View Full Version : PRELIM FINAL Vs WEST COAST
How do you know this:confused:
Thursday for the rest I assume.
Itd be silly to take in someone whose been that sick and that underdone no matter how good you are. Its a very debilitating illness he has. It takes more then one week to get over no matter how tough you are. If you played him personally Id be shocked as would most.
Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 14:03
A scoreline does not always reflect the quality of play. Yes, full credit to West Coast for making the Doggies look like quite an amateur outfit but the WCE still made plenty of skill errors and did not look like a really cohesive unit. As for the "82 point raping" we received last meeting, we had lost our run and were "raped" as a consequence. The run is back, it's on our turf and it will be a completely different ball game. May the best team win :thumbsu:
Your lost run and being raped is due to the Eagles pressure ( as witnessed against the Dogs too ) at least you Crows supporters can admit that instead of denying it. The Crows supporters are there worst enemy and don't worry I run into a lot of Crows fans with my job and the fact I live in Adelaide.
You guys are bloody worried about players the boys from the west and don't deny it.The other thing is that supporters of another club we are entiled to be comfident as we have beaten the Crows 4 out of the Last 5 so it not called arrogance it's called confidance.:D
Itd be silly to take in someone whose been that sick and that underdone no matter how good you are. Its a very debilitating illness he has. It takes more then one week to get over no matter how tough you are. If you played him personally Id be shocked as would most.
Sorry I thought you were implying you were certain, but this is merely an assumption i take it.
Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 14:10
Crows will win.
**** OFF you feral eagles pricks.
Thats original from a cocky bunch.:eek:
Dandy_GO
17 Sep 2006, 14:30
Thats original from a cocky bunch.:eek:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17
Port1978
17 Sep 2006, 14:55
I don't normally say this, but good luck Adelaide....please beat those E-girls....I just can't handle all their cocky supporters!
crows_4_life
17 Sep 2006, 15:43
adelaide by 26 points, home ground advantage, weeks rest better defence and forward line.
revenge for last year, notice the teams have done the opposite to last year:
adelaide won 1st week (2005 lost 1st week)
west coast lost 1st week (2005 won first week)
played in perth prelim 2005, wce won
playing in adelaide 2006 prelim, adelaide should win.
KUNG FU
17 Sep 2006, 15:49
The parallels with last year's PF are creepy! I'm quite convinced that this is the real GF. I sincerely don't think Sydney can go back to back and Freo's has lost its steam.
The Crows are back in unbeatable form. With Burton & Macca back for Douglas & Massie, we're almost at full strength.
Crows by 22.
maccas_no1
17 Sep 2006, 17:20
If Massie gets dropped that would be criminal he has had a fantastic season:thumbsd:
Crowsno1
17 Sep 2006, 18:30
Your lost run and being raped is due to the Eagles pressure ( as witnessed against the Dogs too ) at least you Crows supporters can admit that instead of denying it. The Crows supporters are their worst enemy (calling the kettle black aren't we?) and don't worry I run into a lot of Crows fans with my job and the fact I live in Adelaide.
You guys are bloody worried about players the boys from the west (not sure what the you were trying to say there) and don't deny it.The other thing is that as supporters of another club we are entiled to be confident as we have beaten the Crows 4 out of the Last 5 so it's not called arrogance it's called confidence.:D
We lost a few games in a row and we acknowledge the drop in form and lack of run, no excuses. In stark contrast to your arrogance, our lack of run was not due to your pressure but due to an overload of training. We did not lose the run in our legs due to your pressure, the players were already exhausted prior to the game. This is a fact, not an excuse. It is evident from the Crow's last two games that the run is back and no, I'm not saying that this will guarantee a win (that would be arrogant).
On the other hand, West Coast lose a game and suddenly the supporters are all "it didn't mean anything, we didn't need to win" or "it was a blessing in disguise" etc etc. If you win on the day, if you win, it will be because you were the better team on the day and we will not make any excuses.
Arrogance I think not, just very proud of our team, as are you... but whilst we're on the topic of arrogance... Crows by 10 points. ;)
CrowMagnum
17 Sep 2006, 18:38
Your lost run and being raped is due to the Eagles pressure ( as witnessed against the Dogs too ) at least you Crows supporters can admit that instead of denying it. The Crows supporters are there worst enemy and don't worry I run into a lot of Crows fans with my job and the fact I live in Adelaide.
You guys are bloody worried about players the boys from the west and don't deny it.The other thing is that supporters of another club we are entiled to be comfident as we have beaten the Crows 4 out of the Last 5 so it not called arrogance it's called confidance.:D
Almost had me convinced until the last word. Not very intelligant are you?
Our lost run was from playing tired during a form slump. We're a different team now - in form and much more energy.
The Crows supporters at the ground have been far from an enemy lately,they're like an extra man. As for the Crows supporters you work with, how exactly will they influence the result?
Are we worried? Yeah a bit. WC are a good team and finished top but they're hardly unbeatable even at home let alone on the road. Are WC worried? I hope not, overconfidence is a dangerous thing especially in finals.
I don't normally say this, but good luck Adelaide....please beat those E-girls....I just can't handle all their cocky supporters!
Haha I am gona have so much fun this week :D Gonna give it to em all
Walk into work Monday with my Crows shirt on and tell them to bring it on :D
SA000584
17 Sep 2006, 20:22
adelaide by 26 points, home ground advantage, weeks rest better defence and forward line.
Based on your logic, Fremantle will win the grand final
birdmanptr
17 Sep 2006, 20:22
Thanks its going to be a long week selection will be interesting
Watched Maric and Hudson today and both looked ok Ivan took some great pack marks.
crows_4_life
17 Sep 2006, 20:27
Based on your logic, Fremantle will win the grand final
its logic not bullsh1t :D freo to win the flag?? i would streak around AAMI if they do cos it will never happen this season! i dont have to worry about that comment coming back to bite me on the ar$e
wires on fire.
17 Sep 2006, 20:31
as soon as you realise this, you know that adelaide are montys.
birdmanptr
17 Sep 2006, 20:34
Both sides beat NOTHING in the second week
ICanDressMyself
17 Sep 2006, 20:35
Roo, Macca and Burton will be back and we will triumph in wet conditions and go on to play the Swans.
I hope.
Crows by 19 points.
wires on fire.
17 Sep 2006, 20:37
the young guns from the west to triumph over the west lakes poopy pants old boys by 2 goals.
Stiffy_18
17 Sep 2006, 22:44
I didn't watch the game on saturday so I can't comment what Eagles were like or not like. What I know is that Eagles make me nervous. Their midfield is outstanding and if we are not 100% on our game we will lose because they have more class than us.
I am quietly confident that we can do it :thumbsu:
swanfan
17 Sep 2006, 22:47
Is confidance when you confide in someone after a loss. :D
swanniez1983
17 Sep 2006, 23:32
I hope we win, mostly because their theme song ****s me off.
sounds like something played during playschool ;)
redbeard
17 Sep 2006, 23:41
its logic not bullsh1t :D freo to win the flag?? i would streak around AAMI if they do cos it will never happen this season! i dont have to worry about that comment coming back to bite me on the ar$edont worry about the comment,worry about the mozzies!please crows give'em a belting cant handle there supporters banging on & on.move your fridge & 1/2 dozen scuttle out,turn on ya light same thing just like roaches
I didn't watch the game on saturday so I can't comment what Eagles were like or not like. What I know is that Eagles make me nervous. Their midfield is outstanding and if we are not 100% on our game we will lose because they have more class than us.
I am quietly confident that we can do it :thumbsu:
The addition of Kerr, Embley and Hansen didn't do them any harm either, especially Kerr. He is a genuine ball winner and a top class midfielder.
Perhaps better comparisons to the players we are considering for inclusion, fitness permitting. Instead of the 'look at what happened to St Kilda and how poorly Hamill played'........... have a look at how those guys played. It made all the difference to them to have those players back in.
I'm NOT arguing that we play unfit players. I am arguing that if players the calibre of Burton, McLeod and Roo are fit .....(a big 'if' I know) - then they should play.
Crow-mo
18 Sep 2006, 02:27
As they say in the classics, to be the best you've gotta beat the best.
but we're playing west coast? ;)
topjars
18 Sep 2006, 08:44
I dont know if anyone has noticed but the likes of Kerr and Cousins are masters of winning the high tackle in a 50 50 situation.
They dont duck thier head but they keep thier bodys low in a contest.
We must be aware of this or suffer the free kick count as we rack up our tackles.
swanfan
18 Sep 2006, 10:15
dont worry about the comment,worry about the mozzies!please crows give'em a belting cant handle there supporters banging on & on.move your fridge & 1/2 dozen scuttle out,turn on ya light same thing just like roaches
Can I have this translated in English ?
macca23
18 Sep 2006, 10:17
The addition of Kerr, Embley and Hansen didn't do them any harm either, especially Kerr. He is a genuine ball winner and a top class midfielder.
Perhaps better comparisons to the players we are considering for inclusion, fitness permitting. Instead of the 'look at what happened to St Kilda and how poorly Hamill played'........... have a look at how those guys played. It made all the difference to them to have those players back in.
I'm NOT arguing that we play unfit players. I am arguing that if players the calibre of Burton, McLeod and Roo are fit .....(a big 'if' I know) - then they should play.
Logically we should really play none of these then, because they just won't be up to AFL fitness.
Roo - definitely not because he hasn't even run laps yet after a seriously debilitating illness.
Macca - hasn't trained for several weeks. Can't possibly be fit. But he is mercurial and 60 minutes of him could be far more telling than 60 minutes of Massie. If he trains flat out this week, I'd be tempted.
Burton - yes, yes, yes. Absolute match-winner and adds the X-factor in the forward lines. The fittest of the three.
So for me it's one of everything with these 3 - a no, a maybe and a yes.
absolutezero
18 Sep 2006, 10:36
I've already got a faster heart rate at the moment thinking about this game. Who know what it will be like when watching it!
Surely we cannot get knocked out 2 years in a row by those bloody Eagles.
We will win.
Truck Rutten
18 Sep 2006, 11:26
You have to laugh at West Coast's record against us, seemingly only extending back 2 years. I'm sure we played you guys prior to that :rolleyes:
Yes, you've had 2 narrow wins against us the last 2 times at AAMI, when we only turned up for a half in each game. Prior to that your record at AAMI was terrible. I'm still not convinced that the extra 4 days you guys had before the round 2 game, wasn't a factor in our slow start.
It's like your recent "good" record against Sydney. The win loss count, doesn't really tell the full story ;)
glengowan
18 Sep 2006, 11:33
I don't give the Crows much of a chance. West Coast are a class above, especially with Adelaide's star players missing. The Crows wildcard is probably in the coaches box. Can Craig can manufacture a win?
swanfan
18 Sep 2006, 11:46
[QUOTE=glengowan]I don't give the Crows much of a chance. West Coast are a class above, especially with Adelaide's star players missing. The Crows wildcard is probably in the coaches box. Can Craig can manufacture a win?[/QUOTE
Where is the faith: ? Are you saying we need a bit of Steve Martin's Leap of Faith ? :thumbsd:
Capitalist
18 Sep 2006, 12:08
Is confidance when you confide in someone after a loss. :D
I think confidance is something you do when your ****ed at a nightclub ?:D
Eagles 4 Mine
18 Sep 2006, 12:11
You have to laugh at West Coast's record against us, seemingly only extending back 2 years. I'm sure we played you guys prior to that :rolleyes:
Yes, you've had 2 narrow wins against us the last 2 times at AAMI, when we only turned up for a half in each game. Prior to that your record at AAMI was terrible. I'm still not convinced that the extra 4 days you guys had before the round 2 game, wasn't a factor in our slow start.
It's like your recent "good" record against Sydney. The win loss count, doesn't really tell the full story ;)
THEN>>>>NOW hows that sound I am talking about recent games previous games stand for NIL but our record of late is pretty good thats what would concern you even if you want to disagree dude.
swanfan
18 Sep 2006, 12:15
I think confidance is something you do when your ****ed at a nightclub ?:D
LOL. :D
jenny61_99
18 Sep 2006, 13:21
You are only as good as the game you play ON THE DAY! Previous records and statistics count for nought. We've seen it time and again every season... this team hasnt won at that ground for this many games, and bugger me they do. Or, this team has beaten that team every time they've met for the last 250 years, and bugger me the other team wins. It's what happens ON THE DAY that matters!
Bring it on I say!
swanfan
18 Sep 2006, 13:47
You are only as good as the game you play ON THE DAY! Previous records and statistics count for nought. We've seen it time and again every season... this team hasnt won at that ground for this many games, and bugger me they do. Or, this team has beaten that team every time they've met for the last 250 years, and bugger me the other team wins. It's what happens ON THE DAY that matters!
Bring it on I say!
Fire up Jenny. :D
afc9798
18 Sep 2006, 13:59
I dont know if anyone has noticed but the likes of Kerr and Cousins are masters of winning the high tackle in a 50 50 situation.
They dont duck thier head but they keep thier bodys low in a contest.
We must be aware of this or suffer the free kick count as we rack up our tackles.
This is a very good point and I have noticed this throughout the season. I hope Thommo, in particular, has been made aware of this, as he is the most likely to be repetitively sucked in by this. It's smart play by Judd, Kerr, Cousins etc. so we have to tackle the hips and make them stick.
I think we can win this game if we pressure the Eagles for 4 quarters, but it's going to take our best application and execution of skills. Poor goal shooting will be the end of us, as it is vital that we take advantage of as many inside 50's as possible, especially early in the game. Even going into 3/4 time with a substantial lead is not good enough as the Eagles have shown that they can fight it out from a seemingly impossible position.
I have a lot of respect for the Eagles, but they are far from invincible and we have a lot of motivation to prove that they are not our nemesis. In 1998 we ended the nemesis of the Kangaroos and I'm confident Craigy and the boys can manufacture a plan to take out the Eagles.:thumbsu:
This is a very good point and I have noticed this throughout the season. I hope Thommo, in particular, has been made aware of this, as he is the most likely to be repetitively sucked in by this. It's smart play by Judd, Kerr, Cousins etc. so we have to tackle the hips and make them stick.
I think we can win this game if we pressure the Eagles for 4 quarters, but it's going to take our best application and execution of skills. Poor goal shooting will be the end of us, as it is vital that we take advantage of as many inside 50's as possible, especially early in the game. Even going into 3/4 time with a substantial lead is not good enough as the Eagles have shown that they can fight it out from a seemingly impossible position.
I have a lot of respect for the Eagles, but they are far from invincible and we have a lot of motivation to prove that they are not our nemesis. In 1998 we ended the nemesis of the Kangaroos and I'm confident Craigy and the boys can manufacture a plan to take out the Eagles.:thumbsu:
Have to play Kenny instead of Perrie :thumbsu: I know he was out of form before he went out of the side but I reckon he was carrying an injury. He will come good if we play him and could be the difference-a target up forward!
Wilburwild
18 Sep 2006, 14:51
Rucci ( i know i know) actually made a good point about the weagles style in todays paper, he pointed out how the eagles love to hug the boundary and how at subiaco this os ok because there is no pockets, but AAMI has very deep pockets and this COULD bring the weagles down. Lynch from the Bock Pocket would most likely put it out on the full 9/10 times. in the last 2 games especially, but also early in the year, the crows have been very good at forcing teams wide from a kick in or when rebounding out of their defence. opposition teams have often been caught out in their defensive 50 and eventually been forced to kick long and wide to a contest. if Adelaide can put this kind of pressure on the weagles they will struggle at AAMI.
also the likes of young porps and matty bode probably wont be given the respect they deserve by the somewhat arrogant eagles. thye believe that we should man up on them in every position of the ground, and so do a lot of the judd obsessed media, but West coast really need to look out if they think they can let Porps and the like run free!!
Rucci ( i know i know) actually made a good point about the weagles style in todays paper, he pointed out how the eagles love to hug the boundary and how at subiaco this os ok because there is no pockets, but AAMI has very deep pockets and this COULD bring the weagles down. !
LOL he stole my post from last year ...good onya Rucci :thumbsu:
Then someone pointed out that Hansen straightens them up, and I have to agree.... Eagles are 12-0 with Hansen in the side :eek:
I hope you don't mind me posting here. I have to say, I'm a bit nervous about the game on the weekend, I know if WC don't put in a solid 4 quarter effort and take their chances, the Crows will roll them, they're a quality team.
Anyway, if WC don't win on the weekend, I hope the Crows can go all the way. :thumbsu:
I hope you don't mind me posting here. I have to say, I'm a bit nervous about the game on the weekend, I know if WC don't put in a solid 4 quarter effort and take their chances, the Crows will roll them, they're a quality team.
Anyway, if WC don't win on the weekend, I hope the Crows can go all the way. :thumbsu:
I'm like you I am not sure about this one... by Thursday I should be fully pumped and believing in a 7 goal win for the AFC.
And dont take this the wrong way but for a non Eagles supporter living in Perth I hope Sydney take it out if we cant
crows98
18 Sep 2006, 15:03
For anyone interested
AFC Training Times
Sunday 17 September 2006
Adelaide will have a recovery session at AAMI Stadium on Monday, September 18, from about 2pm.
Wednesday's session will be 11am and Friday's session will be at 10am. Both will be held at AAMI Stadium so come along and show your support as we prepare for the preliminary final.
Then someone pointed out that Hansen straightens them up, and I have to agree.... Eagles are 12-0 with Hansen in the side :eek:
Yep from this thread... (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=189981&highlight=planet)
I said MCG , Rucci says AAMI.. There IS a quiet undercurrent of unease about the MCG, but recent wins there have pushed those thoughts back a little. There should be little reason why the MCG holds any fears for them as Subiaco and the MCG are both large grounds. Maybe West Coast by not playing corridor football make the mistake of running too wide on the MCG allowing opponents time to get into space. It will be a factor in the press and that alone will cause doubts to resurface.
and look at Meads response to Hansen
Very good call, that's exactly it in a nutshell. The most critical player for us at the MCG is Ash Hansen, who as a legitimate CHF, straightens us up and keeps us in the corridor- its interesting that in our 2-2 record at the MCG this year, the 2 losses came in game tha went off injured in and then one he missed altogether. Getting him fit and and in top form over the next 2-3 weeks is probably the single most critical thing to our premiership hopes
Looking forward to this one, gonna be a great game fellas and all the best to whoever makes it through :thumbsu:
I might even have to boycott my beloved Coopers Pale Ale incase that gets Adelaide over the line ;)
Wilburwild
18 Sep 2006, 15:43
AFC by 10 goals
jesus mary and joseph! thats gotta be pushing it a bit doesnt it? but how AWESOME would that be?!?! Imagine the crowd and the arrogant eagles supporters!
personally i think it will be a little closer than that, but the media talk up the eagles so much. if they play like they did on saturday and we play like we did against freo and melbourne, we will have a comfortable win. the eagles cant afford to be sloppy against the crows, or they'll pay for it dearly!!
CAAAAARN THE CROWS!:D:D:D
by the way: we beats melbourne by 58 and freo by 30. freo beat Melb by 28! whats the chances of that?
THEN>>>>NOW hows that sound I am talking about recent games previous games stand for NIL but our record of late is pretty good thats what would concern you even if you want to disagree dude.
Okay rnd 1 2005 was Adelaide first game under Craigs way,we have come so far since then in all aspets on the field,poor kicking beat us that day.
Rnd 2 2006, well we were not exactly at full strength had played the monday night away when you guys played the Thursday at home and we lost by 2 points.
There is an argument that those two games stand for NIL.
peterss
18 Sep 2006, 15:57
Its going to be a great game indeed. Two very quality teams and both teams worthy of a sopt in the grand final but there can only be one.....May the ebst team win.
Wirra is in a bit of doubt and itll be a blow if he is to miss - If he does i can see the ever-reliable old head that goes by the name Drew Banfield to come in to replace him.
Graham will also come back in this week - he only missed the game against the Bulldogs as there wasnt a match up for him but with the Crows taller forward line you would expect him to come back in.....Rosa may be the one who misses if Graham comes back in.
Sampi may also come back into the side to continue the battles that he has had with Stiffy in the past - Cant see it happening but it will certainly be in the forefront of Woosha's mind in that he knows Samps plays well against the crows and agaisnt Stiffy.
Its going to be a great game and if we lose then i hope the crows go all the way and win the cup.
More to come later ;)
Jars458
18 Sep 2006, 15:58
He's due for a loss:D
West Coast got belted by Freo. We beat Freo. QED.;)
Rutten on Lynch
Bassett on Hunter
crows98
18 Sep 2006, 16:00
Okay rnd 1 2005 was Adelaide first game under Craigs way,we have come so far since then in all aspets on the field,poor kicking beat us that day.
Rnd 2 2006, well we were not exactly at full strength had played the monday night away when you guys played the Thursday at home and we lost by 2 points.
Even the round 18 thrashing at Subiaco stand for nil
At the moment it is a 50/50 contest between the WCE and the Crows (maybe 51/49)towards the Crows because of a home ground crowd.
I have never subscribed to this theory that you can take a psychological advantage into games because of previous results especially if the two sides are so evenly matched.
crows98
18 Sep 2006, 16:01
Rutten on Lynch
Bassett on Hunter
I would put Stevens on Hunter and Bassett on Waters (so he can zone off).
Bock for Hanson
Sounds better than mine :D
birdmanptr
18 Sep 2006, 16:13
Would any one here consider playing Maric up forward?
Saw him play yesterday and he got heaps of touches and marks more to him than just a ruckman
Thoughts?
earlsta
18 Sep 2006, 16:33
carn the mighty crows
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/1719/roodo5.th.jpg (http://img244.imageshack.us/my.php?image=roodo5.jpg)
I wanna see this after the game!
Wilburwild
18 Sep 2006, 16:35
Saw him play yesterday and he got heaps of touches and marks more to him than just a ruckman
Thoughts?
he needs more time. now isnt the time to be taking a risk like that. we want the best possible side going into this game and if we have another tall come in it has to be kenny. but i think we have the talls we need, and kenny will be lucky to find a spot (unfortuanetly) we need the run so we can pressure the eagles into turning the ball over!!
Jars458
18 Sep 2006, 17:24
Burton Ricciuto and McLeod all trained with the main group today
Roo says he is unlikely but Burton and McLeod are possible starters this week.
Burton Ricciuto and McLeod all trained with the main group today
Roo says he is unlikely but Burton and McLeod are possible starters this week.
Burton and Macca will be putting their hand up for selection and Roo should be ready for the GF if we make it.
I hope we don't bring in any underdone players... Because the kids that played against Freo deserve their spots. Porpylzia, Massie etc all have to stay in the side! I would like to see Hudson in, another tall woudln't hurt, and Kenny, we gotta have Kenny in...
The week off is sure to mean something, gotta help us.
The Eagles game on the weeked wasn't that bad, it was a wet game. But take into account they were playing 8th, at home, that in my opinion is what got them so far in front.
I'm nervous as all hell, but I think we'll get over the line, the crowd will be our 23rd player.
Crow-mo
18 Sep 2006, 20:23
I'm just a bit worried, that our players won't be quite as up for the match as they might be. Sydney are clearly the best team, and we want to play the best. Hopefully we can still be hyped to perform against a challenger from the tier below.
Crow-mo
18 Sep 2006, 20:25
Thoughts?
no. absolutely not
Glenno23
18 Sep 2006, 20:43
Just heard that Kerr failed to train today and Wirrpanda is under a huge cloud....
eagles say its nothing..... will be interesting to see....
Lynch apparently has a bag finger injury as well. No evidence on that though.
macca23
18 Sep 2006, 20:53
Wirrpanda is very unlikely to play IMO. He gave his hammy a ping very early in the Bulldogs game and took very little part in it.
You'd think that Lynch would play, either with fingers strapped or a support splint if necessary depending on what that injury was.
As Neil Kerley would say, you run on your legs, not your finger!! :)
The club doctor suggested that Wirra not play in the second half. Apparently its just hamstring tightness, but you can never be sure.
Kane McGoodwin
18 Sep 2006, 21:12
Bock for Hanson
Bock should start forward.
If the Weagles go tall, Massie is another option.
Kane McGoodwin
18 Sep 2006, 21:16
What are the midfield matchups, as have plenty to cover?
Shirley v Judd
Edwards v Kerr
Goodwin v Stenglein
Reilly v Cousins
Doughty v Braun
Mattner v Embley
With Thompson & VB part of the rotations.
The Shark
18 Sep 2006, 21:28
you can only hope the w.c. team is as arrogant as their supporters... will surely be there undoing !
What's that? We're the ones that are arrogant haha. Gathering by what ive read in this thread so far, the Crows are going to pants us?
Obvious bias aside, anyone who thinks this game wont go to the wire is kidding themselves.
Lets hope for a cracking game, no injuries and may the best team win...not only this week but the week after as well (cant have Sydney win again, or god forbid FREO!!!) :thumbsu:
EDIT : That was too nice...gotta throw in an "Adelaide Suck!" :D
McLeod23
18 Sep 2006, 22:19
What are the midfield matchups, as have plenty to cover?
Shirley v Judd
Edwards v Kerr
Goodwin v Stenglein
Reilly v Cousins
Doughty v Braun
Mattner v Embley
With Thompson & VB part of the rotations.
I'd like Shirley to go to Kerr, because I think he is their most important player. He is the reason the Swans were able to beat the Eagles. Shirls needs to be on his hammer at all times and stop his delivery to their outside runners.
van Berlo to Cousins - should be able to match him aerobically, and will be a great learning experience for Nate. Also, he will obviously crush Cousins. :thumbsu:
As for Judd, he is near impossible to stop, so as long as he has a direct opponent who can partially make him accountable and get some ball of their won, that'll do me.
It looks like Burton will come in as well, which will provide some must welcomed midfield depth.
Just hope they decide to tag Goodwin, because my worry is that if they let him go head-to-head with Judd or Cousins, that Eagle midfielder will tear us apart. (See R.Harvey and S.West for confirmation)
Reilly v Cousins
:eek:
Please... No...
Dandy_GO
19 Sep 2006, 00:51
Just hope they decide to tag Goodwin, because my worry is that if they let him go head-to-head with Judd or Cousins, that Eagle midfielder will tear us apart. (See R.Harvey and S.West for confirmation)
Not necessarily - Last time we played the Saints is a good example. Goodwin was matched up on Dal Santo and absolutely slaughtered him. If Goodwin is on his game then he's capable of coming out on top, or at least even, against even Judd or Cousins. He can play accountable and attacking football at the same time.
But you're quite right that if he's off his game then the results can be disasterous. Gonna need a big game from Goody, that's for sure.
Stiffy_18
19 Sep 2006, 09:49
Got this from the main board. Umpires for this week are
Adelaide v West Coast
Goldspink
Ryan
Ellis
Emg's: McInerney & KennedyJust great. We get tossbags AGAIN :mad:
crows98
19 Sep 2006, 09:56
Got this from the main board. Umpires for this week are
Just great. We get tossbags AGAIN :mad:
But doesn’t he dislike them more than he dislikes us?:confused:
I guess that’s some bit of a positive. :eek:
Sydney are clearly the best team, and we want to play the best.
You have got to be kidding!
Sydney are the least deserving of all the preliminary finallists this year. The only reason they made the top four this season is because they had a Collingwoodlike draw - of the seven return games, only ONE was played against a finallist - Melbourne, at the peake of their injury woes (Robbo, Davey, Pickett all missing).
Of Sydney's eight H&A encounters with the other finallists, this is their record:
R4: Melbourne (SCG) - Loss
R8: Footscray (SCG) - Win
R11: St Kilda (SCG) - Loss
R12: Collingwood (Homebush) - Loss
R13: Fremantle (SCG) - Win
R14: Adelaide (SCG) - Loss
R15: West Coast (Subi) - Loss
R19: Melbourne (MCG) - Win
Not only did they LOSE five out of eight games against the other finallists, but four of those five lossess were played in Sydney.
In contrast, Adelaide played five return games against the other finallists. Adelaide won eight out of twelve games against the other finallists, with two of the losses being against the Weagles.
It is just a quirk of the game that they happen to match up incredibly well against the Weagles, against whom they were drawn to play in the Qualifying Final. They didn't deserve to finish top-four and they sure as heck don't deserve to be rated as the "best team" in the competition.
Eagles 4 Mine
19 Sep 2006, 10:23
That my friend is not an argument it's an EXCUSE and it good that you talk about recent games well done.
Round 1 2005 EAGLES WIN:D
Round 2 2006 EAGLES WIN:D
crows98
19 Sep 2006, 10:31
That my friend is not an argument it's an EXCUSE and it good that you talk about recent games well done.
Round 1 2005 EAGLES WIN:D
Round 2 2006 EAGLES WIN:D
Fan – ****ing – tastic for the Wet Toast.
I guess you have nothing to worry then! But I guess you do as you’re an insecure little creature or you wouldn’t be on our board all the time trying to convince us (or yourself) of your side brilliance.
Last final at AAMI stadium between to 2 clubs. Crows smashed the Eagles.
You can win the home & away matches, we'll win the finals :thumbsu:
Last final at AAMI stadium between to 2 clubs. Crows smashed the Eagles.
You can win the home & away matches, we'll win the finals :thumbsu:
We're 2-1 in Finals...
Too bad our wins against them were so long ago though :p
I saw both!:thumbsu:
West Coast 06
19 Sep 2006, 14:56
Sydney are the least deserving of all the preliminary finallists this year. The only reason they made the top four this season is because they had a Collingwoodlike draw - of the seven return games, only ONE was played against a finallist - Melbourne, at the peake of their injury woes (Robbo, Davey, Pickett all missing).
Of Sydney's eight H&A encounters with the other finallists, this is their record:
Not only did they LOSE five out of eight games against the other finallists, but four of those five lossess were played in Sydney.
In contrast, Adelaide played five return games against the other finallists. Adelaide won eight out of twelve games against the other finallists, with two of the losses being against the Weagles.
It is just a quirk of the game that they happen to match up incredibly well against the Weagles, against whom they were drawn to play in the Qualifying Final. They didn't deserve to finish top-four and they sure as heck don't deserve to be rated as the "best team" in the competition.
You are exactly right!
Thats why it sh1ts me so much that they managed to beat us by a point in the qualifying final. They then stay neatly tucked away on the easy side of the draw to another GF.
At the beginning of the season I wanted to see an Adelaide v West Coast GF. We have clearly been the best two teams in the comp for two years now. Whoever wins on Saturday out of our teams had better smash Sydney in the GF, my one wish is they do not go back to back.
earlsta
19 Sep 2006, 15:09
We, AFC have to make sure Judd is made accountable within 1 metre.
Which is pretty hard, but the way he hits the pack, if he gets the ball and someone is not a metre away from him he will break free and hurt us pretty bad.
This week we'll have a pretty strong forward line. BODE, PORPLYZ, BURTON, WELSH, BIGLANDS rotating, Perrie, I think only 3 of these guys played against you lot in round 20 or whatever where we got smashed.
Hentschel, Roo had a shocker, burton played well. This forward line here is fairly damaging. If Mcleod is fit, he can seriously hurt you guys on the rebound, Lynch and co won't have any hope catching Mcleod on the rebound that's for sure.
Our guys will be fresh, fresh as hell. If you remember our 2nd game in the finals last year against Port....I think that was the best we have looked all year, really really fresh. Lets hope Craig has prepared properly for this week.
The fact that we have had a week off, is a great advantage for us.
BTW Sydney showed WC if you have good forwards you can take them on. Micky O & Hall aren't good, they are champions. Our delivery into the FWD will win us the game, we have to hurt the eagles bigtime.
I think it has been 4,5 weeks since we stopped the intense training, there is no doubt we will be fresher than we ever had been throughout the year. Hopefully some of our mid-season form will be on display on saturday :thumbsu:
KUNG FU
19 Sep 2006, 15:10
You are exactly right!
Thats why it sh1ts me so much that they managed to beat us by a point in the qualifying final. They then stay neatly tucked away on the easy side of the draw to another GF.
At the beginning of the season I wanted to see an Adelaide v West Coast GF. We have clearly been the best two teams in the comp for two years now. Whoever wins on Saturday out of our teams had better smash Sydney in the GF, my one wish is they do not go back to back.
Yeah I agree totally. Wish you guys had got over the line.
GF this Saturday at AAMI. ;)
Wilburwild
19 Sep 2006, 15:16
Kerr has hurt the crows more in the past couple of games than Judd. sure judd is a great player, but dont fall into the media hype! Kerr is the one in and under the pack dishing it out to cousins and judd. if we can stop kerr, judd will not have the feed to produce.
i think the media (especially interstate) are somewhat underestimating the adelaide side. so what if we're not a team of champions, we're a champion team! Being underdogs also means West Coast have the pressure to win not us!
TheLeftFist8
19 Sep 2006, 15:31
Kerr has hurt the crows more in the past couple of games than Judd. sure judd is a great player, but dont fall into the media hype! Kerr is the one in and under the pack dishing it out to cousins and judd. if we can stop kerr, judd will not have the feed to produce.
i think the media (especially interstate) are somewhat underestimating the adelaide side. so what if we're not a team of champions, we're a champion team! Being underdogs also means West Coast have the pressure to win not us!
I agree that Kerr is the first priority, for the reason you mention. I have posted elsewhere my line-up for this week but as far as the defensive match-ups in the midfield i reckon Shirley v Kerr (similar in and under types), VB v Cousins (similar ability to run all day) and Doughty/Porplyzia to share the job on Judd (big ask but someone needs to step up!).
Having said all that, the biggest key as an overall team is to actually attack! If we lose (which i certainly don't think we will), we better not lose like we did last prelim., playing timid, reactive football. If we go out there and play our game, not react to theirs, we will win! Therefore, i would keep attacking midfielders such as Goodwin, Edwards, Reilly, Thompson, Mattner (plus other rotations) in their ball-getting, line-breaking, and hopefully goalkicking roles...not to mention our rebounding defence and improving attack with the eagles nemesis Brett Burton...looking forward to a big win!
I agree that Kerr is the first priority, for the reason you mention. I have posted elsewhere my line-up for this week but as far as the defensive match-ups in the midfield i reckon Shirley v Kerr (similar in and under types), VB v Cousins (similar ability to run all day) and Doughty/Porplyzia to share the job on Judd (big ask but someone needs to step up!).
Having said all that, the biggest key as an overall team is to actually attack! If we lose (which i certainly don't think we will), we better not lose like we did last prelim., playing timid, reactive football. If we go out there and play our game, not react to theirs, we will win! Therefore, i would keep attacking midfielders such as Goodwin, Edwards, Reilly, Thompson, Mattner (plus other rotations) in their ball-getting, line-breaking, and hopefully goalkicking roles...not to mention our rebounding defence and improving attack with the eagles nemesis Brett Burton...looking forward to a big win!
I agree with your observations... but to play the positive, proactive football you desire I don't think we can do a job on the big 3. Maybe 2 at the most with Shirley and VB doing jobs. Whoever is on the 3rd WCE gun must win or at least break even re his output for AFC.
The big 3 spend a lot of time in the middle. There is usually 2 of the 3 in the middle at anyone time. If all 3 were to be tagged it doesn't leave much room for Goodwin, Edwards, Reilly, Thompson, Mattner rotations (which I agree we need and need to perform). Its a very hard one. Cousins spends majority of time at HFF these days. Maybe Shirley v Judd, VB v Kerr.
With Cousins on HFF it stuffs up our usual HB line of Mcleod, Stevens, Johncock. Niether of them will play on him. Unfortunately macca and stiffy will be pushed closer to goals if they don't play on him. They can't play on him, because they wont be able to play their own game.
Coaches will earn their money...
swanfan
19 Sep 2006, 18:03
this is like 13 pages of reassurring stats and statements from crows fans. what are you guys scared or something?
Lol. Troll on. :rolleyes:
TheLeftFist8
19 Sep 2006, 18:23
I agree with your observations... but to play the positive, proactive football you desire I don't think we can do a job on the big 3. Maybe 2 at the most with Shirley and VB doing jobs. Whoever is on the 3rd WCE gun must win or at least break even re his output for AFC.
The big 3 spend a lot of time in the middle. There is usually 2 of the 3 in the middle at anyone time. If all 3 were to be tagged it doesn't leave much room for Goodwin, Edwards, Reilly, Thompson, Mattner rotations (which I agree we need and need to perform). Its a very hard one. Cousins spends majority of time at HFF these days. Maybe Shirley v Judd, VB v Kerr.
With Cousins on HFF it stuffs up our usual HB line of Mcleod, Stevens, Johncock. Niether of them will play on him. Unfortunately macca and stiffy will be pushed closer to goals if they don't play on him. They can't play on him, because they wont be able to play their own game.
Coaches will earn their money...
I agree that if all 3 are in the middle at once, we should not 'tag' them all, but as you have alluded to it rarely happens, with at least one of them playing forward at any given time. If it does happen we will take advantage in the middle when they rest or tire.
Re the backline, i am happy to have Stiffy on the last line, with Macca on the flank, it's a good spread of runners. Cousins is not the average HFF and does need a little more defensive attention and i agree McLeod and Stiffy are not the ones for the job.
In terms of match-ups, I reckon Shirley is the man for Kerr, especially as he has only once limited Judd in many attempts.
Judd is most likely going to have a good game no matter who plays on him, wasting one of the taggers. Kerr is much more susceptible to being put off his game early and having a quiet one.
So is Burton playing then? Good on him if he is, love watching the Birdman play. Hopefully he has a solid game returning from injury.
If Wirra doesn't come up then most likely Banners will return. Played well on Bode last time they met, but then again everyone had a good one that day. I hope Banners gets another game or two because I wouldn't want him to retire being dropped from the side.
Judd is most likely going to have a good game no matter who plays on him, wasting one of the taggers. I am sure NC agrees:p
Kerr is much more susceptible to being put off his game early and having a quiet one. Maybe, but he comes back hard..he has this fierce desire that is hard to beat
Going to be a good game
RoosterLad
20 Sep 2006, 12:43
I dont think either team deserves to be favourite, no one is the underdog either, its basically a 50/50 clash against two ****ing awesome teams.
How do you guys go in the rain. They say 80% chance of rain during the game and with rain the day before should make for a wet slippery football. Id say it would suit us pretty well if some rain did come. For mine your plan seems similiar to the Bulldogs however with a better defense behind yous. We generally have alot of players that love the slippery ball and id say if it does rain advantage Eagles.
Would ya disagree with that?
RoosterLad
20 Sep 2006, 14:00
If it does rain we will be fine.
Running and bouncing would be made all that more difficult. We arnt really a running and bouncing side we prefer to dispose of the ball ASAP. Do you have any wet weather pros like Kerr and Judd though in the middle of the park
Adam BK
20 Sep 2006, 14:04
HaHa this reminds me of last year, I remember when it was forecasted to rain for the St Kilda qualiflying final, the St Kilda supporters were trying to claim that it would suit them and the same for Adelaide supporters.
It would, look what we did to Bullies with a wet slippery ball. They barely touched the thing.
Wouldnt care if it rains or not but if it does id be fairly confident of a win in that situation
RoosterLad
20 Sep 2006, 14:38
We will see......
Crow-mo
20 Sep 2006, 21:05
1. they're reigning premiers
2. see point 1
3. I wasn't fishing for one our supporters
4. see point 1 :D
Do you have any wet weather pros like Kerr and Judd though in the middle of the park
We usually draft our players before they hit the street.
GoSarge
20 Sep 2006, 21:11
It would, look what we did to Bullies with a wet slippery ball. They barely touched the thing.
Wouldnt care if it rains or not but if it does id be fairly confident of a win in that situation
Almost seems like overconfidence, bordering on arrogance.
Hope your players come over here with the same attitude.