View Full Version : Kade Simpson for a 1st round Pick?
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 14:26
Just a thought dont bite my head off!... Kade Simpson to Bris/Port/Haw/Gee/Rich for the 1st pick? Any weight? This would enable carlton to have two 1st rounds for hopefully gibbs and Leuenberger
Much weight?
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 14:27
Just a thought dont bite my head off!... Kade Simpson to Bris/Port/Haw/Gee/Rich for the 1st pick? Any weight? This would enable carlton to have two 1st rounds for hopefully gibbs and Leuenberger
Much weight?
Not really. Maybe a pick in the 15-20 range, but definitely isn't worth a Top 10 pick for mine ...
gandaal
16 Sep 2006, 14:30
I'd rather keep Kade.
trueblue_91
16 Sep 2006, 14:32
I'd rather keep Kade.
same here and i dont think clubs will give away there first round draft picks for him
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 14:32
Not really. Maybe a pick in the 15-20 range, but definitely isn't worth a Top 10 pick for mine ...
What about if we threw in a say half dud like a sporn or a wiggins? ;)
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 14:35
What about if we threw in a say half dud like a sporn or a wiggins? ;)
I think you're going backwards now. ;)
melbournemartin
16 Sep 2006, 14:38
as good as Kade Simpson looks to be, most other clubs will have players that fill his role just as well. Someone like Waite or Fisher, even though they haven't preformed as well, would probably be more valuable.
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 14:43
Wouldn't even think of trading him meself.
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 14:43
as good as Kade Simpson looks to be, most other clubs will have players that fill his role just as well. Someone like Waite or Fisher, even though they haven't preformed as well, would probably be more valuable.
so we throw fisher up... we'll get more out of gibbs and Leuenberger that out of fisher IMO
gandaal
16 Sep 2006, 14:44
so we throw fisher up... we'll get more out of gibbs and Leuenberger that out of fisher IMO
Fisher won't get us a first round pick. Don't kid yourself.
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 14:45
The only players on Carltons list who are worth a 1st Rounder (and perhaps more), by themselves are;
Fevola
Murphy
Whitnall
Stevens
Second-Tier
Simpson
Kennedy
Waite
Fisher
Betts
Walker
Scotland
Editted
mcphee_is_a_gun
16 Sep 2006, 14:47
The only players on Carltons list who are worth a 1st Rounder (and perhaps more), by themselves are;
Fevola
Murphy
Whitnall
Second-Tier
Simpson
Kennedy
Waite
Fisher
Betts
No way in the world anyone would give up a 1st rder fr Eddie.
philhawk
No way in the world anyone would give up a 1st rder fr Eddie.
Note the words 'Second Tier'.
whippersnipper
Not that I would do it (but might consider it) what would we get for Fisher and pick 19?
gandaal
16 Sep 2006, 14:50
Fevola
Murphy
Whitnall
Second-Tier
Simpson
Kennedy
Waite
Fisher
Betts
Walker, Stevens and Scotland might be a touch unlucky to miss that list
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 14:51
Lol, knew I had forgotten a couple. :p
Walker and Scotland would be in the Second-Tier list for mine, but Stevens would be worth a 1st Rounder.
Unwritten_Law
16 Sep 2006, 14:52
Not that I would do it (but might consider it) what would we get for Fisher and pick 19?
Pick 15. Clubs don't go for stuff like that unless like in Collingwood's case with Egan they think the player they want will still be there a couple of picks later on. You certainly wouldn't get a club doing that deal for Fisher with a top 10.
Carnthe
16 Sep 2006, 14:54
I think you may have to give up your priority pick if you want to have a crack at getting two top 10 picks, I know no one wants to trade any picks but you gotta weigh up whats worth more to your causes, pick 17 or pick <10...
Maybe...
Carlton (Fisher + 17) ---> Geelong
Geelong (7) ---> Carlton
Maybe this would work as Geelong know they are already getting a top-end gun in Hawkins, and maybe getting Fisher as well as a pretty decent midfielder at 17 would be more attractive to them than taking whoever they would at 7. That way Carlton could take Gibbs at 1 and then Luenberger at 7 if he was still around then but this is a big if. If the burger was gone by 7, this would somewhat defeat the purpose of the trade but Carlton would still get a quality pick, maybe a Thorp/Sellar/Riewoldt or mid like Jetta/Selwood/Proud. Alternatively you could pick Luenberger at 1 and then select a top class mid at 7 one of Jetta/Selwood/Proud. You would be laughing if you managed to pull that off. But in saying all of that I don't think it will happen but who knows thoughts anyone?
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 14:56
Pick 15. Clubs don't go for stuff like that unless like in Collingwood's case with Egan they think the player they want will still be there a couple of picks later on. You certainly wouldn't get a club doing that deal for Fisher with a top 10.
Wasn't necessarily thinking top ten, but 10-12 plus a reasonable fringe player at a club with a need for talls wouldnt be out of the question.
Again, wouldnt bother about the trade, Fisher is too valuable for that, but am curious
Carnthe
16 Sep 2006, 14:57
well theres an answer to my post before i even finished typing it
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 14:59
I think you may have to give up your priority pick if you want to have a crack at getting two top 10 picks, I know no one wants to trade any picks but you gotta weigh up whats worth more to your causes, pick 17 or pick <10...
Maybe...
Geelong (7) ---> Carlton
Maybe this would work as Geelong know they are already getting a top-end gun in Hawkins, and maybe getting Fisher as well as a pretty decent midfielder at 17 would be more attractive to them than taking whoever they would at 7. That way Carlton could take Gibbs at 1 and then Luenberger at 7 if he was still around then but this is a big if. If the burger was gone by 7, this would somewhat defeat the purpose of the trade but Carlton would still get a quality pick, maybe a Thorp/Sellar/Riewoldt or mid like Jetta/Selwood/Proud. Alternatively you could pick Luenberger at 1 and then select a top class mid at 7 one of Jetta/Selwood/Proud. You would be laughing if you managed to pull that off. But in saying all of that I don't think it will happen but who knows thoughts anyone?
Very sensible idea, and one I woud, if I was at Carlton, think about. Would be likely not to go for it, but that would be not outside the realms of possibility.
You would have to be keen on Leuenberger though, and with some decent ruckmen in the pond next year, I'd probably err on the side of caution.
Very good proposal though.
EDIT: You woul have to be fairly confident that one of Leuenberger or Sellar would drop to seven, otherwise you wouldnt go for it.
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 15:00
Maybe...
Geelong (7) ---> Carlton
I doubt Geelong would trade away Pick 7.
Like I said earlier, there are 7 'marquee' players in this draft.
Gibbs
Selwood
Sellar
Hansen
Gumbleton
Thorp
Leunberger
Geelong would be mad to trade away their chance to nab one of them ALONG with Hawkins. :thumbsd:
Edit: I should say, I don't rate Fisher. If it was Waite and Pick 17, then i'd say Geelong should consider it.
Unwritten_Law
16 Sep 2006, 15:01
From Carlton's perspective it is a good proposal, Geelong wouldn't touch it with a 50 foot pole. Gamble will be AFL ready next season and unlike Fisher can actually put it through the big sticks.
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 15:03
Maybe...
Geelong (7) ---> Carlton
Not a bad idea i like that one... would be a toss up between fisher and simpson but in geelongs case fisher seems more logical... can take a grab and would add something to geelongs forward line as he would get a 3rd or 4th defender on him... Geelong recruitment should read this!
trueblue_91
16 Sep 2006, 15:04
I doubt Geelong would trade away Pick 7.
Like I said earlier, there are 7 'marquee' players in this draft.
Gibbs
Selwood
Sellar
Hansen
Gumbleton
Thorp
Leunberger
Geelong would be mad to trade away their chance to nab one of them ALONG with Hawkins. :thumbsd:
Edit: I should say, I don't rate Fisher. If it was Waite and Pick 17, then i'd say Geelong should consider it.
Carlton won't trade Waite.
And Fischer has a great pair of hands but can't kick a footy for ****.
But if we could nab pick 7 and get leunberger along with Gibbs/Hansen/Gumby ill be a very happy man
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 15:04
I should say, I don't rate Fisher. If it was Waite and Pick 17, then i'd say Geelong should consider it.
Fair enough. Waite would be pretty much out of the question, wouldnt trade him. Fisher perhaps suffers a bit from having his development curtailed by injury and then having to almost compete with Waite, as they have similar styles of play. At a club with a decent kicking coach and a lack of quality marking talls he could be a real asset.
philhawk
16 Sep 2006, 15:07
Carlton won't trade Waite.
And Fischer has a great pair of hands but can't kick a footy for ****.
But if we could nab pick 7 and get leunberger along with Gibbs/Hansen/Gumby ill be a very happy man
Haha, which Carlton fan wouldn't be happy with that! As you and whippersnapper have said, if Fisher could work on his kicking, he could turn into a very, very good player.
trueblue_91
16 Sep 2006, 15:10
Haha, which Carlton fan wouldn't be happy with that! As you and whippersnapper have said, if Fisher could work on his kicking, he could turn into a very, very good player.
Same with Waite if they could both kick. and imagine if we got a good chb.
F:Kennedy Fevola Fisher
HF:Betts Whitnall Waite
Not a bad forward line
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 15:14
Same with Waite if they could both kick. and imagine if we got a good chb.
F:Kennedy Fevola Fisher
HF:Betts Whitnall Waite
Not a bad forward line
Jeez, thats a friggin' forest! Whitnall will be played down back, especially once Kennedy's development reaches full steam. It gives us plenty of options in the frward line, but my biggest worry will be having Waite, Fisher and Kennedy in the same forward line. Three quallity talls + Fevola.
trueblue_91
16 Sep 2006, 15:28
Jeez, thats a friggin' forest! Whitnall will be played down back, especially once Kennedy's development reaches full steam. It gives us plenty of options in the frward line, but my biggest worry will be having Waite, Fisher and Kennedy in the same forward line. Three quallity talls + Fevola.
Waite is mobile and can move up into the middle, and kennedy looks like a lead up option too to create space.
Also Bentick.
We might be interested in giving you Polak and our second pick for Simpson and your second pick if you're interested?
TheGeneral
16 Sep 2006, 15:49
I'd trade Fisher for a pick to get my hands on Renouf because he's injury prone and he can't kick. He isn't a patch on Ryan Murphy as a footballer who has the frame and the build to make it as a tall marking forward.
We need to get our hands on a quality young ruckman this year.
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 15:54
Also Bentick.
We might be interested in giving you Polak and our second pick for Simpson and your second pick if you're interested?
No offense dude, but I reckon Freo might get laughed at for even bringing that one up.
TheGeneral
16 Sep 2006, 15:56
Fevola
Murphy
Whitnall
Stevens
Any takers? :)
Since the Dogs have ruled out trading their first round pick for Aker the best we could hope for would be an early second round pick. But Lance will be made Captain for one good year and winning us back to back spoons after he conceded 6 goals to Lucas.
Five goals would have handed the spoon to Essendon.
Sack Pagan. :rolleyes:
crowsarethebest
16 Sep 2006, 16:07
Seriously... What are Carlton Supporters thinking? "What do you want for Whitnall" , "What do you want for Simpson?" etc. Those 2 are at least up to AFL standard and you guy are trading them away. Looking at your list and looking at how they are playing in the VFL at the moment, You can probably delist 20 players. Simpson and Whitnall have had great seasons and you guys are looking to trade them away? If you have a major clean out, it would be very unsettling for the footy club. Trading your best players is even more damaging. They are doing well so why trade them? For the sake of it so you can get "draft picks" in this "Super Draft". Most of those guys won't make it anyway so why bother taking a risk and drafting players when you have a ready made palyer doing so well at AFL level.
TheGeneral
16 Sep 2006, 16:16
Why were Nathan Thompson, Barry Hall and Stenglein traded?
Were they poor players?
Lance's second half of the year was poor and he isn't a star.
Unwritten_Law
16 Sep 2006, 16:23
Why were Nathan Thompson, Barry Hall and Stenglein traded?
personal issues, personal issues, wanted to go home? :confused:
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 17:17
personal issues, personal issues, wanted to go home? :confused:
Nathan Brown, Peter Everitt, Heffernan, caracella, woewodin just to name a few...
Its called looking to the future. Why not get rid of a half decent player such as simpson or fisher or whitnall to enable to get both Leuenberger and Gibbs... Along with murphy and blackwell (played rather well for NB) that doesnt look too bad in 5 years...
whippersnipper
16 Sep 2006, 17:20
Nathan Brown, Peter Everitt, Heffernan, caracella, woewodin just to name a few...
Its called looking to the future. Why not get rid of a half decent player such as simpson or fisher or whitnall to enable to get both Leuenberger and Gibbs... Along with murphy and blackwell (played rather well for NB) that doesnt look too bad in 5 years...
Simpson is a part of that future. Fisher, on the other hand, there is a case to argue for, especially as Kennedy comes along. Whitnall's experience and leadership in the backline is too valuable to lose. It would demoralise the younger players to see such a gap in the back half if he left.
LukeHodge15
16 Sep 2006, 17:31
U are saying gibbs and leuenberger are gunna be out and out stars. u must have a pretty good crystal ball:eek:
That is where drafting kids at the age of 17 & 18 will never be an exact science. Just so many variables outa the clubs control.
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 17:45
U are saying gibbs and leuenberger are gunna be out and out stars. u must have a pretty good crystal ball:eek:
That is where drafting kids at the age of 17 & 18 will never be an exact science. Just so many variables outa the clubs control.
The "media" hasn't really been wrong to date though have they? Judd, Hodge, Ball, Murphy, Cooney... Gibbs is following in the footsteps of Cooney...
A really good indicator is when the kid can find plenty of the ball in his states top league. ie: gibbs in the SANFL and leuenberger in the WAFL
check out Leuenberger stats here: http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/team_info.cgi?player=Matthew%20Leuenberger&action=PSTATS&pID=120731702&client=1-2393-0-38897-4320173
and Gibbs here:
http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/team_info.cgi?player=Bryce%20Gibbs&action=PSTATS&pID=123172394&client=1-3289-0-39260-4366901
Gibbs has no stats but clearly being in the best must mean something over in that league...
Agreed it is a gamble but to sacrifice fisher or whitnall it's rather calculated.
vinnie_vegas69
16 Sep 2006, 17:47
Refused to re-sign, refused to re-sign, salary issues, salary issues, salary issues.
I don't think I've ever seen a young player with the talent of Kade Simpson traded solely because their team wanted another pick in the draft.
chelsworthgale
16 Sep 2006, 17:49
Refused to re-sign, refused to re-sign, salary issues, salary issues, salary issues.
I don't think I've ever seen a young player with the talent of Kade Simpson traded solely because their team wanted another pick in the draft.
Veale then? :p
celtic_pride
16 Sep 2006, 18:58
I'm sorry but I would seriously throw up if Kade Simpson was traded. he loves the club and the supporters are an big rap for him.
Unless someone came up with an insane trade like Judd for Simpson, he is not going anyway.
I would feel very empty if we traded someone like Simpson just after his come on in leaps and bounds in the last 18 months.
We have hardly any good decent trades around and I think Simpson is basically untouchable.
blues4flag
16 Sep 2006, 19:03
Would not trade him for a draft pick (well maybe 2-5, and even than unlikely). Always risk involved in the draft, but Simpson is a proven player, one who I believe will be a gun.
I'd rather keep Kade.
Me too..
How would you know Phil - lol :D
blueboy152
16 Sep 2006, 23:19
Wouldn't even think of trading him meself.
Either would i, kade is going to be a very good player for us....Next year he will get alot better with more help in the midfield....would trade fisher. But if someone taught him how to kick though the ball he will be pretty good player, cos he can sure mark the ball. Good set of hands
crowsarethebest
16 Sep 2006, 23:25
One thing I always will say is.. If your doing well for the club, never trade him. Only trade him if he wants to leave or salary cap issiues. And chelsworthgale if you think Simpson is not part of Carlton's future, then I know more about Carlton than you. So once they get to early 20's it is time to move on? Heck, Simpson hasn't even reached his peak yet.
LukeHodge15
16 Sep 2006, 23:48
The "media" hasn't really been wrong to date though have they? Judd, Hodge, Ball, Murphy, Cooney... Gibbs is following in the footsteps of Cooney...
A really good indicator is when the kid can find plenty of the ball in his states top league. ie: gibbs in the SANFL and leuenberger in the WAFL
check out Leuenberger stats here: http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/team_info.cgi?player=Matthew%20Leuenberger&action=PSTATS&pID=120731702&client=1-2393-0-38897-4320173
and Gibbs here:
http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/team_info.cgi?player=Bryce%20Gibbs&action=PSTATS&pID=123172394&client=1-3289-0-39260-4366901
Gibbs has no stats but clearly being in the best must mean something over in that league...
Agreed it is a gamble but to sacrifice fisher or whitnall it's rather calculated.
Just a quick question ?
Have u seen Leuenberger play ?
-----------------------------------
To say berger is a guarenteed GUN in the future is just reaching for the stars.
He's a 18 year old ruckman that has played 6 games of footy for his WAFL side East Perth. He has averaged 7 possies a game and 16 hit outs (but at 202cm u would expect him to get his fair share)
Good Luck to the kid and i hope he makes it in the big time. But i dont buy the Leuenberger = Cox = GUN thing myself.
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2006, 01:16
Just a quick question ?
Have u seen Leuenberger play ?
-----------------------------------
To say berger is a guarenteed GUN in the future is just reaching for the stars.
He's a 18 year old ruckman that has played 6 games of footy for his WAFL side East Perth. He has averaged 7 possies a game and 16 hit outs (but at 202cm u would expect him to get his fair share)
Good Luck to the kid and i hope he makes it in the big time. But i dont buy the Leuenberger = Cox = GUN thing myself.
Answer is no... just like you probably haven't. Also I doubt you saw Hodge play before you jumped on the bandwagon (not really a bandwagon he is a great player :p)
Berger is touted as the best ruckman the land has to offer in this draft. Just like Gibbs is the best midfielder... You can ONLY take these kids on their senior and TAC cup performances thats all you have to go by. His average 16 hit outs is great considering he his probably not getting huge amounts of game time. But to have the height, and good raw skills thats a solid beginning. But I hope he slides to 17, doubt it highly so i think carlton should trade up, get rid of a player and pick 17 in exchange for an earlier pick... I have suggested this scenario in another thread and someone raised talk of:
fisher + 17 >>> geelong
pick 7 >>> Carlton
would 7 get bergs?
sput1956
17 Sep 2006, 01:23
fisher + 17 >>> geelong
pick 7 >>> Carlton
would 7 get bergs?
Can't see that happening as Geelong need a ruckman more than they need Fisher. At least it's good to see a Carlton supporter finally talking some sense. You guys have to get a ruckman, and a good one at that. You are probaly going to have to trade something more with Brisbane to get at Leunberger. Maybe a decent player and draft picks 17 and 19?
It will be worth it for Gibbs and Leunberger.
blueboy152
17 Sep 2006, 01:26
Answer is no... just like you probably haven't. Also I doubt you saw Hodge play before you jumped on the bandwagon (not really a bandwagon he is a great player :p)
Berger is touted as the best ruckman the land has to offer in this draft. Just like Gibbs is the best midfielder... You can ONLY take these kids on their senior and TAC cup performances thats all you have to go by. His average 16 hit outs is great considering he his probably not getting huge amounts of game time. But to have the height, and good raw skills thats a solid beginning. But I hope he slides to 17, doubt it highly so i think carlton should trade up, get rid of a player and pick 17 in exchange for an earlier pick... I have suggested this scenario in another thread and someone raised talk of:
fisher + 17 >>> geelong
pick 7 >>> Carlton
would 7 get bergs?
Thats a really good idea........like it alot
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2006, 01:55
Can't see that happening as Geelong need a ruckman more than they need Fisher. At least it's good to see a Carlton supporter finally talking some sense. You guys have to get a ruckman, and a good one at that. You are probaly going to have to trade something more with Brisbane to get at Leunberger. Maybe a decent player and draft picks 17 and 19?
It will be worth it for Gibbs and Leunberger.
Geelong are settled at the moment... they have blake, ottens, king and west...
Brisbane could also do with someone like fisher, can take a good mark, kicking lets him down but seems keen enough to want to work on that deficiency and make himself better. Doubt both 17 and 19 would be traded. The main reason I say Geelong is because I think their list is prime. The majority of their playing group has reached that 3-5 years experience and should be right to go now. To take on a young player may be worthless as their group is generally all around the same age. What they lack is an experienced forward and maybe a back. Fisher isnt experienced but has 60 odd games under his belt and would create a target up forward for Geelong as he would regularly get a 3rd or 4th defender behing an ottens, hawkins, king, chapman, ablett jnr, and johnson.
Its a win win situation for both teams!
Unwritten_Law
17 Sep 2006, 02:36
No it's not.
Mackie and Gamble can offer what Fisher can. Mackie is soft but at least he can kick. Fisher is not that good. Certainly not worth down grading a pick for.
If the club decide we don't need a ruckman we'll just about end up with the second best mid in the draft with the large amount of KPPs tipped to go high.
afl genius
17 Sep 2006, 12:36
james kelly for kade simpson direct swap
No thanks. We finally come across a mid-fielder with speed, flare and has a desire to take the opposition on and some of us want to trade him. Fair dinkum:rolleyes:
Geelong would have zero interest in a Fischer type player. Forward line for the future is set. We need ball carrying midfeilders with good disposal so we would have a lot of interest in Kade Simpson.
(Assuming Leuenberger is still around at 7)
Geelong : Kelly + Pick 7
Carlton: Simpson + Pick 17
You could potentially pick up Leuenberger plus you get a midfeilder who has shown class but had a down season (Kelly).
We pick up a rising star in Simpson and still have a good crack at a quality midfeilder with pick 17.
Much more desirable from Geelong's point of veiw as we don't really need Leuenberger but wouldn't pass him up at 7. Also solves some of our problems in terms of too many extractors/one paced midfeilders. Kelly is quality but Bartel, Corey and Ling are all in the same mold.
readingfc
17 Sep 2006, 14:21
if i was carlton I would take that trade in a flash. I would compare kelly and simpson as equals cause kelly has shown more execpt for a dissapointing year but was not the only player to have one at the cattery
sinepari
17 Sep 2006, 14:23
Now that would be interesting dan.
Personally, if i were carlton, i'd stronly consider it.
if i was carlton I would take that trade in a flash. I would compare kelly and simpson as equals cause kelly has shown more execpt for a dissapointing year but was not the only player to have one at the cattery
I think it is a good deal for Carlton but that is the point. It has to be a good deal for both teams to consider. Especially if they can get Leuenberger.
Geelong doesn't need KPP or ruckmen that much. Looking at the draft I think you can still get a quality mid at 17. Maybe Connors, Schmidt, Petterd or Hislop. Compared to say Jetta, Proud or Selwood which they would get a 7, I don't think it is that bad.
I would have compared Kelly and Kade as equals if you take Kelly before this season and Kade after this season. But now Kelly's stock has to have dropped. From Geelong's point of veiw Simpson adds an element badly needed in the Geelong line up. We don't really want to wait 4 years to get a quality midfeilder that can run and we don't want someone over 26 either. Kade would be perfect. I also think Kade will turn out to be better than Kelly, though I have no doubt Kelly is a solid player.
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2006, 14:41
Dan agree with everything you said there... I looked at fisher at being more viable but you make a strong point. The fact is geelong have the in and under players yet not the classy quick receiver types.
I dont think Geelong would be willing to give up player and pick so more realistically a trade would look like:
Pick 7 > Carlton
Simpson + Pick 17 > Geelong...
That makes it more tasty to Geelong. The only problem is will Bergs be around at pick 7?
1 Carlton - will pick Gibbs
2 Essendon - Hille, Laycock, Ryder, Henneman
3 Kangas - McIntosh, Petrie, Hale, Moran
4 Bris - McDonald, Charman, Woods, Clark
5 Port - Lade, Deluca, Brogan, Giles
6 Hawks - Bailey, Campbell, Taylor, McEntee
7 Carlton (assumed) - Would pick Bergs!
Thoughts?
Dan agree with everything you said there... I looked at fisher at being more viable but you make a strong point. The fact is geelong have the in and under players yet not the classy quick receiver types.
I dont think Geelong would be willing to give up player and pick so more realistically a trade would look like:
Pick 7 > Carlton
Simpson + Pick 17 > Geelong...
That makes it more tasty to Geelong. The only problem is will Bergs be around at pick 7?
1 Carlton - will pick Gibbs
2 Essendon - Hille, Laycock, Ryder, Henneman
3 Kangas - McIntosh, Petrie, Hale, Moran
4 Bris - McDonald, Charman, Woods, Clark
5 Port - Lade, Deluca, Brogan, Giles
6 Hawks - Bailey, Campbell, Taylor, McEntee
7 Carlton (assumed) - Would pick Bergs!
Thoughts?
Maybe I am rating Simpson too high. I have him worth about pick 8-12 in this draft. I have Kelly worth about 15-20. Gave Carlton a slight premium because I think we need the deal more than them.
sput1956
17 Sep 2006, 14:51
Thoughts?
Risky. You would be better of bundling picks 17 & 19 together with a handy 11-20 player and trying a swap for Brisbanes pick 4. That way you only have to worry about Essendon snapping him up and if they do, then there is bugger all chance of them going for Gardiner.
This way you also get to keep Simpson.
This play would see Carlton reverse the tables on Sheedys mind games.;)
Imagine a starting onball line up of Leunberger, Gibbs, Murphy, Walker and Simpson.
Just a thought
I won't bite your head off but you've gotta be kidding?Second rounder at best or a player/player swap.
trueblue_91
17 Sep 2006, 16:56
Why would carlton trade simo?
Every time a youngster becomes a good player are we going to trade them?
trueblue_91
17 Sep 2006, 16:57
Imagine a starting onball line up of Leunberger, Gibbs, Murphy, Walker and Simpson.
don't leave out kouta, stevens and scotland:)
Premiership Quarter
17 Sep 2006, 20:47
Carlton are trying to rebuild and add quality and depth. By trading Simpson & 17 to get 7 well we are losing depth. 2 quality players (say simpson and connors) for one quality player...we need to add not reduce or else Leuenberger and gibbs will still be playing with the likes of wiggins, teague, bannister, mcgrath etc...we have to get rid of these types by increasing the amount of quality types.
[ToTTi]
18 Sep 2006, 15:16
Don't like the idea at all myself... it seems with a trade like this we are putting all our eggs in one basket. Why would you trade away a midfielder we've been developing for three seasons when he finally starts to emerge?!
I would much rather keep simmo (future leader) and pick up a ruckman in next year's draft.
Carlton is in no position to be bundling up draft picks or a pick and a player in two for one deals. We need all the quality players we can get!
There is no way Kade Simpson gets traded FFS.
SurreyBlue
18 Sep 2006, 16:08
Future leader of CFC and a beauty who won't be going anywhere.
gandaal
18 Sep 2006, 18:20
Future leader of CFC and a beauty who won't be going anywhere.
Current leader of CFC. He's in the leadership group.
KnaveyBlue
18 Sep 2006, 23:21
Guaranteed 10 year player, you'd be mad to trade him.
blues4flag
18 Sep 2006, 23:48
I won't bite your head off but you've gotta be kidding?Second rounder at best or a player/player swap.
Have you watched him play this season? Still young and has had a breakout season, averaging over 20 touches with serious pace. Kangaroos supporters have said that Mctinosh is worth a first round pick, but not Simpson? What a joke. For what it's worth, I'd prefer Wells over Simpson. Might be a bit of bias, but IMO there's no doubt that Simpson has had a better season. You probably won't agree with me on that, as most Kangaroos supporters probably won't. However, do you think that Wells is worth a first round draft pick? Because Simpson would atleast demand a similar pick. Had Kade been taken considerably higher in the draft and was in a successful club, I'm sure he'd be much more rated by others.
There is a definate argument to my trade.
Pick 7 + Kelly
You get a quality mid in Kelly (His year last year was probably equal to Simpson's this year) who is still only 22. Plus the best ruck in the draft who is already dominating in the WAFL.
What is worth more to Carlton
Simpson + Connors?
or Kelly + Leuenberger?
There is a specific reason for Geelong doing the trade. We have a team that should be contending for a premiership in the next 3 years but lacks pace. Kelly is a bit one paced and Luenberger is a ruckmen. Carlton are getting a premium in the trade to fix Geelongs problem because they can't wait to develop a ball carrying mid like Simpson.
Carlton won't be contenders in the next 3 years and really need a quality ruckmen. It is a deal which is win win in my opinion.
Probably won't ever happen but I wish it did.
whippersnipper
19 Sep 2006, 01:08
There is a definate argument to my trade.
Pick 7 + Kelly
You get a quality mid in Kelly (His year last year was probably equal to Simpson's this year) who is still only 22. Plus the best ruck in the draft who is already dominating in the WAFL.
What is worth more to Carlton
Simpson + Connors?
or Kelly + Leuenberger?
There is a specific reason for Geelong doing the trade. We have a team that should be contending for a premiership in the next 3 years but lacks pace. Kelly is a bit one paced and Luenberger is a ruckmen. Carlton are getting a premium in the trade to fix Geelongs problem because they can't wait to develop a ball carrying mid like Simpson.
Carlton won't be contenders in the next 3 years and really need a quality ruckmen. It is a deal which is win win in my opinion.
Probably won't ever happen but I wish it did.
Quite a reasonable little trade, and if it was foisted upon us for whatever reason I wouldnt be too disappointed. I still wouldnt go for it- Kelly is a player destined to leave the Cats anyway, while Simpson is well entrenched at the Blues and doesnt apear to want to leave. Simpson is a part of the future at the Blues, and while I think Kelly isnt necessarily a bad player, I dont think he is what we need at the moment.
As for ruckman, I think our problem is more in the back half than the ruck- we would be right drafting a mature ruckman and a young ruckman in the draft next year.
I think our ruck situation has been a little blown out of propotion because of French retiring (who isnt a massive loss anyway)
Not a stupid idea though.
Quite a reasonable little trade, and if it was foisted upon us for whatever reason I wouldnt be too disappointed. I still wouldnt go for it- Kelly is a player destined to leave the Cats anyway, while Simpson is well entrenched at the Blues and doesnt apear to want to leave. Simpson is a part of the future at the Blues, and while I think Kelly isnt necessarily a bad player, I dont think he is what we need at the moment.
As for ruckman, I think our problem is more in the back half than the ruck- we would be right drafting a mature ruckman and a young ruckman in the draft next year.
I think our ruck situation has been a little blown out of propotion because of French retiring (who isnt a massive loss anyway)
Not a stupid idea though.
Shame because there is just about no player I would prefer at Geelong (with in reason) than Simpson. Maybe Mattner
I think you are still short on rucks though. Maybe if yu can pick up Keating or Everitt it is not that desperate. Meeson would be even better/ If you didn't I think Leuenberger would get several games this year and would be more than handy.
blues4flag
19 Sep 2006, 11:12
Shame because there is just about no player I would prefer at Geelong (with in reason) than Simpson. Maybe Mattner
I think you are still short on rucks though. Maybe if yu can pick up Keating or Everitt it is not that desperate. Meeson would be even better/ If you didn't I think Leuenberger would get several games this year and would be more than handy.
To be honest, Simpson would be one of the first I'd refuse to trade. Just like the Cats need pace, so do we, and he is one of our few players with genuine pace. The Blues would be idiotic to trade him now after how much he's improved this year.
footy_paul
19 Sep 2006, 11:53
i would not trade him off, not all first round picks turn out to be stars.
Bolton-> Pick 4
Polak-> Pick 5
Fiora-> pick 3 or 4
carlton should keep a good player rather then risk it on a player who has not proven he can cut it at AFL level
To be honest, Simpson would be one of the first I'd refuse to trade. Just like the Cats need pace, so do we, and he is one of our few players with genuine pace. The Blues would be idiotic to trade him now after how much he's improved this year.
agreed!
blues4flag
19 Sep 2006, 14:40
i would not trade him off, not all first round picks turn out to be stars.
Bolton-> Pick 4
Polak-> Pick 5
Fiora-> pick 3 or 4
carlton should keep a good player rather then risk it on a player who has not proven he can cut it at AFL level
Not to mention Livingston. We've had enough experience with wasted high picks, we don't need to risk anymore.
chelsworthgale
19 Sep 2006, 15:52
Not to mention Livingston. We've had enough experience with wasted high picks, we don't need to risk anymore.
Throw Walsh > Pick 4 in there from the bulldogs...
But what you need to realise is the screening of these players are so much more delicate these days compared to when fiora and bolton were taken...
Look at the top ten (incl priorities) from:
Murphy, thomas, ellis, kennedy, pendlebury, dowler, ryder, oakley-nicholl, clark, drum (4-5 regular starters)
Deledio, roughhead, griffen, tambling, franklin, williams, lewis, meeson, russell, egan (5-6 regular starters)
Cooney, walker, sylvia, ray, mclean, bradley, tenace, R clarke, trotter, dunn (8 regular starters)
Early picks these days aren't waisted all that often the top 10 from every draft usually reaps great rewards. These days the hype surrounding a young player is always justified!