View Full Version : Ian Perrie???
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 16:57
I put forward the case that Perrie should be dropped after last weeks performance.
First of all to be fair out of his 5 shots with a VERY strong wind he hit two posters. 1 of them however was an absolute gimme, then he missed a very gettable goal and also kicked one.
1 goals 4 points.
Perrie is one of those players who lacks consistency and whilst is reasonably good in a marking contest so often the ball just slips through his fingers in a very markable delivery. Ok so you might be saying well if he had kicked all 5 goals you would be saying he was a hero it was just unlucky with two posters and a very strong wind.
Perrie IMO chokes under pressure, as seen on his first shot on goal. He thinks himself out of kicking the goal, he is far too unrealiable to hold a spot up forward. We need a consistent marker, who can consistently contribute, ESPECIALLY, when it counts most. For me this is not Perrie.
Perrie Out
Burton IN
Ok so they are not a direct swap but playing Burton up forward could be devastating and plus you could rotate him through midfield and into the forward line with someone like bode. Burton provides everything Perrie does and more and based on performances Perrie is the least deserving out of our line up IMO.
KUNG FU
14 Sep 2006, 17:03
Hmmm, let me be first to say "I'm sitting on the fence!"
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 17:04
Hmmm, let me be first to say "I'm sitting on the fence!"
Its very easy to do with Perrie he can be good but he can be a Hack. It's finals time everyone has to earn their place more than ever, has he really done enough to hold it? No
beartoo
14 Sep 2006, 17:05
Crikey! Poor old Pez. I thought he played well at the weekend. Gave a contest every time the ball came his way. You're not a WCE troll by any chance? :eek:
Capitalist
14 Sep 2006, 17:05
nope
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 17:10
Crikey! Poor old Pez. I thought he played well at the weekend. Gave a contest every time the ball came his way. You're not a WCE troll by any chance? :eek:
Perrie was the reason we didn't win by 60 points+. Do we need a forward making contests or kicking goals. Perrie missed 4 very gettable goals at CRITICAL points in the game.
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 17:10
Perrie's set-shots last weekend were on about a par with the rest of the side. I like him because he always gives a contest. A real team player.
I put forward the case that Perrie should be dropped after last weeks performance.
Jesus, this is the kind of material that belongs in the Collingwood cheer squad while losing an elimination final.
There is no way Perrie is going to be dropped. The first step to kicking goals is having a shot and I think if the Pez is half way there before the two biggest games of the year then so be it!
Wilburwild
14 Sep 2006, 17:14
Perrie wasnt the only player to miss easy goals last week, and he kickedthe sealer last week also. remember that play, its a highlight, Porps Perfect play i like to call it!! then porps passes to pez and pez puts it through! strong hands on Perrie, and a good target to have in the side. i say keep him in!!
arrowman
14 Sep 2006, 17:18
That would be five shots IN a very strong wind, not WITH a very strong wind.
As others have said, he wasn't the only offender. The fact that he had 5 scoring shots and made a 100% effort and contribution is enough to keep him in the side.
Would anyone be asking this question if he had kicked 4.1?
I don't believe you drop a player who had 5 scoring shots just because he had a bad day (especially in those conditions) - unless there's something identifiable about what happened other than "bad day".
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 17:18
Perrie's set-shots last weekend were on about a par with the rest of the side. I like him because he always gives a contest. A real team player.
Incorrect.
Rhett Biglands(2). 1
Jason Torney(2). 1
Nathan Bock(2). 0
Brent Reilly(1). 1
Matthew Clarke(1). 0
Ian Perrie(1). 4
Scott Welsh(1). 1
Jason Porp's (0). 1
Doughty (0). 1
Bode (0).1
As you can see he is the only one with outstandingly poor kicking. Too add to that he is a forward and most if not all his shots were set shots. Yes other players did miss some easy shots but I really thought that his effort in kicking will need to improve under pressure.
dA Crow
14 Sep 2006, 17:19
I thought Perrie played well last week. Missed a couple that he should have got, and a couple got dragged by the somewhat "Flukey" wind. He did what we expect and want from Sarge, he gave a contest; he also blocked well for other players up forward as well at times during the game as well. Sure he can be frustrating at times, but dropping him... I dont think so.
swanfan
14 Sep 2006, 17:37
You heard it hear first on Bigfooty....oops wrong thread. :D
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 17:52
Perrie will not be dropped. Trust me folks.
Crows_Chick
14 Sep 2006, 18:00
If you wanted to make a case for dropping someone based on inaccurate kicking/poor disposal from last weeks game Scott Thompson would be at the top of the list and isn't that a ludicrous thought.... same goes for Perrie !! At least he's getting the ball and creating the opportunity, bit harsh to be too critical of bad kicking in conditions like last weekend...
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 18:03
Totally agree Chicky. Thommo's disposal has been terrible most games, last week he got a lot of the pill but wasted it. He will never be dropped either. They are both important players in our structure.
crows98
14 Sep 2006, 18:16
Perrie will not be dropped. Trust me folks.
Never trust anyone that says ‘trust me’ but he will not be dropped.
RoosterLad
14 Sep 2006, 18:17
Depends.
If RoosterLad says "trust me" then you are safe, everything will be totally sweet.
topjars
14 Sep 2006, 18:36
He wont be dropped.
He does however, need a system.
He should go back through the tapes where he was kicking accurate (yeah it could take awhile to discover it :p ) with a bio-mechanics expert and agree on some principles that gave him the accuracy and then write an acronym on the back of his hand to review as he lines up!!..anything
It might be...
Asses the conditions (Footing, rain, wind, ball, mark)
Visualise the ball sailing through the middle
Run straight at the target
Kick through the ball with confidence
I think it was his first shot on goal he took about 5 steps...how do you get run up rythem doin' that:confused:
RogerRabbit69
14 Sep 2006, 18:44
Asses????? No need to get so personal about poor ol' Pezz, topjars. :D
If you wanted to make a case for dropping someone based on inaccurate kicking/poor disposal from last weeks game Scott Thompson would be at the top of the list and isn't that a ludicrous thought.... same goes for Perrie !! At least he's getting the ball and creating the opportunity, bit harsh to be too critical of bad kicking in conditions like last weekend...
Agreed. Just a ridiculous thread really......
Farmer missed a pretty easy one with the wind at the start of teh 3rd quarter. I wonder if he'll get a game this week :rolleyes:
KUNG FU
14 Sep 2006, 18:56
There's no doubt he won't be dropped and probably shouldn't be dropped. But I just get way too nervous when he's kicking for goal. I'd hate to be in his shoes. His ability to get the ball should never be in question. Hopefully he's realised his weakness and he'll have been practicing in front of goal for fortnight by next weekend.
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 19:01
He wont be dropped.
He does however, need a system.
He should go back through the tapes where he was kicking accurate (yeah it could take awhile to discover it :p ) with a bio-mechanics expert and agree on some principles that gave him the accuracy and then write an acronym on the back of his hand to review as he lines up!!..anything
It might be...
Visualise the ball sailing through the middle
Run straight at the target
Kick through the ball with confidence
I think it was his first shot on goal he took about 5 steps...how do you get run up rythem doin' that:confused:
Agreed, thats my only main criticism and there has been plenty about Perrie's kicking in the "Tiser" so i'm not just trolling. Theres no one in the crows who deserves to be dropped but Burton needs to come in. IF Perrie continues to miss gettable set shots like he has all year especially under pressure surely he must be dropped.
crows98
14 Sep 2006, 19:28
Agreed, thats my only main criticism and there has been plenty about Perrie's kicking in the "Tiser" so i'm not just trolling. Theres no one in the crows who deserves to be dropped but Burton needs to come in. IF Perrie continues to miss gettable set shots like he has all year especially under pressure surely he must be dropped.
Didn’t he miss 16 or 17 games? (Rhetorical question)
Not sure if you have thought your last line through . For the season Ian Perrie kicked 5 goals 4 points from his 5 games and then 1.4 last week.
He’s has had one bad game in durable conditions and your ready to cut him off at the knees?
Talk about over reacting.
GoCROWS!
14 Sep 2006, 19:38
Didn’t he miss 16 or 17 games? (Rhetorical question)
Not sure if you have thought your last line through . For the season Ian Perrie kicked 5 goals 4 points from his 5 games and then 1.4 last week.
He’s has had one bad game in durable conditions and your ready to cut him off at the knees?
Talk about over reacting.
Whoops underestimated how many games he had missed yet the point remains. Perrie has always been an unreiable kick. I am not making this decision based on last week, its a culmination. Last week when I was watching the game and Perrie was ligning up I said to myself because it was such an important shot. "Ok Perrie if you kick this then maybe my criticism of you has been off the mark" tell me when he was lining up you werent especially nervous. His misses told of lack of confidence and goal kicking proceedure. It's not that I think Perrie doesn't desere to be in the side, it's are we willing to risk a player who hasn't bagged a major haul all year as a key target in attack whom has issues over his kicking. Finals will make you pay, opportunities missed are opportunities lost.
crows98
14 Sep 2006, 19:43
Whoops underestimated how many games he had missed yet the point remains. Perrie has always been an unreiable kick. I am not making this decision based on last week, its a culmination. Last week when I was watching the game and Perrie was ligning up I said to myself because it was such an important shot. "Ok Perrie if you kick this then maybe my criticism of you has been off the mark" tell me when he was lining up you werent especially nervous. His misses told of lack of confidence and goal kicking proceedure. It's not that I think Perrie doesn't desere to be in the side, it's are we willing to risk a player who hasn't bagged a major haul all year as a key target in attack whom has issues over his kicking. Finals will make you pay, opportunities missed are opportunities lost.
Everyone had the yips last week; even Scott Welsh who is normally a very good shot for goals was spraying them wide.
I have the utmost amount of confidence in Ian Perrie, he may not be the most skilled player in the side but he will get the job done.
Stiffy_18
14 Sep 2006, 20:27
First of all to be fair out of his 5 shots with a VERY strong wind he hit two posters. 1 of them however was an absolute gimme, then he missed a very gettable goal and also kicked one.
1 goals 4 points.
Perrie is one of those players who lacks consistency and whilst is reasonably good in a marking contest so often the ball just slips through his fingers in a very markable delivery. Ok so you might be saying well if he had kicked all 5 goals you would be saying he was a hero it was just unlucky with two posters and a very strong wind.
Perrie IMO chokes under pressure, as seen on his first shot on goal. He thinks himself out of kicking the goal, he is far too unrealiable to hold a spot up forward. We need a consistent marker, who can consistently contribute, ESPECIALLY, when it counts most. For me this is not Perrie.
Perrie Out
Burton IN
Ok so they are not a direct swap but playing Burton up forward could be devastating and plus you could rotate him through midfield and into the forward line with someone like bode. Burton provides everything Perrie does and more and based on performances Perrie is the least deserving out of our line up IMO.
Pipedream
TheLeftFist8
14 Sep 2006, 20:52
No way should Perrie be dropped.
Agreed, Burton for Perrie is not a direct swap and I reckon the forward mix of talls/utilities/smalls is balanced at the moment. The most likely direct swap as a running forward/midfielder is Douglas, though Burton would get more game time than the promising youngster.
The only other way to drop Perrie is to reinstate McGregor, which i've argued against before, as Perrie matches McGregor's positives (including contested marking!), scores just as much and is far quicker and more mobile and able to chase opponents. Perrie's goalkicking has been adequate in the past couple years and one absolute shank and a couple posters does not warrant dropping him.
In short, Sarge must stay!
macca23
14 Sep 2006, 20:57
Pffffft!! :rolleyes:
lozstar
14 Sep 2006, 21:12
No matter how much you might want that to happen - It will not.
Carl Spackler
14 Sep 2006, 21:14
The question is will McGregor perform better at CHF than Perrie?
Halfway through the season I would have taken McGregor over Perrie at CHF. Thought Kenny was doing an ok job and that our forward line had improved in part because Perrie wasn't playing. However, McGregor let it slip. He didn't grab his opportunity and left the door open for Perrie to return. Since Perrie has come back he has looked more dangerous than McGregor did in the last half of the season. Now I'm firmly in the belief that Perrie is our No. 1 CHF.
And I can't believe you're calling him inconsistent. Consistency is his absolute trademark. We know exactly what we are going to get from him each week - a few decent grabs, some contests in the forward line, he'll cover plenty of ground and kick woefullly for goal. These are all givens.
Stiffy_18
14 Sep 2006, 21:19
It amazes me that no matter what Perrie, Shirley and Bode will always be question and there is always someone claiming that they should be dropped :rolleyes:
Postman Pat
14 Sep 2006, 21:23
Incorrect.
Rhett Biglands(2). 1
Jason Torney(2). 1
Nathan Bock(2). 0
Brent Reilly(1). 1
Matthew Clarke(1). 0
Ian Perrie(1). 4
Scott Welsh(1). 1
Jason Porp's (0). 1
Doughty (0). 1
Bode (0).1
As you can see he is the only one with outstandingly poor kicking. Too add to that he is a forward and most if not all his shots were set shots. Yes other players did miss some easy shots but I really thought that his effort in kicking will need to improve under pressure.
i guess what it does show is he was the only one to consistently be capable to get a shot on goal. :)
We cant drop ALL our forwards since weve lost our top 4.
TheLeftFist8
14 Sep 2006, 21:25
The question is will McGregor perform better at CHF than Perrie?
Halfway through the season I would have taken McGregor over Perrie at CHF. Thought Kenny was doing an ok job and that our forward line had improved in part because Perrie wasn't playing. However, McGregor let it slip. He didn't grab his opportunity and left the door open for Perrie to return. Since Perrie has come back he has looked more dangerous than McGregor did in the last half of the season. Now I'm firmly in the belief that Perrie is our No. 1 CHF.
And I can't believe you're calling him inconsistent. Consistency is his absolute trademark. We know exactly what we are going to get from him each week - a few decent grabs, some contests in the forward line, he'll cover plenty of ground and kick woefullly for goal. These are all givens.
Agreed, except he doesn't consistently kick woefully for goal. I dunno if CS was exaggerating but his career return is 109.91. Not a great percentage but certainly not kicking 1.4 every week and i reckon his percentage would have improved in latter stages of his career.
Postman Pat
14 Sep 2006, 21:35
heres an interesting comparison.
relevant because we are a good chance to play west coast next week. (didnt do a bulldogs one because they dont rly have a CHF).
a ashley hansen v perrie comparison.
http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/compare_players?tid1=101&pid1=517&tid2=116&pid2=2002146
obviously, before perrie was injured, he was showing good form and he also does a lot more than ashley hansen.
the only place hansen beats him is on the score board, but i dare say perries points average was inflated last week by about .7
dropping him is stupid, he provides a contest and players like porpy, bode and thommo feed of his lack of being able to mark the ball :). he also takes the number 1 defender which frees up welsh/biglands/bock.
its a blessing in disguise.
1 goals 4 points.
Perrie Out
Burton IN
http://ffmedia.ign.com/reviews/pics/mcbain.jpg
Oh, stop talking CRAAAAAZY!
Crow-mo
14 Sep 2006, 21:46
crap thread. doesn't merit further comment.
Wayne's-World
14 Sep 2006, 22:31
crap thread. doesn't merit further comment.
As he said!!!!!:thumbsd:
beartoo
14 Sep 2006, 22:44
It amazes me that no matter what Perrie, Shirley and Bode will always be question and there is always someone claiming that they should be dropped :rolleyes:
You forgot Biglands. :rolleyes:
Carl Spackler
15 Sep 2006, 00:51
Agreed, except he doesn't consistently kick woefully for goal. I dunno if CS was exaggerating but his career return is 109.91. Not a great percentage but certainly not kicking 1.4 every week and i reckon his percentage would have improved in latter stages of his career.
I'd be interested to see what goal kicking percentages people have when you take Telstra Dome out of the equation. I seem to remember a couple of Sarge's 5 goal hauls were there in the perfectly still conditions. Poor kicking techniques get found out in adverse conditions.
GoCROWS!
15 Sep 2006, 01:22
Nope bode tryies the hardest out of any crow, always plays his guts out. He DEFINATELY stays. I've always liked Biglands, mobile and I heard last week hes the second highest scoring ruckman. Hes got a good grab and an accurate kick too. Shirley does alot of good work that goes unnoticed because he mainly gets tagging roles.
I'm not a perrie hater, and my decision is definately not based just on last week. You just got to question a player who has been playing football for as long as he has and takes a 5 step run up, stabs and sprays a gimme goal just when his team needs it the most. Everyone is allowed to spray but I dunno I've never really rated Perrie, he seems to get goals when they don't really count for much. The last thing we need is a Warren Tredrae that has physcological problems with his kicking thats all my point really is. I just thought Perrie for Burton was the most obvious swap in my mind as all the other players have done good in my books.
But your allowed to disagree :thumbsu:
Crow-mo
15 Sep 2006, 01:51
But your allowed to disagree :thumbsu:
and it is a free country, you are allowed to be wrong. just don't abuse the priviledge.
Carl Spackler
15 Sep 2006, 01:55
I find goal kicking an interesting topic.
Ian Perrie to me looks very regimented with his kicking action. He looks like he is trying to remember what he should be doing rather than just kicking the ball naturally. For Perrie, is it a simple issue that his fine motor skills aren't as good as some other players? Would he benefit from learning how to juggle or playing hackey-sack rather than spending time on his goal kicking routine?
Should goal kicking coaches spend time teaching kicking or should they be focusing on increasing the skill level of the player? Matthew Lloyd is a better kick for goal than Ian Perrie. I have absolutely no evidence to support this but I'd wager that Lloyd is also better at dribbling a soccer ball. Probably a better dancer too.
It seems to me that Tredrea has had hours and hours spent on his goalkicking routine and he now almost seeks to avoid doing it. In fact he often plays on straight away onto his left foot. Does he do this in order to get away from all the instructions and routines that are flooding his head?
Does anyone remember Stuart Maxfield's kicking action? A left footer, he actually waved the foot around a bit before dropping it onto his foot. Now, most kicking coaches will tell you that that is a no-no. But Maxfield was one of the best kicks in the competition, particularly on the run. He must have had extemely good motor coordination as, despite the ball moving around, he was able to repeat the drop of the footy the same way almost every time.
There was an interesting moment earlier this season during a Brisbane game in Melbourne. Raan Hooper took a mark and instinctively played on, worsening the angle, and snapped the goal under pressure on his preferred left foot. He could have had a relatively simple set shot from 25m on a 45 degree angle. The commentators had a chuckle and said that he was lucky this time and Lethal might have to introduce the Richo Rule with Hooper.
Now, the Richo Rule basically means that if you take a mark in the forward fifty you aren't allowed to play on. It was introduced because Matthew Richardson made himself look stupid a couple of times by playing on and getting caught. Bronx cheers from the crowd, baiting from the opposition etc.
Now, has Richardson's goal kicking percentage been improved as a result of the Richo Rule? Yes he has had less embarrassing moments getting caught holding the ball in the goal square but I'd argue that he would have been better off trusting his instincts.
You will naturally seek to do what is easiest and most effective for you. Richardson was playing on because he knows he is better on the run when he doesn't have to think. He was playing on instinctively because that is what he'd always done. He had obviously learned implicitly that that was the best way for him to score goals.
Hooper was exactly the same. He played on instinctively, on to his natural left foot and snapped the goal because he had probably done it a million times before. He knew that he would be able to kick the goal that way.
Coaches have to be careful not to get in the way of a player's natural instincts. Sometimes the best thing you can do is nothing at all. Would Maxfield have been a better kick if his coaches had tried to fix his technique? Perrie looks overcoached. And the trouble is, the worse he kicks, the more coaching and advice he will receive.
topjars
15 Sep 2006, 08:35
Asses????? No need to get so personal about poor ol' Pezz, topjars. :D
:o Shucks:o
GoSarge
15 Sep 2006, 11:54
Thought Sarge really stepped up in the last qtr of the Freo game. Considering that he has missed a fair chunk of football this year and Kenny and Trent are missing, he's certainly done ok.
p.s. - Since when was Ben Holland NOT a gun ? I'f give up Robbie Thompson for him to be on our list.
I agree mate, I quite like him because he always gives 100% and never gives up, but to play footy at AFL level you really have to be able to kick well (its not just saturday that he's kicked badly) especially as a forward. It would be very harsh to drop Sarge but as much as I like him I think Kenny McGregor should come in for him, he would have kicked 4 or 5 goals with the opportunities we had last week.
Mad Dog
15 Sep 2006, 22:56
I agree mate, I quite like him because he always gives 100% and never gives up, but to play footy at AFL level you really have to be able to kick well (its not just saturday that he's kicked badly) especially as a forward. It would be very harsh to drop Sarge but as much as I like him I think Kenny McGregor should come in for him, he would have kicked 4 or 5 goals with the opportunities we had last week.
Given Kenny's physical inconvenience ATM....I think The Dispenser is a better bet @ CHF.
Pez's turning circle, while needing some work is > Kenny's.
johnnypanther
16 Sep 2006, 00:38
Sarge is always in my 1st 18 even when we have a full squad available
- he plays a vastly different role in the side than McGregor - Sarge just runs all day and provides a target all over the ground which really suits our playing style
macca23
16 Sep 2006, 13:18
Sarge is always in my 1st 18 even when we have a full squad available
- he plays a vastly different role in the side than McGregor - Sarge just runs all day and provides a target all over the ground which really suits our playing style
Correct. :thumbsu:
Kane McGoodwin
16 Sep 2006, 15:45
1 goals 4 points.
Perrie Out
Burton IN
You don't have much idea about structure.
We need at least 2 talls (currently Perrie & Bock) in the foward line. Replacing a tall with a medium is silly stuff. Kenny would be the only replacement for Perie & quite frankly Perrie has been competing much better than Kenny & not falling over all the time.