFL team, that affects his trade value a huge amount. Even Fiora was the 3rd selection in his draft, didn't stop him being crap.
mini_me316
2 Sep 2006, 04:28
Polak > Aker :)
If Polak can prove himself this may be true.
so who is ur ever so reliable source/sauce,,,,,,,,,,tomato, soy, sweet chilli?????I`ll tell what "sauce" it was
Slowly marinated ........ lightly saute`d in...
"RIGHT ON THE FU.KEN MONEY" ...sauce , thats what
GP was coming to Punt rd months ago my good friends , the only fly in the ointment was the fact that Freo really got on a roll and our boy got cold feet ... what with the new warm and fuzzy feeling around that club , but the people in the know around him soon sorted his head out and hear we are .
itsintheblood
13 Oct 2006, 23:12
WELL DONE IDGAF!!!
RIGHT ON THE FRIGGEN MONEY!!! I bow to u.
Crumden
13 Oct 2006, 23:17
Can someone please superimpose a tiger jumper on a picture of Polak....like the acker one!The official site has done it.
http://richmondfc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/303042bs.jpg
pantsdown
13 Oct 2006, 23:36
I`ll tell what "sauce" it was
Slowly marinated ........ lightly saute`d in...
"RIGHT ON THE FU.KEN MONEY" ...sauce , thats what
GP was coming to Punt rd months ago my good friends , the only fly in the ointment was the fact that Freo really got on a roll and our boy got cold feet ... what with the new warm and fuzzy feeling around that club , but the people in the know around him soon sorted his head out and hear we are .
Well it seems your source came through IDGAF, the timeline is just about spot on in regards to Polak coming on board i think the meeting about 2 weeks ago clinched it, now lets see who is going to compliment this trade in the PSD:thumbsu:
Sidenote: interesting that the reason the deal took so long was because a certain club (EFC) or a certain coach wanted to get into the deal, i believe that BR enjoyed his trip to WA, perhaps he was checking out a certain player that we have an interest in come draft time, also tied up some loose ends re: polak deal.