View Full Version : PRELIM FINAL Vs WEST COAST

Pages : [1] 2 3

birdmanptr
16 Sep 2006, 22:26
Replay of lasts years game different ground and result.

Eagles were not that impressive and while we will have to be at our best i have seen nothing tonight to suggest we wont win.

Big no huge game will be required by our ruckman they get on top and we are well on our way.

The most important thing for us is goal kicking nail the ones we should and MCG here we come

CROWS by 4-6 goals

Mr_Smooth
16 Sep 2006, 22:29
hell your gonna look like a goose if the bullies kick 8 goals to 1 in the final quarter... :)

hard to tell on their performance tonight, if the bulldogs could actually take a mark in their 50(or kick a goal for that matter), it might be different

adelaide by 21

kirky
16 Sep 2006, 22:31
Bring it on.

Parry St.
16 Sep 2006, 22:38
Please Crows do something to stop Hunter looking like he is a better player than he is.

Bugz
16 Sep 2006, 22:43
Few things;
Steven "I love Judd" Quatermain better not be commentating, Truck will show everyone just how poor Lynch is and I hope Van Berlo runs through Hunter.:)

Mad Dog
16 Sep 2006, 22:50
West Coast are currently exhausting themselves by kicking so many goals.......they are falling right into our trap.........:) :thumbsu: :)

Truck Rutten
16 Sep 2006, 22:54
Adelaide by 3-4 goals.

jenny61_99
16 Sep 2006, 22:56
I predict that we will be seen as the under-dogs for the third successive game at AAMI stadium. Hmmm it's worked well so far! ;)

birdmanptr
16 Sep 2006, 23:01
I predict that we will be seen as the under-dogs for the third successive game at AAMI stadium. Hmmm it's worked well so far! ;)

Thats true Eagles will be judged on tonights game where they played boys and they were under the pump all week

adelcrows
16 Sep 2006, 23:03
I think if West Coast play anywhere near that standard then we are home free, was the scrappiest game ever!!
Hunter played well, I cant stand the Guy but he didn't have anyone on him playing any descent footy, he got a couple of soft marks, the Bass will take care of him, Judd and Kerr were pretty good tonight, we have to stop Kerr I think, you are never gonna completely stop Judd so concentrate more on Kerr and limit what Judd can do!
If we play well as we have the last few weeks and we actually realize we have to kick it through the big sticks we should be right!! I live in WA and the worst result ever would we A west coast and Freo grandy :( Lets do it this year boys, roles are reversed, last year we finished on top and lost at Subi after losing the first week, this time they finished on top and lost at AAMI ;) in the Prelim
CARN THE CROWS!!

Adam BK
16 Sep 2006, 23:03
Robert Walls is back on the eagles bandwagon

rayven
16 Sep 2006, 23:06
WE can on our home ground and with are defence make life hard for the West Coast forwards.

Our run from half back will give us sufficent forward 50 entries to win.

There Midfield will attack and attack and not stop attacking and provide us with grief at stoppages but the moment they tire we will do damage.

Hunter and Glass in defence could make life hard for us,if Burton comes in and is on song I dont see a match up for him.

We need to hurt cox,he hurts us and we need to return the favour as he will do damage.

Clarke will get the oppotunity with ruck taps,Biglands needs to bang into him and his mosquitos and get forward.

With reasonable delivery forward Bock and Perrie will create space for Welsh and possibly Burton.Porps could be an X factor,both in raids on the midfield with his composure and his all round small forwards game up forward.

The damage there Midfielders can do in the first 3 quarters worries me.

Our two losses in rnd 2 this year and the Pre lim last year there midfield did too much by the time we came back hard in the last quarter.

Beat the KPP's we win.

maccas_no1
16 Sep 2006, 23:07
The reverse of 2005 this time its on our grass, fire up AFC supporters every single one of you and carry this mighty club to the 'big one'

Carn The Mighty Crows:D :thumbsu:

Ad-e-laide Ad-e-laide Ad-e-laide.......................

GoSarge
16 Sep 2006, 23:11
Wirrpunda looks like he will miss.

50/50 for mine, we'll miss Macca, Roo, Burton, Hart and Hentschell but we've also had the extra week off.

Mad Dog
16 Sep 2006, 23:12
AFC by 10 goals

acg_204*
16 Sep 2006, 23:13
As they say in the classics, to be the best you've gotta beat the best.

Bring it.

Scruba
16 Sep 2006, 23:13
good luck for next week hope you smash 'em :thumbsu:

kirky
16 Sep 2006, 23:14
We have had close results at AAMI against this mob recently and will be expecting the same again next week. Disregard the loss against this mob 7 weeks ago, totally irrelevant - different ground, we will be rested, crowd.

Make sure we have our voices ready to go next week. FIRE UP people!

rayven
16 Sep 2006, 23:15
AFC by 10 goals
Your being modest and underating us arnt you?:p

-CG-
16 Sep 2006, 23:16
The home crowd will be a huge advanatge :thumbsu:

All the talk will be on the eagles and with burton to come back into the side, I think we're a good chance :)

King Elvis
16 Sep 2006, 23:20
The best thing is the Crows attitude to this game.

The whole, "what a challenge, we want to knock them off, we want to beat the best and make amends," type thing.

It'll be close, if we're on song, we'll win.

- PC -
16 Sep 2006, 23:26
I am concerned about this game and no way do I think it is a walk into the GF... I do think we will win...but West Coast are a good team who currently hold a 4-1 record against us.

Dont take them lightly

Dandy_GO
16 Sep 2006, 23:33
I've got a weird feeling that Bock will play a blinder.

In any case, I'd have much rather played the Dogs, but Wet Toast will do. We've gotta make as much noise as we can. Make the Eagles feel the pressure. It does make a difference and it's up to us. :thumbsu:

jo172
16 Sep 2006, 23:35
I hope we win, mostly because their theme song ****s me off.

Crows_Chick
16 Sep 2006, 23:37
Hard to judge eagles on tonights game, i think the bulldogs bad play made the coasters look better than they really are... BUT pencil next week's game in as a win at your peril... It's gonna be a tough game and i think we'll be needing that even contribution from everyone again to beat them !!

AND if Macca and Birdman (the only real hopeful in's) are not 100% forget about them; 22 fit, firing and hungry men over the potential star power any and every day of the week in my opinion, west coast will expose anyone who's underdone!!

p.s. brace yourself for the influx of w.c. trolls on this board for the next 6 days... i highly doubt the friendly banter and mutual respect shared with freo supporters last weekend will be the way this week !!

C'MON CROW BOYS !!

Crows_Chick
16 Sep 2006, 23:38

I second that... would be like rubbing salt in the wounds :mad:

hot carl
16 Sep 2006, 23:39
You will lose.

Crows_Chick
16 Sep 2006, 23:41
You will lose.

and so it begins...

raikkonen
16 Sep 2006, 23:42
Ive seen West Coast play live 3 times this year: round 2 against us, round 12 against port and round 17 against us at Subiaco. Each time i have come away from these games really pi$$ed off because they won (against us) or lost (against port)! Being at Subiaco and copping it from their fans was hard but I kept saying to myself finals are played in september thats when it counts. Next week I will see them play for the 4th time live, and it will be the sweetest victory of them all if we get it, after enduring the game at Subi in round 17.

GO YOU MIGHTY CROWS!!! GF here we come.

Drummond
16 Sep 2006, 23:44
I am concerned about this game and no way do I think it is a walk into the GF
Bleeding obvious board. ;)

Dandy_GO
16 Sep 2006, 23:44

Yeah no joke. Worst in the league. At least Fremantle's is funny.

jo172
16 Sep 2006, 23:45
You will lose.

Another insightful comment.:rolleyes:

crows98
16 Sep 2006, 23:49
Now we have an opponent; the build up can begin.

Anyone know what time the boys are training this week?

Might go for a bit of a look if they train on Friday.

jc67
16 Sep 2006, 23:50
You will lose.
That made me think of dolph lundren(sp) in Rocky 5.
can hear the rocky theme, now:thumbsu:

Glenno23
16 Sep 2006, 23:51
We can't allow them to get off to a quick start this time.... In round 2, they caned us in the 1st half, and it wasn't until the last quarter when we made a huge run at them, that we looked ok. The same when we played them over here.... They kicked the 1st 5 goals and we were gone, looked shell shocked. The boys must dig in and get off to a strong start.... Do this and we are a massive chance for the win, fail to do this, and we will be very well behind the 8 ball.

This is our turf, we will not lie down, the crowd noise at the QF Vs Freo was crazy (on TV) it was the loudest i've ever heard it, time to crank that up another notch, as there should be about an extra 8K of people..... I would like to see every supporter who will be lucky enough to be there, get loud, get feral, do whatever it takes and send the Eagles back west as losers!!!

Go you CROWS!!!!!

hot carl
16 Sep 2006, 23:57
Adelaide Crows = Apollo Creed

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 00:01
I cant wait for this week at work.:D Pay the absolute bejesus out of everyone then take holidays from next weekend.

West Coast win it will be 2 weeks before I have to face them

Adelaide win I will put red blue and gold streamers and balloons all over the office when I go in for my Sunday shift :thumbsu: Be two weeks before I get paid out about that as well

Premo
17 Sep 2006, 00:03
West Coast by plenty

Better luck next year:)

Crows_Chick
17 Sep 2006, 00:04
you can only hope the w.c. team is as arrogant as their supporters... will surely be there undoing !

Glenno23
17 Sep 2006, 00:07
you can only hope the w.c. team is as arrogant as their supporters... will surely be there undoing !

And the commentators on ABC radio..... all tipped a replay of last years GF...

I say let em, less pressure on us and puts the focus on WC

The guys on ABC reckon WC will do us easily....

Lynch drops a mark
17 Sep 2006, 00:09
will be within 2 goals either way

both are now experienced and hard body's running around and know what it takes to win finals

will be close

whoever wins will have deserved it

CrowMagnum
17 Sep 2006, 00:09
One of the tactics we have to counter better than we have before is Worsfold not allowing a loose man in defence.

Our run is generated more from half back rather than the midfield and we've found it hard to break free from a crowded backline. If we can manage to do it, it means an open forward line of course so we need forwards who can win the ball cleanly. Even if we only win 40-50% of the one-on-one's in the forward lines, this can translate to a winning score if we kick straight.

We've tended to let the ball get into the back half and then get our drive from there. I can't see this working against WC and I think this is why they've had such a good record against us this year.

macca23
17 Sep 2006, 00:13
And the commentators on ABC radio..... all tipped a replay of last years GF...

I say let em, less pressure on us and puts the focus on WC

The guys on ABC reckon WC will do us easily....

No they won't do that.

There are 3 physically strong teams in the AFL - Crows, WCE and Sydney and they all in the last 4. Tonight it looked like men against boys at Subi.

But next week will be men against men. Those who want it the most and work the hardest will win. If we bring the game with us that we played against Melbiourne and 3 and a 1/2 quarters against Freo, it will be us. Anything less than that will see WCE take it out.

It should be a fkg beauty!! :thumbsu:

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 00:14
We've tended to let the ball get into the back half and then get our drive from there. I can't see this working against WC and I think this is why they've had such a good record against us this year.
:thumbsu: Which is why we have seen a focus from pushing the ball back to direct movement forward

Vic Eagles Member
Eagles were not that impressive

Strooth. What do you class as impressive?

macca23

both are now experienced and hard body's running around and know what it takes to win finals

will be close

On the money IMO. :thumbsu:

Premo
17 Sep 2006, 00:37

Yes i'd also like to know this...

Is a 72point win not impressive enough?

Or does it have to be 82 point raping like we gave your boys last time we played them.;)

Drummond
17 Sep 2006, 00:40

Or does it have to be 82 point raping like we gave your boys last time we played them.;)
Far out, I see what people mean about this arrogance. :rolleyes:

Yes you thumped the Dogs tonight, but you weren’t that impressive. Skill level was average for 3 quarters, very poor kicking for goal and although you were in control for the entire night, it wasn't a great performance.

Jimbob
17 Sep 2006, 00:42
Yes you thumped the Dogs tonight, but you weren’t that impressive. Skill level was average for 3 quarters, very poor kicking for goal and although you were in control for the entire night, it wasn't a great performance.

Bit like a game I watched last week against the dockers, what was it, 10 goals 16 behinds?

earlsta
17 Sep 2006, 00:46
in blustery wind

jmorg1
17 Sep 2006, 00:50
At the risk of further inflating the already near-exploding big heads of the West Coast supporters, I thought the Eagles were impressive enough tonight apart from their poor finishing in the first three quarters. Doggies, however, were woeful.

Gecko
17 Sep 2006, 00:51
Looking forward to another good game against the Crows. Injuries will play an interesting part in this game. I expect it to be close and fairly low scoring, but I reckon we'll do you. Just. No offence. Really. Good luck. Honestly. I'm done. Now.

-Quinzate1

ok.crows
17 Sep 2006, 01:06
Robert Walls is back on the eagles bandwagon

You little ripper.

Crowsno1

Rocky 4, sorry had to correct you :o

The Doggies were very average tonight and their mediocre skills in defence made the Eagles forward line look a lot more potent than it actually is. If the Crows are on song and the youngsters (Porps, VB etc) continue to thrive in the big game atmosphere, we are a real chance. West Coast will not get so many soft marks in their 50 as they did tonight with Hunter. If we can just kick straight...

ok.crows
At the risk of further inflating the already near-exploding big heads of the West Coast supporters, I thought the Eagles were impressive enough tonight apart from their poor finishing in the first three quarters. Doggies, however, were woeful.

Meh.

Bombers1234
17 Sep 2006, 01:10
my unbiased opinion is that wce eagles will win by 4 goals.. theyre in damn good form except for a 1 pt loss to the reigning premeirs. also WCE matchup almost perfectly with the crows, and the last 3 encounters proove that point.....GO THE EAGLES:)

rayven
17 Sep 2006, 01:13

will be close

It is so nice to see a fresh Eagles face on this forum.:thumbsu:

But your the last one I would of expected.:confused: :thumbsu:

ok.crows
17 Sep 2006, 01:20
my unbiased opinion is that wce eagles will win by 4 goals.. theyre in damn good form except for a 1 pt loss to the reigning premeirs. also WCE matchup almost perfectly with the crows, and the last 3 encounters proove that point.....GO THE EAGLES:)
Doggies were poor tonight, fluffed innumerable chances ... yet still made West Coast actively have to win it. As bad as they were, the doggies still stopped West Coast for over a quarter when it mattered, and the doggies still had a shot at winning going into the last quarter. West Coast gave the doggies a lot of chances to win the game.

The Crows are in better form than the doggies, hopefully they won't fluff their chances.

The game is at AAMI. The Crows have had a weeks extra break. The Crows stand to re-gain Burton and McLeod.

I'd give the Crows a frair chance to win the PF.

coasting
17 Sep 2006, 01:28
The Crows should be favourites and rightfully so. But we will give you more of a run for your money than the Frockers did. If the Crows players aren't on their game we could sneak in.

sworc36
17 Sep 2006, 01:41
Doggies were poor tonight, fluffed innumerable chances ... yet still made West Coast actively have to win it. As bad as they were, the doggies still stopped West Coast for over a quarter when it mattered, and the doggies still had a shot at winning going into the last quarter. West Coast gave the doggies a lot of chances to win the game.

The Crows are in better form than the doggies, hopefully they won't fluff their chances.

The game is at AAMI. The Crows have had a weeks extra break. The Crows stand to re-gain Burton and McLeod.

I'd give the Crows a frair chance to win the PF.

A damn good chance Id say. Ive had a good feeling all week and was not fussed who won tonight. The feeling is similar to that of the final against Port last year...everyone was writing us off but in the back of my mind I knew we would do em. Our hunger is back, we're standing tall, our supporters will make Aami as intimidating as the colloseum of Roman ages for the WA mob GAME ON ...GO YOU MIGHTY CROWS

Crowsno1
17 Sep 2006, 01:44

A scoreline does not always reflect the quality of play. Yes, full credit to West Coast for making the Doggies look like quite an amateur outfit but the WCE still made plenty of skill errors and did not look like a really cohesive unit. As for the "82 point raping" we received last meeting, we had lost our run and were "raped" as a consequence. The run is back, it's on our turf and it will be a completely different ball game. May the best team win :thumbsu:

ok.crows
17 Sep 2006, 01:59

Put it this way ... in 2005 the Crows finished the season in top spot (just), and lost their first final narrowly.

In week 2 of finals in 2005, the Crows as the #1 side played the #8 side in Port, and beat them by approximately that margin of 70-odd points.

It didn't help the Crows at all in 2005.

In fact, it didn't even makes us favourites to win the following week ...

dogeatdog
17 Sep 2006, 02:29

got to love the WC song, anyway you'll be hearing it come sat afternoon!

rayven
17 Sep 2006, 02:43
But we will give you more of a run for your money than the Frockers did..
In a warped sense of reality we gave the dockers a run for there money and cashed in on the interest.
They were red hot,they came out all guns blazing and we ground the 9 game jugganaught into the ground.
Thats the jugganaught that gave you guys abit of lesson not to long ago.

jorel6669
17 Sep 2006, 02:52
I'm not really expecting the Eagles to win this one. We really blew out chance last week and it's going to be tough. If we do manage to win, it'd be one hell of an effort.

I do hope that whoever wins this game can go on and take out the flag. I know a lot of you here hate us, and the knobend supporters on this forum don't really do us any favours, so I know you'll probably support Freo or Sydney should we win. But I do, in all sincerity, hope you guys can go all the way if you defeat us.

All the best for the game.

P.S. If you do beat us, can you make it at least by more than a goal?

sworc36
17 Sep 2006, 02:56
got to love the WC song, anyway you'll be hearing it come sat afternoon!

Yep at about the same time that the 40-50,000 Crows fans will be booing your team as they run onto the ground. (Hopefully we will drown that crap noise out)

rayven
17 Sep 2006, 03:03
Looking forward to another good game against the Crows. Injuries will play an interesting part in this game. I expect it to be close and fairly low scoring, but I reckon we'll do you. Just. No offence. Really. Good luck. Honestly. I'm done. Now.

-Quinzate1
Apparantly the ban on your account Quinzate1 has been lifted.:thumbsu: :D

SA_Stazza
17 Sep 2006, 03:17
This is our turf, we will not lie down,*the crowd noise at the QF Vs Freo was crazy (on TV) it was the loudest i've ever heard it, time to crank that up another notch, as there should be about an extra 8K of people..... I would like to see every supporter who will be lucky enough to be there, **get loud, get feral, do whatever it takes and send the Eagles back west as losers!!!

Go you CROWS!!!!!

* I can tell you I've been a member since Adelaide's inception, I've missed only 5 home games in their history and only 1 showdown (including Ansett/Wizard Cup + regional) - I was at the game last week and can honestly say I'd have to dig deep in the memory bank to remember a louder crowd at a home match. The noise at 3 qtr time was the loudest I've ever heard during an interval.

** I was certainly doing my part last week (hence my complete lack of voice for two days after the match) and I will be once again doing my best to make up for the walking graveyard that occupies 70% of the stadium every week.

I've put together the lineups, as influenced by performances, injury and form concerns from tonight's game and the hypothetical returns of Burton & McGregor; I don't think McLeod will get up in time for the Prelim as much as I would love to see him back, it would be a massive risk bringing all 3 underdone players back in the one week should he prove me wrong.

Let me know what you all think:

ADELAIDE

FB: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Stevens Mattner
C: Doughty Goodwin Van Berlo
HF: Bock Perrie Thompson
FF: Bode Welsh McGregor

FOLL: Clarke, Edwards, Shirley

INT: Biglands, Reilly, Burton, Porplyzia

WEST COAST

FB: Chick Glass *Banfield
HB: Jones Graham Farmer
C: Braun Cousins Kerr
HF: Selwood Hansen Embley
FF: Waters Lynch Hunter

FOLL: Cox, Judd, Fletcher

INT: Seaby, R.Jones, Armstrong, Butler

* SHould Wirrapunda not pull up, a straight swap for Banfield would be logical

J.Graham to come back in as they will need another tall against us.

West Coast 06
17 Sep 2006, 03:45
I've put together the lineups, as influenced by performances, injury and form concerns from tonight's game and the hypothetical returns of Burton & McGregor; I don't think McLeod will get up in time for the Prelim as much as I would love to see him back, it would be a massive risk bringing all 3 underdone players back in the one week should he prove me wrong.

Let me know what you all think:

ADELAIDE

FB: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Stevens Mattner
C: Doughty Goodwin Van Berlo
HF: Bock Perrie Thompson
FF: Bode Welsh McGregor

FOLL: Clarke, Edwards, Shirley

INT: Biglands, Reilly, Burton, Porplyzia

WEST COAST

FB: Chick Glass *Banfield
HB: Jones Graham Farmer
C: Braun Cousins Kerr
HF: Selwood Hansen Embley
FF: Waters Lynch Hunter

FOLL: Cox, Judd, Fletcher

INT: Seaby, R.Jones, Armstrong, Butler

* SHould Wirrapunda not pull up, a straight swap for Banfield would be logical

J.Graham to come back in as they will need another tall against us.
I think it will be a cold day in hell that we have Farmer at half back. :eek:

Jaymie Graham will come in if Wirra fails to pull up, although it is just hamstring tightness, so he may stay in (might rest him for the following week ;) ). By the way, how did you forget to put Stenglien in our team?

Personally I hope you have Burton, McLeod and Roo back. The more under done players you play the better for us.

duncan
17 Sep 2006, 03:48
If you lot beat us - I shall be right behind you in the Grandfinal. Fu1< Sydney.

swanfan
17 Sep 2006, 05:14
Adelaide Crows = Apollo Creed

Hot Carl comes up with yet another original post. :rolleyes:

Glenno23
17 Sep 2006, 07:24
[QUOTE=West Coast 06]I think it will be a cold day in hell that we have Farmer at half back. :eek:

Jaymie Graham will come in if Wirra fails to pull up, although it is just hamstring tightness, so he may stay in (might rest him for the following week ;) ). By the way, how did you forget to put Stenglien in our team?

Personally I hope you have Burton, McLeod and Roo back. The more under done players you play the better for us.[QUOTE]

I don't think NC and the selection panel will let it happen....

I'm sure they have learnt lessons from seeing what happened to St Kilda with bringing in too many underdone players into a finals match....

Boundryump
17 Sep 2006, 09:05
If we field the same side as we did against Fremantle we will get smashed by Westcoast.Who is gonna stop Judd,Kerr,Lynch,Hansen,Hunter,Cox,etc they have got to many champs simple as that.don't forget we played freo and now we face a finals harden side in westcaost.
Adelaide have to recall Kenny,Burton,Hudson to help match up on some of their big players,to make matters worse i'm driving the 2 hours to come and watch the game and all the games that i have been to at AAmi the crows have lost.
On a positive the crows will be fresher having the week off and if it's a close game this may help them get over the line......westcoast by 4 goals:(

CrowTwig
17 Sep 2006, 09:12
If we field the same side as we did against Fremantle we will get smashed by Westcoast.Who is gonna stop Judd,Kerr,Lynch,Hansen,Hunter,Cox,etc they have got to many champs simple as that.don't forget we played freo and now we face a finals harden side in westcaost.
Adelaide have to recall Kenny,Burton,Hudson to help match up on some of their big players,to make matters worse i'm driving the 2 hours to come and watch the game and all the games that i have been to at AAmi the crows have lost.
On a positive the crows will be fresher having the week off and if it's a close game this may help them get over the line......westcoast by 4 goals:(

I am particularly worried about the Hunter matchup. Apart from Judd who can really tear apart a game, if we don't matchup well on Hunter and monitor him in the fwd lines, he will cause some serious damage. Really threw the doggies in disarray last night.

jenny61_99
17 Sep 2006, 09:34
The Crows should be favourites and rightfully so. But we will give you more of a run for your money than the Frockers did. If the Crows players aren't on their game we could sneak in.

How will Crows be favourite?? EVERYONE is predicting a WC/Sydney GF which means nobody gives us (OR Fremantle for that matter) a hope in hell. We will go into the game as underdogs at AAMI for the third game in a row. Let's hope we can repeat the outcome of the last two games!

jenny61_99
17 Sep 2006, 09:36

FIRSTLY, we are guaranteed a loss if Adelaide are stupid enough to bring in seriously underdone players.

Secondly, PLEASE DON'T COME!

Boundryump
17 Sep 2006, 10:24
I am particularly worried about the Hunter matchup. Apart from Judd who can really tear apart a game, if we don't matchup well on Hunter and monitor him in the fwd lines, he will cause some serious damage. Really threw the doggies in disarray last night.

The crows will have to conceed that they will get beaten in the midfield maybe they should have the two wingers starting off the halfback line at the centre bounces to help curb this.

almqvist
17 Sep 2006, 10:33
all of you saying it was a sloppy game, well it was raining.
west coast by 48points. haha

Gets!
17 Sep 2006, 10:44
Crows will win.

**** OFF you feral eagles pricks.

RealSlimShady
17 Sep 2006, 11:11
AFC by 10 goals

You cant be serious???
I am guessing a typo and meant 10 points :)

maccas_no1
17 Sep 2006, 11:11
AFC will not fail:thumbsu:

Bring on the Wet Toast E-Girls:p

Mad Dog
17 Sep 2006, 11:24
You cant be serious???
I am guessing a typo and meant 10 points :)
no 10 goals......

........but if we win our last 2 games of the year by a point each - I'll be happy.........:o

Embers
17 Sep 2006, 12:05
What times the game on chumpettes

crows98
17 Sep 2006, 12:09
What times the game on chumpettes

8:15am next Thursday Dude :thumbsu:

birdmanptr
17 Sep 2006, 12:11

Beating a good side that way last night was men Vs boys bulldogs were never in it last night was 1st playing 8th and the result showed that this week its 1 v 2 different for you this week

pjcrows
17 Sep 2006, 12:15
i haven't been more excited about a match EVER - and that includes last year's semi final showdown. i'm sitting here typing, and i'm pumped already - it is going to be an absolute cracker-jack atmosphere.

silly banter and 'we're gonna smash you' has begun already. to be perfectly honest, both adelaide and west coast have reasons why they can win and why they can lose.

i don't think the week off will have any bearing on the result of this prelim. west coast will take advantage of the momentum, whereas the crows will be using their week off as vital time to get players fit and raring.

this game deserves to be $1.90 each at the books. the game being played in adelaide could suggest a tip in their favour, however west coast's gun midfield and ability to shutdown adelaide might suggest an eagles win.

i think that andrew mcleod will play, but burton and ricciuto will not get up for it. mcleod hasn't played a bad final (apart from last year's prelim when he was vomiting 20 mins before the game) and is huge to our attacking defence.

i think we need to accept that west coast's midfield of judd, cousins and kerr can't be 'shut down'. it is about trying to nullify their influence and delivery to their forward line. adelaide must find a way to implement their usual loose man in defence. this is VITAL if the crows are going to win. in the previous 2 adelaide/eagles games, worsfold has found a way to ensure that bassett man's up for 100% of the game. and as we know, adelaide''s defence starts with bassett's ability to play off his man.

it's going to be a great game. two fully-developed, fully-mature and fully-ready teams working for their chance at a flag.

bring. it. on.

ADELAIDE by 23 points

spice18
17 Sep 2006, 12:18
This game has all the ingridients of a thriller. I can't believe I'm looking forward to this one purely for the spectacle. If it comes anywhere close to WC v Swans qualifying final, it will be mighty entertaining showcase of AFL footy. At a glance:

- Home ground advantage with the Crows - but the Eagles recent good record against Crows evens that out.

- Adelaide very good defensive unit - Eagles 'ordinary' forward line means advantage Crows

- Crows 'reliable' forward line against 'solid' Eagles defence evens out

- Crows strong midfield nullified by Eagles elite midfield so advantage Eagles

Overall it wil take an inspirational performance from someone to break this game, that's the X-factor. For crows to win, they have to stop the running goals from the Eagles midfielders. They also have to find ways of combatting Hunter when he drifts forward, and pray Lynch forgets his kicking boots on the plane. Oh, and Andrew Embly anyone? For the Eagles to win, they have to nullify Welsh and Bode (they are the only ones capable of kicking a bagful in my book).

Looking forward to this game, good luck to you guys and may the better team ON THE DAY win.

Premo
17 Sep 2006, 12:44
Crows will win.

**** OFF you feral eagles pricks.

:thumbsu: I like this guy

This is a PF FFS! no time for preciousness

Get stuck in boyz, and the winner gets to bump this thread on Saturday night.:D

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 12:58
Few things;
Steven "I love Judd" Quatermain better not be commentating, Truck will show everyone just how poor Lynch is and I hope Van Berlo runs through Hunter.:)

You seriuosly are a dill considering how the Crows have gone against us of late I would not be so pig headed as you are fella.

weagles_fan
17 Sep 2006, 13:00
If Lynch is on WC will win. If not it will be very close and probably Crows will win.

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 13:02
AFC by 10 goals

Your undoing my friend.:p

topjars
17 Sep 2006, 13:12
I am concerned about this game and no way do I think it is a walk into the GF... I do think we will win...but West Coast are a good team who currently hold a 4-1 record against us.

Dont take them lightly

Finally some sanity after two pages:rolleyes:

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 13:19

Maybe you should go back and re-read some of your supporters post and consider what you are saying.

By the way is this The Captain Obvious supporter of the Crows.:p

Mad Dog
17 Sep 2006, 13:20
Your undoing my friend.:p
surely it's ok to think with my heart for a couple of days before the serious analysis begins.....;)

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 13:22

80 points is impressive for Birdmanptr.:rolleyes:

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Sep 2006, 13:24
surely it's ok to think with my heart for a couple of days before the serious analysis begins.....;)

:cool:

Carl Spackler
17 Sep 2006, 13:42
Likely changes from Round 17
West Coast (assuming unchanged line up)
In: Cox, Embley, Fletcher, Hunter, Rosa
Out: Banfield, Graham, Morton, Sampi, Staker

Adelaide (assuming McLeod and Burton in, Massie and Douglas out)
In: Bock, McLeod, Perrie, Torney, Welsh
Out: Hart, Hentschel, Massie, McGregor, Ricciuto

West Coast are a fair bit stronger than last time.

I don't think that Shirley can go with Judd or Cousins. He has been beaten by those guys in the past. I'd rather see him match up on Kerr. Kerr has only had one game back and it is often the second game where lack of fitness catches up with people. Often avoids a hard tag by virtue of being just the 3rd best midfielder in the team. I don't think a hard tag on Cousins or Judd would have much effect. They will get 25+ possessions anyway whereas Kerr is someone we could stop.

The influence of Cousins and Judd can only be quelled by Goodwin, Edwards and Thompson winning as much of the ball as them. If we start worrying about matching up on all their stars our mindset will be too defensive.

Absolutely cannot let Dean Cox park himself in our forward 50 and take marks like last year's preliminary final. 14 marks! Was an absolute road block. Clarke and Biglands have to make him accountable and at the very least provide a contest.

Nathan Bock is the best physical match up for Embley but unless McGregor comes in I can't see Bock being released from his forward duties. Mattner, Torney or Bassett the best other options.

If Wirrpanda doesn't play I can see us having an advantage at ground level in the forward line. They'll be stronger than us in the air but Bode, Welsh, and Porplyzia could come into their own.

jo172
17 Sep 2006, 13:51
Maybe you should go back and re-read some of your supporters post and consider what you are saying.

Except that this is the Crows board meant for discussion by Crows supporters and oppisistion supporters can post here if they are trying to contribute to the discussion or at least add something instead of the typical West Coast supporter

OMG Juddalicious will lik totally pwn u guyz!!!

Embers
17 Sep 2006, 13:56
We will know by tomorrow morning whether Wirra will play. What about your lot. When will we know if Burton and McLeod are playing (I know Roo wont be).

jo172
17 Sep 2006, 13:58
(I know Roo wont be).

How do you know this:confused:

Thursday for the rest I assume.