View Full Version : Hawthorn Delistings and trade teasers..
Total_90's
11 Sep 2006, 19:41
anyone got news on comings and goings around the hawthorn football club?
cschreuder61
11 Sep 2006, 19:44
Nah, but you'd think the ones under strife would be Thurgood, Brennan, Ball, Ries, Miller, Boyle, and Barker retired Everitt traded.
Gilham to be promoted to senior list.
I'd keep one of Ries or Ball as backup and some experience with so many youngsters still on the list.
Trading.... Spider obviously gone, we'd be looking at Polak, maybe Michael but who knows on his situation.... type players. Basically a big bodied defender I would have thought.
sinepari
11 Sep 2006, 19:47
Polak could be a real option for the hawks.
Total_90's
11 Sep 2006, 19:49
Nah, but you'd think the ones under strife would be Thurgood, Brennan, Ball, Ries, Miller, Boyle, and Barker retired Everitt traded.
Gilham to be promoted to senior list.
I'd keep one of Ries or Ball as backup and some experience with so many youngsters still on the list.
Trading.... Spider obviously gone, we'd be looking at Polak, maybe Michael but who knows on his situation.... type players. Basically a big bodied defender I would have thought.
i would be a shattered hawthorn person if polak was picked up..
overrated, slow, dumb, no skill, rumoured to be one of 3 busted for drugs, just isn't up to afl standard in my opinion..
sinepari
11 Sep 2006, 19:50
He does have skill. He just hasn't applied it yet.
cschreuder61
11 Sep 2006, 19:50
Seen enough to say he'd be worth at least a punt, especially in our undersized defence. Freo have McPharlin and Parker as their main defenders, there just doesn't seem to be room
Freo haven't exactly got a reputation of getting the best out of some players (Croad for example) so maybe a trade back to Melbourne under a fresh coach and a more defined role would bring the best out of player with talent yet to make a mark in the big time.
Total_90's
11 Sep 2006, 19:54
also a lightening quick midfielder is still on the shopping list.. we have hodge and mitchell who aren't the quickest gifted players.. with birchall coming on i see him playing more of a backline flanker position..
any pacey midfielders up for grabs?
cschreuder61
11 Sep 2006, 19:56
Akermanis but no way we'll pay him what he wants, can't afford to when managing the salary cap and having young players who's value will only increase as time goes on.
Not too many outside types available I wouldn't have thought.
Ellis, Muston Tuck are runners and good users so hopefully we'll see them develop and draft another this year.
Freo Shark
11 Sep 2006, 20:16
Seen enough to say he'd be worth at least a punt, especially in our undersized defence. Freo have McPharlin and Parker as their main defenders, there just doesn't seem to be room
Freo haven't exactly got a reputation of getting the best out of some players (Croad for example) so maybe a trade back to Melbourne under a fresh coach and a more defined role would bring the best out of player with talent yet to make a mark in the big time.
Abit of knowledge about a teams players helps when discussing a trade deal.
Parker is on the verge of retirement probably 2007. Croad was a victim of Media pressure and was basically run outta town.
cschreuder61
11 Sep 2006, 21:30
Abit of knowledge about a teams players helps when discussing a trade deal.
Parker is on the verge of retirement probably 2007. Croad was a victim of Media pressure and was basically run outta town.
A bit of knowledge about Croad? I follow him pretty closely. However you look at it he hasn't done well at Freo and has at Hawthorn. Polak may benefit from a change and more opportunity which he hasn't got at Fremantle so far.
Patty#32
11 Sep 2006, 21:35
Josh Kennedy to Hawthorn
Heropsychodreamer
11 Sep 2006, 21:35
A bit of knowledge about Croad? I follow him pretty closely. However you look at it he hasn't done well at Freo and has at Hawthorn. Polak may benefit from a change and more opportunity which he hasn't got at Fremantle so far.
Agreed... either way, some people adjust better than others to playing away from home. Croad started off well, but lost interest and the media pressure didnt help.
I would love to give Polak a go at Hawthorn... you never know... all it takes for some people is a change of scenery/city... it happens so often. Though, i've also heard he may have some attitude problems, which is a bit of a concern. But we are losing Everitt, so we are no worse attitude wise than this yr!!!
Heropsychodreamer
11 Sep 2006, 21:45
anyone got news on comings and goings around the hawthorn football club?
I think Gardiner is off our list... i wouldnt mind him... but i think carlton have their eye on him, and are second in the pre season draft. Thats cool though. Mal Michael and Polak were two others names to sure up our defence. I think Polak would be better for age reasons.... dont know though... is he big enough to be a KPP???
Maybe a straight swap, Brennan for Polak... pick 9 v pick 4 of their respective drafts... could be a win win for both players... or a lose lose :s
As far as drafts go, i think Thorpe is high on our list, as aa KPP defender... he was looking at oing 4 or 5, but after sustaining a pretty bad ankle injury, could drop a few spots for us to get him.
We need some pace in the middle, but i think more importantly, we need another developing ruckman... though we have a few! We cant have just 3... especially when Campbell only came good this yr, the other two are VERY raw... and i cant see Campbell going the lone gunman the whole yr.
Maybe a direct swap for a swans ruckman, with everitt.
Maybe trade campbell brown for chuck norris :) equal in everyway... especially the round house kick. Like campbell brown... Chuck norris has two speeds: WALK and KILL
Junior_Hawker
11 Sep 2006, 22:43
also a lightening quick midfielder is still on the shopping list.. we have hodge and mitchell who aren't the quickest gifted players.. with birchall coming on i see him playing more of a backline flanker position..
any pacey midfielders up for grabs?
Kane Tenace from the cats could be up for grabs.....thoughts.
Now not saying that we would like him (skill wise yes but for heart no thanks) Ryan Houlihan must surely be tradeable this year. Don't know if we would even give him a passing glance but he could be used in a Joel Smith / Brendan Goddard type role across half back or on a wing.
Hardness is quite clearly his biggest issue!!!
Nightwolf
12 Sep 2006, 00:26
Deluded people. No team wants our junk players. Spida is the only one with a reasonable amount of trade value...Maybe Osborne too..
Our picks are satisfying and the 2nd rounder we have may be good value come trade week..
Ryan Ferguson from the Dees is high on our list. Believe it..
Pessimistic
12 Sep 2006, 02:04
Losing spider and Barker cannot afford to lose any more mature players.
With 4 draftes from 2005 and 2 from 20 still to get game time there will be limited opportunitis for this years draftees to get senior game time.
Having sad that will still take 3 including Kennedy.
There will be a shoring up in the mature department. FB seems to be the biggest hole to fill.
Sounds far fetched but I'd make a play for Scarlett. Spread some Creswell rumours around.
DynamoUltra
12 Sep 2006, 02:07
Deluded people. No team wants our junk players. Spida is the only one with a reasonable amount of trade value...Maybe Osborne too..
Our picks are satisfying and the 2nd rounder we have may be good value come trade week..
Ryan Ferguson from the Dees is high on our list. Believe it..
Would agree with that. It is optimistic for us to believe trades could be made for Miller, Thurgood, Brennan, Boyle and Ries. Our potential trades are Spider, Osborne, and to a lesser extent, Ladson. I reckon we could possibly offer Spider to Sydney for the first rounder, and in turn offer that to Essendon for McPhee. Always a possibility, and one that is worth pursuing.
DynamoUltra
12 Sep 2006, 02:10
Sounds far fetched but I'd make a play for Scarlett. Spread some Creswell rumours around.
Yep. I could also part with pick 13, if we get it for Spider, in return for Scarlett. I doubt Geelong would accept anything, however.
*PAFC*13
12 Sep 2006, 10:21
I'd take Thurgood at Port Adelaide.
fishbowl
12 Sep 2006, 10:27
What will you give for him?
Fabulous
12 Sep 2006, 10:34
And you can take Miller as well.
Macquarie Eagle
12 Sep 2006, 10:50
Would agree with that. It is optimistic for us to believe trades could be made for Miller, Thurgood, Brennan, Boyle and Ries. Our potential trades are Spider, Osborne, and to a lesser extent, Ladson. I reckon we could possibly offer Spider to Sydney for the first rounder, and in turn offer that to Essendon for McPhee. Always a possibility, and one that is worth pursuing.
McPhee and Vandenberg in the same side.......in that case I want to go to next years club boxing tournament.
And why is Osbourne trade bait? Has he had a tiff with the club? Or is it we just have to many of his type.
I think the one thing we need to very careful about right now is trading 'experienced' players for the hell of it, particularly when they won't be worth anything to any other club. We're losing 420 games worth with JB & Spider going.
We've taken on a lot of young players recently, and the probability is that some simply won't make it. The trick is passing on those who we don't think will make it, but have some value right now. Hence, turn over the list without losing more experience.
I'd suggest Clinton Young - Rising Star award during the year, so his stocks would be reasonably good. Is pacy, and tends to play well at Telstra Dome, so maybe Essendon would be interested. He's going to be up against the likes of Ellis & Muston next year, so it will be harder again for him to get a spot.
theGav56
12 Sep 2006, 13:07
Some interesting thoughts on here.
One that is off the mark is the idea of getting Polak "back" to Victoria. He is from WA and I think is reluctant to leave the state. I am one who is happy for him to be considered for trade as we have very good KP strength across the board. But the club seems determined to keep him as he gives us depth, and his marking is a weapon.
Had to laugh at the idea of pick 13 for Scarlett. If he as actually on the market he would easily be the most valuable trade target out there. Plus I could see no way that a F/S selection and champion of the club such that he is would go anywhere. Time will tell I guess, but, I reckon you are absolutely dreaming.
Budda 230
12 Sep 2006, 15:14
Kane Tenace from the cats could be up for grabs.....thoughts.
Now not saying that we would like him (skill wise yes but for heart no thanks)
The Kane Tenace that I know doesn't have great skills. The Hawks have heaps of young talented midfielders any way. Has awesome pace though. I'm not sure where you got the heartless comment from though.
What would you offer for him? 2nd rounder?
Jeffers1984
12 Sep 2006, 15:24
There's no way in hell you'll get our first round pick for Spida. We'd rather just take our chance in the pre season draft.
However you may still get a 2nd rounder for him.
Honest John
12 Sep 2006, 20:26
Hawks want Mc phee on list so they can give him the shane strempel treatment.;)
*PAFC*13
12 Sep 2006, 22:42
What will you give for him?
Young Toby Thurstans ;) ...
Pass on Harry thanks :p
Young Toby Thurstans ;) ...
Pass on Harry thanks :p
sold!
lethalselbow
13 Sep 2006, 09:46
Surely Boyle, Miller and Ries are gawn.
Why would Osbourne be on the hit list???? He's hard, hawthorn all the way. Can play!
Thurgood is either at Hawthorn or nowhere. I think he should stay. Hopefully we can get a good steak or pasta into him and get his weight above that of Kylie Minogues.
Must have a key defender on our wants list
lethalselbow
13 Sep 2006, 09:51
Todd Viney's wrap on Hawks players:
7. Michael Osborne: Just like that, he complained of a foot injury and unfortunately, a prolonged rest didn't help, meaning season-ending surgery was the only option. 'Ossie' remains a really valuable player for us; he's an elite runner and he shows terrific aggression, as long as it is harnessed the right way. We need blokes like him who are really hard at the footy.
http://http://hawthornfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=297372 (http://http//hawthornfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=297372)
I'd like to think he's wanted. He is wearing No. 7 afterall.