Geelong - Diablo14
Western Bulldogs - Grub29
Sydney - Cypher
Melbourne - Gilly1972
Kangaroos - Scottroo
Port Adelaide - ????:confused:
Saints - Kingjames
Richmond - Philhawk
Seems everyone is pretty keen on starting on a trial run of a phantom draft. We will have a go at one and then complete a real one when the trading has finished. still wanna go through a heap of DVD's myself, but a trial run might be fun anyways.
By the way, dont care if this draft takes weeks, more about getting a heap of peoples opinions on players and getting some constructive talk about the class of 2006 :thumbsu:
cheers guys , fire away
Be good if everyone gives a brief description of the player selected and the reason why their clubs need certain players.:thumbsu:
1st ROUND
1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors
2nd ROUND
17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd
18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid
19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt
20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss
21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli
22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley
23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley
24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart
25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow
26. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Caleb Mourish
27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage
28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown
29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf
30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks
31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall
32. West Coast (Sinepari) ------------------------ Kirk Tippett
33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura
34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff
3rd ROUND
35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt
36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton
37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen
38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding
39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak
40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S
41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S
42. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jackson Sheringham
43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg
44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown
45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Tim Houlihan
46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Daniel O'Keefe
47. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Dean Kelly
48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Alwyn Davey
49. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Collier
50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Todd Pfieffer
4th ROUND
51. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- David McKay
52. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Robert Eddy
53. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Daniel Caire
54. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Jarryn Geary
55. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Frawley
56. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Nathan Krakouer
57. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Matthew Vasilevski
58. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Daniel Dzufer
59. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Leigh Adams
60. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joseph Anderson
61. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Jesse White
62. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Luke McLean
63. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Jethro Calma-Holt
64. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Chris Varsamakis
65. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Holmes
66. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Alex Hutchins
5th ROUND
67. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Patrick Fittock
68. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Sam Jacobs
69. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Caolan Buckley
70. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Tim Brown
71. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Andrew Ainger
72. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Brad Dicke
73. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Kyle Reimers
74. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Shawn Colbung
75. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Craig Bird
76. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Shaun Hampson
77. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Daniel Currie
78. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Matt Austin
79. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Angus Lally
80. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Carl Peterson
81. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Batsanis
82. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)---------------------- Zac Millar
6th ROUND
83. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Todd Goldstein
84. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Andrew Horne
85. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Ben Haynes
86. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Hayden Kiel
87. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Jaymie Youle
88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean ****
89. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Aaron Edwards
90. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Colin Garland
91. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Ryan Anderson
92. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Chris Dawes
93. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Lachie George
94. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
95. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
96. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
97. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
98. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)----------------------
7th ROUND
99. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) -----------------------
100. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) -----------------
101. Kangaroos (Scottroo) -------------------------
102. Brisbane (Irel) --------------------------------
103. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) --------------------
104. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ----------------------
105. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------
106. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------------
107. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------
108. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------
109. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) --------------------
110. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
111. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
112. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
113. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
114. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)----------------------
MIDFIELDERS
1. Gibbs
2. Jetta
3. Proud
4. Selwood
5. Benjamin
6. Hislop
7. Collard
8. O'Brien
9. Connors
10. Petterd
11.Schmidt
12.Moss
13.Houli
14.Hawksle
15.Hurley
16.Urquart
17.Harbrow
18.Armitage
19.Djerrkura
20.Fielding
21.Boak
22.Sheringham
23.Grigg
24.Houlihan
25.O'Keefe
26.Kelly
27.Davey
28.Pfeiffer
29.MacKay
30.Eddy
31.Caire
32.Geary
33.Krakouer
KP'S
1. Gumby
2. Hansen
3. Thorpe
4. Seller
5. Riewoldt
6. McKenzie
7. Reid
8. Mourish
9. Brown
10.Tippet
11.Westhoff
12.Everitt
13.Allen
14.M.Brown
15.Collier
16.Frawley
RUCKS
1. Leunburger
2. Renouf
ptrain8
12 Sep 2006, 17:11
Could we get list of the order of picks? Sorry, not sure if it was as it stood after round 22, or does it depend on the finals outcome? Cheers
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 17:54
Considering we have weeks till the 'real-deal', let's not rush it and have this thread swamped with "hurry up / can someone else take his pick etc etc"
sherminator
12 Sep 2006, 18:20
Do us proud Irel :thumbsu:
[B]By the way, dont care if this draft takes weeks, more about getting a heap of peoples opinions on players and getting some constructive talk about the class of 2006 :thumbsu:
cheers guys , fire away
Ok, away we go.
Carlton - Pick 1 - Bryce Gibbs (Midfielder)
Genuine mid with superb skills. Not lightning quick, but his football ability certainly makes up for this. Already playing SANFL footy for Glenelg, and will surely debut in round one next year.
Carltons midfield is in need of urgent repair, and a midfield with Gibbs, Murphy, Simpson, Stevens, Blackwell and Scotland certainly appeals.
Over to you McPhee for pick no. 2
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 18:28
Nice work mate. Good to see a little profile there too!
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 18:30
surprise surprise
Ill be happy to pick for port for the trial run.
mcphee_is_a_gun
12 Sep 2006, 18:32
Essendon - Pick 2 - Scott Gumbleton (KPP)
Good sized KPP has already played against men and held his own.He has great courage as shown by the Under 18's carnival and would have to be the best Contestested mark in the Draft. He also is very versatile can play CHB, CHF and even the ruck.
Also adding i chose Gumbleton over Hansen because i believe he has more upside and the ability to dominate games at CHB or CHF where as Hansen's offensive games isnt as good as Gumby.
surprise surprise
Really? ;)
TheFridge
12 Sep 2006, 18:42
I can post for Port!
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 18:44
If you watch junior footy, I guess you can join. Run if past LH15.
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 18:48
Could we get list of the order of picks? Sorry, not sure if it was as it stood after round 22, or does it depend on the finals outcome? Cheers
1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon - Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos
4. Brisbane
5. Port Adelaide
6. Hawthorn
7. Geelong
8. Richmond
9. St Kilda
10. Collingwood
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Melbourne
13. Fremantle
14. West Coast
15. Sydney
16. Adelaide
Pick 11 onwards are subject to change, but this is the order at this stage.
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 18:50
1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
3. Kangaroos
4. Brisbane
5. Port Adelaide
6. Hawthorn
7. Geelong
8. Richmond
9. St Kilda
10. Collingwood
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Melbourne
13. Fremantle
14. West Coast
15. Sydney
16. Adelaide
Pick 11 onwards are subject to change, but this is the order at this stage.
thats actually pretty right on- well done on an equitable pick allocation macca
Might be good to put why you choose this person rather than others in consideration.
eg. I picked Gumbleton over Hansen because..........
Scottroo
12 Sep 2006, 18:51
Pick 3- Kangaroos
Lachlen Hanson- A KPP who has the abilty to play back or forward, good athletically and has some pace, exactly what the kangaroos need, the kangaroos beleive he can hold down a KP for 12-13 years
mcphee_is_a_gun
12 Sep 2006, 18:53
Might be good to put why you choose this person rather than others in consideration.
eg. I picked Gumbleton over Hansen because..........
Done :)
tiger4life
12 Sep 2006, 18:54
As suspected Gibbs,Gumbleton and Hansen top 3.
Awesome work in organising this phantom draft btw and will b watching keenly to see what you think :thumbsu:
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 18:55
hey johnson_26, you know your stuff, why don't you take port?
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 18:59
if no one else puts their hand up then i don't see a problem
I can take port ive already done a little profile on the player who i believe should be picked at number 3 but wont be.
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 18:59
Very interested to see who Brisbane take, that's the key pick in terms of how the first round pans out IMO.
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:01
if no one else puts their hand up then i don't see a problem
you did Collingwood in missionpossible's one last year didn't you? If so I'd say LH15 would be keen for you to do Port.
Scottroo
12 Sep 2006, 19:01
Very interested to see who Brisbane take, that's the key pick in terms of how the first round pans out IMO.
agree, do brisbane pick up another forward like thorp or take the risk of taking joel selwood
Thorp in a second
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 19:02
you did Collingwood in missionpossible's one last year didn't you? If so I'd say LH15 would be keen for you to do Port.
aha yeh i did- got dale t at pick 23, no one would touch him!
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:03
agree, do brisbane pick up another forward like thorp or take the risk of taking joel selwood
not sure I'd call Selwood a risk, if anything he'd be the safe option IMO.
philhawk
12 Sep 2006, 19:03
Irel is offline so I daresay the momentum thus far will stop here.
:(
Pick 4 Mitch Thorp Brisbane
Thorp can play as a defender foward or even a tall midfielder. He as a tall player shows the rare ability of being a ball magnet. He got MVP for Tas in the under 18 championship averaging 21 poss and taking 26 marks.
Why Brisbane need him? Brisbane seem to struggle in their backline and using Thorp in the backline for 2-3 years would be very helpful. By the retirement of Bradshaw Thorp can play as the 2nd tall for the lions even a HF position.
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 19:10
dude it's Irels pick. This was decided ages ago. It's a lead-up to the official BF draft
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:10
Pick 4 Mitch Thorp Brisbane
Thorp can play as a defender foward or even a tall midfielder. He as a tall player shows the rare ability of being a ball magnet. He got MVP for Tas in the under 18 championship averaging 21 poss and taking 26 marks.
Why Brisbane need him? Brisbane seem to struggle in their backline and using Thorp in the backline for 2-3 years would be very helpful. By the retirement of Bradshaw Thorp can play as the 2nd tall for the lions even a HF position.
Irel is doing Brisbane mate.
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 19:13
guys guys guys...
mish last year ran a pretty tight ship and overral it finished in about 2-3 days..
it is a process, of which you need to clarify for the official, as you'd need everyone online at once with no interruptions from anyone else not taking part.
HOWEVER- at this stage weeding out all the not so certanties- patience is a must.
ROta69 it's best leaving it to the people nominated, even if they dont come online for another hour or so.
not sure I'd call Selwood a risk, if anything he'd be the safe option IMO.
I think it is line ball. Aker gone and Voss, Lappin aging make a compelling arguement for Selwood
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:16
guys guys guys...
mish last year ran a pretty tight ship and overral it finished in about 2-3 days..
it is a process, of which you need to clarify for the official, as you'd need everyone online at once with no interruptions from anyone else not taking part.
HOWEVER- at this stage weeding out all the not so certanties- patience is a must.
ROta69 it's best leaving it to the people nominated, even if they dont come online for another hour or so.
That was because we were pressed for time, and he got people to PM him a preference of picks when your pick was in the next 5 or so. As there is no time issue, it will probably take a week or so to complete.
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 19:17
I reckon he doesn't matter if it takes a week.It just has to be clear to everyone that patience is a must and that it has to be done properly!
Who are the nominated father-sons?Hawkins obviously but are there others,for example will Carlton do Sheldon?
Also Gilly sent me a PM requesting that I do the Melbourne picks for him for tonight only as he has gone out.
philhawk
12 Sep 2006, 19:22
I think that the pre-requisite for patience is that all 'recruiters' should post a fair amount of info on why THEY feel the club will benefit from the pick they have named.
None of this
'Bryce Gibbs - Pick 1 - Yay Go Carlton' repetitive crap. If you havn't seen the player and can't comment on what he plays like (like I will most likely when it gets around to Richmond), at least comment on why you feel that type of player will fit into the teams structure well.
philhawk
12 Sep 2006, 19:23
Who are the nominated father-sons?Hawkins obviously but are there others,for example will Carlton do Sheldon?
Josh Kennedy already confirmed to Hawthorn at Pick 40.
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:25
Also Gilly sent me a PM requesting that I do the Melbourne picks for him for tonight only as he has gone out.
I'd be surprised if we got to Melbourne's first pick tonight.
We all need to be patient. Not everyone can be online at once. Let it run its course and i'm sure there will be heaps and heaps of discussion about this.
I'd be surprised if we got to Melbourne's first pick tonight.
That's what I thought macca.
Pick 4 Brisbane - Mitch Thorp
Why thorpe and not selwood?
(Not knocking the pick just interested)
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 19:46
clearly u didnt see any of thorps nationals- truly breath taking
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 19:48
you want to pick for Port? Shouldn't matter if LH15 has someone else in mind, as he has the next pick.
For what its is worth I agree with the pick. I did see the nationals. Just want to know what he was thinking when he went with Thorpe or why he didn't go with Selwood.
johnson_26
12 Sep 2006, 19:53
Pick 5- James Sellar; 196 cm, ? Kg, 17 years old (1989) from Glenelg.
Disapointing nationals where reports were he had the flu. Anyone who was present at the U16's nationals in 2005 would have witnessed what he is capable of.
Strong hands, big kick, fantastic leap, very much a josh fraser type ruckmen who would be more suited to a CHF/CHB position in AFL ranks. Runs like a ruck rover with plenty of speed and agility, as well as a good running capacity aerobically. Looks awkward with his kicking but effective. Could possibly turn into a Riewoldt type with the guidance of some foward coaching.
AIS-AFL Academy 2005-2006, Kevin Sheehan Medallist 2005. Local boy (no go home factor)
1. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs
3. Kangaroos- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn
7. Geelong
8. Richmond
9. St Kilda
10. Collingwood
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Melbourne
13. Fremantle
14. West Coast
15. Sydney
16. Adelaide
For what its is worth I agree with the pick. I did see the nationals. Just want to know what he was thinking when he went with Thorpe or why he didn't go with Selwood.
I went for Thorp based on who would be more valuable to the club. Im sure brisbane supporters would love to have another selwood but in the next few years height may be an issue for the lions. Also i find Thorp to be an absouloute gem in this draft his ability and his game presence is at a very high standard.
Why thorpe and not selwood?
(Not knocking the pick just interested)
My philosophy; the first two picks in the draft should always be 'best player available" irrespective of position, size, shape, club's requirement and need etc...
IMO as it stands at the moment it's a line ball between Thorpe and Matthew Leuenberger. Thorp got the nod. Just.
Maybe by the time the real Phantom Draft comes along and we've been through the trading period and seen the guys at draft camp we'll get a better understanding of where each belongs in the pecking order.
Selwood's absence and non appearance has certainly had an impact. However having an opportunity to take one of Throrp or Leuenberger is a dilemma.
Hodgee, as I see it this thread by the time we finish is going to be 500 pages. Can we, when we do the "Official BF Phantom Draft" get a thread for the participants only and a separate one for comments and questions and gate crashers?
Thanks.
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:18
I'm surprised to see PH has taken his pick yet.
macca69
12 Sep 2006, 23:25
I'm surprised to see PH has taken his pick yet.
PH has Richmond, LH15 has Hawthorn.
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:27
My bad.
Still surprised lol
philhawk
12 Sep 2006, 23:28
My bad.
Still surprised lol
I'm punctual with my picks Sine. ;)
My bad.
Still surprised lol
Me too.
Like LH15 said, this could take a while.
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:33
no problems, just thought I'd crap on about nothing!
my sincerest apologies PH, I should have known better. Still hoping Sellar slides, as Melbourne CBD will get a treat.;)
Snoop Dog
12 Sep 2006, 23:42
sorry guys ended up being out tonight - let me know if we are going again
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:43
it's alright snoop. not your pick yet. Still waiting for pick 6
philhawk
12 Sep 2006, 23:55
no problems, just thought I'd crap on about nothing!
my sincerest apologies PH, I should have known better. Still hoping Sellar slides, as Melbourne CBD will get a treat.;)
Didn't Sellar go at 5?
sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:56
I mean in the real draft..remember your pledge?
philhawk
13 Sep 2006, 00:57
I mean in the real draft..remember your pledge?
Haha oh ofcourse!
Mate, i'm happy to do it if he slips below 10.
NO CHANCE! :D
LukeHodge15
13 Sep 2006, 07:36
Soz about the delay guys, but night shift last night and time really isnt that important. {I'll say it again} Just want some good discussion on the kids of 2006.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is why the hawks winning the last 4 games might hurt.:mad: really wanted to go a KP type with this pick but can't pass up on jetta now. [really wanted thorp to slide]
Hawks need some pace, and although im really not keen on spending a top 6 pick on a guy that is 175 cm, that has some queries over him. i really think this guy could be something special. back my judgement and hope a KP i really like slides through to the hawks second rounder.
LEROY JETTA
175cm - 73kilos - 06.07.88
CLUB - South Fremantle
AFL LIKE - Jason Akermanis
CHAMIONSHIPS POSITION - ROVER-WING-HFF
AFL POSITION - ROVER-SMALL FORWARD
KICK - 50m KICK ON BOTH SIDES. RIGHT 7.5/10 LEFT 7/10
- Kicking can vary from very good to sometimes a little erratic.
- Clanger count at champs a concern, but has good technique/ball rotation/balance in his kicking action
HANDBALL - 6.5/10 right side. will only improve at AFL level. he is a kick first handball second type footballer.
STANDOUT ABILITY - Blistering pace
STAR - Jetta has so many ticks in so many areas its scarey.
*genuine midfielder, had queries after watching the champs last year wether he could be a genuine midfielder as most of his work was done off the HFF in 2005. QUERIES GONE. already gathered over 30 possesions in the WAFL - proven against men & played majority of champs in the middle. his future lies in the middle at AFL level.
*his recovery and ability to get back to his feet in any situation was first class. many times both he and his opponent went to ground and he was up and off with the footy while his opponent was still getting up.
*clearnece work was also top class. not only does he have blistering pace and can run the lines (break games open) but his inside work in traffic was very good. will carve out a career in the middle imo. strong body so rarely goes to ground
*outstanding vertical leap. so in essence plays a little taller than his 175cm frame.
*loves to take them on and has that little bit of arrogance that very good footballer have. im sure he would have been tested many times at senior level this year by men wanting to bring the young fella back down to earth. will have to chase up some stats from the WAFL this year.
*GAME BREAKER !!! will win games off his own boot. had chances to tear the first game to bits at the champs, but his kicking was a little off when shooting at goal on the run. (last year he rarely missed) By memory, would have kicked close to 5 points in game one and could have easily kicked 6-7 if things had gone his way.
QUERIES - kicking needs a little work. but nothing to be worried about. when travelling flat out, sometimes clanger kicks.
- height will worry some recruiters but guys like wallace will be fantasizing about him already.
AFL READY (wiseby speak) - year 1
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 10:00
1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) - Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) - Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) - Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) - James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) - Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) - Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk)
9. St Kilda (Kingjames)
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog)
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29)
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972)
13. Fremantle (Wizard9)
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari)
15. Sydney (Cypher)
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)
Thought the Hawks/LH15 might have had a look at Selwood.
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 11:27
Thought the Hawks/LH15 might have had a look at Selwood.
Hawks have plenty of inside mids, they'd be looking for a quick outside mid who has good foot skills I imagine. Or a KPP if a quality one slipped that far.
Broady Poker Tour
13 Sep 2006, 11:49
[quote=LukeHodge15]
This is why the hawks winning the last 4 games might hurt.:mad: really wanted to go a KP type with this pick but can't pass up on jetta now. [really wanted thorp to slide]
Would have thought Hawks would pick up Leunberger if he was still available. Best ruck prospect in draft
sinepari
13 Sep 2006, 11:58
really? we didnt realise that!!
Alex_au
13 Sep 2006, 12:15
I would rather Jack Reiwolt anyday over Jetta in this draft. I rate Jack as a big chance to be better then his cousin Nick. Would love him playing Centre Half Back for Hawthorn, giving Croad the slot at fullback.
I think the recruiting of Jetta comes with a lot more risk. He could turn out to be a star like Akermanis, Davey or Hird or just be that decent crumbing forward like Medhurst. Selwood may be the better choice.
Alex_au
13 Sep 2006, 12:17
[quote=LukeHodge15]
Would have thought Hawks would pick up Leunberger if he was still available. Best ruck prospect in draft
No real need with Bailey, Campbell and Taylor. Maybe try to pick up a ruckman in next years draft as this may be Taylor's final season.
[QUOTE=Broady Poker Tour]
No real need with Bailey, Campbell and Taylor. Maybe try to pick up a ruckman in next years draft as this may be Taylor's final season.
Taylor recently signed a new 2-year contract, but he will only ever be a depth player IMO, not a premiership ruckman.
I would have taken Leunberger ahead of Jetta, but LH15 knows more about the players than I do.
Hawks have plenty of inside mids, they'd be looking for a quick outside mid who has good foot skills I imagine. Or a KPP if a quality one slipped that far.
Fair enough. I just had Selwood as the second best mid in the draft after Gibbs. I guess it will come down to best available versus particular clubs needs.
diablo14
13 Sep 2006, 16:32
scuse me macca but im doing geelong thank you very much....
pick 7 - matthew leuenberger.
the most promising ruckman ive seen come thru in quite some time. has excellent hands, is a good kick, can play out a full 120 minutes of footy, gets to every contest, great judgement in the air and on the deck, and brings other players into the game with footy nous.
my only concern will be a possible loss of mobility once the inevitable beefing up process starts.
ive gone with him based on the best available policy, plus im pretty confident that the player i want next will still be available with our next pick.
ptrain8
13 Sep 2006, 16:40
Go Philhawk!! Selwood/Proud/Riewoldt/ _______??
philhawk
13 Sep 2006, 17:11
Pick 8: Jack Reiwoldt
The kid is a gun and admittedly would fit into Richmonds team structure very, very well. Richo wont last forever and Shulz/Pettifer aside, there really is a dearth of KPP over at Tigerland.
From all reports, Jack has the ability to play both up forward and down back. Seeing as how he possesses a fantastic kick on either boot, this would fit in well into Wallaves drafting mantra over the past few years (kids who all are a good kick of the ball).
His pace might be the only question mark (off the mark I believe), but it's something that can be worked on.
LukeHodge15
13 Sep 2006, 17:31
well said.
we already have hodge(22 years old)-lewis(20 years old)-mitchell(23 yrs old), who are A Grade inside mids already.
with some luck, my smokey KP will still be there with my secong rounder.:p
i really think this drafts weaknesses is in the quality mids. especially quick ones. quite happy to take jetta off the baord at 6.
King Woodie
13 Sep 2006, 17:37
Looks like Selwood or Proud will be available for Coll's first pick - which is I think how the actual draft will pan out. The pies should get one or the other.
KING-JAMES
13 Sep 2006, 17:45
Pick 9- Albert Proud
With Joel Selwood being injured Albert is the safer option and will be ready for league footy straight away, which suits them as its time to win a flag.
Could be very dangerous with the star midfielders Luke Ball and Lenny Hayes being tagged. Saints dont really need another Ball in Selwood anyway.
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 17:51
1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) - Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) - Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) - Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) - Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) - James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) - Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) - Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) - Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) - Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) - Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) - Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) - Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) - Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) - Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Cypher)
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)
Snoop Dog
13 Sep 2006, 18:20
Collingwood selects - Joel Selwood
yippeee!
Calcium Man
13 Sep 2006, 18:28
Collingwood selects - Joel Selwood
yippeee!
Reasons??? Little bit about the player.
Gilly1972
13 Sep 2006, 18:35
I won't be around much longer, but can log back in around 10pm.....if people want the Melbourne pick before then i will delegate responsibility this time to Yze_Class who is a melbourne supporter and has kindly agreed to go on my payroll :D
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 18:43
I won't be around much longer, but can log back in around 10pm.....if people want the Melbourne pick before then i will delegate responsibility this time to Yze_Class who is a melbourne supporter and has kindly agreed to go on my payroll :D
You can PM your 2 prefered choices to me and I can post them for you if u like.
Gilly1972
13 Sep 2006, 18:49
ok, macca now has my two choices.....thanks for this mate :thumbsu:
King Woodie
13 Sep 2006, 18:59
Selwood is a hard, inside mid who has excellent footballing instincts and excels in the tight, contested situation. Not explosive off the mark, but reasonable leg speed. Seems to be the one to move first to get the ball at stoppages, and never shies from physical contact. Solid kicking skills, but best attribute is vision and clean hands. Leadership qualities.
Would be handy in a developing midfield winning in tight and feeding the ball out to outside youngsters in Pendlebury, Thomas, Shaw, Cook, and Didak.
Pick 11 for the Western Bulldogs might be a surprise for some people but i'll take him anyway.
WESTERN BULLDOGS select ERIC McKENZIE (Claremont)
The reasoning behind this selection is that the Bullies are in need of big strong key defenders,which this bloke is, but he also fits the athletic running game that Eade has implemented as well.
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 19:58
Gilly1972's pick via PM.
Melbourne Pick 12 - Clinton Benjamin. his versatility would suit the dees, they could use him off the HBF or playing on the third opposition tall forward, then using his pace and flair to run off his opponent with the ball.....he could also be swung up forward and provide another marking forward option if robbo is injured....or he could take Green's role on the wing and free him to go up forward.
wizard_9
13 Sep 2006, 22:19
Fremantle - Tom Hislop
macca69
13 Sep 2006, 22:25
West Coast - Clayton Collard
sinepari
13 Sep 2006, 22:47
CLAYTON COLLARD (South Fremantle)
A versatile and attacking aboriginal player from South Freo. Sublime skills on both sides, whose only question mark is whether or not he can make a move into the midfield at the next level. Decently sized, however could do with some extra muscle(what 18yr old couldn't!). Terrific goal sense, where his flair, pace and skills make him a tough match-up. Likely HFF/Wingman at AFL level.
C'Mon Cypher, you're up!!
Fremantle - Tom Hislop
Nice pick Wiz :thumbsu:
Gilly1972
14 Sep 2006, 01:25
CLAYTON COLLARD (South Fremantle)
A versatile and attacking aboriginal player from South Freo. Sublime skills on both sides, whose only question mark is whether or not he can make a move into the midfield at the next level. Decently sized, however could do with some extra muscle(what 18yr old couldn't!). Terrific goal sense, where his flair, pace and skills make him a tough match-up. Likely HFF/Wingman at AFL level.
Good pick up Sine and Macca....i probably rate Collard slightly above Benjamin, but thought Benjamin might be a better fit for the dees.
divvydan
14 Sep 2006, 02:47
Pick 11 for the Western Bulldogs might be a surprise for some people but i'll take him anyway.
WESTERN BULLDOGS select ERIC McKENZIE (Claremont)
The reasoning behind this selection is that the Bullies are in need of big strong key defenders,which this bloke is, but he also fits the athletic running game that Eade has implemented as well.
Hey grub, i'd like to know a little more about McKenzie if possible as i suspect he'll be in contention come draft day. Do you consider him to be the best of the "2nd tier KPP's"?. Has he only played colts this year, or higher? Also, is there a current player in the AFL whose style closely resembles him?
Divvy,he's an AIS kid that has good size,195cm,who is super athletic.I don't think he's played much other than colts at Claremont but he showed a bit at the Under 18 Championships in defensive roles.At this stage he could be harder and more aggressive but he is disciplined and has the pace to always get their and make a spoil.Hard to make a comparison with another player at the moment though.
Tossed up between MacKenzie and Reid but went with MacKenazie because of the stronger body.
mad-saint-guy
14 Sep 2006, 11:29
Could we get a little info in Tom Hislop?
divvydan
14 Sep 2006, 14:00
Thanks grub, appreciate the effort.
wizard_9
14 Sep 2006, 15:09
Could we get a little info in Tom Hislop?
I will give a little bit on him tonight when ig et some time mate.
macca69
14 Sep 2006, 18:30
C'Mon Cypher, you're up!!
c'mon Cyper your pick mate.