View Full Version : Shannon "Shaguar" Grant

bellzy
17 Sep 2006, 17:34
What would rival clubs give for Shannon Grant in this years draft? Here at North we would reckon a mid to late first rounder, but for a 30 year old mabye that's a tad hopeful. As it's well known, he is a star player, and wil be for 2-3 years time.

Honest/propper answers only please.

trueblue_91
17 Sep 2006, 17:38
What would rival clubs give for Shannon Grant in this years draft? Here at North we would reckon a mid to late first rounder, but for a 30 year old mabye that's a tad hopeful. As it's well known, he is a star player, and wil be for 2-3 years time.

HE is a gun player but clubs that are rebuilding wouldn't give away their first round draft picks even though he is worth that.
Kangas wouldn't trade their best player anyway

Bobby Beecroft
17 Sep 2006, 17:40

I seriously doubt you would get that this year.
Late 1st rounder/early 2nd rounder more likely.

Given your scenario, what is Aker worth in the eyes of North fans?

philhawk
17 Sep 2006, 17:41
He would be a handy player during our rebuilding process ...

Would Pick 24 and a player like Boyle/Brennan suffice?

SeymourLions
17 Sep 2006, 17:41
HE is a gun player but clubs that are rebuilding wouldn't give away their first round draft picks even though he is worth that.
Kangas wouldn't trade their best player anyway

Im thinking more of the 7-16 region, Someone like Collingwood, W.Bulldog's, Sydney etc etc could use him. Remembering he was an All-Australian last year.

SeymourLions
17 Sep 2006, 17:45
I seriously doubt you would get that this year.
Late 1st rounder/early 2nd rounder more likely.

Given your scenario, what is Aker worth in the eyes of North fans?

Well it looks as though it will be the doggies 1st rounder and S.Power, who is a good player.

If it was the Hawks id take their 2nd rounder & J.Lewis but they would never do it, they are on a one way rebuilding process.

trueblue_91
17 Sep 2006, 17:45
Im thinking more of the 7-16 region, Someone like Collingwood, W.Bulldog's, Sydney etc etc could use him. Remembering he was an All-Australian last year.

I think he is worth a pick 5 or so but clubs wont give that up for him. I think you should target geelongs pick 7

philhawk
17 Sep 2006, 17:47
Well it looks as though it will be the doggies 1st rounder and S.Power, who is a good player.

If it was the Hawks id take their 2nd rounder & J.Lewis but they would never do it, they are on a one way rebuilding process.

We wouldn't give away Lewis, particularly when he went at Pick 7.

At best, North could expect a player like Boyle/Brennan/Reis/Ball in addition to Pick 24 for Grant I reckon.

philhawk
17 Sep 2006, 17:48
I think he is worth a pick 5 or so but clubs wont give that up for him. I think you should target geelongs pick 7

If he had made AA again this year, the he would definitely be worth a Top 10 pick this year, if not Top 5.

The fact that he didn't have a good season could have been overlooked if he wasn't 30 though.

SeymourLions
17 Sep 2006, 17:48
If he had made AA again this year, the he would definitely be worth a Top 10 pick this year, if not Top 5.

The fact that he didn't have a good season could have been overlooked if he wasn't 30 though.

hes 29

philhawk
17 Sep 2006, 17:53
hes 29

Originally Posted by bellzy[/B]]

I stand corrected if that's the case. Would make a slight difference, but in the grand scheme of things,

a) He's too close to the 'taboo' 30 years
b) North wouldn't trade him anyway

Snoop Dog
17 Sep 2006, 17:55

pies would have no interest

Snoop Dog
17 Sep 2006, 17:56
I stand corrected if that's the case. Would make a slight difference, but in the grand scheme of things,

a) He's too close to the 'taboo' 30 years
b) North wouldn't trade him anyway

exactly

Doggy
17 Sep 2006, 18:16

Ummmm Brisbane are NOT getting our first round pick. Eade has stipulated many times we are NOT giving it away:rolleyes:

Harro
17 Sep 2006, 18:41
Last year was the year to trade him. Uncontracted and a stellar season.

This year if he was coming from another club i wouldn't want him. Poor season and approaching 30.

I'd take pick 24 and L.Brennan.

Thewlis Dish
17 Sep 2006, 18:45
As a North fan, I don't see the point in trading him, as he has been a very good servant of the club and we'd never get proper value. Would be a trade for the sake of trading.

Thewlis Dish
17 Sep 2006, 18:46
I'd take pick 24 and Brennan.

Why? Brennan is trash and pick 24 is a lottery, even in a percieved 'superdraft'.

cobba
17 Sep 2006, 18:52
Last year was the year to trade him. Uncontracted and a stellar season.

This year if he was coming from another club i wouldn't want him. Poor season and approaching 30.

I'd take pick 24 and Brennan.

and you would be an idiot.

Pick 24 and Ladson!!

bellzy
17 Sep 2006, 18:55
He's still near carear best form, after an AA last year. One bad season can't dictate a players carear. Anyway, coaches and recruiting staff know just how dangerous he can be, and at worst, he still has an impact on every game.

Harro
17 Sep 2006, 18:57
and you would be an idiot.

Pick 24 and Ladson!!

Both clubs lose.
Grant should be retained. His value to us is more than his trade value. However, if it is a "youth policy" we have then such deals have to be considered.

cobba
17 Sep 2006, 19:02
Both clubs lose.
Grant should be retained. His value to us is more than his trade value. However, if it is a "youth policy" we have these deals have to be considered.

grant should go back to sydney and win a flag there and they can give us there first round pick

seems fair??

Harro
17 Sep 2006, 19:04
grant should go back to sydney and win a flag there and they can give us there first round pick

seems fair??

Heh. the cycle continues.

Gaza_Stripper
17 Sep 2006, 19:38
why wouldnt North trade Grant?

cant anyone remember how they got him to begin with...they traded schwass...one of their best players who was around that age

SeymourLions
17 Sep 2006, 19:41

cant anyone remember how they got him to begin with...they traded schwass...one of their best players who was around that age

we had alot of depth at the time though, wed just won a premiership, and grant had played in a grand final side.

Kmart Rouge
17 Sep 2006, 19:53
grant is a north melbourne star!

norm smith medal...triple grand finalist / premiership player

no deal ever! :eek: :cool:

bellzy
17 Sep 2006, 20:20
grant is a north melbourne star!

norm smith medal...triple grand finalist / premiership player

no deal ever! :eek: :cool:

I think that may be a little "Old Fashioned" for modern day footy. After all, we want to win a premiership, and if trading Grant will help us get there, im sure the majority of North supporters will be for it. Yes, he's been a great servent for the club, but let him serve us to the highest extreme and sacrifice himself for the good of the club.

Kmart Rouge
17 Sep 2006, 21:49
I think that may be a little "Old Fashioned" for modern day footy. After all, we want to win a premiership, and if trading Grant will help us get there, im sure the majority of North supporters will be for it. Yes, he's been a great servent for the club, but let him serve us to the highest extreme and sacrifice himself for the good of the club.

u sound like a hawk supporter ;)

mark73
17 Sep 2006, 21:54

They wouldn't.

sput1956
17 Sep 2006, 22:15
I'd take pick 24 and L.Brennan.

Absolutely not.

whippersnipper
17 Sep 2006, 22:18
Absolutely not.
Oh no, thats goes backwards to North's policy of drafting old blokes for decent picks and players, doesnt it?

If I was Norf I'd take that in a flash.

sput1956
17 Sep 2006, 22:19
Oh no, thats goes backwards to North's policy of drafting old blokes for decent picks and players, doesnt it?

After viewing about a dozen of your posts I have come to the conclusion that you are either 14 years old or a clown. Either way you know nothing about football. Please annoy someone else.

whippersnipper
17 Sep 2006, 22:23
After viewing about a dozen of your posts I have come to the conclusion that you are either 14 years old or a clown. Either way you know nothing about football. Please annoy someone else.
In that case I know about as much as your coach. You are just another one of those say little North trolls that has an inflated view of an ageing list that has traded pathetically and is heading for the bottom (to take our place:))

cobba
17 Sep 2006, 22:25

stevens is oldish

blues 1st pick and stevens for grant

hows that sound mate??

bellzy
17 Sep 2006, 22:26
u sound like a hawk supporter ;)

Should i shoot myself now then?:p

bellzy
17 Sep 2006, 22:29
In that case I know about as much as your coach. You are just another one of those say little North trolls that has an inflated view of an ageing list that has traded pathetically and is heading for the bottom (to take our place:))

Nah, you've earnt that. You can have it. Anyway, it's not urz to give up, so you better make urself comfortable coz u stayin there for a while.

whippersnipper
17 Sep 2006, 22:31
Nah, you've earnt that. You can have it. Anyway, it's not urz to give up, so you better make urself comfortable coz u stayin there for a while.
You wish

whippersnipper
17 Sep 2006, 22:32
stevens is oldish

blues 1st pick and stevens for grant

hows that sound mate??

Pass. And Stevens isn't HACK enough for the Roos.

SeymourLions
17 Sep 2006, 22:34
Pass. And Stevens isn't HACK enough for the Roos.

Oh but hes good enough for the team that has won the spoon 3 times in 5 years? I guess the other 2 finishes 15th and 11th feel like quite an achievment

Quickly becoming the new Fitzroy.

coopers pale
17 Sep 2006, 23:09
Stevens is TOTAL hack - I wouldn't take him for free (trade-wise) given his contract. A down-hill skier of world renown, with AWFUL disposal by both hand and foot. The personification of over-rated, by keyboard jockeys who judge based on possession totals rather than impact on the game.

I would trade grant for a pick 20-25 + a decent player. Stevens is NOT decent.

Bobby Beecroft
17 Sep 2006, 23:16

How can you say that.......... we never got the AFL handouts they seem to attract. ;)

Carnthe
17 Sep 2006, 23:25
Oh but hes good enough for the team that has won the spoon 3 times in 5 years? I guess the other 2 finishes 15th and 11th feel like quite an achievment

so in the past past 5 years carlton have finished last 3 times, 2nd last once and 11th once??

I haven't been paying that much attention to how they've been goin but geez... going by that they should be doing all they can to secure the services of Mr Hankey, would fit right in by all reports.

SimonH
18 Sep 2006, 13:12

seems fair??Straight swapp for Schwatta. Fair exchange, no robbery.

Seriously, I have no idea whether Shannon Grant is a chance of going to any other club, but he's about as likely to sign on for Sydney next year as Aker.

bellzy
18 Sep 2006, 13:51
All i can say is i hope Laidley isn't reading this. He may give away our top 3 picks for a bloke who's already on our team!:p