View Full Version : Anyone else concerned

ant555
18 Sep 2006, 17:15
Is anyone else concerned or curious. Trade week fast approaching and absolutly zero to be heard about the futures of
Adam Mcphee - nothing at all official
Jason Laycock - nothing for a few weeks.
Jason Johnson -other than Sheeds quick comment the other day about him maybe getting a two year deal.
Keplar Bradley - nothing
Courtney Johns - nothing
Jay Nash - mentioned in the young leaders tour of Japan but no contract news.
Andrew Lee - nothing
Dean Soloman - nothing for 3 or 4 weeks.
Damian Peverill - nothing other than Pevs comments around 6 weeks ago.

Obviously we wont here much about Bolts, Reynolds, Carts, Henno and co until virtually trade week or just after just incase some sort of miracle happens and we get someothing for them but a few of the top listed players are a concern. The other concern is the longer it takes to sign the likes of Mcphee and Bradley the more chance we end up being stuck with Bolton :mad:

Philzsay
18 Sep 2006, 17:34
Its almost like the calm before the storm... The lack of activity may also have to do with the players going on their end of season footy trip.

I mentioned this in the trade thread a few days ago, but with Sheedy mentioning 7 to 8 players leaving at the end of the year that it seems likely we will trade an established player. Whom, I would have no idea. I also feel Sheedy is putting out his feelers about who we could possibly get to the club, ie his visit to Perth and previous comments he has made about speaking to any or all uncontracted players in the Comp.

ant555
18 Sep 2006, 17:38
Its almost like the calm before the storm... The lack of activity may also have to do with the players going on their end of season footy trip.
I mentioned this in the trade thread a few days ago, but with Sheedy mentioning 7 to 8 players leaving at the end of the year that it seems likely we will trade an established player. Whom, I would have no idea. I also feel Sheedy is putting out his feelers about who we could possibly get to the club, ie his visit to Perth and previous comments he has made about speaking to any or all uncontracted players in the Comp.

Hasnt in the past but who knows. Does seem like one or two may be shopped around.

mcphee_is_a_gun
18 Sep 2006, 17:46
I think Mcphee or Solly might be gone.

Philzsay
18 Sep 2006, 18:02
Just a random thought... maybe we are just too eager for trade news because we have known we will not make the finals since well May. That has been quite a while to ponder trades, delisting, recruiting etc. I know I have been doing my head in, particularly when the one millionth Aker or Gibbs/Hansen/Gumbleton thread is started...

Also, another random thought, until last year we had 7 straight years of Finals. Maybe we are still simply not used to completing player contracts in September.

Final thought: I need a beer!

ant555
18 Sep 2006, 18:07
Just a random thought... maybe we are just too eager for trade news because we have known we will not make the finals since well May. That has been quite a while to ponder trades, delisting, recruiting etc. I know I have been doing my head in, particularly when the one millionth Aker or Gibbs/Hansen/Gumbleton thread is started...

Also, another random thought, until last year we had 7 straight years of Finals. Maybe we are still simply not used to completing player contracts in September.

Final thought: I need a beer!

I can go along with that one :thumbsu:

d-mac3276
18 Sep 2006, 19:21
I think Mcphee or Solly might be gone.

No way we will let McPhee go we all know what he is capable of, and i think Solly has signed on 4 a year so somebody said on here but not too sure about that one, although hes not the one we need to worry about signing quickly as long as we get McPhee to sign the dotted line

M29
18 Sep 2006, 19:36
I think Solomon, Welsh, Cartledge are gone.

go_the_bombers
18 Sep 2006, 19:36

Why do you think Welsh is gone?

Sam the RAMA fan
18 Sep 2006, 19:40
I gotta feeling Nash will stay..for some reason I thought he signed a contract already...I wouldn't mind him doing so!

Kepler Bradley...hmm has his moments,
but then again almost the whole team had their moments this season.
I'm glad Solly only signed on for another year...he hadn't exactly pulled his socks up this year and needs to be disciplined.

I suppose we can only wait and see what is put forward in the draft period..
I must admit..I am excited! But lets hope they make the right decisions! :)

BRING ON 07!

Vulture_72
18 Sep 2006, 19:51
Welsh wont be going anywhere buddy.

red+black
19 Sep 2006, 03:37
No way we will let McPhee go we all know what he is capable of, and i think Solly has signed on 4 a year so somebody said on here but not too sure about that one
DUDE, don't ****ing do that! :mad: Quickly read through it and thought you said he'd signed for 4 years :thumbsd:

Yeah, I think he signed for 1 year (still too long in my opinion)

ant555
19 Sep 2006, 08:25
Some of you need to stop guessing ;)
The contracted players thread will be updated when player sign but as of yet neither Solly or Nash have signed.

blumfieldisback
19 Sep 2006, 10:58
DUDE, don't ****ing do that! :mad: Quickly read through it and thought you said he'd signed for 4 years :thumbsd:

Yeah, I think he signed for 1 year (still too long in my opinion)

it says 4 A year not 4 years mate, get a grip.

And i think welsha and laycock are in trouble also. I don't understand everyones opinion on welsh, sure he gets the ball from fletchers kick ins but he will always be a backman and nothing else, he is far to loose and his oppnent gets as much damaging ball as himself, however his opponent usually does something with it wheras his disposal usally goes to the opposition. You have to trade something with potential to gather something, i mean guys its not like we expect to trade henneman for a 2/3 rounder is it???

think about the times with your head and not your heart

BlacK'n'ReD
19 Sep 2006, 11:01
Getting rid of McPhee is just stupid IMO. Yes, he had an average season, but we've seen him at his best. He should be given a contract extension/renewal or whatever you call it...

dodgyJim
19 Sep 2006, 11:21
Welsh is a strange one. Played midfield and I believe he captained the Calder Cannons when they won a flag.

He doesn't seem to run very fast, always seems to take shorter steps and not strides, and his kick isn't very penetrating.

I always rated him but the idea of a trade isn't out of the question.

red+black
19 Sep 2006, 12:29
yeah i think i realised that.

and by the way, your handle sucks (as did blumfield)

Philzsay
19 Sep 2006, 12:46

I think it was a valid complaint, I also accidently read the original post as 4 years before realising my mistake moments later.

I think the point is why type '4' instead of 'for' ?? Are you really saving a lot of time there :confused:

This is not an sms, it's an internet forum. I don't mind the occasional typos, but typing 4 instead of for is a bit ridiculous.

blumfieldisback
19 Sep 2006, 12:48
yeah i think i realised that.

and by the way, your handle sucks (as did blumfield)

oh your a good red and black supporter bagging a premiership star, he almost won a norm smith for us, gee wonder what heights u go to find a good solid player.

and my name thread was implied as a joke with a mate last year when thought blumfield would be a given another chance, instead they went with campo and i still dont believe it was the correct decision. however i cant be bothered changing my name. so blumfield remains, on record Salmon was my fav player.

and why does the thread suck?? why do u think we can actually get something for nothing?

Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 13:04
Didn't we go for Zantuck ahead of Blumfield?

Campo was the 2005 PSD, JB already had a year at Bendigo by then.

go_the_bombers
19 Sep 2006, 13:05

Correct Longy

Pevers-Legend
19 Sep 2006, 13:18

and we all know how successful that was.

stander
19 Sep 2006, 14:34

And if Ricky Nixon has any credibility, looks like Dodoro plonked D.Hille on the trade table in 2003. Strange thinking, and he's still at the club.

Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 15:15

Getting JB wouldn't have been anymore successful.

He's retired from VFL footy and hardly made an impact.

Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 15:16
And if Ricky Nixon has any credibility, looks like Dodoro plonked D.Hille on the trade table in 2003. Strange thinking, and he's still at the club.

Ricky Nixon has never had any credibility.

Pevers-Legend
19 Sep 2006, 17:42
Getting JB wouldn't have been anymore successful.

He's retired from VFL footy and hardly made an impact.
At least he would have been a good influence on the club.

All Zantuck did was provide comedic relief to an otherwise ordinary year for us.

red+black
19 Sep 2006, 18:44
I think it was a valid complaint, I also accidently read the original post as 4 years before realising my mistake moments later.

I think the point is why type '4' instead of 'for' ?? Are you really saving a lot of time there :confused:

This is not an sms, it's an internet forum. I don't mind the occasional typos, but typing 4 instead of for is a bit ridiculous.
I wasn't being critical of the way he wrote it, just saying that upon first glance I was shocked to think we'd be so stupid to sign Solly up for 4 years!

He ain't exactly my favourite player.

Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 18:51
At least he would have been a good influence on the club.

He was at the club.

Pevers-Legend
19 Sep 2006, 19:02
He was at the club.
so has he definitely retired from VFL for Bendigo?

go_the_bombers
19 Sep 2006, 19:24
so has he definitely retired from VFL for Bendigo?

Correct

d-mac3276
19 Sep 2006, 19:48

This is not an sms, it's an internet forum. I don't mind the occasional typos, but typing 4 instead of for is a bit ridiculous. Well hang me "FOR" saying 4 instead of "FOR", what is ridiculous is that u oh sorry i meant "YOU" r oops there i go again "ARE" a nuffy who can't understand stuff when "YOU" read it. Made a big deal out of s h i t there buddy

d-mac3276
19 Sep 2006, 19:51
Whats that say about the rest of the side then if Welsh finished 5th in the best and fairest and u ppl reckon we should get rid of him. My say is he stays.

blumfieldisback
19 Sep 2006, 20:09

Yeah that is correct but i had a feeling we would re-draft him after a year in the reserves and he proved to theclub he was over his injuries, instead they went with campo, however if collingwood had of snared campo i believe we would have acquired blumfield and i think there still a slim chance on the basis of getting some depth in our midfield.

Longy413
19 Sep 2006, 23:43
Yeah that is correct but i had a feeling we would re-draft him after a year in the reserves and he proved to theclub he was over his injuries, instead they went with campo, however if collingwood had of snared campo i believe we would have acquired blumfield and i think there still a slim chance on the basis of getting some depth in our midfield.

Given the state of his body at the end of last season and blokes like Gilham trained at the club during the pre-season, I find that pretty hard to believe.

DynamoUltra
20 Sep 2006, 02:21
ESSENDON stalwarts Dean Solomon and Jason Johnson are looking at their options after being offered reduced deals.

Solomon, who will not return from an overseas holiday until after trade week on October 9-13, has given his manager power of attorney.

Solomon and Johnson have been offered one-year deals, but both are seeking longer terms.

From http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20443617%255E19742,00.html

ant555
20 Sep 2006, 08:23

You obviously didnt see a lot of him play for Bendigo last year. He went ok but he wasnt even close to be considered for the draft.

Karlostj
20 Sep 2006, 08:40
From http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20443617%255E19742,00.html

It also said that Johns was close to signing a new deal with the club.

Looks like they're playing hard ball with JJ and Solly.... It will be interesting to see what happens....

mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Sep 2006, 11:02
hmm if we can get a good deal then we should look at trading them, in particular Solomon.

blumfieldisback
20 Sep 2006, 11:56
You obviously didnt see a lot of him play for Bendigo last year. He went ok but he wasnt even close to be considered for the draft.

yeah well i never watched a bendigo game this year so yeah maybe not, oh well thats the end of this discussion.

DynamoUltra
20 Sep 2006, 12:23
Unfortunately for you guys, you've probably missed the boat in regards to trading Solomon. Johnson, on the other hand, could attract some interest from a variety of clubs.

mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Sep 2006, 13:33
At the moment the number 1 player in my opinion should be Jay Nash. Great skills(better than the rest of our youngsters) he is composed under pressure and i know this is a big call but i think he'll be the best player on our list in 3-4 years time. He broke into our side and averaged 16 posessions a game while playing on big name players like Riciouto, Chapman etc. He even took a contested mark against Riewoldt in the wet, i know most of you will probably think im overrating him but the faith we've showed in him is just about to pay off in my opinion.

ant555
20 Sep 2006, 16:07
Unfortunately for you guys, you've probably missed the boat in regards to trading Solomon. Johnson, on the other hand, could attract some interest from a variety of clubs.

True but i dont think we really want to trade Solly , it is more to do with not risking a two year contract with him. . I would be interested to see if someone else would offer Solly two years. Given his record with injury and form in the last couple of seasons 1 year is long enough.
As for JJ i think he may be closer to getting what he wants compared with Solly.

saladin
25 Sep 2006, 15:14
mcphee is the draft breaker, imo. we must think he's worth a high pick to run the risk of letting his contract expire and walk into the PSD.