View Full Version : $70m AAMI Redev. over next 5 years

Mad Dog
17 Sep 2006, 09:09
Article from:
Sunday Mail
Michael McGuire
September 17, 2006 12:15am

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/

AAMI Stadium will receive a $70 million facelift over the next five years in one of the biggest redevelopments of the arena since it opened in 1974

A range of player, spectator and corporate facilities are set for improvement under the plan drawn up by SANFL Executive Commissioner Leigh Whicker.
Preliminary talks have also begun with the State Government about building a rail or light rail link to AAMI to improve public access to thestadium, even though Premier Mike Rann said this week building a rail spur to the venue was "not on the Government's agenda".

The redevelopment comes as some South Australian identities privately question AAMI Stadium's future, even though they refuse to air their views publicly.

They believe the only long-term viable option for SA is to build a multi-purpose, state-of-the-art stadium, which could cost about $400 million, close to the CBD.

Mr Whicker acknowledged there were deficiencies at AAMI, but said the $70 million in improvements was aimed at taking the venue to the "next level".

He also agreed AAMI would need to be improved if Adelaide was to host games in the event of soccer's World Cup coming to Australia, potentially in 2018 – a concept backed by Mr Rann.

'"We have been here for 30 years - it's the home of football and more recently the home of the Crows and the Power - and let there be no mistake we'll be here for the next 30 years," Mr Whicker said.

He dismissed calls for a to build a new "superstadium" in South Australia and said the spectator experience at AAMI was the best in Australia.

"We are here to take on board customers comments, our stakeholder comments, we don't fear constructive criticism at all, in fact we welcome it," he said.

"There's no venue in Australia whether it be Subiaco, the Gabba or wherever where thousands of families gather for the event with their picnics, their shelters and their BBQs and the carnival atmosphere.

"There's no venue in Australia that holds 4000 people (such as at the Crows shed) that can rub shoulders with their heroes after a game.

"This is a unique experience here."

Former AFL chief executive Wayne Jackson welcomed the news and said remaining at AAMI was the best option for football in South Australia.

"It (AAMI) does require some investment to take it closer to other stadiums in Australia," Mr Jackson said.

"It's easy to say that we need a new stadium but if it's not economically viable then it would be a disaster."

Mr Jackson pointed to the financial difficulties faced by Telstra Stadium in Sydney and Telstra Dome in Melbourne "with three to five times the population of Adelaide" as reasons why a new stadium may be a risky proposition.

Telstra Stadium was built for the 2000 Olympics in Sydney at a cost of $650 million, while Melbourne's Telstra Dome cost $480 million.

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou also backed AAMI this week and said the SANFL would have access to a portion of the $28 million the governing body had set aside for facilty improvement.

Mr Demetrous said this would help build "a first-class arena giving 50,000 South Australians the chance to enjoy facilities equal to those at the MCG and Telstra Dome".

Mr Whicker acknowledged that improved public access to the stadium was an important issue and conceded that parts of the transportation system were "archaic".

Around 10,000 supporters travel by bus to AAMI and Mr Whicker said that system was already working at capacity and there were plans to extend the existing bus terminal.

Preliminary talks have already been held with Transport SA and the Department of Premier and Cabinet about a potential rail or light rail link to AAMI.

"It's on our agenda to have some discussions with the Government about light rail - that would be an absolute bonus for this venue, for the (adjacent West Lakes) shopping centre and to link up with Grange and Port Adelaide," Mr Whicker said.

A rail link to AAMI Stadium has been proposed previously, with former Premier John Olsen promising to build a spur off the Grange line at the Albert Park station before the 1997 State election.

However Mr Rann hosed down talk that the long awaited rail link might finally be delivered.

"This would have to cost tens of millions of dollars, perhaps much more," he said.

"And of course would have to be geared to handle large football crowds once a week during winter, rather than daily year round commuters. It is not on the Government's agenda."

Mr Whicker said the $70 million capital investment program would be funded from a variety of sources including additional borrowings, the State Government, the Federal Government, corporate sponsors and partners and the AFL.

He said the $22 million that will be spent over the next two years was already in place and that further talks would be held soon with potential funding sources.

The State Government has already committed $4 million to fund a security upgrade.

"We want to talk to the Federal Government as they have been supportive of new developments at Whitten Oval, Skilled Stadium and at Blacktown in Sydney."

Mr Whicker said a Medallion Club based on the successful concept developed at Telstra Dome would also be built on the roof of the eastern grandstand.

As many as 2000 seats would be available, with the SANFL looking to bring in a technology partner to instal personal televisions in all seats.

Mr Whicker said research was still being conducted on how much the seats would cost but original membership of Melbourne's Medallion club set spectators back an initial $5000 plus $500 a month for five years.

----------------------------

This was announced a week or 2 ago but since the Sunday Mail had caught up - I thought it was worth posting.....;)

Mad Dog
17 Sep 2006, 09:32
.....and this...

September 17, 2006 12:15am

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/

ADELAIDE and Port Adelaide have welcomed the news of a $70 million refit of AAMI Stadium and believe it will improve the match-day experience for the spectator.

"This is a natural evolution (of AAMI)," Adelaide Crows chief executive Steven Trigg said. "We are right behind what they are doing."
He said the planned improvements would attract more spectators to AAMI Stadium.

"The overall plans in terms of spectator comfort, ease of access are good for our customers and therefore will go some way to tackle the issue of `no-shows'," he said.

Although Adelaide regularly sells out its home games, it is not uncommon to see 10,000 unfilled seats at AAMI when patrons decide to stay away.

Mr Trigg said the present condition of AAMI was not a significant factor in the `no-shows' – nominating lifestyle and fixturing as bigger issues – but he believed the upgrade would help attract more people to the stadium. "The importance of the match-day experience will make it more attractive to go to the game rather than sitting at home on the couch," he said.

Port Adelaide chief executive John James said the investment was "a positive development" that would help attract more people to AAMI.

"If the redevelopment goes ahead, there is no reason why AAMI cannot be a leading stadium," Mr James said. "I would hope the improved facility will improve the match-day experience and help our membership." Mr Trigg said improving the match-day experience for spectators was especially important as television networks increased pressure in coming years on the AFL to broadcast games live.

Mr Trigg highlighted the $1.5 million to be spent on the new superscreen that will be erected at the southern end of AAMI before the 2007 season as a particularly positive move.

AAMI now has one superscreen at the northern end of the stadium, making it difficult for those spectators to see the screen.

According to Mr Trigg, the new superscreen, in conjunction with the $1.5 million that will be spent on a new stadium sound system before next season, will allow for a more "interactive" experience for the spectator.

The new sound and vision system will enable both Adelaide and Port Adelaide to run improved spectator competitions, run better pre-match videos on the superscreens and offer improved pre-match entertainment.

crows98
17 Sep 2006, 11:23
I have no problem where AAMI stadium is located as the new Port Adelaide expressway (via south road expressway) has taken 25 mins off my trip to and from AAMI stadium.

If we were to try and take public transport to and from AAMI stadium it would take an extra 30 - 35 mins longer for, if a new rail line was put in it could take almost an extra hour to get home as we would have to go back into the city and then out and catch a bus or leave the car at the train station.

Economically we are better off driving to a game ($8:50 for a car or $4 if we car pool, plus $10 petrol so that $18) on the bus it’s like $15 per person return* correct me if I am wrong.

We would not take the train nor use the bus as driving is out preferred option, how many others would change?

Catering options and bathroom faculties are an immediate necessity to upgrade and possibly change the look of the ground advertising signage around the boundary, the tin signage around the boundary looks very cheap and very old, so I would like to see AAMI remove the fences that hold the placards and put up modern advertising signage.

Now a second super screen (it will be at my back so it’s not a worry to me) and PA system will be in place for next season AAMI stadium is fine, just a few little things that could be fixed so why spend $400 Million when it’s not really a necessity.

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 11:28
As many as 2000 seats would be available, with the SANFL looking to bring in a technology partner to instal personal televisions in all seats.

FFS stay home if you want to watch tv :rolleyes:

Adam BK
17 Sep 2006, 11:33
I have no problem where AAMI stadium is located as the new Port Adelaide expressway (via south road expressway) has taken 25 mins off my trip to and from AAMI stadium.

If we were to try and take public transport to and from AAMI stadium it would take an extra 30 - 35 mins longer for, if a new rail line was put in it could take almost an extra hour to get home as we would have to go back into the city and then out and catch a bus or leave the car at the train station.

Economically we are better off driving to a game ($8:50 for a car or $4 if we car pool, plus $10 petrol so that $18) on the bus it’s like $15 per person return* correct me if I am wrong.

We would not take the train nor use the bus as driving is out preferred option, how many others would change?

Catering options and bathroom faculties are an immediate necessity to upgrade and possibly change the look of the ground advertising signage around the boundary, the tin signage around the boundary looks very cheap and very old, so I would like to see AAMI remove the fences that hold the placards and put up modern advertising signage.

Now a second super screen (it will be at my back so it’s not a worry to me) and PA system will be in place for next season AAMI stadium is fine, just a few little things that could be fixed so why spend $400 Million when it’s not really a necessity.

I definately agree with this, all there is a few typical deli food like hotdogs and chips to buy. :thumbsd: The whole catering and bathroom facilities look like a concrete jungle. Also when I went to the toilet last time the door was broken :eek:, simple things like that should be fixed.

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 11:34
The advertising on the fences will I assume change to the roll over ones ie maximise space value. The toilets can be revamped .

But if you are going to have a second superscreen why have personal tvs?

I also feel if they are looking for extra seating they can bring the fence in 5 metres and get 2 rows all the way round the ground

Adam BK
17 Sep 2006, 11:37
The advertising on the fences will I assume change to the roll over ones ie maximise space value. The toilets can be revamped .

But if you are going to have a second superscreen why have personal tvs?

I also feel if they are looking for extra seating they can bring the fence in 5 metres and get 2 rows all the way round the ground

Um they are like 5,000 plus 500 a month if its gonna be like the Melbourne's Medallion example. I cant afford that. I guess they are just giving them personal tvs because they want those people to flash their wallets.

crows98
17 Sep 2006, 11:37
Mr Whicker said a Medallion Club based on the successful concept developed at Telstra Dome would also be built on the roof of the eastern grandstand.

As many as 2000 seats would be available, with the SANFL looking to bring in a technology partner to install personal televisions in all seats.

Mr Whicker said research was still being conducted on how much the seats would cost but original membership of Melbourne's Medallion club set spectators back an initial $5000 plus $500 a month for five years.

Would a Medallion style club work ain SA? I am not so sure it would as $35,000 is a fair bit of money especially for 22 games of AFL football (would finals be included) and a few SANFL games?

At the Telstra dome you get cricket, rugby union and league, soccer and concerts (when was the last concert at AAMI)

Good idea to try and introduce that into the AAMI stadium culture but the value of the product is very over priced IMO and wouldn’t be worth it.

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 11:46
Um they are like 5,000 plus 500 a month if its gonna be like the Melbourne's Medallion example. I cant afford that. I guess they are just giving them personal tvs because they want those people to flash their wallets.
:o I should read both articles

AndrewJo
17 Sep 2006, 11:51

I think you will agree PerthCrow that most people crane to look at the replays on the TV at the ground. Adds to the spectacle, especially after a bit of "biffo". If the 2000 seats were subsidised by fat cats paying for them...who cares. As long as the general public can see the big screen.

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 11:57
I think you will agree PerthCrow that most people crane to look at the replays on the TV at the ground. Adds to the spectacle, especially after a bit of "biffo". If the 2000 seats were subsidised by fat cats paying for them...who cares. As long as the general public can see the big screen.
I agree with the looking at the replays..but depending on where I sit( Subi has 2) I try and follow as much of the play as possible with my own eyes .

I have watched people who look at the screen all day and I sometimes wonder why they bother

crows98
17 Sep 2006, 12:08
I agree with the looking at the replays..but depending on where I sit( Subi has 2) I try and follow as much of the play as possible with my own eyes .

I have watched people who look at the screen all day and I sometimes wonder why they bother

We sit on the front row in the South East pocket of AAMI (about 3 or 4 bays left of the player race), when the ball is down the other end or in the northeast pocket or wing I always watch the super screen simply because the ball is too far away. I will watch the super screen until the ball is this side of centre so I can see what is happening.

Crow54
17 Sep 2006, 13:08
Would a Medallion style club work ain SA? I am not so sure it would as $35,000 is a fair bit of money especially for 22 games of AFL football (would finals be included) and a few SANFL games?

At the Telstra dome you get cricket, rugby union and league, soccer and concerts (when was the last concert at AAMI)

Good idea to try and introduce that into the AAMI stadium culture but the value of the product is very over priced IMO and wouldn’t be worth it.

That's exactly what I thought (but I don't think we need that sort of culture).

And they'll have the sun in their eyes. Perhaps they'll provide these "millionaires" with sunglasses as well as TVs. :rolleyes:

kimirocks
17 Sep 2006, 13:25
The advertising on the fences will I assume change to the roll over ones ie maximise space value. Why bother? If they want it to be world class, then this is a little behind the times. Watch any La Liga, Bundesliga, or game at Emirates Stadium, and you'll know where it's at. May cost a bit more though, but the advertising dollar would cover it quite quickly.

It's good hat they want to revamp the stadium, but never been a fan of it. Too far away from home, no warmth, too far away from the ground and so on. If it was viable, I would definately love to see a new stadium. Maybe they could take a leaf out of the Arizona Cardinals book. At least then you wouldn't have the issue of the dodgy Telstra Dome grass.

maccas_no1
17 Sep 2006, 16:20

Exactly, we have enough ********s rocking up to AAMI every week please dont encourage them:thumbsd:

Scott Van Persett
17 Sep 2006, 17:40
Part of the plan is to spend $28m on raising the present member's roof and adding 2000 seats.

Why waste this money when the members stand is never full, not even for showdowns.

skippy14
17 Sep 2006, 18:42
Improving the sound system is a big plus for me. We sit near the Crows race and are lucky to even hear that the club song is playing let alone hear any interviews etc. Very frustrating. For the Port showdown the other week I sat in members and couldn't believe how much better the sound system was over there.

MaccasNeighbour
17 Sep 2006, 19:13
No matter how much they spend on AAMI it wont change the fact that it is a pain in the butt to get to. I have tried catching the bus home a few times and it has taken up to 1.5hours even though I only live 6 or 7km away.

Lived in Melbourne for 3 years and no matter where you live getting to the G or Dome is easy and equal for all.

Here in Adelaide people who live 20km away, say near an O'Bahn stop can get there in half the time it takes me and I'm in the Western Suburbs. I would probably be better off catching the bus back to the city and getting a footy express from there.

Eggzoi
17 Sep 2006, 19:18
I agree with the article in the Sunday Mail today, I see no benefit to this as it simply means we are that much further from a decent ground and stadium in a good location.
I don't go to the footy much (starving uni student) but when I do it's via a bus and while that's not too bad, the cost is crappy (for some reason I have to catch a hills bus even though I live in Unley and it's $6) and the last bus leaves 20 min after the siren. Instead of soaking up some atmosphere and having a party at the shed or whatever happens there I have to dash out the ground before the song is done just to get home.

MaccasNeighbour
17 Sep 2006, 19:34
I agree with the article in the Sunday Mail today, I see no benefit to this as it simply means we are that much further from a decent ground and stadium in a good location.
I don't go to the footy much (starving uni student) but when I do it's via a bus and while that's not too bad, the cost is crappy (for some reason I have to catch a hills bus even though I live in Unley and it's $6) and the last bus leaves 20 min after the siren. Instead of soaking up some atmosphere and having a party at the shed or whatever happens there I have to dash out the ground before the song is done just to get home.

The Crows may be 'the team for all South Australians' but AAMI stadium is not the sporting ground for us.

Eggzoi
17 Sep 2006, 19:45
The Crows may be 'the team for all South Australians' but AAMI stadium is not the sporting ground for us.
Damn right, I like Adelaide but it's decisions like this that leave me baffled. Who decided a stadium that far out was a good location in the first place. It's like every decision in Adelaide is made with no foresight whatsoever. Just like when they made the southern expressway 1 way and change it over at different times.

Macca19
17 Sep 2006, 20:04
Damn right, I like Adelaide but it's decisions like this that leave me baffled. Who decided a stadium that far out was a good location in the first place. It's like every decision in Adelaide is made with no foresight whatsoever. Just like when they made the southern expressway 1 way and change it over at different times.

Good question really. Maybe because a lot of SANFL teams were around that way they figured a lot of people would like it that way. Maybe at the time, West Lakes was the only viable spot for a sporting stadium of that sort. If there are any older heads around here that were around when it was built it would be good to hear about what they remember.

On the other hand, maybe they were just copying Waverley, awkwardness to get to as well as average stadium.

It will never happen, but I think the perfect site for a new stadium would be the current Santos Stadium site. Central to everything, heaps of parking around the place, rail station right outside the front door.

- PC -
17 Sep 2006, 20:17
Availability of land and there was a railway line ...and if I recall correctly there was promises made to extend the rail lines.

Think back 35 years ago if your a OFC member and try and work out where else it could have gone? Elizabeth? Dry Creek? Dry Creek/Wingfield would have been good but the roads were poor

Adelaide was developed circularly and West Lakes was a swamp and was going cheap

NATAS
18 Sep 2006, 14:06
It will never happen, but I think the perfect site for a new stadium would be the current Santos Stadium site. Central to everything, heaps of parking around the place, rail station right outside the front door.

Quite right, the perfect location. Have a good look at poor old AAMI next time you are there. Aside from the obvious problems, the concrete structure is showing signs of age. Fixing the structural problems could be throwing away good money better spent on a new stadium.

neddy36
18 Sep 2006, 15:34
If it was viable, I would definately love to see a new stadium. Maybe they could take a leaf out of the Arizona Cardinals book. At least then you wouldn't have the issue of the dodgy Telstra Dome grass.

I totally share your thoughts on this subject Kimi. The new Cardinals stadium is a perfect example of what another city similar in the population size of Adelaide can achieve.

This stadium is a palace! More information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardinals_Stadium

http://www.wral.com/2006/0811/9668990.jpg

It has already been penciled in to host a Superbowl in 2008. Building a stadium of equivalent stature would enhance Adelaide's reputation to hold bigger sporting and entertainment events. A location on the outskirts of the CBD would be ideal.

Dandy_GO
18 Sep 2006, 16:34
Not only is AAMI stadium bloody far away, but there's **** all to do in that area once the game is over.
When I see a match in melbourne, I can go see a live gig right after or head to a bar or have lunch at a nice restaurant or in a food court before hand - all within walking distance. I can make a day of it. If I was coming to adelaide from interstate I'd wonder why the hell the stadium is such an inconvinience.
Spend money on a stadium that doesn't suck and is in the city, not out in the middle of nowhere.
I know it goes against Adelaide's original plan, but a world class stadium in somewhere like Victoria Square would be awesome. The vagrants could sleep on the bucket seats rather than on park benches.

Mad Dog
18 Sep 2006, 16:39
Not only is AAMI stadium bloody far away, but there's **** all to do in that area once the game is over.
When I see a match in melbourne, I can go see a live gig right after or head to a bar or have lunch at a nice restaurant or in a food court before hand - all within walking distance. I can make a day of it. If I was coming to adelaide from interstate I'd wonder why the hell the stadium is such an inconvinience.
Spend money on a stadium that doesn't suck and is in the city, not out in the middle of nowhere.
I know it goes against Adelaide's original plan, but a world class stadium in somewhere like Victoria Square would be awesome. The vagrants could sleep on the bucket seats rather than on park benches.
:D :thumbsu:

The problem is $$$

I think everyone's favoured position would be a new stadium in the sporting precinct at Keswick with Trains and Buses and Parking.

Problem is that's gonna cost approx 500m......that's half a Billion....:eek:

That kind of cash is hard to raise in Adelaide given the size of the market from which any investors would be looking to recoup from.

neddy36
18 Sep 2006, 16:48
$$$ are the main problem.

The sale of the 23 hectares (for a housing development) the SANFL owns could go a long way to funding a new stadium but other issues still surface.

Would the AFC have to relocate? What would happen to the Crows Tavern? Would the SANFL administration have to relocate? What would be the backlash to the wasted money invested in building the Northern Stand and Bus Terminal?

crows98
18 Sep 2006, 16:49

Do you mind if I ask you if you are employed and have to pay any tax? (Being a unemployed bum from Elizabeth doesn’t bother me because what are taxes, hay Postman Pat :rolleyes: )

If a new super sports stadium was to be built in South Australia the state government would need to fund it with tax payers money meaning the South Australian people would have to find an extra $450,000,000 in public revenue to pay for it

The Public health system need a lot of money pumped into it (ask any nurse) and the public schooling system (ask any school teacher) is a bloody joke in this state, personally I would rather see $450,000,000 spend in the areas than a sporting stadium.

AAMI stadium land would only sell for $180 - $200 million and that would take 5 to 10 years to come though.

It’s easy to say let build a brand new stadium but what about thing like Hospitals, schools, roads and transport.

Mad Dog
18 Sep 2006, 17:09
Do you mind if I ask you if you are employed and have to pay any tax? (Being a unemployed bum from Elizabeth doesn’t bother me because what are taxes, hay Postman Pat :rolleyes: )

If a new super sports stadium was to be built in South Australia the state government would need to fund it with tax payers money meaning the South Australian people would have to find an extra $450,000,000 in public revenue to pay for it

The Public health system need a lot of money pumped into it (ask any nurse) and the public schooling system (ask any school teacher) is a bloody joke in this state, personally I would rather see $450,000,000 spend in the areas than a sporting stadium.

AAMI stadium land would only sell for $180 - $200 million and that would take 5 to 10 years to come though.

It’s easy to say let build a brand new stadium but what about thing like Hospitals, schools, roads and transport.
it would need to be a partnership...with some contributing more than others

Private Business > SANFL > State Govt > Federal Govt > AFL

Dandy_GO
18 Sep 2006, 17:25

Will you please stop polluting every thread with this crap or the anti-drinking stuff. Nobody cares and you're simply drawing attention to yourself and flamewars to threads which otherwise include interesting discussion.

I am employed and do pay tax, although very little being a full time student, however I do understand your point. How much does Telstra spend to make it Telstra dome? Not to mention all the other companies investing advertising dollars into the stadium. Concerts and other events could also be held there which would in turn help the tourist industry of the city. Yes it would cost a lot of money to start with and may take some time to pay off, but with private investment and a city of 1 million people, most of whom take great interest in football, I see no reason why we could not fund a new stadium. 70 million is a lot of money too. If we can find that much, why can't we find 450 million?