View Full Version : Trent Hentschel

Stiffy_18
15 Sep 2006, 21:47
Did anyone else listen to his interview on 5AA today?

Its refreshing to hear the young man be so positive and so laid back in what must be a really tough time. He has been at the club for the main training sessions this week.

When "congratulated" on the way he handled himself when he did his knee, his response was that he has been watching the Footy Show and said to himself "I don't want to be like Gary Lyon and cry when carried on on the stretcher" :D

Best of luck to the kid on his recovery. From the sounds of things, his prospects of coming back are pretty good :thumbsu:

5AA Podcast gets updated after every show so you can listen to Trent's interview but make sure you do so before monday ;)

http://www.fiveaa.com.au/podcast/fiveaa_drive.xml

macca23
15 Sep 2006, 22:58
Did anyone else listen to his interview on 5AA today?

Its refreshing to hear the young man be so positive and so laid back in what must be a really tough time. He has been at the club for the main training sessions this week.

When "congratulated" on the way he handled himself when he did his knee, his response was that he has been watching the Footy Show and said to himself "I don't want to be like Gary Lyon and cry when carried on on the stretcher" :D
Best of luck to the kid on his recovery. From the sounds of things, his prospects of coming back are pretty good :thumbsu:

5AA Podcast gets updated after every show so you can listen to Trent's interview but make sure you do so before monday ;)

http://www.fiveaa.com.au/podcast/fiveaa_drive.xml

I did hear it Stiffy and nearly pi ssed myself laughing at that statement. Somebody should send that in to Sam's mail-bag so that he can play it on the Footy Show. It'd go down well!! :D

kimirocks
16 Sep 2006, 00:11
I did hear it Stiffy and nearly pi ssed myself laughing at that statement. Somebody should send that in to Sam's mail-bag so that he can play it on the Footy Show. It'd go down well!! :DI thought the same thing on the drive home from work. Would be hilarious.

Mad Dog
16 Sep 2006, 00:16
Listened to the interview and saw the boy on Ch9 news.......sounds like he's going to hit the gym for the next 15 months......:eek: :thumbsu: :eek:

kimirocks
16 Sep 2006, 00:31
Listened to the interview and saw the boy on Ch9 news.......sounds like he's going to hit the gym for the next 15 months......:eek: :thumbsu: :eek:Let's just hope the boy can keep his agility, and I know it'll take time, but we gotta persevere with him. Sound's like a fighter, and that's all positive from my POV.

rayven
16 Sep 2006, 01:49
One of the most shocking cruellest things that has happened to us,including Rehns knees.

Hentshell was growing more and more and would of been an x factor come this final month.

However there is a silver lining to this dark cloud.

Hentshell acknowlaged our supporter base getting behind him and making the disaster more bearable,he obviously bonded with us in this dark time for him.

Could prove the difference one day on the field when we are facing adversity.

SpringChoke
16 Sep 2006, 11:34
In a sport that is riddled with borish egomaniacs like Farmer and the Cornes dullards what a refreshing change young Trent is. You can't help but respect and be impressed by his courage and modesty.

SpringChoke
16 Sep 2006, 11:38

[/url]

Can you elaborate on this Stiff. I'm assuming the doctors have said his op was a total success?

Gets!
16 Sep 2006, 12:24
Can't for Trent to be back in 2008. Will still get another 6 years of quality football from him :)

Stiffy_18
16 Sep 2006, 12:37
Can you elaborate on this Stiff. I'm assuming the doctors have said his op was a total success?
Before going into the surgery the doctor told him that if he damaged some nerves and the artery then he will not play footy again. Luckily, those were not damaged at all. They took a bone graft from his hip to repair the bone damage in his knee and the surgery was successful and if the recovery goes according to plan he can have his reco and be back in 2008.

Much more positive than early diagnosis.

Kane McGoodwin
16 Sep 2006, 15:07
Before going into the surgery the doctor told him that if he damaged some nerves and the artery then he will not play footy again. Luckily, those were not damaged at all. They took a bone graft from his hip to repair the bone damage in his knee and the surgery was successful and if the recovery goes according to plan he can have his reco and be back in 2008.

Very relieved to hear this.

Hopefully Trent will come back stronger than ever with the long enforced layoff.

Great chance for our rookie listed players next year, as there will be aspot open with Trent on the long-term injury list.

almqvist
16 Sep 2006, 15:13
when is hentschel signed to?
a year isnt that long, but are you sure you are going to keep him?

Adam BK
16 Sep 2006, 15:16

Thats very pleasing to hear Stiffy, I cant wait for his return in 2008 if everything goes to plan. Its gonna be a huge game!

macca23
16 Sep 2006, 17:19
when is hentschel signed to?
a year isnt that long, but are you sure you are going to keep him?

My recollection is that he's signed up to the end of 2008.

SpringChoke
16 Sep 2006, 18:10

Thanks mate. Good news.:thumbsu:

Stiffy_18
16 Sep 2006, 18:45
My recollection is that he's signed up to the end of 2008.
End of next season actually but you can bet your bottom dollar that the club will extend that contract sometime next year :thumbsu:

Who knows maybe we get to see a Pavlich - Hentschel forward line combo in 2008 :D :p

Vader
18 Sep 2006, 11:26
Very relieved to hear this.

Hopefully Trent will come back stronger than ever with the long enforced layoff.

Great chance for our rookie listed players next year, as there will be aspot open with Trent on the long-term injury list.
Hudson's knee injury meant that there was a position up for grabs for most of 2006 too - just because we have a position available doesn't mean that anyone will get elevated.

It IS, however, a great incentive for the rookies to give it all they have because the possibility exists.

crows98
18 Sep 2006, 11:46
Hudson's knee injury meant that there was a position up for grabs for most of 2006 too - just because we have a position available doesn't mean that anyone will get elevated.

It IS, however, a great incentive for the rookies to give it all they have because the possibility exists.

Understand what you are saying but shouldn’t it be like that anyway?

With out the opportunity for an empty spot on a list, any rookie should be doing more work than everyone else simply to show there worth.

Work ethic and determination are aspect of making a good player into a brilliant player, the majority of player who will be drafted this year are very gifted but it just how hard they have worked at become the best player they can be.

Vader
18 Sep 2006, 12:03
Adelaide are well known for having a large number of ex-rookies on their list - Rutten, Mattner, Bock & co.

However, I can't recall a single instance of Adelaide elevating a rookie to replace a player placed on the long term injury list and then actually giving them a game.

Matthew Smith was elevated late in 2005, but never got a game and was delisted soon after. As far as I can recall, he's our only mid-season elevation?

A lot of this has to do with Adelaide's conservatism in not playing players before they have matured physically. Relatively few of our players normally get a game in their first season on the list - this year has been exceptional due to the fact that Porps & Vince were both relatively mature (21 & 20 when drafted), while Douglas has simply been outstanding.

So, just how much encouragement do they have? They know that the position is available if they're good enough to seize it. On the other hand, history says that they have little chance of being elevated and no chance of getting a game even if they do get promoted.

GoSarge
18 Sep 2006, 12:04
Understand what you are saying but shouldn’t it be like that anyway?

With out the opportunity for an empty spot on a list, any rookie should be doing more work than everyone else simply to show there worth.

Work ethic and determination are aspect of making a good player into a brilliant player, the majority of player who will be drafted this year are very gifted but it just how hard they have worked at become the best player they can be.

I agree with you and you'd think so.

It's amazing what an added incentive like an 'open' spot on an AFL list will do for one's desire to succeed.

Stiffy_18
18 Sep 2006, 22:18
Adelaide are well known for having a large number of ex-rookies on their list - Rutten, Mattner, Bock & co.

However, I can't recall a single instance of Adelaide elevating a rookie to replace a player placed on the long term injury list and then actually giving them a game.

Matthew Smith was elevated late in 2005, but never got a game and was delisted soon after. As far as I can recall, he's our only mid-season elevation?

A lot of this has to do with Adelaide's conservatism in not playing players before they have matured physically. Relatively few of our players normally get a game in their first season on the list - this year has been exceptional due to the fact that Porps & Vince were both relatively mature (21 & 20 when drafted), while Douglas has simply been outstanding.

So, just how much encouragement do they have? They know that the position is available if they're good enough to seize it. On the other hand, history says that they have little chance of being elevated and no chance of getting a game even if they do get promoted.Martin Mattner was promoted and played in the same year. I am pretty sure James Gallagher was another one and I reckon Michael Doughty and Ben Marsh were all promoted off the rookie list and into the 22 to make their debut. I am certain on the first 2 but somewhat iffy on the last 2.

Kane McGoodwin
18 Sep 2006, 22:32

So, just how much encouragement do they have? They know that the position is available if they're good enough to seize it. On the other hand, history says that they have little chance of being elevated and no chance of getting a game even if they do get promoted.
Adelaide have lifted players up from the rookie list before during the season, just not in recent years (as has been no need/not warranted).

crows98
18 Sep 2006, 22:37
Martin Mattner was promoted and played in the same year. I am pretty sure James Gallagher was another one and I reckon Michael Doughty and Ben Marsh were all promoted off the rookie list and into the 22 to make their debut. I am certain on the first 2 but somewhat iffy on the last 2.

Ben Marsh was promoted a few days before the Sydney away game where he lined up at full forward and kicked a few gaols on Paul Roos

I cannot remember Michael Doughty debut game or when he was promoted to the senior list.

Wasn’t James Gallagher first game against Richmond at the MCG one Friday night? And he was promoted the week before as he missed out on the state game for South Australia and then played the following week.

Stiffy_18
18 Sep 2006, 22:52
Ben Marsh was promoted a few days before the Sydney away game where he lined up at full forward and kicked a few gaols on Paul Roos

I cannot remember Michael Doughty debut game or when he was promoted to the senior list.

Wasn’t James Gallagher first game against Richmond at the MCG one Friday night? And he was promoted the week before as he missed out on the state game for South Australia and then played the following week.
I think Dogga made his debut late in the season against Freo. I know he played 2 games in his first year and I think you are right that Gags made his debut on the wing against Richmond and played very well.

Mattner was promoted late in the season and taken over to Perth as an emergency but I am not sure if he made his debut then but I am sure he played after he got promoted in the same year.

macca23
18 Sep 2006, 22:57
I think Dogga made his debut late in the season against Freo. I know he played 2 games in his first year

50% right there Stiffy

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/M/Michael_Doughty.html

Interestingly enough he averages 15 disposals per game over his 99 games to date, after scoring the massive total of 13 in his first 4 games.