View Full Version : just thought i would drop in .....

StrengthThroughLoyalty
16 Feb 2002, 12:35
to tell you that you won't be the last side to be shelacked by the mighty saints this year. :D :D :D

not much to take out of the game for your lot, thankfully the real season is still 7 weeks away.

travis johnston looks like he is finally ready to take the step up as a consistent and damaging mid fielder. bizzel looked ok in defence even though hamill was dangerous for us.

as the old saying goes, next week is a new game. for your mob it will be at the gabba against the reigning premiers in the heat. ouch. ;)

SPUNKY_MONKEY45
16 Feb 2002, 12:46
Originally posted by StrengthThroughLoyalty
to tell you that you won't be the last side to be shelacked by the mighty saints this year. :D :D :D

yeah thats sorta what i was getting at in the other thread that SOME people cant get past the fact that i dont think we played our worst footy!

Deestroy
16 Feb 2002, 12:50

not much to take out of the game for your lot, thankfully the real season is still 7 weeks away.

travis johnston looks like he is finally ready to take the step up as a consistent and damaging mid fielder. bizzel looked ok in defence even though hamill was dangerous for us.

as the old saying goes, next week is a new game. for your mob it will be at the gabba against the reigning premiers in the heat. ouch. ;)

At least you post is more constructive than some St. Kilda supporters, from my point of view, the Melbourne side was not full strength as some say, and we also played deplorably.

With St. Kilda, all your senior players where firing. I can't see that there can be much improvement at all in your side, and I doubt that your team can win by big margins against quality opposition. And having said that I would have expected every side in the AFL to thrash us the way we played last night.... even Freo.:D

Deestroy
16 Feb 2002, 12:52
Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45

yeah thats sorta what i was getting at in the other thread that SOME people cant get past the fact that i dont think we played our worst footy!
And we can agree to disagree on that. Like I was telling you, but cannot be bothered typing out again, all the problems I saw in the way Melbourne played, lol.

BT
16 Feb 2002, 16:14

G'day Steve, glad you enjoyed it mate. Just make sure you "shellack" those Crows eh?

Savatage
16 Feb 2002, 16:30
Originally posted by Deestroy

With St. Kilda, all you older players where firing. I can't see that there can be much improvement at all in your side, and I doubt that your team can win by big margins against quality opposition. And having said that I would have expected every side in the AFL to thrash us the way we played last night.... even Freo.

Well all I've got to ask you is WHAT OLDER players?
There's not too many old players at St.Kilda these days.

With #1 Draftee Luke Ball, Heath Black, Craig Callaghan, Justin Koschitzke, Robert Harvey & a few other possibles then I can say that there will be improvement in that picked side. There's some real handy players on the sideline.

Deestroy
16 Feb 2002, 17:38
Originally posted by Savatage

Well all I've got to ask you is WHAT OLDER players?
There's not too many old players at St.Kilda these days.

With #1 Draftee Luke Ball, Heath Black, Craig Callaghan, Justin Koschitzke, Robert Harvey & a few other possibles then I can say that there will be improvement in that picked side. There's some real handy players on the sideline.

I concede old shouldn't have been the word , senior should have. Loewe, Everitt, Burke and co really hurt us with strong marking, only some afew poor shots on goal detracted from thier performances. Our of the younger playes of the Saints I thought Jones (granted he is 25) and Riewoldt looked good, and I hope you flog the Crows next week :D

Allthough my first comments had some anger from the loss in them (can you really blame me) I still think you will struggle against the top 6-7 teams, who have much stronger defences than Melbourne could produce last night.

Out of curiosity did Gehrig play? I didn't spot him (not that I was looking very hard)

So to sum up, the Saints are much improved on last year, but I would still have them out of my top 8. Good luck to them if they can prove me wrong...

DEES RULE!
16 Feb 2002, 18:09
No excuses.... we had a shocker of a game and the better team on the night won (the better team by far).
Congratulations to St. Kilda, they had a very good game. Hamill is a good player, I always liked him and its good to see some of the seniors back in action.
Good luck for the rest of the season! :)

BIG POPPA PUMP
16 Feb 2002, 18:36
Out of curiosity did Gehrig play? I didn't spot him (not that I was looking very hard)

Played on Nietz.

SPUNKY_MONKEY45
16 Feb 2002, 21:59
Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

Played on Neitz.

well obviously he didn't play too bad! considering how woeful neita was last night!

DEES RULE!
16 Feb 2002, 23:40

well obviously he didn't play too bad! considering how woeful neita was last night!

True. Neita did have a shocking night but it happens. All players have their nights, and they are allowed to slack off at some point. Although him being the captain, and this being our first match, and him trying to prove he is a worthy CHF.... well he sucked! :D

SPUNKY_MONKEY45
17 Feb 2002, 10:07
Originally posted by DEES RULE!

True. Neita did have a shocking night but it happens. All players have their nights, and they are allowed to slack off at some point. Although him being the captain, and this being our first match, and him trying to prove he is a worthy CHF.... well he sucked! :D

lol
u put it so nicely!!!:confused: :eek:

DEES RULE!
17 Feb 2002, 11:45

lol
u put it so nicely!!!:confused: :eek:

I tried... it was between him playing like a total f$%k or him sucking really bad...... I chose the more delicate description! :p

Dee
17 Feb 2002, 12:19

I really think that this year is the year that Neita has to really prove himself. and last night didnt help. I know its the first match of the year and crap but yeah he has to stand up and make people take notice of him, He started doing that in 1993 / 94 but yeah then he hasnt done much since. and i really think that if he has a good year people will see what a great player he really can be, but also, if he has a good year melbourne tends to have a good year. He is not a CHF everyone knows that, and if u follow melbourne you've known that for a while. he is either FF or CHB nothing in between, which really isnt a good thing i spose. But yeah i could tell he didnt wanna be there on friday night. its wasnt good

DEES RULE!
17 Feb 2002, 14:37
Originally posted by Dee

I really think that this year is the year that Neita has to really prove himself. and last night didnt help. I know its the first match of the year and crap but yeah he has to stand up and make people take notice of him, He started doing that in 1993 / 94 but yeah then he hasnt done much since. and i really think that if he has a good year people will see what a great player he really can be, but also, if he has a good year melbourne tends to have a good year. He is not a CHF everyone knows that, and if u follow melbourne you've known that for a while. he is either FF or CHB nothing in between, which really isnt a good thing i spose. But yeah i could tell he didnt wanna be there on friday night. its wasnt good

Well saying that, we don't need him in FF so bring him to CHB and we can always have Whitey and Jolly rotating on FF instead.

Deestroy
17 Feb 2002, 14:39

Well saying that, we don't need him in FF so bring him to CHB and we can always have Whitey and Jolly rotating on FF instead.
My thoughts exactly... We have plenty of options for FF

DEES RULE!
17 Feb 2002, 14:43

My thoughts exactly... We have plenty of options for FF

I agree. Its so obviously Neita should play up back. He has done a lot down there and with the loss of Ingerson, Neita might be the guy to get the backline back together and on track.

Deestroy
17 Feb 2002, 14:46

I agree. Its so obviously Neita should play up back. He has done a lot down there and with the loss of Ingerson, Neita might be the guy to get the backline back together and on track.
*sigh* I should be doing my English essay that was due last Friday... But I was bored, so I stopped, lol. I'll do an attempt at analysing the forward line, not like I have anything better to do :D

StrengthThroughLoyalty
17 Feb 2002, 15:17
Originally posted by BT

G'day Steve, glad you enjoyed it mate. Just make sure you "shellack" those Crows eh?

g'day bt,

i am not going to get ahead of myself and predict that we will give the crows a thumping next week because my new policy is to take it one 'shelacking' at a time. :D

my weekend will be complete once newcastle has knocked manchester shi tty out of the fa cup. ;)

BT
17 Feb 2002, 15:24

g'day bt,

my weekend will be complete once newcastle has knocked manchester shi tty out of the fa cup. ;)

Oi u just watch it! we're not without a chance there!

Dee
17 Feb 2002, 16:13

u know what......when i come to melbourne im taking u too training with me (whether u like it or not :p ) and i will hold Neale down and u tell me that.

The thing it shows is u should never send a man in to do a womans job. :D :p

DEES RULE!
17 Feb 2002, 17:24
Originally posted by Dee

u know what......when i come to melbourne im taking u too training with me (whether u like it or not :p ) and i will hold Neale down and u tell me that.

The thing it shows is u should never send a man in to do a womans job. :D :p

Ok well thats a done deal! :D
And yeah I said it once, I said it hundred times.... if women coached Melbourne we would never be in this mess (and we would never pick up useless weirdos like Grgic)

dees01
18 Feb 2002, 14:01
My thoughts on the game. First off I must admit that I did not go to the game (thank God!) and saw only the first quarter and a bit in full before taking an occassional glance for a score update. But I have spoken to some people that did go.

First, it is only a practice match but the signs are not good. StKilda had close to a full strength team, we did not.
It appeared on the TV that we were flat. Not desperate and second to the ball.
No run out of the midfield. Powelly where are you?
Forward line terrible. Robertson running around like a headless chook doing nothing. Neitz just useless. He had two sometimes three on him and it will always happen. Put him back, at least he will get to see more of the ball!
Backline not much better. Lamb looked slow, Ellis and Bizzell lost. In saying that I think they can improve.
The only positive was Johnstone. The problem was that he was always wide when he had the ball. Go to the center corridore, he will be more effective.

There you have it. My thoughts, probably a lot would disagree and you can say that. I just could not watch the entire game. There was no use getting frustrated in February. But I am looking forward to 2003 with great anticipation!

cjwalkley
18 Feb 2002, 14:10
Bizzell looked totally at sea, however I think he should be played up forward at all times. Ellis should be reasonable, however Lamb was extremely ordinary. How long has he been around?

dees01
18 Feb 2002, 14:14
Originally posted by cjwalkley
Lamb was extremely ordinary. How long has he been around?
ABout 4-5 years. But he was very young when he was drafted. If he does nothing this year, he is OUT.

DEES RULE!
19 Feb 2002, 09:07
Originally posted by dees01
Neitz just useless. He had two sometimes three on him and it will always happen. Put him back, at least he will get to see more of the ball!

My thoughts exactly!
You put him up forward and he gets extremly lost... he doesn't get much of the ball and when he does he misses way too often. This makes him fraustrated and he takes it out of opposition players, than he has to appear before the tribunal (don't know if the charges were dropped or not, but they said yesterday he was charged on video evidance!). Its like this endless cycle of fraustration and most importantly lost talent and I think we would all benefit from him taking his place at CHB.