View Full Version : Tom Hislop
scarecrow2k1
18 Sep 2006, 01:37
He is a distant cousin of mine, who I havnt seen in a long long long time, Dano if I ever have actually. My family is very excited about him though, but us on the mainland thought he was only a chance of getting drafted, but looking here people seem to think he is a monty to go first round?
Can anyone post a bit of info for me?
Thanks to Mojo...........
Thomas Hislop
Midfielder
Burnie Dockers (Tasmania)
185cms and 84kgs
7/6/1988
Had a shoulder reconstruction in late May after the trip to Ireland for the U17s AIS-AFL International Rules and sat out the whole year after that
Very good clean hands under pressure. Superb reader of the player and very hard at the ball. Loves the contest and will continually put his head over the ball. Good vision and is smart with his use of the ball. Class inside player with the body and brain to dominate. Very physically developed player but it was not just that he was using to win the ball. Was genuinely smart with his movement and positioning.
Was a combination of strength and class that made him stand out.
Not that quick over the ground but definitely not slow. Reasonable agility but would not call him twinkle toes. Is tough, fearless and very hard at the ball and man. A natural midfielder who hunts the ball and is rarely caught out. Good anticipation and awareness. Very similar type to Joel Selwood. Not quite as good and more developed physically. Perhaps not exactly the midfielder we need but he is a class player and prospect. Very strong in the lower half of his body and very strong in the hips to break a tackle. Good tackler himself.
A small query on his body type for the future with being nuggety and developed at such a young age. So will have to watch how he looks this year after the shoulder operation and how he goes against grown men for the Devils to give an indication of whether how much of his game is sheer early physical development and how much is actual ability (like Shannon Hurn from last years draft).
He wont be able to run over the top of those stronger bodies and will be good to see how he handles that.
I don’t think his game is based too much around that and he is smart enough to be able to change his game according to different circumstances.
A clean, hard, physically tough inside player who does the basics well and is a natural footballer. Good skills with hand and foot and a very good size and another few cms of height would be very welcome. As it stands 185cms as a 16 year old is pretty impressive for a midfield prospect
Hislop is relocating from Burnie to play with the Tassie Mariners and should get a few games with the Tassie Devils in the VFL competition. Hard to judge him but going on tapes from the U16s back in 2004 he looked super impressive.
Did great in the U/18 championship as well from what I remember.
1st round would be iffy but should be definetly gone by 20.
vinnie_vegas69
18 Sep 2006, 17:17
He is a distant cousin of mine, who I havnt seen in a long long long time, Dano if I ever have actually. My family is very excited about him though, but us on the mainland thought he was only a chance of getting drafted, but looking here people seem to think he is a monty to go first round?
Can anyone post a bit of info for me?
He is indeed a monty to go first round - If he doesn't, I will be absolutely STUNNED.
He's a chance to sneak into the top 10.
mad-saint-guy
18 Sep 2006, 18:31
If Proud is taken before St Kilda's pick (9), it will be a 50-50 between Selwood and Hislop.
Snoop Dog
18 Sep 2006, 20:17
He is very impressive and I think a real shot at Pies pick 10 if Saints do not take him. I suspect Pies will be looking at Proud, Selwood and Hislop. Alot depends around Selwoods knee and their view on that.
To me he is not disimilar to N.Jones last year insomuch as people wondered how much development N.Jones has left and I think he has put that to be bed. Its only a year but I wonder whether Jones is a better fit for what the Pies needed (with the benefit of hindsight of course)
For those that have not seen him, prospective clubs would have players like Hayes in mind. Not overly quick but right at it.
Pick 16 - Player #12584 Tom Hislop - Adelaide Football Club.
Snoop Dog
18 Sep 2006, 21:06
Pick 16 - Player #12584 Tom Hislop - Adelaide Football Club.
The next 'Roo' you think?
macca69
18 Sep 2006, 21:17
He is indeed a monty to go first round - If he doesn't, I will be absolutely STUNNED.
He's a chance to sneak into the top 10.
I really rate him, but it wouldn't surprise me to see him slip to the second round. Can't see him going top 10 tbh.
charles202
18 Sep 2006, 21:23
I would love to see Hislop end up in brisbane, unfortunely i dont think that he will last until our 2nd round pick, however if he did i would snap him up in a second.
I hope we get him at Freo - would fit in over here with his blonde hair :p (With his tackling skills he could be a replacement for Clive AND Cookie!).
On a serious note, I Still reckon he would be in our sights if Thorp, Selwood and Benjamin are gone.
Has anyone heard (or got stats on) how he has done since the championships?
mad-saint-guy
19 Sep 2006, 17:45
It sounds like the midfield combo of Selwood, Proud and Hislop are all going to be taken by Geelong, St Kilda and Collingwood.
St Kilda preferences would probably go
1 - Proud
2 - Hislop
3 - Selwood
How would Geelong and Collingwood rank them?
Calcium Man
19 Sep 2006, 17:52
It sounds like the midfield combo of Selwood, Proud and Hislop are all going to be taken by Geelong, St Kilda and Collingwood.
1 - Proud
2 - Hislop
3 - Selwood
The tigers may upset that. We could really like a good inside mid. I'd prefer proud who really has the foot speed we like. The Richmond Pick is the key pick for alot of clubs because nobody really knows where will go.
macca69
19 Sep 2006, 17:59
1 - Proud
2 - Hislop
3 - Selwood
Geelong will be after someone with genuine pace, which means that Selwood and Hislop are unlikely to interest them. Geelon will go Jetta, Proud or Leunberger IMO.
St Kilda also are in dire need of some pace in the middle, not another inside midfielder, someone who can run and carry the ball. Proud, Jetta, Collard and Benjamin would be who I think they'll be looking at, but they'll be hard to predict given this will be their first year of recruiting under their new coach.
Collingwood would be more than happy to pick up an inside midfielder IMO. I rate Hislop, but in this 'superdraft' I doubt recruiters would consider him a top 10 pick. Really depends on who is available for Collingwood, but Selwood won't slip past Collingwood if he is available.
onlyhandball
19 Sep 2006, 18:01
The kid can play, no doubt about it.
He's strong and has plenty of courage.
Hope he ends up at the Dons with Sam Lonergan. They will be twice as good as the Johnsons.
crowsarethebest
19 Sep 2006, 18:05
If he was skinnier would clubs take him earlier? I think this "Because he is well built he might not have as much up-side" thing is rubbish. If he has a footy brain and positions himself well and uses his skills and smarts to get the footy then it is perfectly fine. Like Mojo said in the profile he doesn't always use his strength to bulldoze other plays around. Exapmples of well buil players doing well already are Sherman and Jones And Hurn to some degree... he hasn't been a regular in WCE's midfield. You just get a ready made player who can slot straight into AFL.
mad-saint-guy
19 Sep 2006, 18:06
St Kilda also are in dire need of some pace in the middle, not another inside midfielder, someone who can run and carry the ball. Proud, Jetta, Collard and Benjamin would be who I think they'll be looking at, but they'll be hard to predict given this will be their first year of recruiting under their new coach.
While we do need pace, we also need guys that can win the ball. There's only one true inside midfielder in the team (Ball) with a few in-between (Hayes, Dal Santo, Goddard, Harvey) and a couple of receivers (Montagna, Gram, X.Clarke). If Proud is unavailable I think we'll just go with the best midfielder available rather than the fastest. Selwood and Hislop sound a class above the rest and seem to be the only two that could have any impact this year, so its definately out of one of those two.
With the loss of Powell, Peckett and possibly Thompson we do need some inside mids to feed it out to the flashy players.
That said, Proud will always be our first option. If we had pick 2 we'd go for Proud.
Mickent
19 Sep 2006, 18:24
There's only one true inside midfielder in the team (Ball) with a few in-between (Hayes, Dal Santo, Goddard, Harvey)
Hayes only an in-between? Is that what other Saints fans think? I would have thought he was definitely an inside midfielder...
vinnie_vegas69
19 Sep 2006, 18:57
I really rate him, but it wouldn't surprise me to see him slip to the second round. Can't see him going top 10 tbh.
Fair enough, but I see him as having enough versatility and work ethic to put people's minds at ease.
I'd compare him to someone like Angus Monfries (although he's bigger), where even if he doesn't turn out quite as expected, he still finds a way to contribute in a good way.
mad-saint-guy
19 Sep 2006, 19:26
Hayes only an in-between? Is that what other Saints fans think? I would have thought he was definitely an inside midfielder...
He's both. Involved in everything. If he isn't feeding out the handpass from the bottom of the pack, he running by to receive the handpass before putting on Riewoldt's chest.
roo_girl23
22 Sep 2006, 21:24
If he was skinnier would clubs take him earlier? I think this "Because he is well built he might not have as much up-side" thing is rubbish. If he has a footy brain and positions himself well and uses his skills and smarts to get the footy then it is perfectly fine. Like Mojo said in the profile he doesn't always use his strength to bulldoze other plays around. Exapmples of well buil players doing well already are Sherman and Jones And Hurn to some degree... he hasn't been a regular in WCE's midfield. You just get a ready made player who can slot straight into AFL.
i know where you're coming from,they seem to be taking athletes and turning them into footballers lately and it's resulting in more injuries because their bodies can't handle it as well.i say it's about time they put some footballers in there.well built players are fine as long as they are skilled footballers.
I would be very happy is the Dockers got him at 13.
Stealth bomber
23 Sep 2006, 01:40
Wouldn't mind getting him at 18 if he's around.
Bentleigh
17 Oct 2006, 19:36
#13 - Richmond?
kempos_kingz_05
17 Oct 2006, 19:49
I hope we get him at Freo - would fit in over here with his blonde hair :p (With his tackling skills he could be a replacement for Clive AND Cookie!).
On a serious note, I Still reckon he would be in our sights if Thorp, Selwood and Benjamin are gone.
Has anyone heard (or got stats on) how he has done since the championships?
Ahh he's got brown hair mate :confused:
BlueDevil
17 Oct 2006, 20:19
was a trainer at burnie when he played his first senior game at 15 years of age and he looked right at home so no worries about the body size. very much a lenny hayes type of player, perhaps a bit stronger mark than hayes might of been at that age. i hope he lasts till 17 would love to see him at carlton.
surely goddard qualifies as an outside player!!! i've never seen him anywhere near a contest. he could be the 3rd lonie triplet!!!
hayes is an in-and-under.
Sounds like you've got a relationship to mend. Become mates with him now so he doesn't think your using him when you sponge off him after he miraculously and surprisingly gets drafted. ;)
I really hope Richmond take him at 13 Bents..
I'd love a kid to come in that doesnt worry me with massive physical development need ala JON, Tambling, McGuane etc. etc.
sydney eagle
17 Oct 2006, 22:19
Pick 16 - Player #12584 Tom Hislop - Adelaide Football Club. Pick 16 is the Eagles pick I believe.:p
mad-saint-guy
18 Oct 2006, 00:01
If Proud and Selwood are gone I'd expect St Kilda to take him with pick 9.
John Connel
18 Oct 2006, 02:07
# 8 Selwood
#10 Hislop
didaks love child
18 Oct 2006, 02:11
# 8 Selwood
#10 Hislop
Perfect if it happens
Squeak The Superstar
18 Oct 2006, 17:58
I play footy with his younger brother and ive seen him watch one of our games. He is definately well built.