View Full Version : I hoped.......I got even more than I hoped for

Frodo
16 Feb 2002, 16:52
How do I start?

The intensity...the work ethic.......excellent. Two years of apathetic footy is history now Woosha is in the seat.

And what a bonus or two we have :-

Judd.......explosive
Fletcher.....superb
Braun...definately back
Green.....Great job
Chambers....looks to have matured
Wirrpunda........great in midfield
Tuckey........what a find
Wilson...kicking straight
Munro.....looks to have developed and bulked
Cuz.....brilliant
Gardy.....Ditto
Cox....more mobile and bulked up too
Wooden.....hard and ruthless....Woosha mark 2
Taylor.....geat performance
Kerr.......bulked up and excellent
Haynes...fantastic
Colllica...all class

And I'll give a gig wrap to Jako and Carrol too. With no Gaspar or Glass or Milli I thought we'd get murdered in defence but they stood up.

Yes it was only a preseason game against a depleted Carlton but the signs were excellent.

iceman
16 Feb 2002, 17:01
Fantastic effort by the boys!!!

The ones to really impress were
Wilson (i knew Sumich would teach him how to kick straight :p )
Judd (ready made for football, great pickup)
Cousins (he deserves a Brownlow)
Tuckey (provided another target up forward)

Theres a lot of other players that deserve a mention but that would be too much work :)

Im not gonna get my hopes up too much but they sure seem to be playing with a lot more confidence and maturity

WA
16 Feb 2002, 17:05
Excellent!! :D

I'm at work so I couldn't watch the game, for some reason I couldn't log on to the AFL site and have only just been able to get on to WCE site, finally got on to see we won - huge!!

Yeah, like Frodo said, it's only pre-season match etc, but I'll take any win!

Hopefully Wilson's 4 means he's not in as poor form as was suggested by the media - I haven't seen any other individual stat's yet though. 3 to Tuckey is good to see too.

daddy_4_eyes
16 Feb 2002, 17:07
Great effort.

I was really impressed by Fletcher (seems to be a good midfielder now), Judd(definately the right selection at the draft), Tuckey (looking good in the forward line), Wilson (seems to have his accuracy worked out) and Collica (classy player).

Overall the whole team contributed very well. Also, our midfield is damn strong now.

WA
16 Feb 2002, 17:07
Originally posted by iceman

Cousins (he deserves a Brownlow)

Well, if we really are playing with more confidence etc, and can win a few more than last year, who know's, this could be his year!

Go Eagles!

BT
16 Feb 2002, 17:10
I don't know why Collingwood let Brent Tuckey go, he always looked good when I saw him play. Good leads,safe hands & good kicking. He's no slopoke either It'll be interesting to see if he fades out.

Wilson looked good too.

Goldenblue
16 Feb 2002, 17:18
ahhhhhhhhh, so wonderful to see my team play with heart and soul again.....well done boys......:D

Right coach for the job......too right

Visro
16 Feb 2002, 17:27
Right now, all I can say...

BLOODY OATH JUDD LOOKS A PLAYER! :eek: :) :eek:

Tuckey was pretty good as well, not as a marking player, but as a crumber...:confused:

eagleskickass
16 Feb 2002, 17:29
Was it live into Perth?

GRRRR, if it was i am not impressed, only half time here on TV!

YAY WE WON
from what I have seen in the first half, the BEST bit is the support of team mates. If someone makes a blunder, 2-3 Eagles are there to fix it.
Now Yes Carlton were undermanned BUT the sides were BOTH very young, just that ours was our normal young side, and so the signs for the future are VER promising.
Really happy to hear AND see us playing with HEART.
Pity about the jumpers worn though:rolleyes:

nearlyblonde
16 Feb 2002, 17:43
It`s full of wonder!!

The Eagles really had attitude today. Long may it last!!

Ridiculous how good the result of a football game can make one feel. LOVE IT.

iceman
16 Feb 2002, 17:45
have to agree with EKA, the jumpers arent the best things in the world

but... a wins a win and im loving it!!! :D :D :D

GoEagles
16 Feb 2002, 17:50
WOW! Today I saw something that was missing over the past 2 years (Ken Judge era). I saw a team that played as a team, helped each other out, had numbers around the ball and did those small things that had been lacking last season.

Our new recruits strengthened what I thought, we made the right decisions and we're on the rise with players who can stand up and be counted - who can stay with the club for a long time.

Wilson 4 goals with 4 kicks, Tuckey 3 goals and looked the goods, Gardiner and Haynes with 2 goals each plus the midfield brigade chipped in with 1. Not once during the game did I say "We need Cummings"

Bring on Richmond, I can't wait!

Mr Eagle
16 Feb 2002, 17:57
Originally posted by nearlyblonde
Ridiculous how good the result of a football game can make one feel. LOVE IT.

Hehe, I must have looked like a bit of a nutter at work, running around telling everyone who would listen that the Eagles were up by 40 points at 3QT. Made my day that much brighter.

Visro
16 Feb 2002, 18:17
Originally posted by Mr Eagle

Hehe, I must have looked like a bit of a nutter at work, running around telling everyone who would listen that the Eagles were up by 40 points at 3QT. Made my day that much brighter.

I'm sure they think you're a nutter normally so no harm done...:D

Thrawn666
16 Feb 2002, 18:25
When we kicked the first couple of goals I had to try and contain my excitement so I wouldnt be disappointed. Turns out I didnt need to and we pretty much cruised to a win. I think the heat factor definitely played to our advantage, Carlton seemed to tire in the 3rd while we pushed on. Dont know how much can be taken from this win though, Carlton were pretty undermanned, I mean we did play well and all but I think we'll have to wait a few more matches to get a true inidcation of how we're travelling. One thing in our favor is that we have the next two games at Subi, so if we played this well away we can only expect to be as good at home. We could actually be challenging to win our group with this in mind and go through to the final rounds of the comp. Something we havent done in some time. I did cringe howver at the start of the third, not at the collision between Haynes and Humm (Haynes needs to talk more on field I think, on at least 2 separate occasions he should have called the other man out), but the incident preceding it where Cox landed awkwardly in the ruck contest. I had visions of knee and/or ankle injuries but thankfully the big bloke was fine. he played well in the ruck today and it was good to have Gardiner available to make forays into our forward line when needed. We've improved but there is definitely a need to get even better.

TheRealBuzz
16 Feb 2002, 18:52
Carlton were undermanned - True

It's only a pre-season match - True

But who gives a crap. :)

The guys played four quarter of tough, hard football, and had huge numbers at every contested ball (watching Judgey).

Our midfield of Cuzz, Fletch, Braun, Wirra, Matera and Judd controlled the game all day, and gave Willow (who looks like he can now kick straight), Tuckey and Merenda plenty of goal scoring opportunities.

Jako was a great steadying influence down back, and Collica is all class. Thought Richie Taylor looked good on a half back flank as well.

Dean Cox !!
This guy can seriously play. Flogged Mathew Allen, and allowed Gardy to go forward. He and Gards are going to develop into a very good ruck combination.

Still annoyed that Judd missed his goal of the year opportunity. Looked very promising all the same.

Just one thing though. Kasey Green isn't up to AFL standard.
Poor skills, slow thought process and shocking decision-making. He shouldn't be in the side.

Congrats to Woosh. He didn't miss a beat.

Thrawn666
16 Feb 2002, 18:56
Yeah I agree about Kasey Green, just doesnt look the good now, he wasnt any good last year but in his first year with us I thought he was going to be something special but this year could be his last. Josh Wooden certainly didnt do anything today to endear himself I thought. He lifted his game last year but if he plays like he did today I think he should be well and truly out on his ear.

Frodo
16 Feb 2002, 19:10
Funny how people see things differently. I thought Green did the job on a top class player all game and I was impressed. So too Wooden was exceptionally good

Visro
16 Feb 2002, 19:57
Out of interest, how many best 22 players from Carlton were missing?

From our squad I think the following would be classified best 22:

Banfield
Embley
Glass*
Phil Matera
McIntosh
Morrison
Williams

Fringe

Gaspar
Prior
Sierrakowski

Now, thats a fair few best 22 players not out there. Not as much as Carlton I'll admit but hey, we were still undermanned as well. I think the difference was between the quality of the youngsters.

* According to Sabre, Glass is a rookie. Better make Brown a rookie then too...

brampta
16 Feb 2002, 20:05
Well I went to the game today guys and I felt so proud to walk out with my eagles scarf around my neck, much to the disgust of the carlton supporters of course.

It may only be a preseason but if its a sign for a good year I'll take it. A win is a win and if it gets people on board as members for the season than so be it. Can I just encourage everyone to sign up as members and get to the games?!

WCE fans in Melbourne: I was speaking to a lady from the Melbourne Cheer Squad today and they are down in numbers. So can I also encourage melbourne based supporters to jump on board with us and support our boys. :D

mattyc2422
16 Feb 2002, 20:14
Great to see my old boys Richie Taylor and Collica doing well.......

That said.......Go Hawkers!:D

The Old Dark Navy's
16 Feb 2002, 20:51
Originally posted by Visro
Out of interest, how many best 22 players from Carlton were missing?

From our squad I think the following would be classified best 22:

Banfield
Embley
Glass*
Phil Matera
McIntosh
Morrison
Williams

Fringe

Gaspar
Prior
Sierrakowski

Now, thats a fair few best 22 players not out there. Not as much as Carlton I'll admit but hey, we were still undermanned as well. I think the difference was between the quality of the youngsters.

* According to Sabre, Glass is a rookie. Better make Brown a rookie then too... McKernan
McKay
Ratten
Whitnall
Hickmott
Houlihan
Christou
Koutoufides
Freeborn

Comparable numbers but most of those are top 5 or top 10 players which put far too much pressure on the likes of Camporeale to hold it all together.

Anyway, well done. If knew it wasn't a gimme game when I saw the respective sides though I am happy enough with some of our young players. I was one who thought the Eagles would be a little better than some were tipping and they didn't disappoint. Finally got some spirit and hopefully some pride back for WA football.

See you all during the real season. ;)

GoEagles
16 Feb 2002, 21:55
I didn't want to be a party pooper in my last post, but since others have brought up the subject I'll have my say.

I thought Wooden had a shocker. I can only recall 2 very good passages of play he had, the other times he was beaten by his man or gave away some very silly free kicks.

As for Kasey Green, I dont recall seeing him get much of the ball, but I think it's a good idea of Woosha to try him during the pre season in the backline.

TheRealBuzz
16 Feb 2002, 23:25
Hopefully when guys like Williams and Read get some footy under their belt, there won't be any room for guys like Wooden & Green.

Geonet
17 Feb 2002, 00:17
Needless to say, I'm very happy and these are some of my conclusions, based on what I've seen today.

1. I knew we'd be much more competitive this season and though this is early days and Carlton were undermanned, the good signs are all there.

2. A coach is the most important element of a team. Good players with a bad coach leads to a second rate team. On the other hand a good coach with a balanced group of players leads to a very competitive team. In my opinion we have a good coach and the players aren't that bad. So we're going to be a competitive team this season.

3. The best teams have strong midfields, solid defenses and don't rely only in one player to kick Goals. Brisbane last year comes to mind. Potentially we have all the three components. Woosha is good at organizing defenses and our midfield is already shining.

4. Still on the midfield issue, Wayne Brittain confirmed the idea that the midfield is probably the most important area of any footy team by saying that the Eagles took charge in the midfield, where Carlton normally controls. That's why Woosha went for Judd in the draft and Leigh Matthews drafted three midfielders.

5. With cautious optimism, I would say to those who believe we are the wooden spooners favourites, that they are candidates to eat humble pie at the end of the season.

jod23
17 Feb 2002, 08:28
WE WON!!! :D

Ok ok...we have to stop getting ahead of ourselves. Lets all remember that Freo, St Kilda and Geelong also won?? These games dont give us a true indication of where we are at but none the less a win is a win and im smiling from ear to ear!!

I dont know what i can really say that hasnt already being said by you lot....Taylor looks like a good idea off half back. Matera looked great although the commentators tried to tell you he was injured all the way through the game. Cousins and Gardy were there usual best. Ready made footballer in Judd, Kerr back to his usual tricks, at the bottom of every pack. Cox carried the ruck and towelled up one of the best in the business. What were Collingwood thinking letting Tuckey go. Defence stood strong despite not having Glass, Milli through injury and Matera, Wirrpunda playing through the middle. Haynes & Munro look to be improving, Haynes was expected, Munro is a nice surprise. Wirrpunda looked great, perhaps a sign of things to come.

God i could go on and on. Well thats all ill say for now or ill start predicting top 4 finishes and GF appearances....lol. :D

Goldenblue
17 Feb 2002, 10:23
I was so impressed with Judd and Tuckey, though I have to agree about Kasey Green, he did not do much to my liking.
Pinnochio (Wooden) Played Ok, but I thought he played in fits and spurts and he needs to put in more efforts into his game instead of drifting in and out.

Our midfield killed theirs and I think thats where we shall be superior against the Dorkers, after all, they dont have a midfield.:D

How undermanned were Carlton?

Apart from Kouta, I did not think there were too many stars missing from their line up.

Geeze, has Woosha got them playing like a team again!!!

And Wilson...I had my fingers crossed at his set shots for goal and to see him kick straight was beautiful.....

Just to watch these guys play justifies KJ going.....I wondered if he sat and watched the game too......

Visro
17 Feb 2002, 12:11
Buzz you posted this on your website:

A worrying sign though, was the performances of both Trent Carroll and Kasey Green. Both played major roles down back, and both really struggled. Darren Glass and Ashley McIntosh will be welcomed back with open arms.

I thought that both of them didn't that badly. Green was playing on Lappin and did quite a good job and although you didn't see Carroll much he kept his opponent out as well. With McIntosh, Glass, Jakovich, Carroll, Collica and Taylor, our defence could be pretty solid.

Frodo
17 Feb 2002, 12:19
Carlton's weakness is the Ruck. Cox more than matched it with Matty Allen and Gardy murdered him. Carlton's only other option will be McKernan when fit but Allen will carry the ruck alone for most of the season. This probably means that they will get a lot fewer centre breaks.

I was interested in this list of missing players :-

McKernan ........up and down player
McKay ......class
Ratten ........okay
Whitnall ......Jako would have towelled him
Hickmott ........average
Houlihan .......average
Christou .......class
Koutoufides .......classy but injury prone..forget him for this season
Freeborn ......average

So I think our missing players at least balance out those of Carlton and the key factor is that we have a group of young players getting better v a group of older players getting slower and carrying more injuries.

The Old Dark Navy's
17 Feb 2002, 12:20
Originally posted by Goldenblue

How undermanned were Carlton?

Apart from Kouta, I did not think there were too many stars missing from their line up.
I'll just repost what I posted above. ;)

McKernan
McKay
Ratten
Whitnall
Hickmott
Houlihan
Christou
Koutoufides
Freeborn

Comparable numbers but most of those are top 5 or top 10 players which put far too much pressure on the likes of Camporeale to hold it all together.

TheRealBuzz
17 Feb 2002, 15:04
Originally posted by Visro
I thought that both of them didn't that badly. Green was playing on Lappin and did quite a good job and although you didn't see Carroll much he kept his opponent out as well. With McIntosh, Glass, Jakovich, Carroll, Collica and Taylor, our defence could be pretty solid. Yeah, that's a fair enough comment.

I just thought that whenever they where put under the slightest bit of pressure yesterday they crumbled and made stupid mistakes. And mistakes will cost you goals down back.
Luckily because of our midfields dominance, they where never put under severe pressure.

Carroll wasn't that bad, but I'll be much more comfortable when Glass takes his spot. Glass is twice the player Carroll is.

Green had an absolute shocker - IMHO.
Didn't have the footy smarts to stay with lappin, and he turned the ball over just about every time he kicked it.
Williams will be a much better option once he returns, or even Phil Read once he gets some games under his belt.

Porthos
17 Feb 2002, 15:14
I'd really calm down on Judd if I were you mob......if you remember, this time last year Daniel Harris (Kangaroos) was on fire, but when he met a tagger, he fell way back....

That said, it was a good game....certainly not unpleasant to watch.

daddy_4_eyes
17 Feb 2002, 17:22
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Green had an absolute shocker - IMHO.
Didn't have the footy smarts to stay with lappin, and he turned the ball over just about every time he kicked it.

And did you see his kick in the 2nd quarter? made a 90degree turn right off his boot and travelled maybe 5metres. The most shocking kick I have seen in years. His last season for sure, especially when you have a look at his age and realise he is far past being a "potential".

Frodo
17 Feb 2002, 19:27
Guys oh guys!!!! Has Suzi cast a spell on us? We are sounding like freo fans talking about McManus!!!!!!!

We're Eagles fans..we don't bag our players...especially after such a fantastic morale raising victory.

Let the talk be about our positives, our great club and its great culture..........dwelling on who was thought to have a poor game after our tasting victory is like the lotto $1Million winner whingeing that it wasn't $2Million.

Get behind the team guys....every one of them.....be positive.

please

kuepper
17 Feb 2002, 19:35
Originally posted by Frodo
We're Eagles fans..we don't bag our players...Im sure one of your current coaching staff members, a 500 goal kicker in the AFL, may slightly disagree with that statement, considering public opinion, constant abuse and media badgering ended his career ...

eagleskickass
17 Feb 2002, 19:48
Originally posted by kuepper
Im sure one of your current coaching staff members, a 500 goal kicker in the AFL, may slightly disagree with that statement, considering public opinion, constant abuse and media badgering ended his career ...

Couldn't make it more obvious could ya please Kuepper, I have no idea:D:D

P.S. I never bagged him, just ask my friends at school, i supported him always;)
But yes, it was unfortunate that so many of our fans did bag him:(

iceman
17 Feb 2002, 20:43
Originally posted by kuepper
Im sure one of your current coaching staff members, a 500 goal kicker in the AFL, may slightly disagree with that statement, considering public opinion, constant abuse and media badgering ended his career ...

That so called player was my favourite :)

But every club has its supporters that love to give crap to players that underperform....

Voice of Reason
18 Feb 2002, 10:49
Sorry I'm late - home computer couldn't get on to the BigFooty site for some reason.

It's probably all been said before, so I'll be brief:

Very promising.
Heart.
Confidence.
Midfield.
Wilson.
Accountability.
Numbers at the ball.
Judd.

Goldenblue
18 Feb 2002, 12:50
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Sorry I'm late - home computer couldn't get on to the BigFooty site for some reason.

It's probably all been said before, so I'll be brief:

Very promising.
Heart.
Confidence.
Midfield.
Wilson.
Accountability.
Numbers at the ball.
Judd.

Well said VOR....:)

Blues2001
18 Feb 2002, 15:06
Well done to the Eagles, it was a great performance. John Worsfold will do wonders for you no doubt.

Originally posted by Frodo

I was interested in this list of missing players :-

McKernan ........up and down player
McKay ......class
Ratten ........okay
Whitnall ......Jako would have towelled him
Hickmott ........average
Houlihan .......average
Christou .......class
Koutoufides .......classy but injury prone..forget him for this season
Freeborn ......average

So I think our missing players at least balance out those of Carlton.

Sorry Frodo, but that whole post is just so ridiculously untrue.

Ratten - okay? Have you no idea? I mean, are you truly serious?? Ben Cousins had a season last year that had all you Eagle fans raving. Fair enough to. But it wasn't better than Rattens.

Jako is past it mate, Whitnall would not have been towelled by him. Whitnall made Jako look average last time they played on each other.

Hickmott - average? Ridiculous statment. Hickmott is a gun - you must not have watched any Carlton games in the last 3 years.

Houlihan - average? Rubbish. Inconsistent - yes, but he can change a game with his pace and skills. Could well be a star.

Christou - class? This is why I think you haven't watched Carlton in ages. Christou was class in 95 but has struggled now for years. Will be a fringe player at best.

Freeborn - average? Yep, you got this one right:p

So Frodo, based on your assessments I suppose you expect to finish above us this year?

TheRealBuzz
18 Feb 2002, 16:33
Agreed.

Ratten is the best player in the AFL. He's so underrated it's not funny.

Hickmott is the sort of player I love.
Tough, hard and always at the bottom of packs getting his face cut open - and he loves every minute of it. Great player.

I'm not too sure about Whittnal toweling up Jako though.
Last time we played Carlton, they won every single centre clearance, and Jako didn't have a chance.
He would have put up a better showing on Saturday.

Thrawn666
18 Feb 2002, 17:36
I guess we'll have to wait until the middle of the season proper before we see how Jako goes against Whitnall. I think Whitnall would have had the wood on him though, he has ever since 99 from what I remember. I distintcly remember that game in 99 though, we we're hot and came off the State Of Origin break to face Carlton at home. Whitnall had spent the time at fat camp and came out and gave Jako and absolute towelling. Our momentum was killed for the season and I cant remeber Jako ever being on top of Whitnall in their encounters since.

Voice of Reason
18 Feb 2002, 19:51
We are all hoping that Jako, with a solid pre-season and no ankle injuries behind him, can re-establish himself as one of the premier CHBs in the competition.

In physical terms, I would think that theoretically he would match up better on Whitnall than some of the other CHFs going around. Time will tell.

Blues2001
18 Feb 2002, 21:43
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Agreed.

Ratten is the best player in the AFL. He's so underrated it's not funny.

Hickmott is the sort of player I love.
Tough, hard and always at the bottom of packs getting his face cut open - and he loves every minute of it. Great player.

I'm not too sure about Whittnal toweling up Jako though.
Last time we played Carlton, they won every single centre clearance, and Jako didn't have a chance.
He would have put up a better showing on Saturday.

Jako just had a terrible day that day. Unfortunately he isn't the great player he once was (I genuinely like him - not many opposition fans do) but if he is injury free hopefully he will return to somewhere near his best. I loved seeing him cut Carey to pieces every time:)

Geonet
18 Feb 2002, 23:17
So Frodo, based on your assessments I suppose you expect to finish above us this

Blues2001, I think you have very good players and I have a lot of respect for your club. And if Woosha proves to be a good coach which I think he will be, we also have to thank Carlton for opening the doors to his coaching career.

Now about our expectations, we hope this season will be the beginning of the Eagles' ressurrection as a powerhouse. And who knows if we can finish ahead of you. On paper, this idea may look ridiculous but in 1989 the Eagles finished 11th in the ladder and many thought we would just make the numbers in 1990. At the time we were also a young team of no names, but we surprised everybody by finishing third ! The following year we were in a Grand Final and in 1992 we became the best team in the land. Two years later once again brought the premiership cup to Perth and for a total of 10 years the Eagles never missed the finals. In short we are conservatively optimistic because in footy anything can happen.

tjrra
19 Feb 2002, 09:29
Its was only the first game under Woosha but as everyone has said you can sense a change. It may only be players out to impress but most noticed it.
On the Eagles season if they can stay healthy they should finish in the middle or with luck sneak into the top 8.

kodie
19 Feb 2002, 12:21
You could noticed the difference with the players on saturday. They play with confidence in themselves something they haven't done for a long time. Maybe they just needed someone to install that self believe for them to play to their ability only time will tell. A few of them were even talking a top four finish, boy would that surprise the knockers who have us as favorites for the wooden spoon. I'm not pinning my hopes on that I just want to see what I witnessed against Carlton, a team playing as a team and giving their all. There's still a bit of fine tuning to go but who knows what the outcome will be. Only time will tell.:) :) Kodie

Uncle Tony
19 Feb 2002, 13:55
Like I said before, there's a big attitudinal change at the club. Whether it be from Woosha or a few players realising they won't be around much longer if they don't pull their fingers out, I don't know or care, but whatever it is I like it.

Should be interesting to see them run out in front of a good home crowd at Subi. They should be primed for a big game against a fired up Richmond side looking to gain some respect back.

3 more days to see if we can back things up. Here's hoping.

iceman
19 Feb 2002, 14:25
Woosha seems like the kind of guy who would instill a sense of belief into the players and thats what seems to have happened on Saturday

Frodo
19 Feb 2002, 19:07
I remember Woosha saying a cew months back that the big attitude change had to be that the players worked for each other and not just for themselves. And this showed against Carlton. There were numbers around the ball trying to assist each other.

The attitude change was the most pleasing aspect of Saturdays win

Thrawn666
19 Feb 2002, 19:25
The attitude change was definitely noticeable and pleasing, there was no real heads down stuff that was the trend of the last couple of seasons. Worsfold has already made his mark on the players.

jod23
20 Feb 2002, 04:03
Originally posted by Blues2001

Ratten - okay? Have you no idea? I mean, are you truly serious?? Ben Cousins had a season last year that had all you Eagle fans raving. Fair enough to. But it wasn't better than Rattens.

Jako is past it mate, Whitnall would not have been towelled by him. Whitnall made Jako look average last time they played on each other.

Ok ... Ratten is much better than average obviously, he is one of the best midfielders going around but to say he had a better year than Cuz last season is going a little far. I thought Cousins was the best midfielder around last season and im hoping for more this season.

Jako isnt past it and Whitnall isnt exactly the greatest forward in the league...ill leave this one until we meet Carlton in the season proper but i think Jako is geared up for a big season.

Blues2001
20 Feb 2002, 09:59
I thought there seasons where about equal. Notice I said that Cousins didn't have a better season than Ratten, but I never said Ratten had a better season than Cousins. Both had stacks of possessions and used them beautifully. Don't forget that Ratten was third favourite for the Brownlow going into the count (but for some reason the umps never reward him) and got the centre position in the AA team, whilst Cousins got a pocket. I think they were pretty much equal. All I wanted to say though, was that Ratten is heaps better than "okay". Hard to argue with me there.

Jako looked a bit past it last year, but I guess I was a bit harsh on him. I will watch him closely this season and it will be interesting to see how he goes. He plays with a lot of pride and it wouldn't be surprising if he had a good one this year. However Whitnall has performed well against him recently and all I was responding to was Frodo saying that Jako would have thrashed him. I have never said Whitnall would have thrashed Jako, but what was Frodo basing his assumption on?

Voice of Reason
20 Feb 2002, 11:54
I think Ratten is a champion. I wouldn't compare him to Cousins because they play different roles, albeit in the same area of the field. In fact I think they would be ideal as complements - let's hope Daniel Kerr develops into as good a player as Ratten.

iceman
20 Feb 2002, 14:10
However Whitnall has performed well against him recently and all I was responding to was Frodo saying that Jako would have thrashed him. I have never said Whitnall would have thrashed Jako, but what was Frodo basing his assumption on?

Fair enough comment because ive also noticed that Jako has had problems with Whitnall recently.... im hoping he can regain some form this season

daddy_4_eyes
20 Feb 2002, 21:08
Originally posted by jod23
Jako isnt past it and Whitnall isnt exactly the greatest forward in the league...ill leave this one until we meet Carlton in the season proper but i think Jako is geared up for a big season.

Whitnall is a weird type of player. I saw him in the city today, and someone of his build doesn't look capable sprinting 100m. I have no idea why Jako has trouble with him, though it could be that the bloke is absolutely HUGE! I mean, he is so tall and "built"(might be just fat) that if you are behind him there is no way you could spoil the ball.

P.S. I also saw Will Smith at the premier of "Ali"(which i have on VCD already :D), and damn that guy is funny. He's exactly the same in real life as he is in his movies, really dopie yet intelligent.

jod23
21 Feb 2002, 02:26

He plays with a lot of pride and it wouldn't be surprising if he had a good one this year.

Hit the nail on the head with that one. Jako will be back this season, a lot of people have written him off including a lot of bigfootyers but you'll all see this season that Jako is far from done.