View Full Version : Draft Smokys - Who May Get Picked Up Surprisingly

Pages : [1] 2

Jimmy Gwilt
12 Sep 2006, 22:58
who will be the smokys of the draft u think from tac cup and elsewhere - can be in national and rookie drafts
e.g. a bottom age player that will get picked up this year that u thought would next year
e.g. john anthony,clint bartram

sinepari
12 Sep 2006, 23:17
Andrew Strijk - West Perth.

I'll keep pushing him until someone listens and picks him up lol

vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2006, 23:37
I don't know exactly HOW surprising it might be, but I'd think Dean Kelly will be picked up, and he's not on a lot of the Top 50's going around.

Jimmy Gwilt
12 Sep 2006, 23:52
I don't know exactly HOW surprising it might be, but I'd think Dean Kelly will be picked up, and he's not on a lot of the Top 50's going around.

well thats good to hear cos i used to play against him and thought he was a good player, though he must have improved a bit but
hope he does get picked up

Boy from the West
13 Sep 2006, 00:33
Does Mourish still qualify as a smokey?

macca69
13 Sep 2006, 01:03

not surprising at all, he is definately in my top 50. Got another smokie, but will be keeping him a secret for the phantom draft.

haze.13
13 Sep 2006, 01:42
Sam Jacobs ;)

Haven't seen much about him posted on here, but he's played senior SANFL for half a season rucking against men in a very tough competition. Did represent at the carnival but didn't have a great one, he is better than that though. Big body for an 18 year old loves to throw it around too. Has good hands - gets a lot of clearances - and can kick a goal. Predominantly a genuine 200cm ruckman.

Could see him go maybe third round or lower. Good kid too!

JC1981
13 Sep 2006, 02:45
I reckon former Essendon and RIchmond player Ben Haynes is a chance of getting picked up again, has dominated the SANFL this year and is only 25.

Unwritten_Law
13 Sep 2006, 05:12
Jason Davenport from our VFL team would be a decent late round pick up or rookie list option. 21yo, 185cm, 78kg.

Runs, carries and can kick goals from the wing. Has a fair bit of tow and has a nice long kick, if a little enigmatic with disposal.

After the success of Egan coming through the EDFL and our VFL team, I'd like to give Davenport a shot at replicating M.Egan's step up into the AFL. He is exactly the type of player we need more of and with Tenace and Byrnes going nowhere fast I reckon he would be a good addition.

Budda 230
13 Sep 2006, 11:48
Jason Davenport from our VFL team would be a decent late round pick up or rookie list option. 21yo, 185cm, 78kg.

Runs, carries and can kick goals from the wing. Has a fair bit of tow and has a nice long kick, if a little enigmatic with disposal.

After the success of Egan coming through the EDFL and our VFL team, I'd like to give Davenport a shot at replicating M.Egan's step up into the AFL. He is exactly the type of player we need more of and with Tenace and Byrnes going nowhere fast I reckon he would be a good addition.

I've actually played against Davenport when he played for Nilma Darnum. He had a shocker that day. I'm pretty surprised at how well he is going in the VFL.

I'm not exactly sure how he got noticed in the EDFL. He must have had a good game against Bunyip when they had the 3 Ablett's and Ben Ross playing for them.

Weaver
13 Sep 2006, 13:37
I'm not exactly sure how he got noticed in the EDFL. He must have had a good game against Bunyip when they had the 3 Ablett's and Ben Ross playing for them.

The story about Davenport is that he followed a mate down to an open training session with the Cats. His mate didn't make the cut but Davenport did.

Could certainly see him getting a rookie-list spot, or a late draft pick. One of those guys (running, wingman) who would be more suited to AFL footy that country footy (where you have to get your own footy).

Palmer Stoat
13 Sep 2006, 14:42
Sam Jacobs ;)

Haven't seen much about him posted on here, but he's played senior SANFL for half a season rucking against men in a very tough competition. Did represent at the carnival but didn't have a great one, he is better than that though. Big body for an 18 year old loves to throw it around too. Has good hands - gets a lot of clearances - and can kick a goal. Predominantly a genuine 200cm ruckman.

Could see him go maybe third round or lower. Good kid too!

Good call. I reckon he'll go too.

Camma
13 Sep 2006, 14:56
wat about any of the NT boys?
wats ur opinions on those smokeys?
anyone else think Jo Anderson and Nathan Djerrkura will be a definate draft?

Ishy
13 Sep 2006, 16:23
Andrew Jenke - Old Haileybury VAFA, won the Woodrow medal, dominant ruckman, only about 22, could be a decent pickup for clubs in need of height.

sinepari
13 Sep 2006, 17:09
Anyone from W.A think Danny Chartres (Peel) is a chance? Rookie-list?

I've seen him live 3 times this year and he has been more impressive than Gumby, albeit he is 20-21 I think.

PHANTOMS_20
13 Sep 2006, 17:10
Mark Austin from the glenelg tigers has played a few league games this year. Missed out on the under 18 champs becuase of a broken wrist. Plays centre half back, is a real athlete with sub 12 second 100M time and stands at 194cm. Makes the odd error but a club can fix that up.

the G train #9
13 Sep 2006, 18:26
Daniel "Crusher" Currie of the Knights and formerly Eltham. Goin to this years draft camp.
Also former Eltham players adam henderson and sean lee and possibly Dale Equid

Dale Didak #134
13 Sep 2006, 18:33
Robbie Tarrant - Chris' Brother

Ted38
13 Sep 2006, 18:49
Does Mourish still qualify as a smokey?

He certainly qualifies as a SMOKER!!!

johnson_26
13 Sep 2006, 18:59
Robbie Tarrant - Chris' Brother

Has anyone actually seen this guy play, or are we just jumping to suspicions because he is the brother of an overrated player?

he had a shoulder reco at the start of the year, ha splayed about 5 game sof footy, somehow going to draft camp and some of us on the board are getting caught up in it all...

How about we look at the Dean kelly's, and the leigh adam's, players seriously udnerrated who are genuine footballers, all class and dont gather the respect they deserve by the wider recruiting/ supporter fraternity.

samthemanlonergan
13 Sep 2006, 19:49
Has anyone actually seen this guy play, or are we just jumping to suspicions because he is the brother of an overrated player?

he had a shoulder reco at the start of the year, ha splayed about 5 game sof footy, somehow going to draft camp and some of us on the board are getting caught up in it all...

How about we look at the Dean kelly's, and the leigh adam's, players seriously udnerrated who are genuine footballers, all class and dont gather the respect they deserve by the wider recruiting/ supporter fraternity.

I played against him in the Sunraysia League and he was reasonable. Probably about the 4th best player in his team. None of the other 3 made pioneers. Admittidly I haven't seen him play since he moved away, but unless he has drastically improved since then I can't see him making an AFL list (Unless the name continues to carry him ;) )

blue_bhoy
13 Sep 2006, 21:00
Andrew Horne

marcmurphy3
13 Sep 2006, 21:34
Andrew Horne

I don't know if he's to young but he looked really good in the last quater against SA in the under 18 champs. From what I saw he has really good disposal.

NICK THE PIE MAN
13 Sep 2006, 21:40
Jesse Derrick- Broadbeach

philhawk
13 Sep 2006, 21:41

Wouldn't be suprised by Djerrkurra being selected at all.

KUNG FU
13 Sep 2006, 22:37
Mark Austin from the glenelg tigers has played a few league games this year. Missed out on the under 18 champs becuase of a broken wrist. Plays centre half back, is a real athlete with sub 12 second 100M time and stands at 194cm. Makes the odd error but a club can fix that up.

:thumbsu:

At the very list, I hope gets on the Crows' rookie list.

Do you think Lally is a chance to go anywhere?

Porthos
13 Sep 2006, 22:56
I liked Damien Cunningham from North Adelaide in the championship games I saw. Probably rookie material, but he was backed in by the coach against much bigger players so someone must rate him.

missionpossible
13 Sep 2006, 23:33
:thumbsu:

At the very list, I hope gets on the Crows' rookie list.

Do you think Lally is a chance to go anywhere?

Mark Austin can not be rookie listed as he is a bottom aged player.

RooDog
14 Sep 2006, 00:38
a kid called Ryan Blesing who plays for west adeladie in the 19s is apparently a big chance to go late in the draft or with a rookie list selection, i dont rate him personally but its just what i heard from a couple of recruiters...

micky_11
14 Sep 2006, 01:04
Nick Mckenna from burnie dockers, tasmania, big unit can play any where, was in state soccer and swimming teams,didnt start footy till last year or so, and was put straight into senior NTFL , was moved to chf one game and kicked 6 goals, worth a punt i rekon, plus he would kick arse and the pool recovery session the morning after a game

jonesy86
14 Sep 2006, 10:27
Scott Meyer - Williamstown

improved enormously this year and has relegated david fanning to 2nd ruck, he has been picked again for the vfl u/23 game, he is great around the ground and takes a good mark

the most recent game he played he dominated against flag favourites the northern bullants ruckmen dylan mclaren and chris bryan and was the key in turning a 6 goal deficit into an 8 goal win

Alberton_Magpie
14 Sep 2006, 23:41
Jonathan Cheetham
Shane Edwards

good site this
14 Sep 2006, 23:59
Richard Knight- Western Jets
- Very big chance IMO, tall, strong, athletic and is going to state screening.

turbo182
15 Sep 2006, 03:10
Ryan Blesing = Sean Rusling?

Steve Summerton - playing for Port Magpies league side as an 18 year old, excellent skills, smarts.

Wizzfizz
15 Sep 2006, 10:11
Micheal rockefeller from geelong falcons??
has had a quality season captaining his school team to a premiership. he was tagged each week and still managed to get the job done for his team mates. now playing TAC cup he is averaging over 30 possies a game. had 45 possies, 3 goals and about 8 tackles from the midlfield the other week.

Warrack Eagles
15 Sep 2006, 10:13
Kyle Cheney North Ballarat rebels!! Good HBF player string and only his first year in the best all the time.

*PAFC*13
15 Sep 2006, 10:45
Someone McIntyre from North Adelaide. Skinny kid but has been playing in the seniors for a while and could be a decent player in the Ben Hart mould.

The Flying Belgian
15 Sep 2006, 14:29
Jesse Derrick- Broadbeach

Name sounds familiar Nick. Can you refresh my memory?

brisbane1
15 Sep 2006, 16:45
has anyone heard anything about ben warren from zillmere in QLD?????? didn't make original state team but then got put in and was injured before carnival.

doiler
15 Sep 2006, 18:14
Someone McIntyre from North Adelaide. Skinny kid but has been playing in the seniors for a while and could be a decent player in the Ben Hart mould.

Andrew McIntyre. He is skinny at 83kgs and 191cms and does have a fairly unreliable kick but with a bit of work on his disposal and his body he will be a very good defender. He is going to State screening along with Todd Pfeiffer and Zac Millar while Shane Edwards has been invited to Draft Camp from the Roosters.

gormanisahack
15 Sep 2006, 18:23
I played against him in the Sunraysia League and he was reasonable. Probably about the 4th best player in his team. None of the other 3 made pioneers. Admittidly I haven't seen him play since he moved away, but unless he has drastically improved since then I can't see him making an AFL list (Unless the name continues to carry him ;) )

has been cruicifed with injury two knees and a shoulder...showed glimpses of brilliance last year when playing a few games in yr 11 for xav 1sts. can still get drafted next year as well.

OldMav
15 Sep 2006, 19:48
Brett Collins from St Bedes Mentone Tigers, heaps of skill and talent.

-mav

bomber boy
17 Sep 2006, 20:20
cheetham and cunningham are very unlikely prospects, SA just had no other defenders to put on Hawkins, dont think either are invited to state screening, while shane edwards has a much better chance. Also one that is fairly unknown, but quite amazing is henry white from st peters. He moves like Chris Judd and reads play very well. When he puts on some muscle a faithful AFL club will be laughing

RooDog
17 Sep 2006, 20:33
Ryan Blesing = Sean Rusling?

Steve Summerton - playing for Port Magpies league side as an 18 year old, excellent skills, smarts.
both went to westminister... both played at west... both were firsts captains too i think...

rgauci
17 Sep 2006, 20:44
I'm pretty sure Dean Kelly is Heath Blacks half brother. Black spoke on breakfast radio saying he came 3rd in some medal. Was pretty dissapointed not to be invited to draft camp but is hopeful of being drafted.

Said he's more of a crash and bash type, in the Troy Cook mold. Also said his first preference would to be drafted to Fremantle.

macca69
17 Sep 2006, 20:54
Said he's more of a crash and bash type, in the Troy Cook mold. Also said his first preference would to be drafted to Fremantle.

Wouldn't surprise me at all if that's where Kelly ends up. Could easily be Freo's 3rd round pick IMO.

macca69
18 Sep 2006, 14:59
Is Justin Westhoff a chance to get picked up?

Limbach_19
18 Sep 2006, 17:07
I would take him in the PSD or Rookie draft, might be a chance.

RooDog
18 Sep 2006, 18:43
i would think so, has been highly impressive this year... would anyone take ben haynes?

kingcarey
18 Sep 2006, 21:23
Paul Colbert hasn't been mentioned much, will surely be drafted or rookied this year, after only just missing out last year.

hogwash
18 Sep 2006, 21:48
both went to westminister... both played at west... both were firsts captains too i think...
correct rusling and blesing played in same side and then blesing captaine following year

mckinale
19 Sep 2006, 18:36
Shane tregear
Freakish skills could be anything

macca69
21 Sep 2006, 21:56
Have heard some good things about Bryce Campbell, would he be a chance to get drafted?

Traffic Light
21 Sep 2006, 22:16
Clifton from North Ballarat VFL

sinepari
21 Sep 2006, 22:20
Paul Colbert hasn't been mentioned much, will surely be drafted or rookied this year, after only just missing out last year.

Hey mate, care to tell us what you think his strengths are etc? I must admit I know very little and have only recently been told to consider him by another poster.

Cheers

gosubi
22 Sep 2006, 13:41
anybody have thoughts on joel ohalloran from subiaco, leading goal kicker for wafl, suby b&f, colts team of the year , AHG player of the year, made state 18s last year until injury, state schoolboys has to be a chance?

kingcarey
22 Sep 2006, 13:52
Hey mate, care to tell us what you think his strengths are etc? I must admit I know very little and have only recently been told to consider him by another poster.

His marking is just awesome, many players wait for it to come to them in a contest but his ability to just run and jump and take it at his apex is unreal. He's very versatile and has been dominant at CHB, CHF and FF this year, also has a huge upside with a light frame and developing body. His kicking has been quite good also this year from what I've seen. But his greatest assets would definitely be his leap and a great pair of hands.

I might sound a bit biased but that's how I see it anyway.

anjing merah
22 Sep 2006, 17:45
Damien Bonney, Moringside as a rookie.

Limbach_19
22 Sep 2006, 17:53
Colin Garland and Simon Hogan.

cousins_hodge
22 Sep 2006, 18:20
you should look out Fot matt lobbe he is a ruckman and he got best on or second 5 times in a row he is awesome:cool: ;)

ford_dealer
22 Sep 2006, 19:32
Nick Georgiadis - Western Jets

under 19, only been playin the game for 2 years.
Amazing speed, clean, good skills...

Played well in all 13 games, killed Bendigo. Should be a big chance

fitzroy_fanatic
22 Sep 2006, 19:41
im just wondering about ben brennan from calder cannons. an agile chb who has been sent into the ruck several times this year for tough asks. tall and strong who got strong talent and i feel would fit great into a carlton or hawthorn rookie list

aamccready
22 Sep 2006, 21:08

Dons will pick up Djerrkurra if still available second round

seekthesnitch
22 Sep 2006, 23:18
Theres a kid from S.A. called James Smith, big raps on him only problem is that he may choose to follow cricket instead of footy

Mr 12'
26 Sep 2006, 11:16
Nick Georgiadis - Western Jets

under 19, only been playin the game for 2 years.
Amazing speed, clean, good skills...

Played well in all 13 games, killed Bendigo. Should be a big chance

Yeah i agree

Cant believe he has only played 2 seasons.

whirl
26 Sep 2006, 11:36
Dons will pick up Djerrkurra if still available second round
At pick #20? That's a pretty high pick for him.

oldman64
26 Sep 2006, 12:08
damion horbury from north ballarat rebels has been played at full back all year dosn't seem to get to much of a mention. He seems to be a very strong bodied player should be a chance or maybe rookie drafted.

crows_4_life
26 Sep 2006, 12:36
i think both the westhoff boys and a couple of others i've been talking up on the crows board are alwyn davey frm sth adel and nick gill frm nth adel.

macca69
26 Sep 2006, 14:27
Is Saad Saad a chance this year? He has some freakish skills but his attitude is questionable to say the least. He trained with Essendon last year (or was it the year before?) in the hope of getting rookied, but that didn't eventuate. How's his form been this year, and will he be a cnahce to get rookied?

the_kid_can_play_footy
26 Sep 2006, 14:43
im just wondering about ben brennan from calder cannons. an agile chb who has been sent into the ruck several times this year for tough asks. tall and strong who got strong talent and i feel would fit great into a carlton or hawthorn rookie list

ive seen brennan play a few times this year. very strong player that takes on the big roles each week. i feel is very underated in the TAC Cup this year. could be a surprise pick up. and yes fanatic could go to a hawthorn or even more o think a Essendon. just wondering if any one else of heard of him? does deserve some recognigtion for hos efforts this year.

J.Gallagher #1
26 Sep 2006, 18:13
Im thinking that just from Centrals there could be 4 smokies

Both Justin and Leigh Westhoff, Adrian Wilson(was on Essendons rookie list played very well this year), Sean Brading(CHF/CHB) then you have Sam Jacobs of the Eagles i think he will definently be picked up looks a good prospect in the ruck.

All would not be out of place on an AFL list

WCL
26 Sep 2006, 19:14
From the ACT:

Nick Paine: From Ainslie has great skills on both sides of his body, has trimmed down a lot this year and is a ball magnet in the midfield.

Andrew Mathis: From Weston Creek. Has pace to burn, Swans were interested early in the year.

James MaCabe: Won the rising star in the AFL canberra comp this year, may go late.

Aaron Bruce may go next year, still too young this year.

aamccready
26 Sep 2006, 20:11
At pick #20? That's a pretty high pick for him.

he won't be there at 35! He will also play seniors straight away!

Bulldogsnm1
26 Sep 2006, 22:20
In the recent 18 National championships there was a slightly built boy from SA who really impressed me. His name was Thomas and basically played a half forward flankers role.

Very creative and looked to have good skills, seemed to be pushed under the radar and haven't seen any mention of him in the phantom drafts.

Can some of the SA posters give me an update on his form

Limbach_19
26 Sep 2006, 22:27
In the recent 18 National championships there was a slightly built boy from SA who really impressed me. His name was Thomas and basically played a half forward flankers role.

Very creative and looked to have good skills, seemed to be pushed under the radar and haven't seen any mention of him in the phantom drafts.

Can some of the SA posters give me an update on his form
Lindsay Thomas, i liked him too.

sinepari
26 Sep 2006, 22:38
I'll 3rd that.

toptigers
27 Sep 2006, 01:19
James Bennett from Belconnen in the ACTAFL

smasher
27 Sep 2006, 06:11
I agree Saad Saad is a freak who lacks commitment.He did train at Essendon last year but they passed on him.With a bit of discipline he could be anything.

safely kept
27 Sep 2006, 13:35

I guess this explains why he won LEAGUE Best and Fariest in every age division he played, as well as being captain of Sunraysia rep side. at 17 stands 196cm and weighs 92kg, bigger than Chris is now.

WCL
27 Sep 2006, 20:48
James Bennett from Belconnen in the ACTAFL

Almost forgot, definatly would bring something to an AFL list, had 47possies against Sydney Swans reserves in the Qualifying final (lost by 21pts), should go around pick 50.

joeldalsanto26
27 Sep 2006, 22:28
Ben Kalmus
One of the best players for CG in the APS this year and is big enough and good enough to go straight into the big league. Is an absolute gorilla and a freak show. Great to watch

West Coast Juddy
28 Sep 2006, 00:08
Anyone from W.A think Danny Chartres (Peel) is a chance? Rookie-list?

I've seen him live 3 times this year and he has been more impressive than Gumby, albeit he is 20-21 I think.

Yer Danny Chartres has been really good for peel this year can play key position at CHF, CHB and even has a couple of stints in the ruck. Gumbelton though is still the outstanding up and coming. (Hope he goes number 1)
Another young guy from peel who only mainly plays colts is Ben Howlett although did get a couple of league games and was in the colts team of the year. Howlett was runner up B + F to kristen thorton last year and had another good year as well. Also was in the state 18s intial squad and was unlucky to get cut. Other colts who are good chances of course are james hawksley and kyle riemers both also had good years.

TheTimberMerchant#14
28 Sep 2006, 11:25
kangaroos interested in nick georgiadis and richard knight, geelong also looking at knight

Stock92
28 Sep 2006, 11:37
I agree Saad Saad is a freak who lacks commitment.He did train at Essendon last year but they passed on him.With a bit of discipline he could be anything.

My cousins play with Saad Saad, took one of the marks of the year in Seymours granny a couple of years ago, sez hes an absolute bloody freak and a great guy too. has to be picked up one day. so good for seymour

Stock92
28 Sep 2006, 11:40
My cousins play with Saad Saad, took one of the marks of the year in Seymours granny a couple of years ago, sez hes an absolute bloody freak and a great guy too. has to be picked up one day. so good for seymour

For that mark he won Almost Footy Legends one week

Mitchell Madness
28 Sep 2006, 11:48
I think joel coombes will be picked up earlier then most people think. He goes to my school so i have haqd the pleasure of seeing him play on numerous occasion's, even managed to play against him once myself in a yr 11 v yr 12 footy match, pretty funny crap. 2nd round IMO

jumpman5
1 Oct 2006, 14:38
Trent Shinners (Dandenong Stingrays)

good around the ground ruckmen

got a couple of BOG's playin for NARRE WARREN in the finals (semi and granny) playing against men

likely type!

ken tucky
1 Oct 2006, 15:54
Mitchell Madness-I think joel coombes will be picked up earlier then most people think. He goes to my school so i have haqd the pleasure of seeing him play on numerous occasion's, even managed to play against him once myself in a yr 11 v yr 12 footy match, pretty funny crap. 2nd round IMO

mate i have watched Dragons last few games and yes Coombes was great, kicked plenty of goals and he was a solid player in Vic vs Allies too down back..but 2nd round, no way! he will be a good pick up late or rookie, one thing is looks like a real athlete so i assume he will test well at state screening

bomber_girl
2 Oct 2006, 11:26
Is Dale Whelan (Dandenong Stingrays) a chance to get picked up?

Scham
2 Oct 2006, 12:17
I think Dean D1ck will go mid to late. Plenty to work with there!

GRANGE_GSM
2 Oct 2006, 12:29
Trent Shinners (Dandenong Stingrays)

good around the ground ruckmen

got a couple of BOG's playin for NARRE WARREN in the finals (semi and granny) playing against men

likely type!

a ruckman?...he is 190cm!he is a good 8cm minumum from being an AFL ruckman,even then he will be below standard height for a league ruckman. yes a good player but far from a ruckman and even too short for KPP at the elite level! not bagging the player just stating his disability in height (for a KPP/ruckman)

Boy from the West
2 Oct 2006, 13:07
I think Dean D1ck will go mid to late. Plenty to work with there!
What is it that causes you to rate Dean so highly? I have seen him play a fair bit and can't really make up my mind. He is too small for KPP / Ruck where he has been used in colts and state 18s and I cannot see where he would fit into an AFL team.

Not bagging the bloke because he can play but I see him as a bit of a 'tweener.

Your thoughts please.

Scham
2 Oct 2006, 13:24
What is it that causes you to rate Dean so highly? I have seen him play a fair bit and can't really make up my mind. He is too small for KPP / Ruck where he has been used in colts and state 18s and I cannot see where he would fit into an AFL team.

Not bagging the bloke because he can play but I see him as a bit of a 'tweener.

Your thoughts please.
I think he has heaps of potential. He is big enough to play KP IMO. He's a footballer not an athlete but is still very agile and quickish for his size.

Just my opinion but I like him - he offers clubs a lot of versitility IMO. could end up being a fullback or a half back or even FF.

ford_dealer
2 Oct 2006, 13:26
kangaroos interested in nick georgiadis and richard knight, geelong also looking at knight

i know for a fact about the kangaroos being interested in both.. probably because of thier local coach being brothers with Shannon Grant.

How do you know about Geelong and Knight.

Would love to see both be picked up

Whispers
2 Oct 2006, 13:29

Speaking of Saad Saad, would clubs opt to draft country footballers? I know Luke Vogels got drafted from Terang/Mortlake in the Hampden footy league but surely there would be better quality young players playing senior footy in the top country leagues. I'm serious when I ask this but is there any young country footballers with a chance of being drafted or rookied?

redandblack
2 Oct 2006, 13:52
correct rusling and blesing played in same side and then blesing captaine following year

That's Ryan Blesing's brother, Scott.

After yesterday's Under 17 SANFL Grand Final, Todd Blacksell will add to the 22 West Adelaide players in the AFL.

Meanman
2 Oct 2006, 14:27
Speaking of Saad Saad, would clubs opt to draft country footballers? I know Luke Vogels got drafted from Terang/Mortlake in the Hampden footy league but surely there would be better quality young players playing senior footy in the top country leagues. I'm serious when I ask this but is there any young country footballers with a chance of being drafted or rookied?

Interesting question! top age under 18 player named Chris Aurisch from sale football club seniors in the west gippsland latrobe premier league (playing along with the likes of the burgiel boys(richmond and hawthorn(and stuart anderson(north melbourne) and jacob schuback(adelaide) )kicked 80 odd goals from full forward.. Surely thats a good effort kicking 80 goals on grown men in a premier league..any opinions

crows_4_life
3 Oct 2006, 11:26
i mentioned nick gill earlier in this thread i noticed an article in todays paper about him being drafted, 3 clubs are interested, you would think the crows would be one of them

NORTH Adelaide star Nick Gill could yet be thrown an AFL lifeline after being invited to the league's SA-based talent screening next week.
Gill, who at age 24 has attracted the interest of as many as three AFL clubs, will be tested with 20 other Croweaters in front of recruiting scouts at Henley High School on October 14.
"I was pretty surprised actually," said Gill, who has battled calf and thigh injuries this season. "I would have thought last year was an okay year as far as publicity and consistency goes, so to get the letter (this year) was surprising."
Originally drafted by Melbourne in 2001, Gill also spent 2003 on the Kangaroos' rookie list while playing for Port Melbourne in the VFL.
And after setting the SANFL alight with the Roosters for two seasons with his eye-catching acrobatics, is not giving up hope of playing at elite level.
"I was very pleased, especially at my age," Gill, 193cm and 91kg, said. "Everyone says you're not too old but it is pretty rare someone will actually get picked up at this age.
"But I hadn't given up hope, I'd never really strung two good years together but I thought if I could I might get my name on the table again."
While some judges may see Gill's age as a barrier, the colourful character knows he is a much better player now than when he was first chosen by the Demons.
"To do the same again and have a real crack at it with a more mature head and body on me, maybe I can go a bit better," said Gill, who has kicked 47.38 in 17 games this year.
"The fact I'm in SA and playing in the SANFL against fully-grown men has really helped. When I was drafted originally I don't think I was quite ready.
"I was a bit of a late bloomer at school and when I got drafted I was just a skinny kid who didn't really know what was going on."
Other mature-age SANFL players to be invited to the screening include speedy Norwood wingman Gavin Hughes and high-flying Central District forward Justin Westhoff.
Nine players, headlined by Glenelg's Bryce Gibbs, have been asked to attend the four-day AFL draft camp in Canberra from today.
Each AFL club is asked to submit a list of 50 players of interest prior to both the draft camp and talent screening.
To be invited to the draft camp, at least four AFL clubs must express interest. At least one mention ensures a player will get a berth at the talent screening in his home state.

Ramsgate>>Filth>>Sandbar
3 Oct 2006, 14:25
paul stewart, brad geddes, steve summerton are all roughies to get drafted. both paul and steve played league this year, and geddes has been carving up in reserves.

Pales
3 Oct 2006, 14:43
What about Nick Gill currently @ North Adelaide..... Former Melbourne draftee and was on Kangaroos rookie 2003.... Had a great season under Jarman, would possibly suit crows who are looking for ready-made KPP to cover Hentschel.......

Sorry, didn;t see first post re: Gill....