View Full Version : James Gwilt- Is he in any danger?

nicko016
12 Sep 2006, 22:28
Is Jimmy in any danger of being delisted now with GT gone. I cant see how you could possibly delist any players after just two years on the list after being drafted.

SpInNeR
12 Sep 2006, 22:49
Players that were always in danger

Peckett, Thompson, Powell, (all Ret.) Shwarze, Gwilt, Murray, McGough

Players in danger NOW:

ABOVE PLUS fiora, brooks, blake, ackland, rix, milne

nicko016
12 Sep 2006, 23:14
Players that were always in danger

Peckett, Thompson, Powell, (all Ret.) Shwarze, Gwilt, Murray, McGough

Players in danger NOW:

ABOVE PLUS fiora, brooks, blake, ackland, rix, milne

Agree with that but I hope Schwarze, Gwilt, Brooks, Milne, Rix and 1 of Blake or Ackland stay.

What about Matty Ferguson? Is he safe?

sainter
13 Sep 2006, 02:38
You can't go ahead and clearout 11 or 12 players in one season so there will be a handful of players given one more year to prove themselves.

With Peckett, Thompson, Powell and perhaps even Harvey retiring that's 3 or 4 players delisted already.

A few may escape by virtue of the fact that they have another year on their contracts.

I'm not sure if Ferguson will survive. He was injured for a long period of the season but whether that will be enough to save him I don't know.

Dr.Jekyll
13 Sep 2006, 03:20
Don't know if anybody will agree with me here...But to me, Shwarze has the potential.

On another note, will be strange to see Peckett go...I've always liked the bloke.

The Punter
13 Sep 2006, 11:40
Mike Sheahan seems to think he is gone, but Gwilt has only been at the club two years and played five games. Worth at least another year, I reckon.

Players who I think will go if there are a clear out are Peckett, Thompson, Powell, Murray, Ferguson, Brooks, Ackland & McGough. Harvey will decide in the next fortnight whether to play on, but sacking Thomas certainly won't help him get back on the park next year.

As always - you can only delist players who are out of contract. If any of the above are under contract (I don't believe any of them are), then they can only be traded. All of last year's draftees are under contract (including Rix) for next year. I also believe Fiora and Schwarze are out of contract, so they must be feeling a little uneasy. I would give both one year deals.

Frankencow
13 Sep 2006, 13:59
Don't know if anybody will agree with me here...But to me, Shwarze has the potential.

On another note, will be strange to see Peckett go...I've always liked the bloke.
I reckon Schwarta has come a long way this year. I'd keep him.

SurreyBlue
13 Sep 2006, 14:14
Gwilt, Rix & Sweeney .... so much for Beveridge's recruitment ability.
Just highlights that top picks make a recruiter look so much better than they actually are.

The Punter
13 Sep 2006, 14:47
Just highlights that top picks make a recruiter look so much better than they actually are.

Surrey Blue - that's rich coming from a supporter of a club that has spent top ten picks on Murray Vance & Luke Livingston.

Do your homework: Both Fishers were picked after pick 50. Montagna was 38. Geelong passed over Barwon boy Matt Maguire three times, as did Sydney with local boy Lenny Hayes. Andrew Thompson was picked somewhere in the 70s.

Gwilt and Sweeney are both young. Rix is as honest is the day is long, while obviously lacking a little for talent compared to some other ruckman.

Kildonan
13 Sep 2006, 14:51
Well said Punter, Carlton don't hold a candle to any club for their recruiting.

Gwilt, Rix & Sweeney are under no more scrutiny than any other players in this tumultuous time.

Qsaint
13 Sep 2006, 15:59
Gwilt and probably schwartz are not in trouble

1 or 2 rucks gone

up to 4 Midfielders retire, McGough

Murray and Ferguson have to be doubtful as well

Can't see us getting rid of many more than 6

johnnyhoward
13 Sep 2006, 18:35
I reckon Schwarta has come a long way this year. I'd keep him.
We'd be crazy to get rid of Schwarze - that goal against Brisbane in '04 was the turning point. Gwilt has done nothing since the '05 qualifying final, but next year hopefully he'll be back in business.

Retirements:
Peckett, Thompson, Harvey (hopefully we keep Harvey), Powell (already retired)

Delist:
Murray, McGough, Ackland.

Borderline:
Ferguson, Fiora.

nicko016
13 Sep 2006, 21:39
In my opinion I'd be delisting:

Murray, McGough, Ferguson, Ackland (Could throw Ackland up in trade week, to say, maybe Carlton as there looking for a ruckmen).

This plus more than likely the three retirings of Peckett, Thompson and Powell (already retired). This will give us the chance to get seven young players into the club. I still think Schwarze, Rix and Gwilt have a lot to offer while Fiora, Blake, Brooks are on shaky ground.

douls
13 Sep 2006, 22:11
Ackland (Could throw Ackland up in trade week, to say, maybe Carlton as there looking for a ruckmen).

LOL. Ackland will be either at St Kilda or VFL next year. He has shown what he can do in the ruck, and that is very little

goal sneak
13 Sep 2006, 22:54
Murray = gone

borderbarry
15 Sep 2006, 12:15
Now we know that Harv's is staying, I would keep Thommo, Peckett to retire, Powell already has. We need to delist or trade 4 others. Murray, McGough, Ackland, Blake, Fiora, Gwilt, Schwartz may provide that 4. I would suggest that Brooks did enough in round 22 to be safe. Likewise Rix in his games. Ferguson is very versatile. He must have been on the outer with G.T. to get so few games in the last two seasons after filling in so well in 2004.

GRANGE_GSM
15 Sep 2006, 12:20

nah trust me mate!...gwilta and sweens will be players!...dont forget they came outside the u18 program so these 2 years have been their 1st in a professional enviroment...rixy was just a quick fix so johnny was doing what he could there....but dont these two will be OK give them time....hard to impact straight out of suburban footy!