View Full Version : Only 6000 "every game" attendees
arrowman
15 Sep 2006, 16:46
In the latest Members' Update email - in the section where they talk about the bloke who won the TV for attending every game, they say that his ticket was one of "about 6,000" that were used for every game.
OK, that's just the "every game" tickets and I suppose there might be another 10-15,000 or whatever that were used for 10 games, but even so ...
That's an interesting (and disappointing) piece of information going in to the discussion about how we get higher attendances.
I understand that the Club is working on a process for resale of unused season tickets for next year?
relapse
15 Sep 2006, 16:55
In the latest Members' Update email - in the section where they talk about the bloke who won the TV for attending every game, they say that his ticket was one of "about 6,000" that were used for every game.
OK, that's just the "every game" tickets and I suppose there might be another 10-15,000 or whatever that were used for 10 games, but even so ...
That's an interesting (and disappointing) piece of information going in to the discussion about how we get higher attendances.
I understand that the Club is working on a process for resale of unused season tickets for next year?
I missed out by one game, we were moving all that day and I was just too exhausted to go (Collingwood game).
Carl Spackler
15 Sep 2006, 17:17
I missed a couple of games. And there was one game where I wasn't organised enough to pass my tickets on to someone else so my seats were vacant.
The Saturday afternoon games do me in. I play in the amateur league so just can't go. My idea was that when you buy your ticket you nominate which games you know you can't get to. For me (and plenty of others) it would be Saturday afternoon games.
For people who live in the country it would be night games, they don't want to be getting home after midnight with the kids in the back seat.
I get 9 of our 11 home games (excluding the two Saturday afternoon matches) and get say $10 per game back on my season ticket. The AFC then sells those tickets for $20 so actually ends up better off.
Mad Dog
15 Sep 2006, 17:18
If I could be bothered - I'm sure there's a mathematical way of working out what the probability of having all ticket holders attend every game - and therefore having 6K attend every game. ....:confused:
how many season ticket holders ?......was it meant to include everyone......ie - all 50K ?.........remember not all of those 50K members are actually ticket holders.....
say we used 50K......multiplied by 11 games = 550,000 single attendance opportunities.
if the 44K all missed by 1 game - then that would mean 44,000 out of 550,000 attendance opportunities missed = 8% non attendance.....which really isn't that bad.....and equates to a 46K crowd on average each week. obviously with an average crowd of 43Kish each week - the answer is that there were in the region of 77,000 single non-attendances over 44,000 tickets which means the average non attendance was 1.75 games.
Is that really bad ?
does my logic hold.....??.....:o
It's too hard to read anything definitive into this.
Jars458
15 Sep 2006, 17:55
When I can't go -Saturday afternoons usually I give my ticket to my mates who I sit with. Sometimes they can't find anyone to go.
The number of peopel interested in going to the Crows - even when its free - is overrated
i think its symbolic of the sedantry nature of society. People would rather sit on their butts at home than go to the game.
Having a half hour delay is a big factor I would have thought.
jenny61_99
15 Sep 2006, 18:13
Well, if we lived in Adelaide, we wouldn't miss a game! (Luckily neither of us have work commitments on a weekend and if we did? well it's safe to say the footy would come first!).
Hell, we even skip functions we are invited to here in Brissie if they happen to clash with one of our televised games!:p
Southerntakeover
15 Sep 2006, 18:16
Well, if we lived in Adelaide, we wouldn't miss a game! (Luckily neither of us have work commitments on a weekend and if we did? well it's safe to say the footy would come first!).
Hell, we even skip functions we are invited to here in Brissie if they happen to clash with one of our televised games!:p
Often easier said then done.
raikkonen
15 Sep 2006, 18:20
I am there rain hail or shine, and program the rest of my week around our games. They always take priority.
jenny61_99
15 Sep 2006, 18:21
Often easier said then done.
Which part? :D
Look, we are very lucky in that neither of us are spring chooks anymore and therefore both have established careers and can pretty much choose the hours/days we work. We have one young child who doesn't have sporting commitments as yet, so right now it is easy for me to say we would not miss a game. Our joint passion is our son, closely followed by the Adelaide Football Club and therefore everything we do pretty much centres around the club and associated games so there's never any argument about whether we watch/attend the games or not. We travel to watch the boys at least twice a year - and this year have been lucky with two games up here as well. Luckily our little bloke also shares our passion. :D
arrowman
15 Sep 2006, 18:54
If I could be bothered I can :D
- I'm sure there's a mathematical way of working out what the probability of having all ticket holders attend every game - and therefore having 6K attend every game. ....Well, not that bit, but see below...
how many season ticket holders ?......was it meant to include everyone......ie - all 50K ?.........remember not all of those 50K members are actually ticket holders.....My guess would be the 6,000 is out of the season ticket holders and does not include SANFL members. My logic for this is (1) No way only 6,000 out of 50,000 attend every game (gut feel) but 6,000 out of say 20,000 sounds closer to the mark and (2) I think the promotion (TV prize) was for season ticket holders only? Anyway...
say we used 50K......multiplied by 11 games = 550,000 single attendance opportunities.
if the 44K all missed by 1 game - then that would mean 44,000 out of 550,000 attendance opportunities missed = 8% non attendance.....which really isn't that bad.....and equates to a 46K crowd on average each week. obviously with an average crowd of 43Kish each week - the answer is that there were in the region of 77,000 single non-attendances over 44,000 tickets which means the average non attendance was 1.75 games.
Is that really bad ?
does my logic hold.....??.....Here's the way I've looked at it (WARNING: the following includes assumptions that may be off the mark):
- Say there are 25,000 AAMI members (?) who attend 80% of the time. That's an average of 20,000 per game over 11 games.
- Say there are 5,000 daily tickets sold, and they are used 90% of the time. That's 4,500 per game.
- Say there are 20,000 season tickets (STs) (OK this adds up to 50,000 not 51,000 but it'll do).
- Say 6,000 STs are used for every game. That's 6,000.
- Say 5,000 are used for 10 games. That's 4,545 per game.
- Say 5,000 are used for 9 games. That's 4,090 per game.
- Say 2,000 are used for 8 games. That's 1,454 per game.
- Say the last 2,000 are used for 6 games (average). That's 1,090 per game.
Which all adds up to an average attendance of 41,681.
Which is not quite the actual average, but close enough to indicate that the above profile is plausible.
If the above is plausible, where are the main issues?
1. AAMI Members could contribute another 5,000 bums per game - IF they were allowed to give their tickets to others to use (IMHO)
2. The people who attend 9 games or less could contribute 2,500 per game, if it was made easier for them to onsell their tickets.
That's 7,500 per game. It's doable. I know I've made a lot of assumptions, but it's a start. I am sure (I hope) that the Club is doing this sort of analysis with "real" numbers.
It's too hard to read anything definitive into this.I agree, and on analysis (above) the 6,000 number actually doesn't look too bad. It would be hard to get more than that - UNLESS you make it easier for people to re-sell their tickets. THAT is the key.
Postman Pat
15 Sep 2006, 19:09
If I could be bothered - I'm sure there's a mathematical way of working out what the probability of having all ticket holders attend every game - and therefore having 6K attend every game. ....:confused:
how many season ticket holders ?......was it meant to include everyone......ie - all 50K ?.........remember not all of those 50K members are actually ticket holders.....
Is that really bad ?
does my logic hold.....??.....:o
It's too hard to read anything definitive into this.
no, your logic doesnt hold.
CharlieG
15 Sep 2006, 19:22
The Swans have a resale facility for SCG games, where members who can't attend can sell the ticket back to the club for a partial refund on the membership. The Swans make a profit because the ticket is usually a premium ticket that can sell for comfortably over $40 at the gate.
Southerntakeover
15 Sep 2006, 20:08
Which part? :D
Look, we are very lucky in that neither of us are spring chooks anymore and therefore both have established careers and can pretty much choose the hours/days we work. We have one young child who doesn't have sporting commitments as yet, so right now it is easy for me to say we would not miss a game. Our joint passion is our son, closely followed by the Adelaide Football Club and therefore everything we do pretty much centres around the club and associated games so there's never any argument about whether we watch/attend the games or not. We travel to watch the boys at least twice a year - and this year have been lucky with two games up here as well. Luckily our little bloke also shares our passion. :D
The attending every game bit, sometimes its not always possible. Things like sudden serious illness, leaving you in hospital can stop even the most passionate of fans.
I wouldnt look at these figures as if it suggests that Crows fans arent making a big enough effort.
Personally. missed 3 games this year (1st showdown, Carlton and Essendon) whilst I was galavanting thru Canada and USA. Made up for it by going to 3 interstate games.
skippy14
15 Sep 2006, 21:06
I am there rain hail or shine, and program the rest of my week around our games. They always take priority.
That's the spirit! Me to. Other than when I was overseas for half the 2004 season, I have not missed a game since 2000 (bridesmaid for my bestfriends wedding). Everything I do is planned around the Crows games...and then there is the SANFL every week to worry about too!
Stiffy_18
15 Sep 2006, 21:25
I was one of those 6000 :thumbsu:
Our tickets were used every week and we got two guest passes every week, except for the Showdowns obviously.
I missed the Melbourne game though, who schedules a grand final the same day as a Crows game?
Mad Dog
15 Sep 2006, 22:32
no, your logic doesnt hold.
just keep it up.....;)
I was one of those 6000 :thumbsu:
Me too Stiffy. I move everything else around to make home games.
jenny61_99
16 Sep 2006, 00:42
The attending every game bit, sometimes its not always possible. Things like sudden serious illness, leaving you in hospital can stop even the most passionate of fans.
I wouldnt look at these figures as if it suggests that Crows fans arent making a big enough effort.
Yes well, not much you can do about THAT! :D Of course my pre-requisite for the hospital would be they'd have to have Fox Footy! :D
sworc36
16 Sep 2006, 01:37
Me three, It aint easy, especially when you work fulltime and have kids sports commitments on weekends, but when it comes to the club I love, Ill move heaven and earth just to be there. Even went to Brissie and the Bulldogs:( game this year.
macca23
16 Sep 2006, 13:26
Including when you got hit by a car and broke your arm. :) :
A true supporter is Fergus!! :thumbsu:
Haven't missed one myself either this year.
dyertribe
16 Sep 2006, 15:33
I've missed three during the minor round.
WCE, Hawthorn, Freo.
All three times I offered my ticket to friends, all three times there were no takers.
C'est la vie.
I've missed three during the minor round.
WCE, Hawthorn, Freo.
All three times I offered my ticket to friends, all three times there were no takers.
C'est la vie.
Those friends may have taken them, but they were working ;)
Haven't missed a home game all season, even went to the preseasons :)
Kane McGoodwin
18 Sep 2006, 21:42
Both my tickets have been used this year, just like nearly every year, bar 1 game a few years back, when a mate pulled out at the last minute due to illness & could arrange a replacement in time.
Whilst I missed the Pies game earlier this year due to a 60th, I gave my ticket away for the game to a friend to use.
Wilburwild
19 Sep 2006, 00:05
Last home game i missed was the 05 Collingwood game due to a basketball final. every crows game (except the most recent showdown) in adelaide since then i have been at. the collingwood game was the only one i missed in 05. ~this includes pre-season and finals~
brucetiki
19 Sep 2006, 02:33
I missed 1 game this year (the Showdown) due to work commitments, but I generally move everything around to get to games (eg the Hawthorn game - I was due to finish work at 2:45, but there's a 'go home early' list for when it's quiet, so I put my name down, finish at 1:25, and in my seat by 2:15)