View Full Version : Alwyn Davey

marcmurphy3
16 Sep 2006, 01:45
I just saw Allen Davey playing for south adelaide in a replay of last weekends match. I think he is the brother of Aaron. He looked pretty good. He appears very fast and has good skills. Do you no more about this guy? Could he potentially go in the Pre-season draft?

Drummond
16 Sep 2006, 01:49
Goes by the name of Alywn Davey. ;)

Height: 176cm
Weight: 78kg

Has played 46 games, and has kicked a tad over 60 goals. Had been a real disappointment up until about two months ago, however in this time he has exploded and is finally living up to his potential. Has good skills, rarely fumbles, is obviously very fast and has a tidy left foot. I would think that he’ll go later in the draft, perhaps in the 4th Round…

Harro
16 Sep 2006, 02:17
How old was aaron when he got drafted?

Might be late bloomers.

grub29
16 Sep 2006, 09:08
Alwyn,with Matthew Stokes,was a star for NT at the U18 Championships at the age of 16.I actually saw both him and Aaron play in the same side,Aaron was 18,and thought that Alwyn was by far the better player.I just think it's taken Alwyn a few years longer to develop as he is a fair bit smaller and had to get some strength in his body.

year of the roo
16 Sep 2006, 10:41
How old was aaron when he got drafted?

Might be late bloomers.
21 I think.

Nt Bomber
16 Sep 2006, 11:42
Aaron is bigger, faster and a lot better.

Alwyn would be lucky to be 173cm

*PAFC*13
16 Sep 2006, 12:19
Hes taller than 173. I recon 176 was on the mark.

HBF
16 Sep 2006, 12:35
Alwyn,with Matthew Stokes,was a star for NT at the U18 Championships at the age of 16.I actually saw both him and Aaron play in the same side,Aaron was 18,and thought that Alwyn was by far the better player.I just think it's taken Alwyn a few years longer to develop as he is a fair bit smaller and had to get some strength in his body.

Do you think he's a chance to be drafted grub?

LukeHodge15
16 Sep 2006, 12:52
from what i watched last night, i thought i was watching aaron davey twin brother.

alright im exaggerating a little, but this kid will get picked up imo.

has exactly the same kicking style as aaron davey's
has pace........recruiters wet themselves over this
has 2nd & 3rd efforts, which was encouraging to see

melbournemartin
16 Sep 2006, 14:35
Would have liked to have rookied him last year instead of Jace Bode who looks like a supurb athelete but average footballer.

Thunderstruck
16 Sep 2006, 16:52
Yer I can't believe he isn't playing AFL, has really come on this year, as Ive said in heaps of other Davey threads, he can do everything Aaron can and is every bit as quick. Perhaps initial acceleration is a touch less but 2nd efforts, chase downs from behind, closing speed etc and goal sense are all the same. Plays midfield quite well as well, not afraid to find the footy and very dangerous in tight with lightning hands.

RooDog
17 Sep 2006, 20:42
played superbly today for south in their come from behind win over port adelaide, was electric with pressure in the forward line great... cramped up late but it was a very hot day... was sitting near the port power staff and from what i heard they are very keen on him

Gets!
17 Sep 2006, 21:02
Come on Adelaide please take him!!

Bode and Davey in our forward line, antagonising the crap out of the backmen trying to clear would be wonderful.

Davey's pressure is OUSTANDING. Bode like.

DBAH0
17 Sep 2006, 21:05
Would like to see Geelong get him in the 4th round, like we did with Stokes in last year's draft.

We certainly need more speed that's for sure.

Leg_Spinning_Sensation
17 Sep 2006, 21:34
I've got good notion to say that Collingwood are looking at him.

Will be a solid pick and can play. Very quick and fantastic pressure, I personally would love to see him at Collingwood, take a punt and he will at least be as good as Eddie Betts and perhaps even better than his brother.

philhawk
17 Sep 2006, 22:00
What's his pace and kicking skills like?

LukeHodge15
17 Sep 2006, 22:13

watched him the other night, fair dinkum looked like aarons twin brother.

kicks the same
quick as fk
chases, tackles and pressures like his cousin.

Macca19
17 Sep 2006, 22:28
Has definately improved a lot over the last few years. Both Aaron and Alwyn dominated in the Port Magpies reserves in 2000. Alwyn was always a bit pudgy though from memory. They both made their debut in 2001 for the Magpies. Couldnt believe Aaron didnt get picked up...thought he was an absolute shoe-in. Alwyn looked a long way off though. Went away for a year then turned up at South and has done great things this year.

Kicked something like 40 goals this year. Is ultra quick, very good skills and great defensive ability. Only issue would be his size...but hes that quick noone will be able to catch him to floor him anyway.

Matthew Campbell is in the same boat. Both ridiculously fast and have had huge years this year. Will be interesting to see if they go.

Thunderstruck
17 Sep 2006, 22:37
Pace is not an issue. He runs down players like Cheetahs run down Zebras, would be a good way of putting it. Insane defensive work, so many second efforts one after the other, and boy is he hard to catch, very agile, weaves in and out of traffic, slips all tacklers and tears away burns everyone off and finishes with mostly clean skills be it goalkicking or passing. He must get drafted, I'll wet my pants if crows get him. We need someone like him to help out Bode, who as it is does a tremendous job. Crows have always lacked a real quick, slippery player, McLeod was like that in his hey day when he hit packs at top speed, but someone even quicker, and more dangerous.

mattyc2422
17 Sep 2006, 23:21
The question I want to know is "would he be getting this attention if his name wasn't Davey"?

Drummond
17 Sep 2006, 23:25
"As a young athlete I could run the 100m in 11.2 seconds".

swanfan
17 Sep 2006, 23:55
"As a young athlete I could run the 100m in 11.2 seconds".

Sounds like my beer drinking efforts. :)

Thunderstruck
17 Sep 2006, 23:59
The question I want to know is "would he be getting this attention if his name wasn't Davey"?

Good question but the answer is yes. Possibly even more so, ppl would be saying "who the hell is this guy" be astrong interest in him. You can't miss his on field performances, they stand out.

WCE29#
18 Sep 2006, 00:09
Davey has a brother!!
bloody hell sign him up from the thread sounds like a gun

jules101
18 Sep 2006, 00:18
Sheeds will go for him for sure

jules101
25 Nov 2006, 10:53
Sheeds will go for him for sure

good call if i say so myself ;)

FromOutside50