View Full Version : Rank Our Drafts

Pevers-Legend
15 Sep 2006, 14:23
Been discussing previous picks and I thought it was worth a thread, to review how our drafts have geon, since apparently we have deon so well recently, thought we should really review each one.

96 - Barely a pass mark. 2 top 5 picks and our best player came at 28. Heff was good for our flag but McAlister (project player) was useless. Pass (barely)
97 - Bolton - need I say more. Lots of talent in this draft and we fcked up. solomon was a good player for our flag and Eastaugh was useful for a period. Fail.
98 - 10 top pick is just a solid player nothing more. Promised a lot but hasn't delivered in terms of high quality output. However Ramma and Jacobs were excellent picks. A win on this one. Pass with honours.
99 - Salary cap screwed us up. Pass with Hill and Barnes. Pickett (project player who failed)
00 - Can you say absolutley crappola. No one left. Only one in the system and one at SANFL level. Davies was a project player and that backfired. Big Time Fail.
01 - Poor draft. Harvey was what we needed but surely we lloked at his head before we drafted him. Obviously not as has been proven the case. Lost Hardwick and got Welsh (who is a poor mans Hardwick). Reynolds (project player) failed. Big Time FAIL
02 - Watson was a no brainer father son. Winderlich and Walsh were the pace we needed. Ones gone and the other has done nothing. Both were project players (very small but fast) again. Laycock has been growing and jury is out on him. Has talent but if he can;t get his body right, won't count for much. FAIL at the moment, but could scrape a Pass depending on next year.
03 - Top pick, yep you guessed it another project player in Keps. Jury is out on him. I have hope, but he is a worry. Stants is the gem. Big ticks for recruiting him and not Tenace (and yes I know where Tenace went). Nash and Dyson - jury is out. Boderline pass at the moment.
04 - Gus is our best 1st pick in a long time. We got it right. Lee and slatts need time, but both show promise. I think a pass will occur here.
05 - Can I say prject player again. Dempsey, Ryder, Neagle and Lucy. All along way off playing 22 rounds a game. Yes they are young, buut Neagle is very raw, Dempsey is a flake (but really looks the goods), Ryder we have to give time to, and Lucy is way too small at the moment to judge. I reckon it'll be a pass, but it means we have gone for ruckmen as our first pick twice in four years, and a raw project player tall in one of the others. Should eb a pass but too early to tell, could easily go wither way with so many unknowns. Keep the faith though obviously.

We have done ok, but I ask the question, how many more project players can we afford to take with early picks. It has really hurt us and is part of the reason we are in this predicament. A good draft of reliable picks is what I want. Kids who are expected to go, aren't seen as gambles. Play it safe. We can't afford another Davies or Reynolds or Bolton or McAlister.

What do you all think of each year.

2. Essendon - Chris Heffernan (Geelong U18)
5. Essendon - Daniel McAllister (Tas U18)
21. Essendon - Tim Williams (East Perth)
25. Essendon - Andrew Bomford (Sydney Supp List)
28. Essendon - Jason Johnson (Calder U18)
40. Essendon - Forfeited: Breach of Salary Cap Rules
54. Essendon - Matthew Watson (Essendon Supp List)
66. Essendon - Paul Hills (Essendon)

4. Essendon - Mark Bolton (Eastern U18)
20. Essendon - Dean Solomon (Bendigo U18)
36. Essendon - Judd Lalich (East Perth)
52. Essendon - Jordon Doering (Bendigo U18)
68. Essendon - Simon Eastaugh (Norwood)

9. Essendon - Mark McVeigh (NSW/ACT U18)
12. Essendon - Adam Ramanauskas (Dandenong U18)
23. Essendon - Chris Ladhams (North Adelaide)
25. Essendon - Aaron Henneman (Murray U18)
36. Essendon - Danny Jacobs (Prahran U18)
56. Essendon - Ilija Grgic (West Coast Eagles)

40. Essendon - David Hille (Dandenong Stingrays)
45. Essendon - Marcus Pickett (Pt Adelaide)
59. Essendon - John Barnes (Geelong)
72. Essendon - Robert Foster-Knight (Murray Bushrangers)

17. Essendon - James Davies (Xavier College)
27. Essendon - Ted Richards (Xavier College/Sandringham Dragons)
47. Essendon - Jordon Bannister (Calder Cannons)
63. Essendon - Marc Bullen (Murray Bushrangers)
74. Essendon - Michael Davis (Morningside/Sandringham Dragons)

18. Essendon- Shane Harvey (Northern U18)
31. Essendon - Joel Reynolds (Geelong U18)
34. Essendon - Simon O'Keefe (Murray U18)
47. Essendon - Andrew Welsh (Calder U18)
50. Essendon - Paul Salmon (Hawthorn)
64. Essendon - Daniel McAlister (Essendon)
78. Essendon - Pass

10. Essendon - Jason Laycock (Tassie Mariners)
11. Essendon - Jason Winderlich (Gippsland Power)
27. Essendon - Darren Walsh (Sandringham Dragons)
28. Essendon - Tristan Cartledge (North Ballarat Rebels)
40. Essendon - Jobe Watson (Sandringham Dragons)
67. Essendon - Steven Alessio (Essendon)

6. Essendon - Kepler Bradley (West Perth)
13. Essendon - Brent Stanton (Northern Knights)
28. Essendon - Jay Nash (Central District)
44. Essendon - Ricky Dyson (Northern Knights)

14- Essendon: Angus Monfries (Sturt)
30- Essendon: Andrew Lee (Tassie Mariners)
46- Essendon: Henry Slattery (West Adelaide)
60- Essendon: Paul Thomas (Central District)
70- Essendon: Pass

7 - Essendon: Patrick Ryder
19 - Essendon: Courtenay Dempsey
39 - Essendon: Jay Neagle
50 - Essendon: Samuel Lonergan
66 - Essendon: Austin Lucy

Bender The Offender
15 Sep 2006, 14:29

very good draft for us:thumbsu: :) :D :rolleyes: ;)

Longy413
15 Sep 2006, 14:34
You're forgetting the rookie drafts and I think if you compare our 2002 to that of other clubs we did alright.

It was a terrible draft and we got Watson, Winderlich, Laycock and Johns. Not sure any other clubs did better.

Aren't all draft picks in essense 'project players,' some take longer to develop than others. Our drafting the last three years in particular has been very good and we have added some bigger bodied players in that time. Slattery, Lonergan, Hocking etc.

2000 was a nightmare, 2001 was horrible but I think we have started to correct the ship. 2006 is the biggest draft in the history of the club.

Pevers-Legend
15 Sep 2006, 14:34

very good draft for us:thumbsu: :) :D :rolleyes: ;)
but was it though?

Stanton is the only one who is a player. The other 3 - jury is out on.

Pevers-Legend
15 Sep 2006, 14:37
You're forgetting the rookie drafts and I think if you compare our 2002 to that of other clubs we did alright.

It was a terrible draft and we got Watson, Winderlich, Laycock and Johns. Not sure any other clubs did better.

Aren't all draft picks in essense 'project players,' some take longer to develop than others. Our drafting the last three years in particular has been very good and we have added some bigger bodied players in that time. Slattery, Lonergan, Hocking etc.

2000 was a nightmare, 2001 was horrible but I think we have started to correct the ship. 2006 is the biggest draft in the history of the club.
not forgetting. Overlooking as I just wanted to look at drafting.

Our rookie development has been one of the better few.

Project players to me are those who will not be ready for senior footy in 3 years. Those that will take longer to develop. Not to say they all will, nor vice-versa, but that you don't expect mcuh from them for a few years. Reynolds, Neagle, Winderdud, Walsh, all came to the club with the "don't expect too much too soon" attitude.

Johns, Laycock and Winderlich. None of them are guaranteed in our best 22 at present. A worry.

Vulture_72
15 Sep 2006, 14:45
Johns, Laycock and Winderlich. None of them are guaranteed in our best 22 at present. A worry.
I'd say Johns and Winderlich will both be in our best 22 next year. Laycock if fully fit would have been in our best 22 this year.

Longy413
15 Sep 2006, 14:46
I'd have all three in my best 22.

I think if fit all three have done enough to justify a best 22 position. With Johns we obviously knew what we were getting into, but injuries have been unfortunate to the other two. And as I've said, compare it to other clubs and we've done pretty well.

Would the greater percentage of players drafted not be deemed project players?

If they are judged to have the most talent, I think you draft them regardless of how long the development process may take.

Pevers-Legend
15 Sep 2006, 14:58

I think if fit all three have done enough to justify a best 22 position. With Johns we obviously knew what we were getting into, but injuries have been unfortunate to the other two. And as I've said, compare it to other clubs and we've done pretty well.

If they are judged to have the most talent, I think you draft them regardless of how long the development process may take.
A guy like Lonergan or Welsh is never a project player. All ruckmen are project players, but they come with the territory. Bradley is a project player. A guy with no discernable position he woudl defintiely pay when picked up. Neagle and Reynolds being bottom age kids and very skinny, long way off it. They are project players.

I don;t rate Stants, Dyson or Nash as project players, rather jus two of em haven;t come one. Some players will always take longer to develop. I know these are simple examples, but Hawkins, Franklin and Jon Brown. You knew what you;d get with them.

Ruckmen with top picks are a huge unknown. Fraser is just ok, White and Gardiner are good uns but were the best kids going around so were no brainers.

These are the ruckman aside from the no. 1 picks above taken in the first round:
Ottens, Street (pick 17), Angwin, Hale, Brooks, McIntosh, Laycock, Spaanderman, Meesen, Ryder,

so North and Essendon are have taken 4 of 10 or 4 of 13 rucks in the firts round. That is a lot of long term investments.

Vulture_72
15 Sep 2006, 14:58

Spot on. There are only a small numbers of players in each years draft who can step straight up and play consistently at AFL level and these are generally taken with the first few picks. The remainder take anywhere between 1-4 years to take that step so therefor it is fair to call them all project players.

Darealrath
15 Sep 2006, 15:03
Not going to rate try and rate '04 or '05 yet. Too early (though the same could be said for '02 and '03 but have to draw the line somewhere). FWIW i'm happy with them so far.

Best: '03, '98, '02
Ok: '96
Forgettable: '99, '97, '01 (though i agree with what Longy said about Shane Harvey in another thread - definately had the talent).

Vulture_72
15 Sep 2006, 15:04
A guy like Lonergan or Welsh is never a project player. All ruckmen are project players, but they come with the territory. Bradley is a project player. A guy with no discernable position he woudl defintiely pay when picked up. Neagle and Reynolds being bottom age kids and very skinny, long way off it. They are project players.

I don;t rate Stants, Dyson or Nash as project players, rather jus two of em haven;t come one. Some players will always take longer to develop. I know these are simple examples, but Hawkins, Franklin and Jon Brown. You knew what you;d get with them.

Ruckmen with top picks are a huge unknown. Fraser is just ok, White and Gardiner are good uns but were the best kids going around so were no brainers.

These are the ruckman aside from the no. 1 picks above taken in the first round:
Ottens, Street (pick 17), Angwin, Hale, Brooks, McIntosh, Laycock, Spaanderman, Meesen, Ryder,

so North and Essendon are have taken 4 of 10 or 4 of 13 rucks in the firts round. That is a lot of long term investments.

I feel that all draft picks are project players because you honestly dont know how they will preform at AFL level. You said Franklin isnt a project player but its taken him 2 seasons to sting consistent games together. The differnce is that key posistion players take longer to develop as they need bigger bodies which take time to fill out. Take a look at Jobe Watson. Its taken him 4 seasons to step up to the level required so would he would also have to be considered a project player. (One that has paid extreme dividends)

Pevers-Legend
15 Sep 2006, 15:07
I feel that all draft picks are project players because you honestly dont know how they will preform at AFL level. You said Franklin isnt a project player but its taken him 2 seasons to sting consistent games together. The differnce is that key posistion players take longer to develop as they need bigger bodies which take time to fill out. Take a look at Jobe Watson. Its taken him 4 seasons to step up to the level required so would he would also have to be considered a project player. (One that has paid extreme dividends)
but Jobe dominated at u18 level. had 40 touches for vic metro in a game. he was growing and needed to build up his tank. different kettle of fish to a winderlich type or Walsh, who were os thin, if they turned side on you lost them in your sight.

Philzsay
15 Sep 2006, 15:08
Have only spent a few minutes on it but IMO i would rank the drafts in the following order from best to worst taking into account the pick number and strengths of those draft years:

I am sure I would change my mind once I think about it in depth more.

Karlostj
15 Sep 2006, 18:29
By next season, from 6 years of drafting (96-01 inclusive) we will probably have 6 players on our list.

Hille, Welsh, Solomon, JJ, Heff and McVeigh. Of course we have Bradley, which is courtesay of Jacobs. Who did we get for Heff???

go_the_bombers
15 Sep 2006, 18:32
Who did we get for Heff???

Laycock

go team
15 Sep 2006, 18:46
i'd argue every player picked in the draft is a "project player"

ant555
16 Sep 2006, 10:39
2. Essendon - Chris Heffernan (Geelong U18)
5. Essendon - Daniel McAllister (Tas U18)
21. Essendon - Tim Williams (East Perth)
25. Essendon - Andrew Bomford (Sydney Supp List)
28. Essendon - Jason Johnson (Calder U18)
40. Essendon - Forfeited: Breach of Salary Cap Rules
54. Essendon - Matthew Watson (Essendon Supp List)
66. Essendon - Paul Hills (Essendon)

Pass just.

4. Essendon - Mark Bolton (Eastern U18)
20. Essendon - Dean Solomon (Bendigo U18)
36. Essendon - Judd Lalich (East Perth)
52. Essendon - Jordon Doering (Bendigo U18)
68. Essendon - Simon Eastaugh (Norwood)

fail

9. Essendon - Mark McVeigh (NSW/ACT U18)
12. Essendon - Adam Ramanauskas (Dandenong U18)
23. Essendon - Chris Ladhams (North Adelaide)
25. Essendon - Aaron Henneman (Murray U18)
36. Essendon - Danny Jacobs (Prahran U18)
56. Essendon - Ilija Grgic (West Coast Eagles)

pass

40. Essendon - David Hille (Dandenong Stingrays)
45. Essendon - Marcus Pickett (Pt Adelaide)
59. Essendon - John Barnes (Geelong)
72. Essendon - Robert Foster-Knight (Murray Bushrangers)

pass

17. Essendon - James Davies (Xavier College)
27. Essendon - Ted Richards (Xavier College/Sandringham Dragons)
47. Essendon - Jordon Bannister (Calder Cannons)
63. Essendon - Marc Bullen (Murray Bushrangers)
74. Essendon - Michael Davis (Morningside/Sandringham Dragons)

fail

18. Essendon- Shane Harvey (Northern U18)
31. Essendon - Joel Reynolds (Geelong U18)
34. Essendon - Simon O'Keefe (Murray U18)
47. Essendon - Andrew Welsh (Calder U18)
50. Essendon - Paul Salmon (Hawthorn)
64. Essendon - Daniel McAlister (Essendon)
78. Essendon - Pass

fail

10. Essendon - Jason Laycock (Tassie Mariners)
11. Essendon - Jason Winderlich (Gippsland Power)
27. Essendon - Darren Walsh (Sandringham Dragons)
28. Essendon - Tristan Cartledge (North Ballarat Rebels)
40. Essendon - Jobe Watson (Sandringham Dragons)
67. Essendon - Steven Alessio (Essendon)

fail at the moment

pass

14- Essendon: Angus Monfries (Sturt)
30- Essendon: Andrew Lee (Tassie Mariners)
46- Essendon: Henry Slattery (West Adelaide)
60- Essendon: Paul Thomas (Central District)
70- Essendon: Pass

looks like it will be a pass

7 - Essendon: Patrick Ryder
19 - Essendon: Courtenay Dempsey
39 - Essendon: Jay Neagle
50 - Essendon: Samuel Lonergan
66 - Essendon: Austin Lucy

too early to say.

I will say that we should compare all teams drafts to make a judgment because a lot of years clubs only get 2 players from 5 picks that stay. When you look at our draft history on its own it can look very poor until it is compared with the complete list of club drafts and you can see that it is very hit and miss for all clubs.

lazyhare
16 Sep 2006, 13:23
Which players of note went after both heffernan and bolton in their respective drafts? And also when did we loose noel judkins?? was he still around for the bolton stuff up?

ant555
16 Sep 2006, 18:08
Which players of note went after both heffernan and bolton in their respective drafts? And also when did we loose noel judkins?? was he still around for the bolton stuff up?

Yes i think Dodoro's first draft was 99.

Margim
16 Sep 2006, 19:19
Wish people would get off Welsh's back and stop underrating him... I think he's been one of our few consistent performers from the very first mark he took running with the flight of the ball into a contest.

Welsh and Salmon 01 deserve a similar rating to Barnes and Hill 99... one stop gap and one consistent player apiece.

windyhill
17 Sep 2006, 02:35
The `00 one will probably keep me awake all night.

Longy413
17 Sep 2006, 13:58
Yes i think Dodoro's first draft was 99.

Dean Rioli was his first pick.

go_the_bombers
17 Sep 2006, 14:02

What did Dodoro take over just before the rookie draft?

wires on fire.
17 Sep 2006, 14:06

we picked up selwood and staker with late picks.

Longy413
17 Sep 2006, 14:16
we picked up selwood and staker with late picks.

Handy.

Watson is better than both.

Longy413
17 Sep 2006, 14:16
What did Dodoro take over just before the rookie draft?

Yep.

go_the_bombers
17 Sep 2006, 14:23
Yep.

Oh ok thanks Longy :thumbsu:

Jex
17 Sep 2006, 20:49
Dodoro's first rookie draft was at the start of 1998 and his first national draft was at the end of 1998. Judkins last national draft was 1996. We didn't have a recruiting manager for the 1997 draft. Rioli was his first pick, but it was also Dodoro and Mark Harvey who really pushed for Mark Johnson to be elevated...Sheeds wasn't too keen on him.

bossco
17 Sep 2006, 23:27
wasn't that the 98 rookie draft longy???you battle

Longy413
18 Sep 2006, 10:46
wasn't that the 98 rookie draft longy???you battle

What's your point?

Pevers-Legend
18 Sep 2006, 11:26
Wish people would get off Welsh's back and stop underrating him... I think he's been one of our few consistent performers from the very first mark he took running with the flight of the ball into a contest.

Welsh and Salmon 01 deserve a similar rating to Barnes and Hill 99... one stop gap and one consistent player apiece.
But we had early picks in 01 which was the super draft, and in 99 (which was also a bumper draft), our first pick was in the 40s.

foj1
18 Sep 2006, 15:22
Sheedys ego cost us in 2000-2001 Davies was an ego trip pick. Wouldnt even go down and train with the u/18s as he was assured that Dons would pick him up. Harvey was a really talented player who had already delivered some real petulant behaviour in u/18 competition. I know of one club who just werent prepared to draft him because they thought his attitude was posion.