View Full Version : advice for anyone heading to sydney

music_2000
16 Sep 2006, 20:49
Okay guys I know at least some of you are making the trek up to Sydney and I just thought you might like
some advice when heading to Sydney for those who are new to this neck of the woods. if you still have any questions after reading this then please don't hesitate to ask me

Basically Sydney is not as good as Melbourne (or even Perth) transport wise.
train tickets from to the airport from the city are around $12

I really don’t like to admit that but anyway so if you want to get to Telstra stadium the best option is to get a train to Lidcombe which is accessible from most rail lines in Sydney. Get off at Lidcome and head to the ‘Olympic sprint platform’ I think they call it. Trains run back and forth to Olympic station. Telstra stadium is right near the station and as you exit you will see it. If you want a bite to eat before hand there is a McDonalds and a hotel/pub there too (I think it's the homebush bay hotel. They will probably have food stalls too (they do at NRL games). the food and beer at Telstra is good but expensive e.g. I paid around 8 dollars for a mini pizza last time I went there.

I think buses and ferries will be operating too but most of us take the train unless your staying in the northwest e.g. Castle hill
taking a car to Telstra is not recommended as it is expensive but if you plan to I advise you to book early as it is pre-paid

for places to stay, there is a Novatel and a Hotel Ibis at Homebush which gets busy during finals time. you might prefer to stay in Parramatta rather than the city as it is a stones throw away from Homebush but the backpackers hostels in the city are cheap. in fact this might help for homebush accommodation http://www.check-in.com.au/Sydney/Homebush_Bay_hotels.htm

cheers and hope to see you at the game

Sebastian Balboa
17 Sep 2006, 08:37
Okay guys I know at least some of you are making the trek up to Sydney and I just thought you might like
some advice when heading to Sydney for those who are new to this neck of the woods. if you still have any questions after reading this then please don't hesitate to ask me

Basically Sydney is not as good as Melbourne (or even Perth) transport wise.
train tickets from to the airport from the city are around $12

I really don’t like to admit that but anyway so if you want to get to Telstra stadium the best option is to get a train to Lidcombe which is accessible from most rail lines in Sydney. Get off at Lidcome and head to the ‘Olympic sprint platform’ I think they call it. Trains run back and forth to Olympic station. Telstra stadium is right near the station and as you exit you will see it. If you want a bite to eat before hand there is a McDonalds and a hotel/pub there too (I think it's the homebush bay hotel. They will probably have food stalls too (they do at NRL games). the food and beer at Telstra is good but expensive e.g. I paid around 8 dollars for a mini pizza last time I went there.

I think buses and ferries will be operating too but most of us take the train unless your staying in the northwest e.g. Castle hill
taking a car to Telstra is not recommended as it is expensive but if you plan to I advise you to book early as it is pre-paid

for places to stay, there is a Novatel and a Hotel Ibis at Homebush which gets busy during finals time. you might prefer to stay in Parramatta rather than the city as it is a stones throw away from Homebush but the backpackers hostels in the city are cheap. in fact this might help for homebush accommodation http://www.check-in.com.au/Sydney/Homebush_Bay_hotels.htm

cheers and hope to see you at the game
Thanks for all that.

I also just checked the long-range forecast, too. Gonna be sunny all week. :)

campbell
17 Sep 2006, 09:52
Cheers for that.

can you tell me how to get to Homebush from the airport.We are satying at the Novetel.

Rob
17 Sep 2006, 13:21
Can't you just get a train direct to the stadium from Central?

Noticed CBD accommodation is still pretty cheap. It's not like a couple of thousand Dockers fans are going to drive up prices....

Reveler
17 Sep 2006, 13:31
we are driving up and parking near a trainstation and getting that in. no point trying to park the bastard near the Stadium.

Dry Rot
17 Sep 2006, 13:45
we are driving up and parking near a trainstation and getting that in. no point trying to park the bastard near the Stadium.

Another possibility is checking out the special buses out to the Stadium. I know some start in my suburb of Glebe and you'd be able to find a park.

Reveler
17 Sep 2006, 13:52
do they have bus lanes though? don't really want to get stuck in traffic in a bus :)

MAG87
17 Sep 2006, 14:22
do they have bus lanes though? don't really want to get stuck in traffic in a bus :)

sydney has timed bus lanes in the cbd but not near homebush from my memory. around homebush there is a motorway and a lot of major aterial roads so id suggest using the train system. basically it can get ya to any suburb.

Homer Jnr
17 Sep 2006, 17:11
What's the best route to Homebush from the airport?

Also, anyone willing to guess how many will be there? I'm a convert for the evening and won't be taking a backward step, those mardi-gras lovers are in strife in 635-I!

I'll go down swinging for you all :)

music_2000
17 Sep 2006, 17:25
Can't you just get a train direct to the stadium from Central?

Noticed CBD accommodation is still pretty cheap. It's not like a couple of thousand Dockers fans are going to drive up prices....

on the day they have express trains to and from olympic park to the city. no trains go direct to olympic park. but if you are travelling from North Shore, Western, Inner West or South Line stations should travel to Lidcombe Station and change for the Olympic Park Sprint, they depart every ten minutes to Olympic Park
Cheers for that.

can you tell me how to get to Homebush from the airport.We are staying at the Novetel. if it is the novetel the easist way is to take the train from domestic airport station to central then take go to the western (yellow) line platform. it is the one that goes to Penrith via Parramatta. trains don't stop at homebush and homebush is not the stop for the novotel, just go to Lidcombe and get to the olympic sprint platform. even on weekdays trains run every half an hour to olympic park. the novotel is directly outisde the station to your left

remember you have to pay for a ticket from airport to central and you need a SEPARATE ticket to get from central to Homebush

this link should also help for those training it to the game. they plan to have entertainment and food stalls too so get there early http://www.cityrail.nsw.gov.au/event/060922-afl.jsp

campbell
17 Sep 2006, 17:54
on the day they have express trains to and from olympic park to the city. no trains go direct to olympic park. but if you are travelling from North Shore, Western, Inner West or South Line stations should travel to Lidcombe Station and change for the Olympic Park Sprint, they depart every ten minutes to Olympic Park
if it is the novetel the easist way is to take the train from domestic airport station to central then take go to the western (yellow) line platform. it is the one that goes to Penrith via Parramatta. trains don't stop at homebush and homebush is not the stop for the novotel, just go to Lidcombe and get to the olympic sprint platform. even on weekdays trains run every half an hour to olympic park. the novotel is directly outisde the station to your left

remember you have to pay for a ticket from airport to central and you need a SEPARATE ticket to get from central to Homebush

this link should also help for those training it to the game. they plan to have entertainment and food stalls too so get there early http://www.cityrail.nsw.gov.au/event/060922-afl.jsp

Thank you so so much for that info.
We are booked now for flights in on Friday morning.I have the directional skillss of a flea,so this will help us heaps.

I really appreciate your help.

music_2000
18 Sep 2006, 10:06
nah no worries mate, any other queries just PM me or post it on BF

crimson
18 Sep 2006, 11:43
The match ticket gives you free public transport to the ground. (accept from the airport to central which is a private company). Get the train to central from the airport and change platforms. There are signs everywhere. We are staying in Kings Cross. They have a Formule 1 http://www.formule1.com.au/search/default.aspx?hotel=5675 for $79 near the Station. (2 stops from the city.)