View Full Version : Draft-list players from tac Clubs you reakon that will be drafted
wog_boi
12 Sep 2006, 21:25
List players from every tac cup that you might think have a chance in the draft .
Western Jets:
Houli-Certainty
Lockwood-deserves too
Knight-A lot of potential
we'retalkinfooty
12 Sep 2006, 23:36
Western Jets:
Houli-Certainty
Lockwood-deserves too
Knight-A lot of potential is prismall a chance?
kirky#2
13 Sep 2006, 19:43
Pioneers:
Joel Selwood top 10
Daniel Connors 10-20
Grant Weeks 30-50
Dane Avery 30-50
kingcarey
13 Sep 2006, 20:01
is prismall a chance?
Will go 2nd round I'd say. Has had a very good year and is playing in the Allies game coming up I'm pretty sure.
buddy23
13 Sep 2006, 20:05
Oakleigh Chargers:
- Nick Smith
- Dave McKay
- Gray and Goldstien outside chances
Williams02
13 Sep 2006, 20:26
North Ballarat-
-Grigga
-Sewell
-Lachie George
-Both Brown's
-Rookie Possibilities
Frawley perhaps
George Knowles-strongly linked with Essendon
Oakleigh Chargers:
- Nick Smith
- Dave McKay
Kelly??
carn_the_dons
13 Sep 2006, 21:05
Oakleigh Chargers:
- Nick Smith
- Dave McKay
where abouts would you think dave would go in the draft? got the best skills of anyone ive seen..
daveyboy3
13 Sep 2006, 22:00
North Ballarat-
-Grigga
-Sewell
-Lachie George
-Both Brown's
-Rookie Possibilities
Frawley perhaps
George Knowles-strongly linked with Essendon
Dunno about sewell mate, good player though. I'd throw big J Hardy and Tyler in as roughies as well though.
wog_boi
13 Sep 2006, 22:23
Sandringham Dragons:
-Tom Hawkins
-Josh Kennedy
-PhilLip Zarra
-Dan Anthony
-Joel Coombes
GRANGE_GSM
14 Sep 2006, 09:47
Pioneers:
Joel Selwood top 10
Daniel Connors 10-20
Grant Weeks 30-50
Dane Avery 30-50
not going to put yourself in there geary?....fair enough
I'd say ...
Bendigo
Jarryn Geary
Joel Selwood
Daniel Connors
Tom Sheldon
Calder
Jarryd Allen
Mitch Farmer
Oakleigh
David MacKay
Todd Goldstein
Sam Sheldon
Noth Ballarat
Tim Houlihan
James Frawley
Shaun Grigg
Matt Tyler
Matt Austin
Daniel O'Keefe
Will Schofield
Jackson Sheringham
Travis Boak
Northern
none
Gippsland
Lachlan Hansen
Ben Ross
Sandringham
Tom Hawkins
Josh Kennedy
Sam Monaghan
Matthew Suckling
Dandenong
Andrejs Everitt
Eastern
Leigh Adams
Murray
Jarrod Harbrow
Ben Reid
Brad Collins
Tim McIntyre
Western
Bachar Houli
Rhyce Prismall
That is 32 names. Would have though Victoria could struggle to get 20-25 this year.
GRANGE_GSM
14 Sep 2006, 13:14
il have a crack from little TAC footy ive seen...
Bendigo
Jarryn Geary
Joel Selwood
Daniel Connors
Calder
Jarryd Allen
matt O'dwyer*
Oakleigh
David MacKay*
nick smith
Sam Sheldon
Noth Ballarat
matt austin
shaun grigg
james frawley*
Matt Tyler*
tim houlihan
1 of the browns
Daniel O'Keefe
Jackson Sheringham*
Travis Boak
ryan williams*
Northern
chris varsamakis*
ryan anderson*
Gippsland
Lachlan Hansen
Ben Ross
rob eddy*
Sandringham
Tom Hawkins
Josh Kennedy
Dandenong
Andrejs Everitt
matt robinson*
Eastern
Leigh Adams
daniel hayes*
Murray
Jarrod Harbrow
Ben Reid
Western
Bachar Houli
Rhyce Prismall
from a few (not many) games ive seen this year....i havent put just who i think will get drafted but also rookied....*=rookied......also weaver i think suckling is too young and theres a few i dont rate as high as u that youve mentioned,but hey youve seen more TAC cup than me
I'd say ...
Bendigo
Jarryn Geary
Joel Selwood
Daniel Connors
Tom Sheldon
Calder
Jarryd Allen
Mitch Farmer
Oakleigh
David MacKay
Todd Goldstein
Sam Sheldon
Noth Ballarat
Tim Houlihan
James Frawley
Shaun Grigg
Matt Tyler
Matt Austin
Daniel O'Keefe
Will Schofield
Jackson Sheringham
Travis Boak
Northern
none
Gippsland
Lachlan Hansen
Ben Ross
Sandringham
Tom Hawkins
Josh Kennedy
Sam Monaghan
Matthew Suckling
Dandenong
Andrejs Everitt
Eastern
Leigh Adams
Murray
Jarrod Harbrow
Ben Reid
Brad Collins
Tim McIntyre
Western
Bachar Houli
Rhyce Prismall
That is 32 names. Would have though Victoria could struggle to get 20-25 this year.
whats your thoughts on
Andrew Horne??
Rod Eddy??
Brown Twins??
Suckling not eligable
Good job though:thumbsu:
LukeHodge15
14 Sep 2006, 23:14
I'd say ...
Noth Ballarat
Tim Houlihan
James Frawley
Shaun Grigg
Matt Tyler
Matt Austin
u honestly reckon the game has changed that much that a guy like nathan brown will not get drafted???
prynny_22
14 Sep 2006, 23:45
Heres my guess for Dandenong:
Andrejs EVERITT enough said
Curtis BARKER Wingman/On baller about 183cm
averaged about 18.5p and 5 handball recieve's per game.
He did suffer a minor ankle injury in the last round. Very classy footballer.
Darren SHEEN Foward bout 188cm
Kicked 33.12 in 12 games. Also averages 13.5p a game.
He broke his arm playing Ones for his local club when TAC Cup had there last bye. He is back playing now for his ones in finals (Narre Warren)
Ziggie ALWAN Utility 181cm
Averaged 19.6p and 7 handball recieves per game
Very quick player. My guess is he is about as quick as Rhan Hooper from the Lions.
ALso played a game with the Bendigo Bombers Reserves last year
Russell GABRIEL Ruckman/Foward 195cm and 95kg
Not sure of Birthdate cut off 22/04/89
James MAGNER Tough midfielder 180cm 82kg
Was stingrays WILDCARD this year playing as the under 19
Averaged 24p, 7 Handball Recieves, 6.5 tackles.
People may remember me raving about him last year...this year with ANOTHER stella season lets watch him!! Was also in the screening camp last year.
Another player to watch this year, who hasnt played TAC Cup level football is a Mr Tyson King
He is a massive player who can play foward or ruck. Playing for keysbough this year in the MPNFL, played ones nearly all year
u honestly reckon the game has changed that much that a guy like nathan brown will not get drafted???
Will be interesting to see this year. I think we are seeing some clubs sticking with the bog blokes (Port - Chaplin, Willits) and others refusing to touch them. I certainly think there is still a role for one big defender at each club but probably not much more than that.
daveyboy3
15 Sep 2006, 10:49
Noth Ballarat
Tim Houlihan
James Frawley
Shaun Grigg
Matt Tyler
Matt Austin
How do you rate Frawleys kicking? i thought it may have been the thing which stops him getting picked up.
delightfuldees
15 Sep 2006, 11:22
matt austin? are you serious? did anyone see his game on the weekend? he sooked, couldnt get a kick, wouldnt chase, dropped his bundle. might be a front runner. pathetic effort by the kid who has to show what he has got this weekend if he gets a game!!!
How do you rate Frawleys kicking? i thought it may have been the thing which stops him getting picked up.
Absolutely agree. He will be a tough one. He is a fantastic defender. In a lot of important games whenever a forward looks like getting away, Frawley gets the job. Happened in almost every game in the Championships, happened again against Gippsland.
He is a human blanket who stops people. He is athletic enough to play wing as well as key position. Very similar body shape to a James Clement in time and will play similar sorts of roles.
But as you say can't kick.
blaisee
15 Sep 2006, 12:30
Absolutely agree. He will be a tough one. He is a fantastic defender. In a lot of important games whenever a forward looks like getting away, Frawley gets the job. Happened in almost every game in the Championships, happened again against Gippsland.
He is a human blanket who stops people. He is athletic enough to play wing as well as key position. Very similar body shape to a James Clement in time and will play similar sorts of roles.
But as you say can't kick.
is he quick enough ?
macca69
15 Sep 2006, 13:03
Why dont you think Dean Kelly, Nick Smith, Nathan Batsanis, Chris Dawes, Adam Wilson, Josh Riddle, Andrew Horne and Lachlan Carey will get drafted?
TheGeneral
15 Sep 2006, 13:38
Is Sam Sheldon nominating for the draft?
Is he that good?
I think he's still eligible to play in the TAC cup for another year and he would stand a better chance of getting picked up by the Blues next year.
He might prefer to stay in Victoria with his mates and family.
Why dont you think Dean Kelly, Nick Smith, Nathan Batsanis, Chris Dawes, Adam Wilson, Josh Riddle, Andrew Horne and Lachlan Carey will get drafted?
Dean Kelly is a slow centreman in the Sam Mitchell mould. Most of those guys go via VFL / rookie list. His disposal can be hit and miss as well.
Dawes has done his knee and was probably not in the top-12 big blokes before then anyway.
Riddle can't kick. Is fairly short for a KD as well.
Horne, Wilson, Batsanis, Carey ... you could come up with a list of 40 midfielders who are handy, get a lot of the ball and do OK. But the ones that get drafted have that little bit extra. They can hurt teams. They need some pace, elite kicking, stamina ... something that lifts them above the pack.
is he quick enough ?
Frawley is quick enough.
LukeHodge15
15 Sep 2006, 13:40
Will be interesting to see this year. I think we are seeing some clubs sticking with the bog blokes (Port - Chaplin, Willits) and others refusing to touch them. I certainly think there is still a role for one big defender at each club but probably not much more than that.
personally i think nathan brown could be an absolute gem. will be interesting to see how he tests at draft camp. personally i have him ranked in the 20's.
i'm one of the rare few that think he will get taken this year:eek:
buddy23
15 Sep 2006, 14:17
personally i think nathan brown could be an absolute gem. will be interesting to see how he tests at draft camp. personally i have him ranked in the 20's.
i'm one of the rare few that think he will get taken this year:eek:
Maybe it's our Hawthorn bias that draws us to the blinking sign that says "BIG DEFENDER", but I believe that he will get snapped up in the second or third round.
LukeHodge15
15 Sep 2006, 14:22
i suppose heath grundy was another one. touted as a late 1st rounder, who slipped through to a late pick in the rookie draft. shows that clubs arent keen on the big gorilla types.
macca69
15 Sep 2006, 14:40
Dean Kelly is a slow centreman in the Sam Mitchell mould. Most of those guys go via VFL / rookie list. His disposal can be hit and miss as well.
Dawes has done his knee and was probably not in the top-12 big blokes before then anyway.
Riddle can't kick. Is fairly short for a KD as well.
Horne, Wilson, Batsanis, Carey ... you could come up with a list of 40 midfielders who are handy, get a lot of the ball and do OK. But the ones that get drafted have that little bit extra. They can hurt teams. They need some pace, elite kicking, stamina ... something that lifts them above the pack.
I've heard Kelly likened to Mitchell before, but I think he's more like a Mark Johnson type. He's capable of getting 30+ touches when played on the ball, but is very capable overhead and can kick bags of goals too. His kicking does appear poor (not convinced about his action), but he has worked hard in that area, and I don't have any stats to back me up, but he hits a target as often as pretty much anyone, is prone to the odd shocker though.
I would have had Dawes in my top 12 big blokes, but I agree his injury will make him touch and go.
Agree on Roddle, although he obviously has talent, may get rookied as Toovey did last year.
Good point on the other 4 guys, but I'd say Batsanis' skills seperate him from most players, he is definately able to hurt teams. I haven't seen a lot of Wilson, but he's very quick isn't he?
I've heard Kelly likened to Mitchell before, but I think he's more like a Mark Johnson type. He's capable of getting 30+ touches when played on the ball, but is very capable overhead and can kick bags of goals too.
That's all true. Very smart footballer, has improved in many areas. The goalkicking is interesting, he doesn't get too many on the lead - more often he plants his feet and can't be shifted. Don't know if that translates to AFL.
As a general note (not Kelly in particular) I think the guys who get 30+ touches are some of the worst guys going around. Quite often the easiest way to get those numbers is to miss a lot of targets. Win a clearance, kick it over the bounday, win another clearance from the throw in, miss the kick to the leading forward which means more general play and a chance to mark the clearing kick.
Kick a 50m laser to a leading forward and you don't get the ball back. Kick it 30m up in the air to a contest, and you can rove your own footy.
Benny11
15 Sep 2006, 17:01
Interested in peoples thoughts on Vasileski, Hayes and Gray. Draft chances?
aberdaberdo
15 Sep 2006, 17:17
That's all true. Very smart footballer, has improved in many areas. The goalkicking is interesting, he doesn't get too many on the lead - more often he plants his feet and can't be shifted. Don't know if that translates to AFL.
As a general note (not Kelly in particular) I think the guys who get 30+ touches are some of the worst guys going around. Quite often the easiest way to get those numbers is to miss a lot of targets. Win a clearance, kick it over the bounday, win another clearance from the throw in, miss the kick to the leading forward which means more general play and a chance to mark the clearing kick.
Kick a 50m laser to a leading forward and you don't get the ball back. Kick it 30m up in the air to a contest, and you can rove your own footy.
Are you serious? Let me get this clear. Getting a lot of the footy means you are "one of the worst going around". I'II let Judd, West, Harvey etc know they've been wasting everyones time the last few tears. Thought you had some idea about the game but obviously not.
Getting a lot of the pill in senior company is typically the sign of a star player. You get the ball 30 times and don't use it you get dropped.
Getting a lot of the pill in junior football often isn't. Deledio for example typically was in the 20-25 touch range and I don't think ever posted a 40-touch game. Many of the guys who go onto to star are the same.
Huge stat numbers in juniors is often a sign of a guy who doesn't use the ball well.
I have seen lots of games where a kid wins the footy, handballs 2m behind his target, gets the footy off the deck again, kicks the footy off the side of his boot, charges 30m over to the pack that has formed from his miskick and gets it again. Guys who kick 30m are able to get to the fall of their own ball. Guys who miss targets get a chance to mark the ball that is cleared back to them.
johnson_26
15 Sep 2006, 17:38
I think you're taking it a little out of context...
Although i don't necessarily agree with Weaver, he means that a common trait with guys who constantly get 30+ kicks are often the ones who use the footy less productively.
i.e: Do one- two gives etc, which means they collect easy possessions. It doesn't mean they are the worst players out, but maybe the personal stats 'overrate' them as players.
However, i'm of the opinion that anyone who can collect 30+ on a consistent basis at TAC Cup or VFL levels is, in fact, a very good footballer. It remains to be seen whether they meet the athletic requirements, but duds dont get 30 possies regularly.
TheBacko
15 Sep 2006, 18:30
I'd say ...
Oakleigh
David MacKay
Todd Goldstein
Sam Sheldon
these are three players that are most unlikely to be drafted from oakleigh. goldstein and sheldon no chance of even being rookied, mackay might but wont get picked up before smith, batsanis, or gray. those would be my three picks from oakleigh.
sinepari
15 Sep 2006, 19:15
I reckon aberdaberdo owes weaver an apology, however I am sure it won't happen.
nesko_25
15 Sep 2006, 19:59
I'd say ...
Bendigo
Jarryn Geary
Joel Selwood
Daniel Connors
Tom Sheldon
Ah Weaver you do no ur stuff, not many from Bendigo would even think that Sheldo would get picked up but I acn tell you he has spoken to a few clubs, Port seems very interested (father or uncle played 4 carlton). Not sure how you couldnt have grant Weeks in there, Pios runner up B&F nehind Geary. Won thier goal kicking and has played vic Country for the past 2 years
buddy23
15 Sep 2006, 20:20
these are three players that are most unlikely to be drafted from oakleigh. goldstein and sheldon no chance of even being rookied, mackay might but wont get picked up before smith, batsanis, or gray. those would be my three picks from oakleigh.
I believe Sheldon is underage, and eligible to be picked up by Carlton under the F/S rule next year?
Goldstein has a massive body, and has only played a few TAC matches so is relatively untested. From what I've seen, looks like he's pretty fit for a big man but not that quick. Have heard he's been playing basketball for Australian representative sides. Wouldn't be surprised at all if he got rookied by a club just to gamble on how he develops. Fair bit of potential.
I think Gray was unlucky to miss out on the draft camp given his ability to kick goals this year, can't see him being a contender this year given the quality of forwards.
Smith and Mackay both good chances, with Mackays speed making him most likely to get picked up, interesting to see how they go at draft camp.
Ah Weaver you do no ur stuff, not many from Bendigo would even think that Sheldo would get picked up but I acn tell you he has spoken to a few clubs, Port seems very interested (father or uncle played 4 carlton). Not sure how you couldnt have grant Weeks in there, Pios runner up B&F nehind Geary. Won thier goal kicking and has played vic Country for the past 2 years
Left out Weeks for exactly the same reasons I included Sheldon. Clubs want guys with pace and long accurate kicking. Sheldon is the prototype of the AFL wingman. Weeks is an example of the big-bodied centreman with poor field kicking.
However, i'm of the opinion that anyone who can collect 30+ on a consistent basis at TAC Cup or VFL levels is, in fact, a very good footballer. It remains to be seen whether they meet the athletic requirements, but duds dont get 30 possies regularly.
I shouldn't have implied that 30+ touch guys are duds. They are not. That said many of the best midfielders I have seen over the years have been in the 18-25 touch range. The list of guys who get 25+ touches every week in the TAC Cup and don't get drafted is very, very long indeed.
TheBacko
16 Sep 2006, 17:08
I believe Sheldon is underage, and eligible to be picked up by Carlton under the F/S rule next year?
Goldstein has a massive body, and has only played a few TAC matches so is relatively untested. From what I've seen, looks like he's pretty fit for a big man but not that quick. Have heard he's been playing basketball for Australian representative sides. Wouldn't be surprised at all if he got rookied by a club just to gamble on how he develops. Fair bit of potential.
I think Gray was unlucky to miss out on the draft camp given his ability to kick goals this year, can't see him being a contender this year given the quality of forwards.
Smith and Mackay both good chances, with Mackays speed making him most likely to get picked up, interesting to see how they go at draft camp.
good point on sheldon, we shall see how he goes next year. no chance of being picked up this year however.
oakleigh have 5 players who have a reasonble chance of getting drafted. they are kelly, smith, batsanis, mackay, & gray. they wont all get picked up tho, and i rekon mackay will miss out. kelly's injury mid-year will have set him back, but i rekon he will be rookie drafted.
would be a huge gamble for any club to consider drafting goldstein, it wont happen. smith, batsanis, & gray should all get drafted IMO.
amy1107
17 Sep 2006, 13:16
Yes you are correct buddy23, Goldstein played U18 basketball for Vic Metro and has toured the US with AIS basketball teams in the past. I very talented at sport and very good mover but I agree it would be a long short to be drafted but was selected to attend the VIC screening. Is a big body for 6'7 wouldn't have problems bulking up strength wise I would suggest.
Benno_900
17 Sep 2006, 13:20
What are Caruso's chances of getting drafted?
About the same chance as anyone taking your quote seriuos......