View Full Version : Ins and Outs vs Sydney

Yello Mit
16 Sep 2006, 13:16
Very tough decisions for this round. Everyone played well last night.

Out: McPharlin (If he is injured), Headland
In: Grover (If fit), Walker/Polak/Medhurst

Vintage
16 Sep 2006, 14:49
Walker?? Medhurst?? For Headland? THere is no way that will happen.

No changes unless injuries/suspensions or Grover being fit force them.

sabre_ac
16 Sep 2006, 15:00
Grover would wanna be 100%.
We have been burned in the past playing 50% players in finals.

Scham
16 Sep 2006, 15:03
Grover for headland

rgauci
16 Sep 2006, 15:04
I'd say no changes. Even if Grover is fit.

dont bowl there
16 Sep 2006, 15:11
Why the hell would you want Headland out??? He did some pretty tough things last night, even tho he didnt have a lot of the ball. Plus he has finals experience, the crowd at TS will be 80 000 which only Bell and Headland have ever experienced.

Scham
16 Sep 2006, 15:34
Why the hell would you want Headland out??? He did some pretty tough things last night, even tho he didnt have a lot of the ball. Plus he has finals experience, the crowd at TS will be 80 000 which only Bell and Headland have ever experienced.
Because he's been crap the last two weeks - his finals experience hasn't helped him in those games so why would it this week?
Also, just to correct you, J Carr has some experience with big crowds and big games too.
I don't seriously think Headland will get dropped but he should be the one to make way for Grover IMO.

Undertaker
16 Sep 2006, 15:38
Grover will come in if fit, who the hell do we drop ?
Webster,Cookie,Dodd,Macca,Peaker or OH my dear what a dilema:confused:

dont bowl there
16 Sep 2006, 15:43
Because he's been crap the last two weeks - his finals experience hasn't helped him in those games so why would it this week?
Also, just to correct you, J Carr has some experience with big crowds and big games too.
I don't seriously think Headland will get dropped but he should be the one to make way for Grover IMO.

I knew i was missing one, J.Carr. Dessie has a had a great year and did some bloody hard tackels last night. We will need his run and strength against Sydney. The only way Grover would come back is if McPharlin is injured or Webster (only because he is player 22 out of last nights game) goes out. I dont want Webster out so i cant see Grover coming in. Its a great situation to be in.

Kenny_01
16 Sep 2006, 16:05
No Change. Even if Grover is fit.

We cannot drop any running players for this game.

rgauci
16 Sep 2006, 16:07
Everyone needs to be honest with themselves, Grover hasn't been in form since his injury. He's been OK but nowhere near the form from the first half of the year.

332docker
16 Sep 2006, 19:06
No Change!

Emergencies:
Medhurst, Polak, Grover

If there are no injuries and suspensions then stick to the guys who beat the Dee's. The emergencies are all unlucky as they would get on the 22 of most teams but the pressure from below helps to keep the starting 22 playing their best to keep their spot!

cheersandbeers 332docker:thumbsu::)

dockers_bengals
16 Sep 2006, 19:29
Totally agree 332.gauci,Grover has been played out of position since the injury so that wouldnt help.

dominguez
16 Sep 2006, 20:10
As rgauci said Grovers form wasn't great in his 3 games back from injury. If anyone from last nights team is dropped for him I will be disappointed.

Assuming McPharlap is fit, no change.

Bustlinbarry
16 Sep 2006, 21:48
Out: B.Clanger
In: A.Grover

westy1
17 Sep 2006, 00:38
Out: B.Clanger
In: A.Grover
i must admit that i have been one of schammers knockers this year but from what i saw last night there is no way you can drop byron clanger.the guys only young and is slowly coming of age .he seems to revel in the pressure situation.although he seems to be in the shauny mac school of skills kicking a desperatly needed goal on the run from 50 out was magic stuff.(even if his eyes were shut).
no changes for mine bad luck grover,polak,medhurst,walker and co but why change a winning combo .mcpharlap on hall ,parker on oloughlan bring it on

Plugga
17 Sep 2006, 01:37
People calling for Headlands head - STUPID...was superb after 1/2 time, long leads, hard at the man...was crappola 1st half.

Apologies to Schammer...who I bagged last week....was superb v Melbourne & totally redeemed himself in my eyes....hbis roving from packs & pace thru the middle was A class.

Hopefully McPharlin fit....

IN: Grover (must play if fit...for options v Hall/O'Loughlin)
OUT: Webster (unlucky)

Kenny_01
17 Sep 2006, 01:39
If we drop Webster, I will be livid. No change required at all.

McPharlin, Dodd, Parker, Hayden, Mundy and Johnson are more than enough defenders.

ImperialPurple
17 Sep 2006, 13:46
DON'T Drop Webster!!!!!

Bustlinbarry
17 Sep 2006, 17:58
Good points there Westy, I thought he was comming good about 6-8 weeks ago but seems to be reverting back to his old ways. Agree it was a very good goal and when very much needed, yet I still feel 6-10 clangers a week is to many against a side as good as Sydney. Good luck to him I would love to see him prove me wrong:thumbsu:

AndrewJo
17 Sep 2006, 22:32
What about Josh CArr? Will he be up on Trial by TV?? In the Eastern states a behind the play incident was being highlighted on TV and Josh Carr's name was being mentioned. Strange that it was highlighted with no Melbourne teams left in the competition now!

rgauci
17 Sep 2006, 22:50
Neil Daniher mentioned that Schammer was scoring centre break clearances from a wing, and highlighted Schammers efforts. You can't drop him. Not after his work in close was so good. If he gets going he is one of the few in our team capable of feeding out lightning handballs against a well-drilled sydney outfit.

dockersfan
17 Sep 2006, 23:01
If McPharlap is dropped due to his ankle and considering he'd be on B.Hall - who would you put in place? Grover if fit? Or Magic? He's more agile than Hall.

What about the Goodes factor? Put Doddy on him?

dockers_bengals
18 Sep 2006, 01:03
I think Parker played on hall last time.Hayden or dodd on OLaughlin.elvis on o'keefe.mj spare man.m carr on goodes.

masai
18 Sep 2006, 13:20
DON'T Drop Webster!!!!!

Agreed, no unforced changes required.

ImperialPurple
19 Sep 2006, 21:45
Watching the news tonight, and having read a few articles, it seems that Grover is a certainty to come in on Friday. Having also just watched the semi-final again, I think the guy most at risk of losing his place is.... Macca. :( He had little impact on the game, and if they pick on form, not name, then he might have cause to be a little worried. I sooooo hope I am wrong.... but then I wouldn't like to be choosing anyone to cop the axe this week. :thumbsd:

Great news on the one hand - to have a selection dilemma, but sad also that someone needs to miss out after such an even contribution...

sabre_ac
19 Sep 2006, 22:15
Ill be furious if Cookie is dropped.
The guy cant kick for crap and he hardly turns games off his own boot, but that tackle fri night was awesome.
Truely inspiring stuff!
His toughness around the ball has been vital to our success.

Tough call who to drop though....

As mentioned earlier McManus is in career best form and has been exceptional all year...One quiet game isnt enough for him to be dropped.

Webster unforunately may be the player with his head on the block, as long as Grover and McPharlin are both totally fit.
Any doubts over their fitness..Surely they must be left behind.

Ripper
19 Sep 2006, 22:31
Hard one.

I just checked the stats and Macca had 6 tackles , Des 5 and the Carr Bros heaps.

I reckon they all had "jobs" .

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20420837%255E19765,00.html

rgauci
19 Sep 2006, 22:31
There's a few that are on the blocks after two poor performances in the finals. Headland, Peake and McManus have all been well below their best. Though none are defenders. Bringing in Grover for one of the aforementioned could be a big mistake. Even Longmuir hasn't been brilliant. Though we wouldn't want to make the same mistake the Eagles did and try to beat Sydney with only 1 ruckman. That tactic seemed to blow up in thier face.

Its a very tough choice this week. Perhaps the decision will be made easy because McPharlin hasn't come up well. Or even Grover's not 100%.

I'd be dissapointed for McManus if he missed and Peake has become a crowd favourite. Headland has the ability and is usually worth his spot. Webster did an extraordinary job shutting down Yze and creating goals. Missed an easy shot but will be better for the run. Would be the unluckiest player around if he was dropped after that performance.

TOUGH TOUGH CHOICE. If it were me, i wouldn't change anything.

Hotdog Man
19 Sep 2006, 22:32
DON'T Drop Webster!!!!!

On the money as usual IP.

It will be out McPharlap, in Grover.

Then us purple breathren will discuss this again next week.

dugrene
19 Sep 2006, 22:32
Im not convinced McPharlin would be 100% and he does have a bit of history with ankles. I consider him moving into the back line as one of the catalysts that changed our season. But if he isnt 100% then dont play him.

If he is fit, and with Grover likely to come in I think I'd drop Des. Of all the players we can cover with team balance he is the one.

Kenny_01
20 Sep 2006, 10:36
Having just watched the replays of our 2 finals again, McManus and Headland have probably been our weakest players (Longmuir, Peake and Parker havn't been great either) but I don't think either will be dropped, nor should they be. If the coaching staff HAD to drop someone, well on form it would be Macca.

Webster was one of our best 6-8 players against Melbourne.

Kapow!!!
20 Sep 2006, 10:43
DON'T Drop Webster!!!!!

What she said