View Full Version : OT: South Adelaide take SANFL to Supreme Court
I thought this might be of interest to those Crows supporters who also follow the SANFL.
Media Release from SAFC:
Panthers take suspension to Supreme Court
Following a one match suspension handed down to Damian Cupido by the SANFL Tribunal on Tuesday night, the South Adelaide FC has decided to take the matter to the Supreme Court.
The footage shown at the hearing clearly showed Cupido make minimal contact with an open hand to the chest on Glenelg player Justin McConnell.
“Normally we would not dream of such action, but following what we view as an extraordinary decision and the fact that there is no appeal mechanism in place, we believe we have an obligation to our Club, Damian and the members to have the matter reviewed at a higher level. Unfortunately the only avenue open to us is a hearing in the Supreme Court” advised South Adelaide FC General Manager Ben Kavenagh.
AFL clubs have the right to appeal Tribunal decisions as do WAFL, VFL and even all country and metropolitan league clubs throughout Victoria.
“The matter is now in the hands of our Solicitor and no further comment will be made by the South Adelaide FC until after the hearing” Kavenagh stated."
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 15:40
Very surprised they've bothered to take it this far. Goes to show what a bit of pokies money can do for a club (apart from enabling them to cheat the salary cap).
Doesnt matter who it is , whether the contact was minimal or not. The SAFC should ask themselves one question and one question only
If this was a round 3 suspension would they be taking this action?
glengowan
14 Sep 2006, 15:47
Very surprised they've bothered to take it this far. Goes to show what a bit of pokies money can do for a club (apart from enabling them to cheat the salary cap).
I'm not surprised. When the verdict was handed down I wondered if there was an appeal process because the punishment was way out of line with what the SANFL tribunal have been handing out (i.e. if the player you hit isn't dead, it's a reprimand). When you pay big money for a recruit, you want him out there for the most important game your club has played in 15 years. I bet Cupido plays this weekend.
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 15:49
You're probably right.
PS Do you reckon Cupido has earned his $60,000? It looks like he's spent most of the cash on fast food.
Capitalist
the question needs to be asked - do we need south adealide in the league anymore ? they rort the salary cap - have 1/3 of adelaides population around them and still can't draw a crowd, first final in 15 yrs.....
stupid move by the club surely something could have been done to prevent this kind of thing happening in our league
glengowan
Doesnt matter who it is , whether the contact was minimal or not. The SAFC should ask themselves one question and one question only
What has that got to do with anything? All clubs (whether AFL or SANFL) would go to further lengths to get their player off for a final because the stakes are higher!
Accept the umpires decision and move on
The game is bigger than the club. I didnt like it when Dunkley and the Swans did it and I dont like it now
This will make the umpires scared to do their jobs, it will make tribunals hand out penalties not in accordance with the offence. It makes a mockery of it all. Lets just hand out boxing gloves in the semis because hell the best fighting club will win not the best football club :mad:
Like everyone else, I'm not a fan of these court challenges. Even though it is my club in this instance.
But the SANFL deserve their share of criticism too in not having the foresight to institute an appeals system.
afc9798
14 Sep 2006, 16:02
the question needs to be asked - do we need south adealide in the league anymore ? they rort the salary cap - have 1/3 of adelaides population around them and still can't draw a crowd, first final in 15 yrs.....
stupid move by the club surely something could have been done to prevent this kind of thing happening in our league
Have you had a look at Norwood's books lately? The SAFC is in the best shape it's been for many years, is debt free and is improving their facilities. Some success on the field will help with members and crowds, but South has never had a massive following, much like the AFL Bulldogs. I guess you could equate Norwood to Carlton, formerly powerful, but now a basketcase.:)
Also, the move to the court is the right one. The decision against Cupido is laughable and the club has a responsibility to put their best team on the park for their first finals appearance in many years. They deserve to be punished for the salary cap issues, but all the other points you raised are ridiculous.
afc9798
14 Sep 2006, 16:04
The game is bigger than the club. I didnt like it when Dunkley and the Swans did it and I dont like it now
This will make the umpires scared to do their jobs, it will make tribunals hand out penalties not in accordance with the offence. It makes a mockery of it all. Lets just hand out boxing gloves in the semis because hell the best fighting club will win not the best football club :mad:
If there was an appeals system, it wouldn't have been an issue. Cupido has been suspended for the club's biggest game in 15 years and for what? An open handed push. I support them all the way, it's just unfortunate that there's not a sensible appeal mechanism in place.
Seriously STFU.
If you saw this you would know it quite possibly the worst tribunal decision ever in the history of the game. And that is a HUUUGE call.
If it was in round 3, who knows? Probably not.
But it's not round 3, so that's irrelevant.
South's first finals in 14 years, Cupido has been a big part of getting us there.
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 16:12
South's first finals in 14 years, Cupido has been a big part of getting us there.
Emphasis on "big".
Touch a nerve Gets?
The game is bigger than the club. I do agree I thought an appeals process was in place and maybe the SANFL are to blame. If they wouldnt appeal it in round 3 then it makes me wonder how important Cupido is to the SAFC...thats denigrating the other 20 players
Oh dear god mate.
Why don't you ring them up and ask if they would have appealed in round 3 if you care so much.
Stop using a hypothetical situation to support an argument based on nothing other then wanting to argue.
Stinger...
14 Sep 2006, 16:24
If they wouldnt appeal it in round 3 then it makes me wonder how important Cupido is to the SAFC...thats denigrating the other 21 players
The other 20 players...SANFL have a 3 man bench :thumbsu:
Just off topic even more...i have heard a whisper that The Roo may play for West Adelaide's Reserves this weekend at Woodville Oval provided that his liver shrinks 8mm by final selection! :eek: Now im not a medical person so im not up with the details, but i do know the AFC are keen for Roo to play some footy!
My source is very very close to the WAFC...
Oh dear god mate.
Why don't you ring them up and ask if they would have appealed in round 3 if you care so much.
Stop using a hypothetical situation to support an argument based on nothing other then wanting to argue.
Point 1: I am not arguing... I truly dont like clubs using the courts to arbitrate tribunal decisions.
Point 2: If Cupido is the one player between South advancing or not then the SAFC players and coaches may as well give up now
My last comment is this: If the clubs want the courts to settle decisions made on the football field then common assault charges should be laid by the Police on striking
Your last comment is an interesting one as I have often thought that if some of the stuff that happens on the footy field, happened in the public. There would definetely be charges being laid and so on.
Blue Red and Gold
14 Sep 2006, 17:07
Point 1: I am not arguing... I truly dont like clubs using the courts to arbitrate tribunal decisions.
Point 2: If Cupido is the one player between South advancing or not then the SAFC players and coaches may as well give up now
My last comment is this: If the clubs want the courts to settle decisions made on the football field then common assault charges should be laid by the Police on striking
What choice do they have? Im sure if there was an appeals board they would take that action. The fact that there isnt an appeals process is the SANFL's fault.
As the CEO said, they have duty to their players, sponsors and members to make try everything to get their marquee player on the park.
Have you seen the incident? It barely warranted a free kick, I was suprised he was reported in the first place and I am astonished he was suspened. I am not a Panthers supporters, to be honest I really dont like them, but they do not deserve this.
Have you been following Cupido's SANFL form? He has been very good this year and would be a massive loss for South if he was to miss.
Good on South for taking this step, to be honest, what option did they have?
Capitalist
14 Sep 2006, 17:13
Have you had a look at Norwood's books lately? The SAFC is in the best shape it's been for many years, is debt free and is improving their facilities. Some success on the field will help with members and crowds, but South has never had a massive following, much like the AFL Bulldogs. I guess you could equate Norwood to Carlton, formerly powerful, but now a basketcase.:)
Also, the move to the court is the right one. The decision against Cupido is laughable and the club has a responsibility to put their best team on the park for their first finals appearance in many years. They deserve to be punished for the salary cap issues, but all the other points you raised are ridiculous.
hate to fill you in on this one - but the SANFL is a sporting comp - Norwood while having financial difficulties at the moment (partly due to really ****house management and outside influences ) has still at least been competitive on the field while it is having off field dramas - we were realistically 3 - 4 solid qtrs of football away from the finals
Norwood > South now, in the past and in the future :thumbsu:
afc9798
14 Sep 2006, 17:24
hate to fill you in on this one - but the SANFL is a sporting comp - Norwood while having financial difficulties at the moment (partly due to really ****house management and outside influences ) has still at least been competitive on the field while it is having off field dramas - we were realistically 3 - 4 solid qtrs of football away from the finals
Norwood > South now, in the past and in the future :thumbsu:
How does that add up? We finished above you in the now, so that rukes that out, the past is agreed and the future is purely speculation on your part. South is managed well, coached adequately and is attracting better talent than Norwood currently. Future looks bright at Noarlunga and very cloudy at the Parade.
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 17:26
It's amazing how a SANFL club's fortunes are almost directly proportional to its poker-machine revenue.
Capitalist
14 Sep 2006, 17:27
How does that add up? We finished above you in the now, so that rukes that out, the past is agreed and the future is purely speculation on your part. South is managed well, coached adequately and is attracting better talent than Norwood currently. Future looks bright at Noarlunga and very cloudy at the Parade.
Speculation rocks :D - Yes lets hope south can continue to buy its way up the ladder
I look forward to debating Norwood v South in the years to come :thumbsu:
dA Crow
14 Sep 2006, 17:32
Completely agree.
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 17:55
Cupido hardly touched the Fat Hack McConnell (remember him? the guy who passed it backwards to Perrie giving him the chance to win the game for North at the bay) and he took a massive dive. Going by the SANFL tribunal this year, you would have to chainsaw a blokes head off to be in with a chance of copping a suspension, yet Stupido gets 1?
Backwell got reported and probably should have got a game, instead his charge gets thrown out, maybe because hes a magarey chance?
Also, if the SANFL had an appeals system set up, we wouldnt have this problem. I hope Cupido is allowed to play this week and kicks 10 against the ****ing dirty scum.
I agree RL.
Some hard, high hits have been getting 1 week max this year.
Someone on the panel obviously hates SAFC.
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 17:58
Its interesting, South have broken the salary cap, they have had 2 players suspended, Clark and now Cupido, is this extra punishment??
If Robert Pyman was Jose Mourinho he would call it a conspiracy....
Macca19
14 Sep 2006, 18:30
If Tyson Edwards got suspended for one match in the Prelim for pushing someone in the chest would everyone here be happy? I strongly doubt it and I bet most people here would be pushing the Crows to take it further.
Though I dont agree with clubs taking finals suspensions to court like in the AFL, I understand why South has chosen to take this further. Considering just about every single player this year has only gotten a reprimand no matter how bad the report, that suspension was just ludicrous. Without a doubt the worst suspension ive seen in football. It goes against every single other report this year that that could get 1 week. Even though they are playing my club I fully understand why they would do this.
And yes, Cupido has put on about 20 kilos since his time at Essendon. I think when he retires he'll end up the size of D Jarman, if not a hell of a lot more. Definately cant see him getting back in the AFL system with his carriage.
Macca19
14 Sep 2006, 18:31
Its interesting, South have broken the salary cap, they have had 2 players suspended, Clark and now Cupido, is this extra punishment??
Definatley seems that way. As you said, youve basically had to murder people this year to get a week off.
Panthers64
14 Sep 2006, 18:55
I'm a South supporter and I'm happy with the clubs decision to take a stand. For too long we've accepted rough decisions from the SANFL and towed the line. We may have a large area down South in population, but most of the best recruiting areas like hallet cove and aberfoyle park have been given to Glenelg and West Adelaide by the SANFL, we get rural areas like Willunga and Victor Harbour as our zone.
The club has drawn a line in the sand and is fighting fire with fire. Centrals have been fined in recent years for salary cap breaches and it helped them win some premierships. The clubs president has stated on the record the fine was the best money ever spent!
If the SANFL has a valid appeals process like all other major leagues have, the panthers would've had an official avenue to protest through. The SANFL should've seen this coming as the WAFL, VFL and even the TFL all implemented an appeals system after the Dunkley incident.
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 19:00
Great post Macca especially the bit about Tys Edwards. The Crow supporters on here would be furious if that happened and there would definitely be many appeals. I dont see the difference between what South are doing and what most clubs do each week in the AFL, its just a different system.
Panthers64 i hope Cupido does get off and he lines up Sunday. I'll be there early, both games will be crackers!
Panthers64
14 Sep 2006, 19:02
Panthers64 i hope Cupido does get off and he lines up Sunday. I'll be there early, both games will be crackers!
Thanks RoosterLad.
Looking forward to two great games of skillful, high scoring SANFL football.
I'll be giving my old south scarf its first taste of September action since 92 !
Stiffy_18
14 Sep 2006, 20:19
Like everyone else, I'm not a fan of these court challenges. Even though it is my club in this instance.
But the SANFL deserve their share of criticism too in not having the foresight to institute an appeals system.
:thumbsu:
Especially when you consider the incident itself was a love tap at best. The boy's reaction time was as good as that of Brodie Holland after Johncock got him in the stomach :rolleyes:
Crow-mo
14 Sep 2006, 20:22
wrong.
why should they ask themselves that question, as that misses the point.
of course it's because it's the finals. bloody obviously.
not sure that I agree with their actions, but then again not having seen it, they do seem particularly aggrieved.
Crow-mo
14 Sep 2006, 20:25
the question needs to be asked - do we need south adealide in the league anymore ? they rort the salary cap - have 1/3 of adelaides population around them
didn't you answer your own question?
Crow-mo
14 Sep 2006, 20:26
geez you talk rubbish sometimes.
Crow-mo
14 Sep 2006, 20:27
If they wouldnt appeal it in round 3 then it makes me wonder how important Cupido is to the SAFC...thats denigrating the other 20 players
see earlier post :rolleyes:
skippy14
14 Sep 2006, 20:35
Whilst I hate the thought of the courts being involved in footy I don't blame South for feeling the need to do something. Given how soft the tribunal has been all year, giving reprimands for guys belting each other I can not believe this verdict. It was only a tap to the chest - the Glenelg player just flopped!
Good luck South. I hope justice is done.
1. There was absolutely nothing in the 'incident'. Shouldn't even have been a free kick. It was all on camera.
2. If there was any consistency in the SANFL tribunal it would have found 'no case to answer'.
3. Incomprehensible tribunal decision + no appeal mechanism = legal action when it's a final.
Does anyone know who was on the tribunal and made this decision?
see earlier post :rolleyes:
Anything on topic you wish to address?
spell_check
15 Sep 2006, 00:25
As I have said, Sturts' Michael Curtis did pretty much the same thing the week before and got off. I wonder what the difference was this time?
It was South Adelaide?
It was Cupido?
Both?
Strange, though.
Crow-mo
15 Sep 2006, 00:43
Anything on topic you wish to address?
no, responding to your nonsensical rubbish was enough.
macca23
15 Sep 2006, 01:16
Just saw vision of the Cupido alleged strike on a recording a few minutes ago.
If Buckley's was a push this wasn't even a pat.
Whoever deemed that to be worthy of a suspension should be hung up by their testicles.
Ridiculous!!
Fred Phillis
15 Sep 2006, 11:42
court hearing set for noon today